May 24, 2024, 12:03:19 AM

Author Topic: Getting creative........  (Read 818 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

• *****
  • Posts: 5624
Getting creative........
« on: July 24, 2007, 11:12:59 AM »
One ah meh favourite Langston Hughs poems

Well, son, I'll tell you:
Life for me ain't been no crystal stair.
It's had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor --
Bare.
But all the time
I'se been a-climbin' on,
And reachin' landin's,
And turnin' corners,
And sometimes goin' in the dark
Where there ain't been no light.
So boy, don't you turn back.
Don't you set down on the steps
'Cause you finds it's kinder hard.
Don't you fall now --
For I'se still goin', honey,
I'se still climbin',
And life for me ain't been no crystal stair.

How many could put ah Trini spin to this? Here is my attempt:

Well, son, leh meh  tell you:
Life for me ain't been no frigging bed ah roses.
I had all kinda ketch ass,
And  ah seeing meh nene,
And facing all kinda  chupid people,
And living in places with no toilet  no running water --
  d bush.
But all the time
I' been a-wuckinh' on,
And  saving meh pennies,
And selling' tuh make it,
And sometimes goin' without
While allyuh go tuh school.
So boy, don't you  give me no 'kiss me ass ' attitude.
Don't you think yuh have it hard
'Cause yuh cyar make heads or tails.
Don't you guff up and squit yuh face so
For I' still wucking tuh mind yuh
so haul yuh soory ass and face the music
« Last Edit: July 24, 2007, 11:19:27 AM by AB.Trini »