May 20, 2024, 10:58:26 PM

Author Topic: FATIMA  (Read 34013 times)

Re: FATIMA
« Reply #150 on: April 30, 2010, 08:24:55 AM »
Its astounding the amount of people preaching morality vis-a-vis homosexual behaviour.

Yet there were over 500 murders in T&T in 2009 and 140 YTD in 2010 - and we seem to accept this as the norm.

How many teenagers get pregnant in 2009? A result of boy/girl sex.  Yet, it seem to be less of a deal that boy/boy sex.

But two boys engage in sex and is the end of the world and attracting the attention of the "holier than thou" personas like dead fish is attract cobeaux.

geezan ages, I agreeing with Just Cool and TC ...

Why do people always do this?  This thread is not about murders, and I doubt anyone on here is ok with T&T's alarming murder rate...it's just not the point.  Bringing up an irrelevant topic to prove some holier than thou attitude really doesn't move the conversation in any direction. 

« Reply #151 on: April 30, 2010, 08:48:32 AM »
Its astounding the amount of people preaching morality vis-a-vis homosexual behaviour.

Yet there were over 500 murders in T&T in 2009 and 140 YTD in 2010 - and we seem to accept this as the norm.

How many teenagers get pregnant in 2009? A result of boy/girl sex.  Yet, it seem to be less of a deal that boy/boy sex.

But two boys engage in sex and is the end of the world and attracting the attention of the "holier than thou" personas like dead fish is attract cobeaux.

Why do people always do this?  This thread is not about murders, and I doubt anyone on here is ok with T&T's alarming murder rate...it's just not the point.  Bringing up an irrelevant topic to prove some holier than thou attitude really doesn't move the conversation in any direction. 

ummmm other than showcasing christians as self absorbing pricks...?  :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 09:20:39 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #152 on: April 30, 2010, 09:08:30 AM »

« Reply #153 on: April 30, 2010, 09:12:26 AM »

« Reply #154 on: April 30, 2010, 09:17:18 AM »

« Reply #155 on: April 30, 2010, 09:21:05 AM »
So ribbit what is your point?

You looking for a Gay Celebrity Champion in TT?

What are you trying to say because none presently exist in TT.

« Reply #156 on: April 30, 2010, 09:41:13 AM »

I mentioned murders rates to illustrate that the level of outrage is disproportionate given the event.  So there is relevance if you chose to look at this from a comparative perspective.  Minimal public outrage over the most recent murder (business as usual, passive acceptance) but all kinda public outrage over this. A tempest in a teapot that has the nation's knickers in a knot when there are more critical things to expend energy on. A distraction at most to avoid the realities of other issues.

I done.

« Reply #157 on: April 30, 2010, 09:42:16 AM »
an aside: how many openly gay public figures are there in trinbago relative to what is seen in the places like usa? that speak to trini small/big-mindedness.
So if you don't accept homosexuality you're small minded.What are you saying ?

« Reply #158 on: April 30, 2010, 09:58:54 AM »

I mentioned murders rates to illustrate that the level of outrage is disproportionate given the event.  So there is relevance if you chose to look at this from a comparative perspective.  Minimal public outrage over the most recent murder (business as usual, passive acceptance) but all kinda public outrage over this. A tempest in a teapot that has the nation's knickers in a knot when there are more critical things to expend energy on. A distraction at most to avoid the realities of other issues.

I done.

who died and made you the adjudicator of what is worthy and what is not of a nation to expend energy on.. and what does one have to do with the other? Can't you discern that they are two separate issues?

what you did is try to move the goalposts... just like TC try to do bringing the church into it.

stick to the script.

« Reply #159 on: April 30, 2010, 10:01:03 AM »
an aside: how many openly gay public figures are there in trinbago relative to what is seen in the places like usa? that speak to trini small/big-mindedness.

Saucy Pow.

yeah, ah meant openly gay and whose livelihood not tie up with being gay. ah mean, saucy pow make a real spectacle of gayness for people to point and gawk like is a zoo. e.g. politics. look in de usa, barney frank. canada had svend robinson (mp for burnaby) for years. de pm for iceland. mandelson from de uk. does t&t look like this or they more like de old school "macho" culture?

Yuh never live in Trinidad? The only person TnT has close to being openly gay is Peter Minshall (who has never come out)...that should be an idea of how 'macho' West Indian society is.

« Reply #160 on: April 30, 2010, 10:04:04 AM »
So ribbit what is your point?

You looking for a Gay Celebrity Champion in TT?

What are you trying to say because none presently exist in TT.

So if you don't accept homosexuality you're small minded.What are you saying ?

Saucy Pow.

yeah, ah meant openly gay and whose livelihood not tie up with being gay. ah mean, saucy pow make a real spectacle of gayness for people to point and gawk like is a zoo. e.g. politics. look in de usa, barney frank. canada had svend robinson (mp for burnaby) for years. de pm for iceland. mandelson from de uk. does t&t look like this or they more like de old school "macho" culture?

Yuh never live in Trinidad? The only person TnT has close to being openly gay is Peter Minshall (who has never come out)...that should be an idea of how 'macho' West Indian society is.

my remarks are focussed on a point that was raised about trini "small-mindedness" which could mean many things. so i trying to figure out what that really mean in this context. is it just public attitudes?

every society different.

in usa/canada, they have homos but two kinds - open and closetted. not to mention parade and thing (e.g. homo businesses).

but eh, look in iran dey eh even have homos (ahmedinijad say so).

draw your own conclusions.

« Reply #161 on: April 30, 2010, 11:06:21 AM »

I quote you (below) to respond to your comment about you have "yet to see anybody take the morality track on this discussion". 

Your generalized statements about "how morally unmoored out youth has become"  and "a nation whose psyche has been rocked by how morally unmoored our youth has become."  are not statements on morality? I think that psyche need to do some navel gazing and prioritize immoral acts if it intends to move forward.

You quote the same statement twice to make the case that I made "generalized statements" on morality, lol.  What's that you were saying about reading comprehension again?  And yeah, Sherlock... "generalized" is just what it is... a non-specific reference to youths in Trinidad.  While your own homophilic fixations led you to assume that the "morally unmoored" comment had to do with the nature of the sexual act, a more informed reading should have led you down another path.  Take a look at everything I have been saying all along and you'll see that the brazen nature of the act (in UNIFORM... on CAMERA) without shame has been the one undercurrent to my statements.  But I understand... the homosexual nature of the act has grabbed hold of your minimal attention span and refused to let go.

But I must be wrong due to my lack of reading comprehension. Well at at least I have a excuse.  What's yours WikiBakes (to steal someone else's nickname for you)?

Why would I need an excuse, pray tell? I'm not the one with basic comprehension problems.  As for your rubber arrow "WikiBakes" comment, you need to come much better than that old fella... you might score points with yuh fellow Canadian chamber boys, but de Russian judges not impressed.

Yes, I admit that my positions on this forum can be perceived to be a "holier than thou" attitude at times.  So what? That is the way I try to live (at least most of the times).

That, Dear Lady... makes thee a hypocrite.  Not surprisingly you fail to appreciate that simple fact.

These unmoral acts have existed with boy/girl sex but the uproar over the Fatima incident seems unparalleled based on the feed back in this thread.  Hence my conclusion that it is the homosexuality that is the prevalent factor in this discourse.  Not sex between Fatima students in uniform.

Has there ever been a situation as there is here with children this young engaging in sexual acts, in uniform (therefore unconcerned about the ramifications for their school/schoolmates) on film (therefore unconcerned about the personal ramifications for themselves)?  The sheer brazeness of the act is what has merited the degree of outrage... but nah, is two li'l boys bullin' so surely THAT must be what have de populace collectively up in arms.

« Reply #162 on: April 30, 2010, 11:15:35 AM »

I done.

The "level of outrage" may be disproportionate in your mind... and perhaps even in reality only because this shocks the conscience.  Routine, run of the mill murder will not... that is human nature, not misplaced priorities.  Is decades now people getting murdered in TnT yet it took a singularly riveting (and revulsive) crime like the Dole Chadee murder of that family to garner attention anywhere approaching this latest incident.  As others have rightly pointed out, the sex, lies and anyatape incident provoked a similar reaction... as did the Danah Alleyne incident.  But nah... allyuh pet project involved so it must mean that Trinis only getting on because all ah we is small-minded homophobes.

« Reply #163 on: April 30, 2010, 12:00:08 PM »
I now reading this thread, what de hell is de big deal. Is the yutemen and dem who hah to live dis down. So what if they going Fatima, Mucurapo never had bullerman? And how is wearing the school uniform while doing de do anymore damning? As much as we calling for sex ed and mature use ah technology for the chirren, some of us need the same on here. This eh no scene other than we who fussing over some yutemen getting they rocks off.

I does wonder sometimes about some ah we yes. How is this big news or ah controversy? Ever wonder whey the "chicken head" label come from? T&T eh no more backward in sex ed or irresponsible use of technology that the US. Is how much ah dem lil gyul does get video tape is jus not a big deal. I was at a campp and some yutemen passing around photos and videos of dey gyul normal normal.

We's ah small island and everybody know everybody. This eh no kinda news to be in the newspaper. What should be in the newspaper is that illegal to be watching children porn.

Gyul skinning up dey bamsee all carnival and all kinda thing. All of a sudden we holier than thou.

« Reply #164 on: May 03, 2010, 11:02:13 PM »
LIKE I SAID!

BitDepth 729 - May 04
03/05/10 22:12 Filed in: BitDepth - May 2010
Publication of the innocent
729-FacebookScandal
This Facebook page has attracted some real venom on the schoolboys scandal.

In 1954, a psychiatrist published a book called Seduction of the Innocent, which accused comic books of destroying the morals of American youth.
The book, though eventually discredited, destroyed the potential of comics as an art form, leading to the neutering influence of the Comics Code, which declared comics that carried it safe for consumption.

Last week, a troubling story surfaced, gaining swift traction on the Internet, about two young schoolboys who were captured on video engaged in what might be generously described as sexual adventuring.
Asked to comment on it, I was sent some links to the source material to evaluate. The Gayelle.com presenter was curious about the resilience of the video, which had been removed several times only to reappear.

One reference led to a Blogger page which, under an inflammatory URL, named the children and published the video.
Blaming the Internet for this is as silly as finding images of female sex organs in comic book illustrations of trees.
The speed and thoroughness with which this video travelled paralleled the pace of the earlier 'beauty queen' video, which was uploaded as a torrent file in less than two weeks, forever liberating it from any human or legal control.

Answering Cedriann Martin's questions, I pointed out that these visual memes, as scandalous as they are, travel fast but die quickly after the curious have their voyeuristic fill.
More troubling, I think, is the poor quality of thinking that these issues reveal in the various fora in which they surface and the reckless and cavalier enthusiasm that strangers, empowered by the anonymity of the Internet, engage in hate-filled diatribes.

The very thing that makes the Internet so valuable, the ease with which information is shared and the many inventive outlets that make it even easier to do so, essentially puts nuclear weapons in the hands of character assassins.
On a Facebook page dedicated to virulent advocacy of issue, postings include links to anti-homosexual music videos, led, at the time of this writing, by Buju Banton's Boom Bye Bye, with helpful karaoke lyrics.

The page was 'liked,' Facebook's new way of linking supporters to a fan page, by more than 4,000 members of the social networking service.
To put this into context, I have to share a story out of my own youth. There was a young man who attended my secondary school who was aquiline of face and graceful of walk. Early one morning, students of all ages lined the hallways that overlooked the entrance to the school and as the boy emerged from his mother's car and walked to the stairs, dozens of young men began wolf whistling and catcalling. The boy turned around, walked back to the car and was never seen again.

The horrid comments, many of them from adults, that I see on some of the Facebook pages remind me of that dark moment, when a boy's life was ruined by the casual cruelty of schoolboys.
I don't know if it can be said that Trinidad and Tobago has matured significantly since then. Sexual discovery is still treated like a dark mystery and misinformation about sex, the most intimate and powerful of human expressions, is ill-placed in a world in which alternate sources, most of them commercially driven, abound at the other end of a mouse click.

The Internet, to be frank, is a very poor place to learn about sex. The most popular and widespread form of pornography to be found on the web is called gonzo, and it is sex stripped of context, rationale and tenderness.
Parents would be well advised to have The Talk with their young charges in tiers of revelation, beginning from their first use of computers and the Internet and continuing as their hormones drive their curiosity.