May 02, 2024, 07:45:16 PM

Author Topic: Birchall's return is just the ticket for Valiants  (Read 3401 times)

Birchall's return is just the ticket for Valiants
« on: January 20, 2006, 10:02:01 AM »
Birchall's return is just the ticket for Valiants
The Sentinel

Chris Birchall shouldn't be too surprised if team-mates pass to him at every opportunity at Layer Road tomorrow.

Bringing the talented right-winger into the game is never a bad idea, though Birchall is more popular than ever now the scramble for World Cup tickets has begun. The 21-year-old returns for the first time in three weeks at Layer Road having shaken off a hamstring injury. The break may have kept him out of the public eye, but it hasn't stopped the inquiries for tickets, which began when Trinidad and Tobago were put in England's group in Germany.

"It has been constant since I have been back," he grinned. "I think a lot of the lads are planning on going out there themselves and are trying to wangle their way into getting tickets. But it will be difficult."

No wonder Birchall is happy to focus less on Germany in the summer than Essex tomorrow and the prospect of a difficult away game against the promotion-chasing Us.

The 21-year-old is also determined to make his mark for the Valiants this season after making just 13 starts because of injury and international commitments.

He said: "It is just great to be back and hopefully I can get some games under my belt now.

"Since I started playing for Trinidad last summer I have played 15 games for them, which is more than I have for Vale.

"Vale understand that and it has got me going to Germany. But the club just want me to get my head down and start playing games for them, which is what I want.

"I love playing football and it is so frustrating when you are out with injury. God only knows how Lee Matthews feels, but I am back and will hopefully be straight back in the team."

The Valiants were beaten 2-1 on their last visit to Layer Road, last October, though Birchall has happy memories of the place as Foyle gave him his first start of the campaign.

The manager's gamble didn't fare too badly as Birchall started 31 games last season, scoring seven goals, winning the young-player-of-the-season award and winning an international call-up.

Birchall added: "I can't wait to go back. I enjoyed it last time and felt no real pressure on me.

"I think since this time last year my game has improved. Now it is a case of getting my fitness back and hopefully getting three points.

"We need to keep our run going and, if we win, confidence will be sky high going into the Aston Villa game next week when we will have nothing to lose." If the Valiants are to secure victory they will have to find a way of stopping former Stoke City striker Chris Iwelumo.

The 27-year-old has netted 14 goals this season, including United's winner in their 1-0 victory at Vale Park in September.

Iwelumo, who joined from German side Alemania Aachen at the start of the season, has already won League-One play-off finals with Stoke and Brighton and could be heading for a hat-trick of promotions with Phil Parkinson's side.

Colchester moved into second place with their 3-2 success at home to Bristol City on Tuesday, a real achievement for a team which exists on gates of 3,500.

They will be chasing their sixth-successive victory tomorrow, though Birchall and colleagues have other ideas.

Re: Birchall's return is just the ticket for Valiants
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2006, 10:21:06 AM »
Nice to see the young fella back in action.  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2006, 11:01:06 AM »
Hey can't he play for the U23 team too?

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2006, 11:42:40 AM »
but yuh go kill de child.....

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2006, 01:21:01 PM »

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2006, 01:27:41 PM »

but that is a good question?
obviously right now is is busy with the WC, but in future tournaments he would be a great addition to the team

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2006, 01:28:06 PM »
Birchall RW Samuel LB
nice man

Offline naps_girl_7

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2006, 10:05:22 PM »

nice to know he's fit enough to get back on the field
T&T... WE WANT AH GOAL!!!

Offline 1989

« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2006, 06:02:27 AM »
Birchall is the man.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2006, 08:09:49 AM »
me mum...i need tickets laddie....

« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2006, 08:17:46 AM »
good news. big up me mum

« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2006, 09:11:41 AM »
Birchall RW Samuel LB
nice man

Which Samuel you talking bout ...... ah just hope is not J lloyd. If it is ..... time to put down that weed and do some school work.

J. Lloyd is 24 if i'm not mistaken. Tallman could clear that up.

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2006, 09:13:23 AM »
Also he CANNOT play for T&T...

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2006, 10:07:25 AM »
Birchall RW Samuel LB
nice man

ah issuing ah ticket

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2006, 10:22:28 PM »
some of the rumors going around have birchall going to norwich.

Offline Jimmy the Dog

• El Perro
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2006, 12:06:03 AM »
Birchall aint goin nowhere >:( We have the Big Game at Villa Saturday and ME MUM may find himself on the bench, And then we are gonna get him in shape for your WC games, and then a nice little transfer will be the order of the Day ;D
         We have sold 7.650 tickets for the game at Villa :)
The wonder of you....Supa Vale

« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2006, 11:47:08 AM »

but that is a good question?
obviously right now is is busy with the WC, but in future tournaments he would be a great addition to the team

yeah he could be capt. with is current and future experiance he can be great there you think the US wont do that with some of their players other countries too.

« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2006, 01:26:19 PM »
Birchall RW Samuel LB
nice man

Which Samuel you talking bout ...... ah just hope is not J lloyd. If it is ..... time to put down that weed and do some school work.

J. Lloyd is 24 if i'm not mistaken. Tallman could clear that up.
ah mean da when vale play villa it go be a fight between de two if both playin being on the same of the field