May 21, 2024, 02:06:10 AM

Author Topic: How much of allyuh had one of these ??  (Read 13690 times)

Re: How much of allyuh had one of these ??
« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2009, 12:26:01 PM »
U know Bata is a rankin store in Guadelope and Martinque nuff shoes cyah remember seeing any sneakers. Trini y no lunch kit?

Because ah use to go home for lunch. Primary school was roun' dey corner from meh parents home.
To tell ya dey honest truth, everyting was roun' dey corner from meh parents home.....

Which now make me think, ah was getting hot food every lunch time, while dem wid dey lunch kit had ah peanut butter san'wich and ah solo.. :devil:

Yep u got a hot lunch every lunch time some chirren did not even get dat when dey go home.

« Reply #31 on: January 17, 2009, 01:24:48 PM »
de amount ah licks i get fuh playin pitch recess and lunch time.de dust use to raise when de whip strike meh backside.lol.

« Reply #32 on: January 17, 2009, 02:29:33 PM »
Cana wha kinda gettin off-handed remark is dat :devil:

« Reply #33 on: January 17, 2009, 06:24:20 PM »
Cana wha kinda gettin off-handed remark is dat :devil:

welllllllllllllllllll ah thought Capo woulda catch it. But apparently ah sky dey ball ah little too high.

see typical hot man Capo....only talks and no action :devil:

weary ah hear ya girl. today ah grateful for all dem small blessings ah had yester year.

« Reply #34 on: January 17, 2009, 06:29:35 PM »
de amount ah licks i get fuh playin pitch recess and lunch time.de dust use to raise when de whip strike meh backside.lol.

nah ah usta fight every friday in dey church yard.
and since ah know ah was going and get licks when ah reach home, because somebody ben' dey corner and tell meh mudda she lass born fighting, ah use to make sure ah cut arse good....

every saturday was to go by chai grocery for white ribbons cause ah always losing dem by friday. meh hem forever down. ya cyah find meh socks, cause dey sleeping in meh bata bullet.  meh white shirt...lawd it was ah mixture ah green grass, dut, blue penna cool stain and ink from dey fountain pen.

thinking bout this now, meh mudda had plenty patience oui :rotfl:

« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2009, 06:45:09 PM »

and since ah know ah was going and get licks when ah reach home, because somebody ben' dey corner and tell meh mudda she lass born fighting, ah use to make sure ah cut arse good....

every saturday was to go by chai grocery for white ribbons cause ah always losing dem by friday. meh hem forever down. ya cyah find meh socks, cause dey sleeping in meh bata bullet.  meh white shirt...lawd it was ah mixture ah green grass, dut, blue penna cool stain and ink from dey fountain pen.

that is chai grocery in tunapuna?

« Reply #36 on: January 17, 2009, 07:11:21 PM »

nah curepe - roun' dey corner from meh parents house

« Reply #37 on: January 17, 2009, 10:57:44 PM »

nah curepe - roun' dey corner from meh parents house
ah real sow meh oats in curepe yuh know,yuh sure we don't know one another in de BIBLICAL sense. ;)

« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2009, 05:28:23 AM »
lol - I remember the bag but I never had one

The flick was like somebody say to wear it on yuh forehead and let it rest on yuh back.

But fountain pens were the worse for me as I am left handed. When yuh write and the side of yuh hand with yuh little finger drags across the page it picks up all the ink and smudges what you just wrote. And if yuh was real high society, yuh had blotting paper which yuh use to rest on the page to pick up any excess ink.

Yeah boy, ah understand dat, cause I left handed too. The worse use to tryin tuh write on the blackboard. Thank God the teachers never tried tuh make me right handed.

« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2009, 05:37:27 AM »
Lemme tell all tuh wat was thevworse. Allyuh remember thermos tuh hold yuh juice dat use tuh come with some ah dem lunch box? How many times yuh drop dem and yuh pick it up, thinkin ah hope it aint break? Yuh holdin yuh breathe as yuh shake it, hopin yuh aint hear the sound of glass, cause yuh hear glass yuh know yuh break the damn ting. Ah cah begin tuh tell yuh how many times dem think slip thru meh slipprey hands, so much so dat meh mother stop buyin dem for me.

« Reply #40 on: January 18, 2009, 08:20:20 AM »
nah put de strap on yuh forehead and let it hang on yuh back.

or run de straps under yuh arm and behind yuh neck so that yuh end up wearing it like ah backpack.

Fuh real!

Buh dem bag couldn't hold more than so much ...

But in primary school all yuh had was so much tuh hold in de bag, lol  Yuh West Indian Reader, yuh copy book, yuh pen and yuh pencil. 

Yuh di'n even have yuh drummatree set yet, lol.

« Reply #41 on: January 18, 2009, 08:23:31 AM »
oh jezzanages nah boy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
is dey rubber and sharpener killin me dis early morning

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

and hear nah doh forget dey pencil was ah yellow midget

« Reply #42 on: January 19, 2009, 08:57:07 AM »

or run de straps under yuh arm and behind yuh neck so that yuh end up wearing it like ah backpack.

Fuh real!

But in primary school all yuh had was so much tuh hold in de bag, lol  Yuh West Indian Reader, yuh copy book, yuh pen and yuh pencil. 

is in std 5 we get drummatree set or in form 1?

« Reply #43 on: January 19, 2009, 09:29:12 AM »
Not me and that book bag dread  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Good thing i had good judge ment back then.  I'll leave that book bag for the girl. My father was in america that time so I use to be getting american book bag and lunch kitt and shoes.   :rotfl:

« Reply #44 on: January 19, 2009, 11:21:34 AM »
is in std 5 we get drummatree set or in form 1?

Form 1... in Primary school dem ting wouldna do nutten but make weapon  :rotfl:

« Reply #45 on: January 19, 2009, 03:09:30 PM »
anybody use to use the grey part of the eraser to erase ink because dise what dey say it was for and end up makin a hole in yuh page?

lol- that was a normal scene...

« Reply #46 on: January 19, 2009, 04:40:02 PM »
Dat geometry set was ah waste ah time and $$$ ... man use to make a circle by tracing the perimeter of dem circular sharpeners. Protractor? None at all ... we fly through geometry fass fass ... ah remember plotting graphs, but half dem ting inside that rotten kit we nevah used fuh de purposes dey was designed for ... dem 'rulers' wasn't de favoured rulers needah ... steups 'complete and accurate' my arse ...
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 04:41:52 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #47 on: January 19, 2009, 04:45:20 PM »
Dat geometry set was ah waste ah time and $$$ ... man use to make a circle by tracing the perimeter of dem circular sharpeners ... we fly through geometry fass fass ... ah remember plotting graphs, but hald fem thing inside that rotten kit we nevah used fuh de purposes dey was designed for ... dem 'rulers' wasn't de favored rulers needah ... steups 'complete and accurate' my arse ...

ent...

and as I remember it, if yuh had ah 'Oxford' brand geometry set yuh was a priveleged one. I only had the generic ones from Charran's for the duration of secondary school.

I used to lose everything in that set in record time and is ah steady borrows.

and allyuh must remember the nerds who used to have they geometry set in pristine condition for the duration of a school term and more. Even the lil felt paper in it was in tact, and they used to have every instrument in original condition even beyond the time it take for the pan to get rusty.

A next question.. What allyuh allowance used to be per week?

« Reply #48 on: January 19, 2009, 04:48:40 PM »
Dat geometry set was ah waste ah time and $$$ ... man use to make a circle by tracing the perimeter of dem circular sharpeners ... we fly through geometry fass fass ... ah remember plotting graphs, but hald fem thing inside that rotten kit we nevah used fuh de purposes dey was designed for ... dem 'rulers' wasn't de favored rulers needah ... steups 'complete and accurate' my arse ...

ent...

and as I remember it, if yuh had ah 'Oxford' brand geometry set yuh was a priveleged one. I only had the generic ones from Charran's for the duration of secondary school.

I used to lose everything in that set in record time and is ah steady borrows.

and allyuh must remember the nerds who used to have they geometry set in pristine condition for the duration of a school term and more. Even the lil felt paper in it was in tact, and they used to have every instrument in original condition even beyond the time it take for the pan to get rusty.

200.00 ah week.

« Reply #49 on: January 19, 2009, 04:52:14 PM »

If I remember correct I think I was at $2 per week...plenty salt prune and ice block in primary school..BUT once a month I use to get money to buy the latest star wars mini character  ...$5 each at discount city

secondary school allowance kinda foggy...but I remember buying a lot of aloo pie

« Reply #50 on: January 19, 2009, 04:54:27 PM »
allowance? ::) Dinho, dat wasn't fuh de privileged too?

« Reply #51 on: January 19, 2009, 04:57:02 PM »

lol... pocket change? whaever.. yuh must have something to buy tamarind ball.

i was on $10 a week in form 1 which rise to $20 in form 5 due to inflation.

Dutty, $2 a week??  You was in school back when it had farthings or what??

« Reply #52 on: January 19, 2009, 05:01:52 PM »
farthings and pieces of eight  ;)

ah tell yuh was only ice block and saltprune and sweetie ah coulda buy.....seemed to me, back then like ah had plenty money too

« Reply #53 on: January 19, 2009, 07:18:49 PM »

Fuh real!

sigh i had one of that lol  :(

« Reply #54 on: January 19, 2009, 07:26:46 PM »
TRINI, that is the book that had the poem of the Naughty boy and the story bout the tar baby .

« Reply #55 on: January 19, 2009, 08:11:28 PM »

Nah, doh geh tie up ... hadda ah setta man who use to move like Yakuza or Mafiosi ... dem men wouldn't spend a penny and always use tuh eat large ... maff dis, raid dat, tax de nex ... den yuh had men who use tuh gamble to geh recess $$$ ... later on hadda a nex setta man who would start boardin EVERYBODY fuh a quarter ... from early o'clock ... when yuh check, lil later dem men eating LARGE ... yuh hatta know yuh audience ;D

« Reply #56 on: January 19, 2009, 08:30:46 PM »

Nah, doh geh tie up ... hadda ah setta man who use to move like Yakuza or Mafiosi ... dem men wouldn't spend a penny and always use tuh eat large ... maff dis, raid dat, tax de nex ... den yuh had men who use tuh gamble to geh recess $$$ ... later on hadda a nex setta man who would start boardin EVERYBODY fuh a quarter ... from early o'clock ... when yuh check, lil later dem men eating LARGE ... yuh hatta know yuh audience ;D

well in the spirit of knowing yuh audience, lewwe go down a step lower to pit.

now this talk was around my time, early - mid 90s eh...

but wha bout the men who used to stalk yuh when yuh drinking yuh swee' drink. When yuh down to about 1/5th, hear de talk nuh..

"eh hoss.. lemme kill it for yuh nuh?!"

forget juter, even a chubby wasnt safe.

« Reply #57 on: January 19, 2009, 08:41:13 PM »
Zul me cyah remember dey stories in dey West Indian Reader. All I remember it was ah thin red/marron book  :-\

My allowance/spendin money, was 5 dollars a week. And meh mudda was expecting to see change on Friday eh, cause in she mind I doh need to buy nothing in school. In she mind, everyting ah needed was home, or by chai grocery. Time ah buy red mango, penna cool, tranbrand ball by ms jean (over dey fence) and sugar cane, datz 4 dollars gone dere already and is only Monday. steupse!!

This is all ah fine

Allyuh remember dem shoes McKassim. Everybody muss know when ya coming cause of dey heel ?
« Last Edit: January 19, 2009, 08:48:37 PM by Sheneneh »

« Reply #58 on: January 20, 2009, 02:16:24 AM »
Allowance??  Dai'z white people ting.

Now allyuh have mankind feeling abused and neglected... my 'allowance' was whatever was left over from passage fuh de day.

« Reply #59 on: January 20, 2009, 09:31:00 AM »

well in the spirit of knowing yuh audience, lewwe go down a step lower to pit.

now this talk was around my time, early - mid 90s eh...

but wha bout the men who used to stalk yuh when yuh drinking yuh swee' drink. When yuh down to about 1/5th, hear de talk nuh..

"eh hoss.. lemme kill it for yuh nuh?!"

forget juter, even a chubby wasnt safe.

Truss! dat not unique to dat period.