May 08, 2024, 12:09:57 PM

Author Topic: Reggae Artist Vybz Kartel Bleaches His Skin  (Read 11121 times)

Reggae Artist Vybz Kartel Bleaches His Skin
« on: January 24, 2011, 07:41:43 PM »
Reggae Artist Vybz Kartel Bleaches His Skin;
http://www.rollingout.com/insidemusic/music-news/12598-reggae-artist-vybz-kartel-bleaches-his-skin-why-self-hate-continues-to-destroy-the-black-community.html
<a href="http://www.rollingout.com/images/jan-feb-11/vybz-kartel-before-and-after.jpg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.rollingout.com/images/jan-feb-11/vybz-kartel-before-and-after.jpg</a>

Reggae artist Vybz Kartel hates himself, but it's not his fault. The dancehall musician lightened his skin and has experienced a backlash from fans who are appalled by his physical changes. In a recent interview, Kartel linked blacks who lighten their skin to white people who tan.

"This is my new image," Kartel said in the interview. "You can expect the unexpected. I feel comfortable with black people lightening their skin. They want a different look. It's tantamount to white people getting a sun tan."

Kartell is endorsing his own brand of cake soap and claims that the soap lightens his skin. However, Bounty Killer countered by saying that his mother has used cake soap and it has yet to bleach her skin. Bounty Killer believes that Kartel is using something stronger to lighten his skin.

But Kartel's choice to bleach his skin stems from a deeply rooted form of self-hatred that has permeated the black community for hundreds of years. Because blacks have been under white hegemony for so long, many blacks have idolized the caucasian image while detesting black images.

Furthermore, white slave owners often created discord between dark and fair skinned slaves to minimize the chances of a slave revolt. As a result, that form of thinking was passed along through generations of black culture. Many dark-skinned kids are picked on by their peers at school, and some black fraternities and sororities have a history of segregating themselves based on skin complexion. The media has also historically centered on fair-skinned blacks in ad campaigns and in Hollywood.

Even Lil Wayne, who happens to be dark skinned, has perpetuated the self-hatred by rapping, "Beautiful black woman, but I bet she looks better red."

So as Kartel continues to lighten his skin, understand that he and other uninformed blacks are victims of a senseless epidemic that destroys the progression of the black community.

–amir shaw

Re: Reggae Artist Vybz Kartel Bleaches His Skin
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 07:54:53 PM »
And I used to cuss Michael!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 08:13:57 PM »
I heard this a few days ago ,but didnt beleive  :rotfl: .
The last three paragraphs really went of on a strange  tangent didnt it .jk
He looks like a zombie lol

Remember the time Vybz Kartel attacked the site for days ,around the time of the WC .He was reckless .
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 01:34:15 AM by Quags »

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 08:52:39 PM »
The man looks like ah ghost!

Ah wonder what Swappi will think of this latest revelation?!  ::)

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2011, 09:27:54 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zVs1mzI1uM8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zVs1mzI1uM8</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0c5-J59it7Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0c5-J59it7Q</a>

« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 10:10:43 PM »
And I used to cuss Michael!!!!!
Hoss de man looking more scary than Micheal....he might straighten his nose next.

« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2011, 10:49:35 PM »
Baby, pass it pass it, let me apply it on it, lotion no want it, oil no want, bleach, yes, have you tried it? People asking me if I hate myself but I deny it...tears yes

« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2011, 11:46:45 PM »
This a joke right?? This man doh look at he self in the mirror when the morning come? His logic is that white people does tan!!!! He logically correct, but .....................

« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2011, 12:04:30 AM »
This a joke right?? This man doh look at he self in the mirror when the morning come? His logic is that white people does tan!!!! He logically correct, but .....................

He logically correct?

Ah doh see how but hey

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TuM-MlNjdm4&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TuM-MlNjdm4&amp;feature=related</a>

« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2011, 01:26:04 AM »
kartel is a big pussyhole.. hear wey kiprich say bout di bleaching sumthin..
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/BLspSNHPWkM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/BLspSNHPWkM</a>
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 01:51:55 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2011, 08:04:18 AM »
so kartel think he will be more appealing looking like a damn vampire?

some black ppl need a good cut ass oui

« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2011, 08:29:04 AM »
Kartel fuhget tuh bleach he lips too or what?

« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2011, 10:04:51 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl:...what d arse is dis I reading here in trute today.

But in all seriousness...in the tune straight jeans and fitted...he does talk bout "wash meh face with the cake soap"

Now it go have a setta imps running round shortly with bleached skin down here.

But from long time we hearing plenty dub tune bout Browning and Bleach and ting...I used to think this was a Jamaican ting, but it have real Indians down here fascinated with a "fairer complexion"

Vicco cream and Fair and Hansome is a seller.

I remember this article I sure it was posted on the forum...but look it again. Kartel have company.

Fair of the Dark

Anil Guptar says he wants to maintain his “naturally fair” complexion. Photo: Keith Matthews

BY MARSHA MOKOOL

Whatever happened to tall, dark and handsome? If you ask 21-year-old Anil Guptar, he will tell you that having a “clean face” is synonymous with having a “fair, even-toned complexion.”

Guptar, who is light-brown in complexion, has been using two herbal products Emami Turmeric Skin Cream Gold and Vico Turmeric Skin Cream interchangeably for five years. The former claims to promote radiant, younger, healthy looking skin, while the latter is said to prevent the penetration of ultra-violet rays from the sun, thus maintaining the original colour or pigment of the skin.

When both creams were out of stock, Guptar, who is of East Indian decent, decided to use Fair and Handsome, the first fairness cream for men created by Emami and Activor Corp, USA.

The product, which is distributed in the West Indies by Indus Merchant Ltd, was launched in India in 2005 and is now being sold in T&T.

“I am naturally fair and I want to maintain my complexion. I don’t want to get dark from the sun,” said Guptar.

He said when he saw the advert for Fair and Handsome starring Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan “I wanted to look fair like that.”

But after using the product twice, he started to break out in pimples. “I normally do not get buttons so I know it had to be that.”

Dermatologist speculates

Dermatologist Dr Audrey Ramoutar in St James said she could not recall any patients who presented with side effects after using Fair and Handsome.

“We have no documented evidence to say whether or not this product has any side effects,” she said.

But she has had patients who presented with side effects after using similar creams.

Fair and Handsome, which is labelled as a lightening cream, is said to contain a unique combination of herbs. The product also claims to be able to penetrate tougher male epidermis to regulate melanin production.

She said that people should be wary of “herbal” products which claim to lighten skin. “Everything is being advertised as herbal because it is equated as natural, having fewer side effects. But it is unlikely for it to be one hundred per cent herbal,” she explained.

She indicated that most lightening and bleaching creams contain hydroquinone, a bleaching formula used to decrease the formation of melanin in the skin and lighten dark spots.

She also cautioned that products containing hydroquinone can have “varied side effects with short and long term use.”

Colleague gives all clear

After rewiewing all the components in Fair and Handsome, Port-of-Spain dermatologist Dr Bisram Mahabir, gave a favourable report on the product.

“There does not seem to be anything dangerous or harmful in the product,” he said.

He said side effects may occur “if someone is allergic to any of the ingredients, as with any other product.”

He also confirmed there were no bleaching agents in the product.

Asked about the case of the young man who allegedly broke out in pimples after using the product, Mahabir said that was an unlikely side effect.

“At that age he would be prone to acne,” he said.

He said he has known patients who have used the product.

“They present with other skin problems, but not relating to it (Fair and Handsome),” he said.

But he has had patients who experienced side effects after using similar creams, which all contain hydroquinone.

Fairness fixation

The fairness fixation has been re-inforced and perpetuated by Hollywood—and now Bollywood—with the manufacturers of Fair and Handsome capitalising on the perception by some that lighter is better.

The fascination with fair skin seems to be alive and well in T&T, with both men and women literally buying into this concept with the use of lightening products like Fair and Handsome and its counterpart Emami Naturally Fair for women.

Shah Rukh Khan, the brand ambassador for Fair and Handsome, has been heavily criticised in India for a controversial 40-second TV advert in which he hands a skin lightening cream to a despondent man with markedly darker skin. Within a few weeks, the young man turns a few shades lighter and is more confident, with girls flocking to him.

Preferred choice for men

The Emami Group has branded the product as the world’s number one fairness cream for men. The product is available in T&T in two sizes. The small bottle is being sold at pharmacies, supermarkets and Pennywise Cosmetics outlets for $17.95 for 30 oz. The 60 oz bottle retails for $27.95.

The Port-of-Spain branch of Pennywise sells about 12 boxes a day in both sizes, says Lisa Baptiste, a supervisor there.

The branch has a diverse and regular clientele, Baptiste says, ranging in age and ethnicity. “All men use it. It does not seem to be favoured by any particular race,” she said.

Asked if she has received any complaints from customers about the product, she said, “We have never had any complaints about it. We have never had people who brought it back.

A sales agent at the same branch said, “It is a hot seller because there is nothing to compare with it for men. Men buy it mainly to lighten where they shave. Some women also purchase it for their husbands,” she said.

Natural and safe?

A sales agent at the Grand Bazaar Pennywise branch said the product has been “selling a lot” since they started stocking it.

Compared to other lightening creams, she said, “This one is more natural and does not have any bleaching agents.”

She said they have not had any reports of side effects from the product. A sales agent at the Chaguanas branch said the product has been selling “quite a lot.”

She said, “A lot of men are buying it, not just Indian men, but everybody. It is not only used for blemishes, but also to control oil and protect you from the sun. It is one hundred per cent herbal and safe to use,” she added.

Local distributor: No bleaching

Ved Prakash, one of the directors of Indus Merchant Ltd in Chaguanas, confirmed in an interview that Fair and Handsome “does not contain any hydroquinone at all.

“It is a herbal-based product that contains a combination of herbs and peptide, which is a molecule, not a bleaching agent,” he said.

“All our products are herbal-based and none of them contain hydroquinone,” he said.

He also insisted that the product is “completely safe and we have never received any complaints from consumers.”

Speaking in his strong Indian accent, he said, “People of fair complexion go for tan and people of darker skin want to look fair. It’s just like people with straight hair wanting curls and people with curly hair wanting straight hair.

“That is how cosmetics play the role to give a different look, just like they do with makeup,” he said.

Initially, he said the target market for Fair and Handsome was the Indian market.

“But I realise it is also being bought by African people.

“The colour we have here is not the natural colour because we go out in the sun and get tanned. So these products remove the tan and pollution of the sun on the skin,” he explained.

He said the product, which is also distributed in Suriname, Guyana and Jamaica, was doing “very well” in T&T, which is where the distribution company is based.

« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2011, 10:06:35 AM »
Here is another article...

The Perception of Beauty

« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2011, 11:19:10 AM »
all of dem dey mad.  dey want a good ole fashion beating.. anyway how is sammy sosa doing.. I heard he tun back black .. is dat true ?

« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2011, 12:00:03 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lwHolDBZ4Kg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lwHolDBZ4Kg</a>

« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2011, 02:20:48 PM »
E-gad! Man look like a albino or burn victim...jackass.

« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2011, 04:30:37 PM »
E-gad! Man look like a albino or burn victim...jackass.

He look like he make-up artist is ah mortician.

« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2011, 07:53:33 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R8IOAK2xRYg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R8IOAK2xRYg</a>

« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2011, 09:08:34 PM »
let them go ahead. them skin go look like shit when they get older with all them chemicals. lets see if they come up with a product fuh that too. this is ridiculous...

« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2011, 09:33:07 PM »

He logically correct?

Ah doh see how but hey

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TuM-MlNjdm4&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TuM-MlNjdm4&amp;feature=related</a>

Well he correct people with lighter shade does do the tan ting. But his logic that darker skin people can reciprocate by bleaching don't sit well with me. for curry.

« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2011, 11:55:20 PM »
Wait, wait, wait.............that cake soap they talking about is blue soap whey they use to was khaki pants with and bathe dog with?

« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2011, 12:42:04 AM »
he lips look like he was pressing dem in chilli bi-bi

« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2011, 11:43:02 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tBqNQo31Mno" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tBqNQo31Mno</a>

« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2011, 11:14:41 PM »
jahkingdom fraid to post in here

« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2011, 01:31:06 AM »

First thread on this forum that he seems to be unable to give an opinion on!

Ah wonder why?!  ::)

« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2011, 09:27:17 AM »
Blackman so desperate to be white he would even try Clorox wat ah shame .

« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2011, 12:31:26 PM »

First thread on this forum that he seems to be unable to give an opinion on!

Ah wonder why?!  ::)

Is shame he shame.

This bleaching thing big in Jamaica...particularly females. Been there are good few times and the girl dem get lighter everytime ah go back. And yes dey does hide from the sun

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2011, 05:04:49 PM »
Is shame he shame.

This bleaching thing big in Jamaica...particularly females. Been there are good few times and the girl dem get lighter everytime ah go back. And yes dey does hide from the sun

Why you don't shut you rass. what di f*ck would i be shame of ?. because there are people in Jamaica that bleach, does not means that every one bleach. India people bleach more than anyone else, check the Dominica republic, it does not means every one does it. you always going to have a few uneducated people doing stuff like this no matter what,  and you would be shocking to know that it is going on right in you own back yard. The thing is whatever happens in Jamaica go international and with a public figure like that fool name kartel can make it even worst. i did not see any f*cking reason to comment since i share the same view with most of the comments on this forum that kartel is a f**kin idiot. i was never a fan of kartel and will never be. i was one of the happiest person when Jamaica ban kartel, mavado etc.. slack music from playing on radio. I do not think i should waste my time commenting about kartel since i do not have an opposing view from what is already posted and this topic is about a month old now.

http://caribbeancricket.com/topic/975475

http://www.thereggaeboyz.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/169098/page/1#Post169098

we were even making jokes about it. i don't know why di f*ck i should be shame, i don't relate to kartel. people who do stuff like this, are normally from depress communities with low self esteem. i don't think you should use a group of people to generalize a entire population. the same thing could be said about white people and plastic surgery or tanning. Kartel is disgrace to black people, i dont feel shame or sorry for him, he was always one of the most hated person in Jamaica.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2011, 05:24:34 PM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #29 on: January 28, 2011, 07:01:50 PM »
Is shame he shame.

Why you don't shut you rass. what di f*ck would i be shame of ?. because there are people in Jamaica that bleach, does not means that every one bleach. India people bleach more than anyone else, check the Dominica republic, it does not means every one does it. you always going to have a few uneducated people doing stuff like this no matter what,  and you would be shocking to know that it is going on right in you own back yard. The thing is whatever happens in Jamaica go international and with a public figure like that fool name kartel can make it even worst. i did not see any f*cking reason to comment since i share the same view with most of the comments on this forum that kartel is a f**kin idiot. i was never a fan of kartel and will never be. i was one of the happiest person when Jamaica ban kartel, mavado etc.. slack music from playing on radio. I do not think i should waste my time commenting about kartel since i do not have an opposing view from what is already posted and this topic is about a month old now.

http://caribbeancricket.com/topic/975475

http://www.thereggaeboyz.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/169098/page/1#Post169098

we were even making jokes about it. i don't know why di f*ck i should be shame, i don't relate to kartel. people who do stuff like this, are normally from depress communities with low self esteem. i don't think you should use a group of people to generalize a entire population. the same thing could be said about white people and plastic surgery or tanning. Kartel is disgrace to black people, i dont feel shame or sorry for him, he was always one of the most hated person in Jamaica.

Everything yuh posted makes sense except yuh last sentence.

I was of the impression that Kartel has been the number artist in Ja for sometime now so evidence points to the contrary about him being the most hated person in Jamaica.

Otherwise point taken and glad to see that you have finally commented!  ;D