May 03, 2024, 04:35:49 PM

Author Topic: Asian "Shevchenko" eyes history for Bahrain  (Read 6281 times)

Asian "Shevchenko" eyes history for Bahrain
« on: November 09, 2005, 10:22:14 PM »
Asian "Shevchenko" eyes history for Bahrain

By Nazvi Careem

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 10 (Reuters) - When Aala Hubail turned up at a news conference during the Asian Cup in China last year, the waiting reporters were not very happy to see him.

The journalists wanted his brother Mohamed who had impressed them with two goals for Bahrain in the opening two matches of the tournament. Instead, they got Aala who awkwardly answered questions about his younger brother rather than himself.

ADVERTISEMENT

By the end of the tournament though it was the reporters who felt awkward and embarrassed.

For it was Aala Hubail who went on to score five goals at the Asian Cup and finish joint top scorer in the competition as Bahrain reached the semi-finals.

His performance prompted then-Bahrain coach Srecko Juricic to describe the 1.70-metre player as the "Andriy Shevchenko" of Asian football and Hubail has been attempting to live up to that accolade ever since.

The 23-year-old is now recognised as one of Asia's top strikers and will play a key role for Bahrain against Trinidad and Tobago home and away in the final stages of their World Cup qualifying campaign.

"He is a very important player for us," said Bahrain coach Luka Peruzovic, whose team face Trinidad in Port of Spain on Saturday in the first leg.

KNEE INJURY

Hubail, who has scored five goals in the qualifiers despite sitting out seven months of the competition with a knee cartilage injury, returned to the side for the second leg of the Asian play-off against Uzbekistan last month.

Although he failed to make an impact in that match, Hubail showed he had rediscovered his form with two goals for his Qatari club Al Gharafa in the 2-2 draw against Al Rayyan at the weekend.

"I'm 100 per cent fit and ready to play all 180 minutes against Trinidad and Tobago," Hubail told reporters after the Bahrain side arrived in the Caribbean.

Hubail, who made the Asian Football Confederation's All-Star team in 2004, has been with the national set-up since June 2003 after impressing Juricic.

The Croatian, who suddenly quit Bahrain in the middle of their World Cup qualifying campaign, said at the time that Hubail, despite his small stature, was good enough to play for a top European club.

"He is a must for the national team to win matches," said Juricic. "I really believe he would be a success on the continental stage. He is strong, fast and lethal. He has great vision and a deft finishing touch.

"He is unique in many ways. He looks completely different from most Arab players, who rely too much on their individual skills. He performs just like a European player, working hard, running tirelessly and attacking relentlessly.

"Just like Shevchenko, he's a versatile forward who can score in many ways."

FIRST FINALS

Hubail will need all those qualities to come to the fore if Bahrain are to beat Trinidad and Tobago and reach their first World Cup finals.

Trinidad will be led by former Manchester United and Aston Villa striker Dwight Yorke with West Ham's Shaka Hislop in goal.

The playoff, with the second leg scheduled for November 16 in Manama, is the climax of long and difficult journeys for both teams.

Bahrain finished third in their final Asian qualification group and then beat Uzbekistan over three matches to earn them a shot at Trinidad.

The first match in Tashkent finished 1-0 to the Uzbeks but FIFA annulled the result because of a refereeing error.

Given fresh hope, Bahrain held Uzbekistan to a 1-1 draw in the replayed first leg and drew 0-0 at home in the second leg to qualify on away goals.

Apart from the honour of playing in Germany, Bahrain players can expect financial rewards if they overcome Trinidad.

Shaikh Fawaz bin Mohammed Al Khalifa, president of the General Organisation for Youth and Sports, has reportedly told the players they can look forward to the biggest cash prizes in Bahrain sports history should they qualify for the World Cup.

A private jet will fly the team home from Trinidad and King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa has ordered an open budget for the team's training camp.

All they need now is for Hubail to deliver the goals.

Updated on Wednesday, Nov 9, 2005 8:00 pm EST

Email to a Friend | View

Re: Asian "Shevchenko" eyes history for Bahrain
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 10:26:13 PM »
Stupes.. Is Level Licks for these punk asses.!!

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 10:42:22 PM »
it eh matter cuz he never play against defender like Dog.....we go lock dat down
Go TnT

Offline bahraini4life

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 11:07:39 PM »
i dont know i you've seen the Japanese, in the asian cup we were winning them 3-2 till the min 90!!!!!!

Offline bahrain dream

« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2005, 01:21:03 AM »
aala hubail will score two goal ..

we saw trinidad team

and it's ateam for old guys  :rotfl:

bahrain will go to germany 100%  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2005, 02:19:48 AM »
Do you all have an 'asian Yorke' or 'asian Latapy" too?

Turbo-Trini

Offline bahrain dream

« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2005, 02:22:16 AM »
yorke  !!!! <<<<  :rotfl:

he is 55 years old

hehehehehehhehehehe

he was a perfect player but now ... he is nothing

« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2005, 02:26:37 AM »
yorke  !!!! <<<<  :rotfl:

he is 55 years old

hehehehehehhehehehe

he was a perfect player but now ... he is nothing

You didnt answer my question

Offline 2 B OR NOT 2 B

« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2005, 03:14:50 AM »
it eh matter cuz he never play against defender like Dog.....we go lock dat down
Go TnT

he played against defenders like :  ivan hurtado ( ecuador )  frank de boer ( netherland ) marcel desailly ( france ) frank lebeuof ( france ) fabian cipot ( slovenia ) jazek bak ( poland ) firnando hieero ( spain ) ............ etc . without forgetting japan, iran , ksa , korea diffenders ...... and he ( alaa ) scored against all these world class defenders , so he can easilly smash ur defenders ang gk no doubt about it .

Offline abojassim

« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2005, 04:08:02 AM »

we saw trinidad team

and it's ateam for old guys 

bahrain will go to germany 100%

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2005, 06:51:19 AM »
HUSH YUH ASS!!

« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2005, 06:54:12 AM »
them rell like to call name boy. i swear shevshenko playing fuh de when i read this headline

stupesssssssssssssssss

the pele of this and maradona of that

call your own name nah

Offline Trini Simply Better

« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2005, 07:22:38 AM »
Hubail is back and very hungry for goals.  Too bad T&T had to be his first victim upon his return.  BEWARE..... 1989 IN THE AIR.......

SMASH THEM......

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2005, 07:45:20 AM »
woi yuh mama want yuh home cause u aint clean up the shit yuh camel leave in yuh room

« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2005, 07:49:41 AM »
Go TnT

he played against defenders like :  ivan hurtado ( ecuador )  frank de boer ( netherland ) marcel desailly ( france ) frank lebeuof ( france ) fabian cipot ( slovenia ) jazek bak ( poland ) firnando hieero ( spain ) ............ etc . without forgetting japan, iran , ksa , korea diffenders ...... and he ( alaa ) scored against all these world class defenders , so he can easilly smash ur defenders ang gk no doubt about it .

All them defenders you named there playing in a league for geriatrics. A young striker palying aagainst old men whatever their quality when in their prime is no real contest.

All these guys admit that the Quatar league is of poor quality but good money. He will get a good lesson over the next two games.

Offline Trinitalian

• Die Hard Warrior
  • What if he scored!
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2005, 07:57:12 AM »

we saw trinidad team

and it's ateam for old guys  :rotfl:

bahrain will go to germany 100%  :beermug:

Offline Trinitalian

• Die Hard Warrior
  • What if he scored!
« Reply #16 on: November 10, 2005, 08:06:31 AM »
I eh know boy, but I reading dese posts by dem "bahrain men" and ah feelin rell sorry fuh allyuh dread. Allyuh goin and get a rell beat down, horse. Allyuh eh go know what hit allyuh. Let me d first to apologise in advance, on behalf of d socawarriors and all d men on dis site, for embarrassing d hell out of allyuh and makin dis playoff into a circus and havin allyuh look rell salty. I rell sorry!
I eh predictin no score cause it obvious dat d team dat we goin and see on Saturday and Wednesday will surprise us once again with a higher quality of football.

D song used to be, "Haiti, I'm sorry". Now iz "Bahrain, I'm sorry". Ah cyar wait to hear 26,000 trinis singing dat tune.

If allyuh remember, my prediction was , "we qualifying with one game in hand". dat eh change cause the one game in hand is d game in Bahrain.

I believe,dread!
Go Warriors!

Offline 2 B OR NOT 2 B

« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2005, 12:13:55 PM »
Go TnT

All them defenders you named there playing in a league for geriatrics. A young striker palying aagainst old men whatever their quality when in their prime is no real contest.

All these guys admit that the Quatar league is of poor quality but good money. He will get a good lesson over the next two games.

ivan hurtado ( 29 yrz ) fabian cipot ( 26 yrz ) jazek back ( 28 yrz ) so not all of them are big and finished players and by if im not wrong ur defenders r high aged too .
anyway my friend lets stop talk about this and wait until the game finishes and we ll see what happen then .

« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2005, 12:21:38 PM »
that league aint have man like peter prosper and nakhid ripping up for them...wasnt peter prosper leading goal scorer a year? aint he cant even fart n this squad now.....

« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2005, 12:25:22 PM »
Go TnT

ivan hurtado ( 29 yrz ) fabian cipot ( 26 yrz ) jazek back ( 28 yrz ) so not all of them are big and finished players and by if im not wrong ur defenders r high aged too .
anyway my friend lets stop talk about this and wait until the game finishes and we ll see what happen then .

WHo are these players you listed??
Are they football players?

Offline 2 B OR NOT 2 B

« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2005, 12:37:57 PM »
Go TnT

WHo are these players you listed??
Are they football players?

u dont know ivan hurtado the captain of ecuador international team wich is now one of the best latinian teams ??!!
u dont know fabian cipot the slovenian international ??!!
u dont know jazek bak the captain of poland international team wich already had qualifyed 2 germany ??
if u really dont know them its a dizaster , and if u know them and pretend u dont its a bigger dizaster .

« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2005, 12:41:37 PM »
Poland?
Ecuador?
Slovenia?

Oh please.

Offline 2 B OR NOT 2 B

« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2005, 01:13:29 PM »
Poland?
Ecuador?
Slovenia?

Oh please.

r u saying that trini team is better than these teams ??

oh pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee .

Offline Alsalman

« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2005, 01:18:18 PM »
both sets of fans talk too much before the game ...

lol let the players do the speaking  ::)

« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2005, 01:44:26 PM »
Agree wit Alsalman that the players go do de talking....we players eh go be jus talking tho...they feet go be shouting and Bahrain will be crying!
Go TnT

« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2005, 02:51:44 PM »
u dont know ivan hurtado the captain of ecuador international team wich is now one of the best latinian teams ??!!
u dont know fabian cipot the slovenian international ??!!
u dont know jazek bak the captain of poland international team wich already had qualifyed 2 germany ??
if u really dont know them its a dizaster , and if u know them and pretend u dont its a bigger dizaster .

:rotfl:  This man feel he could drop names now.  You real sad yes.

Offline Bahrain Owns All

« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2005, 09:19:18 PM »
Alaa will make ur T&T cry over & over
& don't tell me u got york  :rotfl:
cuz he used 2 be a superstar player with andy cool in MU
but now the hero became a ZERO!!!

gl in wc2010

Offline Jay9

« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2005, 09:25:31 PM »
Go TnT

Hoss like u ent know who d mc DOG is or wha... wait and see saturday

« Reply #28 on: November 10, 2005, 09:34:59 PM »
Poland?
Ecuador?
Slovenia?

Oh please.

r u saying that trini team is better than these teams ??

oh pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee .

Look very carefully at what your argument is.
You are actually calling players from other countries who play in a league that some of your players play in - all in the name of adding credibility to the league and your players.

Bring something more direct please, like any of your players scoring a goal against a goalkeeper that is world renowned....or dribbling past a defender who people actually heard about....
Yaaaawwwwnnnnnn

« Reply #29 on: November 10, 2005, 09:46:43 PM »
It is obvious that Bahrain is a very insecure nation.

They have to validate their players abilities by making tenuous links to real reknowned players.

What makes a man the "asian Shevchenko"? What does that mean really? What is the significance? Does that make him better?

If I say that I am the "Saddle Road Pele" is anybody impressed?

And then this name dropping. Would it even make sense for us to call the names of people who our players play against? You cann Slovenia, Ecuador, Poland.

If I say England, France, Spain does that make Shaka better than what he is?

No. Our players are good because they are GOOD end of story. We will see what Hubail has or doesn't have come Saturday so please stop trying to feed us this horse shit.