May 18, 2024, 06:50:36 AM

Author Topic: WORDS WHICH ARE BEING ‘LOST.’  (Read 1555 times)

Offline dtool

WORDS WHICH ARE BEING ‘LOST.’
« on: December 23, 2009, 07:11:02 PM »

Just received this today  .......
       A variation of other versions but still brings a smile ....... Merry Christmas to ALL.

This piece has to be read ALOUD to appreciate the full impact and to enunciate properly.
        It is not to be read BY others (nonTrinis) but rather read TO them, so they can 'get it.'   

SUBJECT:   WORDS WHICH ARE BEING ‘LOST.’

Trinis are a unique lot of people who can be spotted a mile off.

They can be identified by their body language, speech, decorum, taste, and even their judgement of
        time and space..

They are very defensive when mistaken for any islander other than a Trini.

A Trini's choice of words to describe a breadfruit falling from a tree identifies the state of the ripeness
        of the fruit, and where it fell:-

A ripe fruit falling to the ground will fall BLAF, whereas a ripe fruit falling on a galvanize roof will
        fall BLANG.

A green fruit on the other hand will fall to the ground BUDUFF, and the same fruit falling on the
        same roof will fall BLANG A DANG.

A door will open, if its hinges need oiling, KREEKES and will close BADAM or
        CLITTICKS depending on the force used to close it.

He describes a horse galloping as BROOGOODOOK, BROOGOODOOK

His expressions of surprise are AHA, O GAWD. BON JAY or WEE  FOUTE

His expression of disgust is AH CHUT usually accompanied with a stamping of the feet.

His expression of joy is OH GHEEZAN AGES.

His salutations are WOY, MAN, CHILE, BREDS, and even STRANGER.

Trini women call each other CHILE, the men call each other BOY and the boys call each
        other MAN.

If you think that is confusing they refer to any older person of the male sex as UNCLE and the
        female sex as TANTIE.

When Trinis hang-out, they are LIMING.

When you are a Trini of mixed race you are a DOUGLA.

A Trini will CUFF YOU DOWN and KICK YOU UP

Trinis have an interesting list of body parts you won't find in any biology book.  TOT TOTS, TOTE,
        TOTO, TUNTUN, BAM BAM. BUMSEE and NABLE.

A physically challenged person to a Trini is a BROKOFOOT,  a fat woman is a
        BOOBOOLOOPS.  A giddy head is called BAZODEE , and if you should fall into a fit of
        convulsion you are considered to have caught MALKADEE.

A Trini's punctuality Is atrocious.  NOW is LATER: LATER is SOMETIME
        TOMORROW
, and YESTERDAY - well that propels an attack of amnesia.

And as a Trini will say IF AH LIE, AH LIE

** SENDER'S NOTE:  The writer did an excellent job articulating many of our words and expressions but
        I would be remiss in my presentation if I did not mention one of our favorite pronouncements, to wit,
        our usual response to the question

“Where yuh going?”  is
       “Ah coming back jus' now!!"                                                                                                       

Re: WORDS WHICH ARE BEING ‘LOST.’
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 12:08:11 PM »

I does still describe ah horse runnin just so

Re: WORDS WHICH ARE BEING ‘LOST.’
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2009, 07:22:11 AM »

I does still describe ah horse runnin just so

My wife does ketch kicks on me fuh dat....