May 20, 2024, 05:13:18 AM

Author Topic: Sparrow or Kitchener??  (Read 2484 times)

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Sparrow or Kitchener??
« on: March 25, 2007, 03:06:47 PM »
 ;D Allyuh ah jus trying to create ah lil bachannal  ;D...Two great calypsonians..and two men who were trendsetters for de rest ah we T&T performers.....Now between The Mighty Sparrow and The Lord Kitchener who is more of YOUR favorite artist?...and WHY?....Which one would sell more tickets if they were both performing on the same day, at the same time...at different venues Trinidad?
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: Sparrow or Kitchener??
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2007, 03:09:06 PM »
Personal favorite is Kitchener. Love the way his music made steelband talk...that sweetness is missing from the pan music we're getting now.

but admitedly, Sparrow would sell out..

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2007, 03:10:01 PM »
..and ah know Kitchener dead.....so just use allyuh imagination
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2007, 03:11:32 PM »
..is a seance/concert

dey tired tell we de Birdie dead too..

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2007, 03:14:59 PM »
I have always loved the Mighty Sparrow
His ability to be a fantastic wordsmith in English and other languages fascinated me from young.
And some of his french used to drive my step mother crazy  ;D ;D ;D ;D
occasionally Lord Kitchener would grab my attention with a tune of his.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2007, 03:19:01 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2007, 04:09:45 PM »
i wud have tuh go wid smut smut and more smut ;D de mighty sparrow cud edge it fuh me

congo man...ah say ah neva neva neva neva ah say ah neva neva neva neva  :devil:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2007, 04:11:17 PM »
Kitch...

God is de BOSS...

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2007, 04:37:45 PM »
That is a tough one.  I like both but I think that Sparrow would sell out first and I would pick Sparrow concert if I had no other choice. While they are both good in their own ways, Sparrow music, especially his early days, Jean & Dinah, Congo Man... those ones...his mastery of word play.  It has crossed generations.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2007, 05:29:17 PM »
Ah go park mae PP any way any place wid mae big fat bamboo round mae wase yes the wrecker go cum and dem woman go geh ah tase.

« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2007, 05:56:14 PM »
who used to sing that tune wid "Blood an Sand" in it??
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2007, 01:27:40 PM »
show fuh show ...even with both in dey prime

ah tink sparrow go take it..he more versatile

he could switch from raw slackness to frank sinatra ballads and back in a blink

« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2007, 01:30:30 PM »
depends ONWHAT U LOOKIGN FOR.
if u want the best pan tune u coudl hope to have u hadda check kitchy.
if u want to hear ah man sing lakaray with ah sweet sweet voice u hadda check sparrow
i would pay to see both. if ah ahd to chose maybe sparrow
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2007, 02:22:39 PM »
Given the parameters you set up dey and ah cud only go one show, ah go hadda go the Birdie show. Seen both live, they were both GREAT kaisoians but Sparrow for me.

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2007, 03:10:35 PM »
Oh Gosh we know Kitchener was the man for pan...but dont think he was not also great in other aspects of Calypso...so allyuh be careful when allyuh say Kitchener was jus the man for pan

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2007, 04:21:18 PM »
so did I dream those "Blood and Sand" lyrics or nobody else remember them?

anyway Problemjaydeess, as per your signature, lets go with
"King of Canaan" ;)

« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 04:25:12 PM by WestCoast »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2007, 04:42:14 PM »
so did I dream those "Blood and Sand" lyrics or nobody else remember them?

anyway Problemjaydeess, as per your signature, lets go with
"King of Canaan" ;)

WC ..yuh need tuh provide ah few more words.  Blood and sand not enough.  It not ringing no bell wid meh.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2007, 08:02:02 PM »
Kitch...

God is de BOSS...

second that. :beermug: :beermug: