May 21, 2024, 07:41:12 AM

Author Topic: Noah Davis breaks down T&T vs USA match.  (Read 5920 times)

Noah Davis breaks down T&T vs USA match.
« on: April 07, 2009, 06:58:19 AM »
Davis: Winners And Losers From U.S.-Trinidad.
By: Noah Davis (Goal.Com).

Noah Davis breaks down who came out on top and on bottom after the U.S.'s 3-0 win over T&T.

On the strength of a Jozy Altidore hat trick and three assists from Landon Donovan, the United States Men's National Team waltzed out of Nashville, Tennessee with a 3-0 victory over an overmatched Trinidad and Tobago in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2010 World Cup. It was a deserved scoreline for Bob Bradley's squad, which suffered a setback over the weekend with a 2-2 draw in El Salvador. The win leaves the U.S. in first place of the group on seven points, one ahead of Costa Rica, and in a good spot to secure passage to South Africa.

Winners

Brian Ching: If, after watching last night's performance, you still don't think the Houston Dynamo forward deserves a spot in the Starting XI, you should consider taking up another sport. I hear the Connecticut women's basketball team is having an epic season. Altidore got the goals, Donovan the assists, but -- as usual -- Ching did the hard work to make it all happen. His header on Carlos Bocanegra's long ball was a thing of beauty, dropping perfectly to Donovan who took two touches and slotted it across for Altidore's first goal. Throughout the match, Ching (along with Pablo Mastroeni) did the little things the U.S. needs to win. Call him the Shane Battier of the American team, the No Stats All-Star. And keep him on the pitch.

Carlos Edwards: T and T struggled throughout but Edwards more than held his own on the right flank. He abused DaMarcus Beasley a handful of times and presented one of his team's few threats on the American goal. The Sunderland man helped on defense as well, although the one blemish on his night came midway through the first half when he succumbed to pressure from Altidore and coughed up the ball just outside the T and T box. The chance came to nothing, however, and Edwards walked away with his head held high.

Donovan as Distributor: With three assists on Wednesday and one against Mexico in February, the U.S.'s all-time leading scorer now has four helpers in his last three National Team games (and 35 in his career). His passing vision, always good, continues to improve as he matures as a player. On the ball, Donovan has a calmness about him that allows the attacker to pick his spots and deliver the ball with pinpoint accuracy. If Bradley continues the "Donovan as left midfielder" experiment, his star should find the space he needs to work.

The Backheel: Did I see what I think I did? Could it be? Yes, I believe the team showed a bit of attacking flair in Nashville. While the Americans continue to love the long ball, they also demonstrated a willingness to experiment with the backheel and other creativity. On the right, Clint Dempsey and Frankie Hejduk worked these exchanges successfully multiple times, while Michael Bradley had a couple pretty touches in the middle. While the results weren't there -- and the opponent was off its game -- it's nice to see some confidence and inventiveness in the attacking game.

Losers

Jonathan Bornsetein/Heath Pearce: The days of the pair platooning at left back look to be over. While Beasley didn't do enough to show he's the answer (see: Edwards, Carlos) the move shows Bradley's willingness to experiment at the position, something he's been reluctant to do previously. With Jonathan Spector and Jay DeMerit rounding into shape, the American coach now has options. Given Oguchi Onyewu's struggles at centerback last night, moving Carlos Bocanegra over probably isn't the solution, but how about giving the Energizer Bunny that is Hedjuk a shot and putting Spector or Marvell Wynne at right back? The possibilities are endless. They don't include Bornstein or Pearce, however.

Anthony Wolfe: Of all the Soca Warriors' failings, Wolfe's were the most obvious. The defender flubbed multiple touches and was consistently beaten by almost every American who came into his territory. The U.S. spent most of the night running down the left flank essentially unimpeded -- both the first goal and Altidore's missed tap in shortly after started there -- and you can look at the right back as the reason why. T and T wasn't winning this match, but Wolfe's play did much to seal that fate. (One question: Will Donovan look as good playing left midfielder against a better defender?)

Donovan as Goal Scorer: After being shut out again on Wednesday night, Donovan has just three tallies for the U.S. National Team since the beginning of 2008. Not a bad total, but you might expect more from the skilled attacker. As referenced above, he's morphing into a distributor -- and succeeding in the role -- but a bit more selfishness could be in order for the U.S.'s best finisher.

A Sense of Urgency: It's simple: When you go up 1-0 early and are dominating, you need to put another ball into the net and finish the job. You could argue the Americans were unlucky not to get another tally in the first half, but the point is that they didn't. To come out flat after halftime and let T and T dictate play for a bit is even more inexcusable. After watching the Red, White, and Blue let up against Mexico after Rafael Marquez's red card and the general lack of passion against El Salvador, you have to wonder about the U.S.'s proverbial killer instinct.

Re: Noah Davis breaks down T&T vs USA match.
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 07:21:40 AM »
Anthony Wolfe: Of all the Soca Warriors' failings, Wolfe's were the most obvious. The defender flubbed multiple touches and was consistently beaten by almost every American who came into his territory. The U.S. spent most of the night running down the left flank essentially unimpeded -- both the first goal and Altidore's missed tap in shortly after started there -- and you can look at the right back as the reason why. T and T wasn't winning this match, but Wolfe's play did much to seal that fate. (One question: Will Donovan look as good playing left midfielder against a better defender?)

hhhhhhhmmmmm I eh know I could be wrong, but he look bad as a defender BECAUSE HE ISN'T ONE??!!!....eh Maturana?? but nah according to some, leave yuh to continue to give mih heart failure, leave yuh right dey.....ssssttteeeuuuuppsssss....

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 07:27:26 AM »
Yep, dem backheels and US improvisation generally were ... unforgettable on a night to be forgotten.

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 08:14:14 AM »
if he bashing wolfe he must also bash akile edwards who allowed dempsey and frankie to do as they want on we left side. yuh cud throw keon daniel in that mix. i agree with the carlos edwards comments however!!! :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2009, 09:08:54 AM »
if he bashing wolfe he must also bash akile edwards who allowed dempsey and frankie to do as they want on we left side. yuh cud throw keon daniel in that mix. i agree with the carlos edwards comments however!!! :beermug:

Yeah I think A. Edwards was a glaring omission, but that aside I have no quibbles with his assessment.  I feel bad for both Wolfe and Akile/Aklie... dem men getting played out of position and it not working.  But then again, you see men like Beasley and Frankie Hejduk (who was a forward 13 yrs ago with Tampa Bay Mutiny) playing in defense and not quite being the fish out of water that Edwards and Wolfe have been.

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2009, 09:33:43 AM »
I feel bad for both Wolfe and Akile/Aklie... dem men getting played out of position and it not working.  But then again, you see men like Beasley and Frankie Hejduk (who was a forward 13 yrs ago with Tampa Bay Mutiny) playing in defense and not quite being the fish out of water that Edwards and Wolfe have been.
Hejduk had years to learn the position, though. Who knows? The experiments might work in time. Wolfe might turn out to be de greatest right back we ever had. What isn't working is using dem men in important games against experienced opponents.

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2009, 09:42:35 AM »
Allyuh jus love to put Edwards in de mix eh.  Even ah writer who eh ha nutten to do with TnT see dat the RB position was the worst on the night.  Yet to hear allyuh tell it is Edwards.  Funny AW had Carlos helping him out and still look like ah kingsize lump ah tootoo but Edwards who gets zero help from Daniel is allyuh whippin boy.  Allyuh great oui.

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2009, 11:07:22 AM »
Allyuh jus love to put Edwards in de mix eh.  Even ah writer who eh ha nutten to do with TnT see dat the RB position was the worst on the night.  Yet to hear allyuh tell it is Edwards.  Funny AW had Carlos helping him out and still look like ah kingsize lump ah tootoo but Edwards who gets zero help from Daniel is allyuh whippin boy.  Allyuh great oui.

but to be fair, Wolfe only shit down heself 1st half (then get subbed), Edwards did it for 90 mins

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2009, 11:54:01 AM »

but to be fair, Wolfe only shit down heself 1st half (then get subbed), Edwards did it for 90 mins

You musse watch ah different game... if yuh was there in person tuh see de game live yuh woulda see dat Edwards is de second coming of Roberto Carlos.  None ah dem goal was Edwards fault.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2009, 11:59:18 AM »

hhhhhhhmmmmm I eh know I could be wrong, but he look bad as a defender BECAUSE HE ISN'T ONE??!!!....eh Maturana?? but nah according to some, leave yuh to continue to give mih heart failure, leave yuh right dey.....ssssttteeeuuuuppsssss....

carlos edwards is nto a defender yet he can defend with the best of them

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2009, 12:06:34 PM »

U 4got 4 game in Chicago so add another 90

« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2009, 01:07:54 PM »

How many times did the US successfuly get the ball into the box from the left in the 2nd half?

Offline jumbonut$

« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2009, 01:47:48 PM »

How many times did the US successfuly get the ball into the box from the left in the 2nd half?

Them fellas just like to fight down the youth.. It as clear to see that the RB was the weakest link on the night. All the goals came from that side of the field. Both Wolfe and Hislop were exploited and this led to clear cut scoring opportunities.

« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2009, 01:59:05 PM »
Them fellas just like to fight down the youth.. It as clear to see that the RB was the weakest link on the night. All the goals came from that side of the field. Both Wolfe and Hislop were exploited and this led to clear cut scoring opportunities.

Fuhget where the balls was coming from... who was marking Altidore most of the game? 

How much goal Altidore score?

Was it Wolfe who let Altidore run in unimpeded to score the first goal... den throw down heself in de box after the ball hit de back ah de net?

« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2009, 02:11:08 PM »

Fuhget where the balls was coming from... who was marking Altidore most of the game? 

Was it Wolfe who let Altidore run in unimpeded to score the first goal... den throw down heself in de box after the ball hit de back ah de net?

Altidore was playing as a central striker, how is it that you could imply Edwards was marking him all night? Easier to say he was marking Donavan or Dempsey.

admittedly first goal was Edwards fault in that he should not have lost his man when the ball came across the box.. he do real shit there... But where that play come from in the first place?

Was it not the right back who get eat off in the first place for Donavan to make that cross? Not to mention the right back had Carlos helping him out all game.

2nd goal was Hislop fault for getting a Colombus beat on the wing and 3rd goal was on Ince.

Edwards had a very poor first half, and offensively a disastrous game. But the least that can be said is that in the 2nd half he tighten up defensively and was holding his own down in that corner with Donovan coming at him. And all this is despite the lack of help from Daniel on the wing.

« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2009, 02:19:06 PM »

Altidore was playing as a central striker, how is it that you could imply Edwards was marking him all night? Easier to say he was marking Donavan or Dempsey.

admittedly first goal was Edwards fault in that he should not have lost his man when the ball came across the box.. he do real shit there... But where that play come from in the first place?

Was it not the right back who get eat off in the first place for Donavan to make that cross? Not to mention the right back had Carlos helping him out all game.

2nd goal was Hislop fault for getting a Colombus beat on the wing and 3rd goal was on Ince.

Edwards had a very poor first half, and offensively a disastrous game. But the least that can be said is that in the 2nd half he tighten up defensively and was holding his own down in that corner with Donovan coming at him. And all this is despite the lack of help from Daniel on the wing.

Ah think yuh mean Dempsey, who, as far as I could remember, barely make a note whole night.

I'd prefer somebody better at left back, but I think people going overboard laying so much blame at Aklie Edwards feet. Ol' pitchfork and torch ass mofos.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 02:21:53 PM by Gillie Face »

« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2009, 03:39:18 PM »
I swear is like allyuh ha sumting personal against da youth man oui.  If wolfe hold dong de right first goal wasn't scoring.  If Makan was able to hold the right like edwards did the left in the 2nd half no second goal.  Edwards eh perfect but some ah allyuh come like ah flippin blood tusty mob!!

« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2009, 06:46:05 PM »

Breds i wasn't there tuh see the game live, so obviously there are things that i will not have the priviledge of seeing ,

but i watched it on ESPN and i taped it as well, i've watched it about 5 times since,and on the slow mo leading up to the first goal, just before donovon crossed the ball after leaving out wolf yuh saw altidore anticipating the run and edwards trying to stay with him,

it looked like ah rehersed play to me, then he jozy made the run as soon as the ball left donovon boots leaving out aklie in ah dust of speed.

trust me , it was aklie's fault for losing his marker, and guess what? through out the game you saw him(aklie) constantly marking jozy.IMO it was all his fault!

now i don't think he should be dropped. i believe it would do him a world of good if he continued wid the national team, not as a starter, but rather an understudy to avery.

clyde leon on the other hand was abbysmal! hope he leaves the local stagnant league and go to europe, maybe holland where he could learn tuh pass properly, and improve on reading the game better.

« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2009, 07:38:39 PM »

Breds i wasn't there tuh see the game live, so obviously there are things that i will not have the priviledge of seeing ,

but i watched it on ESPN and i taped it as well, i've watched it about 5 times since,and on the slow mo leading up to the first goal, just before donovon crossed the ball after leaving out wolf yuh saw altidore anticipating the run and edwards trying to stay with him,

it looked like ah rehersed play to me, then he jozy made the run as soon as the ball left donovon boots leaving out aklie in ah dust of speed.

trust me , it was aklie's fault for losing his marker, and guess what? through out the game you saw him(aklie) constantly marking jozy.IMO it was all his fault!

now i don't think he should be dropped. i believe it would do him a world of good if he continued wid the national team, not as a starter, but rather an understudy to avery.

clyde leon on the other hand was abbysmal! hope he leaves the local stagnant league and go to europe, maybe holland where he could learn tuh pass properly, and improve on reading the game better.

So a man have to go quite Europe to learn how to pass .....steups.  Marvin Faustin used to be in the mang or barataria senior comp 2, 3 hours before practice working on he left foot... hundreds ah passes before practice, dais how yuh learn to pass. 10 yard,25yards, 40 yards.. over and over.

I watched the game live and Akile was terrible especially in the first half, ask Ince and Stern, more than once the both got into him ....we were LUCKY that his other errors did not materialize into goals

« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2009, 09:29:41 PM »

So a man have to go quite Europe to learn how to pass .....steups.  Marvin Faustin used to be in the mang or barataria senior comp 2, 3 hours before practice working on he left foot... hundreds ah passes before practice, dais how yuh learn to pass. 10 yard,25yards, 40 yards.. over and over.

I watched the game live and Akile was terrible especially in the first half, ask Ince and Stern, more than once the both got into him ....we were LUCKY that his other errors did not materialize into goals
YES!!! fellas like marvelous marvin faustin is not dime ah dozen, on the contrary, they does come around once in ah long while!

in the mean time leon is ah regular pro playing with nothing special about him who happens to be playing in ah weak league, if he not developing as a midfielder in this league then he needs tuh look elsewhere.

no where did i mentioned aklie and his perfomance in any favorable way, if it was up to me fellas like aklie , leon , daniel and hislop would only get playing time in ah game when we have a substantual lead and we could afford tuh give dem a 15 mins without hurting our chances.

dem men not ready yet, they need time tuh learn well and build confidence. the only rookies IMO that ready for the big stage is roberts, jaggy and hyland.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2009, 11:20:39 PM by just cool »

« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2009, 10:02:21 PM »
i wondering how serious our footballers really train. the 1 time i did any kinna serious trainning in mi life mi 1st touch became good. yet we have players who cant control or pass the ball properly. yes u r human and will err from time to time as is the wont of humans but geez some ah we players look like they only play football on game day

« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2009, 11:58:10 PM »

Except he WASN'T marking Donovan (who was playing left wing for the US, therefore covered by Wolfe and Thomas) so why would I say he was marking Donovan?  Dempsey only had one run of note into the box and whenever he pushed forward Leon was there to shut him down his runs was more to set up Altidore

It doh matter where the cross came from because the cross was not his responsibility... his responsibility was to keep himself between his man and any ball from the opposite wing, which he failed to do.  He didn't have to help cover for Wolfe's initial mistake because Lawrence went to cover.  Yes Wolfe f**k up to open up the defense but Edwards had ONE responsibility that he failed abyssmally at.

2nd goal was Hislop fault for getting a Colombus beat on the wing

In all fairness I can't fault him on the second goal, he stayed wide to cover Dempsey on the LW rather than track Jozy he was in a catch-22

and 3rd goal was on Ince.

I wouldn't put the third goal on exclusively Edwards but you should note that the run that set up the initial cross (since yuh seemed to like that argument on de first goal) came from Bradley who crept in behind Edwards before collecting the ball over top and crossing to Donovan, who then selflessly set up Altidore all alone in the middle.

How de ass was Donovan coming at him on the left wing and Donovan played left midfield (our right wing) the whole night?  In the first half he embarrassed Wolfe our RB, in the second half it was Hislop... again at RB.  Donovan was never his responsibility Altidore was.  Whenever Altidore threatened Edwards was the man marking him.  Like allyuh men need to really go back and watch dat game because whatever allyuh was seeing live wasn't translating on TV.  Here are the highlights... everything I said in blue above can be verified here.

Pay close attention to:

0:51 (first goal)
1:30
2:47 (ball over top in space to Altidore who DID NOT come in from a central striker position but from the wing... Edwards lost in space)
3:06 (Beasley's header right to Ince... see who playing space cadet again)
5:50 thereabouts... ball over the top of space cadet Edwards to a wide open Bradley on the left wing.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/aOnjwmIdGZU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/aOnjwmIdGZU</a>

... what you don't see in the highlights are the opportunities that didn't amount to much, but you'll see that Altidore was largely being shadowed by Edwards whenever he came in, because the Americans made Edwards a target.  Clearly I's not the only one saying it.

You also see a healthy dose of abuse on the RW as well.

« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2009, 04:43:20 AM »
Player Ratings: USA 3-0 Trinidad & Tobago.
By: Greg Lalas (Goal.com).

Hat-trick hero Jozy Altidore tops the rankings, but his frontrunning partner, Brian Ching, is right there with him after another strong supporting performance.

USA

Tim Howard: 6. Untested from start to finish. T&T recorded just one shot on goal.

DaMarcus Beasley: 5.5. Playing an unfamiliar position at left back, looked to get into the attack in the first half. Faded as the second half came and couldn’t keep up with Carlos Edwards.

Carlos Bocanegra: 6. Simple and clean as a good Sancerre. Probably should’ve done better with a second-half header that missed the mark.

Oguchi Onyewu: 5.5. Struggled with his touch and his distribution in the first half, but was strong in the air battling Kenwyne Jones for high balls. Not the easiest feat.

Frankie Hejduk: 7. Active and fearless getting up the right flank. His crosses are still hit or miss, but made a brilliant tackle to stop a dangerous-looking T&T break in the second half.

Landon Donovan: 7. Good run and pass to set up the first goal; a better run and pass to set up the second. Three assists could see Donovan permanently at the left midfield position.

Michael Bradley: 6. Comfortable on the ball, while playing his most defensive game in recent memory. Probably could’ve had a shot himself on the play that led to Altidore’s third goal.

Pablo Mastroeni: 6.5. A steadying presence in the midfield, showed his poise on the ball and toughness in the tackle. And no stupid fouls in dangerous areas. Exactly what the team needed after the indecisive midfield performance in El Salvador.

Clint Dempsey: 5.5. Never really got involved, had trouble finding space. Did well to adjust and come inside so Hejduk could keep overlapping like a madman.

Jozy Altidore: 8. A statement—in triplicate. His first goal was a tap in, his third a goalkeeper mistake, but the second was world class. A hat-trick may not earn him any time with his club team, but it should convince coach Bob Bradley that he needs to be in the starting XI.

Brian Ching: 8. Another subtly masterful performance. Truly masterful. His flicked header led to the first goal. His running off the ball was tireless and creative, consistently opening up space for his teammates.

Substitutions

Jose Francisco Torres (81’): N/A.

Sacha Kljestan (84’): N/A.

Trinidad & Tobago

Clayton Ince: 5. Nothing he could do on the first two goals after his defense let him down. Horrible error on the third goal.

Aklie Edwards: 4.5. Out of his depth. Lost Altidore for the first goal. A sloppy tackle produced the game’s only yellow card.

Keyeno Thomas: 6.5. One of T&T’s only bright lights. Big, tough, and willing to battle with Ching for air balls. Plus, made smart decisions on when to step up and defend high.

Dennis Lawrence: 5. Practically unseen in the first 45, then made to look silly by Altidore on the second goal.

Anthony Wolfe: 4. Overmatched against Donovan, and lost possession much too easily. Left for dead on the play that led to the first goal.

Keon Daniel: 5.5. Good first step and tried to make things happen on the left flank. Couldn’t get past Hejduk enough to deliver a truly dangerous ball. Had a decent attempt on a rebound from a free kick.

Clyde Leon: 4.5. Was he even on the field? Invisible from the opening kick.

Christopher Birchall: 5. Largely overwhelmed in the middle, with little distribution up to the forwards. Any extra touch on the ball was shut down quickly by Mastroeni and Bradley.

Carlos Edwards: 6.5. The Soca Warriors other bright light. Crafty and tenacious on the ball, but with so little help behind him, was forced to hold back too often. His world-class speed caused problems for Beasley in the second half.

Stern John: 5. Not what one would expect from someone with 69 career international goals. Made Trinidad fans miss 37-year-old Dwight Yorke that much more.

Kenwyne Jones: 6. Showed that he plays in a top league, providing a decent target option. But he had no help. And he missed his one half-chance, putting his shot just past the bar.

Substitutions

Makan Hislop (46’): 4.5. No more effective than Aklie Edwards at stopping Donovan. Skinned alive for the second goal. But, hey, he didn’t get booked.

Khaleem Hyland (56’): 5. Made one nice run into the attack but nothing came of it.

Jason Scotland (72’): 5. Nothing of note.

« Reply #23 on: April 08, 2009, 07:51:13 AM »
BnS you like you on ah crusade fella.  Edwards had to rotate on many ocassions to try and cover Altidore.  Altidore wasn't his charge for the night, the left wing was.  Watching live I noticed the US strategically attempted to get our wing backs out of position by sucking them more to the middle then sending the ball down the flank.  Edwards was exposed there a lot in the first half because there was no rotation to help him in that corner once he ended up chasing the initial attack option that started near his coverage area.  When the attack came down on Wolfe and Hislop's side, Edwards was always in the position of trying to rotate over to cover and because Altidore was the closest man he always ended up tracking him.  I will not be so outrageous as to say he wasn't partially at fault for goal #1.  But beyond that he isn't the one to be blamed for a total below average defensive effort.  Allyuh talking all that shit and nobody eh seem to be taking Hislop no Tallest fuh dat matter to task on that second goal.  Maybe Edwards possesed their bodies during the instant that they do shit on that goal ah guess!

Allyuh keep talkin bout what allyuh see on TV.  The same TV that have some proclaiming Stern was good.  Live Stern looked like shit to me and many others but hey allyuh ha de benefit of TV so the stuff the camera wasn't seeing that many in the stadium noticed must be irrelivant.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 07:53:37 AM by Optimus Prime »

« Reply #24 on: April 08, 2009, 08:11:46 AM »
Finally seen some highlights so I can't say too much about the game. Neither wing back seemed to cover themselves in any glory, but clearly our right back (Wolfe) put the whole defense under pressure by his inept play. That first US goal you can see any defender in the EPL get beaten like that. Not saying that it's acceptable, just that it's not that uncommon to see more experienced defenders get burned like that.

I almost want to see the whole game now because highlights don't give you the story at all.

« Reply #25 on: April 08, 2009, 08:22:57 AM »
Finally seen some highlights so I can't say too much about the game. Neither wing back seemed to cover themselves in any glory, but clearly our right back (Wolfe) put the whole defense under pressure by his inept play. That first US goal you can see any defender in the EPL get beaten like that. Not saying that it's acceptable, just that it's not that uncommon to see more experienced defenders get burned like that.

I almost want to see the whole game now because highlights don't give you the story at all.

They never will.  I have also seen experienced defenders loose a man in similar fashion to Edwards like on that first goal as well.  To hear some in here tell it he is the worst defender in history though.

« Reply #26 on: April 08, 2009, 08:39:07 AM »
no where did i mentioned aklie and his perfomance in any favorable way, if it was up to me fellas like aklie , leon , daniel and hislop would only get playing time in ah game when we have a substantual lead and we could afford tuh give dem a 15 mins without hurting our chances.
dem men not ready yet, they need time tuh learn well and build confidence. the only rookies IMO that ready for the big stage is roberts, jaggy and hyland.

Like against El Salvador?   :'(  Them men shouldn't touch the field for a national team EVER.  In fact they should hang up their boots for LIFE!

« Reply #27 on: April 08, 2009, 09:52:44 AM »
I'm convinced the people on this site are all novices......EVERY LAST ONE OF THOSE GOALS ARE THE RESULT OF THE FAILURE OF DEFENSIVE DUTIES OF THE MIDFIELD!!! EVERY LAST ONE!!!! I cyar be the only one seeing this.

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BACK FOUR. OUR MIDFIELD IS LAZY.

People here probably never play defence. When the midfield does not plug the space between defenders, or track back with men coming running in from midfield, especially men with speed or well timed runs, the 4 best defenders in the world will look ordinary and lost.

As a defender in the back 3 or 4, especially on the wings, when yuh midfield not helping....all yuh does see is space. Its very frightening. And that is what I see when the Warriors playing.

OUR PROBLEM ALWAYS WAS AND CONTINUES TO BE OUR MIDFIELD.

Allyuh leave Aklie alone.

« Reply #28 on: April 08, 2009, 10:15:56 AM »
I'm convinced the people on this site are all novices......EVERY LAST ONE OF THOSE GOALS ARE THE RESULT OF THE FAILURE OF DEFENSIVE DUTIES OF THE MIDFIELD!!! EVERY LAST ONE!!!! I cyar be the only one seeing this.

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BACK FOUR. OUR MIDFIELD IS LAZY.

People here probably never play defence. When the midfield does not plug the space between defenders, or track back with men coming running in from midfield, especially men with speed or well timed runs, the 4 best defenders in the world will look ordinary and lost.

As a defender in the back 3 or 4, especially on the wings, when yuh midfield not helping....all yuh does see is space. Its very frightening. And that is what I see when the Warriors playing.

OUR PROBLEM ALWAYS WAS AND CONTINUES TO BE OUR MIDFIELD.

Allyuh leave Aklie alone.

I am not going to pong Aklie or Wolfe here. But your assessment about the midfield being lazy is really wide o the mark. Birchy and De Loen were a little overwhelmed, but worked hard. They weren't always effective, but the two of them were trying hard to plug the gaps in the middle and honestly, the US hardly broke us down through the middle. Carlos had a good game defensively in my opinion, and anyone who can call him or Birchall..(half the midfield on that day) lazy, is the true novice. Problem is, the US packed there two fastest players on Carlos side knowing he could not be expected to track overlapping runs by Beasley and stop runs by Donovan at the same time. You may not have found it the most effective MF we ever put out, but except for Keon Daniel..that MF look like it was working real hard. Carlos in particular, as he was tracking back..putting in tackles and still busting a lung to get down the line. Respectfully disagree with your assessment on the workrate of the midfield
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 10:39:32 AM by Filho »

« Reply #29 on: April 08, 2009, 10:33:17 AM »
EVERY LAST ONE OF THOSE GOALS ARE THE RESULT OF THE FAILURE OF DEFENSIVE DUTIES OF THE MIDFIELD!!! EVERY LAST ONE!!!! I cyar be the only one seeing this.

Yeah boy you hadda be the only one seeing that. Even Ince was bawlin d man up. I am sure he knows more about who should be covering whom, and was yellign at hime for a reason.
Akile is your partner or what? D man play shit and had a bad game. No one is saying he's a bad player. Everyone has bad games.