Mon, Jul


Russell LatapyRussell Latapy has called up twenty two (22) locally based players for his first training session tomorrow (Wednesday) since his appointment as Men’s National Senior Team Head Coach.

Latapy, who took over the post from Francisco Maturana, will commence preparations for the upcoming 2010 World Cup Qualifiers against Costa Rica (June 6, Dwight Yorke Stadium) and Mexico (June 10, Mexico City) with a training session at the Larry Gmes Stadium, Malabar from 5pm.

Two sessions at 9am and 5pm will follow on Thursday and another on Friday. The squad will at Malabar twice weekly until May 20 before moving to Tobago inclusive of the overseas-based professionals on May 23.

Latapy has recalled some players who were involved in the National Men’s Team program in the past but may not have been involved in recent qualification action. They include W Connection’s Nikcolson Thomas, Defence Force’s Michael Edwards and Devon Jorsling, Jabloteh goalkeeper Cleon John, Tobago United’s Dwayne Jack, Caledonia AIA’s Gyasi Joyce, Joe Public’s Hayden Tinto and Conrad Smith. W Connection’s Andre Toussaint. W Connection forward Hughtun Hector and Jabloteh defender  Noel Williams has also been named in the squad. Connection midfielder Clyde Leon was not named in the squad as he is expected to undergo a hernia operation and is out for an undisclosed time.

The rest of the squad include Cornell Glen, Errol McFarlane, Marvin Phillip, Keyeno Thomas, Makan Hislop, Aklie Edwards, Densill Theobald, Ataullah Guerra, Kevaughn Connell, Keon Daniel and Trent Noel. Experienced midfielder Theobald spoke of his readiness for the start of preparations ahead of T&T’s next two qualifiers.

“It’s important that we all give Russell the support now that he is in the main position as head coach. I think he can expect us to work hard for him and give our best effort to try and lift the team’s performance. The players coming into the team will be very excited about the opportunity as well so I expect they will want to make a good impression in front of coach Latapy,” Theobald told TTFF Media.


Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Cleon John (San Juan Jabloteh).

Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public F.C), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Dwayne Jack (Tobago United), Noel Williams (San Juan Jabloteh), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Michael Edwards (Defence Force), Gyasi Joyce (Caledonia AIA), Nickcolson Thomas (W Connection).

Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Trent Noel (United Petrotrin), Ataullah Guerra (San Juan Jabloteh), Kevaughn Connell (Unattached), Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public F.C), Keon Daniel (Unattached).

Cornell Glen (United Petrotrin), Errol McFarlane (St Ann’s Rangers), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Conrad Smith (Joe Public F.C).