May 13, 2024, 04:02:47 PM

Author Topic: Keon Daniel vs Jonas Guitierez (newcastle)  (Read 2525 times)

Offline christiano

Keon Daniel vs Jonas Guitierez (newcastle)
« on: December 11, 2008, 09:24:12 AM »
This player looks and plays very much like Keon Daniel. Same strengths, same weakenesses. Am i alone in thinking this ?

Re: Keon Daniel vs Jonas Guitierez (newcastle)
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 09:52:07 AM »
They're both lanky and left footed...that's about it.

Gutierrez plays at a high tempo going forward and also puts in a good shift getting back....Keon Daniel stops the ball in possession and slows up the play alot.  Daniel is not (yet) the high intensity type of player that JG is....

Daniel has a good shot, and can execute some neat "small goal" type moves in tight spaces.  With some more confidence, experience and development of unused potential, I can see Daniel possibly becoming somewhat of a Charles N'Zogbia type player (smooth execution, soft touch player with good technique...that's if Daniel continues to play out wide)...

JG is more a swashbuckling high impact player to me.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 10:39:32 AM by kicker »

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 09:53:45 AM »
Yup I think you are. Jonas tracks back and he runs more with the ball. Daniel is a stop and beat type of person. Jonas is definitely more of a winger while daniel just has a left foot but is more of Central midfield creative type player, who get stick on the wing. Daniel is more like N'Zogbia than like Jonas.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 10:05:50 AM by spideybuff »

« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2008, 10:04:04 AM »
one is a winger

« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2008, 11:03:59 AM »
Two very different styles.

But under all de old talk..allyuh have to watch how a killa like Eder from Brazil used to move. I eh go lie...allyuh go laugh at me for comparing Daniel to Eder, but them men had very similar attributes. Eder was the atypical winger...no setta speed..didn't beat men to the byline..didn't cross no ball. But nuff closs control, good dribbling, and a wicked left foot and took some deadly free kicks. Don't think the ball ever touch his right foot yet. Only thing is Eder was a better passer and was seen more as a forward than a midfielder. Different class of player at the end of the day..but you'd swear Daniel trying to imitatate the Brazilian legend..

« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 01:17:49 PM by Filho »

« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2008, 06:27:10 PM »
i was honestly looking for some kinna video clip yes..

« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2008, 05:30:53 AM »

Gutierrez plays at a high tempo going forward and also puts in a good shift getting back....Keon Daniel stops the ball in possession and slows up the play alot.  Daniel is not (yet) the high intensity type of player that JG is....

Daniel has a good shot, and can execute some neat "small goal" type moves in tight spaces.  With some more confidence, experience and development of unused potential, I can see Daniel possibly becoming somewhat of a Charles N'Zogbia type player (smooth execution, soft touch player with good technique...that's if Daniel continues to play out wide)...

Spot on Kicker, spot on!!

« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2008, 08:45:49 AM »

Spot on Kicker, spot on!!

great observation

« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2008, 11:56:27 AM »

But under all de old talk..allyuh have to watch how a killa like Eder from Brazil used to move. I eh go lie...allyuh go laugh at me for comparing Daniel to Eder, but them men had very similar attributes. Eder was the atypical winger...no setta speed..didn't beat men to the byline..didn't cross no ball. But nuff closs control, good dribbling, and a wicked left foot and took some deadly free kicks. Don't think the ball ever touch his right foot yet. Only thing is Eder was a better passer and was seen more as a forward than a midfielder. Different class of player at the end of the day..but you'd swear Daniel trying to imitatate the Brazilian legend..

,,,except Eder was an outside of the foot kicker unlike Daniel who is ah inside of the foot leftie. Eder was also willing to take on players , dont sell him short by his not getting to the by line often. Since he kicked the ball with the outside of the left foot he did not have to hit the line as his cross did not come back but went forward.. We have had few playes who were outside of the foot lefties ...keston Nancoo comes to mind. Many of our lefties use the inside of the foot.
on de international scene robert carlos is the obvious first name you would call ..these players are very rare and special. Keon eh dat yet.
If you recall how he scored against Cuba ..he came in from the left  ran around the ball to hit it with the inside of his left foot ..Eder would have not had to do that but just continue naturally with his outside of the left foot shot.
daniel is silky smooth ,, still unsure of himself, but good potential ...he eh hiwever the same type as Eder.

« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2008, 12:39:35 PM »

,,,except Eder was an outside of the foot kicker unlike Daniel who is ah inside of the foot leftie. Eder was also willing to take on players , dont sell him short by his not getting to the by line often. Since he kicked the ball with the outside of the left foot he did not have to hit the line as his cross did not come back but went forward.. We have had few playes who were outside of the foot lefties ...keston Nancoo comes to mind. Many of our lefties use the inside of the foot.
on de international scene robert carlos is the obvious first name you would call ..these players are very rare and special. Keon eh dat yet.
If you recall how he scored against Cuba ..he came in from the left  ran around the ball to hit it with the inside of his left foot ..Eder would have not had to do that but just continue naturally with his outside of the left foot shot.
daniel is silky smooth ,, still unsure of himself, but good potential ...he eh hiwever the same type as Eder.

thanks for the insight. knowledge of Eder is limited to Wc 82 videos. But still, by no means saying they are the same player, or even in the same class, as I wrote. But I still see some similiarities.

« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2008, 02:29:11 PM »
Eder boy Filho! I hope not because that man was a real troubled soul (always in trouble). He had more clubs than Tiger Woods.

Eder's pace was deceptive really because he was technically very sound. He played both striker and wide and I agree he was not traditional. However, it was a different era & wide players did not necessarily play a supporting role when the ball was lost.

Daniel for me should not be out wide, that is just my thought. I think if he is given a role to support the striker & link the midfield with the forward & wide players he will be more effective.

« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2008, 02:39:05 PM »
At times Daniel shows that he could take on players and play a more traditional winger role. I thought he did in the England game especially. It doesn't seem to come natural to him though.

« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2008, 04:01:10 PM »
Daniel for me should not be out wide, that is just my thought. I think if he is given a role to support the striker & link the midfield with the forward & wide players he will be more effective.

BINGO!

Tek fuss, second AND third!

« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2008, 08:20:49 PM »

BINGO!

Tek fuss, second AND third!

i agree wid dat ...I still doh know why he is favoured as a winger when he clearly does not like the role. In the cuba game he was quite willing to post up for edwards to do the attacking down the flank...but I eh seeing him in practice so i kyah fight down de selectors.