Typography
Let there be peace!

And let the Warriors go forward and bring joy to us all.

No bacchanal. No confrontations. No confusion. Nothing negative.

Just allow Dwight and Russell and the national icons to go forward in an atmosphere of peace and love to do what we must all feel that they are capable of doing.

Those things of the past that we may have accused them of, have been erased and their total commitment to the Germany 2006 cause, regardless of the final outcome, must be applauded.

Both have been exemplary on and off the field. We have watched them giving 100 percent and more on the field and their leadership off the pitch, if we are to judge by the comments of the younger players, has been a tremendous boost.

They must be provided with an atmosphere no less than 1989, but without the trappings which derailed the Strike Squad; nothing of the arrogance, nothing of the stupidity that took us from Fyzabad to Port of Spain.

It is 16 years later for Dwight and Russell, but not 16 years too late.

We were robbed by Haiti in 1973 and inexperience cost us in 1989.

Now, for the third time in our history, we are just one step away from the world’s greatest sporting stage.

There will be cause for distraction, but in the interest of our team, this must be overlooked until November 17.

It’s so good to see FIFA vice-president Austin Jack Warner in the leadership role for which he continues to receive so much praise in the outside world.

He’ll never get the recognition he deserves at home, but the country’s most travelled ambassador has been noticeably quiet in the last few days, moving behind the scenes to ensure the best for his country’s football.

No doubt, there are things to which he would like to respond, but the years of experience must have taught him that in the current scenario, some things are better left unsaid.

It is what we need. Nothing negative. Everyone must add a piece of positivity.

Am I being foolish to ask the criminals to put crime on the backburner, at least for the next few days?

Our guns, figuratively, must be aimed at Bahrain.

They are the ones we must shoot down.

Let us not shoot ourselves in the foot with anything less than a genuine and concerted show of support for our team.

Positive vibes, I say.

And the results can only be positive.