General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 12:11:41 AM

Title: Mighty Duke battling serious illness
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 12:11:41 AM

By CAROL MATROO Sunday, November 30 2008

Kelvin Pope, who goes by the stately moniker “the Mighty Duke”, and has been a force to reckon with in the calypso world, is battling ill health and may only have a limited amount of time left to entertain his fans.

Pope is the only person in the history of Trinidad and Tobago to ever win the Calypso Monarch title four consecutive times and to this day, no one has seriously challenged his calypso record.

Pope has been ailing for about four years with myelofibrosis, a disease which disables the body from producing new blood cells and is said to be incurable. The 76-year-old calypsonian first became aware of his illness when he began feeling weak, but states that does not stop him from performing in calypso tents each year. He assures that he is not out for the count. Pope says his contribution for Carnival 2009 is “Do Better For Calypso” and he is attached to the North Zone Calypso Tent.

When Sunday Newsday spoke with Pope in a telephone interview yesterday, his speech was slurred and sometimes indiscernible. He had spent the night at the Ellerslie Private Hospital on Friday night and is also recovering from the flu.

“It could be the medication, and then I only came home this morning, so I didn’t have much time to rest up,” he explained. He has to visit the hospital once, sometimes twice a month, for blood transfusions to regenerate the blood his body cannot produce.

He said doctors have not been able to say what brought on the illness.

Although his medical bills are high, Pope dismissed the hardship saying only that, “I have a good haemotologist.” Illness on the back burner, Pope said he has no regrets about the way he has lived his life.

“I may not do some of the things the same way...Life is an experience, and I have lived my life. Most of my work is based on real life,” he said. Although Pope started out as a teacher, this only lasted for about two years when he turned to his true love – calypso. He wrote his first calypso in the 1950s. “I was in love with calypso. I always looked up to Sparrow (Francisco Slinger), Lord Kitchener (Aldwyn Roberts) and the Mighty Spoiler (Theophilus Philip),” he said.

However, Pope said the future of calypso looks bleak and dim. “The kind of money that is thrown behind soca is not the same for calypso, but nobody wants to invest the time. They just want to throw two lines together, you jump up and perspire and two minutes later you forget what you hear.

“Some of them are not born with the love for country. It’s my music and I love it. I wrote all my music...I even wrote about 99 percent of Lord Nelson’s songs,” he said. Pope said there were “no hard feelings” about not winning the calypso monarch title since 1971.

“They just didn’t pick me...I guess is because they feel I win too much time already. I feel no way about that. I did my work and they did theirs. I never let it daunt me; I love what I do and they can’t take that from me,” he said. But, despite his illness, Pope has given no thought to retiring any time soon.

“Once I can stand up and sing and shake the waist a little bit, until the Master says no more... Until he says calypso and Carnival is no more. Then I will stop,” Pope said with a laugh.

Title: Re: Mighty Duke battling serious illness
Post by: TriniCana on November 30, 2008, 08:20:23 AM
whole morning ah depressed.

he is meh all time favorite kaiso man....
up to what day it was ah asking for some of he songs ah cyah find nowhere....now dis :'( :'(

is more reason for meh to go home for carnival and take ein ah tent
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 09:10:30 AM
Trini post it just 4 u I know he is yuh boi
Post by: capodetutticapi on November 30, 2008, 12:09:52 PM
if i'm not mistaken ah tink duke is de only man to win de monarch 4 times in ah row.correct me if i'm wrong.
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2008, 02:46:12 PM
Correct move 2 d head of d class
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 01, 2008, 07:38:42 PM
Correct move 2 d head of d class
ez history buff. ;)
Post by: WestCoast on December 01, 2008, 08:05:15 PM
Aye Man, give that myelofibrosis a good Duke WopWap nuh
All the best Mr Pope

"Born a Pope, Crowned a King, Named a Duke..."
Post by: TriniCana on December 01, 2008, 08:06:59 PM
 :'( :'( :'( :'(

ah now read dat TUCO would help him with his health bills.

Popie hold on eh....hold on :'( :'(

whoe day ah playing 'the portrait' in meh office. it on ah loop - doh mind dey people chair kinda shakie now... :-\
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 02, 2008, 10:05:44 AM

whoe day ah playing 'the portrait' in meh office. it on ah loop - doh mind dey people chair kinda shakie now... :-\
yuh wuh someting strong to roll back on. ;)
Post by: TriniCana on December 02, 2008, 04:54:13 PM

uhmm wha ya have tur offer dey Cana?
ah Capod welcome back. ah find dat Boss handle didn't suit ya.

keep Capo
Post by: Sando prince on December 03, 2008, 12:54:14 AM
Hope de man can recover from this...

A national treasure..
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 03, 2008, 12:01:20 PM

uhmm wha ya have tur offer dey Cana?
ah Capod welcome back. ah find dat Boss handle didn't suit ya.

keep Capo
yuh eh like de english version yuh prefer de italian.
Title: And now the Mighty Duke is gone....
Post by: Brownsugar on January 14, 2009, 11:52:42 AM
*sigh* it seems like almost every Carnival season one ah we stalwarts going....yes folks just heard it on the radio, Boom Champions to be precise.....the Mighty Duke has passed...they play "Thunder" one time...aaaahhh yes....they doh make dem like they used to... :'( :'(
Title: Re: And now the Mighty Duke is gone....
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 14, 2009, 11:55:07 AM
Sorry to har that one, he was a great calypsonian. RIP
Post by: E-man on January 14, 2009, 12:11:07 PM
RIP

http://www.youtube.com/v/IizX-cnOV_Q
Post by: WestCoast on January 14, 2009, 01:02:51 PM
nooooooooooo :(

RIP
Post by: mal jeux on January 14, 2009, 01:12:02 PM
RIP.
Post by: FireBrand on January 14, 2009, 01:40:26 PM
God speed Mighty Duke.
Post by: TriniCana on January 14, 2009, 05:47:21 PM
(http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t76/TCana/xnzI1994926.gif)
If ah only whole ya tonight is THUNDER...ah giving ya...
Get onnnnnnnnnnnnn Radical!
Han' it in dey center, bang it, nail it, wail it, strike it...ah like it in dey center....hit it... fit it...in dey center
Is Total Disorder if ya social doh bother...is total disorder tonightttttttttt...

Ah promise meh self that I ain't go cry, but only play ya music until....
RIP My Favorite Kaiso King
  :(

Post by: Savannah boy on January 14, 2009, 05:48:56 PM
RIP.  You forever change de way we think about de weather.  Cyah replace him...another great one gone to get some sleep.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 14, 2009, 05:57:26 PM
kitch go welcome him by de gates.RIP.
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2009, 05:58:32 PM
RIP Cana girl taught bout u as I heard it.
Post by: palos on January 14, 2009, 06:42:34 PM
You forever change de way we think about de weather. 

Ah know dis is not an appropriate time for levity...but dat is some serious SHIT TORK dey... ;D

RIP Mr Total Disorder!  Thanks for the wonderful melodies and memories.  Respeck.... :salute:
Post by: TriniCana on January 14, 2009, 06:52:31 PM
RIP Cana girl taught bout u as I heard it.

girl bout 3 dis afternoon dey assistant girl call meh out of ah meeting telling me meh mudda on dey phone. NOW everybody knows including meh mudda that NOT to call me during working hours UNLESS is bout accident, dismemberment or death, so see me shaking like ah leaf walking towards dey phone. Ah say 'what happen?" she say, "ya boy duke gone girl" ah exhale eh, but gawd nah!!...  Ah couldna show no emotion because ah hadda go back in dey meeting, but meh heart sink yes... To tell you dey honest truth, ah really cyah tell ya much about dey meeting after dat.

ah promisin meh self not to cry here - but ah tell ya if dat funeral on ah saturday, ah making that trip.
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2009, 07:07:21 PM
Hope u can make it. Pt in mourning.
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2009, 07:11:26 PM
Calypso icon Duke dies at 77
Trevor Burnett | 4:12 pm

The Mighty Duke

The only calypsonian to win the monarch title for four consecutive years, the Mighty Duke, has died. He was

77. Born Kelvin Pope in St Vincent, he migrated to Trinidad and spent his youth in Point Fortin. Duke won the

calypso monarch title four years in a row—from 1968 to 1971. He died just after 1 pm today at the Ellerslie

Park Private Hospital where he was being treated for a disease that prevented his body from producing blood

cells. Hollis Liverpool, better known as Chalkdust, was at his side and said a prayer during Duke's final moments.

Post by: TriniCana on January 14, 2009, 07:54:02 PM
"sigh!!!"

ah sure chalkie sang one of his chunes durin his journey....
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2009, 08:29:16 PM
Calypso world mourns The Mighty Duke
Tributes pour in

Brother Resistance:
“I would definitely remember him as a giant, a leader with a light that shone for us in the Network Rhythm Band.

Crazy:
“Duke has made a tremendous contribution.”

Lord Superior:
“Duke was one of the most talented and versatile calypsonians that we have ever known.”

Brother Mudada:
“He was one of the superiors in the business and one of our legends. He had an abundance of work out there.

Arranger Leston Paul:
“He was a genius in composing, song writing and stage performance. Everyone knew him for his elegant attire on stage.”

Black Stalin:
“I think we lost yet another icon. He was my personal friend. He is one of the guys who helped Black Stalin. ”

Post by: Savannah boy on January 14, 2009, 10:19:02 PM
Ah know dis is not an appropriate time for levity...but dat is some serious SHIT TORK dey... ;)
Post by: Savannah boy on January 14, 2009, 10:48:44 PM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161425710

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/01/15/kaiso-greats-sing-praises-champion

Express say he Trini.  Guardian say Vincy.  Which one?  Not that it really matters. 
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 15, 2009, 12:12:32 AM
He was the best dressed calypsonian during his time.A pic of The Mighty Duke
and Duane O'Connor together onstage www.calypsovibrations.com
O'Connor gain popularity when he sang a tribute to the Mighty Duke at the
Dimanche Gras 2007. very sad indeed RIP :( :(
Post by: palos on January 15, 2009, 08:29:52 AM
Davy....daz u?
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 15, 2009, 10:33:11 AM
Davy....daz u?
  Yep
Post by: weary1969 on January 15, 2009, 08:49:44 PM
More tributes for Duke pour in
Published: January 15th, 2009
As tributes continue to pour in regarding the passing of Kelvin Pope aka Mighty Duke, the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (Doma) said the memory of the calypso icon would forever live on. A release yesterday said Pope fitted the perfect description of a “beautiful person.”

It stated, “Duke won respect by being respectful and his legacy will not only be his catalogue of great calypso hits but his sterling qualities as an outstanding gentleman.” It added that Pope always had “a moment to say hello” and attracted attention due to his charisma. “Duke was a good friend to downtown Port-of-Spain, gracing our sidewalks with his handsome presence and his handsome, vivacious smile,” the release added.
And the United National Congress (UNC) also offered its condolences regarding Pope’s death.

A release yesterday described Pope as “an allround writer and performer.”
It stated, “The Mighty Duke rose to the pinnacle of his field through versatility. “His achievements are larger than the distinction of four consecutive Monarchs and the Road March.”

The Copyright Organisation of T&T (Cott) says the country and the indigenous musical fraternity has lost an icon with the passing of Duke. A release yesterday stated that Cott’s president Lutalo Masimba said, “His departure is a great loss to the music of the world not only calypso. He was one of the finest composers of the modern era. He was a strong supporter of the Network Riddum Band.”

Post by: TriniCana on January 15, 2009, 09:08:59 PM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161425710

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009/01/15/kaiso-greats-sing-praises-champion

Express say he Trini.  Guardian say Vincy.  Which one?  Not that it really matters. 

Born in the 1930s in Point Fortin, South Trinidad

http://www.trinisoca.com/duke/140109.html
Post by: Deeks on January 15, 2009, 09:33:47 PM
IU thought he born in St. Vincent.
Post by: weary1969 on January 16, 2009, 09:49:11 PM
Duke to be honoured in PoS, Pt Fortin
Michelle Loubon | 11:04 pm
Published: January 16th, 2009

Kelvin Pope
Michelle Loubon | 11:04 pm
Veteran calypsonian Hollis Liverpool (Chalkdust) said yesterday his late comrade Kelvin Pope’s beloved classic How Many More Must Die will be sung at his send-off at Coronation Park, Pt Fortin, on January 22nd.
Pope died at the Ellerslie Park Private Hospital (formerly Stanley’s) at 1.05 pm on January 13. For some time, he had been battling bone marrow cancer.

Liverpool said the double celebration on Pope’s life would take place at City Hall, Knox Street, Port-of-Spain, on January 19 and 20 and in Pope’s hometown of Point Fortin on January 22. Duke, 77, was born in St Vincent and came to Trinidad at a tender age and lived at Andel Road in Point Fortin, before moving to Cap-de-Ville Main Road. Liverpool said: “How Many More Must Die is one of the songs Duke was most famous for. It brought home the message of the evil of apartheid in South Africa under PW Botha’s regime.

“It will definitely be sung in his honour. We will be singing a lot of songs from his repertoire. I know Teach The Children, too. It was another one of his favourites. But I haven’t selected them all yet.”
Liverpool said he was still in the process of finalising the programme for Thursday. “There will be a lot of calypso and calypsonians. I know (calypsonians) Luta and Gypsy will be there for sure. We want to give the grand man of calypso a fine send-off.”

Celebration at City Hall, Port-of-Spain
Liverpool said Duke’s legions of fans in the North and East will also get an opportunity to pay tribute to him in Port-of-Spain. He said: “We are inviting the public to come and pay tribute to him in song, dance or lyrical verse. We want to accommodate people who cannot make it all the way to South. People will want to pay their respects to this great icon.” Pope, a four-time Calypso Monarch, left a legacy like his 1987 Road March hit Thunder, Work It For Me, Black Is Beautiful and Visina.

Relator pays tribute

Meanwhile, his colleagues like Relator continued paying tribute to Pope yesterday. Strumming on his guitar, Relator sang Black Is Beautiful at a media luncheon hosted by T&TEC at the Grand Ballroom, Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s, yesterday
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 16, 2009, 10:14:09 PM
look like de duke and de teacher was good friends.
Title: Duke was good not great
Post by: Tallman on January 21, 2009, 06:52:41 AM
Duke was good not great
T&T Newsday

THE EDITOR: “The King is dead; long live the King!” These are kind and compassionate words; nothing more.

The Mighty Duke was a good calypsonian, but not a great one. While it is true that he won the Calypso crown four times consecutively, it must be recognised that the period of the late 1960s was weak and unimpressive. Apart from Kitchener, everyone struggled to impress. Sparrow was good in 1969 but was otherwise a shadow of his former self and was ridiculed in song by the Merrymen of Barbados. Musical accompaniment was generally scrappy and Arthur de Coteau appeared to be the only credible option. Wit and originality were generally lacking and the public was anxious for Calypso to get off the canvas. This breath of fresh air did not come until 1974 (although Sparrow had a good year in 1972) with the ascendancy of the Mighty Shadow.

The 1970s and 1980s saw a general improvement in lyrics, music, styles, range and accompaniment. Chalkdust, Shadow, Valentino, Rose, Lord Shorty, Stalin, Scrunter, Blueboy, David Rudder, Maestro contributed to the new energy.

And this is what made the Lord Kitchener great; the old man adapted and dominated. Duke on the other hand was a cast-filler; whether he was there or not didn’t affect the Box-office. Pelham Goddard, Ed Watson, Frankie McIntosh and Leston Paul re-vitalised the musical accompaniment, and the fans were happy once more. It is rumoured that he was more successful as a composer, but I would not (and cannot) make anything of this until the air is cleared publicly. I don’t engage in gossip.

Finally, I wish to implore the good Prof Rohlehr (who I must be careful not to antagonise since he always has mighty fine wine) to use the word “great” sparingly. Very sparingly.

ERROL MICHAEL “Philo” PHILLIPS
via e-mail
Title: Mighty Duke's last 'chip'
Post by: Tallman on January 22, 2009, 08:48:37 AM
Mighty Duke's last 'chip'
Nikita Braxton (T&T Express)

ESCORTED through San Fernando by moko jumbies bearing the banner "Farewell Duke", the body of Kelvin "The Mighty Duke" Pope was driven from Coffee Street to Harris Promenade, San Fernando, yesterday morning.

The tribute was a collaboration between Belgrove's Funeral Home, Wack 90.1 Radio Station and Kaisokah Moko Jumbies headed by Junior Bisnath.

The motorcade came from Trincity, but the San Fernando procession started in front the music station on Coffee Street to the sounds of Duke's music. Kenny Phillips, chief executive officer at 90.1, said the station intended to keep the calypsonian's memory alive. A poster of the late singer was also displayed, and Bisnath brought an artefact showing the four consecutive years Pope won the National Monarch title from 1968 to 1971.

Curious onlookers stopped their shopping and came out of stores, while others stood at the entrances of bars and barber shops as the hearse made its way through San Fernando to City Hall.

Jennifer "Trini Albany" Armstrong, who lives in New York, USA, but is in Trinidad for the Carnival season, described herself as a "Wack supporter" who had to be part of the procession. She waved flags along with the small group that chipped behind the hearse.

Seventy-year-old Cynthia Ross, who walked with grocery bags in hand from Lord Street, described the Mighty Duke as her favourite calypsonian as she sang along to his music from an accompanying car.

The body was welcomed to City Hall while the Mighty Duke's popular song "How Many More Must Die?" was played. The crowd also sang along to "Love Vibrations". After ten minutes, the hearse made its way to Point Fortin, where Duke's body was on view until 6 p.m.

The Mighty Duke will be buried today at the Point Fortin Cemetery, following a funeral service at Coronation Park, Point Fortin.

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2009/01/22/n12.jpg)
Post by: Socaman on January 22, 2009, 01:09:55 PM
Funeral showing on.....  http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/index.html
Post by: TriniCana on January 22, 2009, 07:38:21 PM
ERROL MICHAEL “Philo” PHILLIPS kiss my red arse eh >:(
Post by: Tallman on January 22, 2009, 07:52:37 PM
ERROL MICHAEL “Philo” PHILLIPS kiss my red arse eh >:(

Look at what you encouraging