May 07, 2024, 06:03:33 AM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors off to Costa Rica  (Read 4556 times)

Soca Warriors off to Costa Rica
« on: October 06, 2009, 09:23:13 PM »
Soca Warriors off to Costa Rica.
By: Nigel Simon (Trinidad Guardian).

Soca Warriors coach Russell Latapy and an 18-man squad will leave today for Costa Rica for Saturday’s 2010 South Africa Fifa World Cup qualifier in San Jose from 10 pm. The Soca Warriors have no chance of qualifying and sit at the bottom of the group with five points from eight matches. At the top of the group is USA with 16 points, one ahead of Mexico while Honduras is next with 13, Costa Rica (12) and Guatemala (eight).

The Costa Ricans, who hired former T&T coach Rene Simoes after dismissing Rodrigo Kenton, go into the match needing a win to stay in the hunt for an automatic spot in South Africa. With only two matches left for each team, the top three will qualify for South Africa while the fourth placed team will face the fifth placed South American team in a home-and-away series for another spot. On Monday night, Latapy had his first session with 21 of his 22 players at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo and was due to hold another session at the same venue last night ahead of today’s departure at 5.20 pm.

The only player missing from Monday’s session was Southampton FC utility player, Jake Thomson, one of five players from the T&T Under-20 team which returned from the Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Egypt on Saturday. Thomson was due to arrive yesterday for his first session with the senior squad where he will join fellow Under-20 players, captain, Leston Paul, defender Robert Primus, goalkeeper Glenroy Samuel and striker Juma Clarence.

Meanwhile, Costa Rica suffered a blow over the weekend, losing midfielder Celso Borges to an injury in a match for his Norwegian club, Fredrikstad. Borges, with five goals in 15 caps, will miss Saturday’s home match against T&T as well as the US clash and Costa Rican defender Cristian Montero is also questionable due to a shoulder injury.

Soca Warriors training squad

Goalkeepers:
Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Jan-Michael Williams (W Connection), Glenroy Samuel (United Petrotrin).

Defenders:
Robert Primus (Jabloteh), Kern Cupid (W Connection), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Swansea FC), Jlloyd Samuel (Bolton Wanderers), Dennis Lawrence (Jabloteh), Julius James (DC United).

Midfielders:
Jake Thomson (Southampton), Trent Noel (Joe Public), Densill Theobald (Caledonia), Leston Paul (University of South Florida), Keon Daniel (Caledonia AIA), Hughton Hector (W Connection), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public), Clyde Leon (W Connection).

Forwards:
Kerry Baptiste (Joe Public), Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Juma Clarence (United Petrotrin), Kenwyne Jones (Sunderland).

Kerry Baptiste, left, and Under-19 captain Leston Paul, go after the ball during the Soca Warriors’ final preparations for Saturday’s World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica. The team will leave today for
the penultimate match of the campaign. Photo: Anthony Harris

Kern Cupid number three and Glenroy Samuel go for the ball, while team-mates Carlos Edwards, Under-20 forward Juma Clarence # 19 and Julius James # 16 look on during the Soca Warriors practice session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Photo: Anthony Harris

Re: Soca Warriors off to Costa Rica
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 09:26:12 PM »
JLLOYD EH COMIN. Simon eh read d press release or he doh check here 4 he stories again.

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 09:28:29 PM »
wuh kinda ballerina move leston tryin they.

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2009, 09:35:52 PM »

fuh real,

beauty of the action photo

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2009, 09:38:54 PM »

You notice that too? He looks more like a reg-GAY boy than a Soca warrior in that clip!  ;)

But on a serious note Leston Paul definitely needs to get into the weights room and strengthen up or them senior players at this level will look to push him around like he should be on the women's team!

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 10:26:54 PM »
I gald to see Guatemala have 8 points I hope they make it ;)

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2009, 10:30:09 PM »

Kerry Baptiste, left, and Under-19 captain Leston Paul, go after the ball during the Soca Warriors’ final preparations for Saturday’s World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica. The team will leave today for

In ah squeeky ReggaeFan voice

"Zippidy doo Zippidy dey.  ewwww you tryin to hurt me bad boy. You aint my type anyway"   :devil:

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2009, 11:30:46 PM »

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2009, 12:59:04 AM »

What PATHETIC reporting/editing!  ::)

« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2009, 01:05:20 AM »

What's new, ent he's a T&T sports reporter, do we take our sports seriously?  ::)
« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 01:16:10 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2009, 06:29:57 AM »

What's new, ent he's a T&T sports reporter, do we take our sports seriously?  ::)

Journalism brudder

« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2009, 08:22:38 AM »

This reporter has failed miserably.

« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2009, 08:53:07 AM »

Why would they even publish this picture?  As funny as it looks, doh embarass we own athletes nuh....I'm sure they have a plethora of other images to choose from

« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 09:40:19 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2009, 10:20:44 AM »
Latapy might go with.

Phillip
Cupid, Abu Bakr, Lawrence, James
    Edwards, Noel, Leon, Daniel
            Jones, Baptiste

If it was up to me.

Williams
Cupid, Primus, Lawrence, James
   Edwards, Noel, Paul, Hector
           Winchester
              Jones

« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2009, 11:00:07 AM »
If it was up to me I would recall

Kelvin Barclay, Earl Carter, Russell Tesheira, Raymond Moraldo, Selwyn Murren,
Selris Figaro, Lawrence Rondon, Everald Cummings, Dennis Morgan, Anthony Douglas,
Steve David, Steve Kahn, Sydney Augustine, Warren Archibald, Leroy Spann, Leroy DeLeon, Sammy Llewelyn.

The TTFF mother neck.

« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2009, 11:11:08 AM »

Selris Figaro, Lawrence Rondon, Everald Cummings, Dennis Morgan, Anthony Douglas,
Steve David, Steve Kahn, Sydney Augustine, Warren Archibald, Leroy Spann, Leroy DeLeon, Sammy Llewelyn.

The TTFF mother neck.

Oh gawd Deese I know tings bad but let Tesheira RIP

« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2009, 11:15:40 AM »
Ah wonder if Jake get his ticket on-time, if at all  ::)

Soca Warriors coach Russell Latapy and an 18-man squad will leave today for Costa Rica for Saturday’s 2010 South Africa Fifa World Cup qualifier in San Jose from 10 pm. The Soca Warriors have no chance of qualifying and sit at the bottom of the group with five points from eight matches. At the top of the group is USA with 16 points, one ahead of Mexico while Honduras is next with 13, Costa Rica (12) and Guatemala (eight).

Lawd fadder  ???

« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2009, 11:19:51 AM »
Ah wonder if Jake get his ticket on-time, if at all  ::)

Lawd fadder  ???

We go hear he have a groin injury just now. Then we will know. D code 4 groin injury is d Manager eh send a ticket.

« Reply #19 on: October 07, 2009, 12:53:36 PM »

The TTFF mother neck.

Oh gawd Deese I know tings bad but let Tesheira RIP

Sorry RT. RIP.

Re: Warriors train ahead of Costa Rica
« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2009, 01:01:33 PM »
aye allyuh see what keon daniel do with dah beats on the left side dey right? dais exactly what he will do in d game. how yuh practice is how you will play.

« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2009, 01:10:20 PM »

The TTFF mother neck.

Dat squad would colleck 6 from Costa Rica.

« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2009, 01:11:54 PM »

The TTFF mother neck.

So d present side will collect half dat as they half dey age.

« Reply #23 on: October 07, 2009, 01:37:31 PM »

The TTFF mother neck.

I torkin bout dat team Deeks call dey IN DEY PRIME would colleck 6 from DIS cuirrent Costa Rica side.

« Reply #24 on: October 07, 2009, 01:38:16 PM »

The TTFF mother neck.

I torkin bout dat team Deeks call dey IN DEY PRIME would colleck 6 from DIS cuirrent Costa Rica side.

All rite

Re: Warriors train ahead of Costa Rica
« Reply #25 on: October 07, 2009, 01:45:13 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/_RGhTzQj9n0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/_RGhTzQj9n0</a>

KJ please doh waist yuh time again eh, yuh owe we at least 1 goal, my patience running very very thin now!!

« Reply #26 on: October 08, 2009, 12:22:42 PM »

Why would they even publish this picture?  As funny as it looks, doh embarass we own athletes nuh....I'm sure they have a plethora of other images to choose from

He seems to get caught in those poses. This one is from the ttffonline site

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #27 on: October 08, 2009, 01:26:08 PM »

fuh real,

beauty of the action photo

yuh mean bullaman move...watch the finnyhand