May 12, 2024, 11:08:49 PM

Author Topic: Steups Thread.  (Read 16134 times)

Re: STEUPS!!
« Reply #60 on: April 06, 2008, 10:13:39 AM »
Hey guys! As a non-Trini, I've noticed the word "Steups" comes up a lot in your postings. I was wondering - what does it mean and how is it pronounced?

Thanks!Ā  ;D

(I assume it means something like "For f**** sake"............... )

it doesn't mean that

It's actually not that bad an interpretation...it's a sign of frustration/disgust/exasperation...any of which can be verbalized as "For f**k sake"...lol

...but as for the question, kicks (and kisses) aside, it's the act of sucking (sucking not simply drawing in) air between clenched teeth.  Can be long or short-winded, depending on your level of contempt, exasperation etc.

what if ya ain't have teet  :devil:
den is considered ah shoops ???

« Reply #61 on: April 06, 2008, 10:21:00 AM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #62 on: April 06, 2008, 10:29:17 AM »

I think without teeth yuh juss sucking spit oui  :rotfl:

« Reply #63 on: April 06, 2008, 12:01:01 PM »

I think without teeth yuh juss sucking spit oui  :rotfl:

You never hear Paul Keens-Douglas talk about Tanty Merle and Slim?
"Slim was a man with no teeth who like to ....steups. You ever see a man with no teeth...steups? Well Slim like to....steups. Tanty Merle grab him by de waist and start to dance. And Slim start to....steups. So was Tanty dancing and Slim...steupsing, Tanty dancing and Slim...steupsing....Tanty dancing and Slim...steupsing...Tanty dancing and Slim STEUPSING

« Reply #64 on: April 06, 2008, 12:22:20 PM »

« Reply #65 on: April 06, 2008, 06:19:20 PM »
I read dis today and nearly died......aye we could real shit talk yes!!!...

Ah luv it!!!

« Reply #66 on: April 06, 2008, 07:03:40 PM »
steups, ??. (stch\ļ½\ - ps)
Trinidad & Tobago
1. The sound made by sucking air past the teeth with lips pursed. Used to express disapproval.
i_and_i - New York

This taken form B C pires skettictionary. I had posted this wayyyyy back in university... u can make your own entries subject to approval by the editor though.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge