Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on February 27, 2014, 09:09:20 AM

Title: Aubrey David Thread
Post by: Tallman on February 27, 2014, 09:09:20 AM
Aubrey David off to Finland for trial
By ​Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

National defender Aubrey David left for Jakobstad, Finland yesterday for a trial with Finnish Premier League club FF Jaro.

David, a former national Under-17 and U-20 defender, has been one of the consistent players coming out of the T&T youth system and has been a regular in the pool of T&T senior players for the past year or more.

“It’s a two-week trial but I’m going there with the intention to give it my best shot and hopefully stay one time with the club,” David said.

“It’s going to be down to hard work and God will take care of the rest. I’ve looked forward to an opportunity like this for some time now and hopefully all will go well. I’m really excited about the opportunity. I think I’ve grown as a player in recent times because of the exposure with the national team I intend to keep on advancing my game,” David said.

The 23-year-old David has made 16 appearances for the T&T team and is currently attached to Caledonia AIA. David will hope to become the second T&T player to join Jaro after local striker Shahdon Winchester had a stint with the club last season while on loan from W Connection.
Title: Re: Aubrey David off to Finland for trial
Post by: trini_stallion on February 27, 2014, 10:55:14 AM
The Finnish pl...is that a high standard? ?
Post by: Football supporter on February 27, 2014, 12:11:21 PM
The Finnish pl...is that a high standard? ?

It is in Finland  :rotfl:
Post by: Tiresais on February 27, 2014, 12:31:03 PM
Not terrible, but I thought he had a place in the states? Or am I confusing him with someone else?
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 27, 2014, 01:32:58 PM
our players  need better agents ..
Post by: Sam on February 27, 2014, 07:14:43 PM
Good luck youth.

Post by: FireBrand on February 27, 2014, 08:38:11 PM
All the best Aubrey!
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 11, 2014, 01:30:51 PM
well anynews?
Post by: Tiresais on March 11, 2014, 03:44:30 PM
This finish site says he started a game on the 1st of march; http://palloverkko.palloliitto.fi/live/stats/Fixtures.aspx?fixtureID=xX0YpJSUU/ugzn098biz+A==&matchID=X+xWemRNvv1KHTAne9ma7Q==

The FF Jaro site also lists him as having played on the 8th as well - http://www.ffjaro.fi/news/jaro-ja-fc-jazz-tasasivat so maybe he signed? :)
Post by: FireBrand on March 11, 2014, 04:25:50 PM
well anynews?

No decision made as yet by the Club. He is still on trial. He played two matches so far in the left back position.
Post by: Flex on March 11, 2014, 04:35:59 PM
So I take it, the season has started? if so, why isn't Shahdon heading back?

Post by: Tiresais on March 11, 2014, 04:59:55 PM
They were friendlies apparently. April is start date
Post by: FireBrand on March 12, 2014, 09:32:29 PM

Shahdon is back at FF Jaro.
Post by: FireBrand on March 13, 2014, 08:42:40 AM
Aubrey David has signed on loan with FF Jaro for the upcoming season.  He wanted me to convey his thanks to all at SocaWarriors.net for their support.

http://www.ffjaro.fi/page/index (http://www.ffjaro.fi/page/index)
Post by: Banter Banton on March 13, 2014, 09:02:28 AM
Aubrey David has signed on loan with FF Jaro for the upcoming season.  He wanted me to convey his thanks to all at SocaWarriors.net for their support.

Great Stuff... will do him good in a pro environment to get some experience
Post by: Tallman on March 13, 2014, 10:19:33 AM
On the heels of Aubrey David’s successful trial at FF Jaro, the club has now offered a trial to Caledonia AIA defender, Akim Armstrong.
Post by: weary1969 on March 13, 2014, 12:14:25 PM

Post by: dreamer on March 13, 2014, 12:55:34 PM
Sweet news.
Post by: Tiresais on March 13, 2014, 01:18:34 PM
Fantastic news!!! Please pass on our support
Post by: Sando on March 15, 2014, 03:17:45 AM

I saw he lined up for W Connection yesterday.

Post by: FireBrand on March 15, 2014, 06:04:28 AM

I saw he lined up for W Connection yesterday.

Yeah I guess I should have said he will be back at FF Jaro before the season starts.
Title: David likes the simple life.
Post by: Flex on November 16, 2014, 03:04:50 AM
David likes the simple life
T&T Express Reports.

If Aubrey David has his way, he will be heading back to Finland, after a good first season playing in their 12-team Premier Division, the Veikkausliiga.

The 24 year-old left defender is currently on loan to Finnish top level club FF Jaro, the same club of another young Trinidad and Tobago international Shahdon Winchester. They share living quarters.
David was actually born in Guyana, but has lived in T&T for most of his life.

He attended Vessigny Government Secondary and represented the country at the FIFA Under-17 (2007) and Under-20 (2009) World Cups.

However, when he did not get an invite to join the T&T senior team for the 2014 World Cup campaign, David took up an invitation from former Guyana head coach, Trinidadian Jamaal Shabazz, to join his native Guyana for friendly matches against Panama and Jamaica, before making the permanent switch to the Soca Warriors when called up in November 2012. He now has nearly 20 caps for T&T.

Formerly with the now defunct South End FC, Joe Public and T&TEC clubs, David joined Shabazz’s Caledonia AIA and won the FA Trophy in 2012–13. In his second season with the Morvant-Laventille-based “Stallions,” he was loaned to FF Jaro for the 2014 Veikkausliiga season.

“The club has offered me another season, but I am still contracted with Caledonia (AIA) until next year. So I will have to see what they say, and hopefully I go back,” David said.

“For my first season outside of Trinidad, it has been good for me,” David added. “I played 31 out of the 33 games and I scored three goals. Our team finished sixth. So, it was a nice learning experience for me. Hopefully, I will improve in the future.”

David describes life in Finland as “very simple”, but has the company of his T&T compatriot Winchester. He also kept contact with Daneil Cyrus and Joevin Jones, both also based in Finland this year.

“It is a basic culture, a simple people. I had to get accustomed to the weather...first time experiencing the cold weather. It’s basic living. Very simple.”

David is also thrilled to be back in the national team after a break, and has already played against Curacao and French Guiana at the 2014 Caribbean Cup.

“It feels good to be back in the national team after a little while. Glad to be here for the CFU and among this bunch of players and in this setting again,” David declared.

“My last game for the national team was last December against Jamaica, home and away. It feels good to be back.”

Post by: chelsealife on November 16, 2014, 08:18:50 AM
More mistake in the Express, like dem doh do no research. Cyrus doesn't play in Finland
Post by: dreamer on November 16, 2014, 11:00:17 AM
Maybe by saying "Express reports" and hiding the author's name it reduces accountability on the author. Not a healthy situation.
Still proud of you Aubrey and glad that you are in our growing pool of players although you are not my yet my first choice in the left back position.
Post by: Flex on November 20, 2014, 03:03:58 AM
David stays solid in T&T defence.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

Finland-based defender Aubrey David turned out to be one of the key performers for T&T at the Caribbean  Cup Finals in Montego Bay in Jamaica.

The former national Under-17 and U-20 player was a starter in Stephen Hart’s team for three of the matches during the championship after missing out on the previous semi-final stage in T&T.

Playing with FF Jaro in the Finnish top flight, David, who also played for Guyana at the senior level, said he owed his progress to hard work and self-belief.

“It was a decent tournament and I think we deserved every bit of success we achieved in getting to the final. Unfortunately the result didn’t go out way but we fought till the end and that’s the best one can hope for,” David said.

“I think my game has seen some improvements and my transition from playing in Trinidad to Europe has played a big part in my ability to perform on the international stage. I can only hope to continue developing and improving.”

David will return to the Caledonia AIA line-up but hopes to move back to Europe next season.

“I will be back at Caledonia but I’m hoping another opportunity comes up when the transfer window reopens in January. I feel my game is good enough to keep a spot on the national team and of course I want to play at a high club level because  it’s definitely helping me. I can’t stay relaxed and think my place is fixed on any team. I have to keep delivering every match.”

Post by: Sando prince on November 20, 2014, 09:30:25 AM
David you played a good defensive game in the Carib Cup final. I wish you more success in your club career
Post by: dreamer on November 20, 2014, 10:22:33 AM
Aubrey,
If you reading this, you did better than I expected, so congrats, thanks and good luck and keep up with the team, fighting for a regular spot as we need a deep pool of defenders and left footers who are fit like beasts. This football business in Concacaf eh easy at all atall.
Post by: pull stones on November 20, 2014, 05:02:51 PM
Aubrey,
If you reading this, you did better than I expected, so congrats, thanks and good luck and keep up with the team, fighting for a regular spot as we need a deep pool of defenders and left footers who are fit like beasts. This football business in Concacaf eh easy at all atall.
not only did he played his heart out i would vote him defender of the tournament. he held that central defense way better than mitchel and marshal combined i think we might be looking at the next central defender along side cyrus.
Post by: chelsealife on November 20, 2014, 07:57:16 PM
Aubrey,
Believe it or not, Aubrey is actually right footed  :o
Post by: Flex on December 11, 2014, 02:56:17 AM
David eyes return to Europe.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

National defender Aubrey David is expected to undergo trials in Europe in February as his stint with Finnish club FF Jaro has ended.

David had a relatively strong showing for T&T at the 2014 Caribbean Cup Finals and is hoping to secure another move to Europe.

“The deal has ended with Jaro and at the moment I’m home awaiting the new transfer window. There are a couple clubs that have expressed interest and I’m likely to go on trial early next year,” David said. “The club is from Ukraine and they’ve invited me to join them for a camp in Turkey in February. So hopefully I’ll be back out there in 2015.”

David said he was looking forward to 2015 calendar.

“Next year is another huge year for the national team with the Gold Cup coming up and of course we’re getting closer to the 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

I think we ended 2014 in a good position by coming second in the Caribbean Cup. We have a lot of work to do still but we could look back and be pleased with some of the things we have accomplished in 2014.”

Post by: Trini _2026 on December 11, 2014, 08:13:54 AM
David eyes return to Europe.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

National defender Aubrey David is expected to undergo trials in Europe in February as his stint with Finnish club FF Jaro has ended.

David had a relatively strong showing for T&T at the 2014 Caribbean Cup Finals and is hoping to secure another move to Europe.

“The deal has ended with Jaro and at the moment I’m home awaiting the new transfer window. There are a couple clubs that have expressed interest and I’m likely to go on trial early next year,” David said. “The club is from Ukraine and they’ve invited me to join them for a camp in Turkey in February. So hopefully I’ll be back out there in 2015.”

David said he was looking forward to 2015 calendar.

“Next year is another huge year for the national team with the Gold Cup coming up and of course we’re getting closer to the 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

I think we ended 2014 in a good position by coming second in the Caribbean Cup. We have a lot of work to do still but we could look back and be pleased with some of the things we have accomplished in 2014.”

he better keep away from the ukriane
Title: Re: Aubrey David Thread
Post by: Tallman on February 10, 2015, 07:27:01 PM
Defender Aubrey David has signed with FC Shakhter Karagandy of the Kazakhstan Premier League.
http://online.osterbottenstidning.fi/Artikel/Visa/53735
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 10, 2015, 07:53:13 PM
Defender Aubrey David has signed with FC Shakhter Karagandy of the Kazakhstan Premier League.
http://online.osterbottenstidning.fi/Artikel/Visa/53735

i guess our players cannot get into to stronger leagues any more
Post by: Tallman on February 10, 2015, 08:05:08 PM
WATCH Aubrey David score a goal for FC Shakhter Karagandy against Macedonian club, FK Pelister Bitola, in a pre-season friendly.

https://www.youtube.com/v/cHjQ3Szwl04?start=32
Post by: Flex on February 12, 2015, 02:30:41 AM
David signs with Kazakhstan premier club.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National senior men’s defender Aubrey David agreed to a contract with Kazakhstan Premier League club FC Shakhter Karagandy.

David went on trial with Shakhter in Turkey during their preseason tour at which time he played four matches for the club over the past couple weeks.

“I’m really pleased about this because I had every intention to return to Europe after the Caribbean Cup last year and after my deal with Jaro ended in Finland,” David said.

“I got this opportunity to come on trials with Shakhter while they were in preseason in Turkey and I gave it my best shot. I think the coaches liked what they saw of me during the four games and then they offered me the contract. It’s a good step for me because I think playing out in Europe on a regular basis will help me continue to develop my game. My time in Finland definitely helped me last year.”

He remains committed to the national senior team for the upcoming calendar which includes the Concacaf Gold Cup in July and the Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign which begins for T&T in November.

“I’m always looking forward to that call from the national team.

“So once I’m match ready and free if injury, I’ll be hoping to be part of the team this year for the Gold Cup and the World Cup qualifiers,” said David, who follows national teammates Radanfah Abu Bakr and Robert Primus as those who’ve played in Kazakhstan.

Title: Meet Rising Star Aubrey David
Post by: Tallman on August 05, 2015, 04:03:37 PM
Meet Rising Star Aubrey David
5050sportfactoryltd.com

There is no doubt that from birth this young man was destined for greatness. His name means “Fair leader of people”. He is one in a long line of famous people who share his first name; ranging from scientist to fellow athletes; he was bound for success from the inception.

Should I describe this talented young man, there are only two words that suffice – humble and spiritual. Aubrey David hails from deep Trinidad and has made his dreams a reality and continues to strive for excellence. Seemingly leading a well-balanced life, he praises God in everything and salutes the Almighty for his accomplishments. From emulating previous footballers who have represented Trinidad and Tobago, he has risen from a humble beginning to a budding career in Kazakhstan, where he is adamant that success is inevitable.

During Trinidad and Tobago’s presence and amazing performance at this year’s Gold Cup, Aubrey was most willing to chat with me and share his story and in the midst of it, remind us of how integral God is in everything that we do. Definitely an outstanding young man!

This week we present Rising Star, Aubrey David:

Q: Please introduce yourself and tell us a bit about who you are.

A: My name is Aubrey David, and I’m 24. I am a Shakhter Karaganda (Kazakhstan) defender. I am an easy going person, I like the simple things in life and I’m quiet and friendly.

Q: Where are you from?

A: I was originally born in Guyana, and at the age of 3, I came to Trinidad with my mom and my brother. We currently live in Point Fortin, in Trinidad.

Q: What is your greatest joy?

A: Being able to make my family and friends proud of me. Taking care of them brings the greatest joy, and also serving God brings my greatest joy.

Q: Who has inspired you the most?

A: My mom and my dad inspire me the most.

Q: Which fellow footballer do you most admire?

A: The fellow footballer I admire the most is Densil Theobald; he is a true leader,on and off the field, a hard worker, a true role model.

Q: How and when did your career start?

A: My career started in 2008, with Southend F.C, under the coach Anthony Rougier, I was 18 at that time.

Q: What are your greatest accomplishments?

A: There are a few accomplishments. One is playing in a youth world cup. Secondly I scoring on my debut for the National Senior team, and thirdly, signing a professional contract in Europe. The most recent is playing in a Gold Cup.

Q: What would you say is your best attribute?

A: My best attribute is my energy and that I am versatile. I can use any foot comfortably.

Q: What is your biggest peeve?

A: Seeing girls smoking.

Q: What is one thing that most people don’t know about you?

A: I'm very shy at first, but when you get to know me you will realize I am a clown and I like to joke around.

Q: What is your ultimate dream?

A: My ultimate goal is to play in a World Cup, and win it.

Q: Describe the daily schedule of a National Footballer.

A: Well for me, my schedule is, as soon as I wake up I read my Bible and pray. Then we have meals, training and then resting. It’s not complicated. I read and pray before I go to bed, and then sleep.

Q: What does it mean to be a National Footballer?

A: Personally it means a lot to me to be a national athlete. Ever since I fell in love with the game at an early age, I always watched on Dwight Yorke, Carlos Edwards and Avery John on t.v, representing the country. I made dreams that I wanted to be there some day, and now I’m here, so it really means a lot to me and I thank the Lord for his many blessings,

Q: Who has been your most influential coach?

A: I have had a lot of influential coaches, like Anton Corneal, Howard Spence and Terrence Marcelle, but the most influential coach will have to Neville Fredericks. He taught me the game and the basics and fundamentals. He made me fall in love with game.

Q: How was your experience in your first game of the group stages against Guatemala at the Gold up?

A: My experience playing against Guatemala was a good one. It was a game of 2 halves, first half dominating the game, and2nd half having to defend a lot, but we got the victory. I’m proud of my team.

Q: What fuels your passion for football?

A: My passions came naturally.

Q: How is it at your new club in Kazakhstan?

A: It was a bit rough at my new club. I'm experiencing a lot of new things; a new culture, a new style of football. Also our club is at bottom of the table, so things are not that smooth.

Q: What do you enjoy aside from football?

A: I enjoy going to church, relaxing with my friends and family and just being around them. I also like playing video games and going to the beach.

Q: What is your favourite International team?

A: My favourite team is Arsenal; Dani Alves is my favourite player.

Q: What are your goals for 2015?

A: My goal for 2015 was to win the Gold Cup. Also to help the national team in the World Cup Qualifier campaign which starts later this year. I also plan to keep improving each and every day.

Q: What is your message to younger players looking on at you?

A: My advice to the youths is, nothing come easy! Success isn't given, you have to work hard for it. Key things to need to become successful are hard work, discipline, a strong mindset. However, most importantly you need a relationship with God, because “With God all things are possible!”, Matthew 19:26.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 05, 2015, 06:40:29 PM
Nice read man, bless up Aubrey! We are both fans of mad Dani, hard luck with Assnal doh  ;D
Post by: trini_stallion on August 05, 2015, 07:26:00 PM
This fellah seems like the real deal...he quietly takes care of business and imho was very impressive at the GC...Keep doing your thing man!
Post by: Flex on September 03, 2015, 02:28:25 AM
David’s tough times in Kazakhstan.

National defender Aubrey David is getting some breathing space away from the rigors of club football in Kazakhstan. The 24 year old player, who has 22 international appearances for this country, has to be on top of his game for Premier Division club Shakhter Karangandy as they are battling relegation at the moment.

The club itself has a rich history, being the first and one of two clubs from Kazakhstan to reach the group stage of the UEFA Europa League. The also shocked Celtic 2-0 in the first leg of a UEFA Champions’ League group stage qualifier but lost the second leg.

Kazakhstan is the only Central Asian country to play in Europe. It joined UEFA in 2002 after competing for 10 years in the Asian Football Confederation.

“It’s a difficult period for the club at the moment. We are in a relegation battle at the moment and we have just a few games left in the season. Personally my position is okay but of course the main thing is for us to dig deep and see if we can salvage something. The club is known as one of the best in Kazakhstan but this season we dropped off and it has been a struggle for the most part,” David said.

“Now coming into the national team allows me to re-focus on international football again and it’s always a joy to play for the country. This game against Mexico is just another opportunity for us to test our ability as a team and to get more familiar with playing top teams on the international stage.

“This is the purpose of being out here, trying to improve every day and get ourselves ready for the World Cup qualifiers. I have every bit of faith that we can pull it off and go on to greater things.”

Post by: Flex on October 15, 2015, 02:01:53 AM
David: Team unity is strong.

The progress shown by the national senior men’s team over the past six months of so deserves a fair amount of commendation.

Following defeats to Jamaica in the Caribbean Cup Finals in October and then a 1-0 defeat to Panama with a largely home-based team in March, the “Soca Warriors” have risen to the call, particularly after the dismal showing in Jordan.

Two successive draws with Mexico which provided non-stop action and enjoyable goals and then a win away to Panama have provided evidence that the team is on track but will need to continue to plugging away heading into the Concacaf semi-final World Cup qualifying round next month.

Defender Aubrey David, who is based in Kazakhstan, believes that a strong team unity on and off the pitch is a major factor in the team’s run.

“We have a strong bond. A lot of us have played together from the youth teams come up and then with new players that may be coming in, we make it our duty to make everyone fit it and to learn more about each other on a daily basis, especially when we are in camp,” David said.

“This journey so far has been a great one. We have our ups and downs but it’s all part of the process of building the right team to go forward. Players will fight for each other and we have a staff that is going all out to ensure things are in place.

“There will always be some bit of challenges but so far we have shown that we can overcome them and keep moving forward. That is very important for us as a team.

“Hopefully the support will come for us. I think once we continue to get the right preparations then beating the best teams in Concacaf is not impossible for us.”

Post by: Tallman on December 28, 2015, 11:21:11 AM
National defender Aubrey David has signed a one-year contract with Costa Rican powerhouse, Deportivo Saprissa. Aubrey will join the club after Trinidad and Tobago’s Copa America playoff match against Haiti which takes place on January 8th 2016. Saprissa is the most successful Costa Rican football club.
Post by: Peong on December 28, 2015, 12:07:33 PM
Great news he will get good exposure over there. Only 1 year on the contract though. He will need to impress.
Post by: Dutty Love on December 28, 2015, 12:37:50 PM
One plus one option at his request. Saprissa was ready to make it 2 years...Atlanta 2017 is ready for him. They wanted to put him in USL in 2016 leading up to their first MLS season. Saprissa was a much better option. Also declined offer from Edmonton for what is considered close to top money in NASL.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 28, 2015, 01:07:24 PM
Great news, congrats Aubrey, father thanks for this and help us keep out blight in all forms...

http://www.concacaf.com/article/saprissa-signs-tt-intl-david-parker
Post by: dreamer on December 28, 2015, 08:46:23 PM
Good news after the recent shocker with Keron Cummings
Saprissa. Nice. More exposure spreading throughout Central America.
Title: David ready for new chapter
Post by: Tallman on December 31, 2015, 10:08:30 AM
David ready for new chapter
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

Trinidad and Tobago defender Aubrey David is preparing for a new move in his professional career after signing a new one-year deal with CONCACAF and Costa Rica club giants Deportivo Saprissa.

David was based in Kazakhstan previously but completed the move this month and is expected to join the club following T&T’s Copa America Centenario qualifier with Haiti in Panama City on January 8th.

Currently in camp with the T&T Team, the former Caledonia AIA/ Guyanese-born defender spoke about the new deal, saying “I’ve just signed the new one year deal with Saprissa and I’d like to thank God for this opportunity. They are the most successful club in Costa Rica and I am very happy about this move.

“An agent from Italy was instrumental in this deal. He told me they were interested and he sent them videos of my performance and they offered the deal. The head coach Paolo Wanchope said he spoke to Stephen Hart and he had a lot of good things to say about me, so I’d like to thank coach for the recommendation also,” David added.

“I’ve had a good experience in Europe while playing in Kazakhstan and I’m grateful for being able to spend that period of my career out there. It helped me to develop my game both on and off the field and now I’m ready to enter a new chapter in my career.

Looking ahead to the upcoming match with Haiti, David said he was optimistic about the team’s chances of advancing.

“Unity is the key for us and that has been a big part of the team. I think all the players want to keep working hard and giving their best for the coach, the fans and the country in general. We know it will be a very difficult game in Panama because of what is at stake but I feel confident that we can come out on top,” the former T&T Under 20 and Under 17 defender said.
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2016, 08:36:33 AM
Since his arrival in Costa Rica, Aubrey David has impressed the coaching staff at Deportivo Saprissa. Head Coach Carlos Watson says that Aubrey is an athlete with great qualities, notably strength, speed, and good technique.
http://www.crhoy.com/aubrey-david-destaca-por-su-fuerza-y-velocidad/deportes/
Post by: Sam on January 14, 2016, 09:40:42 AM
I feel David should be playing for T&T more regular.

Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2016, 10:07:36 AM
WATCH: Check out the line of people waiting to see Saprissa train
https://www.facebook.com/yashin.quesada/videos/1022188281173251/

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CYsNLSzUQAAxy6S.jpg:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CYsX96BUEAARAZP.jpg:large)
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 14, 2016, 10:34:27 AM
Yup, a real football culture
Post by: soccerman on January 14, 2016, 12:22:23 PM
My friend from El Salvador told me Costa Rica is considered the Switzerland of Central America.
Post by: Deeks on January 14, 2016, 12:27:54 PM
Sarprissa is a REAL FOOTBALL CLUB. No rumshop team.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 14, 2016, 01:17:44 PM

Yet only last week a player from the T&T national team currently playing in Pro League opted to decline an offer with a mid table team of Costa Rica
Post by: Deeks on January 14, 2016, 01:40:56 PM

Yet only last week a player from the T&T national team currently playing in Pro League opted to decline an offer with a mid table team of Costa Rica

What's wrong with that?
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 14, 2016, 01:55:02 PM
Who of Aubrey and Mekeil could use their right foot better?  As a fan and observing both players they should be our starting wing backs unless their right foot is a true walking stick
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 14, 2016, 03:00:54 PM
Who of Aubrey and Mekeil could use their right foot better?  As a fan and observing both players they should be our starting wing backs unless their right foot is a true walking stick

Mekeil is equally strong with both feet and very comfortable on his right.  So much so that he shot his penalty in the GC right footed.  Haven't really observed how well David uses his right.  I like your idea though.  I still see value in Cyrus but more from an offensive standpoint.  I wouldn't mind seeing him get an opportunity in the pivot.  He is calm under pressure, deceptively strong and can dribble better than defenders usually can.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 14, 2016, 03:25:59 PM

Mekeil is equally strong with both feet and very comfortable on his right.  So much so that he shot his penalty in the GC right footed.  Haven't really observed how well David uses his right.  I like your idea though.  I still see value in Cyrus but more from an offensive standpoint.  I wouldn't mind seeing him get an opportunity in the pivot.  He is calm under pressure, deceptively strong and can dribble better than defenders usually can.

Scorpion, I used to think the same until he reveal himself to be a liability in recent matches.  In those games he was very slow and sometimes too predictable, when I think of attacking wingbacks in the modern game if you not bringing it like Alves/Alba and don't have the fitness to run back at least firm up the back!  Maybe it's a confidence thing and/or he in a bad patch, don't know...Hart going w/him, so clearly coach prefers this set up, but boy oh boy, really scary last few games when he has exposed himself....
Post by: Jay10 on January 14, 2016, 03:30:15 PM
Both Williams and David are right- footed. For that reason you dont see many crosses or too much overlapping from both.
Post by: Tallman on January 14, 2016, 03:38:49 PM
WATCH: Nice Aubrey David compilation

https://www.youtube.com/v/QSj3pd_OC-s
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 14, 2016, 04:15:41 PM

Scorpion, I used to think the same until he reveal himself to be a liability in recent matches.  In those games he was very slow and sometimes too predictable, when I think of attacking wingbacks in the modern game if you not bringing it like Alves/Alba and don't have the fitness to run back at least firm up the back!  Maybe it's a confidence thing and/or he in a bad patch, don't know...Hart going w/him, so clearly coach prefers this set up, but boy oh boy, really scary last few games when he has exposed himself....

Is a weird thing because he has great speed that is evident when he has to recover his position.  He has a very languid and deliberate look when dribbling almost reminds me (strictly in the speed of movement and not skill) of Berbatov.  He is speedy off the ball but on it he really is not.  I think it's a bad patch with him tho and it seems like he has become some posters new whipping boy where he gets singled out even when not at fault for anything.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 14, 2016, 09:09:11 PM

Although I understand what you wish to convey, no player is "equally strong with both feet".
Post by: Deeks on January 14, 2016, 10:43:15 PM
Asylum, while it may be try no player is equally strong on both feet, I have seen players who would make you believe they are equally adept with both feet. Two that vividly come to mind are Warren Archibald and Leo Brewster. They were left sided forwards who shoot and crossed the ball effortlessly with both feet. They were also excellent dribblers. There are others, that don't come to mind at this moment.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 14, 2016, 10:45:49 PM
Mekeil is natural right footed but you can't tell that unless he takes a PK. Most importantly he is playing left back at Antigua (maybe for not much longer ;)

Aubrey is also right footed but experienced left back. Saprissa intends to use him as right back.
Post by: Jay10 on January 15, 2016, 04:47:44 AM
Asylum, while it may be try no player is equally strong on both feet, I have seen players who would make you believe they are equally adept with both feet. Two that vividly come to mind are Warren Archibald and Leo Brewster. They were left sided forwards who shoot and crossed the ball effortlessly with both feet. They were also excellent dribblers. There are others, that don't come to mind at this moment.

Santi Cazorla
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2016, 06:51:57 AM
Saprissa surprised by the quality of Aubrey David (http://www.nacion.com/deportes/futbol-costa-rica/Saprissa-Aubrey_David_0_1538646218.html)

Aubrey David has received his International Transfer Certificate and work permit (http://everardoherrera.com/index.php/futbol-de-costa-rica/48-primera-division/17912-confirmado-jaime-penedo-y-aubrey-david-listos-para-debutar) which makes him eligible to make his debut for Saprissa as early as Wednesday against Carmelita.
Post by: Rastaman on January 26, 2016, 09:04:15 AM
In Saprissa they are surprised by the quality of the Trinidadian Aubrey David

In Saprissa they are surprised and amazed with the conditions shown by the Trinidadian Aubrey David, who joined the team as reinforcement for the 2016 Summer Tournament.

Only in practice, the Caribbean has already gained good comments from their peers, who are its ability to run the band, the power and handling of the ball with the right and left foot.

"When are players of that caliber is good. You see the training and from the way the ball is important for quality and has been known, because he comes to bring you a lot of power and a lot of competition right or left wing.

"In addition hits it very well the ball, has great pass and good in the air," said Néstor Monge.

A Saprissa has hindered you find the right stability because Heiner Mora injuries have not allowed him to be constant, whereas previously Jordan Smith failed to consolidate and then went to MLS soccer.

David will try to fill that void, because although he is ambidextrous, the tibaseño team hired to fill the field.

"Aubrey has been fitted quite well, handles the two profiles and that is very good, now is give you the confidence to do it when it debuts in the best way," said Marvin Angulo.

For the defender Roy Miller, his partner is not only effective when going on the offensive, it has also shown its strength when defending.

"He has good technique, attacks pretty well, but defensively as well, is good in one on one, so there will Carlos (Watson) to choose from. It is important the competition," he said.

Nearby debut. When Aubrey to debut in the tournament it seems to be close and to Jaime Penedo.
Both players have ready the international pass and registration with the UNAFUT; however, the permission of work is pending.

This morning the whole tibaseño opened expendiente Panamanian and Trinity and in the coming days the card work permit will be issued, but only have the file open, Immigration and categorized as regular.

"Now his condition in Costa Rica is regular. Now, the resolution of a work permit is not ready because it was until today (Monday) that made the process, however, provided they have the file open, can play without problem" Seidy said Munoz, the press department of Migration.
However, it is necessary for UNAFUT given permission set and not in process.

"If you are new players on a team must have all ready requirements, whether it is a player who defeated him permission and must renew it itself could play while management is open," said José Pablo Molina, Press the UNAFUT.

Molina also said that both players are registered, but not enabled. If Saprissa have achieved everything in order on Wednesday, they will debut the same day to Carmelita, at 8 p. m.

As for the international passes, purples lawyer, Fausto Gonzalez, said that already have them in their possession.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 04, 2016, 05:22:49 PM
Live Aubrey David debut with Saprissa at 8 pm local time, 10 pm T&T:

http://www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: madness on February 04, 2016, 10:06:40 PM
David played very well.. he almost scored.
Post by: Tallman on February 05, 2016, 10:48:38 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David talks about making his debut for Deportivo Saprissa in a 1-0 loss to Pérez Zeledón (https://www.facebook.com/socawarriors.net/posts/10153938704434314)
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2016, 10:03:15 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David made a good impression on his debut for Deportivo Saprissa (http://www.repretel.com/deportes/-aubrey-david-por-fin-debuto-en-el-saprissa-18291)
Post by: maxg on February 06, 2016, 11:05:47 AM
man carry the "inch" Costa Rica, yes.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 10, 2016, 07:50:05 PM
Live Aubrey David debut with Saprissa at 8 pm local time, 10 pm T&T:

Post by: Peong on February 10, 2016, 09:56:48 PM
I saw from the 31st min. Clean sheet for Saprissa. The other team barely did anything to trouble them though.
They switched David from right back to left during the 2nd half. He was decent but as I said the other side didn't do a whole lot to test him. He was attacking a little bit. Won a free kick and forced a couple corners.
Thanks for the link dutty love.
Post by: madness on February 11, 2016, 06:07:16 AM
HINT... this will build his confidence in this league.... Saprissa coach should know what is best...
Post by: Dutty Love on February 14, 2016, 02:21:46 PM
Good game today. Aubrey David with Saprissa Live vs Cartagines at 3.30 pm (5.30 pm) http://www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx?url=http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x29e3wg#
Post by: Dutty Love on February 17, 2016, 07:48:01 PM

Live Aubrey David with Saprissa at 8 pm local time, 10 pm T&T:

Post by: FireBrand on February 17, 2016, 10:16:03 PM
Saprissa won 3-0 and Aubrey scored the 3rd goal in the 13'.  :applause:
Post by: Tallman on February 18, 2016, 10:14:38 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores his first goal for Deportivo Saprissa in a 3-0 win over Universidad de Costa Rica.

https://www.youtube.com/v/7ogJL7_olic?start=54
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 18, 2016, 10:16:50 AM
Well done AD!!!
Post by: Dutty Love on February 21, 2016, 01:53:15 PM
Live Aubrey David with Saprissa at 5 pm local time, 7 pm T&T in his first Clasico vs Alajuelense

Post by: Dutty Love on February 21, 2016, 04:48:26 PM
Correct link Live Aubrey David with Saprissa in his first Clasico vs Alajuelense

http://www.repretel.com/envivo
Post by: Dutty Love on February 24, 2016, 02:59:56 PM
Aubrey David live with Saprissa vs Limon FC kick off now: http://www.repretel.com/envivo
Post by: Mose on February 24, 2016, 03:33:56 PM
Correct link Live Aubrey David with Saprissa in his first Clasico vs Alajuelense

Any word on what happened in the classico?
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2016, 03:41:04 PM

Saprissa lost 1-0
Post by: asylumseeker on February 24, 2016, 03:48:20 PM

Saprissa lost 1-0

... three key points dropped because Alajuelense now top the table.
Post by: Mose on February 24, 2016, 03:50:21 PM

Saprissa lost 1-0

How did Aubrey do?
Post by: Dutty Love on February 24, 2016, 03:52:59 PM
And now they are struggling vs the Caribbean Whirlwind
Post by: Dutty Love on February 24, 2016, 03:53:58 PM
Aubrey had a decent game Sunday but was not very offensive
Post by: asylumseeker on February 24, 2016, 03:59:28 PM
Yep, tied up 1-1 atm.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 24, 2016, 05:15:42 PM
And now they are struggling vs the Caribbean Whirlwind

All's well that ends well. 2-1.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 28, 2016, 02:07:48 PM
Live Aubrey David with Saprissa at 4 pm local time, 6 pm T&T vs Liberia

Post by: Flex on March 06, 2016, 03:55:50 AM
David has six points in mind.
TTFA MEDIA.

With just under three weeks left before this country resumes its 2018 World Cup qualifying efforts against St Vincent and the Grenadines in two back to back qualifying matches, the members of the team have began to gather their thoughts on what head coach Stephen Hart has already described as two games in which T&T needs to secure maximum six points.

Among those players already focusing his thoughts on the contests is  Costa Rican-based defender Aubrey David. In an interview on Friday with TTFA Media, David who is now plying his trade with Costa Rican champion club Deportivo Saprissa, stressed the importance of T&T being at their best against the tricky “Vincy Heat” outfit.

“It definitely is going to be two games where we cannot afford to lose concentration or begin to feel we have full points in the bag,” said the former Morvant Caledonia United (formerly Caledonia AIA)  player.

“I think we have experienced what these Caribbean teams are capable of. We played them in the Caribbean Cup qualifiers back in 2012 and they were a difficult side. And playing them away from home on the cricket pitch will not be easy. But I think our players and particularly the head coach and his staff are already preparing for the match mentally and this will transfer onto what we do on the field of play.

“Hopefully we can come together and prepare well for the two games to be able to put ourselves the driver’s seat for the next round. I know there is a strong desire to put the Haiti loss (Copa America qualifier) behind us and continue from the decent start we had in the semi final round of the qualifiers with the performances against Guatemala and the US,” David said.

In the interview which David talks more about his career, the Guyanese-born player also spoke about his decision to switch his ties back to T&T after playing for the Guyana senior team in some international friendlies. He had already represented T&T at the youth level prior to that. And then he was convinced to make his return to the T&T team.

“Honestly  I was mostly acting on emotions and situations that were happening at the time because I had just been dropped from the T&T national u-23 team and  of course I was disappointed,” said David, who attended Vessigny Government Secondary.

“Then the opportunity came to join the Guyana senior team for World Cup qualifiers which at the time I thought it was the best decision because I had the opportunity to play at that level. But when Trinidad and Tobago came knocking again I gave a lot of thought  and I also sought some advice from my teammate Marvin Phillip, who I trusted for solid advice about the situation, and then he told me to also speak to Densill Theobald and  Clyde Leon who gave me life changing advice. After hearing their words I was convinced to make my return,” David explained.

The 25-year-old David went on to make his debut for T&T in a friendly against Antigua/Barbuda in February 2012 and has since made 25 appearances including two CONCACAF Gold Cups in 2013 and 2015. David is now a regular member of the T&T Senior Team player pool.

Tickets for the March 29th World Cup qualifier versus St Vincent/Grenadines are priced at $300 (covered section) and $150 (uncovered). Those tickets will go on sale next week  (exact date and outlets to be announced on Sunday) .There will also be online ticket sales via TTFootball.Org. The match will be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and kick off time is 7pm.

Post by: Dutty Love on March 06, 2016, 02:27:56 PM
Aubrey live today vs Belen 4 pm http://www.repretel.com/envivo
Post by: Dutty Love on March 10, 2016, 07:51:07 PM
LIVE now Aubrey David and Saprissa vs Santos de Guapiles: www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: FireBrand on March 13, 2016, 03:48:05 PM
Aubrey scored his second goal of the season against Deportiva Carmelita in the 24'.  :applause:
Post by: Tallman on March 14, 2016, 05:34:18 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David opens the scoring in Deportivo Saprissa’s 3-1 win over Asociación Deportiva Carmelita

https://www.youtube.com/v/vyP1niXXvw4?start=48
Post by: Tallman on March 15, 2016, 12:40:22 PM
Defender Aubrey David has become a hit with the Deportivo Saprissa fans (http://www.repretel.com/deportes/perdido-en-tiquicia--buscando-el-fortin-de-heredia-23293)
Post by: Dutty Love on March 20, 2016, 02:49:51 PM
Huge game today for Aubrey playing vs top of the table Herediano at home. Will be a sold out crowd.

Watch Live at 4 PM local time (6 pm T&T): www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: Dutty Love on April 10, 2016, 05:38:58 PM
Watch Now Live Aubrey David and Saprissa vs Cartagines www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: Peong on April 10, 2016, 07:01:47 PM
Thanks for the link
Post by: trini_stallion on April 11, 2016, 04:31:09 AM
This fella so talented man!! Mls or Europe soon enough!
Post by: Dutty Love on April 17, 2016, 03:20:59 PM
The Clasico Saprissa - Alajuelense

Live at 5 PM local time (7 pm T&T): www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: Dutty Love on April 20, 2016, 07:31:21 PM
Watch Now Live Aubrey David and Saprissa vs Limon www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: Peong on April 20, 2016, 08:50:04 PM
Thanks. The feed is very good
Post by: Dutty Love on April 24, 2016, 02:05:05 PM
Watch Live Aubrey David and Saprissa vs Liberia at 3 pm local, 5 pm T&T

www.teletica.com/en-vivo.aspx
Post by: Dutty Love on April 30, 2016, 07:15:38 PM
Semifinal vs Alajuelense in 45 mins. Usual link
Post by: Sando prince on April 30, 2016, 07:28:05 PM
Semifinal vs Alajuelense in 45 mins. Usual link

Post by: Dutty Love on April 30, 2016, 08:05:52 PM
here http://www.repretel.com/envivo
Post by: Tallman on May 01, 2016, 09:32:45 PM
WATCH: Aubrey David is interviewed by a university student as part of her graduation project

https://www.youtube.com/v/y6eWFn0hi3M
Post by: Dutty Love on May 04, 2016, 06:47:58 PM
Live semifinal second leg Saprissa with Aubrey David vs Alajuelense at 8 pm local time, 10 pm T&T 

Post by: Flex on May 06, 2016, 03:03:28 AM
Positive Costa Rica vibes for Aubrey.

National defender Aubrey David is a regular starter with Costa Rican powerhouse club Deportivo Saprissa, and the former Caledonia AIA player says his decision to join the club in December has turned out to be one of the best decisions of his career.

David has started most of the club’s games including their two El Clasico semi-final matches with Alajuelense this week. Initially signed by the club for one year following an injury to Heiner Mora, David has been offered a new two-year contract with Saprissa having found favour with head coach Carlos Watson since his arrival at the club.

“It’s been a good season. Being able to come to Costa Rica where football is number one and they are so passionate about it, and fit into the culture and the football has been a big deal for me,” David said.

“My game has definitely gone up a notch because the level of play is quite good and the competition among the top four or five teams is quite intense. There are some very keen rivalries so for a lot of games we are playing in front of large crowds of 15,000 and more. I think it prepares me for playing in these conditions with the national team,” said David who is anticipating a trip to San Jose with the T&T team for the final round of 2018 World Cup qualification next year.

Saprissa’s head coach Watson spoke highly of David, saying: “Aubrey has done very well. He is a decent boy and he works very hard. He brings a good quality to the team. He has been a very good addition,” Watson said. Nigerian striker says Yorke was his hero

Nigerian Watford striker Odion Ighlo says he grew up admiring the exploits of Dwight Yorke while he played for Manchester United.

Reports are that Manchester United and Arsenal are set to make bids for the player. Ighalo, who has been in superb form this season scoring 14 Premier League goals and two  FA Cup goals, has also attracted interest from Roma and La Liga title contenders Atletico Madrid.

The player said he would definitely not turn down a move to United.

“I don’t think I will be moving but I’m not sure I could say no if United called.They were my team growing up. I loved watching Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke. They were my idols and playing at Old Trafford has always been a dream,” Ighlo said.

Both Yorke and Cole teamed up once more, this time on the golf course in Chile last month,  as they were there  as United ambassadors for the club’s official global wine partner Casillero del Diablo.

Post by: Tallman on May 13, 2016, 05:29:02 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David gives us an inside look at life in the Costa Rican Primera División with Deportivo Saprissa

https://www.youtube.com/v/2UhlGGd7FjA
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 13, 2016, 09:28:50 AM
Awesome video.  Fuentes good fuh something afterall lol
Post by: soccerman on May 13, 2016, 01:54:45 PM
Wonderful feature. Good to see how his teammates and the club as a whole appreciates him as well. Well done Shaun!
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 13, 2016, 02:21:07 PM
Carlos Watson sound so jamaican
Post by: Deeks on May 13, 2016, 02:48:09 PM

Lots of JA went Costa Rica to work in the banana plantations. He more than likely he grand parents or great grand were from JA.
Post by: maxg on May 13, 2016, 02:53:31 PM
Wonderful feature. Good to see how his teammates and the club as a whole appre..Hope thciates him as well. Well done Shaun!
yup..fine job Mr. Fuentes, nice production... Excellent job Mr David. Hope they will love yuh up, after we buss they tail.. ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 13, 2016, 03:17:35 PM

Lots of JA went Costa Rica to work in the banana plantations. He more than likely he grand parents or great grand were from JA.

Yeah, other parts of central America too.  Remember once meeting a Nicaraguan in DC who I had to work with briefly.  Twang was interesting to listen to, a mix between Ja and Tony Montana  ;D
Post by: Cocorite on May 13, 2016, 05:08:32 PM
Thanks Fuentes. That was precious.

Proud of Aubrey.  Great Job
Post by: kounty on May 14, 2016, 01:46:24 PM
Thanks Fuentes. That was precious.

Proud of Aubrey.  Great Job

ditto. very good job fuentays.
Post by: andre samuel on May 16, 2016, 10:18:46 AM
Excellent insight into Aubrey and his club.  Good work Shaun!!

Post by: andremartinsc on June 24, 2016, 09:43:38 AM
http://yashinquesada.com/futbol-nacional/28-la-primera/12683-david-ramirez-y-aubrey-david-con-altas-opciones-de-dejar-el-saprissa

He has received offers from Real Salt Lake, Houston Dynamo and DC United
Post by: trini_stallion on June 24, 2016, 11:22:37 AM
http://yashinquesada.com/futbol-nacional/28-la-primera/12683-david-ramirez-y-aubrey-david-con-altas-opciones-de-dejar-el-saprissa

Wonderful!! Why are our guys being primarily scouted by the MLS! Imagine we don't hv one PL player!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 24, 2016, 01:28:56 PM

Wonderful!! Why are our guys being primarily scouted by the MLS! Imagine we don't hv one PL player!

Right now our players aren't attracting PL attention because we not good enough!  We probably could and maybe should get some Championship attention.  BREXIT may presents a new set of problems depending on work permit rules and UKs EU relationship going forward.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 24, 2016, 04:13:03 PM

Right now our players aren't attracting PL attention because we not good enough!  We probably could and maybe should get some Championship attention.  BREXIT may presents a new set of problems depending on work permit rules and UKs EU relationship going forward.

Joevin jones and Molino not good enough?
Post by: andremartinsc on June 24, 2016, 05:45:05 PM

They're good for MLS, so they would be good for Championship, not EPL.
Like I said before, only Levi Garcia and John Bostock have potential to be EPL players, in my opinion. Not sure about Molino yet, but he's doing a great job in MLS.
Post by: soccerman on June 24, 2016, 07:49:48 PM

Spot on!
Post by: trini_stallion on June 25, 2016, 06:25:08 AM

Like I said before, only Levi Garcia and John Bostock have potential to be EPL players, in my opinion. Not sure about Molino yet, but he's doing a great job in MLS.

They're good IN MLS, as a post to for. Molino coach, had said that Molino is as good as any, kaka also said that he wld recommend him to his former club, which is a top club worldwide, even better quality than the PL imho... Serie A. Joevin had been spoken off highly as well with SH saying that even Joevin himself does not realize how good he is.

Mekeil is another one that cld be added. Idk about bostock, haven't seen him play, videos are not enough for me as it just shows selective moments, as a post to a entire game where you can observe off the ball movement etc.

As a fan it's just kinda sad to see such talents compromised in the sense that, I think they're limiting themselves
Post by: Tallman on June 25, 2016, 08:21:50 AM

First of all, unless a loophole can be found, they would not be able to get a work permit because T&T is not ranked in the top 50.
Post by: andremartinsc on June 25, 2016, 07:34:49 PM

They're good IN MLS, as a post to for. Molino coach, had said that Molino is as good as any, kaka also said that he wld recommend him to his former club, which is a top club worldwide, even better quality than the PL imho... Serie A. Joevin had been spoken off highly as well with SH saying that even Joevin himself does not realize how good he is.

Mekeil is another one that cld be added. Idk about bostock, haven't seen him play, videos are not enough for me as it just shows selective moments, as a post to a entire game where you can observe off the ball movement etc.

As a fan it's just kinda sad to see such talents compromised in the sense that, I think they're limiting themselves

Sorry for the English, I'm Brazilian, still learning.  :P

Kaká former club was São Paulo, not Milan. Are you sure he was talking about Milan?
Don't get me wrong, I love Molino, he's my favorite T&T player, but I'm not sure if he's EPL level yet.
Agree about Mekeil.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 25, 2016, 10:08:08 PM

Kaká former club was São Paulo, not Milan. Are you sure he was talking about Milan?
Don't get me wrong, I love Molino, he's my favorite T&T player, but I'm not sure if he's EPL level yet.
Agree about Mekeil.
He was asked by a reporter if he would recommend any of his Orlando teammates to Milan. He couldn't really answer, 'No,' because that would be rude. So he picked his best/favorite teammate. I don't think it's any deeper than that, really.
Post by: andremartinsc on June 26, 2016, 10:46:21 AM

Agree about Mekeil.
He was asked by a reporter if he would recommend any of his Orlando teammates to Milan. He couldn't really answer, 'No,' because that would be rude. So he picked his best/favorite teammate. I don't think it's any deeper than that, really.

Hm... I think he praised Higuita too. And there was rumors he received offers from Milan.
Post by: Tallman on June 26, 2016, 08:10:59 PM
Defender Aubrey David goes on loan to MLS club, FC Dallas (http://www.mariosegura.com/aubrey-david-se-va-a-prestamo-al-fc-dallas/)
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 10:17:34 PM
Good news :beermug:
Post by: andremartinsc on July 04, 2016, 11:30:50 AM
Defender Aubrey David goes on loan to MLS club, FC Dallas (http://www.mariosegura.com/aubrey-david-se-va-a-prestamo-al-fc-dallas/)

Now it's official!
http://www.fcdallas.com/post/2016/07/04/fc-dallas-signs-defender-aubrey-david-loan-deportivo-saprissa
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2016, 05:28:28 AM
Glad for de youth.

Nice player.

Post by: Cocorite on July 06, 2016, 08:44:38 AM
Glad for de youth.

Nice player.

Yeah Sam, love his attitude. He is also an intelligent player
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2016, 08:09:24 PM
Defender Aubrey David makes his MLS debut tonight for FC Dallas vs Seattle Sounders. He will do battle with international teammate Joevin Jones who is in Seattle’s starting lineup.

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/13691128_10154352041839314_6027634380268256169_o.jpg)
Post by: Fyzoman on July 14, 2016, 06:02:14 AM
Dallas AND Aubrey David...Yikes!!!
Title: Re: Re: Aubrey David Thread
Post by: FireBrand on July 14, 2016, 06:17:49 AM
Nightmare debut for Aubrey. He was beaten to the ball on the third and last goal. Hopefully it was just a freak display and it will be up from here on...
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2016, 07:46:14 AM
Nightmare debut for Aubrey. He was beaten to the ball on the third and last goal. Hopefully it was just a freak display and it will be up from here on...

Ah find he coulda do better as well in terms of disrupting de sequence of events that led to Joevin's goal.
Post by: soccerman on July 14, 2016, 08:44:40 AM
The MLS is a high intensity league and it's tough to just be thrown into the mix without much preparation or not even a preseason. I think he'll catch on eventually.
Title: Aubrey David makes seamless transition to MLS, FC Dallas
Post by: Tallman on July 27, 2016, 08:03:27 PM
Aubrey David makes seamless transition to MLS, FC Dallas
By Stephen Hunt (The Dallas Morning News)

Aubrey David has been in Texas for only about 30 days or so, but what a month it's been for the FC Dallas defender.

David, 25, joined FCD on loan from CD Saprissa of the Costa Rican first division on July 4 as the MLS summer transfer window opened. A regular with the Trinidad and Tobago national team, David made his MLS debut July 13 at Seattle, when he faced off against T&T teammate Joevin Jones.

David also started on July 16 against Chicago and in FCD's 1-0 win at Houston last Wednesday in the quarterfinals of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. With his 6-2 frame, his strength in the air and a bite in his game, David has been a welcome addition to an undermanned Dallas back line. Stalwart defender Zach Loyd, FCD's longest-tenured player, remains sidelined with concussion symptoms.

"I think what has contributed to make it easy is the guys," David said. "The guys welcomed me when I came, and then I had a week to train with them before I could get my pass [to play], so I got accustomed to their styles very quickly."

At Seattle, David started at left back but shifted to center back four minutes in when Maynor Figueroa was ejected for what was ruled a deliberate hand ball. David, who can also play right back, then started at center back against Chicago and at Houston in the Open Cup.

FCD defender/midfielder Ryan Hollingshead started alongside David against the Fire and continues to be impressed with what a quick study David has been.

"He's done well," Hollingshead said. "It's hard to move, come to a new area, a new team and just start jelling right away, and I feel like he has been doing that. Him having to jump in there fast is not an easy task, but he's been doing well."
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2016, 06:07:12 AM
Great! Good Luck!
Title: Atiba Harris' suspension thrusts spotlight on fullback Aubrey David
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2016, 09:12:53 AM
Atiba Harris' suspension thrusts spotlight on fullback Aubrey David
By Jon Arnold (The Dallas Morning News)

After facing a Sporting Kansas City team missing two starters because of suspension, FC Dallas has its own absence to fill when it meets Real Salt Lake on Saturday.

Atiba Harris, who has often started at right back this season, was given his fifth yellow card in the 2-2 draw with SKC, triggering a one-match suspension for yellow-card accumulation.

It's an opportunity that might appear tailor-made for Trinidad and Tobago international Aubrey David, who joined FCD on loan in July from Costa Rican club Saprissa. But David wasn't on the training field Tuesday after having his wisdom teeth removed earlier in the day.

The fullback said he's feeling "much better than I expected" after the surgery and probably will start Saturday.

While David has played just two league games since joining FCD, he said he's not upset that coach Oscar Pareja hasn't given him more time.

"At this moment, maybe he doesn't see me in his plan, but the team has continued to do fabulous, so at this point I can't complain," he said. "I just have to wait and be patient until he calls me in, and when I get there, I'll try to do my best. But it doesn't really affect me at all because the team has been doing wonderful."

For Pareja, building depth has been a focus, and every player needs to be ready.

"I think the philosophy always has been, 'Let's get the next on the list,' and the players here have worked hard during the season," Pareja said. "We have a roster that has been built with the intention of having any player, any time on the field. The absence of one player just brings the opportunity to another one. At least, that's the way we look at it."

That philosophy has won over David, who said he loves working with Pareja.

David said the 48-year-old coach "makes you feel comfortable, he shows his confidence in you, he talks to you on a personal level, 'This is what I like. This is what I'd like to see.' He makes jokes. He just makes you feel so comfortable.

"It's not like a coach-player relationship, it's more like a bigger brother relationship. He has been fabulous. I'm very impressed with his coaching techniques, and I like him a lot."
Post by: Tallman on September 15, 2016, 06:48:43 AM
Aubrey won a US Open Cup winner's medal with FC Dallas after they defeat New England Revolution 4-2.

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/14257460_10154531008014314_1134732120989605633_o.jpg)

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/14311364_10154531006244314_8956936758077473237_o.jpg)
Post by: Flex on November 18, 2016, 01:50:03 AM
David: Faith will determine our future.

US-based defender Aubrey David described Tuesday’s World Cup qualifying encounter as a miserable but character building experience.

David played in T&T’s two opening matches including the 2-0 loss to Costa Rica five days prior, in which his Saprissa teammate Rodrigo Calvo left the field with an ankle injury.

But Tuesday’s defeat was not a pleasing one for the Dallas FC player.

“It was by far one of the more disappointing feelings for us. We had a lot of hopes heading into the match.

“Coach prepared us for it. He told us what to expect but we didn’t start well. We were a but shaken up when Jan (Michael Williams) got injured because we were not prepared for something like that,” David said.

“But we came out in the second half following coach’s advice and we got into the game. We got the equaliser but they proved to be too strong on the evening for us.

“We will know better from here. There were a lot of things evident from this such as us needing to start stronger and try to take charge of the game.

“We need to keep our heads up in bad moments and try to get back into the game without allowing it to slip away from us.

“I always believe that God has his plans for us and through him everything is possible. I have faith and belief that he will take us out of this bad patch.

“It is important that all of us believe in him and believe in our ability as a team to rise again. We all have bad moments, we may not always play our best games but we can improve with a lot more belief and fight in our game.

“ I am not fearful of the opposition going into the next set of matches.”

Title: David eager for new quest under Saintfiet
Post by: Tallman on December 16, 2016, 02:02:06 PM
David eager for new quest under Saintfiet
TTFA Media

National team defender Aubrey David could be heading back to Costa Rican top flight club Deportivo Saprissa following his loan spell at FC Dallas in American Major League Soccer this past season.

Contract options for David and a few of his teammates were not exercised by Dallas which means the player is likely to move on after his loan deal ends this month.

“The situation as it is right now, is that I could head back to Saprissa because I am still under contract with the club or I could go somewhere else on loan depending on what options they take up. The season at Dallas was quite positive for me. It was good to get a change in settings and to experience a league that is continuing to grow,” the 26-year-old David said yesterday.

“But yes, going back to Saprissa is a possibility and of course, I have a good relationship there with the team and the fans so it will not be a step down in anyway because its a big club in Concacaf.”

David has been included in a Senior Team training squad under Tom Saintfiet ahead of the two upcoming Friendlies against Nicaragua and he is anticipating to chance to be part of the new coach’s plans.

“It is always an honour to get selected for a national team and now also under the new head coach because sometimes you never know what the new boss has in his mind and it means players have to show their value and earn their selection. So for me it’s the same goal, which is to give my best under the new coach and get back to working towards that ambition of qualifying for Russia 2018,” David said.

David, who made twelve starts and fourteen appearances this season since July for Dallas, previously played for Finnish club FF Jaro and Morvant Caledonia United.
Post by: Flex on January 06, 2017, 06:01:57 AM
Aubrey returns to Costa Rica’s Saprissa.

National defender Aubrey David is set to return to Costa Rican club Deportivo Saprissa.

The former Caledonia AIA player completed his loan move to Dallas FC in the MLS and will fly back to Costa Rica after the two CFU playoff matches against Suriname and Haiti this month.

“I will return to Saprissa after we play Haiti. I still have until May on my contract there so I will see whether they will send me out on loan again or whether I will remain there and then see what happens in May,” David said.

“I feel good about returning because I enjoyed a good spell at Saprissa earlier on and the club is among the best in Concacaf.”

However recent developments have indicated that Saprissa could send David on loan to another club due to a shortage of international spots on their roster at the moment.

Saprissa recently won the Costa Rican national league title.

Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2017, 11:10:44 AM
Deportivo Saprissa confirms that Aubrey David is not in their plans for the Torneo Verano 2017 (http://www.yashinquesada.com/futbol-nacional/28-la-primera/18060-aubrey-david-se-queda-sin-cupo-en-saprissa), and will be looking to send the defender out on loan.
Post by: Controversial on January 07, 2017, 02:10:33 PM
The opposition quick to scout our players and then disregard them... it's funny because if I were the local clubs I would keep our players outside of any nations in our qualifying outside of the US because they will know everything about our players heading into qualifiers

The pro league is run by fools
Post by: Tallman on February 26, 2017, 01:51:30 PM
Defender Aubrey David has signed a two-year contract with Finnish Premier League club, PS Kemi Kings.

(https://scontent-mxp1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16864949_10155071931134314_4737225482098878341_n.jpg?oh=c088f603fb66546e92aebe6cb1160a4f&oe=59251A93)
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2018, 07:49:22 AM
Defender Aubrey David has signed a one-year contract with Finnish Premier League club, Vaasan Palloseura (aka VPS) (http://vepsu.fi/uutiset/fyysisyytta-vepsun-puolustuslinjaan-aubrey-david-uusin-kiinnitys/).
Post by: maxg on February 06, 2018, 06:24:48 PM
Defender Aubrey David has signed a two-year contract with Finnish Premier League club, PS Kemi Kings.

(https://scontent-mxp1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16864949_10155071931134314_4737225482098878341_n.jpg?oh=c088f603fb66546e92aebe6cb1160a4f&oe=59251A93)
Defender Aubrey David has signed a one-year contract with Finnish Premier League club, Vaasan Palloseura (aka VPS) (http://vepsu.fi/uutiset/fyysisyytta-vepsun-puolustuslinjaan-aubrey-david-uusin-kiinnitys/).
How does these contracts work ? Mutual agreements ?
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2018, 08:37:09 PM

How does these contracts work ? Mutual agreements ?

I eh know nah. Is all kinda tings could go on. Could be a transfer, or maybe he and PS Kemi Kings mutually agreed to cancel their contract.
Post by: Tallman on July 30, 2018, 07:16:49 PM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores his first goal for the season in VPS’ 2-2 draw with FC Lahti

https://www.youtube.com/v/yHD1mXUUFko?start=136
Post by: Tallman on December 18, 2018, 06:03:11 AM
Defender Aubrey David returns to Costa Rican powerhouse, Deportivo Saprissa. (http://www.deportivosaprissa.com/index.php/2018/12/17/comunicado-oficial-aubrey-david-regresa-a-saprissa/)
Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2018, 06:10:25 AM
Defender Aubrey David returns to Costa Rican powerhouse, Deportivo Saprissa. (http://www.deportivosaprissa.com/index.php/2018/12/17/comunicado-oficial-aubrey-david-regresa-a-saprissa/)

This will be a well-received move for Saprissa fans and no doubt a comfortable move for the player, who undeniably felt at home there.

He will be back to signing autographs in front of an adoring fan base.
Post by: Deeks on December 18, 2018, 08:08:17 AM
Man, TT players are the ultimate movers.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 13, 2019, 06:42:20 PM
WATCH: Saprissa defender Aubrey David speaks about attaining 50 international caps in Trinidad and Tobago colours and also gives his perspective on the upcoming matches versus Ecuador (friendly, November 14, 2019) and Honduras (Nations League, November 17, 2019)

https://www.youtube.com/v/SN8A5etTwgc

"A childhood dream achieved, 50 caps for my national team. Thank you God for allowing me to reach this goal. Always a pleasure to represent my country." --- Aubrey David

Post by: asylumseeker on November 27, 2019, 05:48:22 AM
Congrats to #52 and El Monstruo Morado on winning the CONCACAF League. :applause:
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2019, 12:00:46 PM
Congrats to #52 and El Monstruo Morado on winning the CONCACAF League. :applause:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EKW8INBWoAABzG6?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on November 27, 2019, 03:06:24 PM
(https://instagram.fbed1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t51.2885-15/e35/s320x320/75208738_253763852267487_4726585991861904705_n.jpg?_nc_ht=instagram.fbed1-2.fna.fbcdn.net&_nc_cat=103&oh=30ff908d28c72bf89ba0cd0d6b0752d3&oe=5E715C70)
Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2019, 06:00:37 PM
Congrats Aubrey. Only you and Defence Force have bragging rights.
Post by: Tallman on November 27, 2019, 08:48:15 PM

Ah know what yuh mean, but is not de same competition. Aubrey will only have bragging rights like Defence Force if he win de Concacaf Champions League.
Post by: Deeks on November 27, 2019, 10:57:15 PM

Ah know what yuh mean, but is not de same competition. Aubrey will only have bragging rights like Defence Force if he win de Concacaf Champions League.

I thought it was the same thing, the name was just changed. Is this like a Europa cup deal?
Post by: Tallman on November 28, 2019, 07:33:22 AM

I thought it was the same thing, the name was just changed. Is this like a Europa cup deal?

No, this is a recent competition. The Concacaf League serves as qualifiers for the Concacaf Champions League.
Title: T&T defender Aubrey David wins Scotiabank Concacaf League title
Post by: Tallman on November 29, 2019, 01:33:28 PM
T&T defender Aubrey David wins Scotiabank Concacaf League title
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

T&T defender Aubrey David lifted the 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf League trophy with his team-mates on Tuesday as his club, Deportivo Saprissa, were crowned champions after edging CD Montagua 0-0 in the second leg of the final.

Saprissa previously defeated Montagua 1-0 in the first leg on November 7.

Speaking with Newsday, on Thursday, he said, “It was a difficult game, as any final, both teams want to win. But we worked hard to keep the clean sheet and became victorious. “All honour and glory to God for allowing us to win the trophy. I am proud of my team-mates and coaching staff and the Saprissa institution for the hard work. I am very grateful to be a part of this great team.”

David joined the Costa Rican club in January and wears the number 52.

He made 18 appearances this season across the Concacaf League and the Costa Rican Premier league (Liga FPD), and has played a total of 1,435 minutes. The team is currently in second place on the Liga FPD table with a total of 40 points. They will go up against Herediano in the second leg of the semi-final on December 1, with a score of 1-1 on aggregate.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 01, 2019, 05:20:14 PM
Saprissa is leading 2-1 on aggregate. Aubrey is in the XI.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 01, 2019, 07:22:16 PM
Saprissa and Herediano played a thriller in front of a packed stadium. Saprissa sold about 8,500 tickets before kickoff and doubtless there were last minute purchases to almost ram the 10,000 seater.

Match went 120 minutes and needed penalties to break the deadlock. Unfortunately, Saprissa lost a few minutes ago when Herediano converted their 5th pk. Saprissa converted 4.

Saprissa opened the scoring at 27' ironically via the penalty spot (Johan Venegas) but were unable to protect the lead. Oscar Granados equalized at 76'. Saprissa's non-converting penalty kicker was Randall Leal who is going to be in the MLS next year. (I mention this specifically for when Leal steps up vs the Soca Warriors).

Herediano advance to the Costa Rican final. Aubrey was not a penalty taker.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 02, 2019, 06:19:19 AM
The CONCACAF League victory occurred several days ago ... yet the Express sports desk suddenly seemed it fit to publish it 4 hours ago? Must be late breaking news.
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2020, 12:31:23 PM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David - 2019 Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/8fZIWqJ4nnU
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2020, 04:49:49 AM
Unfortunately Aubrey and his teammates squandered the opportunity to wake up on Monday positioned at the top of the table. Despite a disappointing start,  they were able to pull back an equalizer within the first 20 minutes of their battle against Herediano.  However,  the promise of the equalizer evaporated and Herediano banged three more goals into Saprissa's net.  Final score 4-1. Aubrey received  a yellow card as well. 

If there is any good news,  going into the next match day (#6),  Saprissa is only one (1) point off the leaders. But for the loss,  Saprissa would have been sitting three points clear at breakfast today.

Two of the 4 goals came from the penalty spot and Saprissa played a man down for a significant period of the match (about half an hour). The penalty brought the score to 3-1. The icing on the cake goal was Herediano's 4th goal.

Other good news: Aubrey played 90 minutes under difficult going.
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2020, 05:37:54 AM

I find he does look good with his club, but it hardly translates to de national team.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2020, 07:07:10 AM

I find he does look good with his club, but it hardly translates to de national team.

One thing that comes to mind is that in Costa Rica he has been the definitive starter deployed with a clear and consistent role. On the NT, his use has altered from role to role and it would be difficult to state that he has been a definitive starter,  despite having amassed those 50 caps. Frankly, I think he receives a sort of love in CRC that he does not get in T+T.  And, in my view the NT stage has allowed for less playing expression than his club career in CRC has permitted.

I agree with you and I think there's a psychology element to it (player/coaching dynamic). Now the ball has passed to Fenwick to see what he could extract.

Incidentally,  I'm not sure how much time was devoted in the past to watching what he played at club level versus the raw stats from those games.

It says something  that under more than one coach in CRC,  he has been well-regarded.
Post by: lefty on January 27, 2020, 10:50:44 AM
Where does he play for club CB, because he doesn't really do well at fullback for us defensively or offensively assuming he was encouraged to join d attack by DL, a good option to retire cyrus until better or younger and better can be done.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2020, 07:28:26 PM
Where does he play for club CB, because he doesn't really do well at fullback for us defensively or offensively assuming he was encouraged to join d attack by DL, a good option to retire cyrus until better or younger and better can be done.

CB. He has played every minute so far this season in the league. However,  he has had the odd game in Costa Rica on the left flank.

In general, across seasons, his matches have a ratio of ~3:1 in terms of the number of matches played as a CB:LB in CRC.
Post by: lefty on January 27, 2020, 07:38:08 PM
Ok thanks good to know...he might make a decent partnership with bateau, because he is not impressing at LB
Post by: Peong on January 27, 2020, 08:43:35 PM
Thanks for the David vid. I rarely get to see our boys playing club football these days.
Post by: maxg on January 27, 2020, 10:14:04 PM
Ok thanks good to know...he might make a decent partnership with bateau, because he is not impressing at LB
who was playing the positions in front of and before him, when he played LB ?
Post by: lefty on January 27, 2020, 10:27:43 PM
who was playing the positions in front of and before him, when he played LB ?
u know that's a good question I can't even off the top of my head name our fullbacks except for alvin jones and mikel williams to be honest....but he is not great but then d backline was always to for back under Dennis

Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2020, 04:34:28 AM
Ah feel yuh answering ah different question.
Post by: lefty on January 28, 2020, 07:05:18 AM
 ??? Yuh hadda help mih with dat one
Post by: asylumseeker on January 28, 2020, 01:05:06 PM
It could be that you answered the question intended.  maxg will clarify.
Post by: maxg on January 31, 2020, 04:22:26 PM
As is a team game, every positional performance and lack of, is inherently dependent on the other positions on the field. So as one critiques a Elite player performance, David in this case, then analysis must be made of which players he was surrounded by, as well as coaches instructions(if any). Since we not privy to coaches instructions or selections - who else available. We could only look at his supporting teammates. So who were they ? Were they observed to assist, support or enhance David in his position?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 31, 2020, 04:33:43 PM
As is a team game, every positional performance and lack of, is inherently dependent on the other positions on the field. So as one critiques a Elite player performance, David in this case, then analysis must be made of which players he was surrounded by, as well as coaches instructions(if any). Since we not privy to coaches instructions or selections - who else available. We could only look at his supporting teammates. So who were they ? Were they observed to assist, support or enhance David in his position?

That's precisely what I thought you meant.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2020, 08:54:55 AM

I get u, he got burned in 1v1 defensively more often than not and wasn't really useful on the overlap, when ever he was able to get forward but again dat team was always broken in two during build up, I remember how much discussion I had with seeker about dat gap, dat team after team would exploit between midfield and defense.........we need to get our defenders comfortable doing their job higher up the pitch, there aren't many teams sitting their back lines down with the GK anymore and in the same vein many teams now know how to exploit the teams dat still do and we were exploited so many times it got ridiculous dat it was not being addressed by DL, our biggest issue with playing our defenders higher is dat many aren't great under pressure with the ball except for Bateau, who I fancy as a B2B, in some capacity anyways(under utilized weapon dat, can count 3 or more goal involvements with runs out of the back), but I digress, maybe as you insinuate his failing at FB is systemic more than individual, but his individual moments have not been great either. JMO 
Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2020, 11:56:07 PM
Order restored at least for now.  Saprissa are top the table and won a fixture that's been traditionally tough for them in recent years.  They beat Límon 1-0.  Maybe not the biggest surprise because Límon have been struggling, but regardless this is a match they normally get up for. Aubrey faced the opening whistle as usual.

I hope Límon do not get demoted. I'm still holding out that we can get a player on their books.
Post by: lefty on February 06, 2020, 06:10:13 AM
Order restored at least for now.  Saprissa are top the table and won a fixture that's been traditionally tough for them in recent years.  They beat Límon 1-0.  Maybe not the biggest surprise because Límon have been struggling, but regardless this is a match they normally get up for. Aubrey faced the opening whistle as usual.

I hope Límon do not get demoted. I'm still holding out that we can get a player on their books.
FB or CB
Post by: asylumseeker on February 20, 2020, 01:38:58 PM
Saprissa v Montreal Impact 2-2. Aubrey played 90'. His accompanying CB was less fortunate.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 22, 2020, 02:49:11 PM
Saprissa v Montreal Impact 2-2. Aubrey played 90'. His accompanying CB was less fortunate.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ciiTCw1oPHM

Better highlights can be viewed here (https://www.youtube.com/v/AMDXkbYPv6Q). Better because the development of the sequences of play are included.

On the first goal Aubrey was moving to assume a supporting position to assist his team/teammate in possession (Blanco), but David Guzman gifted the ball to the opponent. To be fair, Saprissa were not set-up well enough to help Guzmán although he should have done better.

Although Aubrey did well to recover and deny the initial shot on goal, his initial movement could reasonably be questioned (he preferred width to depth).

The second goal ... he gets the benefit of the doubt? Or not?
Post by: Peong on February 23, 2020, 07:10:32 PM
First goal the defender played a bad ball, that is always hard to recover from.
On the 2nd goal, if David was playing CB, where was the RB?
Anyway he got back but not in time to stop a shot, and it was a good one. It was near post so the goalie is expected to block it but the shot was hidden by David's body which made it difficult for the goalie.
I wouldn't blame David for anything there.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2020, 09:51:40 PM
On the 2nd goal there was a critique of him allowing the defender too much space (by the Costa Rican TV commentator ), but in my view it's not a realistic critique based on his recovery run (and he had to hustle just to get into a possibly detaining position). Plus, the attacker on the ball is Rommel Quioto. Quito is rarely one to delay in pulling the trigger. Like you, I think Aubrey did near the best he could under the circumstances. There's no doubt that Quioto deliberately worked the angle and GK/defender positioning to get what he wanted.

The RB is Yostin Salinas. He's the player hustling to get back at the bottom of the screen in the "better video".

Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2020, 10:00:34 PM

https://www.youtube.com/v/ciiTCw1oPHM

Better highlights can be viewed here (https://www.youtube.com/v/AMDXkbYPv6Q). Better because the development of the sequences of play are included.

On the first goal Aubrey was moving to assume a supporting position to assist his team/teammate in possession (Blanco), but David Guzman gifted the ball to the opponent. To be fair, Saprissa were not set-up well enough to help Guzmán although he should have done better.

Although Aubrey did well to recover and deny the initial shot on goal, his initial movement could reasonably be questioned (he preferred width to depth).

The second goal ... he gets the benefit of the doubt? Or not?

Upon review I'm not sure if the player who made the pass to Guzmán is Blanco or Miller. Could be either. Not material to the overall point but merely stating for clarification.

I haven't watched the match but I've seen conflicting reports about whether they played 5 or 4 in the back. Both may have occurred at some point.
Post by: Peong on February 24, 2020, 08:23:20 AM
On the 2nd goal there was a critique of him allowing the defender too much space (by the Costa Rican TV commentator ), but in my view it's not a realistic critique based on his recovery run (and he had to hustle just to get into a possibly detaining position)

Yeah if he ran at more of a sprint to get into position, the extra momentum would be easy for the attacker to use against him. One shoulder dip would send David well wide of the ball. Which is exactly what I think David was thinking of. 
Happy Carnival Monday allyuh.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2020, 10:12:39 PM
Another draw tonight - this one without goals. Montreal 0 Saprissa 0.

ADD: In other words Saprissa is eliminated.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2020, 06:56:59 PM
Impact coach Henry credits stifling defence in ousting Saprissa
Pat Hickey, Montreal Gazette   

The Impact didn’t score any style points in their 0-0 draw against Deportivo Saprissa Wednesday, but an Olympic Stadium crowd of 20,512 went home happy because the stalemate moved the Impact into the quarter-finals of the CONCACAF Champions League.

The teams tied 2-2 in the opening leg of the competition last week and the Impact was able to advance on aggregate because it scored two away goals.

Saprissa coach Walter Centeno said he was surprised that the Impact didn’t play a more aggressive game and try to score but Thierry Henry, who enjoyed success in his first test as the Impact coach, said his team played the game it needed to win.

“That’s the story in football, you have to have the results all the time, no matter where you are,” said Henry. “(Saprissa) is a team that’s played 11 games in their league and we have only one. You have to fight with the weapons against the team you’re playing. This is a team that plays a certain way and you have to respect that.”

Saprissa controlled the ball for 70 per cent of the game, but the Impact made it difficult for them to get into the attacking zone.

“They finished better than we did when we played at their place because we didn’t defend that well, but today we did,” said Henry. “They bring the ball up the side and then cross in the middle and we had to deal with that, and we did.”

Saprissa had a better than 2-to-1 edge in possession in the first half, but each team only managed three shots and only one of Saprissa’s shots was on target.

The Impact might have had the best chance to score in the 44th minute, when Romell Quioto set up Jorge Corrales in the middle of the box, but the defender fired his shot directly at Saprissa goalkeeper Aaron Cruz.

Christian Bolanos did a good job controlling the play for the visitors and delivered a cross to Johan Venegas at the far post in the 14th minute. The former Impact striker got his head on the ball, but he directed it over the crossbar.

Saprissa held a 13-3 edge in shots, but only two were on target, giving Impact ‘keeper Clément Diop a relatively easy night. Saprissa’s last chance was in the 89th minute, when Diop made a diving save to punch away a drive by Mariano Torres.

Captain Jukka Raitala was injured and received treatment on the pitch early in the game. He continued playing, but was replaced at the half by Joel Waterman, an off-season pickup from the Calgary Cavalry.

Waterman received a yellow card in the 67th minute, which produced a free kick for Torres from 25 yards out. Bolanos broke out of the wall to get his head on the ball, but his shot went over the bar.

Tempers flared on occasion and two Saprissa players, David Guzman and Aubrey David, were handed yellow cards in the first half.

Next up for Montreal is a quarter-final matchup against the winner of the series between the Seattle Sounders and Honduran club Olimpia. The teams drew 2-2 in the first leg and the second leg will be played Friday in Seattle The first leg of the quarter-final will be played in Montreal on March 10, 11 or 12.

The Impact will be back at Olympic Stadium on Saturday to open the MLS season against the New England Revolution (3 p.m., TSN4, TVA Sports).
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2020, 07:22:24 PM
On the 2nd goal there was a critique of him allowing the defender too much space (by the Costa Rican TV commentator ), but in my view it's not a realistic critique based on his recovery run (and he had to hustle just to get into a possibly detaining position). Plus, the attacker on the ball is Rommel Quioto. Quito is rarely one to delay in pulling the trigger. Like you, I think Aubrey did near the best he could under the circumstances. There's no doubt that Quioto deliberately worked the angle and GK/defender positioning to get what he wanted.

The RB is Yostin Salinas. He's the player hustling to get back at the bottom of the screen in the "better video".

Peong, you had inquired about the RB (Salinas). You may not be surprised to learn that he was restricted to the bench for the return leg. :)

For the 2nd leg Centeno opted to move Blanco (mentioned above) from the left flank to the RB role, return Guzman (who made the passing error in the first leg) to his role in the middle of the park as a DM and to partner Aubrey with Aguero (a somewhat traditional CB pairing with Aubrey).
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2020, 07:29:05 PM

CB. He has played every minute so far this season in the league. However,  he has had the odd game in Costa Rica on the left flank.

In general, across seasons, his matches have a ratio of ~3:1 in terms of the number of matches played as a CB:LB in CRC.

Here's one of the matches he played at LB. It's the clásico against Alajuelense played on October 6, 2019. Unfortunately it's a loss for the Purple Monster.  :beermug:

https://www.youtube.com/v/Vnyt_LJMWO8

Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2020, 07:36:38 PM
Thanks for the David vid. I rarely get to see our boys playing club football these days.

https://www.youtube.com/v/XfJajHliTA0

Versus Herediano from January 26, 2020. It's Saprissa's only loss of the domestic season.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2020, 07:48:00 PM
Talking about slow, did anyone see the Saprissa v Impact game last night ? Aubrey David game ? Thoughts ! I think pace is a deceptive  issue when a team is able to control properly , hold formation and make accurate passes. Opposing players closed down, no panic by offensive player, just a casual knock to the open offensive support. That's technical ability. What we have a talent, what we don't have is football technical ability. What that game lacked was creativity and offensive aggression. Yet one must consider Impact seemed to play for the tie, still their goalie had to make 2 crucial saves. That's his job and he did it well. What pace did Aubrey have to display ? None, imo. He ALWAYS had support.

Thierry Henry either before the 1st leg or just after it (I think before) had very good things to say about Aubrey's coach. He liked what he viewed as 'borrowings' from Pep in the team's identity and idea of how to build play. But, that's the fruit of a LOT of work on the training ground. Clubs have that time.

Of course, you are referring to a different "pace" than what lefty was referencing in the other thread ... nonetheless, the highlighted is generally irrefutable. The problem, however, in the experience of the NT is evidence of altering playing speed and rhythm to control matches. Holding formation and making accurate passes consistently across changes in rhythm is elusive at NT level.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 03, 2020, 02:03:40 AM
Saprissa have opened a 5 point lead following a victory in an 8-goal affair played away versus mid-table San Carlos.

Somehow Saprissa's 4-0 lead morphed into a 5-3 result at the final whistle.

WATCH  Full match, San Carlos v Saprissa, matchday 12.

https://www.youtube.com/v/YiFtJx6cTIA

WATCH   Highlights, Saprissa v San Carlos.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Kh_krm8FUCY

Post by: maxg on March 03, 2020, 02:44:24 PM
Talking about slow, did anyone see the Saprissa v Impact game last night ? Aubrey David game ? Thoughts ! I think pace is a deceptive  issue when a team is able to control properly , hold formation and make accurate passes. Opposing players closed down, no panic by offensive player, just a casual knock to the open offensive support. That's technical ability. What we have a talent, what we don't have is football technical ability. What that game lacked was creativity and offensive aggression. Yet one must consider Impact seemed to play for the tie, still their goalie had to make 2 crucial saves. That's his job and he did it well. What pace did Aubrey have to display ? None, imo. He ALWAYS had support.

Thierry Henry either before the 1st leg or just after it (I think before) had very good things to say about Aubrey's coach. He liked what he viewed as 'borrowings' from Pep in the team's identity and idea of how to build play. But, that's the fruit of a LOT of work on the training ground. Clubs have that time.

Of course, you are referring to a different "pace" than what lefty was referencing in the other thread ... nonetheless, the highlighted is generally irrefutable. The problem, however, in the experience of the NT is evidence of altering playing speed and rhythm to control matches. Holding formation and making accurate passes consistently across changes in rhythm is elusive at NT level.
What are your thoughts of why this is so ? Given that most of the selects do play in leagues/teams where this is so predominant.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 06, 2020, 08:02:22 AM

What are your thoughts of why this is so ? Given that most of the selects do play in leagues/teams where this is so predominant.

An easy go-to response would be to say it's because the teams don't have much time to work with during international match windows, but that's not the response I'm going to give you.

I don't think that it's a reality that impacts all teams evenly.  Certainly player quality is a factor for any team but the qualities/characteristics of players in certain positions and roles is influential. Who is in central midfield matters.  Who are his outlet players matters.  What they do with the ball matters.  To be able to adjust how the game ticks, these players must dictate play. They have to impose rather than merely respond. And dictating play is a function of a team's ambition in advanced areas of the pitch. On the first score, I would say Hyland is a player inclined to be imposing. But,  he's been placed into several scenarios where he has had to make sacrifices for the team.  Regardless,  all of our recent coaches have been faced with prioritizing the balance to be struck in midfield and that balance has tended to tip towards defensive balance rather than offensive balance. From there it's clear that this impacts ambitions in the final 1/3 and frequency of chances.

Other considerations: domestic training games and prep matches do not sufficiently present opponents playing at the heightened/variable tempo that would in turn cause the NT to be effectively challenged to trigger the necessary  changes in speed and rhythm that are triggered by opposition tactics. Generally these matches  in terms of offensive considerations are probing affairs ... looking for vertical seams,  nothing more, aside from his okay is built.

Offensively dictating requires possession and you know our history and challenges with maintaining possession. 
Post by: maxg on March 06, 2020, 01:28:54 PM

An easy go-to response would be to say it's because the teams don't have much time to work with during international match windows, but that's not the response I'm going to give you.

I don't think that it's a reality that impacts all teams evenly.    a.  Certainly player quality is a factor for any team but the qualities/characteristics of players in certain positions and roles is influential. Who is in central midfield matters.  Who are his outlet players matters.  What they do with the ball matters.  To be able to adjust how the game ticks, these players must dictate play. They have to impose rather than merely respond. And dictating play is a function of a team's ambition in advanced areas of the pitch. On the first score, I would say Hyland is a player inclined to be imposing. But,  he's been placed into several scenarios where he has had to make sacrifices for the team.  Regardless,  all of our recent coaches have been faced with prioritizing the balance to be struck in midfield and that balance has tended to tip towards defensive balance rather than offensive balance. From there it's clear that this impacts ambitions in the final 1/3 and frequency of chances.

Other considerations:b. domestic training games and prep matches do not sufficiently present opponents playing at the heightened/variable tempo that would in turn cause the NT to be effectively challenged to trigger the necessary  changes in speed and rhythm that are triggered by opposition tactics. Generally these matches  in terms of offensive considerations are probing affairs ... looking for vertical seams,  nothing more, aside from his okay is built.

Offensively dictating requires possession and you know our history and challenges with maintaining possession. 

Appreciate your in depth analysis
Would you say
a. 1st Team Selections and Tactics.
b. How about maintaining a available local select pool of trialists (not necessarily always the exact selects. ~25 selects) to monthly attend weekend camps (with a small expense stipend - maybe sw.net can partially sponsor such.~$5 TT a mth/member), under the supervision of the NT coaches and bi-monthl(every 2 mths) test against the leading Pro-league team at the time. Open to public at a small cover charge

Am I off track here ?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 07, 2020, 08:08:03 AM
WATCH: Guadalupe v Saprissa,  full match.

Saprissa faced 8th placed Guadalupe mid-week (March 6, 2020). The match ended 2-1 in favour of Guadalupe who moved up the table to 5th place. Nevertheless, Saprissa remain top of the board with a 4 point lead. Saprissa's lone item was a consolation goal scored deep into stoppage (90'+4), while Guadalupe troubled the scorekeeper at 64' and 89'.

Aubrey played 90 minutes.

https://www.youtube.com/v/XMAJOjfkmDs

WATCH: Match Highlights
https://www.youtube.com/v/oWS9OTfjUGI
Post by: asylumseeker on March 07, 2020, 09:17:24 AM

I don't think that it's a reality that impacts all teams evenly.    a.  Certainly player quality is a factor for any team but the qualities/characteristics of players in certain positions and roles is influential. Who is in central midfield matters.  Who are his outlet players matters.  What they do with the ball matters.  To be able to adjust how the game ticks, these players must dictate play. They have to impose rather than merely respond. And dictating play is a function of a team's ambition in advanced areas of the pitch. On the first score, I would say Hyland is a player inclined to be imposing. But,  he's been placed into several scenarios where he has had to make sacrifices for the team.  Regardless,  all of our recent coaches have been faced with prioritizing the balance to be struck in midfield and that balance has tended to tip towards defensive balance rather than offensive balance. From there it's clear that this impacts ambitions in the final 1/3 and frequency of chances.

Other considerations:b. domestic training games and prep matches do not sufficiently present opponents playing at the heightened/variable tempo that would in turn cause the NT to be effectively challenged to trigger the necessary  changes in speed and rhythm that are triggered by opposition tactics. Generally these matches  in terms of offensive considerations are probing affairs ... looking for vertical seams,  nothing more, aside from his okay is built.

Appreciate your in depth analysis
Would you say
a. 1st Team Selections and Tactics.
b. How about maintaining a available local select pool of trialists (not necessarily always the exact selects. ~25 selects) to monthly attend weekend camps (with a small expense stipend - maybe sw.net can partially sponsor such.~$5 TT a mth/member), under the supervision of the NT coaches and bi-monthl(every 2 mths) test against the leading Pro-league team at the time. Open to public at a small cover charge

Am I off track here ?

Regarding (b), as I understand it the structure put in place by Look Loy for the national age group teams is targeted to what you describe ... revenue streaming aside (as it should be excluded at age group level; I'm referring to the NT pool of players and then the possibility of reaching into the regional talent pools as well).

With harmonized training we should get harmonized outcomes. On this specific aspect of the game,  if we train it ... we'll get the benefit of players whose selection depends on if they are able to to influence games.

This is part of why the players in these pools should not merely be observed.  They should also have written evaluations that cover all aspects of the game. That's of benefit if there is change in staff, for monitoring progress over time objectively, for the benefit of a coach's own reflection and for meaningful reference in communicating with players  and their coaches outside of the NT/regional set-up what the player needs to improve. It's also useful for the TD and oversight.

In terms of the NT,  I wouldn't suggest the route of playing the best domestic team but of using a core of 40 odd players (seniors and U23s/20s and the odd precocious 17+ y/o), playing in-house consistently (under the NT umbrella against each other). That way you are training two teams simultaneously and preserving the integrity and consistency of the benchmarks for selection and learning. Everything depends on in-house control.  Playing the best club team contradicts my point, but moreso is less useful in our environment than it would be in another country.

I'm talking about two teams each with a mix of the best senior, U-23, U-20, and U-17 talent.  The compositions of the teams can move between each other to strike and find competitive balances or suit tactical objectives.

We often associate dictating matches with teams that understand their playing identity/DNA, have more or less perfected how they win matches and that consistently pose dangers to opponents even when they are under the scoreline.vBut there is a tendency to believe that dictating rhythm/speed is a natural by-product of good teams and quality players and that it isn't trained. As you know, not so.

A good team can knock a ball around and preserve possession but that possession can have no bearing on influencing playing rhythm or advancing offensive/defensive objectives if not purposeful.

Yuh know how practically anyone who learned the game in the past 50 years traditionally would have learned how his/her team was expected to play if they became a  player down (10 v11) or two down (9 v 11)? Why was that done?

Yet,  some coaches in the modern era don't do it because the other work they've inculcated covers the above situations without the need to be explicit. And if we think about it,  the 10 v 11 and 9 v 11 situations implicate considerations that come up in focusing exclusively on speed,  rhythm,  tempo and tactical recognition of what's actually happening on the pitch. 

A huge part of scouting/evaluation is the psychological profile of the player. People tend to understand fragile physiques but they underestimate fragile playing/player psychology and it's a key determinant in who gets brought from country to town to learn the game and sign on the dotted line. Some of these ppl make mistakes with overemphasising the relevance of physique and underappreciating the relevance of strength. Will leave it there.
Post by: maxg on March 07, 2020, 02:55:25 PM
  :cheers:  :chilling:

The financial incentive doh is really to offset expense as per transport (travel : Quitey-quite in both Trinidad and Tobago) as well as other maybe un-forseen sacrifices (eg loss of wages from job, regardless of football related or not; Encouraging proper Nutritional advice and incentives, etc ).
Post by: asylumseeker on March 08, 2020, 09:43:42 AM
  :cheers:  :chilling:

The financial incentive doh is really to offset expense as per transport (travel : Quitey-quite in both Trinidad and Tobago) as well as other maybe un-forseen sacrifices (eg loss of wages from job, regardless of football related or not; Encouraging proper Nutritional advice and incentives, etc ).

Understood.  Been thinking about this. I'm down for a subsidy that reaches its intended directly.

(By the way, Bayern is playing Augsburg now.  0-0 at the half.  Bayern has dominated possession, but not completely dictated play and Augsburg has more to show statistically from their mere 29% possession of the ball. Despite this, everything about Bayern's approach is clear. There are relevant passages of play that highlight what was discussed above.)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 15, 2020, 01:51:19 PM
Ball still rolling in Costa Rica despite COVID-19. Definitely subject to change doh. Aubrey's coach isn't down with the league continuing but he says he'll do what's expected of him until a different decision is made.

Saprissa 1 - Pérez Zeledón 1. Seven match days left.

Mexico just suspended LIgaMX within the last hour or so.  Costa Rica will eventually follow suit I suspect.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 23, 2020, 04:58:29 AM
The authorities eventually succumbed to the realization that the league needed to be suspended. Players at Saprissa have individualized workout regimens that they are expected to follow in the interim. Modifications to those will likely be forthcoming as the length of the halt to the league is factored in.
Post by: Flex on May 16, 2020, 10:48:08 AM
David set to be first T&T player back in action.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

National defender Aubrey David is set to be the first T&T international footballer to return to the field of competitive play since the coronavirus pandemic halted most sports worldwide in mid-March.

This, as Costa Rica's first division, will become the first football league in the Americas to start playing again following the break-in play, barring the Nicaraguan league, which never stopped.

On Monday last, the Costa Rican government announced that professional sports can resume from May 15 (yesterday), with the Costa Rican Federation (UNAFUT) president Julian Solano confirming that play will resume behind closed doors on Wednesday.

Should play do get underway, the 29-year-old David and perennial champions Deportivo Saprissa will resume at the top of the 12-team table with 33 points from 15 matches, four clear of bitter rival Alajuelense. The league will be allowing five substitutions per game.

Deportivo Saprissa last played on March 14, a 1-1 draw with Perez Zeledon with Guyana-born David featuring for 77 minutes before being substituted. They are scheduled to meet third-place Herediano when play resumes next week.

Costa Rica wasn't affected by the coronavirus outbreak as much as other countries, with 801 confirmed cases as of Monday evening over its population of just over 5 million.

However, football authorities in El Salvador have already taken a decision to end their league early with Once Deportivo being declared this year's Clausura champion following a decision by the country's football federation to prematurely end all football competitions from March 20, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Once Deportivo were leading the top-flight with 20 points after 11 games, one more point than the closest rival, El Vencedor when the football association postponed all competitions for 30 days on March 14 but then went a step further, when the country declared a state of emergency on March 15.

Among the T&T players affected by that decision were the trio of Jomal Williams (Isidro Metapan), Jamoul Francois (Independiente) and Jamal Jack (Jocoro), who are all still stranded in that country due to the closure of its international borders.

With the early end to the league, Independiente ended in fourth position with 15 points, level with seventh-placed Isidro Metepan, while Jocoro was ninth, two points behind.

And for defender Mekeil Williams of Guatemala’s Municipal of Liga Nacional, the outcome of the season is not definite as yet as they sit in second spot with 23 points from 13 matches, five adrift of leaders Comunicaciones one round into the second half of the season on the 12-team table.

Bateau's Belgium campaign ends in cancelled season

For national defender Sheldon Bateau his KV Mechelen club will have to look towards the 2020/2021 season whenever it starts after the Belgium Football Federation cancelled the remainder of the Belgian First Division A 2019/2020 campaign.

Last month, the Belgian top division was the first major league in Europe to end its 2019-20 season early due to COVID-19, with the current leaders named winners.

At the time of the league being halted, KV Mechelen was seventh on the 16-team table with 44 points from 29 matches, level with Genk and 26 behind Club Brugge.

Elsewhere, in Slovakia-based defender, Keston Julien’s Trencin club is set to return to competition on June 6; while former national midfielder Keon Daniel is attached to Polish I-League club, Tychy 71 on May 29.

Over in Norway, goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup’s Stjordals-Blink is eyeing a June 16 return to 1 Division competition while in Malta, Rundell Winchester’s Gudja United of the Premier League and Matthew Woo Ling and his St Andrews club are still awaiting a final decision by the association on the season.

In Iceland, the trio of Jonathan Glenn (IBV), Akil De Freitas (Volsungur) and Sean De Silva (Haukar) will begin the 2020 season on June 13, and in Wales, Luke Gullick, formerly of San Juan Jabloteh and his Pontypridd Town AFC is also awaiting a final decision on the campaign.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 16, 2020, 01:40:37 PM
Costa Rica wasn't affected by the coronavirus outbreak as much as other countries, with 801 confirmed cases as of Monday evening over its population of just over 5 million.

Just sat down to watch a 15 minute segment of an old match while grabbing a bite, but ended up flicking channels and coincidentally landing on the day's briefing by the public health directorate. The numbers are phenomenal. They've tested just under 19,500 to date and have only 17 hospitalised and 10 new cases. Four others  are in IC. Only 10 deaths. The biggest issue seems to be preserving confidentiality and privacy.
Post by: Flex on May 19, 2020, 08:21:45 PM
T&T defender David returns to football action.

National defender Aubrey David says he is nervous but excited to resume play with Deportivo Saprissa in the Costa Rica Premier Division which was carded to kick-off on Tuesday night.

David is set to be the first T&T international footballer to return to competitive football tonight since the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic halted most sports worldwide in mid-March as the league became the first football league in the Americas to start playing again following the break-in play, barring the Nicaraguan league, which never stopped.

Earlier this month, the Costa Rican government announced that professional sports can resume from May 15 with the Costa Rican Federation (UNAFUT) president Julian Solano confirming that play will resume behind closed doors on May 19 Tues), with Guadelupe versus Limon and Cartagines up against Alajuelense in the first two matches last night (Tuesday).

On Wednesday from 10 pm (TT time), the 29-year-old David and Deportivo Saprissa will resume at the top of the 12-team table with 33 points from 15 matches, four clear of bitter rival Alajuelense when they meet third-placed Herediano (26 points) at the Estadio Ricard Saprissa Ayma, San Juan de Tibas, San Jose.

Deportivo Saprissa last played on March 14, a 1-1 draw with Perez Zeledon with Guyana-born David featuring for 77 minutes before being substituted.

Costa Rica wasn't affected by COVID-19 outbreak as much as other countries, with 801 confirmed cases as of Monday evening over its population of just over 5 million.

The 29-year-old David has so far made 24 appearances for Saprissa this season, all as a starter and has picked up six yellow cards from a total of 45 matches in two seasons with the club and nine cautions with no red card expulsions.

Speaking on the eve of his team’s return to competition an upbeat David said there is a buzz of excitement in the team camp as the season resumes.

“It feels good to be playing again after not playing for a month-and-a-half. It will be good to get back to the stadium, seeing your team-mates and working together putting in the work again."

Despite teams now being allowed to use five substitutions, David was still eager to see how his legs and that of his team-mates hold up for the first match.

He said, “For me, it’s an overwhelming feeling and at the same time, I’m a bit nervous. In terms of fitness because we started back training two weeks ago and we did a lot of physical work, but as you know game fitness is different from physical work.

“So with the first game tomorrow (today) I am a bit nervous to see if the legs are ready for 90 minutes.

“Overall, the vibes in the camp is very good, everyone is eager to play again. Right now we are on top of the table, so everyone is motivated to play and continue our winning ways."

Central America football

Elsewhere in Central America, football authorities in El Salvador have already decided to end their league early with Once Deportivo being declared this year's Clausura champion following a decision by the country's football federation to prematurely end all football competitions from March 20, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Once Deportivo were leading the top-flight with 20 points after 11 games, one more point than the closest rival, El Vencedor when the football association postponed all competitions for 30 days on March 14 but then went a step further, when the country declared a state of emergency on March 15.

Among the T&T players affected by that decision were the trio of Jomal Williams (Isidro Metapan), Jamoul Francois (Independiente), and Jamal Jack (Jocoro), who are all still stranded in that country due to the closure of its international borders.

With the early end to the league, Independiente ended in the fourth position with 15 points, level with seventh-placed Isidro Metepan, while Jocoro was ninth, two points behind.

And for defender Mekeil Williams of Guatemala’s Municipal of Liga Nacional, the outcome of the season is not definite as yet as they sit in the second spot with 23 points from 13 matches, five adrift of leaders Comunicaciones one round into the second half of the season on the 12-team table.

Bateau's Belgium campaign ends in cancelled season

For national defender Sheldon Bateau his KV Mechelen club will have to look towards the 2020/2021 season whenever it starts after the Belgium Football Federation cancelled the remainder of the Belgian First Division A 2019/2020 campaign.

Last month, the Belgian top division was the first major league in Europe to end its 2019-20 season early due to COVID-19, with the current leaders named winners.

At the time of the league being halted, KV Mechelen was seventh on the 16-team table with 44 points from 29 matches, level with Genk and 26 behind Club Brugge. And on Friday last, the Belgium Football authorities confirmed that the current table will stand as the final one for the season.

Elsewhere, in Slovakia-based defender, Keston Julien’s Trencin club is set to return to competition on June 6; while former national midfielder Keon Daniel is attached to Polish I-League club, Tychy 71 on May 29.

Over in Norway, goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup’s Stjordals-Blink is eto 1 Division competition while in Malta, Rundell Winchester’s Gudja United of the Premier League and Matthew Woo Ling and his St Andrews club are still awaiting a final decision by the association on the season.

In Iceland, the trio of Jonathan Glenn (IBV), Akil De Freitas (Volsungur) and Sean De Silva (Haukar) will begin the 2020 season on June 13, and in Wales, Luke Gullick, formerly of San Juan Jabloteh and his Pontypridd Town AFC is also awaiting a final decision on the campaign.

Post by: Flex on May 22, 2020, 09:38:39 AM
David marshalls Deportivo Saprissa to victory.

T&T defender Aubrey David played the full 90 minutes in central-defence as Deportivo Saprissa stayed four points clear at the top of the Costa Rica First Liga Football Primera Division Clausura with a 1-0 win over defending champions Herediano on Wednesday night.

Playing behind closed doors at the Estadio Ricard Saprissa Ayma, San Juan de Tibas, San Jose, left-back Michael Barrantes, 36 got the decisive goal of the match for Saprissa as early as the eighth minute.

Barrantes worked a clever one-two with a team-mate from a throw-in on the right flanked and after two touches unleashed a left-footed effort that whisked past Herediano goalkeeper Esteban Alvarado and into the bottom right-hand corner of the goal from about 25-yards out.

At the other end of the field Guyana-born 29-year-old David, one of only three foreigners in the entire squad, the other two being from Argentina had a solid outing in defence alongside Ricardo Blanco to help his team secure all three points.

With the win, Saprissa playing its first match domestically since the league was halted back on March 14, 2020, due to the coronavirus pandemic moved its points tally to 36 from 16 matches, four clear of bitter rival Alajuelense while Herediano stayed third with 26 points ahead of the next round of matches on Saturday (midnight TT time) when the league leaders face seventh-placed Santos de Guapiles.

It was revenge victory for Saprissa which loss 4-1 to Herediano on January 26, in which David also featured in the match.

Wednesday's matches in Costa Rica completed the first full round of matches in the league which became the first football league in the Americas to start playing again following the break-in play, barring the Nicaraguan league, which never stopped.

Costa Rica wasn't affected by the coronavirus outbreak as much as other countries, with 866 confirmed cases as of Monday evening over its population of just over 5 million, and with only ten fatalities, one of the best records in the region.

Speaking after making his 25th appearance of the campaign for Saprissa, all as a starter, David, who has also plied his trade in Finald with VIS and US Major League soccer's Dallas FC said: "Firstly we will like to thank God for allowing us to play once again. because we know it a privilege to start back playing early as not a lot of leagues and countries have started back playing with only Germany among the top European leagues right now.

"So we are very grateful for that and it feels good. The team is very happy with the performance last night (Wednesday). We worked hard, kept a lot of possession and we played good football.

"We scored a goal very early in the game and we maintained it throughout and kept a clean sheet. So the team was happy with the performance.

Having only resumed training two weeks before the match, David, a former player in the Kazakhstan Premier League with Shakhter Karangandy admitted it was a tough contest.

"It was difficult because we have not played a competitive match for like a month-and-a-half and for me personally I felt the fatigue in my legs in the last ten minutes of the game, so I had to battle through the pain and keep the work up to make sure we get the win.

"We now have our recovery process from that match and we are looking to keep up the performance for our next match away on Saturday.

Elsewhere in Central America, football authorities in El Salvador ended their league early with Once Deportivo being declared this year's Clausura champion following a decision by the country's football federation to prematurely end all football competitions from March 20, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Among the T&T players affected by that decision was the trio of Jomal Williams (Isidro Metapan), Jamoul Francois (Independiente) and Jamal Jack (Jocoro), who are all still in that country due to the closure of its international borders.

With the early end to the league, Independiente ended in the fourth position with 15 points, level with seventh-placed Isidro Metepan, while Jocoro was ninth, two points behind.

And for defender Mekeil Williams of Guatemala’s Municipal of Liga Nacional, the outcome of the season is not definite as yet as they sit in the second spot with 23 points from 13 matches, five adrift of leaders Comunicaciones one round into the second half of the season on the 12-team table.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2020, 03:40:22 AM
On Tuesday Aubrey delivered what was essentially his first press conference or media interview in which he gave extensive responses in Spanish. :applause:

He did not feature in Saprissa's draw on Wednesday.
Post by: Tallman on June 30, 2020, 08:58:51 AM
After a 1-0 win over their biggest rival, Liga Deportiva Alajuelense, Aubrey David and Deportivo Saprissa are now the Champions of the Primera División de Costa Rica Clausura 2020.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EbxJaKgU0AAgtwb?format=jpg&name=900x900)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EbxJbd1VcAE_Fpb?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Flex on July 28, 2020, 03:17:06 AM
T&T defender David returns to training with Saprissa.

T&T senior national football team defender Aubrey David and his Deportivo Saprissa team-mates returned to training last weekend, just shy of a month since claiming the Costa Rican Clausura championship title with a 3-0 aggregate win over Liga Deportiva Alajuelense in the second leg of the second-round final at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma.

Over the two-legged final, the 29-year-old Guyana-born David was solid throughout in central defence in helping his team to 2-0 and 1-0 victories.

The victory saw the Saprissistas lift its 35th title in history, further establishing themselves as the winningest club in Costa Rican football while Alajuelense remained at 29 titles.

The win was also the second title won by David with Saprissa after they captured the Concacaf League crown last year.

Following the title win at the end of June, David opted to remain in the Central American country due to international border restriction caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

When the Clausura Championship restarted on May 20, Costa Rica became the first league in CONCACAF to restart play on May 20, joining the Nicaraguan league, which never stopped.

Contacted for an update on his team's preparations for the resumption of football in the Central American nation David said, "The Apertura is expected to kick off on August 16th and even though there has been an increase in covid19 cases in recent weeks, nothing has changed with regards to the kick-off at the moment."

"The Minister of Health has not issued any new information concerning the playing of team sports and we will be kicking off our pre-season training this week, having done our medical test already."

Club Sport Herediano are the reigning Apertura champions after defeating Alajuelense, winning a penalty kick shoot-out 7-6 to claim the 2019 Apertura title of Costa Rica men’s club soccer.

Herediano and Alajuelense tied on aggregate, 2-2, after the second-leg 2-1 victory from the home side. That and a scoreless extra time were enough to force the deciding shootout in the “Grand Final.”

This after Herediano edged Saprissa 7-6 on penalties after both legs ended 1-1 while Alajuelense got the better of San Carlos 3-0 over their two-legged semifinal.

The 2020 Apertura season will consist of 12 clubs and like the Clausura, competition is expected to be contested behind closed doors in the early stages.

Post by: Tallman on September 07, 2020, 11:33:52 AM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David gives an insight into playing for Deportivo Saprissa during the pandemic, and shares his feelings on Trinidad and Tobago's 2022 World Cup Qualifiers

https://www.youtube.com/v/GdJAd06kl7E
Post by: asylumseeker on October 11, 2020, 11:03:40 PM

I hope Limón do not get demoted. I'm still holding out that we can get a player on their books.

Fourth time the teams have met this year. The 3rd since the post above. Going into the match Limón hadn't beaten Saprissa in years. Tonight the tables turned. Saprissa were done in by a crafted flighted ball off a free kick met by a blind side positioned attacker. Well-worked to exploit a Saprissa vulnerability.

Aubrey didn't see out 90 minutes. He was summoned to the bench shortly after Limón slotted home.

EDIT:  View the goal here (https://twitter.com/LatrombaLimon/status/1315423460823367680?s=20).
Post by: Tallman on November 12, 2020, 02:36:27 PM
WATCH: Deportivo Saprissa defender Aubrey David talks about winning the Concacaf League, playing in Costa Rica's Liga de Fútbol de Primera División, playing at international level for Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago, the disappointing 2019 Gold Cup campaign and MORE.

https://www.youtube.com/v/cWenjojFbh8
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2020, 06:31:14 PM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David scores a header off a corner kick to seal Deportivo Saprissa's 3-0 win over Municipal Grecia. Aubrey dedicated the goal to his late father-in-law who passed away earlier this month.

https://www.youtube.com/v/j_qWcnEatsU?start=80
Post by: asylumseeker on December 09, 2020, 11:01:56 PM
Tough going tonight doh. Hole dug. Yuh never know doh. Maybe Saprissa could pull a Pumas. Pumas were 4 against the good versus Cruz Azul and showed up and delivered 4 goals in that 2nd leg. Painful by any standard, but it has been that kind of week.

Saprissa have had rough going this term versus Heredia so it is unlikely Heredia will fall in as Minnesota or Cruz Azul. I might have felt differently about that had Salzburg done the same today, but Simeone was having none of it.

Good luck, Aubrey.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 13, 2020, 07:11:32 PM
Saprissa faced an even deeper hole after conceding an opening item in the second leg of the semis. They were able to draw level to bring the match to 1-1, but, as noted in the previous post, they required a flurry of goals this evening just to be on even footing.

Nonetheless, Aubrey sees out the year as one of the most active of T&T national team players. In 2020 that is more than a minor blessing.

On a different note that would be of benefit to Saprissa, there is the prospect of Aubrey acquiring Costa Rican citizenship. Seems like a winning proposition.
Post by: Tallman on January 13, 2021, 08:27:08 PM
Defender Aubrey David has made his 100th appearance for Costa Rica's most decorated club, Deportivo Saprissa. Aubrey achieved the milestone during a goalless draw against Municipal Grecia.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ErqJpfNXMAQD-WR?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 22, 2021, 05:18:25 PM
Aubrey and company are running the Haitians ragged. 3-0 with about an hour played.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 22, 2021, 07:26:32 PM
Aubrey and company are running the Haitians ragged. 3-0 with about an hour played.

Saprissa advance to the CONCACAF League final after thrashing Arcahaie 5-0. They will face fellow Costa Rican club, Alajuelense  on February 3.
Post by: Tiresais on January 23, 2021, 05:16:24 AM

Saprissa advance to the CONCACAF League final after thrashing Arcahaie 5-0. They will face fellow Costa Rican club, Alajuelense  on February 3.

Good for Aubrey, but sad to see the fairy tale die
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2021, 10:45:26 AM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David scores a header off a free kick during Deportivo Saprissa's 4-0 rout of Sporting FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/1ihctPmonG4?start=61
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2021, 07:38:59 PM
Nothing shabby when both of your CBs score. Was curious to see how Centeno would reconfigure his back 4 or who Waston would sit. 

Stay humble and keep wukkin. KW will smile but he not on no skin teet ting on de field.

So, a question fuh de masses framed as a statement. Name another T&T player that has partnered Waston in central defense. Doh waste too much time. :)
Post by: soccerman on January 29, 2021, 07:46:23 PM
Nothing shabby when both of your CBs score. Was curious to see how Centeno would reconfigure his back 4 or who Waston would sit. 

Stay humble and keep wukkin. KW will smile but he not on no skin teet ting on de field.

So, a question fuh de masses framed as a statement. Name another T&T player that has partnered Waston in central defense. Doh waste too much time. :)
Cyrus?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 29, 2021, 07:56:40 PM

Cyrus?

Negative.
Post by: Tallman on January 29, 2021, 09:56:30 PM

Carlyle Mitchell
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2021, 12:44:46 AM

Carlyle Mitchell

Negative, but warm.
Post by: maxg on January 30, 2021, 01:00:15 AM

Carlyle Mitchell

Negative, but warm.

Might be J Hoyte at Cincinnati
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2021, 02:55:54 AM

Carlyle Mitchell

Negative, but warm.

Might be J Hoyte at Cincinnati

Yuh didn't say that with any confidence.  :P Buh yeah. :applause:

HOWEVER, there's still an opportunity for TM and soccerman to redeem deyself. Hoyte is not the only one.  ;)

P. S. To Tallman's credit, Mitchell and Waston coincided at where they played but they were not paired together. Carlyle was wrapping up his cycle there before taking the Korea opportunity. Waston was brought in to replace.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2021, 05:25:23 PM
Doh focus on senior team caps.
Post by: soccerman on January 30, 2021, 06:46:42 PM
Ranjitsingh
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2021, 08:04:42 PM
Ranjitsingh

Recall, the Q is about CBs.
Post by: maxg on January 31, 2021, 11:19:55 AM
Ranjitsingh

Ah real dig for this one
Aaron Maund

Ah win Tallman ? Ah win Tallman ?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 31, 2021, 12:27:16 PM
Ranjitsingh

Ah real dig for this one
Aaron Maund

Ah win Tallman ? Ah win Tallman ?

Bravo, good shout! :applause:

Maund partnered Waston at Vancouver Whitecaps before Waston left in a huff and a puff for Cincinnati.

I told TM he was 'warm' because he was on the right track regarding the club.
Post by: maxg on January 31, 2021, 05:34:08 PM
TM owe meh ah Heineken, A
TM owe meh ah Heineken, O
A O A O sing it again 🎶
 :chilling: :chilling:  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Tallman on January 31, 2021, 08:27:19 PM
TM owe meh ah Heineken, A
TM owe meh ah Heineken, O
A O A O sing it again 🎶
 :chilling: :chilling:  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Buh wha de ass do you? Is asylumseeker who owe you de beers, not me. Anyhow take this  :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on March 23, 2021, 07:35:03 PM
WATCH: Defender Aubrey David about the Trinidad and Tobago Men's Football team's preparations for the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier match against Guyana.

https://www.youtube.com/v/AICngOmH2eE
Post by: Flex on March 23, 2021, 07:38:21 PM
David focuses on 3 points from Guyana.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

"It was a disappointing result against the USA but I think we've learnt a lot of lessons and we've learnt a lot about the guys we have, and what we need to work on."

T&T defender Aubrey David wants all hands on deck as T&T tackles the country of his birth- Guyana in their opening World Cup Qualifying match on Thursday night in the Dominican Republic. The game is scheduled to kick-off at 7 pm.

The Deportivo Saprissa defender is destined to make up for the 0-7 defeat by the United States on January 31 by calling on his teammates to stick to the instructions of coach Terry Fenwick, if they are to secure maximum points on Thursday.

"We need to have confidence within ourselves and confidence with each other. We need to stick to the game plan and unity will be very vital out there, so we need to work hard for each other, and with these ingredients, we can get the job done."

"I think now with the senior players coming in, it would be much better and we would have a lot more experience so that we can learn how to move forward in the future. It's just for us to get the instructions from the coach and know what he wants, so we can get the job done."

David who was born in Guyana and was adopted by T&T admitted that having played against the Guyanese in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA in 2019 where the game ended in a 1-1 result, they may have an idea of their game plan and who they may have playing for them.

The Guyanese have since recruited Brazilian coach Marcio Maximo for the qualifiers and could provide an unexpected style of play on Thursday.

David is one of few overseas-based players who have joined the T&T camp for the match. The others being midfielder Khaleem Hyland (Club Al Batin) of the Saudi Arabian League, midfielder Daniel Phillips (Watford FC), goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup (IL Stjørdals-Blink) of the Norwegian League, Robert Primus who plays in India, among others.

"It feels good to be in the camp and getting to know some new faces and seeing some old faces that you haven't seen in a while because of the pandemic."

Watch Aubrey: We'll be ready for the assignment (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrBXzZ5ri90)

Watch Soca Warriors prep for Guyana clash in Dominican Republic | SportsMax Zone (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AICngOmH2eE)

Post by: royal on April 14, 2021, 06:30:22 PM
has COVID
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2021, 07:15:57 PM
Yes, Just saw it on Sarprissa roster. Get well soon. Blessings
Post by: Tallman on May 24, 2021, 08:00:17 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores the game-winning goal in Saprissa's 3-2 win over Herediano in the first leg of the 2021 Clausura Championship

https://www.youtube.com/v/evfzv-7IfUk?start=152
Post by: Peong on July 05, 2021, 10:04:36 AM
I now see the photos of David's injury on Instagram. The man lip almost come off! Deep cuts inside and outside his mouth, he lucky he didn't lose teeth from that blow.
This man real tough to keep playing. Aubrey David, you a real warrior.
It was disappointing that the ref initially did not even see a foul in that play.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 05, 2021, 10:35:08 AM
I now see the photos of David's injury on Instagram. The man lip almost come off! Deep cuts inside and outside his mouth, he lucky he didn't lose teeth from that blow.
This man real tough to keep playing. Aubrey David, you a real warrior.
It was disappointing that the ref initially did not even see a foul in that play.

The players should have protested as well. Vigorously. Blood on face. Cut lip. These are signs of contact. Even if you haven't seen the incident, engage the referee. With VAR not doing so is inexcusable.
Post by: royal on July 05, 2021, 05:14:41 PM
After seeing that cut, not only was it a penalty but the player should have been sent off because the ref did go to VAR. A Guyana player was sent off for much less.  Respect to Aubrey David for continuing to play.
Post by: pull stones on July 06, 2021, 01:31:03 AM
After seeing that cut, not only was it a penalty but the player should have been sent off because the ref did go to VAR. A Guyana player was sent off for much less.  Respect to Aubrey David for continuing to play.
paleasee most of these concacaf referees are duds, the absolute worst officiating I’ve ever seen is in concacaf. go back and look at the last World Cup qualifiers and you would see infractions to make your head turn, and none of it was detected by the officials, all four of those worthless duds. I’m so happy that VAR is going to be permanent fixture in fifa tournaments just to keep an eye on these corrupt officials who are paid to sell out teams that are deemed unworthy. as you said that should have been a straight red no questions asked, but as it stood we didn’t need it since we won ver handsomely.
Post by: Tallman on August 05, 2021, 01:39:14 PM
Defender Aubrey David poses with the 2021 Supercopa de Costa Rica trophy after Deportivo Saprissa's 4-1 win over arch-rival LD Alajuelense.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E8DQjCBXEAg7QAC?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Tallman on January 04, 2022, 05:34:46 PM
Having played 5,847 minutes across 67 games for club and country, Trinidad and Tobago and Deportivo Saprissa defender Aubrey David ranks at #5 worldwide for the most official game minutes by an outfield player in 2021.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIS33B4XsAgUntx?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 05, 2022, 12:32:18 AM
Having played 5,847 minutes across 67 games for club and country, Trinidad and Tobago and Deportivo Saprissa defender Aubrey David ranks at #5 worldwide for the most official game minutes by an outfield player in 2021.

NT minutes included? Could have been higher if we had a regular NT schedule.
Post by: Tallman on January 05, 2022, 10:37:05 AM

NT minutes included? Could have been higher if we had a regular NT schedule.

Yes, NT minutes included.
Title: T&T defender David to get Costa Rican citizenship
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2022, 01:01:40 PM
T&T defender David to get Costa Rican citizenship
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

T&T defender Aubrey David would soon be a citizen of Costa Rica.

The COVID-19 pandemic has, as it has done to many things around the world, affected this process for David becoming a Costa Rican from taking place temporarily, but David, a Guyanese-born who plays for T&T, is certain to have triple citizenship once the opportunity presents itself as he is married to a Costa Rican.

David in an interview recently told Guardian Media Sports the move is not aimed at playing for the 'Ticos' but to make things easier for himself and his club- Deportivo Saprissa in the top-flight Costa Rican Football League.

" To play in these countries it's difficult in terms of the spots they have. It's not like other leagues where they allow like seven foreign players, so you have to actually be at the top of your game to get in.

So now that I am eligible to become a citizen, and also free up a spot for Saprissa and make it easier for myself, that even if I go somewhere else, I can come back here and not be counted as a foreigner, it helps everybody.

It wasn't an easy decision but it has been years, the directors came to me and said it was a possibility. What I thought about the most was if it would have affected anything with T&T and it doesn't so it will help me in my professional career.

The process hasn't even been started as yet. It is something that I've been thinking about. There is a lot of complications to get it because with the whole pandemic situation, some papers I have to go down to T&T to get but I haven't had dialogue so. Then it was the end of the season and then we had the CONCACAF Gold Cup."

David made his full international debut for the T&T national team on 29 February 2012 against Antigua and Barbuda at the age of 21, but following the team's elimination from the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifiers David made an about-turn by accepting an invitation to play for Guyana.

He returned to the red, white and black of T&T in November 2012 and has played for the Soca Warriors since.

Late last year David was adjudged the T&T Football Association's Player of the Year, an award he embraced with gratitude, saying he gave God thanks for the opportunity to have health and strength to play the game of football, and also be recognised for it. He ruled it as his best year, in spite of the pandemic: " 2021 I could say would have been my best year because we won two trophies out of three and also we had a good Gold Cup, although we didn't reach as far as we would have liked to.

We would have liked to go further on in the tournament but we had a good showing and we made the country proud, so 2021 was a good year for me, the only thing is that we didn't end the year by winning another trophy with my club.

David's achievement for 2021 in fact, exceeded all expectations as he was voted the fifth most consistent player around the world, in terms of appearances for both club and country. This he accredited to his self-care.

After seeing the statistic it was a feeling of gratitude, more importantly, I'm thankful to God for giving me health and strength and keeping me injury free so I can be able to help my team, help my country by being on the field.

I had to sit down and think 67 games in one year without any injury, without any complications, I felt very grateful."

Preparation for the 2022 season kicked off recently for David and Saprissa with hopes that more trophies and titles will be won this year.
Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2022, 09:23:02 PM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores a consolation goal for Deportivo Saprissa (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1513355389500375044) in their 4-1 loss to AD San Carlos
Post by: Tallman on April 28, 2022, 09:55:48 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores the opening goal in the 337th Costa Rican Clásico where Deportivo Saprissa emerged 2-0 winners over Liga Deportiva Alajuelense

https://www.youtube.com/v/0QNz99bZU04
Post by: kounty on April 29, 2022, 11:09:39 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David scores a consolation goal for Deportivo Saprissa (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1513355389500375044) in their 4-1 loss to AD San Carlos
using Aubrey on them set pieces man. Nice addition.
Post by: Sando prince on July 03, 2022, 09:03:10 AM

Respect to Aubrey David. Listen to this man departing speech. You can tell he really enjoyed playing for Saprissa in CR

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/photos/a.240163770663140/754559082556937/
Post by: Peong on July 03, 2022, 06:11:23 PM
Where he goin?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2022, 07:37:08 PM
Where he goin?

Alajuelense.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2022, 07:39:06 PM
(https://diariodeportivocr.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/AUBREY-PORTADA.jpg)
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2022, 09:22:36 AM
Former Deportivo Saprissa defender Aubrey David has joined rivals Liga Deportiva Alajuelense on an 18-month contract.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FXecxVsXoAAp-Hp?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Tallman on August 03, 2022, 06:26:46 AM
WATCH: Aubrey David rounds off the scoring by blasting the ball in the roof of the net on the half volley (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Me4pnNbOUYs&t=176s) during LD Alajuelense's 3-0 win over CD Águila in a Preliminary Round second leg match in the Concacaf League.
Post by: Peong on August 04, 2022, 10:46:37 AM
That was well-taken. We should put him up front  ;D
In a lean few years for the "Trinis In Action" threads (remember those?), Aubrey David has been one of our brightest and most consistent performers. I'm really impressed with him.
Post by: Tallman on December 03, 2022, 08:08:27 PM
Aubrey David joins Ecuadorian Serie A Champions, SD Aucas
SocaWarriors.net Media

Defender Aubrey David has completed his transfer from Costa Rica's Liga Deportiva Alajuelense to Ecuador's Sociedad Deportiva Aucas. SD Aucas is the current champion of the Ecuadorian Serie A, the top tier of football in the country.

Liga Deportiva Alajuelense Sporting Director Antonio Solana said of the transfer, "The sale of Aubrey makes us very happy, it not only represents a good offer for LDA, but it also allows him to grow in his professional career".

Aubrey took the opportunity to thank LDA's fans, saying “although it was a short time, I am very grateful to the club and especially to the fans who welcomed me from the first day, it is a great step in my career and I thank LDA for allowing it to happen".

David played played 28 games with LDA this season; 16 in the league, 9 in the Concacaf League and 3 in the Cup Tournament.

LDA's website stated "We thank Aubrey for his professionalism and dedication while representing the red and black, and we wish him every success in this new stage of his career which could see him play in the Copa Libertadores."

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FjF8DKyXoAATUDX?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2023, 03:47:59 AM
The player has returned to Costa Rica on loan, where he will reunite with Paulo Wanchope. Cartaginés were in need of a versatile left-footed CB and the player was identified as fitting the bill.

Aside from Aubrey, three other Aucas players have been facilitated loans. Others departed without new contracts. Basically, Aucas is on a squad-trimming mission. By any measure, 50 players is a huge squad.

I would think he is the only T&T player who would have competed in the prestigious Copa Libertadores. Ah don't anticipate that anyone would join him on that podium anytime soon. Anyway, the very good $$$ is on the relationship with Aucas petering out upon the loan's expiration date.
Post by: Flex on September 24, 2023, 01:32:14 AM
Soca Warriors player profile.
T&T Newsday Reports.

WHEN it comes to strong and charismatic leaders on the football pitch, very few can rival the stalwart custodian – Aubrey David.

Following more than a decade of unwavering service, the dynamic and rugged centre-back has become one of the most senior players in the TT men’s senior team and a leader that many of the younger players look up to. As a result, head coach Angus Eve appointed the 32-year-old David as captain of the national team and he recently led the Soca Warriors to two victories in two matches in the Concacaf Nations League.

Born in Guyana, David represented his homeland in the early stages of his senior career following a stint with TT at the youth level. There, he flew the red, white and black flag at the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup, the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup and the qualifiers for the 2012 Olympics.

However, after a brief spell with the Golden Jaguars at senior level – playing two friendly matches – David made the switch back to TT and pledged allegiance to the Soca Warriors in November 2012.

Speaking on his see-saw encounter with Guyana, David said, “Not many people know, but I am Guyanese by birth. At the age of three, I moved to Trinidad with my mom and brother and spent, basically, the rest of my life here (in Trinidad) before I left to play football abroad.”

The Guyanese-Trinidadian fared well in his endeavours away from TT – particularly during his tenure at Costa Rican Club, Saprissa – as he became the first Trinidadian to win the Concacaf League in 2020, as well as the Costa Rican league in 2020 and 2021.

He also had success in Major League Soccer (MLS) with FC Dallas, winning the Supporters’ Shield and the US Open Cup in 2016.

Currently, he plays for Costa Rican team, CS Cartaginés, on loan from Ecuadorian club, SD Aucas. David also stated that his decision to represent Guyana at the senior level was influenced by fellow Guyanese-Trinidadian Jamal Shabaaz, who is the head coach of the Guyana national team.

“When he (Shabaaz) found out (that I was Guyanese), he gave me a call”, David said. “At the time, Guyana were about to play in the Hex of the 2010 World Cup qualifiers after knocking out Trinidad.”

“When that happened, I was playing with the Trinidad U-23 team and I didn’t make the final team (for the 2012 Olympic qualifiers). So when coach Shabaaz called, I gave it some thought and it was one of the hardest decisions that I had to make in my career so far.”

“He (Shabaaz) told me that we were going to play two friendlies against Jamaica and Panama, and if I didn’t like the setup and environment in Guyana, I was free to go back to Trinidad and play – so I decided to take the opportunity as I didn’t have anything to lose.”

David’s U-turn from Guyana led him to become a five-time Gold Cup participant for the Soca Warriors having played in the competition in 2013, 2015, 2019, 2021 and 2023.

In 2021, his stellar performances for club and country earned him the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) Footballer of the Year, which he described as a “tremendous honour” following a “challenging and difficult” period after the covid19 pandemic.

Usually positioned in the centre of the defensive line, David has played at right-back and left-back throughout the years. But as far as his preferred position goes, the veteran Warrior said it depends on the team’s style of play.

“The coach and system play a big part. Personally, I like to get forward and be part of the attack. So if the team is playing in a system where the wide-backs have the freedom to run forward and track back, then I’d prefer to play at right-back – it’s more fun! But, if it’s a style where the full-back is instructed to stay at home, then I’d prefer centre-back.”

Now aged 32, David’s role as a centre-back is invaluable as he brings experience and prowess to the national team, which Eve has been wisely utilising in the Concacaf Nations League thus far.

With just one international goal on his record, David will be seeking to add to his tally – as well as continuing to secure clean sheets and guiding the team – before he hangs up his boots.

He expressed, “God’s willing – once I have life, health and strength – my goal is to get to (defend, score... anything it takes to get to) the World Cup and be a mentor to the younger ones as I’d soon be on my way out.” Captain David will lead the Soca Warriors in Nations League action again next month as TT face Guatemala and Curaçao in the next international window.

With two wins in two matches, the Warriors currently top Group A and are in a firm position to earn a spot in the final eight, where a place in the 2024 Copa America is at stake.