U 15 girls advance to quarter finals with 2-0 shut out of Honduras

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 15 girls team progressed to the quarter final stage of the CONCACAF Under 15 Girls Championship by way of a 2-0 victory over Honduras in their closing first round encounter at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex in the Cayman Islands.

 Needing at least a draw to secure their spot after drawing 1-1 with Bermuda on Friday and defeating Barbados 4-0 last week, T&T stuck to the task at hand and got the deserved three points courtesy of goals by Canada-born midfielder Alexis Fortune and Amaya Ellis who plays with FF Frankfurt in Germany.

Head coach Rajesh Latchoo was obviously delighted, considering also that his team entered the tournament with 16 players due to travel constraints.

“We came here a bit cautious but optimistic that we could get out of the first round. Obviously going into the Honduras game after the draw against Bermuda, we knew we would have to pull out the stops and the girls played fantastic game. All credit to them for a really good effort out there,” Latchoo told TTFA Media.

“It was good to see how we were able to contain Honduras and withstand the pressure they put on us in the latter part of the game. I think the girls have grown as a team in each game and the experience here at this tournament so far will definitely put us in the right frame for the next Under 17 World Cup qualifiers,” Latchoo added.


Trinidad & Tobago: - 20.Klil KESHWAR, 3.Natisha JOHN, 4.Shenieka PAUL, 6.Amaya ELLIS, 16.Arianna CAMPBELL, 8.Nia HONORE, 12.Kaydeen JACK, 14.Alexis FORTUNE, 13.Tsai-Anne HERNANDEZ, 7.Raenah CAMPBELL, 15.Asha JAMES.

Subs: - 1.Malaika DEDIER; 2.Shalisha KING, 5.Raynicia CHARLES, 10.Adanyo PHILLP, 11.Kedie JOHNSON, 17.Alizza McCUTCHEON, 9.Laurelle THEODORE.


Honduras: - 1.Alexandra PADILLLA, 2.Eleana PINO, 3.Valeria TOME, 5.Lisbeth CRUZ, 8.Andrea LOPEZ, 11.Delmis REYES, 15.Marcela SANTOS, 17.Lisbeth BONILLA, 18.Sharon MOREIRA, 10.Annelise CANAHUATI, 7.Mirna CHAVEZ.

Subs: - 12.Isabel SIMAN; 4.Andrea ESCOBAR, 6.Elisa MURILLO, 13.Giselle GUZMAN, 14.Adriana MEJIA, 9.Katherine FAJARDO.