Name: Jason Norville.
Position: Forward.
Club: Woking FC (England, Jan-2008 to present).
Previous Clubs: Watford (England - Feb-2002 to May-2005), Barnet FC (England, 04-Aug-2005 to
Jan-2008).
DOB: 09-Sep-1983.
BORN: Sangre Grande, (Trinidad).
Schools: St Francis RC Primary School (Sangre Grande, Trinidad), Watford FC
Academy (England).
TnT Senior Debut: Made his T&T debut a day after his 20th
Birthday on the 10th of September, 2003 vs Morocco in, Morocco.
NOTE: Norville is described as a "live-wire front-runner" type
player with good close ball control, made some impressive displays for Watford
reserve team and eventually graduated to Watford's senior team in Feb, 2002.
First Watford, now Barnet, in 2006 an injury-plagued seems destine to end
Jason's career.
Related News:
Jason Norville offered terms.
Barnet FC.
31-Jul-2005 - Jason Norville, the 21-year-old Trinidad-born striker who has been
released by Championship Watford after four years, has been offered terms with
English League Two team Barnet FC. Manager Paul Fairclough confirmed this
development after training at Potters Bar on Friday. Norville, who came on the
Bees scene at Canvey Island last week and made a second half substitute outing,
made 14 appearances for Watford, six of them starts, and scored one goal.
Jason Norville: "Injuries cost me my chance"
News: Watford Website.
24-May-2005 - Jason Norville cited continual injury problems as the main reason
he never established himself at Watford.
The Trinidadian striker was released by the Hornets at the end of the 04/05
season and will be looking for a new club next season, with Colchester United a
possible destination after an earlier interest in the 21-year old.
A player who was always on the periphery of the first-team without ever breaking
through, he suffered a torried run of injuries which ruled him out of action for
lengthy periods in almost every season at Vicarage Road - ultimately ending his
time with the Hornets.
Before heading off on his summer break, Norville sat down with watfordfc.com to
ponder a spell which promised much, but ultimately delivered very little.
"No, it hasn't delivered much at all," he agreed. "I remember
after my debut at Bradford talking about pushing on and playing in the first
team but it's just never happened.
"I've had a lot of injuries during my time here, one after the other
really, so it's been very hard to even get close to the team.
"I'd like to think that people knew I was a good player but injuries
prevented me showing it to anyone. If I could have stayed injury-free I'm sure
that things would be different now."
Jason nearly joined Colchester United on a loan spell but was recalled just
before the transfer deadline, and hopes that their earlier interest will
manifest itself in the form of a contract offer during the summer.
"I haven't spoken to them but I would hope so - it was disappointing not to
go there and show what I could do but I don't know if they're still interested.
"It would have been the ideal chance to get some league games under my belt
- I was playing in the Reserves here anyway but some proper league games would
have been good for my fitness and confidence."
The striker enjoyed a rich run of form in the Barclays Premiership Reserve
League (South) towards the end of his Watford stint, scoring five in five starts
and, he hopes, finally showing what he's capable of.
"I knew a little ago that my contract wasn't being renewed so I was playing
for myself really - that's the best way to play I think, to do it for
yourself," he revealed.
"Scouts want to see you in the first team - I know I can play at the
Reserve level because I've done it for the last six years but could I do it at
the next level up? I think I can and that's what I want to prove next
year."
Jason Norville hits five in five.
By: Shaun Fuentes.
20-Apr-2005 - Watford striker Jason Norville is pressing his claims for a recall
to the Watford first team, following a series of impressive performance for the
Reserves in recent weeks.
Norville was the pick of the Watford players in a 3-0 win over Fulham on the
weekend, scoring the opener in the 5th minute and going close on at least four
other occasions for the duration of the match.
He was on the end of a cross before, a simple tap in, following good work by a
teammate on the left.
The goal was Norville’s fifth in as many matches and his form could just be
noticed by T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker.
Norville made his debut for T&T in a friendly against Morocco in 2003, but
has not represented the country since. He saw a deal with Colchester United fall
through recently, after Watford management requested that he remain at the club.
Hopefully for Norville, he will be in the first team before the season ends.
Watford is currently 17th on the English Championship table.
Jason Norville Colchester United deal collapses.
Colchester United FC.
24-Mar-2005 - The U's expected loan move for Trinidad & Tobago international
Jason Norville has collapsed at the last minute, after parent club Watford
decided they wanted to retain the striker for the rest of the season having been
on trial with the U's for the past ten days.
A deal had been agreed earlier in the day for the 21-year-old striker but,
having signed the paperwork at Layer Road on Thursday morning, he has now been
recalled by the Hornets.
U's Chief Executive Marie Partner explained: "I have just received a phone
call from Watford, who were particularly apologetic and embarrassed by the fact
that they have had to recall Jason.
"In light of the recent disruption that has taken place at Vicarage Road
with the manager leaving, their chairman felt that by allowing Jason to leave,
it left their squad depleted and formally requested that he returned to Watford
straight away.
"He had been in to Layer Road this morning and signed the paperwork
involved to complete the move, but after Watford got in touch to say that they
had changed their mind, this paperwork was not submitted to the Football
League."
The pacey forward will return to Vicarage Road on Thursday afternoon to prepare
for the Hornets' Easter fixture list. We will have further comment later in the
day from Phil Parkinson.
Meet Jason Norville...Express Sports seeks out T&T’s Watford recruit.
By Lasana Liburd.
03-Oct-2003 - Who is Jason Norville?” That question must have been on the lips
of every Trinidad and Tobago football fan when national coach Stuart
Charles-Fevrier included the young Watford player for a mid-September
international friendly in Morocco.
There was no magical debut in the North African country as the visitors were
comfortably beaten 2-0.
No match report indicating that the attacker had run the Moroccans ragged or
provided a perfect foil for his more seasoned strike partner, Stern John.
Do not expect too much on the 20-year-old Norville in the Trinidad Express
British weekend pro round-up, either.
Norville is yet to turn out for the Watford first team this season.
So, when I did locate the north London—actually Hertfordshire—ground, my
next question was: “Where is Jason Norville?”
Watford, who are one place off the foot of the Division One table, were hosting
mid-table Ipswich.
He was neither on the field nor among the reserves.
Club programme editor, Richard Walker, kindly offered to spearhead the search in
the Vicarage Road ground, which seats 21,000 spectators but looked to be about
3,000 short on the day.
Eventually, he returned from the north stand with the slender youngster with
club tracks and T-shirt.
Norville reckoned that he was six foot and 161 pounds, which seemed about right.
“Hello man,” he said, with a smile that revealed a gold cap. “What’s
going on?”
Only it sounded like, “Wha goin on?”
Okay, so this is not Robbie Earle or any of the other “Jamaicans” that Rene
Simoes had unearthed en route to qualifying for the 1998 World Cup.
“Well, my daddy (Michael) was born in Grande,” Norville explained, “and my
mom (Marva) from Point.”
Bless my hearing, I had discovered a real Trinidadian.
I pointed the way to a good vantage point where we could view the game while
conducting an interview.
Norville led the way by bounding through and on rows of chairs as if we were the
only people in the stadium.
We managed it without kicking anyone and starting a riot.
So, there is a tick next to “agile” and “willing to take on defenders”
for him as well.
Norville was, in fact, born and raised in Trinidad and attended St Francis RC
Primary School in Sangre Grande before moving to London at the age of seven.
He has returned to Trinidad about three times since.
Did he stay in a hotel or by family?
“No, I stayed in our home,” he said casually. “In Valencia, my uncle stays
there while we’re away.”
His own story seems just as remarkably uncomplicated.
His father represented Police and—another surprise is the cousin of the former
Arima stand-out known as “Mickey Rat”.
I mentioned national youth player and another talented left-footed attacker,
Gorean Highley, who has also been named as a Mickey Rat relative.
“Yeah? He must be family on the other side.”
Norville is not one to dwell on problems. If he gave a subtle message in the
interview, it was “keep it simple”.
He traced his progression—from small goal scrimmages to a Watford debut under
Italian manager Gianluca Vialli, two seasons ago—in less than five minutes.
In London, his father would take him to watch games in the park, while his
uncle, Junior Nelson, sometimes took him as his personal cheerleader to Sunday
league (amateur) football contests.
By nine, Norville was playing on Sundays as well for the Crown Manor under-12
team.
“Yeah!”
A cheer went up from the crowd as Watford opened the scoring in the 21st minute,
although Norville seemed only half-interested.
He was focused on finishing his story.
After a season at Crown Manor, Norville moved to another Sunday league team,
Arvesdale, whose manager, Carl Dixon, was a Watford scout.
He was asked to join at 12 and he has been with the “Hornets” ever since.
Then came a call from the Trinidad and Tobago manager, about three months ago,
asking him if he fancied an interna-tional cap.
The crowd were reacting again but this time they were making deflated noises as
the “Tractor Boys” had drawn level. The visitors went on to win on a sublime
late goal.
“Look how them people come and score a stupid goal, nah,” Norville said,
wearing his disappointment on his sleeve.
Right, so back to his international career as I tried to unearth exactly what
enticing words “Soca Warriors” manager George Joseph slipped into his ear.
Nothing doing. I tried another angle.
“So, how did the Trinidad and Tobago staff find out about you?”
“I think they had a scout watching football games here or something,” he
said, “and they just called me up one day.”
Naturally, he did not enquire how they got his phone number in the first place
or why they had chosen him.
Dead end.
But did Norville ever think about playing for Trinidad and Tobago before that
call? Or did he see himself sporting the “Three Lions” alongside the likes
of Michael Owen and Wayne Rooney in the English set-up?
The latter scenario, he admitted, had crossed his mind.
There had apparently been speculation—relayed to him by his agent—that David
Platt had him on a shortlist for the England under-21 squad.
But hearsay is tiring to a youngster like Norville—too complex, too
troublesome.
“There was talk that he was looking at me,” he said, “and that he wanted
me to join his under-21 team, but the only person who actually called me was the
man from Trinidad.
“And that helps because anybody can say that England want me to play,
but…”
Still, his decision was not as simple as he attempted to suggest at first.
Watford manager Ray Lewington quite preferred the idea of a young England
international in his squad rather than a Trinidad and Tobago player.
Perhaps Lewington already had confrontations with the Jamaica Football
Federation (JFF) over key Watford players Marcus Gayle and Micah Hayde—who
chose Jamaica over T&T during the last World Cup qualifying campaign.
Whatever his reason, Lewington said he was making a mistake, while Norville’s
agent also explained to his young charge that England offered a bigger shop
window.
But then it was not the English management who had the courtesy to pick up the
phone and call, now was it?
Norville explained that he spoke “long and hard” to his parents, who advised
him to represent the land of his birth.
“You know international football is the highest level you can play, so…”
He had a habit of not finishing his sentences if he felt he could get away with
it.
Why waste time on extra words if you felt your thoughts had already been
conveyed.
He approached Gayle, who played in the 1998 World Cup, and Hyde for advice, as
well, and they both said it would be a good experience.
“By then, I had already made up my mind,” he said. “Trinidad is where I
was born and that is where my people from, so…”
His first international experience was surreal.
Norville explained that he had never seen Trinidad and Tobago play before, so he
did not know what to expect on the field or how he would fit in.
Fevrier told him to play his natural game and he did his best.
“They don’t play the ball into the channels (the space between the central
defender and his full back) much,” he said, “but then it was so hot I was
quite grateful for them holding the ball at certain times.
“There was not as much goalmouth action as I would have liked but, other than
that, I think I did well.”
So did the T&T management.
John, who is usually sparse with his praise, believes that the player can be an
immediate asset and thinks there is definite need for a left-footed attacker.
Fevrier believes he has an eye for goal, is tricky in possession and should be a
handful once he adds some muscle to his light frame.
Already, plans are being made for Norville’s first competitive cap with the
T&T under-23 Olympic team.
Norville is somewhat modest in his own self-analysis.
“Ball into feet—good,” he said, as if going through a checklist.
“Pace—decent. Need to work on right foot and heading.”
And why was he in the stands rather than on the field trying to halt the Watford
slide?
For once, he was stumped as he searched for an answer.
After making his club debut at 18, Norville made 14 league appearances last
season—most from the bench—with one goal to his credit.
He started the 2003/04 season injured but he was fine now.
“To be honest, I really can’t tell you why,” he said, with a shrug. “I
just try to get my head down and work so that I’ll be ready when my chance
comes.”
Why waste time looking for conspiracy theories, after all, that would be
un-Norville.
Not that he is flippant about his career.
His two goals as a footballer are to be an international player and to play in
the Premiership.
He is looking forward to his first competitive international appearance,
although he did not want to buy his hen house too quickly.
“To be fair, you have to be picked first,” he said, with an embarrassed
laugh. “Let me not talk too fast and next thing I’m sucking salt.”
He meant it, too.
Refreshingly honest and jovial, there were no airs about young Norville as he
discussed his burgeoning career.
He spoke in glowing terms of his family and he was especially proud of his
18-month-old son, Jevon.
“Big him up for me,” he said, with a broad smile. “Make sure you put my
beautiful son, the joy of my life. Sometimes when training is hard, I just
can’t wait to go home and see my son.”
And the highlight of his football career so far?
That was easy—his only professional goal to date, which came in a 2-2 draw
away to Sheffield Wednesday.
“It was a long ball headed by our defender,” he said, gleefully accepting
the challenge to recreate the item. “The ball bounced in the middle of the
opposite half and I took the ball on my thigh and turned. Then I ran at one
defender and he fell, he probably still there trying to get up (laughter).
“The right back was coming at me and I cut inside him and I shot back across
my body from on top the box past Kevin Pressman. It was about the 82nd minute.
“I just ran to the corner flag and everyone came and jumped on me.”
Norville expects to get more goals but he is not worried about the long wait.
As he pointed out, he needs to get on to the field before he can address that
problem.
It did not make any sense fretting about something he could not change at the
moment, so why bother. Simple, unflustered, playful, ready—that is Jason
Norville.
Jason Norville happy to be part of the ‘Soca Warriors’
TnT Express Reports.
8-Sept-2003 - Cox and Mauge were
newcomers three years ago and on Wednesday, another T&T England-based player
is expected to make his debut for Fevrier’s team.
This country's youngest English-based striker, Jason Norville, revealed recently
how Engand manager David Platt told him that he would regret turning down the
chance to play for England's Under 21 team.
The promising Watford striker
Jason Norville who met his new teammates at London’s Heathrow Airport and is all
pumped up over the opportunity to play on the senior international stage. Having
lived in England since age seven, Norville, who turns 20 tomorrow, revealed that
despite Watford officials attempting to prevent him from playing for T&T, he
could not have turned his back on the opportunity. After all, he turned down the
chance to play for England at Under 21 level.
“This is an opportunity I have thought long and hard about and I made up my
mind that I wanted to play for Trinidad and Tobago,” Norville told Trinidad
and Tobago Football Federation media man Shuan Fuentes on Sunday. “But back at
the club, they weren’t too happy about me coming over for this game and I’ve
already been warned that when I return (to Watford), my place won’t be there
and I’ll have to fight to get back into the team. But I’m prepared to go all
the way because this opportunity to play on the international stage is something
I have my set my mind on doing,” he added.
Norville graduated from the Watford Youth Academy before breaking into the first
team during the 2001/2002 season. He had 15 appearances last season but has only
appeared for the reserves this season after recovering from a hamstring injury.
He also turned down an invitation from David Platt to train with the England
Under-21 team.
“That was an opportunity for me to try and see if I could get into the England
youth team. They have expressed interest in me even since the Under-19 level,
but that chance is no longer there and I intend to give this new opportunity
with T&T my best shot,” said Norville.
"I remember he (Platt) told me that I would regret this decision not to
play for the England youth team," Norville said last week. "He wanted
me to take up the call but I turned it down and I spoke about my ambitions to
play for Trinidad and Tobago and even though he didn't react in a bad manner, he
said 'Jason you will regret this decision'."
"But I've made my decision and now I am a Trinidad and Tobago player. I
have a lot of years ahead of me and intend to make the best of them playing for
T&T as well," added Norville.
Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers trained for the first time at the
Stade Harte here in Marrakesh, Morocco, ahead of Wednesday’s friendly
international against the host nation.
A “Soca Warriors” outfit, comprising of a decent mix of overseas and
local-based professionals have settled here at the La Meridien Hotel, Marrakesh,
following their journey from Piarco on Friday evening. The T&T contingent
spent Saturday night at the Hyatt Hotel, Casablanca, before taking a connecting
flight to Marrakesh yesterday morning with the full squad on board.
And despite the humid conditions, skipper Reynold Carrington and company are
eagerly awaiting the chance for what undoubtedly is the team’s biggest
international since Stuart Charles Fevrier took up duties as head coach.
The last time these two teams met, a T&T side with the likes of Falkirk
midfielder Russell Latapy, Portsmouth goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, David Nakhid and
England-born newcomers, Ronnie Mauge and Ian Cox, narrowly lost 1-0 as they
prepared for Gold Cup and World Cup campaigns. This time around, the
circumstances are not much different as T&T’s journey towards Germany 2006
is on the verge of kicking into high gear.
Coach Fevrier spoke of his intentions over the next couple of days:
“I will be using the next couple days to formulate the starting team for this
game against Morocco. Some of the players I am yet to really work with but I
know each of them and it’s just for us to get things in place now. We know we
have to be prepared to play well both on and off the ball. But the key to me
will be ensuring that we do well when we are not in possession of the ball on
Wednesday.”
Morocco meantime have been preparing for the game in the capital, Rabat, with a
squad inclusive of their European-based professionals and will arrive in
Marrakesh tomorrow.
FIFA vice president Trinidadian Jack Warner also arrived here at the weekend for
Wednesday’s game which is expected to draw much attention from the local fans
as their team prepare for World Cup qualifying action.
New English-based pro in T&T squad for Morocco.
By: Shaun Fuentes.
2-Sept-2003 - There will be a new addition to the "Soca Warriors" in
midfielder Jason Norville who campaigns with English side Watford.
Norville, born in T&T, accepted the invitation from the TTFF and will join
the squad in Manchester before heading off to Morocco as T&T prepare the for
2006 World Cup qualifying matches expected to begin early next year.
The 20-year-old striker who also fills an attacking midfield role made his debut
for the Watford first team in October, 2002 while still a member of the club's
Under 19 and Reserve teams. He has impressed since then and is now back in the
side campaigning in the English First Division, having recently recovered from
an ankle injury.
Portsmouth goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, Crewe Alexandra's Clayton Ince and Brentford
utility player Anthony Rougier all indicated they were unavailable for the game.
"This is another important international for us in the preparations for the
World Cup qualifiers that will be upon us soon. So it's good to be able to have
the overseas and the local pros come together for this game. Fortunately, it's
an international week so we can use this to have a look at the players who are
now on the foreign circuit," Fevrier told TTFF Media.
"It's also a good chance to see how the new player from Watford will fit
into the team. I'm keen to see how he does. At the same time, our players
already in the team will have the chance to continue preparing together because
this is what we need as the qualifiers get closer," he added.
The international against Morocco is scheduled to September 10. The National
Under 23 team meanwhile, leaves on Thursday for Bahamas where they will kick off
their 2004 Olympic qualifying campaign against the hosts with two games on
Friday and Sunday.
Senior Squad For Morocco:
Kelvin Jack (GK), Michael McComie (GK), Dennis Lawrence (D), Marvin Andrews (D),
Avery John (D), Brent Sancho (D), Travis Mulraine (D/M), Reynold Carrington
(D/M), Anton Pierre (D/M), Dale Saunders (D/M), Carlos Edwards (RW), Evans Wise
(LW), Stokely Mason (M), Aurtis Whitley (M), Cornell Glenn (A/M), Jason Norville
(A/M), Jason Scotland (F), Hector Sam (F), Stern John (F), Peter Prosper (F).