Hayden Tinto and Conrad Smith each netted a pair of goals on Tuesday night as Joe Public completed a sweep of its First Round Group “C” with an 8-2 victory over the Bermudan club Devonshire Cougars at Victoria Park, Kingstown, St Vincent, advancing with Avenues United to the Second Round of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Champions Cup.

Tinto found the back of the net in the 67th and 75th minutes, while Smith got his name on the score-sheet in the 83rd and 85th. Joe Public had a 4-0 halftime lead courtesy items from Andre Toussaint (11th), Marcus Joseph (18th), Kerry Baptiste (31st) and Trent Noel (44th), while Cougars’ goal-scorers were Domico Coddington (46th) and Kwame Steede (74th).

In the second game of Tuesday’s doubleheader at Victoria Park, local side Avenues United got a pair of second-half goals from Romano Snagg and an early tally from 18-year-old Myron Samuel to subdue Leo Victor of Suriname 3-1. The result left Avenues with four points, one ahead of Leo Victor, while Devonshire finished with one point.

Joe Public will return home to head Second Round Group “C” — from April 13-17 — along with either Bayamon FC or System 3 of St Vincent, and the best third-place team from the First Round.

Avenues United will join Second Round Group “B” in Bayamon, Puerto Rico, with Tempete FC of Haiti, and either Bayamon FC or System 3.

River Plate Puerto Rico and Haiti’s Racing Gonaives already have advanced. Two First Round groups remain to be played. Group “B” with Bayamon and System 3, and Group “D” involving Alpha United and Defence Force of Guyana, Dominica’s Bath Estate and Walking Boys of Suriname.

The Second Round group winners will advance to a third league stage, from which three teams will qualify for the Preliminary Round of the CONCACAF Champions League.


Joe Public - G. Samuel, T. Noel (Yellow 17), J. Springer, C. Mitchell (Yellow 64), M. Hislop, K. Goodridge, K. Baptiste, H. Tinto, M. Joseph (Yellow 24), A. Toussaint, G. Highley.

Coach: D. King

Devonshire Cougars - C. Darrell, D. Cox, K. Franks (Yellow 14), Z. White, R. Robinson, K. Steede, K. Tucker (L. Tota 28th), D. Coddington, A. Zuill, L. Simmons (Yellow 64), R. Tucker.

Coach: D. Boyles