Coca Cola Intercol kicks off in North Zone today.

Following a turbulent season in the Secondary Schools Football League Premier Division, schools turn their attention to the one which started it all as the Coca Cola Intercol knockout competition kicks off with preliminary matches in the North Zone today.

Three matches will usher in this year’s competition and among them will see newly promoted team and 2014 champions East Mucurapo Secondary come up against Diego Martin Central Secondary from 3:30pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

That encounter is the second match in a double header which also sees Malick Secondary match wits against Diego Martin North from 1:30 pm.

At QRC grounds in St Clair, St Francis College, formerly Belmont Intermediate will meet Tranquility Secondary from 3:30pm. Since the inception of the new format of the SSFL League competition, schools from the south zone have prevailed in all four years.

On Saturday, Presentation College, San Fernando continued the South Zone’s dominance, following in the footsteps of Naparima College which was the back to back winner in 2014 and 2015 as well as the now relegated Shiva Boys Hindu College which claimed the title in 2016.

The Intercol competition has proven a tougher trophy for the southerners to secure however, as dating back to 2010 only one school has been successful when Naps did the League and Intercol double in 2015. Apart from that the title has been shared amongst the East, North and Tobago Zones. Signal Hill won it in 2010 following a double for St Anthony’s College the next two years\ and one win for St Augustine in 2013.

Mucurapo’s and Naparima’s wins preceded San Juan North Secondary’s win last year.

The defending champs will see action for the first time on Monday November 13, entering the competition at the zonal quarter-final stage against El Dorado East Secondary.

2017 Coca Cola Intercol fixtures

(Monday 6 November)

Malick Sec v Diego Martin North, 1.30pm, North Prelims B, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

East Mucurapo v Diego Martin Central, 3.30pm, North Prelims A, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

St Francis College v Tranquillity Secondary, 3.30pm, North Prelims C, QRC grounds;

(Tuesday 7 November)

Siparia West v La Romaine Sec, 3.30pm, South prelims A, Morne Diablo ground;

Pleasantville Sec v Fyzabad Anglican, 3pm, South prelims B, Mahaica Oval;

Pt Fortin East v Princes Town West, 5pm, South prelims C, Mahaica Oval;

(Wednesday 8 November)

Chaguanas North v Preysal Sec, 3.30pm, Central quarters A, Hugo Francis ground;

Presentation (Chag) v Couva East, 1.30pm, Central quarters B, Carapichaima East;

Gasparillo Sec v Cunupia Sec, 3.30pm, Central quarters C, Carapichaima East;

Trinity East v Holy Cross College, 1.30pm, East quarters B, Larry Gomes Stadium;

Valencia Secondary v Five Rivers, 3.30pm, East quarters A, Larry Gomes Stadium;

(Thursday 9 November)

St Mary’s College v East Mucurapo/Diego Martin Central, 1.30pm, North quarters D, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

Fatima College v Malick/Diego Martin North, 3.30pm, North quarters E, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

Bishop’s HS v Scarborough Sec, 3pm, Tobago quarters A, Bon Accord;

Speyside HS v Mason Hall Sec, 5pm, Tobago quarters B, Bon Accord;

(Friday 10 November)

St Benedict’s v Siparia/La Romaine, 1.30pm, South quarters D, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

Naparima College v Pleasantville/Fyzabad Anglican, 3.30pm, South quarters E, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

(Monday 13 November)

San Juan North v El Dorado East, 3.30pm, East quarters D, St Augustine;

Arima North v St Augustine Sec, 4pm, East quarters C, Marvin Lee Stadium;

Goodwood Sec v Pentecostal L&L, 3pm, Tobago quarters C, Bon Accord;

Signal Hill v Roxborough Sec, 5pm, Tobago quarters D, Bon Accord;

QRC v Trinity Moka, 1.30pm, North quarters F, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

St Anthony’s v St Francis/Tranquillity, 3.30pm, North quarters G, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

Shiva Boys v Moruga Sec, 1.30pm, South quarters F, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

Presentation (San F’do) v Pt Fortin/P’ Town, 3.30pm, South quarters G, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

(Wednesday 15 November)

Chaguanas/Preysal v Gasparillo/Cunupia, 3pm, Central semis, Ato Boldon Stadium;

Carapichaima East v Presentation/Couva, 5pm, Central semis, Ato Boldon Stadium;

(Thursday 16 November)

Valencia/Five Rivers v Trinity/Holy Cross, 1.30pm, East semis, Larry Gomes Stadium;

San Juan/El Do v Arima/St Augustine, 3.30pm, East semis, Larry Gomes Stadium;

Bishop’s/Scarborough v Speyside/Mason Hall, Tobago semis, TBA;

Goodwood/Pentecostal v Signal Hill/Roxborough, Tobago semis, TBA;

North D v North E, 1.30pm, North semis, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

North F v North G, 3.30pm, North semis, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

(Friday 17 November)

South D v South E, 1.30pm, South semis, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

South F v South G, 3.30pm, South semis, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

(Monday 20 November)

Central Zone finals, 4pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

(Tuesday 21 November)

North Zone finals, 3.30pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium;

Tobago Zone finals, TBA;

(Wednesday 22 November)

East Zone finals, 3.30pm, Larry Gomes Stadium;

(Thursday 23 November)

South Zone finals, 3.30pm, Mannie Ramjohn Stadium;

(Monday 27 November)

Tobago v North, National quarterfinals, TBA;

(Thursday 30 November)

East v Tobago/North, 3pm, National semifinals, Ato Boldon Stadium;

South v Central, 5pm, National semifinals, Ato Boldon Stadium;

South v Central, National Girls Semifinals, TBA;

East v North/Tobago, National Girls Semifinals, TBA;

(Monday 4 December)

National Girls Intercol finals, 3pm, Ato Boldon Stadium;

National Boys Intercol Finals, 5pm, Ato Boldon Stadium.