Sat, Aug


Kerryv Baptiste on the prowl....A first half double by Kerry Baptiste and goals by Yu Hoshide, Trent Noel and Andre Toussaint gave Bmobile Joe Public a comfortable 5-0 victory over Surinamese club Walking Boys on Wednesday night at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

The Pro League club continued its winning form coming in from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championship preliminary round to enjoy a victory in their opening Group C match of the Second Round.

Baptiste, the 2009 Toyota Player of the Year, opened the scoring in the 14th minute with a simple header past goalkeeper Jerrel Robert from inside the six yard area after being unmarked to meet Micah Lewis’ left side cross for a 1-0 advantage.

And from there on it was downhill for Walking Boys who proved far from ready for the defending Digicel Pro League Champions.

Lions’ Japanese midfielder Yu Hoshide then made it 2-0 in the 27th minute calmly slotting the ball past Jerrel Robert from outside the area after the Surinamese defence failed to clear Trent Noel’s cross from the left.

Hoshide had another leftfooted strike at goal less than a minute later from just inside are area, however Robert was on spot to gather low.

Joe Public captain Kerry Baptiste made it 3-0 and his second on the night in the 32nd minute with the goal of the match chesting Tinto’s long pass forward and volleying past goalkeeper Robert from distance.

But the Lions had some miserable moments in front of goal beginning with Micah Lewis who received a well weighted pass by Baptiste but struck high from inside the area.

Moments later Elias Afonsoewa had the Surinamese side’s first attempt on goal in the 38th minute after a neat exchange of passes between substitute Arupa Sergio and himself before hitting just wide of goalkeeper Marvin Phillip’s upright.

Public winger Lewis had second gift of the night in injury time of the first half after Hoshide played a low cross through two Walking defenders, however Lewis’ poor first touch gave goalkeeper Robert enough time to close in on the Lions player and make a brilliant blockout.

Walking Boys had a good effort three minutes inside the second half through Kemper Regillio which whisked over Phillip’s upright but they were back on the receiving end seven minutes later. 

Trent Noel, the 2009 Pro League midfielder of the Year got his name on the score sheet in the 55th minute smashing a shot from outside the area to beat Walking Boys goalie for a 4-0 score.

In the 68th minute Baptiste was inches wide of the far upright after Micah Lewis and second half introductions Gorean Highley and Andre Toussaint troubled the Surinamese club’s defence.

But the match was far from over as both sides missing opportunites in the final ten minutes before substitute and 2010 signing Andre Toussaint wrapped up a 5-0 win slotting the ball well past Pierre from distance in added on time.

Walking Boys will tackle System 3 of St. Vincent and the Grenadines on Friday at the Marvin Lee Stadium and two days later (Sunday), Joe Public will take on System 3 with the top team of Group C advancing to the Final round of the 2010 CFU Club Championship.

Joe Public 5—0 Walking Boys
Kerry Baptiste 14’, 32’, Yu Hoshide 27’, Trent Noel 55’, Andre Toussaint 90’+


Joe Public—Marvin Phillip, Kerry Baptiste (capt) (Conrad Smith), Keion Goodridge, Hayden Tinto (Gorean Highley 58th), Trent Noel, Yu Hoshide (Andre Toussaint 62th), Kareem Young, Makan Hislop, Carlyle Mitchel, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Micah Lewis.

Coach—Derek King

Walking Boys— Jerrel Robert, Marlon Felter (capt), Jap A Joe Ferdinand (Tjin Liep Shie Clifton 54th), Vangellino Sastromedijo (Sergio Arupa 35th) (Yellow+Yellow), Renaldo Lupson (Yellow 88), Alex Soares, Elias Afonsoewa, Bebeto Odang, Jermain Van Dijk, Fabian Van Dijk (Yellow 80), Regillio Kemper.

Coach—Hoepel Vanenburg.

Match Referee—Courtney Campbell (JAM)
Assistant Referee 1—Stephen Brown (JAM)
Assistant Referee 2—Dion Neil (TRI)

Jason MarcanoMarcano double guides Jabloteh over Alpha.

Jason Marcano registered on either side of the half to lead Pro League club San Juan Jabloteh to a 2-0 victory over Guyanese giants Alpha United on Wednesday night at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

It was the first competitive match for the San Juan based club this season and the first for returning head coach Terry Fenwick since rejoining the club in December.

And the Guyanese club didn’t make it an easy encounter with seven former Pro League players in their starting line-up for the opening match of Group D of the CFU Club Championship second round.

Marcano cracked Alpha in the 28th minute after intercepting a back-header and lobbing the ball over onrushing goalkeeper Ronston Williams for a 1-0 advantage.

Alpha however, didn’t lower their resistance and made it difficult for the Fenwick coached side.

Until Marcano, the most active Jabloteh player on the night, broke into the Alpha area picking up on some more poor defending and slotted the ball low past Williams for a 2-0 cushion in the 65th minute.

Marcano later missed out on his hattrick header over-bar after he was supplied with a wonder cross by substitute Ataullah Guerra eleven minutes from time.

Alpha had a chance to salvage a goal in the 90th minute after Jamaican referee Raymond Bogle awarded a penalty for a foul in the area. But Jabloteh goalie Cleon John came up huge denying Alpha captain Howard Lowe to maintain a clean sheet.

Alpha will take on Puerto Rican club River Plate on Friday night at the Marvin Lee Stadium and on Sunday Jabloteh will be against River Plate with the top team from Group D advancing to the Final round of the 2010 CFU Club Championship.

San Juan Jabloteh 2—0 Alpha United
Jason Marcano 28’, 65’


San Juan Jabloteh—Cleon John (Yellow 83), Marvin Oliver (capt), Karlon Murray, Anton Hutchinson (Ataullah Guerra 73rd), Noel Williams, Elijah Manners, Robert Primus, Jason Marcano, Kennedy Hinkson (Cyrano Glen 76th), Willis Plaza (Cordell Cato 84th), Sheldon Bateau.

Coach—Terry Fenwick (ENG)

Alpha United—Ronston Williams, Howard Lowe (capt), Dwain Jacobs, Troylan Williams, Dwight Peters (Andrew Murray 68th), Anthony Abrahams (Elton Brown 77th) (Yellow 88), Oneke Ford (Devon Millington 66th), Shawn Bishop, Philbert Moffatt, Kelvin McKenzie, Kester Jacobs.

Coach—Wayne Dover (GUY)

Match Referee — Raymond Bogle (JAM)
Assistant Referee 1 — Mark Sullivan (JAM)
Assistant Referee 2 — Ainsley Rochford (TRI)