May 04, 2024, 04:46:24 AM

Author Topic: Canadian Roster for Estonia.......  (Read 4021 times)

Offline Winnipeg Fury

Canadian Roster for Estonia.......
« on: March 18, 2008, 02:20:11 PM »

Canada announces roster for friendly with Estonia

March 18, 2008

Canada's men's national team announced the roster today for their international friendly match with Estonia. The Canadian players will start to arrive Sunday, a few days before their 26 March match on Wednesday in Tallinn. This will be Canada's senior team's second international match of the year.

"It has been good to see the that most of our European based players have been getting a game each weekend with their professional clubs during the winter," says coach Dale Mitchell. "This international date is a prime opportunity to get them together as a group. We will need to organize ourselves quickly on Monday and Tuesday before facing a very competitive Estonia team on Wednesday evening."

Canada has selected 19 players for this friendly match, almost all of which play professionally in Europe. Dwayne De Rosario of the Houston Dynamo is the only player based in North America making the trip overseas.

Paul Stalteri has the most appearances of any Canadian player on this team (62) while Marcel de Jong has the least (one).

Canada will be facing Estonia for the second time in its history. Five years ago, Canada lost a 1:2 friendly match in Tallinn on 29 March 2003. In 2007, Canada posted a record of four wins, three draws and three losses, its best record since 2000.

Mitchell is currently preparing for the upcoming run to the FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010. While CONCACAF’s first phase of 2010 World Cup Qualification began in February, Canada will wait until the second phase to play their first two games against Saint Vincent & the Grenadines.

CANADA
1 - G - Lars Hirschfeld - Edmonton, AB - ROM / CFR Cluj
2 - D - Daniel Imhof - Smithers, BC - GER / VfL Bochum
3 - D - Mike Klukowski - Oshawa, ON - BEL / Club Brugge KV
4 - D - André Hainault - Hudson, QC - CZE / Sparta Praha
5 - D - Kevin McKenna - Calgary, AB - GER / 1. FC Köln
6 - M - Julian de Guzman - Scarborough, ON - ESP / Deportivo La Coruna
7 - D/M - Paul Stalteri - Brampton, ON - ENG / Fulham FC
8 - D/M - Marcel deJong - Newmarket, ON - NED / Roda JC
9 - M/F - Tomasz Radzinski - Toronto, ON - GRE / Skoda Xanthi
10 - F - Rob Friend - Kelowna, BC - GER / Borussia Mönchengladbach
11 - D - Richard Hastings - Vancouver, BC - SCO / Inverness CT
12 - M - Issey Nakajima-Farran - Calgary, AB - DEN / FC Nordsjælland
13 - D/M - Atiba Hutchinson - Brampton, ON - DEN / F.C. København
14 - M/F - Dwayne De Rosario - Scarborough, ON - MLS / Houston Dynamo
15 - D/M - Josh Simpson - Victoria, BC - GER / FC Kaiserslautern
16 - F - Ali Gerba - Montréal, QC - GER / FC Ingolstadt
17 - M/F - Iain Hume - Brampton, ON - ENG / Leicester City
20 - M - Patrice Bernier - Brossard, QC - GER / FC Kaiserslautern
22 - G - Kenny Stamatopoulos - Markham, ON - NOR / Tromsø I.L.

Head of Delegation / Tête de délégation : Victor Montagliani
Head Coach / Entraîneur-chef : Dale Mitchell - Burnaby, BC
Assistant Coach / Entraîneur adjoint : Stephen Hart
Video coach / Entraîneur video : Vic Mendes
Goakeeping Coach / Entraîneur des gardiens : Paul Dolan
Manager / Gérant : Morgan Quarry
Equipment manager / Gérant d’équipements : Mike Moretto
Physiotherapist / Physiothérapeute : Dave Foley Massage
Therapist / Massothérapeute : Garret Kusch

Re: Canadian Roster for Estonia.......
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 03:33:57 PM »
Who? Whaiz de name of that team playing versus Estonia?

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 10:44:33 AM »
Who? Whaiz de name of that team playing versus Estonia?

Peggy always gets mixed up with this forum and the Canadian forum  ;)

« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 10:52:34 AM »
Nah the team have Trini ties.

« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2008, 11:47:03 AM »

what is the price of these ties and where can I buy one.

« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 11:50:31 AM »
badum-CHING ;D
oh gaaawwwd you good yes :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 04:46:38 PM »
NZ Football keen for presence at Olympics

NZF chief executive Graham Seatter said his organisation was "dead keen for our teams to go to the Olympics".

"It's a great opportunity for the player, coaches and management to experience the Olympics and also a chance for to lift the profile of our sport," Seatter said.

Seatter said the decision by the New Zealand Olympic Committee on whether or not both the men's and women's teams will attend Beijing will come down to if the NZOC believe they can progress past the group stages.

"The teams are capable of making the second round," he said. "It's a little easier for the women because it's only a 12-team competition, but both teams can win a couple of games."

NZF had to enter a list of available players last August.

After forms were sent players who could come into the side under the "three players over 23 rule", former All White captain Ryan Nelsen, now captain of Blackburn Rovers in the English Premier League, and Celtic's Chris Killen made themselves available.

Phoenix players Shane Smeltz and Tony Lochhead have also said they would play if selected.

More money is also available for the teams, Seatter said. Money from Sparc, Oceania Football and Nike will help the team in terms of resources, but only if their application is approved by the NZOC.

I figured I may as well post something equally irrelevant as the topic of this post....news about Mongolian football is incredibly hard to find.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2008, 06:13:16 PM »

http://www.setantanorthamerica.com/TVSchedules/CanadaTVSchedules.aspx

Setanta will be broadcasting the game live......

« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2008, 08:20:53 PM »

like you have a refugee hearing coming up soon?  ;)

« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2008, 08:24:22 AM »
[quote aut ;Dhor=che link=topic=34604.msg406102#msg406102 date=1205948823]

like you have a refugee hearing coming up soon?  ;)

Jumbie doh tell people meh business nah  :nailbiting:

« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2008, 02:01:57 PM »

Jumbie doh tell people meh business nah  :nailbiting:

call meh if you want ah character letter to help out.

« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2008, 08:26:35 PM »

like you have a refugee hearing coming up soon? ;)

Oh ho ... so yuh does need a tie . Duly noted. Ah go seek one out.

« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2008, 12:19:30 PM »
Estonia beat Canada 2-0 today

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2008, 06:48:24 PM »
And as always peggy gone missing. :-X

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2008, 06:56:41 PM »
I knew the bad news but I didn't want to be the bearer ;D

« Last Edit: March 26, 2008, 06:58:22 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2008, 08:14:14 PM »
 :o weyys sah yuh ent see how much snow dey was playing in...de whole pitch was white with 6 inches ah snow.....dem canucks shoulda feel like home  ;D

« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2008, 10:59:33 PM »
2-0 licks in allyuh ass.

« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2008, 12:53:36 AM »
now... how do I emphasize my lack of interest, cuz i think if i attempted to say, do it through a yawn the sides of my mouth may tear open.

« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2008, 12:59:09 AM »
De whole crowd come down from de stands to shovel snow including W Fury and to no avail.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2008, 05:00:02 AM »
I never saw the match, but snow or not, this is another poor reesult. 

Estonia defeats Canada in men's friendly

A snow-covered pitch in Tallinn
By THE CANADIAN PRESS

Estonia's Taavi Raehn looks on with Canada's Ali Gerba running in Tallinn, Estonia, on Wednesday, March 26, 2008. (AP/NIPA, Timur Nisametdinov)

TALLINN, Estonia - Estonia defeated Canada 2-0 in a men's soccer friendly on a snow-covered pitch at Lillekula Stadium on Wednesday.

Estonia got on the board in the 60th minute on a Paul Stalteri own goal. The veteran defender was hit in the chest with a cross and the ball went in over the head of goalkeeper Lars Hirschfeld.

Estonia sealed the victory with a goal in the 88th minute.

"The first goal comes on a counterattack and the second goal comes when we're pushing to get the equalizer," said Canada head coach Dale Mitchell. "I think we were the team that carried the play for good parts of the match.

"But away from home, if you play against players who have some pace and some ability up front which almost all teams in Europe have, when you give it away they can make you pay for it. And that was really the difference in the game."

Work crews did their best to clear the field of snow before the game and at halftime but players still had to deal with cold, slippery conditions.

"Our guys got on with it with a good attitude," Mitchell said. "At times maybe we overplayed a little bit too much and it didn't really suit the style of the team that we have right now.

"But it still ends up being a worthwhile exercise to be over here, to be with the players for three days, and make the most of a competitive international."

Estonia defeated Canada 2-1 in a friendly at their only previous meeting in 2003.

Canada is preparing for its first game in the CONCACAF World Cup qualification, which is scheduled for June 15 at Saint Vincent & the Grenadines.

« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2008, 09:45:56 AM »
this morning, the CBC Radio sportscaster criticized Dale Mitchell for playing the likes of de Guzman in the Estonia snow match and risking injury as the first qualifying world cup matches with St. Vincent (June 15 and 21 2008)  approaches ..

« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2008, 11:51:00 AM »
I still trying to understand why dey even bother to play de game in de amount of snow dey talking about.

« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2008, 10:33:43 PM »
I still trying to understand why dey even bother to play de game in de amount of snow dey talking about.

I still trying to understand why they playing a friendly in de cold when their match is in caribbean heat

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2008, 06:30:16 PM »

I still trying to understand why they playing a friendly in de cold when their match is in caribbean heat

They were probably looking for the coldest place to take St-Vincent to. They just went a bit too far ;)

However, Canada will make it at least to the group stage.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2008, 06:12:40 PM »

« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2008, 07:52:59 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cjq3B9lrtx8

look at this game   :devil:

That game will really help Canada play in the Caribbean heat.  ::)

C.S.A can give the T.T.F.F ah run for their money for best run organisation.