Sports => Football => Topic started by: fivers on January 02, 2007, 11:59:50 AM

Title: Carlos signs with Sunderland FC.
Post by: fivers on January 02, 2007, 11:59:50 AM
Carlos signs with Sunderland.
.... Dwight behind move.
By: Shawn Fuentes (TTFF Media).

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Carlos Edwards has set his sights on guiding new club Sunderland to Premiership promotion after signing a new three-year contract with the club on Tuesday valued at £1.5m.
Coincidentally, the 28-year-old Edwards now joins National team captain Dwight Yorke at the club who was instrumental in getting Roy Keane to sign the former Defence Force playmaker. And Edwards’ deal has the biggest value for a T&T international since Yorke’s £12.6m move to Manchester United in 1998.
"We're absolutely delighted to have captured such a sought-after, top player," said Black Cats boss Keane.
"A lot of clubs have been interested in Carlos, so it's great that he will be here at Sunderland to play his part in getting this club back to the Premiership."
Edwards became the first Luton player since Mal Donaghy in 1982 to represent his county in the World Cup finals last summer and his impressive performances for Trinidad and Tobago linked him with a move away from Kenilworth Road.
A beaming Edwards expressed satisfaction with his new move moments after leaving Sunderland’s Stadium of Light where he signed his contract on Tuesday. He moved to a club now 10th on the Championship Table from Luton which is now in 19th spot.
“I’m actually just driving back home after signing the deal. I didn’t expect the news to be out already,” Edwards laughed as he spoke to TTFF Media when being told it had already grabbed front page headlines on the BBC official site.
Edwards spoke of Yorke’s influence and the fact he chose to be part of Sunderland’s promotion drive rather than sign with a Premiership club.
“I must say it is something I wanted to do which is to sign a contract like this. Dwight had a big part to do with it. He called me up and the manager inquired and then the deal materialized. Dwight spoke highly about the club and about the role I could play in helping them back into the Premiership. And I saw it all for myself when I visited the club today… the facility is fantastic,” Edwards told TTFF Media.
“It’s a dream come true really and now being part of the club I am hoping for better things because we will be pushing for promotion. We are only three points off the playoffs and hopefully I can do my part now as a new signing.”
Edwards added that he was sure his presence and performance at the 2006 World Cup played a part in this move.
“Teams don’t sign you unless they feel you have something special and can add it to the club. And Roy Keane may have seen something and I’m glad it came through.
“Being at the World Cup definitely has played a part in this. There is going to be interest in any player who has been at the World Cup regardless of the height of the club. It takes quality players to play in a World Cup and unfortunately more of our players didn’t make moves as well. The guys now need to continue working and try to emulate players like myself who have moved on through hard work. I crept before I walked – from back home to Wrexham to Luton and now to Sunderland,” Edwards added.
And about the fact that Premiership clubs Newcastle United, Watford, Charlton Athletic and Scotland’s Celtic also showed interest, Edwards promptly stated “This is what most people will talk about. They will think it’s a bad decision if they see it as giving up a chance to play on the bigger stage. I know money has a lot to play in football. I love to play football and I didn’t want to sign a multi-million dollar contract to maybe sit on the bench. I have a talent and I need to be playing. I will cherish this deal and hopefully take into the Premiership. It’s a challenge but I am positive that during my contract here we will end up in the Premiership,” Edwards ended. He is expected to make his debut for Sunderland in Saturday’s FA Cup fixture away to Preston North End.
Edwards signed for Luton in May 2005 from Wrexham after attracting interest from Mike Newell for some time - the Hatters boss originally tried to sign the 28-year-old during his time as Hartlepool manager.
He spent five seasons at Wrexham after signing from Trinidad side Defence Force in June 2000 for £125,000, helping the Red Dragons win the LDV Vans trophy in 2005.
Edwards: My debt to Fergie.
By: James Hunter (Evening Chronicle).

Carlos Edwards has revealed he owes Sir Alex Ferguson a favour for recommending him to Sunderland boss Roy Keane. Trinidad and Tobago international Edwards joined Sunderland earlier this month in a £1.5m switch from Luton Town.
The fact Edwards spoke to Sunderland's Dwight Yorke, who plays alongside him at international level, about the move before agreeing to sign is no secret - but Ferguson's role in the deal is less well known.
Before signing him, Keane spoke to Ferguson and the Manchester United chief had no hesitation in singing Edwards' praises.
Fergie knew all about Edwards after seeing him several times when the winger was a team-mate of his son Darren at Wrexham.
Edwards said: "I was amazed when I heard Sir Alex had recommended me to Roy Keane - it is very flattering.
"I played alongside his son Darren for five years at Wrexham and I knew he came to watch us a few times.
"I remember meeting him once when he came into the dressing room at the end of a match.
"For someone like Sir Alex to speak to the gaffer and tell him good things about me is just fantastic."
Edwards moved from Wrexham to Luton in the summer of 2005 and enjoyed his time at Kenilworth Road - but admits he was looking to move his career forward and jumped at the chance to move to Sunderland.
He added: "I am not the type to be linked with a lot of clubs and then be asking for a move.
"I just concentrated on my football and when the chance came to join a big club like Sunderland I knew it was right for me."
Edwards made his Black Cats debut in the FA Cup defeat at Preston and then made his first start, and home debut, in the win against Ipswich last weekend.
The Wearsiders are only a point outside the play-off places and go to Sheffield Wednesday this weekend looking to increase the pressure on the clubs above them.
Edwards said: "There are going to be more than 6,000 Sunderland fans there. We will all be doing our best to give them something to smile about."
Keane refused to comment today on reports linking him with Plymouth centre-half Tony Capaldi, Colchester stopper Greg Halford and Man United's Alan Smith. He was also tight-lipped on claims Birmingham City are interested in signing Republic of Ireland striker Stephen Elliott.
Title: Re: Carlos signs with Sunderland FC
Post by: DeSoWa on January 02, 2007, 12:03:36 PM
I wish Carlos all the best!! not sure if it was a good move, but that is not for me to judge.

Post by: chinee boi on January 02, 2007, 12:04:46 PM
I wish Carlos all the best!! not sure if it was a good move, but that is not for me to judge.

feel the same way but sah wah...yuh say it right not we to judge

Congrats Carlos!!!!
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 02, 2007, 12:05:16 PM
Big up Carlos, ah tell alyu dat shot call long time.  I wish Sunderland and Carlos all de best :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Andre on January 02, 2007, 12:06:43 PM
"the yorke effect"

sunderland making a playoff push right now. a bit inconsistent at times though.

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11371

Cats swoop for winger Edwards

By Martin Walker

Sunderland have completed the signing of exciting Trinidad and Tobago international Carlos Edwards in a £1.5m deal.

The tricky right winger has joined the Black Cats from Luton, signing a three-and-a-half-year deal at the Stadium of Light, to complete a hectic day of transfers on Wearside tonight.

The signing follows Marton Fulop's completed permanent deal from Tottenham, while Ben Alnwick (Tottenham), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Rory Delap (Stoke) and Robbie Elliott (Leeds) all left the club today.

Edwards is an international team-mate of Dwight Yorke and the 28-year-old starred in last summer's World Cup finals.

"We're absolutely delighted to have captured such a sought-after, top player," said Black Cats boss Roy Keane.

"A lot of clubs have been interested in Carlos, so it's great that he will be here at Sunderland to play his part in getting this club back to the Premiership."

Edwards became the first Luton player since Mal Donaghy in 1982 to represent his county in the World Cup finals last summer and his impressive performances for Trinidad and Tobago linked him with a move away from Kenilworth Road.

The midfielder played a key role in helping T&T secure their first-ever appearance in the finals of the tournament.

He gave a man-of-the-match performance in the country's opening game against Sweden and also impressed against England and Paraguay - and his displays in the tournament were considered a bright spot in T&T's tournament.

Edwards signed for Luton in May 2005 from Wrexham after attracting interest from Mike Newell for some time - the Hatters boss originally tried to sign the 28-year-old during his time as Hartlepool manager.

He spent five seasons at Wrexham after signing from Trinidad side Defence Force in June 2000 for £125,000, helping the Red Dragons win the LDV Vans trophy in 2005.

Carlos Edwards - The RecordBorn   
Port of Spain, Trinidad, 24.10.78 (28)
Nationality   Trinidad and Tobago (57 caps, 1 goal)
Position   Right midfield
Height   5ft 11ins (180cm)
Weight   11st 7lbs (73kg)

League and Cup    Apps    Goals
 Defence Force, Trinidad (1999-00)    Not available    Not available
 Wrexham (2000-05)      180    25
 Luton Town (2005-07)     74    8
 TOTAL    254    33
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 02, 2007, 12:07:36 PM
u hadda b joking with me, what ah stupid move by edwards, yorke shoudlnt have persuaded him tuh do that, schupsssssssss....

Man give up epl and celtic for sunderland, real stupid move if yuh ask me..

God is de BOSS...
Post by: lickslikefire on January 02, 2007, 12:09:30 PM
Lawd I wanted to see him in de EPL bad...maybe next year  ;D

Congrats Carlos  :beermug:
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 02, 2007, 12:15:25 PM

Doh worry he go make it to de EPL and den we go see yorke and carlos in de lineup
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 02, 2007, 12:16:15 PM
boss i cyar believe this  but i wish him the best
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 02, 2007, 12:16:42 PM

Doh worry he go make it to de EPL and den we go see yorke and carlos in de lineup

dem eh making that this season
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 02, 2007, 12:17:37 PM

dem eh making that this season

True but it go happen :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Quags on January 02, 2007, 12:19:27 PM
Steuppsssssssssssss
Post by: royal on January 02, 2007, 12:23:12 PM
Who said the decision was his ? Was'nt he under contract with Luton ?Sometimes de manager does call you into his office and say you've just been sold.
Title: Re: Carlos signs with Sunderland FC.
Post by: RGarcia on January 02, 2007, 12:43:35 PM
Remember the $$$$ talk too. its all a business
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 02, 2007, 12:46:33 PM
Remember the $$$$ talk too. its all a business

Exactly, but I also think dat carlos was thinking dat he go get de experience from being under Yorke and Keane too IMO
Post by: Trini Madness on January 02, 2007, 12:59:52 PM
congrats carlos......sunderland should go after birchy and john also  ::) im not liking that 1 trini on pitch per game going on at coventry. sunderland will rip up championship for sure
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2007, 01:01:00 PM
No more busspepper fetes for Carlos. I hope he feels he made the right choice good luck to him
Post by: Deeks on January 02, 2007, 01:07:01 PM
Football is fun and games and a business. Right now it pure business. Good Luck Carlos.
Post by: Grande on January 02, 2007, 01:07:56 PM
steups

anyway all the best Carlos, hopefully someday soon you can play at the level of your capability
Post by: Daft Trini on January 02, 2007, 01:15:22 PM
I'm very sad at this move. I wanted to see an EPL team pick him up.
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2007, 01:17:02 PM

**alerts suicide watch**
Post by: Mose on January 02, 2007, 01:18:12 PM
I just hope he lock down a spot on the first team and continue to get a regular run and play well. This is a side on the up. Hopefully they make it to the EPL for next season and he continue the form he been showing this year.

Congrats Carlos!! :beermug:
Post by: RGarcia on January 02, 2007, 01:22:09 PM

**alerts suicide watch**
Post by: big dawg on January 02, 2007, 01:30:29 PM
Lets look at the table that really matters.

While Many of us expected him to go to the EPL.. if we look at the numbers we can accept the move in theory...

1 Birmingham City 53 27 16 5 6 46 26 20
2 Derby County 50 27 15 5 7 36 28 8 
3 Preston North End 47 27 13 8 6 40 28 12
4 Southampton 45 27 12 9 6 44 32 12 
5 West Bromwich Albion 43 27 12 7 8 48 31 17 
6 Colchester United 43 27 13 4 10 45 30 15 
7 Stoke City 43 26 12 7 7 35 21 14 
8 Cardiff City 43 27 11 10 6 36 28 8 
9 Wolverhampton Wanderers 42 27 12 6 9 28 29 -1 
10 Sunderland 40 27 12 4 11 36 32 4 (This team definatley not rising to the EPL nest season)
11 Sheffield Wednesday 40 27 11 7 9 39 37 2 
12 Burnley 37 26 10 7 9 32 28 4 
13 Plymouth Argyle 36 27 8 12 7 33 34 -1 
14 Ipswich Town 35 27 10 5 12 37 37 0 
15 Crystal Palace 34 27 9 7 11 31 32 -1 
16 Coventry City 34 27 10 4 13 25 31 -6 
17 Norwich City 34 27 9 7 11 34 42 -8 
18 Leicester City 32 27 8 8 11 26 34 -8 
19 Luton Town 31 27 8 7 12 35 45 -10 (This Team 3 places from relegation to League One
20 Queens Park Rangers 30 27 8 6 13 34 41 -7 
21 Hull City 27 27 7 6 14 27 38 -11 
22 Barnsley 26 27 7 5 15 29 47 -18
23 Leeds United 24 27 7 3 17 27 49 -22 
24 Southend United 21 27 4 9 14 22 45 -23

Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2007, 01:36:15 PM

While Many of us expected him to go to the EPL.. if we look at the numbers we can accept the move in theory...

10 Sunderland 40 27 12 4 11 36 32 4 (This team definatley not rising to the EPL nest season)

Take is from a Person who follows Championship, You cannot assume Sunderland are definatley not getting promotion. The Championship is a very very FUNNY Like 3 wins & your back in the play-off mix again.
Study that table again
Post by: Themanfriday on January 02, 2007, 01:37:26 PM
That sucks :-\
Post by: elan on January 02, 2007, 01:39:23 PM
I wish him the best of luck, cause in the last year there was no other player in the world to improve as much as Carlos did.

Honestly I don't trust the Coach at Saunderland. I could be wrong.
Post by: Mr Mc on January 02, 2007, 01:41:17 PM
I was really hoping he went to the EPL or Birmingham City.  Lets see if he can help Sunderland rise up the table even more.  Who knows still half a season to go anyting could happen.  A few months back Luton looked like they were pushing for promotion.

What else has sunderland done to sure up their other positions. Seems like they lost 3 players.
Post by: big dawg on January 02, 2007, 01:46:00 PM

Take is from a Person who follows Championship, You cannot assume Sunderland are definatley not getting promotion. The Championship is a very very FUNNY Like 3 wins & your back in the play-off mix again.Study that table again

I understand what yuh sayin...but you can say that for any league on planet earth.....say or think what yuh what Carlos playing in the League championship next season
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 02, 2007, 01:52:11 PM

Take is from a Person who follows Championship, You cannot assume Sunderland are definatley not getting promotion. The Championship is a very very FUNNY Like 3 wins & your back in the play-off mix again.Study that table again

I understand what yuh sayin...but you can say that for any league on planet earth.....say or think what yuh what Carlos playing in the League championship next season

YOU SERIOUSLY don't Understand THE CHAMPIONSHIP, I hope JayTheWrecker comes around soon because I'm sure he will tell you the same.
Post by: weary1969 on January 02, 2007, 01:53:45 PM
Loud steeups. I backing Carlos because he is meh boy but I go be lying if I eh say I dissapointed
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 02, 2007, 01:54:01 PM
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/safc_1167761002_carlos-edwards290.jpg)

Post by: big dawg on January 02, 2007, 01:58:43 PM
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/safc_1167761002_carlos-edwards290.jpg)

tnx small mag.

I woulda like to see a Man U tee.. but we go work with that fuh de hr.

Post by: FF on January 02, 2007, 02:01:30 PM

Yeah big Dawg... Carib-Briton right... yuh sounding ignorant dey....

Sunderland currently 3 points of a playoff spot.... with ah whole half ah season to play... They in a good spot.... all yuh need is to put together some decent win streaks.... and yuh will be thereabouts when the season done

p.s. It have some real haters on this site boy....

I hear he turn down ah contract from barcelona to join sunderland  ::) ::)
Post by: lickslikefire on January 02, 2007, 02:08:19 PM

breds....from yuh last post yuh clearly do not follow the championship.....look at dem same tables yuh post...sunderland, even though 10th placed is 3 points behind the 5th placed team....

i hope yuh realize that the 3rd promoted team to the EPL is the winner of a playoff btwn the 3rd-6th place team in the championship.....

sunderland could easily be in the playoff mix if dey get some wins under dere belt  :beermug:
Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 02:21:25 PM
Ah sign in de forum, wid 4 ah meh bois breeding down meh neck, fuh de screen tuh clear up and see what team Carlos went 2. From one Championship team tuh another, and not even one ah de top 3 teams presently  ???  :( Ah wouldn't be ah 2 face wid all yuh nah, de Enterprise is very disappointed, with de team he went 2. Of course we on de forum wouldn't know de best choice fuh de bredda, or why he or dey made dat choice, but as supporters yuh always want yuh people in big clubs. Like I said before, we are very disappointed, no dis tuh Yorke, Keane and de rest of de Sunderland squad, but I think Carlos should be playing at ah bigger team. Wid all dat said, Carlos de Enterprise still love yuh as ah player, we will still support yuh and we wish yuh all de best meh boi. May be Carlos might put back ah smile on our faces, if dey get promoted at de end of this season. Then it will be even sweeter, we captain go be back tuh de EPL.  :praying: HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Jayerson on January 02, 2007, 02:27:49 PM

breds....from yuh last post yuh clearly do not follow the championship.....look at dem same tables yuh post...sunderland, even though 10th placed is 3 points behind the 5th placed team....

i hope yuh realize that the 3rd promoted team to the EPL is the winner of a playoff btwn the 3rd-6th place team in the championship.....

sunderland could easily be in the playoff mix if dey get some wins under dere belt  :beermug:

Even if you don't know how the Championship operate (i.e. once you're in the top 6 you're in the mix) Sunderland is only 7 points behind the 3rd placed team Preston, with 19 games to go, it's still early days.

Now we can all speculate but we don't know what were the actual bids and the behind the scene maneuvers. I'm sure Edwards and Luton took what was the best option for them.

Now lets hope Birmingham & Derby self implode  ;D (because they have no Trinis in their squad) Kenwynne Jones and co. look like a decent bet, they're just 5 pts from automatic promotion.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 02, 2007, 02:29:01 PM
i just beharry could work sumthing out for our younger  player to get across there
Post by: JDB on January 02, 2007, 02:33:51 PM
I am confused.

What is the problem with this move?

Did he turn down Manchester United or Arsenal?

Who else was really ineterested?

How many non-English mid-twenties players do we see getting scooped up by premiership teams?

Add the fact that Sunderland is a BIG club whichever way you slice it and especially compared to Luton, most of the Championship and even some premierleague clubs. They have a large fan base and a huge stadium that was recently built.

Carlos is using his brain, Sunderland is a club with a decent profile and if he performs good things will come to him. At least the man have faith in himself and believes that with his help Sunderland could make a serious push.

I wonder if men here want him to go to a side where he will not get a sweat and will fight up in the reserves.

This was a good move in my opinion.
Post by: andre samuel on January 02, 2007, 02:35:59 PM
i think he was too hasty and he definitiely should have waited.

In my opinion, i think that Sunderland was paying Luton the most money and was paying Carlos the highest wages.

but anyways, 28,000 fans a week in a 40,000 stadium is not bad!!

Go Sunderland!!

Post by: fari on January 02, 2007, 02:54:25 PM
i am happy for the youth. in life you make some decsoons that ppl might not understand but you do what is right for yourself and your family.
Post by: Mose on January 02, 2007, 02:59:16 PM

YOU SERIOUSLY don't Understand THE CHAMPIONSHIP, I hope JayTheWrecker comes around soon because I'm sure he will tell you the same.

So how does it work as far as getting promoted from championship league to the epl and is it more than one team that gets promoted and how many more games are left to decide this scenario.............. 
- 3 teams get promoted
- top 2 teams at the end of the season are promoted automatically.
- 3rd to 6th playoff for the 3rd promotion spot
- 19 games left in the season
Post by: FF on January 02, 2007, 02:59:55 PM

So how does it work as far as getting promoted from championship league to the epl and is it more than one team that gets promoted and how many more games are left to decide this scenario.............. 

Top two get automatic promotion.... de next 4 (places 3 - 6) play a knockout format... the winner of this playoff gets the third promotion spot... it have 19 games left in de season... Sunderland 3 points of the playoff spots

Bottom-line:
Yuh could come 6th and still get promoted....
Post by: ckhan on January 02, 2007, 03:02:23 PM
Congrats to Edwards on his signing and future success with the club, at least 10 position is better than 19.
Title: Carlos signs with Sunderland FC...Dwight behind move
Post by: E-man on January 02, 2007, 03:03:44 PM
CARLOS SIGNS WITH SUNDERLAND.... Dwight behind move 
By: Shawn Fuentes (TTFF Media)

2 Jan 2007

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Carlos Edwards has set his sights on guiding new club Sunderland to Premiership promotion after signing  a new three-year contract with the club on Tuesday valued at £1.5m.
Coincidentally, the 28-year-old Edwards now joins National team captain Dwight Yorke at the club who was instrumental in getting Roy Keane to sign the former Defence Force playmaker. And Edwards’ deal has the biggest value for a T&T international since Yorke’s £12.6m move to Manchester United in 1998.
"We're absolutely delighted to have captured such a sought-after, top player," said Black Cats boss Keane.
A beaming Edwards expressed satisfaction with his new move moments after leaving Sunderland’s Stadium of Light where he signed his contract on Tuesday. He moved to a club now 10th on the Championship Table from Luton which is now in 19th spot.
“I’m actually just driving back home after signing the deal. I didn’t expect the news to be out already,” Edwards laughed as he spoke to TTFF Media when being told it had already grabbed front page headlines on the BBC official site.
Edwards spoke of Yorke’s influence and the fact he chose to be part of Sunderland’s promotion drive rather than sign with  a Premiership club.
“I must say it is something I wanted to do which is to sign a contract like this. Dwight had a big part to do with it. He called me up and the manager inquired and then the deal materialized. Dwight spoke highly about the club and about the role I could play in helping them back  into the Premiership. And I saw it all for myself when I visited the club today… the facility is fantastic,” Edwards told TTFF Media.
“It’s a dream come true really and now being part of the club I am hoping for better things because we will be pushing for promotion. We are only three points off the playoffs and hopefully I can do my part now as a new signing.”
Edwards added that he was sure his presence and performance at the 2006 World Cup played a part in this move.
“Teams don’t sign you unless they feel you have something special and can add it to the club. And Roy Keane may have seen something and I’m glad it came through.
“Being at the World Cup definitely has played a part in this. There is going to be interest in any player who has been at the World Cup regardless of the height of the club. It takes quality players to play in  a World Cup and unfortunately more of our players didn’t make moves as well. The guys now need to continue working and try to emulate players like myself who have moved on through hard work. I crept before I walked – from back home to Wrexham to Luton and now to Sunderland,” Edwards added.
And about the fact that Premiership clubs Newcastle United, Watford, Charlton Athletic and Scotland’s Celtic also showed interest, Edwards promptly stated “This is what most people will talk about. They will think it’s a bad decision if they see  it as giving up a chance to play on the bigger stage. I know money has a lot to play in football. I love to play football and I didn’t want to sign a multi-million dollar contract to maybe sit on the bench. I have a talent and I need to be playing. I will cherish this deal and hopefully take into the Premiership. It’s a challenge but I am positive that during my contract here we will end up in the Premiership,” Edwards ended. He is expected to make his debut for Sunderland in Saturday’s FA Cup fixture away to Preston North End.

Title: Re: Carlos signs with Sunderland FC...Dwight behind move
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 02, 2007, 03:09:12 PM

2 Jan 2007

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Carlos Edwards has set his sights on guiding new club Sunderland to Premiership promotion after signing  a new three-year contract with the club on Tuesday valued at £1.5m.
Edwards spoke of Yorke’s influence and the fact he chose to be part of Sunderland’s promotion drive rather than sign with  a Premiership club.
“I must say it is something I wanted to do which is to sign a contract like this. Dwight had a big part to do with it. He called me up and the manager inquired and then the deal materialized. Dwight spoke highly about the club and about the role I could play in helping them back  into the Premiership. And I saw it all for myself when I visited the club today… the facility is fantastic,” Edwards told TTFF Media.
“Being at the World Cup definitely has played a part in this. There is going to be interest in any player who has been at the World Cup regardless of the height of the club. It takes quality players to play in  a World Cup and unfortunately more of our players didn’t make moves as well. The guys now need to continue working and try to emulate players like myself who have moved on through hard work. I crept before I walked – from back home to Wrexham to Luton and now to Sunderland,” Edwards added.
And about the fact that Premiership clubs Newcastle United, Watford, Charlton Athletic and Scotland’s Celtic also showed interest, Edwards promptly stated “This is what most people will talk about. They will think it’s a bad decision if they see  it as giving up a chance to play on the bigger stage. I know money has a lot to play in football. I love to play football and I didn’t want to sign a multi-million dollar contract to maybe sit on the bench. I have a talent and I need to be playing. I will cherish this deal and hopefully take into the Premiership. It’s a challenge but I am positive that during my contract here we will end up in the Premiership,” Edwards ended. He is expected to make his debut for Sunderland in Saturday’s FA Cup fixture away to Preston North End.

How much was Stern's xfer to Birmingham?  I could have sworn it was about this much, can anyone confirm?
Post by: Peong on January 02, 2007, 03:11:13 PM
Barataria hit "Reply", not "Quote".

Time to familiarize myself with this squad.
Anybody know who plays right midfield for Sunderland?

Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 03:16:18 PM
I am confused.

How many non-English mid-twenties players do we see getting scooped up by premiership teams?

Add the fact that Sunderland is a BIG club whichever way you slice it and especially compared to Luton, most of the Championship and even some premierleague clubs. They have a large fan base and a huge stadium that was recently built.

Carlos is using his brain, Sunderland is a club with a decent profile and if he performs good things will come to him. At least the man have faith in himself and believes that with his help Sunderland could make a serious push.

I wonder if men here want him to go to a side where he will not get a sweat and will fight up in the reserves.

JDB, dat is your opinion and yuh free tuh do dat. Yuh say Sunderland is big, yeah if yuh comparing dem tuh Luton, Preston etc. Fuh yuh info people here disappointed cuz it was rumored fuh him tuh be at teams like Newcastle, Charlton, Celtics, Watford and Birmingham. Newcastle is de only team, Carlos might struggle fuh first team sweat, and I must stress, he might, cuz de bredda prove tuh we he cud handle big players. Apart from Newcastle and Watford, which I never wanted him 2 go 2 (Watford), yuh telling we he cah get regular sweat on dem other teams dey. Well if yuh saying yes, yuh really doh know de bredda, and what he does bring  tuh de game, yuh better get some clips ah Carlos playing and modify yuh statement. Like was said before, may be Sunderland is offering de best pay check, so he went tuh dat team, but doh tell we about he cah get sweat, yuh fell he was going Madrid, Barcelona, Man U, Arsenal, Chelsea, Juventus, Milan, just tuh name ah few huge clubs. Doh feel no way, we not mad wid yuh horse, is just big people here and we reasoning, yuh see meh? HIGHLY BLESSED.  
Post by: Quags on January 02, 2007, 03:48:42 PM
Say wha ,once Carlos happy and he sounding genuinely happy .So score some goals los ,make it impossible for them not to ever start you ! :beermug:
Post by: ribbit on January 02, 2007, 03:54:06 PM
niceness. hope sunderland gets promoted.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Filho on January 02, 2007, 04:08:16 PM

yuh mean who played right midfield for Sunderland  ;)
Post by: Grande on January 02, 2007, 04:10:25 PM

yuh mean who played right midfield for Sunderland  ;)

damn straight  :beermug:

well Carlos is sounding content, it is down to him in de end, so all the best
Post by: Jefferz on January 02, 2007, 04:20:46 PM
theyre far better than Luton... and now atleast it would seem Sunderland still have ah chance ah makin the Prem....

Yorke and Carlos play very well together.
Post by: Mose on January 02, 2007, 04:21:16 PM

He is expected to make his debut for Sunderland in Saturday’s FA Cup fixture away to Preston North End.
That sound strange. Hasn't Carlos already played for Luton in the FA Cup? Doesn't that make him ineligible to play FA cup for Sunderland?
Post by: trini supporter on January 02, 2007, 04:24:41 PM
I  for one is very disappointed anyways i still wish him the best :beermug:
Post by: JDB on January 02, 2007, 04:33:12 PM
JDB, dat is your opinion and yuh free tuh do dat. Yuh say Sunderland is big, yeah if yuh comparing dem tuh Luton, Preston etc. Fuh yuh info people here disappointed cuz it was rumored fuh him tuh be at teams like Newcastle, Charlton, Celtics, Watford and Birmingham. Newcastle is de only team, Carlos might struggle fuh first team sweat, and I must stress, he might, cuz de bredda prove tuh we he cud handle big players. Apart from Newcastle and Watford, which I never wanted him 2 go 2 (Watford), yuh telling we he cah get regular sweat on dem other teams dey. Well if yuh saying yes, yuh really doh know de bredda, and what he does bring  tuh de game, yuh better get some clips ah Carlos playing and modify yuh statement. Like was said before, may be Sunderland is offering de best pay check, so he went tuh dat team, but doh tell we about he cah get sweat, yuh fell he was going Madrid, Barcelona, Man U, Arsenal, Chelsea, Juventus, Milan, just tuh name ah few huge clubs. Doh feel no way, we not mad wid yuh horse, is just big people here and we reasoning, yuh see meh? HIGHLY BLESSED.  

I for one never took on any of these Premeirship rumours and it is not because I have no faith in the man's ability.

Premiership clubs do not buy players from the lower division anymore, unless they are young and/or English.

The Clubs that do buy are promoted sides making the transition upwards.

Even when big clubs take risks on big players in the PL there is a real chance of them benchinig because it is a step up from a small side to a big side, just look at SWP at Chelsea.

Also consider that Sunderland has as good a chance as any of the other Championship clubs of going up, if not this year then next year. If they fail this year, it is a consolidiation year and they will be favorites for next year. Sunderland ran riot in the Championship two years ago after being relegated, with a very weak squad. I expect to be in the PL in a year or two easy and if a player makes that transition with a promoted team they have a very good chance of being noticed and cememnting themselves in the PL.

Just look at players like Andy Johnson, Routledge, Bullard, Reo-Coker (soon). They make the move with a promoted club and get picked up by a more stable club after cutting their teeth in the league.

And the bottom line has to be that Carlos knows better than everybody else who were genuinely interested and who was just rumour, so saying that he should wait for something better is misguided.

Post by: JDB on January 02, 2007, 04:34:10 PM
That sound strange. Hasn't Carlos already played for Luton in the FA Cup? Doesn't that make him ineligible to play FA cup for Sunderland?

Championship and PL clubs don't enter the FA Cup until the 3rd round. He would have played for them in the Coca Cola-Cup.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 02, 2007, 04:38:02 PM

**alerts suicide watch**

Look I eh depressed and on prozac brotha. Who on this board really want to see Carlos at Sunderland. Sunderland was only hot for those seasons Kevin Phillips was hot and lets be frank. We want our players in the EPL.
Post by: Grande on January 02, 2007, 04:40:34 PM
Tony Warner gone back Fulham....so we could say a Trini in de EPL..hopefully he get some games dis season  :-\
Post by: trinikev on January 02, 2007, 04:57:10 PM
JDB, dat is your opinion and yuh free tuh do dat. Yuh say Sunderland is big, yeah if yuh comparing dem tuh Luton, Preston etc. Fuh yuh info people here disappointed cuz it was rumored fuh him tuh be at teams like Newcastle, Charlton, Celtics, Watford and Birmingham. Newcastle is de only team, Carlos might struggle fuh first team sweat, and I must stress, he might, cuz de bredda prove tuh we he cud handle big players. Apart from Newcastle and Watford, which I never wanted him 2 go 2 (Watford), yuh telling we he cah get regular sweat on dem other teams dey. Well if yuh saying yes, yuh really doh know de bredda, and what he does bring  tuh de game, yuh better get some clips ah Carlos playing and modify yuh statement. Like was said before, may be Sunderland is offering de best pay check, so he went tuh dat team, but doh tell we about he cah get sweat, yuh fell he was going Madrid, Barcelona, Man U, Arsenal, Chelsea, Juventus, Milan, just tuh name ah few huge clubs. Doh feel no way, we not mad wid yuh horse, is just big people here and we reasoning, yuh see meh? HIGHLY BLESSED

I for one never took on any of these Premeirship rumours and it is not because I have no faith in the man's ability.

Premiership clubs do not buy players from the lower division anymore, unless they are young and/or English.

The Clubs that do buy are promoted sides making the transition upwards.

Even when big clubs take risks on big players in the PL there is a real chance of them benchinig because it is a step up from a small side to a big side, just look at SWP at Chelsea.

Also consider that Sunderland has as good a chance as any of the other Championship clubs of going up, if not this year then next year. If they fail this year, it is a consolidiation year and they will be favorites for next year. Sunderland ran riot in the Championship two years ago after being relegated, with a very weak squad. I expect to be in the PL in a year or two easy and if a player makes that transition with a promoted team they have a very good chance of being noticed and cememnting themselves in the PL.

Just look at players like Andy Johnson, Routledge, Bullard, Reo-Coker (soon). They make the move with a promoted club and get picked up by a more stable club after cutting their teeth in the league.

And the bottom line has to be that Carlos knows better than everybody else who were genuinely interested and who was just rumour, so saying that he should wait for something better is misguided.

For the most part i agree with JDB. This was a positive move by Carlos. Yes, there were probably more prestigious clubs rumoured to be interested in his services, but come on fellas, look at it objectively. Both Watford and Charlton in all likelihood going right back down into the championship next season. There is no evidence that Newcastle actually made a bid for Carlos in the first place. With Celtic, no way Carlos just walking onto that side. That would really only leave Birmingham and Sunderland.

Ok, the way things looking right now, it may seem to us that Birmingham would be the better choice, given that they leading the championship right now and looking to be a good bet for promotion. But Sunderland is not a bad choice either. They are a team on the up, and as others pointed out before, they only 3 points out of the playoff spots and 7 points behind 3rd place with 19 matches to go. I think Carlos is the perfect person to throw in there to give Sunderland that extra push for promotion.

So before we criticise his choice, i say we give it a chance, cuz it in all likelihood could be a great decision  :beermug:
Post by: Grande on January 02, 2007, 05:03:22 PM
Well let we keep we head up for Carlos, and look for Southampton to grab a qualifying spot, and Sunderland to get to the playoffs.

Maybe we will see 4 Trinis in the Premiership.
Post by: Mose on January 02, 2007, 05:09:56 PM

Championship and PL clubs don't enter the FA Cup until the 3rd round. He would have played for them in the Coca Cola-Cup.
Thanks for the explanation JDB.
Post by: Sam on January 02, 2007, 05:21:24 PM
Good move Carlos.

Birmingham, Charlton, Watford and Celtics only grand charging, no one made an official bid, so de man take Sunderland, what wrong with that ? next thing he wait and clubs change they minds.

Charlton and Watford coming back down.

Celtics only paying one million pounds and that was according to a rumour from de newspapers.

Birmingham bluffing, nothing official.

Newcastle boss came out in public and said he was not interested.

Carlos done 28, no clubs will want to pay more unless yuh real good. I say take de most money yuh get and run, besides, Sunderland still have a good chance to make it into the Premiership, they are also going to buy more players before the transfer window closes, they release about 4 dead beat players today, so that club have pontential.

De only bad thing about this signing is. We have more than one Trinis at, Sunderland, Gillingham, Walshall, Swansea and Coventry and to get release for international duty could be a problem, Roy Keane done ringing with Yorke allready. Even Jabloteh pulling style on we.

Never taught I would see the day clubs still paying over one million pounds for our players since Yorke and John, I am glad though. Remember Nixon get set up in Scotland to, he was suppose to sign with this one and that one and all fall down. Not that we dont have de talent, but we have no programs to develop future talents in T&T.

De next man to make it big from T&T is Collin Samuel if he really play to his full pontential and try to move from Scotland, Kenwyne Jones might also make it big, but we go see. I also have hope for Leston Paul and Keon Daniel but as of lately Daniel pulling stones and Leston still young and we have no programs to develop young players so he might get lost to.
Post by: Jefferz on January 02, 2007, 05:23:28 PM
Tony Warner gone back Fulham....so we could say a Trini in de EPL..hopefully he get some games dis season  :-\

i have honestly never known of a keeper to let in more goals than Tony Warner... I doh care about the circumstances... bar none... i have never seen or heard of a goal keeper let in more goals.

the man is useless.
Post by: leon on January 02, 2007, 05:30:59 PM
Just need Stern John to join Sunderland now, and quarta ah de warriors now up north.
Post by: legal alien on January 02, 2007, 05:37:54 PM
 i havent read anything else here  but  :beermug:, see yall this august in the premiership.
i was shocked though that he did not end up at newcastle....
Post by: leon on January 02, 2007, 06:06:50 PM
Stabilising your place in the Premiership is not always easy, for a newly promoted club....
Some stick around for a year or two  ie WATFORD FC or soon to be West HAM.
Unless you are an established club like the Man United, Arsenal, Liverpool....sticking around in the premier league does cause nuff horror's and stress for some managers especially with the impatience of some chairmen keen to capitalise on the big bucks kicking around the league. ??? ???
Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 06:24:58 PM

**alerts suicide watch**

Look I eh depressed and on prozac brotha. Who on this board really want to see Carlos at Sunderland. Sunderland was only hot for those seasons Kevin Phillips was hot and lets be frank. We want our players in the EPL.

Dctrini, BIG, BIG RESPECT BOSS, fuh yuh post, short and straight in de heart . Ah bunch ah people here, dey just being 2 face, dey typing ah set ah long speech tuh look good. We doh wah hear dat s**t, about de possibilities of him moving up now or when he reach 40years old, or de team chances in de play offs and all dat nonsense. IF all yuh want tuh think like dat, it have a lot ah games still, go and draw up all de possibilities and Luton have ah chance 2, so ah doh  see all yuh point. All yuh missing de point, read dctrini short post, it is de straight up truth, "who wanted tuh see Carlos at Sunderland, we want our players in de EPL" We wish him all de best, and we all know de chances Sunderland and de other teams getting promoted, but de point is people disappointed. De thread about Carlos was up fuh ah while now, why if all yuh know so much, all yuh should of post all yuh thing before, everybody posts about where is better fuh him 2 sweat. Today "KNOWER" and dem want tuh act like it is cool fuh him tuh be at Sunderland, well it is not, he will get our love and support still, but de EPL is de real deal. Jones and Stern, dey got some descent sweat in de EPL wid dey teams, ah wouldn't mention Yorke in dis, cuz he was already turning up people in de EPL, wid Villa. So how de 2 previously mentioned players get sweat, but  Carlos wouldn't get some games  ??? All yuh good yes. I is ah supporter tuh meh heart, and ah damn disappointed, straight up like dat. Again, ah know how some ah all yuh soft, so doh take dis personal, we just frustrated and disappointed, so we bringing it out.  ;) HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: quinnyspants on January 02, 2007, 06:47:06 PM
Good evening Gentleman
I have paid a visit to your board following the terrific news of Carlos signing for Sunderland AFC.
I can understand some of the displeasure , and the feeling that Carlos could have gone to a Premier League side , but I would like to re-assure you that he will be playing in the Premier next season, for Sunderland, under the management of the best player our country has seen in the last 15 years.
Sunderland, as a club,will rank in stature alongside Newcastle, Aston Villa,Tottenham ,Everton and Chelsea, given our fan base and history.
We have recently had an ex-player (Niall Quinn) take over our club, and his aim is to take Sunderland back to the top end of the Premiership, playing in Europe and winning trophies.
The support is in place, the finance is in place, let us all hope that Carlos Edwards can play a part in restoring glory to the once mighty Sunderland.
Respect and regards
Quinny

Post by: trinbago on January 02, 2007, 07:04:39 PM
Good evening Gentleman
I have paid a visit to your board following the terrific news of Carlos signing for Sunderland AFC.
I can understand some of the displeasure , and the feeling that Carlos could have gone to a Premier League side , but I would like to re-assure you that he will be playing in the Premier next season, for Sunderland, under the management of the best player our country has seen in the last 15 years.
Sunderland, as a club,will rank in stature alongside Newcastle, Aston Villa,Tottenham ,Everton and Chelsea, given our fan base and history.
We have recently had an ex-player (Niall Quinn) take over our club, and his aim is to take Sunderland back to the top end of the Premiership, playing in Europe and winning trophies.
The support is in place, the finance is in place, let us all hope that Carlos Edwards can play a part in restoring glory to the once mighty Sunderland.
Respect and regards
Quinny

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on January 02, 2007, 07:06:08 PM
Quinny, may I be de first to welcome you to the best Footy Forum in de Universe.
 ;)
or, to put it another way

"Great first post"

Onwards Sunderland
dont miss the Forum Index (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=d1191e366002a9b0839de09a1d41c90d&)
Post by: 1989 on January 02, 2007, 07:26:33 PM
Steups, well with the utter mess that Newcastle played yesterday, I was expecting him to be a sure signing.

Sunderland?  Why Yorke gone and talk stupidness in Carlos head, in hopes of realizing his own (selfish) dreams of playing the in EPL again?

I support Carlos, but Sunderland under Keane, who done eh want to let go 'little' caribbean players for national duty is a disappointment.

All in all, though, I did not see the offers that were made nor heard the full circumstances as did Carlos.  Either way, I wish him the best, although I think that he is much better than Sunderland....

P.S.  Carlos, if yuh reading, doh limit yourself with that old talk about warming bench vs. playing for Sunderland.   Any team chasing you right now eh looking to put you on the bench.  They go bench Stern, Yorke, and even Latas (just ask Benhakker) but not you.

Blessings.
Post by: trinikev on January 02, 2007, 08:03:31 PM
Allyuh stop crying down the man for making the choice that HE felt was right for himself. He know himself better than any one of us, so just congratulate the man and have faith nah. I SURE he wudn't have signed with Sunderland if he wasn't confident that they wud be playin in the EPL next year.
Post by: lickslikefire on January 02, 2007, 08:08:25 PM
I know we all have different opinions and ting, but lawd.....Carlos stated clearly why he chose Sunderland...I for one respect de man decision  :beermug:

And about the fact that Premiership clubs Newcastle United, Watford, Charlton Athletic and Scotland’s Celtic also showed interest, Edwards promptly stated “This is what most people will talk about. They will think it’s a bad decision if they see  it as giving up a chance to play on the bigger stage. I know money has a lot to play in football. I love to play football and I didn’t want to sign a multi-million dollar contract to maybe sit on the bench. I have a talent and I need to be playing. I will cherish this deal and hopefully take into the Premiership.
Post by: JDB on January 02, 2007, 08:18:12 PM
I know we all have different opinions and ting, but lawd.....Carlos stated clearly why he chose Sunderland...I for one respect de man decision  :beermug:

And about the fact that Premiership clubs Newcastle United, Watford, Charlton Athletic and Scotland’s Celtic also showed interest, Edwards promptly stated “This is what most people will talk about. They will think it’s a bad decision if they see  it as giving up a chance to play on the bigger stage. I know money has a lot to play in football. I love to play football and I didn’t want to sign a multi-million dollar contract to maybe sit on the bench. I have a talent and I need to be playing. I will cherish this deal and hopefully take into the Premiership.

Yuh wrong to be making that point. If yuh don't live in a vacuum, believing that every TnT player is the absolute best and don't understand that there are other quality players out there trying to make a living too then yuh doubting the man's ability or don't know anything about him. Yuh forget what Carlos do in the WC or what?

In fact Carlos should probably get therapy because he obviously has self-esteem issues and doesn't realize his own greatness which would make him immune from the possibility of benching at a Premierleague team.
Post by: trinikev on January 02, 2007, 08:21:50 PM

Yuh wrong to be making that point. If yuh don't live in a vacuum, believing that every TnT player is the absolute best and don't understand that there are other quality players out there trying to make a living too then yuh doubting the man's ability or don't know anything about him. Yuh forget what Carlos do in the WC or what?

In fact Carlos should probably get therapy because he obviously has self-esteem issues and doesn't realize his own greatness which would make him immune from the possibility of benching at a Premierleague team.

Thank yuh JDB  :applause:
Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 08:48:17 PM
Good evening Gentleman
Respect and regards
Quinny

Welcome to the forum quinny.Thank you for understanding and respecting, how some of the members feel on the forum. Thank you also for the Sunderland update. I don't know how much better we do feel, but we (Enterprise) respect your information posted. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 09:12:21 PM

After 3 pages of on line war,  :beermug: ah finally must say ah do agree wid yuh JDB. Fuh de people who doh know, or doh have enough sense tuh know dat, de man is ah professional, Sunderland is de team putting food on his table from now on, do you all really expect de man tuh say any thing negative about his new employer. We will never know de truth behind dis move, may be some years from now. We (Enterprise) had enough ah dis thread, we only reading posts on dis thread from now on. Dis thread, it put ah lot ah pressure on some big men. Well Carlos yuh already know how we feel, best of luck and peace out tuh everybody, let us move tuh de next thread people, may be Avery transfer is ah good thread  ;D HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: JDB on January 02, 2007, 09:21:31 PM
No war, just a healthy difference of opinion.

Respect.
Post by: SUPA on January 02, 2007, 09:37:05 PM
No war, just a healthy difference of opinion.

Respect.

Yuh know wey ah mean horse, ah just use de word war. Everything cool and fix sah.  :beermug: HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: samwise on January 02, 2007, 10:25:01 PM
another sunderland lad here....firstly, good new year to you all.
thanks for the good comments towards the team.

maybe we will never know the real reasons carlos signed for us but we have been screaming for a right winger for ages, i am sure his addition to the team will help us push to the prem.
one reason he may have chosen us, a lot of players heading into the prem now are 'seat warmers'....only used as cover for the big money earners or for the 'lesser' games (non euro cup games).
if carlos had offers from prem clubs i am sure this will be one reason for choosing us, the lad wants regular football and wants to play....we admire that in a player at sunderland, he still has a few years in him yet, hopefully he will go on to become a cult figure at the club.

FTM
Post by: Eh! on January 02, 2007, 11:48:17 PM
Congrats Carlos, another positive step in your career and knowing your sound judgement it's no doubt the right move.  I look forward to seeing it bear fruit for you.  The men who ball days done long time can live vicariously through someone else.
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2007, 12:21:24 AM
Steups, well with the utter mess that Newcastle played yesterday, I was expecting him to be a sure signing.

Sunderland?  Why Yorke gone and talk stupidness in Carlos head, in hopes of realizing his own (selfish) dreams of playing the in EPL again?

I support Carlos, but Sunderland under Keane, who done eh want to let go 'little' caribbean players for national duty is a disappointment.

All in all, though, I did not see the offers that were made nor heard the full circumstances as did Carlos.  Either way, I wish him the best, although I think that he is much better than Sunderland....

P.S.  Carlos, if yuh reading, doh limit yourself with that old talk about warming bench vs. playing for Sunderland.   Any team chasing you right now eh looking to put you on the bench.  They go bench Stern, Yorke, and even Latas (just ask Benhakker) but not you.

Blessings.

oh shut tuh f**k up nuh... Carlos eh no little boy he know very well wut he doin... yuh eh think he eh think this over thoroughly... buh wuh kinda chupidee yuh is boy... STEWPS.

Not only is this a needless response becuase Carlos know what he doin buh think ah de new sunderland fellahz on de board... we'd like to start a good relationship with them... this is a family forum. So stop actin like A.) Carlos is a fool and B.) like Sunderland is a sub standard club.
Post by: Eh! on January 03, 2007, 12:31:07 AM
Well said.
Post by: Gaz Wilko on January 03, 2007, 03:30:01 AM
Hello! another Sunderland supporter here, I can’t understand all the negative posts on here towards Edwards move to Sunderland! Sunderland are possibly the biggest club outside the Premiership with the likes of Leeds. We will be back in the premiership with in the next two seasons & Edwards clearly knows the potential the club has, our last two home league games we have had crowds of over 40,000 & over 30,000, which is excellent for any team outside the premiership. Sunderland have had a horrendous last few seasons & we are currently rebuilding the club, Roy Keane & Niall Quinn or doing a steady job.

Carlos Edwards has left a small London club to join a club with a 48,000 seater stadium, fantastic fanbase, a state of the art training ground & youth academy & a manager who is possibly one of the biggest names ever to play in the premiership.

Thanks

Gary.
Post by: WestCoast on January 03, 2007, 03:39:49 AM
A Huge welcome to all the recent posters from the Sunderland FC.

One thing that all you lads have to Remember is that we have some of the worlds BEST CHESTERFIELD managers  ;D ;D right here on this site and they know what is best for Carlos, is just that they have not convinced Carlos of that yet   ;D ;D

it is going to be Great with Carlos playing in Sunderland.
Post by: Sam on January 03, 2007, 04:21:04 AM
Yuh yaping to much SUPA..... I rather Carlos be on his way up than his way down. Who else except Watford who really wanted him. ? No one made an official bid, all was rumours and speculations.

And what if Sunderland does make it into the Premiership what will you say then ?

Its not like Man U or Arsenal wanted him and he turn them down to go to Sunderland.

No other team made an official big, none, Newcastle was not interested. He is Premiership quality, however only Sunderland stepped up...

I am happy for Carlos, I hope he can take Sunderland up......
Post by: Brownsugar on January 03, 2007, 05:15:54 AM
Carlos boy, just do what yuh does do best....

Let yuh foot do de talking......GOOD LUCK!!!! :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: fivers on January 03, 2007, 07:01:40 AM
u hadda b joking with me, what ah stupid move by edwards, yorke shoudlnt have persuaded him tuh do that, schupsssssssss....

God is de BOSS...

We don't know what the deal is, Carlos may not have had anything to do with the move. It could just be that Sunderland offered more than the rest for him.
Post by: fivers on January 03, 2007, 07:04:06 AM
No more busspepper fetes for Carlos. I hope he feels he made the right choice good luck to him

Too many players from one country is not a good idea. When tournament comes they will loose too many players. Trinidad will also have a hard time getting these players.
Post by: fivers on January 03, 2007, 07:05:47 AM

1 Birmingham City 53 27 16 5 6 46 26 20
2 Derby County 50 27 15 5 7 36 28 8 
3 Preston North End 47 27 13 8 6 40 28 12
4 Southampton 45 27 12 9 6 44 32 12 
5 West Bromwich Albion 43 27 12 7 8 48 31 17 
6 Colchester United 43 27 13 4 10 45 30 15 
7 Stoke City 43 26 12 7 7 35 21 14 
8 Cardiff City 43 27 11 10 6 36 28 8 
9 Wolverhampton Wanderers 42 27 12 6 9 28 29 -1 
11 Sheffield Wednesday 40 27 11 7 9 39 37 2 
12 Burnley 37 26 10 7 9 32 28 4 
13 Plymouth Argyle 36 27 8 12 7 33 34 -1 
14 Ipswich Town 35 27 10 5 12 37 37 0 
15 Crystal Palace 34 27 9 7 11 31 32 -1 
16 Coventry City 34 27 10 4 13 25 31 -6 
17 Norwich City 34 27 9 7 11 34 42 -8 
18 Leicester City 32 27 8 8 11 26 34 -8 
19 Luton Town 31 27 8 7 12 35 45 -10 (This Team 3 places from relegation to League One
20 Queens Park Rangers 30 27 8 6 13 34 41 -7 
21 Hull City 27 27 7 6 14 27 38 -11 
22 Barnsley 26 27 7 5 15 29 47 -18
23 Leeds United 24 27 7 3 17 27 49 -22 
24 Southend United 21 27 4 9 14 22 45 -23

Half way throught the Season and the points spread not too far-fetch
Post by: Rodney on January 03, 2007, 07:25:12 AM
The Sunderland guys are right, it is a big club, definitely have premierleague support. Possibly wasted many past oppertunites to consolidate their posistion when their were in the premiership, but then again you could say that about many other sides.

No point in Carlos going to Watford (unless he was hoping Elton give he wife ah recording contract  :devil: ) as they are going back down. I think he has made a very level headed decision...he will play often, Sunderland do have the most realistic long term chances of getting promoted and Dwight there to help him settle in. As far as I'm concerned if any Premier league club had made a decent offer Newell would have accepted it and Carlos most likely would have gone (cept Watford  ;D ) so its unlikely he had a realistic oppertunity to go Premierleague.
Post by: Gretzky on January 03, 2007, 07:38:06 AM
looking forward to seeing Carlos play for Sunderland.

Can the man play cricket? if so i'll try to get him on my team for the summer
Post by: saga pinto on January 03, 2007, 07:57:29 AM
Allyuh stop crying down the man for making the choice that HE felt was right for himself. He know himself better than any one of us, so just congratulate the man and have faith nah. I SURE he wudn't have signed with Sunderland if he wasn't confident that they wud be playin in the EPL next year.

That statement seems to me,a little far fetched I would think,Carlos doh have a crystal ball in he locker room where he sure they getting promoted.The funny thing is we're all on the outside looking in and surely some of us are disappointed and some of us have turned a negative into a positive,but when reality steps in carlos may not have had a choice in the matter.Remember "choice and not chance is what determines your destiny"   
Post by: Touches on January 03, 2007, 08:06:11 AM
To all those who being negative....

Just hope and pray Carlos ent shit down heself and he performs creditably.

This is a good move by Carlos, it is not easy to move, uproot your family, change house, get new school, new job for the wife etc.

Carlos is not a spring chicken. From a business point of view he is a gamble.

Say thanks for small mercies and Carlos all the best. Good luck to you and your new club and show them that you are worth more than 1.5 million pounds.

Lastly I feel Southampton could sneak in 2nd place and Sunderland could win the playoff.

Post by: Big Magician on January 03, 2007, 09:52:23 AM
well done Mr. Edwards....god bless and all de best.....never mind some of these c#nts  ( lime kickers)
Post by: samo on January 03, 2007, 11:11:12 AM
Good Move by Carlos... I really cyah see Dwight influencing the man to make a crappy career choice... Remember when men was beating up on Dwight when he sign for Sunderland???? They were dead last and many here wrote the team off. I could honestly see them making it to the prem....
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 03, 2007, 11:17:39 AM

**alerts suicide watch**

Dctrini, BIG, BIG RESPECT BOSS, fuh yuh post, short and straight in de heart . Ah bunch ah people here, dey just being 2 face, dey typing ah set ah long speech tuh look good. We doh wah hear dat s**t, about de possibilities of him moving up now or when he reach 40years old, or de team chances in de play offs and all dat nonsense. IF all yuh want tuh think like dat, it have a lot ah games still, go and draw up all de possibilities and Luton have ah chance 2, so ah doh  see all yuh point. All yuh missing de point, read dctrini short post, it is de straight up truth, "who wanted tuh see Carlos at Sunderland, we want our players in de EPL" We wish him all de best, and we all know de chances Sunderland and de other teams getting promoted, but de point is people disappointed. De thread about Carlos was up fuh ah while now, why if all yuh know so much, all yuh should of post all yuh thing before, everybody posts about where is better fuh him 2 sweat. Today "KNOWER" and dem want tuh act like it is cool fuh him tuh be at Sunderland, well it is not, he will get our love and support still, but de EPL is de real deal. Jones and Stern, dey got some descent sweat in de EPL wid dey teams, ah wouldn't mention Yorke in dis, cuz he was already turning up people in de EPL, wid Villa. So how de 2 previously mentioned players get sweat, but  Carlos wouldn't get some games  ??? All yuh good yes. I is ah supporter tuh meh heart, and ah damn disappointed, straight up like dat. Again, ah know how some ah all yuh soft, so doh take dis personal, we just frustrated and disappointed, so we bringing it out.  ;) HIGHLY BLESSED.

ok supa...ok
Post by: Cartman on January 03, 2007, 12:23:17 PM
Good Move by Carlos... I really cyah see Dwight influencing the man to make a crappy career choice... Remember when men was beating up on Dwight when he sign for Sunderland???? They were dead last and many here wrote the team off. I could honestly see them making it to the prem....

If not this season then deffo next
Post by: Cartman on January 03, 2007, 12:35:53 PM
I am confused.

I agree with all of that, Sunderland are a massive club. Our chairman has said that if we get promoted and establish ourselves as a PL side then the capacity of our ground will be increased from 48,000 to 64,000. We are often called 'a sleeping giant' and with Roy Keane in charge I feel we are about to wake up. When we were in the PL a few seasons ago we got crowds of 48,000 nearly every week and the atmosphere was unbelievable.

Also, Carlos will not be our only signing, we are getting 2 kids from Man Utd and Keane also wants a good striker to push from promotion.
Post by: Cantona007 on January 03, 2007, 12:45:03 PM
I am confused.

I agree with all of that, Sunderland are a massive club. Our chairman has said that if we get promoted and establish ourselves as a PL side then the capacity of our ground will be increased from 48,000 to 64,000. We are often called 'a sleeping giant' and with Roy Keane in charge I feel we are about to wake up. When we were in the PL a few seasons ago we got crowds of 48,000 nearly every week and the atmosphere was unbelievable.

Also, Carlos will not be our only signing, we are getting 2 kids from Man Utd and Keane also wants a good striker to push from promotion.
Even though Keano is new in the management business, he seems to be making some  good moves so far. The loan deals that he has sewn up with ManU (keeping the old ties with the gaffer intact) as well as acquiring a player like Carlos Edwards should serve Sunderland well. The "kids" that you guys are getting have some quality... Bardlsey in particular has deputised for Gary Neville and has European Cup experience, while Johnny Evans is highly rated.
Good luck to Sunderland and Carlos Edwards.
Post by: supporter on January 03, 2007, 01:06:35 PM
Good move for Carlos. Sunderland will make playoffs this yr, mark my word. If they dont get promoted this year, they will next season.
Post by: Cartman on January 03, 2007, 01:18:55 PM
Good move for Carlos. Sunderland will make playoffs this yr, mark my word. If they dont get promoted this year, they will next season.

agree 100%
Post by: supporter on January 03, 2007, 01:21:07 PM
...altho carlos can easily be a starter in the prem in my opinion. But nothing is a given and you never know what couldve happened. At Sunderland he is in a great position for promotion playing for Keane and playing with Dwight.
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on January 03, 2007, 01:37:17 PM
congrats tuh de man i wish him all de bess  :beermug:
Post by: Brej on January 03, 2007, 02:30:32 PM
ah feel yorke just make him come so he could have the chance himself to play in the premiership again
Post by: triniairman on January 03, 2007, 02:37:58 PM
When Sunderland was in the pl man like KEVIN PHILLIPS use to light it up,use to be a quality striker,now it's time for Carlos to show his worth,i mean if you really look at it he's been moving to bigger clubs each time he moved. Wrexham he did well there Luton even better now Sunderland which to me is a bigger club than Luton and he will do well there too.
Post by: cowman on January 03, 2007, 03:53:08 PM
Welcome to the north east carlos even though i live in newcastle i will be down to support the breddas.
This is a boss move yuh make to a big club who will definitley be in the play off and with a serious chance of promotion.
Hopefully with carlos there Yorkie might wake up a bit as he has not been performing as we know he can.
canny move
that rights side go be cooking with ramco
Post by: Jahyouth on January 03, 2007, 03:57:54 PM
Great move by Carlos.  In this business where careers are so short, you grab chances as they arise.  Wait for Celtic and others nah?  See if he wouldn't still be in Luton.

With great and consistent performances who is to say that he still wouldn't be the subject of transfer rumours next January? 
Post by: 1989 on January 03, 2007, 06:23:37 PM

Blessings.

oh shut tuh f**k up nuh... Carlos eh no little boy he know very well wut he doin... yuh eh think he eh think this over thoroughly... buh wuh kinda chupidee yuh is boy... STEWPS.

Not only is this a needless response becuase Carlos know what he doin buh think ah de new sunderland fellahz on de board... we'd like to start a good relationship with them... this is a family forum. So stop actin like A.) Carlos is a fool and B.) like Sunderland is a sub standard club.
Jefferz take yuh head out of your father stink latrine nah - the content eh so fresh. 

Read the words in bold again idiot. Who said that he was a fool?  I said that I am disappointed.  The points that I've made are valid.  Keane will pressure Carlos to leave T&T.  Yorke DOES want another shot at the premiership - which IS why he encouraged Carlos to join. 

Point is, Sunderland might well make it to the Primiership, and remain at the bottom whole season.  Will that happen to Newcastle? Unlikely.

Again I did not see the Carlos' offers, but either way I am disappointed.  Having said that, as I've stated before, I wish Carlos the best.
Post by: Bourbon on January 03, 2007, 07:02:25 PM

Blessings.

Jefferz take yuh head out of your father stink latrine nah - the content eh so fresh. 

Read the words in bold again idiot. Who said that he was a fool?  I said that I am disappointed.  The points that I've made are valid.  Keane will pressure Carlos to leave T&T.  Yorke DOES want another shot at the premiership - which IS why he encouraged Carlos to join. 

Point is, Sunderland might well make it to the Primiership, and remain at the bottom whole season.  Will that happen to Newcastle? Unlikely.

Again I did not see the Carlos' offers, but either way I am disappointed.  Having said that, as I've stated before, I wish Carlos the best.

Arhmmm i could be missing something....buh i didnt hear about any confirmed offer from newcastle. Maybe you could put me on to the link or what ever cuz i cant remember hearing newcastle's name mentioned. Even if carlos wanted to go to newcastle......newcastle has to want carlos as well. The man made the choice that was best for him...and i believe all things considered that it would work out for the best. Newcastle wasnt in the equation...so newcastle couldnt have been part of the equation.
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2007, 07:16:52 PM

Blessings.

Arhmmm i could be missing something....buh i didnt hear about any confirmed offer from newcastle. Maybe you could put me on to the link or what ever cuz i cant remember hearing newcastle's name mentioned. Even if carlos wanted to go to newcastle......newcastle has to want carlos as well. The man made the choice that was best for him...and i believe all things considered that it would work out for the best. Newcastle wasnt in the equation...so newcastle couldnt have been part of the equation.

ENT. and tell me 1989... did Yorke Whisper in your ear his sole reason for coaxing Carlos into comming was so that he could go back into the Prem and inturn carelessly jeopardize Carlos loyalty to the socwarriors cuz Keane will keep him in England.

Get your head out of your ass and stop over analyzing.

You may think Carlos deserves alot better than Sunderland but he obviously doesnt.

Nobody made him go... he decided to go... but go ahead nuh... be as unaccommodating to our new Sunderland colleagues as you want.

stewps.
Post by: 1989 on January 03, 2007, 07:39:12 PM

Blessings.

ENT. and tell me 1989... did Yorke Whisper in your ear his sole reason for coaxing Carlos into comming was so that he could go back into the Prem and inturn carelessly jeopardize Carlos loyalty to the socwarriors cuz Keane will keep him in England.

You may think Carlos deserves alot better than Sunderland but he obviously doesnt.

Nobody made him go... he decided to go... but go ahead nuh... be as unaccommodating to our new Sunderland colleagues as you want.

stewps.

And like you under analyzing 'cuz it's still too dark in the deep latrine to read and understand.

I've said over and over, I did not see the Carlos' offers.  That does not mean that I am not to be disappointed.  And YES Carlos did say that Yorke encouraged him to join, but I guess that's just out of the altruistic goodness of Yorke's heart huh?

BTW
This has nothing to do with Sunderland Fans.  You over analyzing there.

Leaving all this, as I've said before, I still wish Carlos the best.
Post by: Jefferz on January 03, 2007, 07:52:46 PM

Blessings.

stewps.

And like you under analyzing 'cuz it's still too dark in the deep latrine to read and understand.

I've said over and over, I did not see the Carlos' offers.  That does not mean that I am not to be disappointed.  And YES Carlos did say that Yorke encouraged him to join, but I guess that's just out of the altruistic goodness of Yorke's heart huh?

BTW

Stewps... ok... lets run this over jackass... If you had any goddamn sense yuh might just find it perfectly normal that countryman and long time team mate will encourage you to come to play professional football with him... I know that may seem devious and conniving to you.. but most of it see it to be quite normal...

And yes of course it has something to do with the fans moron... I know if I was ah sunderland fan I would let you have it with all the shit about you being disappointed he goin to Sunderland... They have a huge fan base... a legend for a manager... solid investors and a team thats on the up not to mention... they already have a true trini legend playing there...

So YES it has something to do with the fans you sour bastard... and just telling Carlos i wish you the best isnt makin up for your irrational comments.

Alright Genius. Read dis over and tell me who soundin chupid.

Stewps. yuh takin ah conspiracy 101 online course awa??

Post by: Bourbon on January 03, 2007, 08:26:36 PM
I've said over and over, I did not see the Carlos' offers.  That does not mean that I am not to be disappointed.

So where exactly you wanted carlos to go given the fact that you eh see any of his offers? It isnt like Barcelona was ruthlessly pursuing the man to have cover for messi.....it eh like if SAF or Jose Mourinho come personally to de man door and beg him to play for them and he tell all ah dem hol dey mudders and went and sign for crab connection. The teams i heard were interested were Wigan, Charlton, Sunderland, Birmingham, and Celtic. Lets analyse them on an idividual basis:

Wigan: Seem doomed for a trip back down. Also Luton's bitter rivals. Would it be nice to make no real foward step and face fans that would be a bit displeased that you left them for a bitter rival? Hmmm....I dont know.

Charlton: Seems that the only reason wigan and charlton are in the Premier league is because they need somebody to come last. Thus charlton basically the same as a step to wigan...except different team. How much sense would that make? Hmmm....I dont know...I not carlos edwards

Celtic: Great chance of winning titles right through but the obvious gap in quality between the leaders and the chasing pack would not really be of the sort that would encourage a player to blossom. Plus the worry of breaking into the first team....moving to a new country....Sounds good but in the long term......does carlos want to risk being like SWP and have splinters imbedded on his backside from an extended spell on the bench?? I doh know....I not carlos edwards.

Birhmingham seems set to be promoted however with a gap like that it is possible that a general first team is already established. Enticing.....however given the same manager's treatment of a fellow countryman it might not be as sweet as it seems. Complacency also a factor due to the almost certain promotion possibility. Plausible choice though.

Sunderland: as quite rightly noted are a team with a large following....and a team who is making a definite charge for promotion. Great history....great fans.....and your beloved captain is there who can really help you during the crucial adjustment period and would be interested in your development.

When yuh look at it like that...is basically birhmingham or sunderland. That is when fringe factors come into play. Many times he has stated his gratitude to luton, so at least if leaving it would be nice to make sure they make the most of it. It would be nice to have a close collegue assisting you in your fitting in period......and it would be nice to experience the feeling of promotion against the odds, kinda like having one point from 3 games and still making a world cup. I dunno....i not carlos edwards....but what would you pick? I not vex with the man in the least. Is a upward move....and it shows possibilities of being sensible. All the best carlos. Now...since de ink done dry...de man done get he jersey....he even might get a sweat saturday coming....all who doh like it could lie on their backs...and choke on their own vomit. Dahs jus my view. Buh den again...i not carlos edwards.
Post by: StoreBayLimer on January 03, 2007, 08:38:13 PM
I am confused.

Agree with both posts.

In addition, I like the optimism of the Sunderland fans and I think that that optimism could be contagious.
I have been following the team a little bit, and now I am hoping that we get to see a lot more of Sunderland.
Post by: Cartman on January 04, 2007, 03:51:59 AM
I've said over and over, I did not see the Carlos' offers.  That does not mean that I am not to be disappointed.

So where exactly you wanted carlos to go given the fact that you eh see any of his offers? It isnt like Barcelona was ruthlessly pursuing the man to have cover for messi.....it eh like if SAF or Jose Mourinho come personally to de man door and beg him to play for them and he tell all ah dem hol dey mudders and went and sign for crab connection. The teams i heard were interested were Wigan, Charlton, Sunderland, Birmingham, and Celtic. Lets analyse them on an idividual basis:

Wigan: Seem doomed for a trip back down. Also Luton's bitter rivals. Would it be nice to make no real foward step and face fans that would be a bit displeased that you left them for a bitter rival? Hmmm....I dont know.

Charlton: Seems that the only reason wigan and charlton are in the Premier league is because they need somebody to come last. Thus charlton basically the same as a step to wigan...except different team. How much sense would that make? Hmmm....I dont know...I not carlos edwards

Celtic: Great chance of winning titles right through but the obvious gap in quality between the leaders and the chasing pack would not really be of the sort that would encourage a player to blossom. Plus the worry of breaking into the first team....moving to a new country....Sounds good but in the long term......does carlos want to risk being like SWP and have splinters imbedded on his backside from an extended spell on the bench?? I doh know....I not carlos edwards.

Birhmingham seems set to be promoted however with a gap like that it is possible that a general first team is already established. Enticing.....however given the same manager's treatment of a fellow countryman it might not be as sweet as it seems. Complacency also a factor due to the almost certain promotion possibility. Plausible choice though.

Sunderland: as quite rightly noted are a team with a large following....and a team who is making a definite charge for promotion. Great history....great fans.....and your beloved captain is there who can really help you during the crucial adjustment period and would be interested in your development.

When yuh look at it like that...is basically birhmingham or sunderland. That is when fringe factors come into play. Many times he has stated his gratitude to luton, so at least if leaving it would be nice to make sure they make the most of it. It would be nice to have a close collegue assisting you in your fitting in period......and it would be nice to experience the feeling of promotion against the odds, kinda like having one point from 3 games and still making a world cup. I dunno....i not carlos edwards....but what would you pick? I not vex with the man in the least. Is a upward move....and it shows possibilities of being sensible. All the best carlos. Now...since de ink done dry...de man done get he jersey....he even might get a sweat saturday coming....all who doh like it could lie on their backs...and choke on their own vomit. Dahs jus my view. Buh den again...i not carlos edwards.

What a fantastic post, given the choice between Sunderland and Birmingham IMHO there is only one choice, Sunderland. To be fair, Birmingham look certain to be promoted this season but they aree such an unfashionable club, there manager has no personality (also he is a Newcastle supporter) and they have very little money.

Sunderland may get promoted this season, if not next. We have a fabulous history and were once known as 'The Bank of England Club' as we were the richest club in the country at the time. We have recently fell on hard times but since Niall Quinn (our lord and master) has bought the club and brought Roy Keane in as manager we are a club on the up.

If the rumours are true, we have very wealthy people backing us and we will be to compete with the big boys in the transfer market if we get promoted.

Post by: ann3boys on January 04, 2007, 05:59:36 AM
Congrats to Carlos. This is a player that adds energy and excitement to every game he's in.
I have read some of the comments about good vs. bad move but at the end of the day, it's done and we must support his decision, and support his work.
I look forward to watching Carlos in action.
Happy New Year 2007!!
Post by: JDB on January 04, 2007, 06:20:31 AM
Agree with both posts.

In addition, I like the optimism of the Sunderland fans and I think that that optimism could be contagious.
I have been following the team a little bit, and now I am hoping that we get to see a lot more of Sunderland.

I am actually really pleased to see that the Sunderland fans have so much faith in Keane. I know that, based on results, he hasn't been bad but the media is just waiting for him to fail.

The fans who are watching the team week in and week out obviously notice that he is doing something good.
Post by: chinee boi on January 04, 2007, 07:02:29 AM

Blessings.

stewps.

BTW

Stewps... ok... lets run this over jackass... If you had any goddamn sense yuh might just find it perfectly normal that countryman and long time team mate will encourage you to come to play professional football with him... I know that may seem devious and conniving to you.. but most of it see it to be quite normal...

And yes of course it has something to do with the fans moron... I know if I was ah sunderland fan I would let you have it with all the shit about you being disappointed he goin to Sunderland... They have a huge fan base... a legend for a manager... solid investors and a team thats on the up not to mention... they already have a true trini legend playing there...

So YES it has something to do with the fans you sour bastard... and just telling Carlos i wish you the best isnt makin up for your irrational comments.

fellas and gyuls bring out yuh popcorn

Jefferz vs 1989  ;D
Post by: Eh! on January 04, 2007, 08:34:59 AM
I eh tryin to be confrontational eh, but all the talk about "Yorke make him..." is real caca hole ting.  Allyuh makin Carlos out to be a bobolee or wha?  Man feel Dwight sweat he rice (not a good picture) or someting oui.  Carlos is a Big Man!
Post by: E-man on January 04, 2007, 12:06:26 PM
Edwards explains Hatters exit
By: Clubcall

2007-01-04 09:33 

New Sunderland winger Carlos Edwards says he has no regrets about leaving Luton Town to join the Black Cats, as he felt it was time to move on.
The Trinidad and Tobago international has joined Sunderland for £1.4million, and it is thought international team-mate Dwight Yorke played a role in selling the club to the former Wrexham ace.

Edwards told his new club's website that he is glad to have moved on a further stage in his career:
"It was time for me to move on to better things, no disrespect to Luton Town. I am just looking to make the best of my opportunity here.

"Dwight has been at Manchester United and Aston Villa, but he told me he had never seen the facilities he has at Sunderland."

Edwards 'relishing' new challenge
By: BBC Sport

Sunderland's new signing Carlos Edwards has said that he is 'relishing' the chance to play for the club.
Edwards, 28, was signed from Luton for £1.5m, and the winger could feature in the FA Cup clash against Preston.

"Hopefully I'll play come Saturday, but if not, I'll just have to wait a bit longer," he told BBC Radio Newcastle.

"I'm coming to a club that has been places and knows what it is like to be in the top flight. It's time the club was back where it belongs."

Edwards joined Luton from Wrexham on a free in May 2005 and went on to make 74 appearances, scoring eight times.

He was heavily involved in Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup campaign last summer, playing in all three games against Sweden, England and Paraguay.

EDWARDS TARGETS PROMOTION
By Damian Spellman, PA Sport

Sunderland new boy Carlos Edwards has set his sights firmly on the Barclays Premiership after clinching a £1.5million move to the Stadium of Light.

The 28-year-old Trinidad and Tobago midfielder goes straight into the squad for Saturday's tough FA Cup third-round trip to Preston after making the switch from Luton this week, but with even bigger things in mind.

Edwards said: "It is most footballers' dream to play in the Premiership and I am at a club that will be going places.

"I took this opportunity because the club speaks volumes for itself. We have a great bunch of players and staff also, and hopefully they can get the best out of the players.

"I needed a change and I wanted a change, and I was coming to a club that will be going places.

"Hopefully at the end of this season, we will be in the Premiership and we can just go from strength to strength."

The Black Cats are 10th in the Coca-Cola Championship, three points off the play-off places, but former Wrexham winger Edwards admitted manager Roy Keane's ambition to move up was a major factor in his decision to head north.

He said: "With Roy Keane being the manager of Sunderland, I did not take me a split-second to accept the offer.

"It was the ideal thing, it was the first thing. He is a young manager who has been places and won things that most players have not even dreamt of winning.

"That had a big part to play. I could not refuse the opportunity of coming back up to the north to sign for Sunderland."

Keane was delighted to have landed one of his major targets within days of the opening of the transfer window, and is confident the newcomer, an international team-mate of Dwight Yorke, will plug a gap in his squad.

He said: "We have been looking out for players and trying to get players in the right position because I have had to chop and change a lot.

"I have been looking for somebody to play wide right who has an attacking ability, and Carlos came to mind.

"We have had him watched and he played up here a couple of weeks ago. Dwight Yorke spoke kindly of him and we are delighted to get him and delighted to get him so early as well in the transfer window."

Edwards' arrival was followed swiftly by that of 19-year-old Manchester United central defender Jonny Evans, who has joined the club on loan until the end of the season. However, hopes that he could be followed by right-back Phil Bardsley, 21, appear to be receding.

Keane said: "The longer it goes on, the more you get worried, but we have put a good offer to him and if he accepts it, well and good, I will be delighted. If not, then life goes on and I wish him well."

However, the Black Cats received a setback today, with the news Graham Kavanagh will be out of action for up to 10 weeks after undergoing another knee operation.

Keane told the club's official website, www.safc.com: "It will rule him out for possibly nine or 10 weeks, as long as that.

"Kav has got to learn from it. He probably pushed himself too hard from the previous injury. He's got to learn to give his body time to recover, he's paying for it now.

"I had a feeling he would need the operation - he had one or two tweaks recently.

"He was in the squad against Preston and he felt it in the warm-up. We just thought 'right, let's go and get it sorted'."

The 33-year-old signing from Wigan underwent a knee cartilage operation in September, which sidelined him for five weeks.

Post by: Jefferz on January 04, 2007, 12:54:18 PM
stewps. right well said Carlos.
Post by: Pointman on January 04, 2007, 02:32:24 PM
All the best Carlos...make that money son!!!!!!
Post by: spideybuff on January 04, 2007, 02:41:48 PM
He get a squad number yet?
Post by: Pointman on January 04, 2007, 02:43:28 PM

Post by: Jefferz on January 04, 2007, 03:17:11 PM

serious??
Post by: Pointman on January 04, 2007, 03:18:02 PM

serious??

:rotfl: :rotfl: I on kicks dred... :rotfl:  sorry
Post by: Jefferz on January 04, 2007, 03:28:37 PM

serious??

:rotfl: :rotfl: I on kicks dred... :rotfl:  sorry

ah yuh shitong! yuh catch meh!
Post by: 1989 on January 04, 2007, 06:28:30 PM

Blessings.

stewps.

BTW

Your grandfather must be sitting on your face.  So Yorke just wants Carlos to come and play football because he is an international teammate?  Regardless of the options in front of Carlos, Yorke would have done the same as long as Sunderland was on the tabe, and it is NOT because of some fren-fren thing as you are only able to see from your vantage point.

You also don't seem to be able to separate a statement of disappointment from a none-the-less wish of well being. 

And Sunderland fans?  So because I am disappointed as were others in this thread, that's an attack on Sunderland fans? 

Jefferz you are a classic overreating simple individual.
Post by: Jefferz on January 04, 2007, 11:09:15 PM

Blessings.

stewps.

BTW

Your grandfather must be sitting on your face.  So Yorke just wants Carlos to come and play football because he is an international teammate?  Regardless of the options in front of Carlos, Yorke would have done the same as long as Sunderland was on the tabe, and it is NOT because of some fren-fren thing as you are only able to see from your vantage point.

You also don't seem to be able to separate a statement of disappointment from a none-the-less wish of well being. 

And Sunderland fans?  So because I am disappointed as were others in this thread, that's an attack on Sunderland fans? 

No asshole... My Grandfathers are dead. One died from Parkinson's Disease and the other was shot 6 times and then beaten over the end with a gun.

But say what... yuh right.. Carlos was stupidly pulled into Yorke pathetic selfish scheme and now has no chance of making Premiership football... We really should have someone like you negotiating his deals cuz obviously he just doesnt have the common sense to do it on his own...

oh... and by the way... sorry that I was the one overreacting and not YOU...

and this has nothing to do with me not recognizing you saying none-the-less wish of well being... I recognize you saying that well but that doesnt have anything to do with what we're really arguing about... this is you stating your opinion that Sunderland is a bad choice and Yorke being of impure intention... and me disagreeing... then us... having the subsequent argument...

And f**k it then... hey Sunderland fans piss off, Carlos is deserves better than your team... does that help?
Post by: Cartman on January 05, 2007, 01:04:16 AM

Blessings.

stewps.

BTW

No asshole... My Grandfathers are dead. One died from Parkinson's Disease and the other was shot 6 times and then beaten over the end with a gun.

But say what... yuh right.. Carlos was stupidly pulled into Yorke pathetic selfish scheme and now has no chance of making Premiership football... We really should have someone like you negotiating his deals cuz obviously he just doesnt have the common sense to do it on his own...

oh... and by the way... sorry that I was the one overreacting and not YOU...

and this has nothing to do with me not recognizing you saying none-the-less wish of well being... I recognize you saying that well but that doesnt have anything to do with what we're really arguing about... this is you stating your opinion that Sunderland is a bad choice and Yorke being of impure intention... and me disagreeing... then us... having the subsequent argument...

And f**k it then... hey Sunderland fans piss off, Carlos is deserves better than your team... does that help?

Only time will tell my if he has made the wrong decision and if he is as good as you guys say and we dont not get promoted then I am sure he will be looking to move on. I think the move will be great for him tbh, playing in front of 40,000 vocal fans in one of the best stadiums in the world but hey, life is all about opinions  ;D
Post by: dcs on January 05, 2007, 01:51:40 AM

The facilities, fan base and personnel seem very very attractive.  I'm sure he will enjoy playing there.  Hopefully he cud help Yorke out a little.
Wudn't mind seeing some Sunderland games now....maybe Sunderland vs Coventry (or Birmingham  :thinking: )

Luton fall off bad...so what going and happen now they sell one of their better players?
Title: Pics of Carlos in training
Post by: Tallman on January 05, 2007, 07:31:31 AM
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jan_07/safc_1167914901_carlos-edwards.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jan_07/safc_1167914989_carlos-edwards6.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jan_07/safc_1167914919_carlos-edwards2.jpg)
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jan_07/safc_1167914943_carlos-edwards4.jpg)
Post by: andre samuel on January 05, 2007, 07:44:03 AM
number 3 it is!!

Post by: dreamer on January 05, 2007, 08:49:03 AM
Yeah Carlos, yuh looking well settled and happy. Jess geh in those crosses nice low and hard, ress dong a few dribble and beats to create a few oohs and ahhs and take a few shots and track back on de wing with some good slide tackle  and yuh good to go. 40,000 go be singing yuh name. When Yorkie see dat, he's going to lift his game to be part of de action and he will sneek up to try a few headers
Post by: E-man on January 05, 2007, 11:02:39 AM
Q&A for Carlos.

Sunderland site is asking for questions to ask him:

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11401
Post by: Flex on January 05, 2007, 11:06:42 AM
number 3 it is!!

Carlos is number 7 (http://www.safc.com/team/?page_id=2623&player_id=155)
Post by: Themanfriday on January 05, 2007, 11:09:01 AM
I like trouble so you know a pose a trick question controversy
Post by: Jefferz on January 05, 2007, 11:28:19 AM
number 3 it is!!

Carlos is number 7 (http://www.safc.com/team/?page_id=2623&player_id=155)

right. thats more like it.
Post by: Peong on January 05, 2007, 12:09:06 PM
Tallman where is the page you got those pics from?
Post by: trinbago on January 05, 2007, 12:13:31 PM
(http://www.safc.com/uploads/images/jan_07/safc_1167914989_carlos-edwards6.jpg)

Niceness !!!
Post by: spideybuff on January 05, 2007, 01:06:47 PM
With all the men Keane sell I knew it had to have a decent number available. I taking a wild guess that Dwight choose 34 to show his age.
Post by: 1989 on January 06, 2007, 05:46:25 PM

Blessings.

stewps.

BTW

Actually, Jefferz, this has nothing to do with that.  It has everything with the first six words of your first response.
But say what... I'm done.
Post by: trinbago on January 07, 2007, 11:45:38 AM
Carlos Edwards part of Sunderand’s strategy

By Jovan Ravello

Mike Berry, director Imageview Management Limited of Manchester, England and a registered Fifa player representative, has said that of the several clubs interested in T&T midfielder Carlos Edwards, Sunderland, and in particular Roy Keane, “put their money where their mouth is.”

“There was a great deal of interest in Carlos, but they (Sunderland) were swift with their bid and persuaded him to sign with them after talks with Keane.”

The T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) Consultant for International Affairs, communicating through e-mail with G-Sport, gave some insight into the makings of the EURO 1.5 million deal.

“They convinced us that they mean business in their attempt to get back to the Premiership, where they belong,” said Berry, who has been representing Edwards since the player was 19 years old.

“Keane, during a lengthy meeting, convinced Carlos that he was determined to get the club up (to the Premiership) sooner, rather than later, and had actually had a great reference from Sir Alex Ferguson, who had watched him many times at Wrexham when watching his son Darren, on his talent and ability,” Berry related.

“After being shown around the magnificent Stadium of Light and the training facilities at The Academy of Light, Carlos was greatly impressed,” Berry related “and a personal chat with the chairman, Niall Quinn, left him in no doubt that “The Black Cats” genuinely wanted him as an integral part of their Promotion Strategy.”

Nicknamed “Keano”, the controversial ex-captain of Manchester United and former Irish international, took the reins at Sunderland from Quinn, the then acting manager, and immediately signed six players, including T&T captain Dwight Yorke on the final day of the August 2006 transfer window.

Edwards became Keane’s seventh signing on Tuesday, according to Berry; “after he had tracked him (Edwards) since the World Cup.”

It was also revealed that Edwards would play as an orthodox right winger to give the team an option that is crucial to their quest for promotion, after finishing dead-bottom of the table and being relegated from the Premiership at the end of the 2005-2006 season under the stewardship of Mick McCarthy.

Between 1890 and 1940 the cub won the then English First Division title six times.

They first played in the Premiership in 1996-1997, were relegated on the last day of that season, returned in 1999 and finished seventh in the next two seasons.

The club was again relegated from the Premiership in 2003 with a record low of four wins, 21 goals and 19 points, before returning to the top flight in 2005.

“Sunderland is a sleeping giant of a club with fantastic supporters,” Berry said “and we were made extremely welcome on our visit and during the negotiations.

“Carlos has worked very hard to establish himself as one of the best wide men in English football and deserves this chance to show off his skills and talent with a big club.

“He is very happy with the move and, I am sure, the Sunderland fans will take to his exciting style of play and give him a big welcome when he makes his debut for them.”

Berry believes that his charge has what it takes to succeed at the Coca-Cola English Championship level “and continue spreading the gospel of T&T football in the UK, which will inevitably create more interest in the Soca Warriors.”

Edwards began his career with Patna United, before moving on to Queen’s Park then Defence Force. He made the jump over the pond to Wrexham from 2000-2005, where he played 165 matches and scored 23 goals, then to Luton Town, with whom he played 68 matches from 2005, scoring on eighth occasions before his latest move.

He will start training today in preparation for the third round FA Cup tie at Preston North End on Saturday and has been given his favourite No. 7 shirt at the club whose Latin motto “Consectatio Excellentiae,” means “In pursuit of excellence.”
Post by: dreamer on January 07, 2007, 11:58:04 AM
Good article 'Bago. I hope Carlos can handle the pressure as the expectations are getting very big now. He has a mature mindset and approach to life and challenges. Remember when he lick up his knee at Wrexham. Dat could have finished many a player. I was not sure then that he would be the same again. Well he got better even though he ripped up his cruciates. Amazing.
Post by: SUPA on January 07, 2007, 02:58:02 PM
Yuh yaping to much SUPA..... I rather Carlos be on his way up than his way down. Who else except Watford who really wanted him. ? No one made an official bid, all was rumours and speculations.

And what if Sunderland does make it into the Premiership what will you say then ?

Its not like Man U or Arsenal wanted him and he turn them down to go to Sunderland.

No other team made an official big, none, Newcastle was not interested. He is Premiership quality, however only Sunderland stepped up...

Ah promise not tuh come back on dis thread, but when some punk like you Sam dis de order ah have tuh fire. Doh be ah f*****g ass and show it on de forum nah, we entitled 2 our opinion, just like any other individual. So what if dey make it back tuh de EPL, Luton, Birmingham and other teams cud make it 2, it is all possibilities a** hole, read we f*****g posts and dem before yuh jump in de mix, and open up yuh c*** nah. We will always support Carlos doh matter what team he go 2, but ah will also show meh disappointment of him not going tuh de EPL. You know all de teams dat made official offers fuh Carlos, ah guess yuh is ah f*****g agent. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: trinbago on January 07, 2007, 11:15:21 PM

Ah promise not tuh come back on dis thread, but when some punk like you Sam dis de order ah have tuh fire. Doh be ah f*****g ass and show it on de forum nah, we entitled 2 our opinion, just like any other individual. So what if dey make it back tuh de EPL, Luton, Birmingham and other teams cud make it 2, it is all possibilities a** hole, read we f*****g posts and dem before yuh jump in de mix, and open up yuh c*** nah. We will always support Carlos doh matter what team he go 2, but ah will also show meh disappointment of him not going tuh de EPL. You know all de teams dat made official offers fuh Carlos, ah guess yuh is ah f*****g agent. HIGHLY BLESSED.

:rotfl: :rotfl:   Supa.....yuh eh easy breds!!
Post by: Gretzky on January 08, 2007, 05:45:54 AM

::)  :rotfl: you really don't know much about the history of the club he's just signed for do you?

no offence intended mate.
Post by: Grande on January 08, 2007, 12:47:13 PM
Sunderland also signed Anthony Stokes from Arsenal, who was on loan at Falkirk and a huge reason why they made such strides in the SPL (with Latas' assists and creativity). From what I see and his goalscoring record in the SPL, he should be a welcome addition to the Sunderland forward line.

All the best to Falkirk though, hopefully their other strikers can keep the momentum going.
Post by: ann3boys on January 08, 2007, 01:05:08 PM
after all the ole talk, did carlos get to play yesterday? I didn't get a chance to watch any matches.
Post by: Jayerson on January 08, 2007, 01:22:37 PM
Sunderland also signed Anthony Stokes from Arsenal, who was on loan at Falkirk and a huge reason why they made such strides in the SPL (with Latas' assists and creativity). From what I see and his goalscoring record in the SPL, he should be a welcome addition to the Sunderland forward line.

All the best to Falkirk though, hopefully their other strikers can keep the momentum going.

Stoke really gone to Sunderland  :o . Keane really doing some wheeling and dealing. He was mashimg up the SPL, which is even more significant considering he was playing for Falkirk.
Post by: Grande on January 08, 2007, 01:29:19 PM

Stoke really gone to Sunderland  :o . Keane really doing some wheeling and dealing. He was mashimg up the SPL, which is even more significant considering he was playing for Falkirk.

Yeah de youth sign a 2-year contract with Sunderland. He is a real good finisher

Makes me feel better about the team
Post by: Jefferz on January 08, 2007, 01:33:01 PM

::)  :rotfl: you really don't know much about the history of the club he's just signed for do you?

Pardon him... he really eh know the history indepth.
Post by: ckhan on January 08, 2007, 02:29:13 PM
As it stands, Stokes, who turn down a couple of sides (Celtic included), is in Sunderland.  I read somewhere that he buss net 16 times in 18 games with Falkirk...this Sunderland side looking to make moves, good luck Carlos.

Post by: SUPA on January 08, 2007, 05:38:07 PM

Yuh approach de Enterprise wid respect, and we will respond wid respect boss. Gretzky, tuh be honest ah don't know a lot of history about Sunderland, I have been looking at de EPL fuh ah long time, so I know ah few of Sunderland's past big players, and I know dey were one of  de top teams in England. I'm learning more each day when de supporters join de forum and post. Boss ah would like yuh tuh understand meh, de Enterprise never disrespected Sunderland and will never do so. We have more sense dan dat, dat would be very stupid anyway, especially now where there are 2 Trinis making ah living at de club. It doesn't matter if it is Sunderland, Birmingham, Preston, we just wanted de bredda in de EPL, everybody know he is ready fuh dat league, when you are a true supporter, yuh always want de best fuh yuh players and country. Nothing in life is guaranteed, we will all hope Sunderland get promoted, but we all know dat a team would need de right mix of players, dey must play as ah team, yuh need ah manager making de right decisions and of course some luck tuh move forward. I'm just concerned dat if things don't go according tuh Sunderland plans, and Carlos don't get to use his talent in ah top league. We have tuh remember his age, if he was 20,21,22 years old, then he would have ah lot years ahead of him to make changes. Ah hope all is clear now and people stop getting de wrong impression  8) HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Quags on January 08, 2007, 06:06:45 PM

Yuh approach de Enterprise wid respect, and we will respond wid respect boss. Gretzky, tuh be honest ah don't know a lot of history about Sunderland, I have been looking at de EPL fuh ah long time, so I know ah few of Sunderland's past big players, and I know dey were one of  de top teams in England. I'm learning more each day when de supporters join de forum and post. Boss ah would like yuh tuh understand meh, de Enterprise never disrespected Sunderland and will never do so. We have more sense dan dat, dat would be very stupid anyway, especially now where there are 2 Trinis making ah living at de club. It doesn't matter if it is Sunderland, Birmingham, Preston, we just wanted de bredda in de EPL, everybody know he is ready fuh dat league, when you are a true supporter, yuh always want de best fuh yuh players and country. Nothing in life is guaranteed, we will all hope Sunderland get promoted, but we all know dat a team would need de right mix of players, dey must play as ah team, yuh need ah manager making de right decisions and of course some luck tuh move forward. I'm just concerned dat if things don't go according tuh Sunderland plans, and Carlos don't get to use his talent in ah top league. We have tuh remember his age, if he was 20,21,22 years old, then he would have ah lot years ahead of him to make changes Ah hope all is clear now and people stop getting de wrong impression  8) HIGHLY BLESSED.
I think you stated properly now supa ,even tho I knew exactly what you meant from the beginning .U just would have liked if he when straight to the EPL daiz all . :beermug:
Post by: SUPA on January 08, 2007, 06:17:51 PM

Pardon him... he really eh know the history indepth.

Jefferz, we know ah few things about de club, but you are right, we don't know de history in-depth. Ah wouldn't go in tuh ah long talk, but just read meh post dat ah responded tuh Gretzky, and yuh would realise even if we did know an in-depth history of de club, dat would not have made ah difference wid how we felt. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on January 08, 2007, 06:26:03 PM

Yuh approach de Enterprise wid respect, and we will respond wid respect boss. Gretzky, tuh be honest ah don't know a lot of history about Sunderland, I have been looking at de EPL fuh ah long time, so I know ah few of Sunderland's past big players, and I know dey were one of  de top teams in England. I'm learning more each day when de supporters join de forum and post. Boss ah would like yuh tuh understand meh, de Enterprise never disrespected Sunderland and will never do so. We have more sense dan dat, dat would be very stupid anyway, especially now where there are 2 Trinis making ah living at de club. It doesn't matter if it is Sunderland, Birmingham, Preston, we just wanted de bredda in de EPL, everybody know he is ready fuh dat league, when you are a true supporter, yuh always want de best fuh yuh players and country. Nothing in life is guaranteed, we will all hope Sunderland get promoted, but we all know dat a team would need de right mix of players, dey must play as ah team, yuh need ah manager making de right decisions and of course some luck tuh move forward. I'm just concerned dat if things don't go according tuh Sunderland plans, and Carlos don't get to use his talent in ah top league. We have tuh remember his age, if he was 20,21,22 years old, then he would have ah lot years ahead of him to make changes Ah hope all is clear now and people stop getting de wrong impression  8) HIGHLY BLESSED.
I think you stated properly now supa ,even tho I knew exactly what you meant from the beginning .U just would have liked if he when straight to the EPL daiz all . :beermug:

:beermug: Yeh star, as it is right now de bredda stand ah chance tuh be in de EPL, if it was de other way around he would be sweating fuh sure in de EPL and dat would do us all de good, come when de WCQ start. Give thanks still, and we will hope things work out fuh him and de rest of Sunderland. HIGHLY BLESSED .
Post by: lickslikefire on January 08, 2007, 09:34:08 PM

Yeah de youth sign a 2-year contract with Sunderland. He is a real good finisher

Makes me feel better about the team
Arsene Wenger is a mad man.  Stokes is only 18, and he's pure class.  I can't wait for him to mash up de Championship.  I have a Irish padna who talking about dis man for de last 2 years....lol

Sunderland looking in good shape  :beermug:
Post by: Flex on January 24, 2007, 06:56:25 AM
Carlos Edwards sale is justified to fans.
By: The Journal (Newcastle.co.uk).

Luton Town's board have hit back at suggestions the club lacks ambition following the sale of Carlos Edwards and Rowan Vine to Sunderland and Birmingham respectively. Some Hatters fans vented their fury over the departures during Saturday's 2-0 Coca-Cola Championship home defeat to Barnsley.
Chants of "Where's the money gone?" rang out around the ground from disgruntled fans keen to make their anger known.
And keen to avoid a repeat in tonight's rearranged FA Cup third round replay against London rivals QPR, the board, led by chairman Bill Tomlins, released a statement.
It read: "At no time have we wanted to sell any players or put pressure on our management to do so.
"The simple facts are that, in the modern game, external influences play a key part in determining players' futures.
"In both cases we had offers for the players concerned, which are first given to our manager to determine if they meet his valuation.
"The initial offers were turned down for the very reasons given, that we did not want to sell and in any event the prices offered were not acceptable.
"In both cases further offers followed and, as we all know from the various reports in the national Press, other people - external to the club - were trying to influence the outcome at the same time.
"We then have the modern day dilemma, the prices being offered meeting the manager's valuation and the players are informed accordingly. Thereafter, it is very much in the hands of the player and his agent."
The statement continued: "We fully understand and share our fans' passion for Luton Town FC to be in a position to compete in the Premiership.
"However, we all have to be realistic as to where we have recently come from, the economics of the business and where we all want to go. As a board we won't jeopardise the club's future."
The club's financial plight would not have been helped by the postponement of the original third-round replay between the two sides last week. But the coffers could be swelled substantially if they beat Rangers tonight. A televised fourth-round home clash against Blackburn awaits the winners and both will be eager for the extra revenue.
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 29, 2007, 08:48:41 AM

You Still Wiping your tears or looking forward to august  ???  ;D

OH REAAAAAAALLLLLLY

That sucks  :-\

Really? YET you found yourself at Sunderland a month ago  ;D Now you'll be able to say you were there Promo Season  ;D

Take is from a Person who follows Championship, You cannot assume Sunderland are definatley not getting promotion. The Championship is a very very FUNNY Like 3 wins & your back in the play-off mix again.
Study that table again

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

In my opinion, i think that Sunderland was paying Luton the most money and was paying Carlos the highest wages.

Go Sunderland!!

I don't think he was hasty  ;D But I'm sure you love it now  ;D

Dctrini, BIG, BIG RESPECT BOSS, fuh yuh post, short and straight in de heart . Ah bunch ah people here, dey just being 2 face, dey typing ah set ah long speech tuh look good. We doh wah hear dat s**t, about de possibilities of him moving up now or when he reach 40years old, or de team chances in de play offs and all dat nonsense. IF all yuh want tuh think like dat, it have a lot ah games still, go and draw up all de possibilities and Luton have ah chance 2, so ah doh  see all yuh point. All yuh missing de point, read dctrini short post, it is de straight up truth, "who wanted tuh see Carlos at Sunderland, we want our players in de EPL" We wish him all de best, and we all know de chances Sunderland and de other teams getting promoted, but de point is people disappointed. De thread about Carlos was up fuh ah while now, why if all yuh know so much, all yuh should of post all yuh thing before, everybody posts about where is better fuh him 2 sweat. Today "KNOWER" and dem want tuh act like it is cool fuh him tuh be at Sunderland, well it is not, he will get our love and support still, but de EPL is de real deal. Jones and Stern, dey got some descent sweat in de EPL wid dey teams, ah wouldn't mention Yorke in dis, cuz he was already turning up people in de EPL, wid Villa. So how de 2 previously mentioned players get sweat, but  Carlos wouldn't get some games  ??? All yuh good yes. I is ah supporter tuh meh heart, and ah damn disappointed, straight up like dat. Again, ah know how some ah all yuh soft, so doh take dis personal, we just frustrated and disappointed, so we bringing it out.  ;) HIGHLY BLESSED.

You Stay Diasppointed...

My Work is done here  ;D
Post by: krsrd on April 29, 2007, 08:54:24 AM
 ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: Themanfriday on April 29, 2007, 09:02:41 AM

OH REAAAAAAALLLLLLY

Really? YET you found yourself at Sunderland a month ago  ;D Now you'll be able to say you were there Promo Season  ;D

Study that table again

Go Sunderland!!

Dctrini, BIG, BIG RESPECT BOSS, fuh yuh post, short and straight in de heart . Ah bunch ah people here, dey just being 2 face, dey typing ah set ah long speech tuh look good. We doh wah hear dat s**t, about de possibilities of him moving up now or when he reach 40years old, or de team chances in de play offs and all dat nonsense. IF all yuh want tuh think like dat, it have a lot ah games still, go and draw up all de possibilities and Luton have ah chance 2, so ah doh  see all yuh point. All yuh missing de point, read dctrini short post, it is de straight up truth, "who wanted tuh see Carlos at Sunderland, we want our players in de EPL" We wish him all de best, and we all know de chances Sunderland and de other teams getting promoted, but de point is people disappointed. De thread about Carlos was up fuh ah while now, why if all yuh know so much, all yuh should of post all yuh thing before, everybody posts about where is better fuh him 2 sweat. Today "KNOWER" and dem want tuh act like it is cool fuh him tuh be at Sunderland, well it is not, he will get our love and support still, but de EPL is de real deal. Jones and Stern, dey got some descent sweat in de EPL wid dey teams, ah wouldn't mention Yorke in dis, cuz he was already turning up people in de EPL, wid Villa. So how de 2 previously mentioned players get sweat, but  Carlos wouldn't get some games  ??? All yuh good yes. I is ah supporter tuh meh heart, and ah damn disappointed, straight up like dat. Again, ah know how some ah all yuh soft, so doh take dis personal, we just frustrated and disappointed, so we bringing it out.  ;) HIGHLY BLESSED.

You Stay Diasppointed...

My Work is done here  ;D

Okay, but also remember I was de one that said Sunderland would finish Secound this season and I said that like a week after carlos went there
Post by: G Force on April 29, 2007, 09:07:13 AM
We tried to tell you months ago that Sunderland is class  ;)

Happy days  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 29, 2007, 09:07:28 AM
Mr Friday I'm playing  ;D
Post by: lickslikefire on April 29, 2007, 09:08:55 AM
Okay, but also remember I was de one that said Sunderland would finish Secound this season and I said that like a week after carlos went there

de man joking...

but yuh could be wrong about dat too depending on next week  ;D
Post by: D.H.W on April 29, 2007, 09:29:53 AM

God is de BOSS...
  :devil: :devil: look at tht eh  ;D
Post by: JDB on April 29, 2007, 09:37:24 AM
Allyuh putting men on blast for they ignorance about Sunderland.

The promotion is vindication for the man's choice though.

Big club, great fans, ambitious management.

Imagine if he had chosen Watford.
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 29, 2007, 09:46:30 AM

It was all jokes but if you wish to moan about it go ahead.

At the same time people were telling them different and giving reasons why.
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 29, 2007, 09:48:14 AM

God is de BOSS...
  :devil: :devil: look at tht eh  ;D

Edit: Let's make that bigger and bolder  ;D
Post by: Warrior till death on April 29, 2007, 10:16:32 AM
quote author=TrinInfinite link=topic=23860.msg257593#msg257593 date=1167761256]
[/b]  [/color]
Man give up epl and celtic for sunderland, real stupid move if yuh ask me..[/size]

Post by: JDB on April 29, 2007, 10:42:06 AM

It was all jokes but if you wish to moan about it go ahead.

At the same time people were telling them different and giving reasons why.

Where you see a moan man?

I was one of those very happy with his decision.
Post by: Grande on April 29, 2007, 11:08:44 AM
I was one of the doubters on Sunderland too, I eh shame...I was hopin every day that 'los would make de move to Watford

but look at them now, and look where Sunderland headed. Watching Carlos and Yorke make the move a few months a go, it was a lesson for me to see things according to one's personal situation and in the long haul as well

I was a Sunderland waggonist...now safe to say I am a Sunderland diehard
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2007, 11:20:45 AM
Carib-Briton yuh is ah bacchanalist fuh true  ;D
anwyay ah did buy meh Sunderland jersey 2 weeks before de man move..cause it was cheap lol
Post by: Pointman on April 29, 2007, 11:48:54 AM

OH REAAAAAAALLLLLLY

Study that table again

Go Sunderland!!

You Stay Diasppointed...

My Work is done here  ;D

No Fair Carib ;D  this is below de belt ;D
Post by: StoreBayLimer on April 29, 2007, 02:21:45 PM
;D  ;D  ;D

So Subtle
Post by: dreamer on April 29, 2007, 02:28:00 PM
;D  ;D  ;D

So Subtle

Borse work Storebay. Jus' shows de kinda reckless talk daiz go on to put a spoke in people wheel. All forgiven now  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on April 29, 2007, 02:38:21 PM

One thing that all you lads have to Remember is that we have some of the worlds BEST CHESTERFIELD managers  ;D ;D right here on this site and they know what is best for Carlos, is just that they have not convinced Carlos of that yet   ;D ;D

may I take this opportunity to pat myself on the back ;D ;D

is times like this that the REAL football people show their TRUE colours, and are shown for what they really are
One set ah HOT AIR!!!
they just could not be happy for the man and hope for the best.
take note for the future people
Thanks

rant over...(I learned this from the Sunderland Forum) ;D ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on April 29, 2007, 04:49:16 PM
Yes West Coast boy.....take a bow..... :notworthy: :notworthy:

Carlos in de EPL....never mnd he take de long way round.... ;D  :beermug:
Post by: Gretzky on April 30, 2007, 06:41:34 AM

One thing that all you lads have to Remember is that we have some of the worlds BEST CHESTERFIELD managers  ;D ;D right here on this site and they know what is best for Carlos, is just that they have not convinced Carlos of that yet   ;D ;D

may I take this opportunity to pat myself on the back ;D ;D

is times like this that the REAL football people show their TRUE colours, and are shown for what they really are
One set ah HOT AIR!!!
they just could not be happy for the man and hope for the best.
take note for the future people
Thanks

rant over...(I learned this from the Sunderland Forum) ;D ;D

hey west coast, when i mentioned this thread recently you said "let sleeping dogs lay"  ;)

Post by: WestCoast on April 30, 2007, 07:07:38 AM
hey west coast, when i mentioned this thread recently you said "let sleeping dogs lay"  ;)
you could have gone the whole week without saying that, I am trying to be a hard ass here man ;D ;D
Post by: Weh-it-is on May 01, 2007, 02:16:44 PM
Wheyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Carlos making nuff people eat their words. :)
Post by: onegaryrowell on May 11, 2007, 09:07:48 AM
Too true mate, what about Sunderland now!  saw some of your earlier posters saying he;d made the wrong decision the man knew what he was doing we are going places.
P.S. you got any more geniuses like him you know where to send them.

Come on you reds
Post by: andre samuel on May 11, 2007, 12:30:49 PM

Go Sunderland!!

I still stand by what i said.......i am happy that it worked out now, but i just thought that it was strange that of all the apparent interest in him, he chose to sign with a club on the first or second day of the transfer window!

but i want u to note that i didnt hate on the decision, in fact i still supported his move.........so doh include my name on dat list of men who have to eat their words  :-[.

I still had ah GO Sunderland at de bottom of my post!!

ah love it!!  ;D
Post by: Cartman on May 11, 2007, 02:40:37 PM
you could have gone the whole week without saying that, I am trying to be a hard ass here man ;D ;D

You a F*cking hard ass  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: onegaryrowell on May 12, 2007, 07:54:37 AM
Nice one marra looking forward to seeing Carlos in the prem , think he@ll be a revelation
Keep the faith!

F.T.M.
Post by: Jahyouth on August 26, 2007, 09:23:00 PM
This is an interestingthread to ressurect.  Look how men who is talk big was dead wrong on Carlos' move to Sunderland.  TI, Quagmire, DCTrini, Grande... whey allyuh!  Allyuh check page 1 of the thread
Post by: WestCoast on August 26, 2007, 09:27:56 PM
allya couldnt  "let sleeping  agouti lie" eh

one set ah big men going and have to eat their words :devil:
Post by: Jahyouth on August 26, 2007, 09:28:31 PM
Great move by Carlos.  In this business where careers are so short, you grab chances as they arise.  Wait for Celtic and others nah?  See if he wouldn't still be in Luton.

With great and consistent performances who is to say that he still wouldn't be the subject of transfer rumours next January? 

What foresight (if I say so myself).  Big up Carlos.  lol  Watch how allyuh posting eh... shit yuh talk in the past can and will be brought against you!
Post by: Quags on August 26, 2007, 10:38:45 PM
This is an interestingthread to ressurect. 
I highly doubt that
Steuppsssssssssssss
???
whey u being for the last two days homefry  lol . You trying to make me look like a master prognosticator yo .Like I said ,It was a shit side then and is ah shit side now ,hope jones don t go there  ::)