General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Sam on May 28, 2007, 08:27:44 AM

Title: What about the Sando POS ferry?
Post by: Sam on May 28, 2007, 08:27:44 AM
Can anyone tell me more about T&T's water taxi's ?

And why build a train line from Diego Martin to Sangre Grande ? wouldn't it be better to the airport instead. Or add one to de airport also....

Where excalty is these train line running, what are all the points/stops.... can anyone tell us more....

Full speed ahead for rail, water taxis.
T&T Express.

Government is resolutely moving towards the controversial rapid rail system, which will stretch from Diego Martin to Sangre Grande and from Port of Spain to San Fernando, Prime Minister Patrick Manning said yesterday.
In fact, Manning confirmed that final negotiations would be completed by the end of June for work on the first phase from Port of Spain to Chaguanas, via Curepe.
Continuing in line with transportation development, he said that infrastructure for the water taxis from Point Fortin to Port of Spain "is now being established" and the expectation is that the service would be in operation by the end of August.
Speaking at the People's National Movement annual Sports and Family Day at the Eddie Hart Grounds in Tacarigua yesterday, Manning rolled out a string of "achievements" by his ruling party over their term in office and a list of developments to come.
"And now the criminals are on the run. What appeared to some to be an intractable problem is now being solved through iron will and careful planning and execution... the murder rate has dropped by more than 40 per cent, kidnappings have almost disappeared and we are pursuing just as vigorously the reduction of all other forms of illegal activity," Manning said.
"We should therefore today congratulate all those in our law enforcement agencies who were able to crack the case of Vindra Naipaul-Coolman and to bring the accused before the courts of Trinidad and Tobago."
Title: Re: Can anyone tell me more about T&T's water taxi's ?
Post by: cocoapanyol on May 28, 2007, 11:54:58 AM
Now I doh have no inside information or details bout dis eh, ah jes explashiating here wid meh opinion but maybe de reason dey building a line from POS to Sando and others is tuh make transportation easier fuh citizens and to then somehow cut dong on de traffic conjestion.  It have people who have tuh wake up all kinda 3 o'clock in de morning tuh travel and get tuh work fuh 8 depending on whey dey living.  Yuh spennin half yuh day in traffic. 

Aside from de traffic and conjestion, it would likely cut dong on de pollution from so much cars on de road in such a small place.  Decrease de gas requirement fuh all dem cars and ease up de ecological system.

Like ah say...ah jes explashiating.  I eh know.  Ah doh have no Ph.D. an ting.  Jes ah supposition on my part.
Post by: TriniCana on May 28, 2007, 12:32:21 PM
according to pecan, I lived a sheltered life, because I've never heard of a water taxi....explain please.

I was taking in the read until I reach "People's National Movement annual Sports and Family Day at the Eddie Hart Grounds in Tacarigua yesterday, Manning rolled out a string of "achievements" by his ruling party over their term in office and a list of developments to come.". I steups and went meh merry way.

Elections must be in the air, so tell dey people what dey want to hear.

steups
Post by: cocoapanyol on May 28, 2007, 01:01:47 PM
according to pecan, I lived a sheltered life, because I've never heard of a water taxi....explain please.

I was taking in the read until I reach "People's National Movement annual Sports and Family Day at the Eddie Hart Grounds in Tacarigua yesterday, Manning rolled out a string of "achievements" by his ruling party over their term in office and a list of developments to come.". I steups and went meh merry way.

steups

Me either but apparently, if ah read de exerpt right, it coming.  Ah wonder if dey go have one tuh Maracas too, so ah do have tuh wait on no drop when ah go home.  ::)
Post by: pecan on May 28, 2007, 02:58:28 PM

steups

dais de ferry dey have running up and down caroni river ...
Post by: TriniCana on May 28, 2007, 05:46:40 PM

steups

pecan you starting to become ah little wotless for meh eh

i like it  ;D
Post by: pecan on May 28, 2007, 06:20:24 PM

steups

i like it  ;D

hear nah .. de still cremating bodies on de banks of de Caroni?
Post by: E-man on May 29, 2007, 12:13:24 PM
http://vision2020.info.tt/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=60&Itemid=60&Itemid=1
Post by: Dutty on May 29, 2007, 07:23:48 PM

You never take ah water taxi off a caribana boat cruise?

Gyirl dat is de greatest use of vex money for any man or woman ever invented.....if yuh man or woman acting up....take ah water taxi...leave dey ass in middle of de lake...dey go be on de boat searchin for yuh whole night

dis time you done hittin ah next fete by de docks

ah time , me and two pardner did take some.......... ...anyway  8)
Post by: TriniCana on May 29, 2007, 07:38:26 PM

You never take ah water taxi off a caribana boat cruise?

Gyirl dat is de greatest use of vex money for any man or woman ever invented.....if yuh man or woman acting up....take ah water taxi...leave dey ass in middle of de lake...dey go be on de boat searchin for yuh whole night

dis time you done hittin ah next fete by de docks

ah time , me and two pardner did take some.......... ...anyway  8)

umm no Dutty ah have had reason nah
but ah cyah even do dat dis year...is ah girls lime

plus my vex money is to buy alexander keiths.....somebody gimma vex nah :devil:
Post by: TriniCana on May 29, 2007, 09:12:23 PM

steups

i like it  ;D

hear nah .. de still cremating bodies on de banks of de Caroni?
yes they do and also mosquito creek....strang thing though, never saw a mosquito dere...

i've been to a couple of cremations on the bank....
a question to the hindu community in the forum please
why during a cemation, the men always step forward and the women are left far behind, even some don't attend the cremation ???

i always wonder about that.

now ah beggin allyuh, if ya doh know, doh assume nah :-\
please and thanks

p.s just cool before you watch meh handle and wonder how i ain't know, well its just ah handle  ;)
Title: What about the Sando POS ferry?
Post by: AB.Trini on January 04, 2008, 02:32:52 PM
Mexico have real good ferry system between Cancun and Isla Mujures; it runs every half an hour. Takes 25-30 minutes for the trip and it cost about 40 pesos.  Very efficient and the size of the ferry well suited for a north south run.

This could ease the congestion on the highways and also be a viable commuter system. A rial system will now have to involve competing with existing modes of transportation for space. The sea is still less congested between south and north.

Paint it red white and black: I traveled it personally and found it very reliable, and very comfortable ride.

http://www.granpuerto.com.mx/isla_mujeres.htm

http://www.travelyucatan.com/isla_mujeres_ferry.php
Title: Re: What about the Sando POS ferry?
Post by: E-man on January 04, 2008, 03:49:01 PM
North – South Water Taxi Service (http://vision2020.info.tt/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=60&Itemid=60&Itemid=1)

Description – A Water Taxi Service will be introduced between key urban centres/towns/industrial estates on the west coast of Trinidad offering commuters a viable alternative transport arrangement. It will be an integral part of Government’s thrust towards catering for an efficient, integrated, multi-modal public transport system. The Service will utilize four (4) high-speed catamarans with a combined capacity of 1,150 passengers. The vessels will be capable of speeds of between 30 to 40 knots, thereby significantly reducing the travel time between North and South Trinidad.

As part of Government’s strategy to reduce traffic congestion, the initial phase of operation will involve an Express Service between Invaders Bay/Sea Lots in Port of Spain and Flat Rock on the San Fernando Waterfront. This is expected to reduce the travel time between these two points by approximately 30 to 45 minutes. When fully operational, the Service will allow commuters to travel by sea from Point Fortin to Carenage, with stops at La Brea, San Fernando, Couva, Chaguanas, and Port of Spain. This Service is expected to facilitate the transport of approximately 8,000 to 12,000 persons in a normal work day, operating between the hours of 5:30 a.m. and 8:30 p.m. It will cater to the entire spectrum of commuters and will be designed to be fully integrated into the existing transport systems as well as the proposed Rapid Rail System when completed.

Estimated Cost – TT 360 million dollars
Executing Agency – National Infrastructure Development Company (NIDCO)
Time Frame for Completion – 2008
Status – Project currently under development
Post by: Tallman on January 04, 2008, 04:40:50 PM
...4 vessels identified for water taxi service
By Julien Neaves (Trinidad Express)

Wednesday, December 5th 2007

THE National Infrastructural Development Company (Nidco) Ltd has identified four suitable vessels for the country's water taxi service and is seeking to acquire proof of ownership before purchase, Transport Minister Colm Imbert said yesterday.

He was speaking with members of the media following the opening of the new Port of Spain Ferry Terminal at the Port of Port of Spain.

He said the vessels were currently in active service in the US state of New Jersey.

Imbert described them as being in good condition, between four and five years old, at an excellent price-US$30 million-and also of a suitable speed and capacity.

The water taxi service from San Fernando to Port of Spain was scheduled to begin at the end of July but was delayed, first to August and then October, due to $98 million infrastructural development necessary for the service being conducted by Nidco, which began in May.

Imbert said yesterday that it would be impossible to provide a date for the start of the water taxi service without the vessels first being acquired.

Imbert noted that if within a week the Ministry could not get proof of ownership it would look elsewhere, though this was not the preferred option.
Post by: dinho on January 05, 2008, 11:20:47 AM
they still ent build the ports and infrastructure to support this yet.. which was initially what was claimed to be holding up the project..

pre-election rhetoric
Post by: Brownsugar on January 09, 2008, 05:08:59 AM
they still ent build the ports and infrastructure to support this yet.. which was initially what was claimed to be holding up the project..

pre-election rhetoric

....and I thought was just me who realise this when I heard the news recently bout de purchase of the vessels....thanks Omar, ah not crazy after all....
Post by: Peong on January 09, 2008, 09:06:58 AM
Why are we buying used boats?
Post by: Bakes on January 09, 2008, 10:04:44 AM
Why are we buying used boats?
Probably because it's more cost-efficient than spending millions extra on new vessels that will only be travelling 20-30 nautical miles a day.
Post by: sinned on October 20, 2008, 12:00:38 PM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161390031

Coming: water taxis for Christmas rush
Louis B Homer South Bureau

Monday, October 20th 2008

Something new for Christmas, the long-awaited water taxi service between Port of Spain and San Fernando.

"Christmas shoppers going into Port of Spain from San Fernando could put the new system on their shopping list," Works Minister Colm Imbert said yesterday.

He explained that the project was not an easy one to complete. "We had several delays and challenges, but I think we have been able to overcome these."

Last week the contractors of the project landed the 400-foot floating pontoon at the San Fernando wharf. The pontoon will be used as a floating jetty for the vessels.

Passengers in Port of Spain will embark on the vessels from the cruise ship jetty, "Until a new jetty is built close to the Breakfast Shed," Imbert said.

He said the $250 million project will help to improve "not only the traffic congestion on the roads between Port of Spain and San Fernando, but it will also enhance the area around the San Fernando wharf, and what is important is the fact that we will achieve our objectives without in anyway interferring with the environment."

He said: "Special arrangements have been made by the Ministry to provide shuttle buses from the San Fernando wharf to the city centre."

A number of buses have been acquired for this purpose, said Imbert.

Speaking about the travelling details, Imbert said: "We are now wrapping up the contracts with operators from the US west coast."

Four boats will be used initially, three of equal sizes that can transport between 150 and 180 passengers and another with a capacity to carry 350 passengers.

He said: "Four other boats have been ordered, but these will take between 12 to 15 months to be delivered, and when the system is in full operation there will be a total of eight boats in operation. We expect these to move some 900 people daily at a cost of $15 per single trip, which will take approximately 45 minutes between both ports."

He said his ministry was looking at the possibility of reduced fares for children attending schools, "but no decision has yet been made".

Imbert said the ministry was also looking at the expansion of the service to include Diego Martin, Chaguanas, Couva, La Brea and Point Fortin.

He said security arrangements on the vessels will be similar to what obtains on the boats that ply between Trinidad and Tobago.

Asked what percentage of the crew would be Trinidadians, Imbert said "On the larger boats the captain, first officer and engineer will be foreigners, and the rest of the crew will be locals."

He said accommodation on the water taxi will be similar to a plane. "It will be even more sophisticated than what obtains in New York," Imbert said.

So I finally see an update on this. I'm anxious to see how effective this system would be

Post by: weary1969 on October 20, 2008, 01:01:41 PM
We go c if is Xmas 09 they meant
Post by: TriniCana on October 20, 2008, 07:44:10 PM
more reason for meh to come home for christmas.....juss to ride in one  ;D

Meh Qs

Whats dey fare with them water boats from Sando to POS ???
How much boats they have to accomodate all these people ?
What are dey schedules like ?
PTSC bus is how much also (same route) ???
Car Taxis ???
Time frame ? And when the boat drop you off, what happens next ? Ya walking to work/home OR taxi-ing to work/home ?

Christmas is 1.5 months away. I would have thought by now, some sort of scheduling would be placed the newspapers by now, so people would prepare themselves.

Last minute ting again ???

Post by: Bakes on October 20, 2008, 10:27:31 PM

Meh Qs

Car Taxis ???
Time frame ? And when the boat drop you off, what happens next ? Ya walking to work/home OR taxi-ing to work/home ?

Christmas is 1.5 months away. I would have thought by now, some sort of scheduling would be placed the newspapers by now, so people would prepare themselves.

Fare is $15 TT they say.

Right now they have four boats... 3 w/ capacity for 150 ppl each... one for 350.  Four more on the way but the article didn't address the capacity for those.
Post by: WestCoast on October 21, 2008, 09:37:20 AM
shims man...now ah set a vagabonds from south of caroni go be invading P-O-S :devil:
Post by: Jumbie on October 21, 2008, 10:04:47 AM

Meh Qs

Car Taxis ???

I'll add a Q..

dey get rid of them pipers from dong the wharf yet? Not an overly friendly place to get dropped off when coming south or even catching the ferry service down there.

in days gone by that place was ah regular for drunk fishermen smelling like the catch they had 4 fullmoon ago, bad-ting and pipers.

Post by: TriniCana on October 21, 2008, 05:56:11 PM

Meh Qs

Car Taxis ???

I'll add a Q..

dey get rid of them pipers from dong the wharf yet? Not an overly friendly place to get dropped off when coming south or even catching the ferry service down there.

in days gone by that place was ah regular for drunk fishermen smelling like the catch they had 4 fullmoon ago, bad-ting and pipers.

so damn right, actually meh mind ran on dat same ting lass night...
talk talk talk talk.....i'll wait to see some action where those boats are concerned.  what about when 6 pm reach and dey place pitch black, especially in dat area ain't safe ah tall. doh come an say security and extra police eh, cause dey ain't have NONE.  fen for yaself oui

15$ uhmm 30$ return.
so dat is 600$ ah month. hopefully that is for adults and not school children pappa.

Actually dat ain't sounding bad from ah workman's prespective. ya home at ah reasonable time i guess.
If dey decide to move ah maxi taxi stand by dey Sando wharf and one by POS wharf, tings go be nice.

plus dey building dat high ugly suicide flyover ting by Nestle which suppose to help ease the traffic from POS to South.
So come next year, we will see how dey traffic ease up or not. How much more foreign used cars end up on the roads again.

Wasting money. All they had to do was to ban all foreign used dealerships.  datz all
Title: Water Taxi sails today...100 passengers expected
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2008, 07:24:54 AM
Water Taxi sails today...100 passengers expected
By Louis Homer (T&T Express)

The first trial run of the long-awaited water-taxi service from Port of Spain to San Fernando will take place today, with some 100 passengers expected to board the ferry at the San Fernando jetty.

The passengers will comprise employees of the National Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco) and the Ministry of Works, who will travel by bus to San Fernando and are expected to board one of the vessels at 2 p.m. for the trip to Port of Spain.

The Ministry of Works was yesterday said to be working feverishly to meet the targeted deadline of December 18, when the service is expected to go into full commercial mode.

Yesterday, Works Minister Colm Imbert said if the service were not yet available on that date, an inaugural non-commercial trip would take place to commemorate the first sailing of a steamer, the SS Woodford, that sailed on December 18, 1818, from Port of Spain to San Fernando.

Currently, three of the vessels-foreign-used ferries from France-that would service the water-taxi system are at Chaguaramas, with the fourth, docked in Curacao for refurbishment works, expected to arrive in T&T on December 15.

Earlier in the year, Imbert had said the four ferries cost US$30 million, working out to US$7.5 million each.

The fast ferries for use between Port of Spain and Scarborough cost between US$20 million and US$40 million each.

When in full operation, four boats will be in service for the water-taxi service, Imbert told the Sunday Express yesterday, adding too, that the names selected for the boats-Humming Bird, Chaconia, Scarlet Ibis and Cocorico-were likely to change to those of exotic fish.

The water-taxi service would allow members of the public the option to travel from San Fernando to Port of Spain via the Gulf of Paria and get away from North-South road traffic congestion.

The proposed fare for the service from San Fernando to Port of Spain is $15 one-way, which is $2 higher than the current $13 taxi fare, $7 higher than the current $8 maxi-taxi fare and $9 higher than the current PTSC bus fare on the same route.

The planned docking station for the water-taxi in San Fernando is at Flatrock, King's Wharf, while in Port of Spain, the ferries are expected to dock near the Breakfast Shed on the Port of Spain Waterfront.

The water-taxi, which would hold 150 passengers, is expected to cut travel time to between 35 minutes and 40 minutes, compared with two to three hours on the road.
Post by: weary1969 on December 07, 2008, 12:44:05 PM
If dey ban foreign use dealers I woulda b walkin
Post by: Brownsugar on December 07, 2008, 02:43:52 PM
I'm not familar with the Sando Wharf, but when folks reach POS where dey supposed to get from the port to across the street and into POS proper?

I'm asking because if you ever took the ferry to and from Tobago, you'd find that you have to fight up with that Wrightson Road traffic to get from the Port crossing the street into POS.....
Ah wonder how much thought they put into something like that??

Post by: weary1969 on December 07, 2008, 06:09:11 PM
No thought I am sure
Post by: Bitter on December 08, 2008, 04:18:39 PM
1-HOUR TRIP
Water-taxi dry-run brings hope for commuters

Louis Homer South Bureau
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161410535
Monday, December 8th 2008

smooth sailing: One of the water-taxis returns to King's Wharf, San Fernando, following its first test-run to Port of Spain yesterday. Inset: Passengers prepare to board the water-taxi in San Fernando. -Photos: Stephen Doobay

A dream became a reality yesterday as one of the long awaited water-taxis made its first trial run from San Fernando to Port of Spain in one hour's time.

On board the water-taxi were 125 non-paying passengers, mostly employees of the National Infrastructure Development Corporation (Nidco), who travelled on the taxi on its trial run to Port of Spain.

Among those on board were Telly Paul, chairman of the Public Transport Service Corporation, and senior officials of Nidco.

The media were not allowed to travel on the boat on the trial run, but were allowed to take pictures while the water-taxi bearing the temporary name Port of Spain was docked alongside the temporary jetty at King's Wharf, San Fernando.

Paul described the event as "fantastic".

"It is a dream come true. When the service goes into commercial operation it will certainly help in dealing with some of the traffic congestion on the road," he said.

If the service is run efficiently, it will indeed bring some hope to commuters and drivers who face the daily grind on the nation's roads from San Fernando every day. A journey from San Fernando to Port of Spain during the peak periods usually takes two hours on average. In the off-peak period the journey takes half an hour less.

From as early as 10 a.m. yesterday hundreds of curious San Fernandians, alerted to the event by an exclusive Sunday Express story yesterday, had lined the entrance to the berthing facilities to get a glimpse of the water-taxi. San Fernandians were taken by surprise that no formal announcement was made about the trial run, but said they were able to rush down to see the inaugural dry run because of the Express report.

Celia Johnson, of San Fernando, said she was happy that at long last something new had come to Trinidad to assist in the road traffic problems. Disappointed though that she was not allowed to be among those who did the test run, she said, "I waiting to be one of the first passengers on the first commercial trip."

As the boat left the jetty, the passengers applauded loudly while others walked up and down the aisle to get a "feel of the facilities".

One woman said, "It feels as if I am in an aircraft."

Throughout the trip, the boat sailed smoothly along the choppy waters. For almost half of the trip, the skyline along the Gulf of Paria was also visible.

Several people sat close to the windows pointing out the seaside areas as the boat went along.

The heavy overcast skies and the threat of a rainstorm in no way hindered the performance of the boat.

At one point during the trip, the captain, Lysle Bailey, invited the passengers sitting on the back seats to move forward so that he could determine the true performance of the boat.

The majority of passengers for yesterday's trip had come from Port of Spain in four PTSC buses.

An official of Nidco said, "The seating capacity of the boat was 150, but one of the other boats that will be in operation when the commercial service begins will have accommodation for 300 passengers."

He said there are three boats of similar size that are moored at Chaguaramas, "and another will arrive from Curacao by the 15th of December".

Works Minister Colm Imbert, who was not present on the trial run, said earlier that the Ministry of Works and Nidco were working feverishly to begin commercial trips by December 18.

"If that is not possible, I will make every effort to have the inaugural service carried out on December 18, which will be the exact date 190 years ago when a steamer service between Port of Spain and San Fernando started by using the SS Woodford."

Kevin Reid, who represented San Fernando Mayor, Kenneth Ferguson, said, "I enjoyed the trip. The system will make a difference in travelling to Port of Spain."

Ashley Gill. a retired oilfield employee. said, "This was the best thing for Trinidad. I will be using the facility instead of travelling by car."

He said from his observation, "It is safe, comfortable and I can see the television and get all the news as I travel on the boat."
Post by: Bitter on January 30, 2009, 02:58:36 PM
From Keith in Trinidad
http://keithintrinidad.blogspot.com/2009/01/water-taxi-tips.html

Tuesday, January 27, 2009
Water Taxi Tips

Having travelled on the service for a bit and in response to questions posed on and offline, I offer the following tidbits.

Post by: E-man on January 30, 2009, 04:25:39 PM
Any announcement of special service during Carnival weekend?
Title: Inter-city ferries for Trinidad
Post by: trinindian on September 16, 2009, 05:53:54 AM
Inter-city ferries for Trinidad (http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2009/09/090915_nibsep15pm.shtml)
An Australian company, Austral, has announced that it has been awarded a contract to build four high speed ferries for the government of Trinidad and Tobago.

The shipbuilding contract is said to be worth AUD$75 million (US$64m).

The company said in a statement that the 41-metre vessels will be used as water taxis between the southern Trinidadian town of San Fernando and the capital Port of Spain.

They are intended to ease road congestion and designed to carry 405 passengers at a speed of 37 knots.

Austal is also building six fast patrol craft for the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard, due for delivery in 2010, as are the ferries.

Has the existing ferry service been successful to justify this kind of expenditure?
Title: Re: Inter-city ferries for Trinidad
Post by: chinee boi on September 16, 2009, 06:01:23 AM
the way T&T spending yuh swear the oil business booming again!  I feel I hadda leave this cold country and come back and wok home!
Post by: grimm01 on September 16, 2009, 07:06:36 AM
What I doh understand is why the government feel the need to spend money on this??? Why not open it up to private enterprise? Gov't should set and enforce the safety rules and let the entrepreneurs do the rest.

What is with us and this perpetual expectation/reliance on the gov't to do everything?

Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 16, 2009, 07:19:34 AM
What I doh understand is why the government feel the need to spend money on this???

Well how else yuh expect dem to thief money...aint dey have to show some form of accountability....ah couple invoice and ah little payoff here and there....den bradam.....yuh might find out 10 years from now....certain parties migrated to Australia.... ;D   

We like it so........doe study it
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 16, 2009, 08:45:42 AM
could here them maxi men complainin ah ready.they will lose some good cheddar.
Post by: pass(10trini) on September 16, 2009, 08:51:51 AM
What I doh understand is why the government feel the need to spend money on this???

Well how else yuh expect dem to thief money...aint dey have to show some form of accountability....ah couple invoice and ah little payoff here and there....den bradam.....yuh might find out 10 years from now....certain parties migrated to Australia.... ;D   

We like it so........doe study it

Doh worry Panday not dey to geh the money.
Post by: Bitter on September 16, 2009, 08:58:21 AM
The Gov't has a duty to ensure that T&T runs in a way that allows it's citizens to operate freely.
This means that issues that are bigger than any narrow sector of the population need to be addressed.

# Establish justice.
# Ensure Public Safety (Fail!).
# Provide for common defense.
# Promote general welfare.

If no private party can step up to provide a service, the Gov't may deem it necessary to intervene.

The water taxi service falls under the same planning as the overpass. - Providing better transportation infrastructure. Any complaints about why there is a ferry to Tobago?

What would your proposal be to a private group about returns on their investment.

hmm, let's see, first we build 2 terminals and provide at least 2 boats at a cost of $400mTT each.
The we recoup our investment by...??

The water taxis are actually an elegant solution to a serious problem. There are only so many roads that can be built. Transporting people in a more efficient manner will ease congestion and benefit all.

A better long-term solution would be to de-centralize, so that there is no need for so many people to travel to POS and environs every day.
Post by: Peong on September 16, 2009, 09:09:44 AM
A better long-term solution would be to de-centralize, so that there is no need for so many people to travel to POS and environs every day.

Yeh Fedup of all dem outta-towners crowdin up meh city.

The taxi drivers will be able to make more trips with less congestion on the road, so I think they should be ok.
Post by: grimm01 on September 16, 2009, 10:10:09 AM
The Gov't has a duty to ensure that T&T runs in a way that allows it's citizens to operate freely.
This means that issues that are bigger than any narrow sector of the population need to be addressed.

# Establish justice.
# Ensure Public Safety (Fail!).
# Provide for common defense.
# Promote general welfare.

If no private party can step up to provide a service, the Gov't may deem it necessary to intervene.

The water taxi service falls under the same planning as the overpass. - Providing better transportation infrastructure. Any complaints about why there is a ferry to Tobago?

What would your proposal be to a private group about returns on their investment.

hmm, let's see, first we build 2 terminals and provide at least 2 boats at a cost of $400mTT each.
The we recoup our investment by...??

The water taxis are actually an elegant solution to a serious problem. There are only so many roads that can be built. Transporting people in a more efficient manner will ease congestion and benefit all.

I agree that the gov't has a duty to the people. I think a gov't has the responsibility to ensure that it's citizens are safe, healthy and educated. Now they can do that by direct intervention and ownership of services or through the creation of laws that allow others to perform those critical.

I understand that T&T is a small country and sometimes the gov't has to take a more direct role in industry & business that in larger more developed countries but can't something like this be opened up to private enterprises that can probably run it cheaper and more efficiently that the gov't.

To your point about gov't intervention if no one steps up: Was this service ever opened up to bids from the business community? Did the gov't ever sell licenses to operate the service?  Was there ever a private operation in place? I asking because I don't know, not to be belligerent.

Entrepreneurs are a smart bunch and I am sure can creatively create a service with little gov't input. Like I said the gov't can set the rules for safety, maintenance and let the free market dictate price and levels of service. Better yet, if money buring a hole in Manning pants, the gov't could build the terminals on either end because they own the land, and lease space to operators and vendors (like at City Gate) or take a tax on tickets, something...

We shouldn't always have to wait on the gov't and the gov't shouldn't always feel like they need to step in.
Post by: Bitter on September 16, 2009, 11:42:34 AM
I hear you,
My point is this. If there were a business opportunity, then one of these smart entrepreneurs would have stepped up long ago and run a service.  regardless of the level of Gov't involvement. If no private party sees value in investing $400m + in this service, the terminal would sit empty, and then we'd be talking about yet another white elephant project by the Gov't.

I agree that in many cases , the Gov't does not need to be involved, but in this case, I think they are the only party who has the resources to execute this project.

Note that the Staten Island Ferry is operated by the NY Department of Transportation.

I would like to know more about the history of ferry service in T&T myself.
Post by: Bakes on September 16, 2009, 02:20:48 PM
Nothing wrong with government taking point on providing certain essential services.  An initiative like this which likely would yield the most rewards for poorer people (who don't have car and have to rely on public transportation) shouldn't be left to the whims of capitalism.  Whatever advantages projected in efficiency could easily be erased by expense to the travelling public and likely government would then have to step in anyways with subsidies.  You best believe that if there was a viable private sector market for these services one ah dem syrian woulda done lap up de opportunity already.

Besides... government has always heavily regulated (and even controlled) public transportation.
Post by: mukumsplau on September 17, 2009, 03:21:12 AM
it hav entrepreneurs wit dat kinda money?...well i guess syrians are entrepreneurs too
Post by: lefty on September 17, 2009, 05:59:04 AM
well considering that d service at present is ah big hit, (d 5:45 to POS does be full to capacity every day since school open), larger boats might not be a bad idea on d off peek periods though ???
Post by: Babalawo on September 17, 2009, 09:40:14 AM
any info on the models and make of these ferries?
Post by: Tallman on September 18, 2009, 11:22:31 AM
I use de water taxi yesterday from Sando to town, and everything went smoothly. It left on time, de staff was courteous, de boat was clean, and everything was handled professionally.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 18, 2009, 12:08:33 PM
I heard its full a peak hours....but its main selling point was it would reduce traffic on the roads.  That hasn't happened yet....why?
Post by: Dutty on September 18, 2009, 03:46:31 PM
I heard its full a peak hours....but its main selling point was it would reduce traffic on the roads.  That hasn't happened yet....why?

does the government promote it/advertise it in any form??

It does be hard to get people out of the comfort zone of their cars...far more get them into what is probably perceived as a just a loud maxi on de water
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on September 18, 2009, 03:54:17 PM
dutty pple still fraid the ting...i hear nuff pple say they rather break down on de road in a bus than on de water...hear nah that water taxi is de bess...i took it a couple times when i was home and no complaints!
the schedule is even online for u to check every week...i believe it is also in de papers often
Post by: Dutty on September 18, 2009, 04:31:02 PM
dutty pple still fraid the ting...i hear nuff pple say they rather break down on de road in a bus

ah had ah feelin so....i sure all kinda drownin and big shark talk does pass in de mix too
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 04:53:18 PM
I use de water taxi yesterday from Sando to town, and everything went smoothly. It left on time, de staff was courteous, de boat was clean, and everything was handled professionally.

So I take it in yuh in TNT
Post by: Tallman on September 18, 2009, 04:58:39 PM

Ah leave ahready. Ah was jes there for ah day.
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 05:44:42 PM

Ah leave ahready. Ah was jes there for ah day.

AA 1818 is yuh bus service.
Post by: Brownsugar on September 18, 2009, 06:40:22 PM
dutty pple still fraid the ting...i hear nuff pple say they rather break down on de road in a bus than on de water...hear nah that water taxi is de bess...i took it a couple times when i was home and no complaints!
the schedule is even online for u to check every week...i believe it is also in de papers often

I have a friend from South who told me the same thing....steups....if I was living in the South, I would use if for sure....only thing is, when ah reach POS and ah want mih car to go do stuff.....then hhhhmmmmmmm ah guess that's why mih South co-workers doh use it.....ALL of them still drive..... :-\ :-\

I feel I going to take it one day and go South just to experience it for mih self....
Post by: weary1969 on September 18, 2009, 07:45:27 PM

I feel I going to take it one day and go South just to experience it for mih self....
[/quote]

Cosign
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on September 19, 2009, 01:25:11 AM
for de drinkers nuttin better than a monday morning yuh jus get up get a drop to the water taxi and yuh driven down south...nuff times sunday evening i happy not to drive an let my frenz make de idiot drive south...monday morn i wake up and get on de taxi and i good to go.
Post by: Babalawo on September 19, 2009, 12:35:15 PM
dutty pple still fraid the ting...i hear nuff pple say they rather break down on de road in a bus

ah had ah feelin so....i sure all kinda drownin and big shark talk does pass in de mix too
man people does be fraid to take a plane to america so this rell easy to believe with them small minded for small island people
Post by: Trini1 on September 21, 2009, 09:07:25 AM
any info on the models and make of these ferries?

you can look here:
http://www.austal.com/index.cfm?objectid=B5DF1BD8-65BF-EBC1-2760EC4290B67616 (http://www.austal.com/index.cfm?objectid=B5DF1BD8-65BF-EBC1-2760EC4290B67616)
Post by: Organic on September 21, 2009, 12:50:01 PM
Nothing wrong with government taking point on providing certain essential services.  An initiative like this which likely would yield the most rewards for poorer people (who don't have car and have to rely on public transportation) shouldn't be left to the whims of capitalism.  Whatever advantages projected in efficiency could easily be erased by expense to the travelling public and likely government would then have to step in anyways with subsidies.  You best believe that if there was a viable private sector market for these services one ah dem syrian woulda done lap up de opportunity already.

Besides... government has always heavily regulated (and even controlled) public transportation.
the thing is with the service..is not only the pooer people with out cars taking it. Many more affluent citizens use the service on a daily basis. then are ither picked up in front or ride the buss to various drop points.
Post by: Bakes on September 22, 2009, 12:02:29 AM
the thing is with the service..is not only the pooer people with out cars taking it. Many more affluent citizens use the service on a daily basis. then are ither picked up in front or ride the buss to various drop points.

Nutten wrong with dat... I still see that as a net gain.  For every person, affluent or not, who has a car and opts to ride the ferries instead, that's one less car on the road.  "Big deal" you say... true one car may or may not make a difference, but if others follow the example then less cars are a good thing as that means less gas being burned, less fuel carbons released into the atmosphere, and most tangibly, less congestion on the roads.  This last point I believe is the central thrust behind the alternative transportation initiative.

My point with the 'poor people' comment though was that this is the demographic that would benefit the most from it.  If a few outside of that demographic benefit as well then is small thing... but government should properly act to ease the burden on poor people whenever possible.
Post by: capodetutticapi on September 22, 2009, 06:57:20 AM

Nutten wrong with dat... I still see that as a net gain.  For every person, affluent or not, who has a car and opts to ride the ferries instead, that's one less car on the road.  "Big deal" you say... true one car may or may not make a difference, but if others follow the example then less cars are a good thing as that means less gas being burned, less fuel carbons released into the atmosphere, and most tangibly, less congestion on the roads.  This last point I believe is the central thrust behind the alternative transportation initiative.

My point with the 'poor people' comment though was that this is the demographic that would benefit the most from it.  If a few outside of that demographic benefit as well then is small thing... but government should properly act to ease the burden on poor people whenever possible.
from what i hear in trini,is that too much cars on de road.congestion at every damn major intersection.
Post by: Organic on September 22, 2009, 03:36:02 PM

yup!!!