May 14, 2024, 08:49:47 PM

Author Topic: We footballers get dey money?  (Read 10918 times)

We footballers get dey money?
« on: March 12, 2008, 08:55:54 PM »
http://football.guardian.co.uk/Columnists/Column/0,,2264576,00.html

No conflict of interest

Trinidad & Tobago's players were surprised to receive their 2006 World Cup qualifying bonuses before the conclusion of an arbitration hearing in London next month, and the biggest shock was that the money came from a Concacaf account. Jack Warner is both Concacaf's president and a special adviser to T&T's football association and he has played a major role in the dispute between the T&T federation and the nation's players' union, who included the former Newcastle and West Ham United goalkeeper Shaka Hislop. Could it be that Warner used the finances of the confederation that has made him one of the most powerful men in world football to fulfil the obligations of a member country? A close friend of Warner says otherwise. "The confederation is the body that provides the funding for the national associations," said the friend. "Jack has just wired that money direct and will deduct it from future contributions."

Re: We footballers get dey money?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 08:58:40 PM »
look ting...i assume this is breaking news and no players have openly commented on if they actually have received a cent?
this will be quite an interesting story to follow

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2008, 09:04:56 PM »
look ting...i assume this is breaking news and no players have openly commented on if they actually have received a cent?
this will be quite an interesting story to follow
maybe in receiving the money the players have signed away their right to comment on the current change of tactics.

but I think this is all Smoke and Mirrors....
de money should be a TTFF responsibility in "Normal life." ;)

IF TRUE....It took long enough, and de man doh really care about apearences eh
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 09:25:17 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2008, 09:17:55 PM »
What ah go take ah drink for that  8)

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2008, 09:37:42 PM »
It is good if the players have been paid - let's wait for them to confirm. But this is the kind of accounting that will trip him up somewhere along the line.

Suppose someone takes over CONCACAF a few years down the line and sues the players to have the improper payments returned?

Kind of like FIFA sued ISL to get payments back (but then dropped it when they were implicated themselves)

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2008, 09:38:01 PM »

Professionalism

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2008, 10:25:34 PM »

Professionalism
Ah revenge eh ,enjoy it yah mad motfk you  lol

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2008, 06:47:13 AM »
hhhhmmmmm.....more thing to wonder about dis Jackula....what it is about dat man and money....it have any financial transaction he does get involved in dat above board??

If dey players get dey money, good.....BUT....BUT.....hhhhmmmm :-\

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2008, 07:30:13 AM »
"Jack has just wired that money direct and will deduct it from future contributions."

Isnt that kinda like yuh boss tief all the chirstmas bonus money in Dec 2006 and then in Jan 2008 he pay it back from the 2008 christmas fund.  Come Dec 2008 he go bawl the fund empty we brokes.
I guess KJ flying coach the rest of this SA2010 run.

« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2008, 07:39:33 AM »
i will have a "Scotch and Coconut Water" please....

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2008, 07:46:37 AM »
It is good if the players have been paid - let's wait for them to confirm. But this is the kind of accounting that will trip him up somewhere along the line.

Suppose someone takes over CONCACAF a few years down the line and sues the players to have the improper payments returned?

Kind of like FIFA sued ISL to get payments back (but then dropped it when they were implicated themselves)

The players themselves can't be sued under that scenario.

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2008, 08:11:44 AM »
"Jack has just wired that money direct and will deduct it from future contributions."

you can't trust jack at all, this what he friend say here sounding suspect......
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2008, 08:32:12 AM »
I can confirm that this story is NOT true
sorry that is all i can say at the moment.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 08:53:20 AM by ricky »

« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2008, 08:37:29 AM »
I can confirm that this story is NOT true.
The story has some underlying truth, but is not entirely accurate. The events will unfold in due course.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 09:12:41 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2008, 08:39:19 AM »
The story has some underlying truth, but is not entirely accurate. The events will unfold in due course.

yes tallman you are correct
that was a better way to word it than i did   ;)
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 08:54:01 AM by ricky »

« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2008, 08:43:44 AM »
so, he give dem ah next $100 and tell dem hush day mouth ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2008, 09:46:23 AM »

yes tallman you are correct
that was a better way to word it than i did   ;)

looks like it go have a lil sumting in the christmas fund then, good cause I have my eye on a scalectric set.

« Reply #17 on: March 13, 2008, 09:47:01 AM »
give meh ah straight rum instead....mama

« Reply #18 on: March 13, 2008, 10:06:48 AM »
1. How would the rest of Concacaf federations feel bout that ? Cause it's supposed to be their monies too.
a. The leaders of their bodies must have approved the disbursement and/or else.
b. Future/present monies would flow their way, all good
c. They are aware they have to cover each other ass, and their turn might soon come.
d. All of the above

« Reply #19 on: March 13, 2008, 10:10:21 AM »
1. How would the rest of Concacaf federations feel bout that ? Cause it's supposed to be their monies too.
c. They are aware they have to cover each other ass, and their turn might soon come.
d. All of the above
B and C
especially C ;)

whats my prize

« Reply #20 on: March 13, 2008, 10:18:33 AM »
d. All of the above
B and C
especially C ;)

whats my prize

Sorry WC..the answer is None of the above, which eh even in the choices.....nobody cyah follow or predict, when or how 'D Jackula' go take yuh sc**t.

« Reply #21 on: March 13, 2008, 10:21:35 AM »

So we hadda wait on the details but when this all went down...today?

« Reply #22 on: March 13, 2008, 10:23:04 AM »
d. All of the above
B and C
especially C ;)
whats my prize
Sorry WC..the answer is None of the above, which eh even in the choices.....nobody cyah follow or predict, when or how 'D Jackula' go take yuh sc**t.
I feel you right and maybe Jackula doh even kno heself
he does move like ah TIEF in de night sometimes eh....very unpridictable

« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2008, 10:31:42 AM »
in the longrun, warner prove heself 2b a righteous man.

Amen

« Reply #24 on: March 13, 2008, 10:34:30 AM »
Amen
Andre
wait for the FACTS before you get TOO happy
dais what I doin ;)

« Reply #25 on: March 13, 2008, 12:19:03 PM »

Amen

Righteous...I think not. How about self preservation.

« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2008, 12:36:14 PM »

Amen

I once heard the kool-aid that Jim Jones made was actually quite tasty

« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2008, 03:42:41 PM »

Amen

I once heard the kool-aid that Jim Jones made was actually quite tasty

Ent! Lard! Andre must be Warner spin doctor

« Reply #28 on: March 13, 2008, 04:01:41 PM »

Amen

Hard to call a man 'righteous' if he only does what's right under duress.

« Reply #29 on: March 13, 2008, 05:25:37 PM »

Quite 7pm and nutten?  Wham...we falling behind or wha....I go be disappointed if I hear about this on the news first   :devil: