May 05, 2024, 05:09:18 PM

Author Topic: BBC video piece on Soca Warriors & TT  (Read 5066 times)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
BBC video piece on Soca Warriors & TT
« on: May 20, 2006, 12:25:45 PM »
For those of you who can see it, the following is a link to Football Focus, a BBC TV show, and the video they showed on TV today of the recent trip by the warriors to TT.

Very nice, very informed, not sticking to the usual patronizing misinformation. My only objection is to start it off, they played a slow reggae (or rockers) tune. All I could think was "Here we go again with confusing the world into thinking that we are part of Jamaica"... ::)  But they did a great job after that.

Video.

« Last Edit: May 20, 2006, 01:24:50 PM by Flex »
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Re: BBC video piece on Soca Warriors & TT
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 12:37:24 PM »
thanks redtrinigirl, I enjoyed this

nice clips from the Peru game
decent interviews with Yorke, me mum and Beenhakker ended it with some nice words  :beermug:

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 12:37:54 PM »
Thanks gyul. that was a nice, well rounded, un-biased clip.
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2006, 12:41:26 PM »
Thanks redtrinigirl, rel good clip  :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2006, 12:47:47 PM »
That was really great. Looking at home is so good. Thank You.

« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2006, 12:56:52 PM »
excellent
although my comp to slow to show video an i only cot audio
vey  good none the less

« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2006, 01:24:09 PM »
nice video...thanks redtrinigirl  :beermug:...

in the beginning it sound like a malibu ad though ;D...but well taken interviews..... :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2006, 01:32:46 PM »
Nice video.

I got one of those blue footballs signed by the entire team. At least now I know that the signatures are legit.

« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2006, 01:34:59 PM »
Nice video, but whats the deal with de Gregeory Issac song they playing at the begining ? we are a land of Soca, steelpan, even chatney woulda song better than that reggae when it comes to representing a country, I eh want people to mistake we nah, even though many people up here thinks steel pan came from Jamaica. Dont get me wrong, Gregory have some nice tune, but we have to show/support we own thing FIRST !!!!!!! everything else comes second...
« Last Edit: May 20, 2006, 01:37:29 PM by Flex »

« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2006, 01:42:20 PM »
I saw it on Football Focus this morning. I was really impressed with the fact that it was well researched and gave a background to our history etc even recognising the distinction in pace of life between Trinidadians and Tobagonians.

Although I gave an IMMEDIATE steups with the reggae at the start, I realised it was to set the scene for a Caribbean hideaway business; imagine, they start off that scene with a Machel, Madman, lol. Although they could have used a lil groovy soca song, but they ain't know bout that yet. They more than made up for it throughout, showing our exact location on the map with our flag superimposed, playing Maximus Dan's Fighter, the official Soca Warriors Tune. (Imagine BBC Radio one play some song on Friday from 2 men in Leeds, claiming to be the official song for the Soca Warriors and dem Radio DJ's ketching kix on our Head, STEUPS!!)

As balanced and factually accurate as the piece was, I still don't understand the insistence of the media on  singling out Birchall and emphasising his being English playing for Trini. He sees himself as a Trini and so should everyone else, let that rest.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2006, 01:55:30 PM by FLi ! »

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2006, 01:46:52 PM »
you never miss home until you gone, thks i really enjoyed the clip, keep them coming

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2006, 01:49:20 PM »
Yeh they could have put ah H20 Phlo instead of Gregeory lol anyway its good to see Trinidad & Tobago get some spotlight for a change.

« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2006, 04:37:51 PM »
Thanx RTG.... I really miss home..

« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2006, 10:36:56 AM »
i like the video...it describe the essence of the socawarriors...

« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2006, 10:47:11 AM »
This was well done; ah feel  very proud watching this documentry.
Thanks for supplying the video link.

Well done.

« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2006, 11:26:22 AM »
Reds thanks ah million. Ah enjoyed dat.

Trini nice eh . I love meh ppl to de bone. ;D It have ah Argentinian in meh wuk who real dissin meh land evrytime he see ah clip on TNT. Thursday we chatting ah lil bit on the Worlds yuh know de man gih meh ah look ah scron because ah say ah looking to get ah TNT shirt to support meh boys.

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2006, 12:12:01 PM »
Boy, tell he to piss off. Cyah remember the cuss words meh Spanish teacher had teach us in school, otherwise ah woulda tell yuh what to tell him. Tell him HYMC!!! Or Su madre!!!!

When dem fanatical latin teams getting on, everybody does respect the commitment. Why we have to be a laughing matter to them? Steups!

gives Love.

« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2006, 12:14:54 PM »
will : su madre gato work for ah translation?

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2006, 01:57:19 PM »
Yep, Su madre gato will work. Or Su madre conteneros (yuh mudder container), dat was de closest we coulda get in school.... :rotfl:

gives Love.

« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2006, 02:02:24 PM »
The BBC never fails to impress me. Everything in that story was accurate and well presented. I just didn't like the reggae at the start.

« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2006, 10:03:49 AM »
What funny is that they did mention we are the land of Soca in the documentary. So they knew. For some reason they just thought the reggae would a go down better. Every body should send them an email letting them know we liked the piece except for the reggae. I could guarantee if that was a JA piece and it started off with Soca BBC inbox would a be full 10 mins  after it air.

« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2006, 10:27:53 AM »
I won't be bothered too much about it. You can't escape these things. Anytime foreign entities try to tell another's story some bit about it either omitted or skewed. In this case the only thing wrong about it were a few seconds of a reggae track in the backgound. Prejudices are innate to humanity and the Media is not immune from this. Let me elaborate. Look at the beginning where they zoom into the presenter walking on white sand bordered by crystal clear water in what seems to be a sleepy part of Tobago. This is a sterotype of Caribbean life and the Gregory Isaac easy rock reggae was just an accent to the scene. I get so accustomed to that I'm not even offended by it. I just thought it may have been a little misleading to some people who think T&T is a part of Jamaica. They went on to show downtown POS and the oval, there was an interview with Birchall with a beach at dusk in the background.The scene in the stadium In the end I thought it was  very entertaining and informative.

« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2006, 11:07:21 AM »
big ibg clip...doh mind they playing some gregory issacs at the start....
wrong country bbc!

anyone got this or know how to getin in beter quality?>

MickeyRat

« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2006, 11:57:48 AM »
Very nice.

« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2006, 12:27:13 PM »
Thank you reds! I must say that was a really nice clip of we Boys. Well we go see much more of those is the world cup we talking about you know...they need to show the Beatom on one ah them clip!  :rotfl: That is the real warriorya's down they! They'll worry your car if you leave it for a second...they go take you and all! So you know what we go do in the world cup!  :rotfl:

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2006, 04:46:20 PM »
Red gyul thanks eh ... real nice piece
Snake in de balliser