April 25, 2024, 02:43:16 PM

Author Topic: Vibezin with Clayton Morris  (Read 17004 times)

Vibezin with Clayton Morris
« on: December 28, 2005, 07:17:09 AM »
Vibezin with Clayton Morris
Interview by palos, Transcription by Tallman

Friday January 21, 2005 at 3 AM (after practicing with Phase II Pan Groove prior to the National Panorama semi-finals)

Clayton “JB” Morris was the captain of the infamous Strike Squad football team who came within one point of qualifying for the 1990 World Cup.

palos: So Clayton, welcome to socawarriors.net
JB: It’s a pleasure to be on the socawarriors.net website.

palos: Clayton, basically what I want to do is get an idea of who you are. You are the person who was the captain of arguably the most famous and most beloved football team that has ever come out of Trinidad & Tobago, the Strike Squad. Tell me a little bit about how you got started in football and how you got to the national level.
JB: I started football in St. Anns. I was born and I grew up in St. Anns. I came from a large family, a football team to be exact. There were 11 of us, 7 boys and 4 girls, 3 elder brothers and 3 younger brothers. I grew up seeing my elder brothers playing football right in the mental hospital and I didn’t have a choice but to follow them. I followed them playing football and pan because my dad was also a pan tuner. I think they go hand in hand because of the rhythm, timing and coordination. If you look at pan, we play pan without reading music. A lot of us don’t understand, don’t read music. I can’t read music, but you have to remember all the notes to play. So I think that [pan] helped me be the player I turned out to be, the football player with the knowledge of playing the pan, the skill, the art.

palos: Well, I must be the exception to the rule, because I can play pan, but I cannot play football at all.
JB: Well. I guess if you had role models to look at in your youth days you wouldn’t have a choice. I didn’t have a choice and I’m really happy that I took that step and it really helped me throughout my life even up to this day.

palos: Were you always a defender?
JB: Yes, I always liked to look from behind. If you notice, I play pan from up in the rhythm section, from behind. I always like to, you know, I want to clean up.

palos: So your glory is not necessarily to put the ball in the net?
JB: No, it is to prevent the ball from getting in the net.

palos: Being from St. Anns, you obviously must have played for Rangers. Tell me a little bit about them.
JB: Watching my elder brothers, they were members of the Rangers team and when they were playing we did not have anything like an U-13 or any youth leagues, so we decided to join the Mervina League in the Queens Park Savannah. We started there with an U-13 Rangers team. We had U-13, U-15 and U-17 teams and I was the captain at all those levels. I think I was 16 when I first played senior football with Soul City, well, they were just Cascade. At the time I played for them, I was still captaining Rangers. I left Rangers in 1982 and went on to play with ECM Motown. It was really a hard decision for me to leave Rangers, but I got some advice from a guy from Cascade, Cupid, I can’t remember his first name. He was affiliated with Carib Peterborough at the time and he wanted me to play for them. He kept telling me “Clayton, the amount of talent you have, if you stay here you wouldn’t grow.” He said “you need to go out.” I took his advice and I decided to go out. I went to play with ECM Motown and the next year I was drafted into ASL. It was a pleasure for me and a real honour when Jan Zwartkruis, who was a coach from Holland and also the national team coach at that time told me that with my qualities, he believed that I could do a better job than Stuart Charles who was considered to be the best sweeper in Trinidad at that time. The reason for him not making the national team was because he was St. Lucian. That was really a boost for me because I used to sit and watch Stuart Charles play. Before him, I used to watch Carlyle Andrews, from Belmont, out of the Army and then when Stuart Charles came on the scene I used to look at all his moves. When he told me that I could do a better job, it made me nervous at the time, but then I said if a coach, a foreign coach, a coach from Holland could come and tell me that he sees that quality in me,  I took it as an incentive and I went on to replace Stuart Charles. He went to the midfield and I played as a sweeper.

palos: Is it at that point that you made your debut for Trinidad & Tobago?
JB: No, because I played with the U-19 team, but yes, it is at that time that I made my debut for the senior team. We went to Bermuda on Boxing Day in 1982 and stayed there for two weeks.

palos: What was it like, the first game?
JB: When I went on the tour, deceased Roderick Warner was the coach and for the first game I sat in the stands and watched the game. We lost the game; I think it was 2-0 against Bermuda’s national team. The second game was against one of the top Bermudan clubs, Somerset. Roderick Warner came to me and said that I would be starting in the next game. That was another nerve wracking experience for me, but then again, I told myself that I’m the type of person who never backs down from a challenge. Every time someone tells me that I can do something, I always go at it because I believe they see something in me. So when Roderick told me that, I didn’t sleep that night, but thank God I had Anthony Barrington and Brian John, who were my roommates. Brian realized that I was having some problems dealing with the whole thing, so we talked about it. You wouldn’t believe it, but the first ball I touched in that game resulted in a goal. Michael Maurice played the ball on top of the 18 yard box for me. Due to my inexperience, instead of going into the 18 yard box and touching the ball so the referee could replay it, I waited for the ball to come out. As the ball came out, I touched it and a Bermudan player took it away and went straight to goal. I can’t remember the player’s name, but he used to play in England. After that, Brian John came to me and said “JB, let’s go”, and I ended up getting man-of-the-match in that game. We came back and won the game 3-1. That really gave me the incentive to carry on because I realized that I made a mistake, but then I came back and got man-of-the-match in that game. From then, I represented the country for 10 years straight.

palos: Now tell me about the Strike Squad and working with Gally Cummings. I personally remember the game against Honduras in Honduras when we tied them and went through to the final round of qualifying.
JB: That was a 1-1 draw.

palos: I think Nakhid came on as a sub.
JB: No, Nakhid didn’t come on, he was on the bench but he didn’t come on.

palos: Chinapoo was also on the squad. The Strike Squad then hardly resembled the Strike Squad that came to be.
JB: We weren’t called the Strike Squad then. The following year, when we got through to the last rounds, deceased Lancelot Layne was the one who dubbed us the Strike Squad when he made the calypso. But the Strike Squad, if you want to put it that way, came about 2 years before. It didn’t just happen overnight. Most of the players were playing from 1987. We were together from 1987 with deceased Roderick Warner. At the end of 1987 is when Gally and them came and started to mould the team. With Gally’s experience from playing professional football, he was able to instill a kind of professionalism within the team, the whole organization, the way we’re supposed to train, the weight training. Those are things that we didn’t have before. That really brought about the camaraderie and the team spirit we had. The players individually had passion; we all used to compete with each other. I remember one training session, we were doing a Cooper test and everybody was fighting to beat the clock. Earl Carter started and he set the pace. We ran in two groups.  I led the next group and when I finished, I made more than Spiderman and I dropped down. I was out of it. That is the kind of determination we had competing with each other and we could see the fruits that came out of the hard work and dedication.

palos: What were your favorite moments playing with the Strike Squad? What were your most memorable moments?
JB: Well, there are two I could talk about. One is that same game you mentioned in Honduras when we drew 0-0. Here it is, we came up against a country that played in a World Cup before and in their own yard we were able to dethrone them and take their place, at least look for a berth in the World Cup. It’s the first time I cried. You know, you cry for sorrow and you cry and you cry and then when you feel satisfied you stop crying, but crying for joy, is something where you can’t hold back those tears. That is something I will always remember. After that game, we all got to the dressing room and everybody was just crying. We just couldn’t stop. The second memorable moment happened the following year. It was the last game of the campaign, the game against America in 1989. Here it was, a dream that you live for, it came and it just went out the door.

palos: Just thinking about that, it’s a traumatic memory. A lot has been said. In retrospect, we should not have camped in Forest Reserve, the players were tired. Is that something you would say is a fair comment?
JB:  You see, the thing about it is you put on your sneakers or your underwear using a certain routine because it works. If you are accustomed putting your right foot first and you try putting your left foot first, you will stumble. When we started the 1989 campaign we were based opposite the President’s Ground at Alicia’s Guest House. We had problems with players getting sufficient rest because people were constantly visiting since we were right there in Port-of-Spain. We decided that we wanted to be in a place where we could really feel secure and be away from the focus. It so happened that we ended up in Forest Reserve after the first game against Costa Rica. For all of our games we came from there and we kept the routine and things we working for us. We had a training session on Fatima Ground. We started on the whole field and by the time the session finished we were all in a little circle. It was crowded, crowd, you could barely do anything. It took us maybe two hours before we could come off the field to get on the bus. We realized that we had no security; we were trying to show the people that we have 90 minutes before Italy, but like nobody understood that. We went back to Forest, we sat and talked, looking at all avenues, how we could get out of this situation, winning this game or getting the result we want and how we would come out of the Stadium. We realized that every time we appeared in public, nobody would help us. We would have to reach over by the bar [points to the bar in the panyard] over there and it would take us two hours. There was no security and we were having real problems with that. Gally and I sat and talked; I say “Coach, the best thing to do is to stick to our routine.” We can look back and say that it was a bad decision, but I think the people didn’t understand exactly what we were getting into. I think the occasion was too big for us. On November 19, 1989 we came out of the camp in Forest and it was Carnival in Fyzabad. People blocked the bus. They knew what time we had to reach the Stadium, but they still blocked the bus. We went to our regular church…and I have two pictures, one when we were alone in the church and one when the crowd was in the church. On that day, things just couldn’t flow, didn’t flow. Looking at it now, you say we should not have traveled from there, but I think at that time we blessed a lot of people hearts. I didn’t know that coming down that highway had so many people living in the bush. They all came out. Everything was red. A lot of poor people who were squatting came out and they really felt part of the country.

palos: That was a special, special, special time in this country.  I think… I can’t really speak for anyone else but I felt as though we really didn’t know how to handle it.
JB: The occasion was too big for us. As I said, we used that trend because we felt that it was working for us. When we reached the Stadium there were problems. People who had tickets, genuine tickets, couldn’t get in. They decided to let the players know that they were supporting the team at all of the games and now they have their tickets but can’t get in and the people who were inside were Johnny-come-lately. We had to bear the brunt of that because we came off the bus with our bags to go in the Stadium but we had to leave them. There was an honour guard of soldiers to escort us in and they couldn’t help us. We had to put down our bags and fight our way through the crowd and wait on the soldiers to bring our bags. Again, security was really lax. But as I said before, we followed that trend because it worked for us in the past.

palos: Now let us fast forward to one of the big things in football. You’re a coach now and one of the big problems in international football is the whole issue of club versus country. We don’t know what the solution is, because in my view, if you have a national coach and you’re only getting your players a maximum of 5 days before a game, what exactly can you do to build the kind of cohesiveness that the Strike Squad had?  The Strike Squad didn’t have a club versus country issue. Everybody was able to train together 24x7. Do you have any ideas as to what can be done to work within that limitation?
JB: That is a really ticklish situation. I had the experience because I was the assistant coach to Porterfield in the last campaign and that is something we had to deal with. We dealt with it by training the local players who we had available. We worked with them and we made sure that we set up a structure; the players knew what we were about. We knew the system we were playing and we worked with them knowing that the foreign-based players would be coming 5 days before the game. We would use the local players and see who was doing the job that was required. If we felt we need the foreign-based, we would say OK, we need Stern, we need this player in the forward position, we need this person in the midfield and we would bring them in to fit into those positions and not necessarily to bring them and put them on the bench. As a result, we weren’t really having that problem because we had a structure. If you just say they playing outside and we bringing all of them, then I think you would have a problem to get them coordinated with the team. Yes, you need your players to train with you as much as they can but then we have to understand that the clubs are those guys’ bread and butter, that is what they live by, so we have to work around it and deal with them according to when they get released. Football is a team sport and you must be able to have a team that they could fit into. You should not bring all of them back because if you look at it, most of them are not really playing regularly and some of the times they are not match fit. They may be physically fit, but you need to have match fitness and they are out there and most of them are playing only 10-15 minutes a game and then you bring them here to play an international game of 90 minutes. You end up putting them under pressure, but then again you have to work with what you have here. Some people may say that the locally-based players are no good, but I think that it is not a good thing to say. They are national players, you work with them, let them understand the system, and bring the foreign players to fit with them. We have to get around that, because we can’t continue to say that foreign players coming in too late and all that sort of thing. Bring them to fit into a spot. I saw something on yesterday’s papers that said they were bringing in Shaka and Clayton Ince. I think that somewhere along the line there you are wasting money. You are bringing one to put on the bench. You have to bring him here, pay his airfare and yet he has to sit on the bench. If we are looking at development then let somebody locally be the understudy.

palos: I guess that the idea is, if your number one gets injured in a match…but I understand where you are coming from.
JB: But where is the development? Where is the development? If we are thinking development and people…

palos: Development is Digicel … [laughs]. Now, final question. Who is the best player you have played with?
JB: Russell Latapy.

palos: No hesitation! You heard it here first. That is my player you know.
JB: No hesitation, Russell Latapy. You can’t get another like that just so.

palos: Well Clayton, on behalf of socawarriors.net and all the forum members, we really appreciate your time. You were the leader both physically and spiritually for that team and by extension all of us and we really appreciate the job that you did. Even though we didn’t go to the World Cup in 1989, the Strike Squad will forever be in the heart and minds of the people of Trinidad & Tobago. You will go down in history and that is something that could never ever be forgotten and ever be taken for granted. We really appreciate everything that you’ve done.
JB: I’m really glad to hear that. I would like to let you all know that the Strike Squad reunited in 2000. We opened the Borough Day festivities in Point Fortin and our main objective right now is to help eradicate crime in this country by going into communities, doing clinics with the kids and playing representative teams in the respective communities . We even go into the prisons and play games against the inmates. The level of play and experience we show as a group has really blessed the people who we come up against as well as the people who have seen us play. So the Strike Squad dream is still on. Most of us are coaches now and we thank God that we still have the energy to play. We are not just a team going around playing fete matches; we go into communities, opening and closing domestic leagues and that sort of thing. So I would like to let you all know that we are still around. Just two years ago we played in a 7-a-side tournament in Tobago. We went in the open tournament with Caribbean teams, St. Vincent, Grenada, what have you and we won that tournament and I was voted MVP. We started that tournament as “old men” and by the end, they called us teachers. So I would like to let you know that the Strike Squad dream is still on.

palos: One more thing before we go. One question that came up on our website was who would win a match between the Strike Squad and the current team? So Clayton, I’m putting that question to you. Who will win that game? Remember, it’s 90 minutes.
JB: The Strike Squad.

palos: The Strike Squad winning a 90 minutes game.
JB: Football is a team sport.

palos: They wouldn’t run you off the park?
JB: Football is a team sport. Once they give us a date for that game we would put some gas in our tank. We have the experience, we have the knowledge. Most of us are coaching and we know what it takes to implement the technical and tactical aspects of the game. We have the physical capabilities to do it, and I think from what we have done since we’ve reunited, give us a little time and we could prepare for that game.

palos: Well ladies and gentlemen, you heard it first, the gauntlet has been thrown down. The Strike Squad says that they will win. The captain says that they would beat the current team. I’m looking forward to that game. Clayton, on behalf of socawarriors.net, thanks again.
JB: It’s a pleasure Gary. It’s also a pleasure playing pan with you in Phase II. Respect.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2006, 05:31:40 PM by Tallman »

Re: Vibezin with Clayton Morris
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2005, 07:34:40 AM »
sweet one Palos....!

Deja Vu dey.

One thing...dem old men cyar beat de current squad,  lol.

Hearing Clayton talk about dat 89 ting really shows how unprofessional we were.

Real sad, because we were better dan dem Yankees.

by de way..is interviews like dis, news, information and up to de minute breaking news dat does make dis de BEST Sports site in de world!

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2005, 07:41:05 AM »
But our present team plays like a team now, so de Strike Squad would get licks, question though, who would Dwight and Latas play for if that should happen.

Clayton Morris and Brian Williams heart always with T&T dont know why the federation dont find a place for them on the youth team to coach or even assist.

Nice work Palos and Tallman did good to break down this long ass interview, but it was worth it.

Never knew Stuart Charles was that good, he proberly lived all his live in T&T and could have gotten his T&T citizenship to play for us.... whats the deal with Luis Seabra, if Jlloyd Samuel dont get through, Seabra might come in handy because Seabra is or might be de best dead ball specialist we have, Dwight embrass we with them lame lazy free kicks in Bahrian, Seabra is good on the left wing also, next year (2006) go be eight years he living in T&T and he is already a legal resident. He played a decent Digicel Cup games for T&T and he seems he would have gotten better like (Densill, Gray & Whitley) as time goes on... all options must stay open, we need depth and we need left footers. We new assistant (Mario Been) go love this.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2005, 07:49:32 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2005, 07:49:21 AM »
Good one they
Godd one

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2005, 08:49:30 AM »
But our present team plays like a team now, so de Strike Squad would get licks, question though, who would Dwight and Latas play for if that should happen.

Clayton Morris and Brian Williams heart always with T&T dont know why the federation dont find a place for them on the youth team to coach or even assist.

Nice work Palos and Tallman did good to break down this long ass interview, but it was worth it.

Never knew Stuart Charles was that good, he proberly lived all his live in T&T and could have gotten his T&T citizenship to play for us.... whats the deal with Luis Seabra, if Jlloyd Samuel dont get through, Seabra might come in handy because Seabra is or might be de best dead ball specialist we have, Dwight embrass we with them lame lazy free kicks in Bahrian, Seabra is good on the left wing also, next year (2006) go be eight years he living in T&T and he is already a legal resident. He played a decent Digicel Cup games for T&T and he seems he would have gotten better like (Densill, Gray & Whitley) as time goes on... all options must stay open, we need depth and we need left footers. We new assistant (Mario Been) go love this.
Palos are love it and great point dey sam about seabra,yuh absolutely right he is a legal resident for eight years,he should be on the team even if it means coming off the bench,I'm certain he'll add another dimension to the team.     

« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2005, 09:37:23 AM »
Great... I always liked JB...
My mom used to work at NP, and I recall seeing him there on a few occasions when I went to pick her up. Not sure if he actually worked there then, but to me it was like how kids would see Ronaldinho now.

« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2005, 09:38:04 AM »
Love the article

« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2005, 11:04:37 AM »
That interview was about a week after we had just lost to Antigua and Vincy so I eh think beating that team was too far fetched.

Nice interview.
Good to hear those guys are going the coaching route and I hope they get the backing they need for their community work....the country needs it badly.

Good work.

« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2005, 11:24:39 AM »
Nice interview man..it brought back some memories of '89 for me..just in ah different angle..now I understand what them fellas had to deal with. Big up TnT football.

« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2005, 01:06:04 PM »
yeah man nice intreview

« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2005, 01:16:13 PM »
Palos ina de action boy. NICE. sharp and solid interveiw bredrin.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2005, 02:06:31 PM »
great interview, ah now know what them men had to go thru to take T&T to the world cup and they did ah great job with what they were provided with. Ah would really like to see that strike squad versus the soca warriors match  :)

« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2005, 04:06:02 PM »
well this certainly clearedup the issue dealing with the trip from Fyzabad. To some degree at least.

« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2005, 07:17:59 PM »
Palos, great interview, brought back a lot of memories, not just about '89. I was born in St Ann's and the first time I could ever remember kicking a ball was  on the sideline at a Rangers game, back in the day before they were Superstar Rangers, just Rangers (they played in green). I remember pushing pan for Kintops (Jb an them pan side from up in the valley) an later playing ball with JB little brother Doctors... so thanks for the interview and the memories and big up to JB....

« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2005, 06:45:42 AM »
Well, somehow, I missed this interview the first time it came out.

So, I'm very grateful to read it now.

Palos, thanks a lot. Certainly one for the archives.

Peace,

« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2005, 10:28:44 AM »
according to truetrini we were the better team.we definitly had the talent.WE LACKED ORGANISATION,SYSTEM AND AN INFRASTRUCTURE TO TAKE US TO ITALY.

« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2005, 11:07:28 AM »
according to truetrini we were the better team.we definitly had the talent.WE LACKED ORGANISATION,SYSTEM AND AN INFRASTRUCTURE TO TAKE US TO ITALY.

I disagree.  We only lacked one thing on that day.  1 goal.

« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2005, 11:24:22 AM »

I disagree.  We only lacked one thing on that day.  1 goal.

Agreed

« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2005, 12:29:26 PM »
dat is ah hard hittin reply dey sah! :-\ ...dat rite 1 goal oops oops

Offline trinidre

« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2005, 12:49:15 PM »
yeah even though off the field things seemed to be disorganised, on the field we was definitely the better team

« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2005, 12:51:54 PM »
First time I read the interview.  It's good to get things in perspective about 1989.  Now we could stop speculating bout the decisions made because we heard it from the horse's mouth. Is like only after you do things that yuh does put dem in perspective.  I was fortunate to play with JB when he returned to Rangers in the semi-pro league.  Now I realize how fortunate I was to have him providing me with the support, cause I was new to the team, and only joined them when they were struggling to stay up.  JB gave me the confidence as an upcoming goalie to lift my game.  De man is ah boss.  Respect to him and all the members of the Strike Squad.  This team qualified for Germany, but ah think the Strike Squad was the most loved team in the history of Trinidad and Tobago football.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2005, 02:35:17 PM »
ah have to agree with that..they have to be the most beloved team....my mother even give my lil brother the middle name leonson because of leonson lewis and check this.....leonson was a left footer and my brother born with he birthmark on he left foot....that s**t is crazy

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2005, 11:35:28 PM »
Palos great interview. It is important that the stories of our heroes be told. Keep up the great work.
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2005, 11:57:33 PM »
Nice interview!!!

but one thing, didn't we tie that game in Honduras 1-1.
Ah see morris Stating 0-0.  I know we tie 0-0 the first leg in Tnt, cause i was deh.

but maybe, meh memory slipping
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #24 on: December 30, 2005, 07:18:13 AM »
but one thing, didn't we tie that game in Honduras 1-1.
Ah see morris Stating 0-0.  I know we tie 0-0 the first leg in Tnt, cause i was deh.

but maybe, meh memory slipping

Nah, yuh correct. Dat jes dawn on meh dis morning. It is now updated.

« Reply #25 on: December 30, 2005, 11:59:08 AM »
Nice one Palos! Allyuh see how pan and football goes together?! If only we can get our local T&T communities to support their local football teams as they do their pansides like it was back in the day local T&T football games will start have great attendances and making money again! Media coverage and interviews with players coaches etc also has an important role to play.

Our panyard culture could also be a very strong one for local football support if we nuture it in the right way and certain characters don't try to control everything where local T&T football is concerned!

« Reply #26 on: December 30, 2005, 12:05:39 PM »
Nice one dey Pman.. ah now ovas how you get that moderator wuk.. you bribe them with this interview..

« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2005, 10:26:22 AM »
Great stuff palos, I really liked it.

Sam Charles was a boss player for ASL, real composed simple player

SSFL Graduates with Clayton Morris
« Reply #28 on: October 19, 2017, 06:26:47 AM »
SSFL Graduates with Clayton Morris
SSFL Media

Former National Team defender Clayton Morris is to this day remembered mostly for his role as captain of the famous 1989 Strike Squad during the Road to Italy World Cup qualifying campaign.

From media interviews to motivational presentations to coaching sessions, JB is always referred to as the 89 skipper and consistently asked to make comparisons to the cases of back then and now. Case in point, the recent 2-1 victory over the United States at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

But there is a particular period in Morris career that stands out It is one which he reflects on glowingly the days when he played for John Donaldson Technical Institute.

After earning selection to the National Under 19 team at age 17 after lighting up the
St Anns and North Zone competitions with Rangers, Morris got his first opportunity to play in the Colleges League with John D. The period that stands out for him was the infamous three-match Intercol Final of 1979 which was eventually won by Fatima College.

I was an early school drop out as by the age of 14 I had to find other ways of making ends meet due to the fact that I came from a large family of eleven siblings. I was playing in the community of St. Anns with Rangers and I had done enough to make it into the national youth teams and by age 17 I was on the national under 19 team. But I always had an interest in the Colleges league and I would pay to go and see Mucurapo play. That Mucurapo team includes the likes of my cousin Wendell Belgrave and I would be in awe of the excitement and the large crowds. One day I eventually told my brother that I wanted to be part of the league and my success at the time allowed me to be drafted into John D where I had the chance to play football and also do building construction. The rest is history as they say, Morris added.

The most memorable times for me came in the 1979 Intercol Final that was played three times. We won the first game, 2-1, at the Queens Park Oval but the game was ordered to be replayed after it was said that the referee played a half that was too long. I scored in that game from a corner. i then set up the equaliser in the replay which finished 3-3 and then we lost the third replay 2-1 at the Oval. It is one of those experiences in local football that I alway remember, said the former Trintoc player.

Fatimas Anton Corneal and Morris were described as they key players of that year for both teams with the likes of Geoffrey Lake,Graeme Rodriguez and Garnet Craig also lining up for Fatima.

The experience of the League back then propelled me to go to further international football. I had the chance to travel to Dallas, Suriname and Guyana with the under 19 national team and then the next step was the senior team. Playing in those atmospheres and being involved in fierce competition was a major help for any young player at the time who was then going on to senior team football, Morris said.

So what about the League today? Morris believes that while there is room for growth, the league is heading in a positive direction.

Now with the heavy influence of social media and the coverage of the matches on Sportsmax TV, there is a better medium for exposure and there is an added incentive for players and teams to produce good football and to showcase themselves.

But they are more exposed to the world now as there is an opportunity for more marketing and therefore the quality of the football must step up. There is a need for the game to be more organised in terms of play, Morris said.

The former T&T Senior team assistant coach is now charged with the responsibility of overseeing the programme at University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) and he made reference to several players who have come through the SSFL and have gone on to play for UTT and graduate with degrees.

There are endless opportunities through the league and also for players who continue to go outside to expand their education and their football both at colleges abroad and locally at institutes such as UTT, he said.

Morris takes Futsal to Maximum Prison

Morris is also a head coach of the National Futsal Team and through the UTT Corporate Social Responsibility initiative, he is involved in a Futsal coaching programme at the Maximum State Prison in Arouca on Mondays and Thursdays of each week.

What we do is go in there and reach out to these instrumentals who have suffered consequences because of a life of crime. But we are working with them, teaching them about building team spirit and friendship, teach them futsal, refereeing and coaching and it is amazing to see the response among guys who might have been warring against each other previously. We have noticed improvements and seeing humans being transformed before our eyes which is a joy to experience, Morris said.

July 27th 1990 stands out for me after the '89 experience
« Reply #29 on: July 27, 2020, 07:16:53 PM »
July 27th 1990 stands out for me after the '89 experience
By Clayton Morris (pushing limits.net)

It was billed as the big return of international football to local shores in the aftermath of the painstaking defeat to the United States in the 1990 World Cup qualifier less than 9 months earlier, which broke the hearts of local fans.

Shell Cup 90 fever hits Trinidad a headline read in the Jamaica Gleaner.

"They think it's no big thing. Most Trinidadians feel their footballers should be able to take care of all the other teams. After November 19 when the team lost to the USA in the World Cup play-off game, Trinidadians felt the Caribbean Championship is not as strong a tournament for the national team, said then journalist, the late Dave Lamy.

There was no Russell Latapy, Dwight Yorke or Leonson Lewis in the side as the trio had taken up contracts on Portugal and England.  Also missing from the squad was Marvin Faustin

Competition banners, placed all along the route from Piarco Airport to downtown Port of Spain, tell a story of a country, in the mood for, and well prepared to take on Caribbean football's number one tournament. Little boys in the streets brighten the surroundings with national team jerseys of Trinidad and Tobago.

In almost every building one enters, there is talk of the Shell Cup finals whether it is the apparent "setback" to the National team due to the absence of their four top players forwards Leonson Lewis and Dwight Yorke, midfielder Russell Latapy and defender Marvin Faustin, or the big question of whether or not upsets will be the order of the day, as happened in the 1990 World Cup, the newspaper stated.

The 1991 Shell Cup Squad in Jamaica. T&T finished runners up to the host nation that year

T&T easily dispatched Grenada 5-0 in the opener on Sunday July 22nd with a double from Peter Alfred and Larry Joseph and one from Paul Elliot Allen.

T&T coach Edgar Vidale described the victory as "great and one the whole country will be proud of."

"We played to according to the team plan. The boys stuck to the strategy we thought would be good enough to beat Grenada. I had seen them against Suriname and was able to devise a plan to counter their style. The result makes me proud of the boys. They kept their composure in the first half and concentrated well throughout the session."

Team captain Clayton Morris described the victory as "the start of another journey."

"We tried last year to reach the World Cup finals but just didn't do it," he said.

The following was written by Morris for Pushinglimits.net

The biggest Day after November 19th
by Clayton Morris

Two dates and events that will forever be in my memory, November 19th 1989 and July 27th 1990. They both have significant meaning to me as a citizen and also as leader of the Trinidad and Tobago Mens National Football Team on both occasions.

This day July 27th is also the birthday of my eldest brother Harold Mau Morris who unfortunately passed away on the 26th November 2016. (Happy Birthday big brother continue to rest in peace).

Resuming national duties after the disappointing result on November 19th 1989 was kind of mix feelings and emotions for me in that here we were preparing for the defence of the Shell Caribbean Cup under the supervision of Edgar Vidale and not Everald Gally Cummings with whom we should have been with at 1990 World Cup finals in Italy around the same period. While the Shell Cup was now the stage for our international appearances, it certainly was no comparison to Italia 1990.

This Shell Cup however was the ideal opportunity to get new and younger players as my memory serves me Shaka Hislop one of the reserve Goalkeepers, Angus Eve, Dexter Cyrus and Alvin Thomas into the national senior team for the first time. In the 5-0 victory in the first game versus Grenada in this tournament we showed great potential to demolish all comers.

The preparation for this tournament started about four months before with very serious and tough physical fitness under trainer Walcott.  I remember we played a practice game in the Police Barracks versus Caledonia AIA two days before the tournament kicked off. This game gave coach Vidale the ideal opportunity to see what to expect from his charges going into the first game.  It prompted the AIA Coach at the time Jamal Shabazz to request a rematch. But this didnt happen as you all know what transpired that week.

All eight teams for this tournament were housed at Cascadia Hotel in St Anns my home town. This was  very trying and testing times for me as captain and citizen of Trinidad and Tobago. After the soldiers on the Trinidad and Tobago national team were called in to duty, six of them, and the other players whose family members were able to provide transport to get to home, I was the only Trinidadian left back at the hotel with the visiting teams. During this period I had to provide mediation on countless occasions as the players from the respective teams looked for ways to ease their frustration on each other. They were all forced to remain throughout the ordeal until flights could take them out of the country.

This team in 1990 was special in that without some of the overseas based professionals Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke, we had some players hungry and determine to get on the final squad for the Concacaf Gold Cup that year . They were determined to give it their all to make the final cut. And this was the first time the Gold Cup was being staged.

The preparation for the game against Jamaica was very positive as we knew that this was the team that would give us a tough physical battle and we could not think of  taking them lightly. We went through our paces as normal and were ready to give an excellent performance as we did versus Grenada. Unfortunately the situation changed as we were all relaxed in the National Stadium watching the encounter between Barbados and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

We all knew what was taking place in the country at the time. I recall hearing a loud noise and saw smoke coming from the area of the Red House in Port of Spain. I said to my teammates that is the Police Headquarters is on fire. Then we saw soldiers armed with machine guns running around the Muslim compound behind the Stadium.

This situation did have great concerns on players mentally and football and going out on the field to play a football game under these conditions were the last thing on our minds. History have it we did play the game as for security reasons it was the best option as persons who attended the football game were safer there at that point in time.  The result was a 0-0 draw but I think the memories of that day are there for reasons other than football. The events of July 1990 has brought total awareness to this country in that security became more prevalent as never before in my humble view.

What I can say is there were eleven men on the field that evening at the national stadium that were carrying the hopes of a nation for another cause and I stand today commending them for their efforts. Unfortunately we could not go onto contest the final against Martinique on July 29th which I felt confident we would have been able to secure a victory and another Shell Cup title for our country.

To those families who lost love ones during that time, May God continue to give your strength. I know its very tough on you when this time comes around. Keep the faith, God is Love