Mon, Jul


The final round of the Caribbean Football Union’s Club Championship Cup will once again be hosted in Trinidad and Tobago.

Having qualified for the final leg of this competition, the two local teams that participated in the group stage, W Connection Football Club, and Caledonia AIA were selected by the CFU to be the hosts for the competition which has been scheduled to kick off on June 19th 2012 at 6:00 pm.

W Connection FC has won the Caribbean Club Champions’ Cup on four occasions in 2001, 2002, 2006 and 2009 and were the runners up in 2003. This tournament represents the qualifying stage for the prestigious CONCACAF Champions League which is the highest level of club football to be played in the Caribbean Central American and North American region.

The Puerto Rico Islanders, and Antigua Barracudas will face these two Pro League teams as they all vie for a spot in the CONCACAF tournament carded to start at the end of July 2012. The PR Islanders are the defending champions of the Caribbean Championship title having won in 2011 and 2010. They were runners up in 2009.

On Labour Day, Tuesday June 19th 2012, Caledonia AIA will meet the Antigua Barracudas centerfield at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium at 6:00 pm, and WConnection FC will face the Puerto Rico Islanders at 8:00 pm at the same venue.

The losing teams of each match will then play at 6:00 pm for a third place spot on Thursday 21st June. The first and second place teams will be decided by an 8:00 pm matchup between the two winning teams from Tuesday’s games. All games will be played at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place teams will be placed into separate groups of the CONCACAF Champions League which were decided by a draw at their New York offices on June 5th 2012. The CFU teams were placed using CFU 1, CFU 2, and CFU 3 as a final round was yet to be played.

The 1st place team was placed in Group 4 with the Seattle Sounders of the US MLS and CD Marathon of Honduras.

The 2nd placed team was drawn with Chivas Guadalajara of Mexico and Xelaju MC of Guatemala in Group 8 and the 3rd place team with LA Galaxy of the US MLS and Isidro Metapan in Group 5. All games are $40 at the gates which will open at 4:00 pm; covered stands only.