Mon, Aug


Club Sando head coach Angus Eve will come face to face in competition with head coach Ron La Forest, one of the men he credits for his success in football, when his Pro League outfit hosts Guaya United in the 2017 FA Trophy.

The sides of Eve and La Forest, who are both Carenarge residents and ex-Trinidad and Tobago international stars, were pitted against each other in one of four Pro League versus Super League clashes already confirmed during Friday’s random draw for the FA Trophy Round-of-32, which proposed dates are September 30, October 1, 4 and 5.

La Forest’s Guaya United are currently positioned at the summit of the Super League while Eve’s Club Sando are third on the top-flight league.

Eve, who still holds the record (117) international caps for Trinidad and Tobago, in a recent interview hailed La Forest as one of influential figures in his footballing life.

Eve, a First Citizens Sports Foundation Hall of Famer, said with the support of his parents and later guidance from national coaches Bertille St. Clair and La Forest, and the late Richard Abraham, an ex-Joe Public and T&T national team manager, and others, he was able to fulfil his dream of becoming a professional footballer and captain of his country.

Sando and Guaya advanced from the Round-of-64 (first round) with wins over Cultural Roots (2-1) and D’Marie Hill Youths (1-0) respectively last weekend. See full 2017 FA Trophy Round-of-64 results including W Connection’s 12-0 win over Tamana United.

Pro League clubs W Connection, Morvant Caledonia United and San Juan Jabloteh must host Super League’s Bethel United, Stokely Vale FC and Defence Force respectively as determined by the random draw.

While Police FC must await the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA)’s decision on a protest action by Super League’s WASA FC who lost 2-1 to the Pro League outfit in the Round-of-64. If the FA’s ruling stands in favour of the result, Police will host Super League’s University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) in a fifth Pro League versus SL clash.

TTFA president David John-Williams, following the Round-of-32 draw, pleaded with clubs to work together to try and rebuild the country’s football. He reminded that first mentioned teams of each round of the draw are responsible for the venue and that the FA Trophy must be a priority. The FA boss said the financial incentive awarded by his administration for wins in each round should help teams offset some costs.

For the first time in the history of the tournament the FA will reward winning teams of the Round-of-64, Round-of-32, Round-of-16, quarter finals and semi-finals cash prizes of TT$3,000., TT$5,000., TT$7,000., TT$9,000., and TT$11,000 respectively while the champions and runners-up will walk away with TT$100,000 and TT$25,000 respectively.

Other Round-of-32 matchups include defending champions North East Stars to travel to Southern Football Association (SFA) side Pitchmen FC; Defence Force (Pro League) against Trinity Rangers (EFA), and St. Ann’s Rangers against the winners of Fire Service/Black Rock. See full Round-of-32 matchups below.

The proposed date for the rescheduled Fire Service versus Black Rock Round-of-64 fixture is Wednesday 27 September.

FA Trophy 2017
Full Round-of-32 matchups
(Proposed dates September 30, October 1, 4 & 5)

(Home teams listed first)

Central 500 Spartans (SL) vs Perseverance Ball Runners (CFA)

Police FC (Pro League)/WASA FC (SL) winners vs UTT (SL)

FC Santa Rosa (SL) vs Santa Flora FC (SFA)

Morvant Caledonia United (Pro League) vs Stokely Vale FC (SL)

Cunupia FC (SL) vs Central Soccer World (CFA)

W Connection (Pro League) vs Bethel United (SL)

Defence Force (Pro League) vs Trinity Rangers (EFA)

MIC-IT St. Ann’s Rangers (Pro League) vs Fire Service (CFA)/Black Rock (TFA) winners

Prisons FC (SL) v 1976 FC Phoenix (SL)

San Juan Jabloteh (Pro League) vs Defence Force (SL)

Club Sando Moruga (SL) vs Sangre Grande Dream Team (ECFU)

San Fernando Giants (SFA) vs Police FC (SL)

Pitchmen FC (SFA) vs North East Stars (Pro League)

Club Sando (Pro League) vs Guaya United (SL)

Point Fortin Civic (Pro League) vs Signall Hill United (TFA)

Leeds FC (TFA) vs WASA FC (EFA)