May 14, 2024, 07:48:56 PM

Author Topic: T&T footballers tackle Puerto Rico Jan 26.  (Read 3398 times)

T&T footballers tackle Puerto Rico Jan 26.
« on: January 15, 2008, 02:38:49 PM »
T&T footballers tackle Puerto Rico Jan 26.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Senior Team will travel to Puerto Rico to meet that country’s national team in a friendly international on January 26.
The game was confirmed this week by the TTFF and assistant national team coach Anton Corneal sees it as a good opportunity to see the soon to be selected quota of home-based players in action prior to the February 6 friendly international in Port of Spain against Guadeloupe.
None of the invited for nine overseas pros called up to face Guadeloupe will be in the squad that travels to Puerto Rico on January 24.
Corneal, who conducted a training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Tuesday morning believes that the game is coming at a good time.
“This game comes as a good chance to see the players in action so early in the year. It means too that we can give some of the younger players a chance against a country that is working feverishly to lift its football and you would have noticed that with the recent showing of the Islanders in the Caribbean Club Championship,” Corneal told TTFF Media. “They have a few players from that club on their national team.”
“The timing of this game means that it also changes up the format of our training program a bit because we now have to be more match specific in our preparations a bit earlier than originally planned. It’s a good chance to see the current players before the Guadeloupe game because for that encounter we will be meshing the overseas with the locals for the first time in quite a while,” Corneal added.
Training sessions continue on Thursday and Friday at the Ato Boldon Stadium and on Sunday at the Marvin Lee Stadium.
One player who will not be making the trip is Kansas Wizards striker Scott Sealy who is coming off a quad muscle injury. Sealy is banking on a quick enough return in time to be on the Squad for the upcoming 2010 World Cup qualifiers which begin for T&T on June 14/15 versus Bermuda/Cayman Islands.
Sealy currently in Trinidad, is looking at his options with one season on contract left in the MLS.
“It’s an exciting time for us because it’s a World Cup year and I’m definitely looking forward to being part of the national team. It was disappointing not being able to be in training now because of the injury. It happened during the season but even though I was able to play with it… it popped up again recently. But all in all I’m looking forward to a productive 2008 and trying to press for a spot on the national team. I think we have the ingredients to do well again and perform well in the qualifiers and of course go on to qualify again,” Sealy told TTFF Media on the weekend. The Puerto Ricans meantime are preparing for their World Cup one-leg first round qualifier against Dominican Republic in February.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 03:11:44 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T footballers tackle Puerto Rico Jan 26.
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 03:45:51 PM »

My mind is blown.

Warner promised that local football fans would soon have reason to be excited again with a slate of friendly matches "that would blow your mind".

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2008, 03:46:56 PM »

My mind is blown.

Warner promised that local football fans would soon have reason to be excited again with a slate of friendly matches "that would blow your mind".

Ent, steeps!

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2008, 03:51:55 PM »
e-man, that was funny.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

... however, this is a good test for the local youngsters. A good warm up before we play Guadeloupe and Jamaica. I believe we will get those warm ups Jack promised that will blow our minds later in de year, maybe in December....

« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2008, 03:52:36 PM »

... however, this is a good test for the local youngsters. A good warm up before we play Guadeloupe and Jamaica. I believe we will get those warm ups Jack promised that will blow our minds later in de year, maybe in December....

agreed any game is good.

« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2008, 03:54:42 PM »
One us overseas territory, one french overseas department...

all we need now is a Spanish protectorate. Anybody know the e-mail address of the canary islands football federation ?

« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2008, 03:55:25 PM »

What big country you know does play friendlies in December self ?

TnT vz Puerto Rico
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2008, 05:44:02 PM »
yea...just heard on TV sport news...TnT vz Puerto Rico on Jan 26th...

I think we travel to PR....

anyone with more details ???

Re: TnT vz Puerto Rico
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2008, 05:48:45 PM »

Blacklist Sweat 2008 movin to PR?

Re: TnT vz Puerto Rico
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2008, 05:52:26 PM »

Blacklist Sweat 2008 movin to PR?

Day doh call he BIG fa nutten eh
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2008, 05:56:07 PM »
Them can't be serious. ???

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2008, 05:58:15 PM »

AA (American Eagle, 30 seater) have one daily flight to SJU from POS (5095).
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 06:03:18 PM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2008, 06:03:05 PM »
shit....dats the sweat date....

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2008, 06:04:41 PM »
shit....dats the sweat date....
EMan ask if ya takin de sweat over day ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2008, 06:06:02 PM »

My mind is blown.

First Candidate for the SA2010 theme song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6imJp_CLac

« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2008, 09:14:13 PM »
Just so like dey want to stop dem from feting so dey say leh we PR. Dey sure dey have a football team. Next ting is d basketball team that turn up to play oui

« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2008, 09:14:20 AM »
next ting we lose to said basketballers??

« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2008, 10:13:49 AM »
Before ah read de article, ah hear dis on de radio dis morning and ah ak mih self...

.....Puerto Rico have a football team??.. ???  ::)

STEEEUUUPPPSSSS!!!....    [/b]

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2008, 02:01:49 PM »
I guess Barbados and Guyana to hard for the local  ;D
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

Offline loyalist

« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2008, 02:03:09 PM »
Before ah read de article, ah hear dis on de radio dis morning and ah ak mih self...

yes indeed ....most of their players play with the puerto rican islanders from the A league...their head coach is the former FC Dallas head coach and they have now acquired a canadian goalkeeper coach who is the goalkeeper coach for the University of Mobile former school of the late Mickey Trotman, Junior Noel, Kirk Trotman, Anthony Noreiga, Atiba Mc Night, Glen Benjamin, Carron Williams, Chavis Williams, Simba George, Junior Pamponette,Darren Toby, Dean Logan and currently Jason Providence....so he have been around and played with these Trinidadians so they know about trinidadian football...if i am not mistaken they have been preparing for a while now...they will be facing Dominican Republic in the first round of qualifiers.....this is a good game to have a look at players..

« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2008, 02:48:24 PM »

yes indeed ....most of their players play with the puerto rican islanders from the A league...their head coach is the former FC Dallas head coach and they have now acquired a canadian goalkeeper coach who is the goalkeeper coach for the University of Mobile former school of the late Mickey Trotman, Junior Noel, Kirk Trotman, Anthony Noreiga, Atiba Mc Night, Glen Benjamin, Carron Williams, Chavis Williams, Simba George, Junior Pamponette,Darren Toby, Dean Logan and currently Jason Providence....so he have been around and played with these Trinidadians so they know about trinidadian football...if i am not mistaken they have been preparing for a while now...they will be facing Dominican Republic in the first round of qualifiers.....this is a good game to have a look at players..

Loyalist, ah really upset at de fact dat after what seems like we going somewhere in 2006, we now back to warming up against de likes of Puerto Rico.....

Ah guess it better dan warming up against WASA..... ::) ::)

« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2008, 05:04:31 PM »
Training session prep for Puerto Rico
http://youtube.com/watch?v=YnwOyUtmt4Q

Scott Sealy interview
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ByAl7VHQshk