Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on November 27, 2005, 08:38:01 PM

Title: Warner worried about succession
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 27, 2005, 08:38:01 PM
Warner worried about succession
By Kern De Freitas (Trinidad Express)

Monday, November 28th 2005

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser Jack Warner is worried about a successor in T&T's football administration.

Warner expressed his concerns over the future of national football when he gave the feature address at the T&TEC General Sports and Cultural Club's ninth annual presentation of prizes and awards ceremony on Saturday night at the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce building in Westmoorings.

"As we look at the Soca Warriors," the CONCACAF president told guests at the function, "my concern is, what next?

I am very concerned about succession. I am very concerned about what happens, and who comes after Jack Warner.

"...I am not getting any younger," Warner proclaimed, "and I am concerned with who comes after Jack Warner, and when? I am concerned about those persons who aspire, but don't want to achieve. I am concerned about those persons who look at the form, but not the substance."

Warner indicated he had recently spoken with former national football captain Sedley Joseph about setting up a task force to prepare this country for qualification for World Cup 2010 in South Africa, the first time the FIFA tournament would be held in Africa, an occasion he said would not happen again "in our collective lifetime".

Thus, he said, it was even more important for Trinidad and Tobago "to be part of that history".

The FIFA vice-president indicated that he and T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker had discussed the Dutchman's future with the national team on Friday, as well as a training programme for the Soca Warriors, including practice games in the UK, leading up to the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

And, Warner said, as a World Cup coach, Beenhakker's fees had gone up.

The entire programme, Warner disclosed, will cost "no less than US$15 million", the least, he said, being spent by any country competing in next year's World Cup.

According to Warner, to ensure full transparency, the T&TFF have enlisted the services of auditors KPMG and Kenny Persad and Company to handle accounts and a new company has also been set up to manage the team.

But he encouraged T&TEC officials to push for the support of their corporate counterparts to help the national cause, saying: "Lining the streets does not amount to dollars and cents".

During his speech, Warner also related that after Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup qualifying playoff triumph against Bahrain on November 16, he went into the players' dressing room and "cried like a baby", adding that he has yet to come to terms with the Soca Warriors' achievement.

"...And while we were crying, the Bahrainians were destroying their stadium. But then again, I wouldn't shed any tears for that, because they could build one tomorrow," he quipped.

That, he said, showed the power of sport, giving many other examples as to how sport can be a unifying force worldwide, a fact he feels Trinidad and Tobago constantly take for granted.

"...When we came back to Trinidad, and we arrived at Piarco, and I embraced Mr Manning, and he embraced me, I saw the power of sport. And I tell you, I went on the stage, and I did hear the speech of the Prime Minister, when he said that no politician has achieved what football has. And I asked myself: 'what am I?'

"So I would say possibly, my politics, is not, of course, within the moment, and therefore it's alone."

Warner also took the opportunity to mention his involvement in national cricket.

"For over nine months, a group of us called the Friends of Cricket held meeting at the Centre of Excellence, weekly, fortnightly, hammering away at measures to bring change to cricket after 40 years.

"And in some ways we succeeded, and (T&T Cricket Board North Zone representative) Stephen (Martel), I thank you for this, and in the fullness of time, Mr Deryck Murray (recently-elected T&TCB president) will tell you what is being done, and what I will do for cricket."

At Saturday night's function, T&TEC also announced they would be bringing together an Under-18 team employed solely to train for and play football, for 2006.

At the awards ceremony, held to recognise the achievements of T&TEC's zonal sports clubs, the Southern Area Sports Club were the big winners, collecting most of the accolades, with the Northern Area Sports Club finishing runners up

Title: Re: Warner worried about succession
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2005, 08:41:57 PM
two quick points,

1.  I am pleased that Jack getting an unditor to keep things transparent.

2.  Why sedley Joseph and not de TD?  are Lincoln's days numbered?

and another thing..how Jack know what odder teams spending on dem budget?
Post by: morvant on November 27, 2005, 08:47:54 PM
i cyat wait to see his successor we supposed to be the top of concacaf merely because of talent and we supposed to make every world cup so we need sombody who could hire de right coach and technical staff also

and the next man cyar be ah politician either cause thats y we begging fuh money now
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 27, 2005, 08:53:47 PM
No body neva though about it aye how football will be after awarner. Well my pops used to say suriname used to be be good in the 60's and 70's cause they had a man in a high concacaf position. but you see how they fall back now.Lets hope we dont get that way
Post by: whayuhsay on November 27, 2005, 09:02:30 PM
Ah fine Warner torkin like we eh go evah make anuddah WC
Post by: FATZ on November 27, 2005, 09:11:33 PM
Ah fine Warner torkin like we eh go evah make anuddah WC

Right now Jack wish he could get his son in a position ut his son don't have a football brain.
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2005, 09:14:00 PM

He is the deputy chairman of the FIFA finance committee.
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2005, 09:16:29 PM
dat is de teams doh,

dey doh have to tell FIFA what dem spending..he jes speculating.

Post by: TnTVillan on November 27, 2005, 09:17:49 PM
I agree with jack 100%. Who going to do what he has done for TnT football. Jack has done so much is because of him we in Germany, ya think if anyone else was running TnT football beenhakker woulda get hired is because of jack.Jack ask dwight to get latas back.
Jack Warner is the Savior of Trinidad Football.
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2005, 09:18:41 PM
I agree with jack 100%. Who going to do what he has done for TnT football. Jack has done so much is because of him we in Germany, ya think if anyone else was running TnT football beenhakker woulda get hired is because of jack.Jack ask dwight to get latas back.

STEUPS!
Post by: TnTVillan on November 27, 2005, 09:19:53 PM

STEUPS!

What you STEUPSing for.
You know i right.
Hush ya mouth
Post by: FF on November 27, 2005, 09:20:15 PM

Who going to do what he has done for TnT football.

It is so because Jack make it so....
Post by: FATZ on November 27, 2005, 09:20:38 PM

He is the deputy chairman of the FIFA finance committee.

Sooo, that's where all the money he said he spending on T&T football coming from because yuh know Fifa don't tell anybody about how they spend their money.
Post by: trinibug on November 27, 2005, 09:23:11 PM
I find these days Warner tooting his own horn - loud. I guess is all politics. But still. I want to know if it will really have transparancy. The man say he spend 17 million (i guess that is $TT) and now we need a next $15m US. (that is like $100m so far). For that kinda money, you have to ask questions. This wouldn't be the 3rd company/entitiy since 89?

As long as the people in charge are about results rather than position we'll be fine after Warner. But that is a big if.
Post by: Coop's on November 27, 2005, 09:23:37 PM
No body neva though about it aye how football will be after awarner. Well my pops used to say suriname used to be be good in the 60's and 70's cause they had a man in a high concacaf position. but you see how they fall back now.Lets hope we dont get that way
Yes your Dad is right,the guys name was Andre Kampavene he was the President of CONCACAF,i think he he was killed in some uprising over there,he was involved with the government.

Suriname was very good in that time,i can still remember Enting,Zebeda and Schall,we always had problems to beat them,our games were always close,their Football took a dive after that man died.

If i'm not mistaken Jack Warner got the post after that man died.
Post by: FATZ on November 27, 2005, 09:28:04 PM
Hmmmm... president of concacaf, politics, uprising.... Jack better watch his ass because he in the same boat as the Surinamese man.. :) :-X
Post by: Coop's on November 27, 2005, 09:40:13 PM
You really think is T&T Football Jack save?Jack saved himself,he took a big gamble by investing all his money with the hope it will pay off.It's like any game if you don't play it you will never know if you can win.

He did not cry in the players dressing room because T&T qualified he was just relieved to know that it paid off.

Who have Football the way it is,all we see is the present and not the past,he is the one responsible for the state our Football is in right or wrong,up or down it's Jack Warner,SO WHO SAVE WHO.   
Post by: trinbago on November 27, 2005, 09:43:48 PM
KPMG is one of he top 3 accounting/auditng firms in the world.

A lot of people has asked about transparency....this is the best money can buy.......

Sure ..you can make the case that bubolry could still take place but bare in mind why would a publicly traded top financial firm want to put its reputation at risk by cookin the books....if Warner wanted that he could have chosen a "nobody" firm.

However, there is a first time for everthing...but I still think it s a step in the right direction for all the calls about transparency
Post by: doc on November 27, 2005, 10:41:59 PM
Is JW worried about who would be de nex advisor to TTFF? Or is he worried about who would fund them? ;D
Post by: AB.Trini on November 27, 2005, 10:49:52 PM
An astute; honest; knowledgeable and  dedicated successor: Dexter Skiene C.E.O PLF.
Post by: truetrini on November 27, 2005, 10:51:30 PM
skeene

but he eh ready fuh dat

Douglas Camacho

former head of T&T Hockey Federaton and Olympic committee and he is also de CEO of Guardian Life

dat is de best man fuh dat

Post by: AB.Trini on November 27, 2005, 11:37:16 PM
Why do you think that Skiene  is not ready for a position like this? Another candidate could be L.Phillips?
Post by: fishs on November 28, 2005, 06:28:32 AM
skeene

but he eh ready fuh dat

Douglas Camacho

former head of T&T Hockey Federaton and Olympic committee and he is also de CEO of Guardian Life

Good man for the job, but he have to belong to a club and I doubt Douggy going to take dat position.
Good post though.
Post by: Big Magician on November 28, 2005, 06:55:12 AM
SCOTCH AND COCONUT WATER
Post by: Cowen on November 28, 2005, 08:49:15 AM
How they expect to see a successor when they continually keep recycling at the top. They'll get rid of one man today then re-hire him for another position tomorrow. Spinning top in mud.

These fellas is jokers ... when last an injection of new "blood" at the top was experienced. These fellas reach a position of "power" and they unwilling to let go. No amount of money could fill there pockets ..they always want more.

The TTFF will always be shit .... because is a bunch of shit hounds running the show.

Post by: Jayerson on November 28, 2005, 09:05:19 AM
skeene

but he eh ready fuh dat

Douglas Camacho

Good man for the job, but he have to belong to a club and I doubt Douggy going to take dat position.
Good post though.

Douggy ??? I work for an insurance firm that has it's head-office close to West Mall. Good guy but I don't know of his football pedigree.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 28, 2005, 09:13:08 AM
Look Loy
Post by: grimm01 on November 28, 2005, 09:14:49 AM
How they expect to see a successor when they continually keep recycling at the top. They'll get rid of one man today then re-hire him for another position tomorrow. Spinning top in mud.

These fellas is jokers ... when last an injection of new "blood" at the top was experienced. These fellas reach a position of "power" and they unwilling to let go. No amount of money could fill there pockets ..they always want more.

The TTFF will always be shit .... because is a bunch of shit hounds running the show.

yuh have a point.

ah glad to see that Jack finally thinking about succession, but the TTFF & Jack have no one to blame but themselves. from since I know T&T football, it's the same group ah men controlling things. the odd man may come and go, but the same folks controlling all the decision making. the same incompetence that we cussin for years still there. dem men eh get no epiphany and start producing all of ah sudden. all the success of the team is Beenie. you cyah bring in a former Holland coach and den doh have water for men at a practice or have dem reach stadium and gates lock etc etc. dem men had to step up because, I sure, Beenie demanding professionalism.

bottom line is we need new blood and fresh ideas for the future. but ah guess it will be hard with dem men as they doh want to give up the VIP seats and trips all over the world.
Post by: ANC2 on November 28, 2005, 09:24:45 AM

Yuh is ah A@# or what beenehaker was a dam fluke hireing. Like you forget Warner actually hired Ron Atkinson (A Racist) and is only when Dwight and Shaka said they would in no way play for him did Warner back pedal on the deal and hire Beenie. Beenie was a second choice, like it was destiny or fate that drop Beenie on we. It was no master stroke by Jack. Alll yuh is real imps we in allyuh conclusions.
Post by: davyjenny on November 28, 2005, 09:32:08 AM
a while back i had a long talk with a former english player now
a manager of a division team he had nothing good to say about the ttff
one of the statement he made was " this federation is crap" i eh calling
no name. allyuh could make ah guess?
Post by: Tongue on November 28, 2005, 09:36:31 AM
Worried! Man have belly to make a statement like that, considering is years he and the usual suspects running the show.

Again, the TTFF aka TTFA has no one else to blame but themselves...always going with tincup looking for money,  and when they dont get blame the government or somebody for their shortcomings.

Whoever come and take over the show has to be somebody independent of the current group, some football experience, some business experience, great organizational skills, some political savy, and people skills. This individual has to bring some trust and transparency to the Federation....have tuh erase the negativity associated with the Federation after all dem years.

We go see!
Post by: KND2 on November 28, 2005, 09:38:14 AM
Jack Warner does not need a successor.

Who is the successor to George Bush, or Colin Powell

are those are post with much more reponsibility at stake than TnT Football.

If organizations are set up correctly successor is not an issue.

Jack has created the TTFF to be a one man crew, with him being the end all and be all

That is why he is worried.

He has created this disaster

Instead of having one man in charge
Create a system that can operate with anybody in charge.

Jack Warner is a failure in terms of TnT football administration and he will always be because he does not understand that football development have nothing to do with World Cup qualification.

I have participated in TnT football for the last 20 years and nothing really has changed.
For the average youth in TnT

1) Has the coaching methods improved
2) Has the training facilities improved
3) Has participation in the sport increased in all age groups
4) Has the standard of play improved.

Jack Warner has given us the youth world cup and some stadiums, which is great but now we have an empty stadium for PFL games because the game has no support in the country.

Lets see if WCQ translates into PFL ticket sales.

and the end result is that stadiums that used to be upkept like skinner park and arima velodrome are now virtually run down.

We shift maintenance dollars from Arima Velodrome to Malabar stadium so what have we gained.

if 10 years we will have 2 white elephants instead of 1.

The story is if you doing things half way work dont cut it.

Jack Doing Half way work
I am very glad that Jack is worried about a successor because maybe he will really step down.

The mere fact that TNT needs a millionare to pump $$$ to keep football afloat is reason enough for the issues we have.

Start from scratch and build the things properly.

Post by: Trini on November 28, 2005, 10:26:00 AM
What assnes yuh talking boy!
"Jack Warner is a failure in terms of TnT football administration and he will always be because he does not understand that football development have nothing to do with World Cup qualification"

Football development have nutten to do with WC Qualification????

So what are we paying all these coaches all this big money for?
What is the sense of youth teams?
You forget WCQ is a 2 year process that weeds out crackshot teams from teams that are consistent over a longer period, aka some sort of consistency that comes with development.

You could develop all you want bossman, if u dont qualify for a senior WC, you
1) not really developing but you are rather stagnant
2) just using the word in a wrong context.

Let us not forget, the ultimate goal is to qualify for a WC.
It is a tangible measure of development.
If u developing but cannot make a WC, what are you really doing?

Steups.
I think u getting tie up between the different concepts of a one shot qualification and sustainable qualification.
Same thing with people like Lincoln Philips.
Everybody like the man as a person, his ideas, philosophies and what he has started.
But there must come a time when he will have to be accountable for what he is doing.
If 10-15 years down the line we not qualifying for any sort of WC's (youth, women, etc), they by definition, he has been a failure.
This is a world of delivery boss.
If u paying all these people big money and we not qualifying, best we just go back to 10 years ago and the jokiness that existed then ,and save the taxpayers some money.

Developing and not qualifying for a WC come like beatsing whole day in the field, real skills, but yuh team always still losing.
Dont settle for mediocricity.