Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on October 12, 2008, 06:24:23 AM

Title: Valuable point for T&T.
Post by: Flex on October 12, 2008, 06:24:23 AM
Valuable point for T&T.

Trinidad and Tobago came away with a valuable point in a courageous 0-0 draw with Guatemala on Saturday night to keep their chances of securing a spot in the CONCACAF Final round very much alive.

Playing before a partisan home crowd at the Estadio Mateo Flores, skipper Dwight Yorke and his men, forced to play with ten men after defender Cyd Gray was given marching orders for a second bookable offense, held on with a gritty display which saw them almost snatching a late winner when Yorke free kick came back off the near left post.

Before the start of the match, upon arrival some 90 minutes before kick off, the venue was almost entirely filled by a vocal Guatemalan crowd which jeered Yorke and company as they walked out on the pitch to get an early feel of the expected intimidating  atmosphere.

T&T had a bright first half, holding off the hosts for long periods and should have gone ahead had Carlos Edwards and Jason Scotland done better with their chances. Stern John, though being declared fit a day earlier, was not risked and was not included in the final 18. Anthony Wolfe, because of his defensive attributes was used ahead of Keon Daniel who did eventually come on in the second half. Scotland enjoyed a solid game overall while Edwards was a force throughout in the right defensive position.

Veteran midfielder Russell Latapy had to sacrificed at the break following Gray’s sending off, to allow Clyde Leon to enter in a more defensive role with Cornell Glen joining Scotland up front. Francisco Maturana said after the match that Latapy was willing to play further time but he had no choice but to introduce the defensive midfielder due to T&T then being a player short.

Chris Birchall was a workhorse throughout and had two decent tries at goal, one in the first half which was blocked and another in the second half which flew over bar. Goalkeeper Clayton Ince kept it even with some timely saves well supported by more tidy work by Keyeno Thomas, Dennis Lawrence and Avery John.

The players and technical staff, feeling the value of the point, embraced each other at half pitch. Russell Latapy jogged off with clenched fists in the air as the T&T team was cheered off the field by the section of the Guatemalan crowd above the players tunnel.

Next up, the "Soca Warriors will host USA on Wednesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Anthony Wolfe, on two yellow cards and Gray will miss that encounter. The T&T team, which was met by President George Maxwell Richards and TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner before the game at the team hotel will arrive back with those two and 150 fans on a charter flight at 10pm on Sunday.

Teams

T&T: - 1.Clayton Ince; 2.Cyd Gray, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 5.Keyeno Thomas, 3.Avery John, 11.Carlos Edwards, 7.Christopher Birchall, 10.Russell Latapy (15.Clyde Leon 46th), 17.Dwight Yorke (capt), 8.Anthony Wolfe (13.Cornell Glen 46th), 12.Jason Scotland (9.Keon Daniel 70th).

Subs not used: - 14.Darryl Roberts, 4.Osei Telesford, 18.Marvin Phillip, 16.Makan Hislop.

Coach: - Francisco Maturana (COL).

Guatemala: - 1.Ricardo Trigueno; 4.Yony Flores, 5.Carlos Gallardo, 6.Gustavo Cabrera (17.Abner Trigueros 60th), 7.Mario Rodriguez, 10.Freddy Garcia (12.Jose Contreras 46th), 11.Guillermo Ramirez (capt), 13.Marco Papa, 14.Luis Rodriguez, 16.Jean Marquez (8.Gonzalo Romero 60th), 9.Carlos Ruiz.

Subs not used: - 2.Carlos Castrillo, 3.Cristian Noriega, 15.Fredy Thompson, 18.Luis Molina.

Coach: - Ramon Maradiaga  (HON).

Officials

Referee: PETRESCU Silviu (CAN)
Assistant Referee 1: VERGARA Hector (CAN)
Assistant Referee 2: CLARK Darren (CAN)
Fourth official: DEPIERO Steven (CAN)

Cards

Guillermo Ramirez (27')
Carlos Gallardo (87')
Anthony Wolfe (6')
Cyd Gray (28')
Cyd Gray (39')
Chris Birchall (45')
Clayton Ince (79')

Videos

View Post game interviews with Ince, Birchall and Edwards (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P59IQyN4EIU)

Watch the Warriors train in Guatemala City (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJaHMnjQ9Mc)

Post Match quotes

Francisco Maturana

"We played a very good game. I give credit to the players for fighting very had and playing to the end. It was not easy especially after we had Cyd sent off but our tactical game was very good tonight.

It was the kind of result that we deserved after a game like this. We played with a lot of heart. In the game we had the more clear cut chances to score and maybe the result could have been different if we made use of these. But when the player got sent off it made us have to change our game tactically and we had to take two players off. All my players did very well. Russell Latapy too. He had to come off because at this stage for the second half we had to put on the defensive player in the middle. He (Latapy) wanted to stay on but I had to make the change."

Clayton Ince

It was a good result and good to see all the guys put on such a performance. It was a tremendous fight by us after going a man down away from home. It was very important for us not to lose this game and that’s exactly what we did. We kept shape throughout the game and we also put them under pressure with a few good scoring chances of our own. It was a tricky affair but every player held their own exactly how you need to in a qualifying match of this nature. We played as a team whether it was with ten or eleven men. I think with this kind of confidence in the camp we can definitely go on to get a result against the States on Wednesday.

Chris Birchall

It was vital for them that they won seeing that it was their home game and vital for us not to lose so I think we came out the better team. I think this the best I have felt fitness wise since the World Cup. There was a lot of running and defending involved tonight and we did it well as a tea. We were hoping for the three points but it became a lot harder after we got the man sent off. But we showed a lot of grit and spirit. They had unbelievable support and the Guatemala fans were clapping us off the pitch after the game which was credit for our performance. Now is the one time we can be confident that we can really give America a game and not just a good game but also get three points. We will be going all out on Wednesday.
Soca Warriors hold Guatemala to goalless draw.
By: Ian Prescott Guatemala City (Express).

T&T hang tough

Trinidad and Tobago defender Cyd Gray plays with his heart on his sleeve and often with his brain somewhere far away.

It did not help that he was sent off 40 minutes into the most important match thus far for T&T in the 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. Still, the Soca Warriors battled on heroically, a player short, managing a valuable 0-0 draw against Guatemala on Saturday night at the Estadio Mateo Flores ("El Mateo") in Guatemala City.

Both teams are still level on five points, with Guatemala having a better goal difference, but the balance has shifted in favour of Trinidad and Tobago.

Having already picked up four points on the road, the Warriors complete the semi-final round with home matches against group winners United States (12 points) on Wednesday and finally Cuba on November 19.

Guatemala, with a single road point, play the same teams, but away from home.

Saturday's match was gripping, nerve-wracking, and close. Trinidad and Tobago had the two clearest scoring opportunities when both Carlos Edwards and Jason Scotland breached the Guatemalan defence, but struck the ball straight at goalkeeper Ricardo Foster.

A close-up goal from Guatemalan Carlos Ruiz was disallowed in the 70th minute, after the striker was caught offside having netted the rebound when  T&T keeper Clayton Ince spilled Guatemalan captain Guillermo "Pando" Rodriguez's hard, low shot.

And T&T captain Dwight Yorke almost won the match in the 87th with a free-kick that crashed off the left post.

It might well have been God's blessing that Yorke had not bagged the winner.

The Chipanas, as the Guatemalan national squad are called, met unconditional support on entering "El Mateo", the stadium named after the Guatemalan who won the 1952 Boston Marathon.

Not a single ticket was to be had on match day, leaving thousands of desperate fans outside and well over the 30,000 capacity crammed inside "El Mateo", which was transformed into a boiling cauldron of hostility and fanaticism by the blue and white-painted supporters.

Enough soldiers were around to start a small war.

Guatemalans were whipped into festive frenzy hours before kick-off and few in Trinidad and Tobago would have experienced such intimidation, or the humiliation of hearing T&T's national anthem disrespectfully booed in the pre-game ceremony.

Afterwards, Guatemalans obviously saw the drawn game as a defeat and many hurled a barrage of profanity and racial taunts at the  small contingent of Trinidad and Tobago fans who flew in for the match.

Trinis started speaking of "the Bahrain experience", but under a watchful military guard the T&T group remained in "El Mateo" until the Guatemalan mob left.

Guatemala also has good people and some did shake hands and gracefully offer their congratulations.

On the field, the Guatemalan footballers appeared wanting to win at any cost, taking the game to the visitors, but also using rough play and trying to con free-kicks and yellow cards out of the gullible Canadian referee.

After surviving the initial onslaught, Trinidad and Tobago had their chances.

Edwards looked dangerous in attack at wide right and, when picked out by Yorke's long, diagonal cross, just missed finding either the centrally-placed Russell Latapy or Scotland at the back post in the eighth minute.

Soon after, Edwards was again sprung and should have hit first time, but instead gave the keeper a chance to save when turning onto his less-favoured left foot.

At 40 years old, Latapy was a spent force by half-time, but his sweet touches kept Guatemala off-guard while he was on the field.

Trinidad and Tobago also got tireless commitment in midfield from Chris Birchall and Anthony Wolfe, while Yorke maintained his high standard for a long time.

Substitutes Cornell Glen and Keon Daniel also did a good job of keeping Guatemala defending.

Guatemala's Honduran coach Ramon Maradiaga dropped to three defenders at the start of the second half to exploit their extra man, but made no impression as T&T coach Francisco Maturana's line of four defenders lost nothing with Gray's ejection, as Edwards proved a more solid option.

Guatemala were restricted to shots from distance, although highly dangerous ones from hard-kicking Guillermo Ramirez. And, goalie Ince was solid, getting to the ball before both Luis Rodriguez and Freddy Garcia on the couple occasions Guatemala actually breached the Soca Warriors' defence.

Before the Guatemala match, Maturana looked like a man facing a public lynching. He has now gotten a reprieve and probably will get a presidential pardon with a similar draw against the USA on Wednesday.

If Maturana leads T&T to their first World Cup qualifying win over the USA, he will probably be a strong candidate for Prime Minister.
Eliminatoria: Noche triste para la Bicolor.
By: Prensa Libre News.

Por claudia castro

La Selección no aprovechó su localía y empató sin goles contra Trinidad y Tobago, con lo que complicó su clasificación a la fase hexagonal, porque ahora no solo depende de lo que haga en las dos últimas fechas, sino de lo que realicen los isleños. Otra vez a sacar la calculadora.

Todo estaba preparado para que se viviera una fiesta en el Estadio Nacional Mateo Flores, con los graderíos llenos y pintados de azul y blanco, pero anoche solo la afición cumplió al abarrotar el escenario deportivo; en el terreno de juego, los seleccionados corrieron, intentaron, pero no fueron efectivos, y perdonaron a un equipo que vino a defenderse.

Por eso, los seleccionados no salieron ovacionados como se esperaba, sino abucheados y con la clasificación cuesta arriba, porque sus dos próximos juegos son de visita.

Sin ideas
La Selección Nacional inició el encuentro sin ideas, perdiendo el balón y sin crear jugadas de peligro.

En los primeros 45 minutos, Guatemala no marcó ningún tiro directo, porque su equipo se dedicó a buscar los centros, pero éstos fueron desperdiciados en los remates de Freddy García, Mario Rodríguez y Guillermo Ramírez.

Y es que los nacionales se desesperaron, porque el equipo trinitario jugó aplicado, principalmente en la defensa, además apeló al juego fuerte, a las faltas sin balón y a la desesperación de los nacionales.

Pero mientras Guatemala intentaba sin claridad, Trinidad y Tobago contó con más opciones; apenas iniciaba el partido y al minuto 11, Carlos Edwards pudo abrir el marcador al quedar solo frente al portero nacional, Ricardo Trigueño Foster, pero pudo desviar el remate y evitar que su arco cayera.

Los caribeños parecía que se complicaban al minuto 40, cuando el lateral Cyd Gray, recibió su segunda tarjeta amarilla, por una falta sobre Mario Rodríguez. Trinidad se quedó con 10 hombres, pero eso pareció no afectarles, al contrario, fue cuando más propusieron.

Ataque abrumador
El técnico trinitario, Francisco Maturana ganó le duelo táctico a Ramón Maradiaga; en el segundo tiempo ingresó a Cornell Glen y a Clyde León, pues con un hombre menos no podía arriesgar y proponer, sino solo esperar, pero haciéndolo de forma ordenada y aplicada.

Bajó a Carlos Edwards, su mejor hombre en el terreno de juego, como lateral, para que su línea de cuatro defensas no sufriera daños y evitara los desbordes nacionales.

Además aprovechó el ingreso de Glen por su velocidad, e intentó explotar la banda izquierda, lo cual consiguió en varias oportunidades, pero desperdició las jugadas.

Maradiaga quiso cambiar la historia en el segundo tiempo y se quedó con un solo volante de contención y tres defensas, pero anoche el talento no apareció, ni en Freddy García, Marco Pablo Pappa, José Manuel Contreras y Gonzalo Romero, porque Trinidad le cerró todos los espacios y ahogó a los guatemaltecos, quienes querían ingresar con el balón dominado, pero solamente fue con los remates fuera del área y potentes del capitán Guillermo Ramírez, que se pudo inquietar al portero Ince.

De nuevo a calcular
Con seis puntos por disputar, la Selección Nacional volverá a sacar la calculadora, porque ahora no solo depende de lo que consigan en sus visitas en Cuba y Estados Unidos, sino de lo que haga Trinidad y Tobago, que tiene a su favor que juega en casa, las dos próximas fechas.

A eso, el combinado le debe sumar que a Cuba, viajará sin su capitán, Guillermo Ramírez, porque acumuló su segunda tarjeta amarilla y está suspendido para el partido del miércoles.
Title: Game Report From Guatemalan newspaper
Post by: Jahyouth on October 12, 2008, 07:02:37 AM

Sad night for the Bi-colour

The National Team (of Guatemela) did not take advantage of the game's location and tied without goals against Trinidad and Tobago, which complicates its classification to the Hex, because now it does not only depend on what they do in the final two games, but what the islanders do.  Once again, we have to take out our caluculators.

Everything was prepared for a party in the Mateo Flores stadium, with the stands full and painted blue and white, but last night the festivities had to be aborted; on the field of play the players of both teams ran, intended to score, but were not effective, although you can forgive a visiting team who came to defend.

As a result, the (Guatemalan) players did not leave to a ovation as they expected they would, but with boos, and with classification still up in the air because the next two games are on the road.

No ideas

The Guatemalan team began without ideas, losing the ball and without creating dangerous plays.

In the opening 45 minutes, Guatemala did not register one direct shot on goal, because the team dedictaed itself to looking for the central midfielders, but these players (Freddy García, Mario Rodríguez y Guillermo Ramírez) all but disappeared.

And when they disappeared, the Trinidadian team played with resolve, principally in defense with strong physical play, fouling off the ball, frustrating the Guatemalan players.

Meanwhile, when Guatemala made its intentions clear, Trinidad and Tobago responded with more options; early in the game in the 11th minute, Carlos Edwards was able to elude his marker and was left alone in front of the Guatemalan goalkeeper Ricardo Trigueño Foster, but was only able to hit the ball directly at the keeper, who then cleaned up the rebound.

The Caribbean team complicated the game for themselves in the 40th minute when wingback Cyd Gray received his second yellow card for a foul on Mario Rodríguez.  Trinidad was left with 10 players, but this did not seem to affect them, on the contrary they played with even more conviction.

The Trinidadian coach, Francisco Maturana won his tactical duel against Ramón Maradiaga; in the second half he introduced Cornell Glen and Clyde Leon, and with one man less was able to arrest and frustrate (with much hope) in an orderly manner.

Carlos Edwards was put into defense, the best player on the pitch placed at wingback, so that the backline of four defenders would not suffer damage and could absorb the Guatemalan attacks.

Having introduced Glen for his speed, he exploited the left wing on various occasions, although his play was often left wanting.

Maradiaga wanted to change history in the second half by leaving only one midfielder with defensive duties and three defenders, but last night talent was absent, neither Freddy García, Marco Pablo Pappa, José Manuel Contreras or Gonzalo Romero were effective, because Trinidad closed all the spaces and hounded the Guatemalans who wanted to capitalize on their domination of the ball.  Only rebounds in the area and the occasional shot of captain Guillermo Ramírez was able to disturb goalkeeper Ince, however.

Calculating Anew

With six points up for grabs, the Guatemalan National team has to take out its calculator once again, but everything no longer only depends on what the visits to Cuba and the United States hold in store, but what Trinidad and Tobago do as they have in their favour the fact that they play at home in the next two games.

All this is in combination with the fact that Guatemala will be playing without its captain Guillermo Ramírez who accumulated his second yellow, and is suspended for Wednesday's game.

La Selección no aprovechó su localía y empató sin goles contra Trinidad y Tobago, con lo que complicó su clasificación a la fase hexagonal, porque ahora no solo depende de lo que haga en las dos últimas fechas, sino de lo que realicen los isleños. Otra vez a sacar la calculadora.

Todo estaba preparado para que se viviera una fiesta en el Estadio Nacional Mateo Flores, con los graderíos llenos y pintados de azul y blanco, pero anoche solo la afición cumplió al abarrotar el escenario deportivo; en el terreno de juego, los seleccionados corrieron, intentaron, pero no fueron efectivos, y perdonaron a un equipo que vino a defenderse.

Por eso, los seleccionados no salieron ovacionados como se esperaba, sino abucheados y con la clasificación cuesta arriba, porque sus dos próximos juegos son de visita.
Sin ideas

La Selección Nacional inició el encuentro sin ideas, perdiendo el balón y sin crear jugadas de peligro.

En los primeros 45 minutos, Guatemala no marcó ningún tiro directo, porque su equipo se dedicó a buscar los centros, pero éstos fueron desperdiciados en los remates de Freddy García, Mario Rodríguez y Guillermo Ramírez.

Y es que los nacionales se desesperaron, porque el equipo trinitario jugó aplicado, principalmente en la defensa, además apeló al juego fuerte, a las faltas sin balón y a la desesperación de los nacionales.

Pero mientras Guatemala intentaba sin claridad, Trinidad y Tobago contó con más opciones; apenas iniciaba el partido y al minuto 11, Carlos Edwards pudo abrir el marcador al quedar solo frente al portero nacional, Ricardo Trigueño Foster, pero pudo desviar el remate y evitar que su arco cayera.

Los caribeños parecía que se complicaban al minuto 40, cuando el lateral Cyd Gray, recibió su segunda tarjeta amarilla, por una falta sobre Mario Rodríguez. Trinidad se quedó con 10 hombres, pero eso pareció no afectarles, al contrario, fue cuando más propusieron.
Ataque abrumador

El técnico trinitario, Francisco Maturana ganó le duelo táctico a Ramón Maradiaga; en el segundo tiempo ingresó a Cornell Glen y a Clyde León, pues con un hombre menos no podía arriesgar y proponer, sino solo esperar, pero haciéndolo de forma ordenada y aplicada.

Bajó a Carlos Edwards, su mejor hombre en el terreno de juego, como lateral, para que su línea de cuatro defensas no sufriera daños y evitara los desbordes nacionales.

Además aprovechó el ingreso de Glen por su velocidad, e intentó explotar la banda izquierda, lo cual consiguió en varias oportunidades, pero desperdició las jugadas.

Maradiaga quiso cambiar la historia en el segundo tiempo y se quedó con un solo volante de contención y tres defensas, pero anoche el talento no apareció, ni en Freddy García, Marco Pablo Pappa, José Manuel Contreras y Gonzalo Romero, porque Trinidad le cerró todos los espacios y ahogó a los guatemaltecos, quienes querían ingresar con el balón dominado, pero solamente fue con los remates fuera del área y potentes del capitán Guillermo Ramírez, que se pudo inquietar al portero Ince.
De nuevo a calcular

Con seis puntos por disputar, la Selección Nacional volverá a sacar la calculadora, porque ahora no solo depende de lo que consigan en sus visitas en Cuba y Estados Unidos, sino de lo que haga Trinidad y Tobago, que tiene a su favor que juega en casa, las dos próximas fechas.

A eso, el combinado le debe sumar que a Cuba, viajará sin su capitán, Guillermo Ramírez, porque acumuló su segunda tarjeta amarilla y está suspendido para el partido del miércoles.

Title: Re: Valuable point for T&T.
Post by: Bourbon on October 12, 2008, 07:06:25 AM
Wait.
Wolfe on for Daniel...for his defensive abilities....yet yuh put him on de left flank?  :-\

Anyhow..de difference between being a genius or a jackass in football is 90 minutes. Who's me to question de coach.
Post by: vb on October 12, 2008, 07:15:33 AM
Anybody else find Ince look kinda overweight?

Post by: FF on October 12, 2008, 07:34:45 AM
Wait.
Wolfe on for Daniel...for his defensive abilities....yet yuh put him on de left flank?  :-\

Anyhow..de difference between being a genius or a jackass in football is 90 minutes. Who's me to question de coach.

Why is this not a good tactic....? ???

I thnk it was a decent decision...
Post by: Bourbon on October 12, 2008, 07:49:31 AM
Wait.

Thinking it over now...i cant remember any attacks coming down the left flank while he was there. All i remember is him real scraping with the man. So it probably work according to plan. I just a armchair coach like most people. It just wouldnt have been a tactic i woulda employ.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on October 12, 2008, 07:51:24 AM
Wait.

Bourbon he meant defensive abilities on the wing....  ie Daniel is not a winger   but a good coach would have just sat down with Daniel the day before and give him some instructions about tracking back and being more defensive in this game

but Wolfe was decent    i think the yellow card affected his game....  but he out for the usa game(suspended) so Daniel should start on the left this time

Title: Highlights
Post by: vale on October 12, 2008, 07:58:14 AM
Anyone have any highlights of the game.

Electricity went by me during half time.

I had to resort to radio and was unable to see our great defensive game last night

:'( :'( :'(
Post by: Andre on October 12, 2008, 08:01:31 AM
THANK YOU WARRIORS!

i feel a win & a draw and we in the last 6.
Post by: kaisocagoals on October 12, 2008, 08:09:47 AM
good game fellas...

is just to do de business on Wednesday...

another valuable point to note, is dat Maturana has no clue...
Post by: Controversial on October 12, 2008, 08:11:04 AM
good game fellas...

is just to do de business on Wednesday...

another valuable point to note, is dat Maturana has no clue...

and what makes you say that? anton corneal has no clue you mean
Post by: kaisocagoals on October 12, 2008, 08:13:25 AM
if he listenin' to AC.. then he really have no clue....
Post by: Controversial on October 12, 2008, 08:16:12 AM

He has no say in the matter, corneal runs the show under supervision of jw, if theres one man to blame for the selection its corneal, i highly doubt maturana has anything to do with the rediculous selections, thats all corneal
Post by: kaisocagoals on October 12, 2008, 08:17:34 AM

He has no say in the matter, corneal runs the show under supervision on jw, if theres one man to blame for the selection its corneal, i highly doubt maturana has anything to do with the rediculous selections, thats all corneal

Fair is fair...

we go leave it dey...
Post by: Jah Gol on October 12, 2008, 08:28:44 AM
Central American fans are notorious for being aggressive. It's worth noting that the Guatemalan fans applauded our players off the pitch. Fair play to them.  :applause:
Post by: Touches on October 12, 2008, 08:34:24 AM
Maturana got it right last night...

As well as the team.

Wolfe ent no rookie...he is a World Cup player and he has also been very solid in all of his games given his ability.

We shoulda be 2-0 up in the first 20 minutes.

He didnt bring on hislop or telesford to replace cyd...which given his affection for both players was surprising.

Wolfe handle he stories and protected Avery Well.

I also think he inserted Keyon at the right time.

Remember Guatemala made changes too and if you look at both coaches "el primitivo" aka chook up face was the one sweating bullets.

Cyd and Wolfe are big losses for Wed, but Carlos has shown where he supposed to play. Carlos in and Keyon in will be the changes but I suspect Roberts might get a look as he more physical and have some pace.

Cyar wait for wednesday...and I taking another 0-0 draw.

Yes we want to win...but emotion vs reality...the USA is a good team. Any points we get off of them is BONUS.

A draw and we on top of the world...now I am not advocating we do not go for the win, but a draw is just as good.

Let us hope Cuba snatch a draw or a surprise win and we do our job.

I am looking at 4 points Minimum from the next 2 games.

The side that play last night was our full strength team and even if we lost, we showed fight, character and warrior spirit. Dat is all I wanted to see. As I said before I rather we give our all and fail, rather than wonder what if?

Post by: Flex on October 12, 2008, 08:36:43 AM
Guillermo Ramirez GUA best player will miss Cuba game (second yellow)....  ;D
Post by: Andre on October 12, 2008, 08:38:13 AM
highlights - http://digg.com/soccer/CONCACAF_World_Cup_Qualifier_Summaries_for_October_11_2008

LONG LIVE DE VCR!
Post by: Jah Gol on October 12, 2008, 08:48:51 AM
Maturana got it right last night...

As well as the team.

Wolfe ent no rookie...he is a World Cup player and he has also been very solid in all of his games given his ability.

We shoulda be 2-0 up in the first 20 minutes.

He didnt bring on hislop or telesford to replace cyd...which given his affection for both players was surprising.

Wolfe handle he stories and protected Avery Well.

I also think he inserted Keyon at the right time.

Remember Guatemala made changes too and if you look at both coaches "el primitivo" aka chook up face was the one sweating bullets.

Cyd and Wolfe are big losses for Wed, but Carlos has shown where he supposed to play. Carlos in and Keyon in will be the changes but I suspect Roberts might get a look as he more physical and have some pace.

Cyar wait for wednesday...and I taking another 0-0 draw.

Yes we want to win...but emotion vs reality...the USA is a good team. Any points we get off of them is BONUS.

A draw and we on top of the world...now I am not advocating we do not go for the win, but a draw is just as good.

Let us hope Cuba snatch a draw or a surprise win and we do our job.

I am looking at 4 points Minimum from the next 2 games.

The side that play last night was our full strength team and even if we lost, we showed fight, character and warrior spirit. Dat is all I wanted to see. As I said before I rather we give our all and fail, rather than wonder what if?

I must agree with you Touches. This is just about the first game where I see Maturana doing coaching in realtime. It was a good decision bring on a second striker and a another ball winner.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 12, 2008, 08:56:54 AM
highlights - http://digg.com/soccer/CONCACAF_World_Cup_Qualifier_Summaries_for_October_11_2008

LONG LIVE DE VCR!
I watching the thing and doubting is a ole video the man using.
Post by: warmonga on October 12, 2008, 09:06:48 AM
edwards shit dung he farkin self man.. how de flick yu an international player and hit ball straight to GK like dat.. Leave edwards at back .. mek him stay deso . Him cya play up front at all.. de man miss a easy sitter
Post by: dcs on October 12, 2008, 09:53:56 AM
They have +2 GD and we on -1

Dais if is overall GD or head to head as the tie breaker...cah find anything to state which it is but they score down here.

We never make things easy geez an.
Post by: Sando prince on October 12, 2008, 09:58:20 AM

Dat side that played last night was NOT our full strength team...

and yuh boi Leon..hmmm well nobody would have known he was in the game if they didnt announce his entry
Post by: Big Magician on October 12, 2008, 10:00:51 AM
well done TnT.... I finaly feel like we in WCQ... thats what i remember it looking like
dig deeper for Wednesday....all of us
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 12, 2008, 10:01:24 AM
 WE NEED to  beat the USA hands down.... all those who want latapy to start
Post by: AB.Trini on October 12, 2008, 10:26:00 AM
Valuable point but we still sitting third. Considering the  situation we were in yes but we needed to be at least three clear points if not six  from the two games we played aganist Guatemala.
Post by: STEUPS!! on October 12, 2008, 11:51:32 AM

Dat side that played last night was NOT our full strength team...

and yuh boi Leon..hmmm well nobody would have known he was in the game if they didnt announce his entry

ent! i clean forget he was a sub. not once yuh hear he name call durin dat second half.

bless!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 12, 2008, 12:07:05 PM
Point is good however but it is a set back  a serious set back
Post by: palos on October 12, 2008, 12:22:53 PM
Point is good however but it is a set back  a serious set back

Yuh think guatemala beatin or tyin de states in de states...even with a weakened US team?
Post by: vapotrini on October 12, 2008, 12:35:42 PM
Point is good however but it is a set back  a serious set back

Yuh think guatemala beatin or tyin de states in de states...even with a weakened US team?

Nope! I don't see where all the doom and gloom is. Guatemala have no chance of going into the US and winning. They won't even draw. 4 points from the next 2 and we're in.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 12, 2008, 12:40:13 PM

Nope! I don't see where all the doom and gloom is. Guatemala have no chance of going into the US and winning. They won't even draw. 4 points from the next 2 and we're in.

As highly likely as this may be, we have to approach our game versus the US w/the intent to win and not depend on this highly probable US Guat result, we need to try our best to make our own destiny....
Post by: Sando prince on October 12, 2008, 12:55:40 PM

As highly likely as this may be, we have to approach our game versus the US w/the intent to win and not depend on this highly probable US Guat result, we need to try our best to make our own destiny....

Thank you Barataria !..We have to make our own destiny! Men in here only assuming this and that !!..we quick to assume that guatemala will not beat a weak U.S squad in the U.S..but we feel comfortable saying that T&T will create history by earning points at home against the U.S..we never ever did it b4 in WC qualifying but we confident now...Its up to us to make sure and win these last two games and not rely on U.S beating Guat..that's why I knew a draw in Guatemala will not do us much good cause it will leave us in this predicament...shit this could even come down to goal difference between us and the actors from central America..leaving us in a desperate game to score alot of goals against Cuba..
Post by: sweetiepaper on October 12, 2008, 01:26:03 PM
Maturana is still a big shithound. But I think he did okay last night. The starting line-up was good and his changes at the half with 10 men also worked.
I'm not a Wolfe Fan, but he really did his job well last night. I was surprised he came off at the half.I would have left him on instead of Leon (the ghost). That would have left us with another option later in the game.   I love Keon Daniel, but last night, when we needed everybody to dig deep, the man casually jogging back. As a midfielder, he have to have a bit more defensive fight in him. But he is still the spirit man in de side. Like Hutson Charles was in 89.
Cyd was unlucky, but is still a big duncy card-magnet.
Carlos should slot into the right back for Wednesday and Keon start.
Toss up for the last staring position between Stern and Hyland.
I prefer Glen and Roberts off the bench.
Post by: sjahrain on October 12, 2008, 01:28:51 PM

As highly likely as this may be, we have to approach our game versus the US w/the intent to win and not depend on this highly probable US Guat result, we need to try our best to make our own destiny

Thats real serious....we have to stop the mentality of others directing our destiny
The most important is...Intensity..we have to bring that intensity we played with against Guatemala,to the US game

We will be playing at home and we have to stand up even before the kickoff

We gave away 4 points in the 2 games we have played with this team,a job done will considering the circumstances but a bigger and more organised team is up next,we need to get full points,a win against the US is way past due,we are playing at home which is enough incentive to making victory a reality

Post by: palos on October 12, 2008, 01:47:40 PM
I don't think anyone is suggesting that we shouldn't go for victory in our last 2 games.

The reality is, we could win our last 2 games and STILL not make the Hex if Guatemala wins their last 2 games.

But to say that the result last night was a serious set back as Trini_2010 posted is inaccurate. Last night's game was one we could not afford to lose.  We didn't.  The optimum reault would have been that we lost last night's game but especially given our circumstances playing with 10 men for 68 minutes & our last 2 games at home, it gives us more than a fighting chance.

Put it this way...the Guatemalan's are seeing last night's result as opportunity lost and a better result for us than for them even though they control their destiny.

If we win our last 2 games and Guatemala wins theirs..yuh jes have to tip yuh hat to de chapines.  And if yuh doh wear hat...nod yuh head or sumting because they would have deserved it.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 12, 2008, 03:14:35 PM
According to some ppl on this site, we are a Concacaf powerhouse so beating ah US sqaud without 9 of their regulars should not be impossible.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=ap-usroster&prov=ap&type=lgns

A draw against Guatemala in Guatemala with ten men and a crazy ref was a good result.  Look at it this way, if Guatemala had won last night our WC campaign would have been basically over.  We just have to take care of business at home.

We have 2 games at home and they have 2 on the road so if we can't qualify with that schedule we don't deserve to be in the HEX.
Post by: dcs on October 12, 2008, 03:48:45 PM

Altidore, Beasley, Adu....even "weakened" that US team will still be tough if they come running at us.

I hope our fellahs getting some good rest before Wednesday.
Title: Guatemala Vs Trinidad and Tobago Highlights (poor video quality)
Post by: Ngozi on October 12, 2008, 05:50:48 PM
http://www.goalcentre.com/guatemala-vs-trinidad-and-tobago-live-highlights/
Post by: weary1969 on October 12, 2008, 06:53:08 PM
Since when u does go from SEA straight 2 CXC? Dumbtist eh have nutten 2 do wit dat side. DY and RL pick dat side.
Title: Re: Guatemala Vs Trinidad and Tobago Highlights (poor video quality)
Post by: rickstaa on October 12, 2008, 07:49:27 PM
Post by: kicker on October 12, 2008, 07:56:05 PM
These highlights are in the game thread or one of the official game report theads so the mods may merge soon....

Thanks though  :beermug:
Post by: arrow on October 12, 2008, 09:47:13 PM
sound like the teacher from charlie brown commentating
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 12:35:46 AM
Since when u does go from SEA straight 2 CXC? Dumbtist eh have nutten 2 do wit dat side. DY and RL pick dat side.

Take de Haterade lifetime award dey weary.... ;D
Post by: fishs on October 13, 2008, 02:16:22 AM

Take de Haterade lifetime award dey weary.... ;D

Lol still pining for the Wimp. She'll get over it after we beat the US on Wednesday
Post by: just cool on October 13, 2008, 03:52:06 AM
Where's your proof!
Title: Players more to Blame Than Maturana
Post by: KND2 on October 13, 2008, 09:16:32 AM
Based on the limited Highlights of the both Guatemala games I see, The players are more to Blame than the coach for the current Situation.

For that game on Saturday that miss by Carlos is inexcusable with everything at stake.

That one play alone would make all the difference and we would have had 1 foot in the Hex.

I cannot blame the coach for that.

I am no Maturana fan but our current situation have more to do with poor player performances than poor coaching decisions.

Maturana already give more to our team than he get from TnT

He gave Daniel a shot and now he is a fixture on the team for the future.
This is a key addition, he turned a fringe player into a major contributor
Fresh Blood is the key

The last time this happened was when Porters added Lawerence as a defensive mid.
and look how good that turned out to be.

With Player execution
Better defending late in the game to Win 1-0 vs Guatemala in TnT
Carlos finishing an easy chance to win 1-0 in guatemala

Add 4 points to TnT and subtract 4 points from Guatemala

The game on Wednesday would have been a top of the table clash instead we on the fence

The small things make a big difference.

Blame the players!
Title: Re: Players more to Blame Than Maturana
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 09:29:27 AM
weary soon come fuh yuh tail!  ;D
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on October 13, 2008, 09:35:51 AM
if u talking bout this specific game den yuh might have a slight point since this is the 1st game we actually put anything close tuh our A-team on the field.......however.......he can still be held accountable for players playing out of position and the team formation
Post by: DeSoWa on October 13, 2008, 09:55:24 AM
If was the same team from the very start, then ah woulda agree with you, but this team was just put together for the Guatemala specifically and their mission was simply NOT TO LOSE, and try and get ah win. If this team was on the field for the home game against the Guats, I am pretty sure they were not going to give up on that late goal and win convincingly. Plus who said Matadan was the "coach" for that Guat game?  ::)

Post by: Baygo Boy on October 13, 2008, 10:03:48 AM
If was the same team from the very start, then ah woulda agree with you, but this team was just put together for the Guatemala specifically and their mission was simply NOT TO LOSE, and try and get ah win. If this team was on the field for the home game against the Guats, I am pretty sure they were not going to give up on that late goal and win convincingly. Plus who said Matadan was the "coach" for that Guat game?  ::)

Ah can't agree with yuh here. Dwight, Latas, Lawrence, Scotland playing not to lose in CONCACAF. Dem fellas doh play not to win, it not in dey blood. It's not how dey are trained at their pro clubs - de glory is in the victory - ah draw or ah lost den de game was just ah sweat. The talk about dem not playing together in a while is dotish. Dem fellas could write books on each other playing styles and abilities. Dey playing together fuh years. If forumites could talk in detail bout dem players style etc, it stands to reason dat the current squad know de same
Post by: Baygo Boy on October 13, 2008, 10:05:05 AM
BTW ah agree with yuh KND
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 10:08:49 AM
Based on the limited Highlights of the both Guatemala games I see, The players are more to Blame than the coach for the current Situation.

For that game on Saturday that miss by Carlos is inexcusable with everything at stake.

That one play alone would make all the difference and we would have had 1 foot in the Hex.

I cannot blame the coach for that.

I am no Maturana fan but our current situation have more to do with poor player performances than poor coaching decisions.

Maturana already give more to our team than he get from TnT

He gave Daniel a shot and now he is a fixture on the team for the future.
This is a key addition, he turned a fringe player into a major contributor
Fresh Blood is the key

The last time this happened was when Porters added Lawerence as a defensive mid.
and look how good that turned out to be.

With Player execution
Better defending late in the game to Win 1-0 vs Guatemala in TnT
Carlos finishing an easy chance to win 1-0 in guatemala

Add 4 points to TnT and subtract 4 points from Guatemala

The game on Wednesday would have been a top of the table clash instead we on the fence

The small things make a big difference.

Blame the players!

meh heart drop went ah see the miss...one on one...what better chance....as ah coach i would be heated...with the players for that miss...some saying or they came together in fews days...that have nothing to do with you and the keeper on ah one and one
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 13, 2008, 10:19:33 AM
Carlos try to outsmart de keeper and squeeze it in near post. Is not de first time I see him try dat near post shot.
Post by: DeSoWa on October 13, 2008, 10:20:28 AM
Baygo Boy ah hear you, but I never said they were playing "not to lose" I said their mission was not to lose the game at all cost, and for that to happen, they had to play for the win. It was unfortunate not to get a win, especially with a clear chance being missed by Carlos (me eh see the game or the highlights so ah going by the comments here), but the mission of not losing was accomplished and we get to live another day.

Post by: Storeboy on October 13, 2008, 10:21:42 AM
These are professionals who are paid millions of dollars (ok, hundreds of thousands) to score goals and win.  Carlos is a premiership player and should have do better.  Scotland is a English Championship player and should have created more opportunities for himself. We make too many misses, even Stern miss rate is too high now a days.  (And I am a fan who could say what ever I want!
Post by: palos on October 13, 2008, 10:24:59 AM
People carryin on like we SUPPOSED to beat Guatemala, in their home, a place where we have a history of losing..even with Yorke & Latas dem in de team, playing with 10 men for 60 minutes.

I eh know wha people does be seein wit we team nah.  Dey mus be sufferin some form a "optical delusion".
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 10:48:13 AM
People carryin on like we SUPPOSED to beat Guatemala, in their home, a place where we have a history of losing..even with Yorke & Latas dem in de team, playing with 10 men for 60 minutes.

I eh know wha people does be seein wit we team nah.  Dey mus be sufferin some form a "optical delusion".

com'on if you see the first half ...you wouldn't say that....they had two good clear cut chances  in the 1st before the one man down
Post by: elan on October 13, 2008, 10:53:47 AM

com'on if you see the first half ...you wouldn't say that....they had two good clear cut chances  in the 1st before the one man down

Read what Palos say again... "SUPPOSE"
Post by: Bakes on October 13, 2008, 11:10:25 AM

Lol...

Funny thing is when de Americans even hint at anything similar we does be all over dey ass about how they "arrogant"... but we supposed tuh walk in Guatemala and take win juss so.
Post by: najee on October 13, 2008, 11:15:59 AM

Read what Palos say again... "SUPPOSE"

so what you saying.... they went there to draw...dread...they went to win...the team didn't played defended..only in the second half after a man down...but first half they was taking it to guatemala...you and other Trini...live on suppose i don't...if yuh have players who is good... to take it to ah team you never beat why go there to play for a draw...yuh go for the win
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 12:42:33 PM
Palos ah reach dumbtist have 2 thank d players dat he is d best coach after Gally because he take ah team 2 Guatemala and we eh get licks.
Post by: weary1969 on October 13, 2008, 01:02:52 PM
Thanks Palos all of as sudden he get sooooooooooo bright and who eh c dat is DY and RL pick dat team need 2 have dey catarac remove and since meh man Wim was Beenie understudy and is he playbook is being used I benefitting from the royalties
Post by: jai john on October 13, 2008, 01:30:45 PM
Valuable point .... hmmnnn   
How did we stand compared to Guatemala before the game ? ...and after the game ..well lets see..
We were three goals behind and equal on points with guatemala still having to play the USA and cuba.
We are now three goals behind and equal on points with Guatemala still having to play Cuba and the USA.
The only way I see us ahead is bacause of the jack factor ...you know that guy who some claim made some kinda deal in 1989 when a draw was all we needed but the USA as next host really wanted to qualify for Italy 1990...
the same guy who some say made some kinda deal when mexico was already in and could have allowed a loss to T&T so we could stay in with a chase last WC ....you know the same guy who was seen in Mexico before and after the game ( meh mexican friend still teasing me bout dat as he says that he was sure that a deal was made) ..
Well the USA is already in for the next round and have decided to drop 9 players for the game against us ...yes i backing de jack factor to get us through ..somehow !
Oh and by the way ...I see every body write off Cuba ...they for me hold another key !
Post by: kaisocagoals on October 13, 2008, 01:33:30 PM
Maturana is still a big shithound.

love it... ah love it!!!!

Pacho eh have a clue...

all yuh could really imagine he, managing we in SA 2010?....

Madness...
Post by: Fantastic on October 13, 2008, 01:45:11 PM
I feel we good if we get adraw with de US. Cuba aint beating de US in de states and Cuba could get 7 if we need it in de last home game. Hope we make it cause it will have some very competitive games in de hex next year
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2008, 03:00:10 PM
I'll take the 1 point. The our is in our players hands. Do matter what team Pacho put out there on Wed, they must realize the importance ot this game a step up 2 or 3 levels. This so-called weak US team has players who have played in a lot of big games for the US before. They have more recent international experience against biigger teams than our guys. All yuh can't believe Adu, Edu, Altidore and Bradley don't have international experience. Our guys have to to run their back-sides off on Wed.

Also, knowing our habit for cmplacency, I will not write off Cuba. I will play our strongest team against them. Remember what we did to Honduras a couple years ago in Honduras.
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2008, 03:44:58 PM
In every game, all players must shoulder most of the blame if they lose. They are the ones playing the game. When the lose too much, then the coach does get the blame and get fired.
Post by: arrow on October 13, 2008, 03:52:28 PM
In every game, all players must shoulder most of the blame if they lose. They are the ones playing the game. When the lose too much, then the coach does get the blame and get fired.

so if they lose one game it's the players fault, if they lose several games its the coaches fault  ???
Post by: WestCoast on October 13, 2008, 03:54:43 PM

so if they lose one game it's the players fault, if they lose several games its the coaches fault  ???
only if some ah de bess men benchin or not even selected or if they selected they have a two game ban goin on :devil:
Post by: Deeks on October 13, 2008, 04:14:49 PM
As far as I am concerned with the present football in TT, I think them players should shoulder most of the responsibilities(win or lose). These men are pros. That is their living. They need to go the extra mile to improve their own game.
Post by: tsingh on October 13, 2008, 06:41:08 PM
In my humble opinion ... i blame the coach for one thing thus far in this campaign ... not selecting Birchall for every game.  That fella does play all out for tnt ... he does give plenty more than some of our "favourites" on the team.  For me is Birchall and 10 others ... In my humble opinion.
Post by: acb on October 13, 2008, 07:08:48 PM

One of the places where we see this every few months is in England ... both with club and country. Tottenham is a live case-study. Good coach with a good winning resume, and top flight EPL players who can't seem to win, not for nothing. Funny thing, England NT had the same issue on the weekend. After a loss, the entire team is lambasted - the players more so, and the coach to a lesser extent. After a few losses, the coach shoulders most of the blame, and the players get away with less of the blame.

Point in reference. This past weekend - England's label as a quarterfinals team had alot of personnel issues being raised. The main critisism is/ was that Lampard and Gerrad cannot play together and be productive. Even Lampard admitted that they don't play together in an interview last week.

That issue seemed to be solved on the field with the display that England put on against Croatia, with Joe Cole excelling in Gerrard's position.
Capello would have selected Joe Cole ahead of Gerrad, based on the results. As fate would have it, Joe Cole was injured and Capello was bailed out of having to make a tough decision to play Cole ahead of Gerrard. We've heard the cliche, "Don't change a winning team" more so in W.I. cricket than we have in football, but that was the ideology that Capello would have stuck to. Gerrard and Lampard played together with some lacklustre against a spirited team, and the result was boos from fans and critics in the first half.

Their critics point fingers at the players first - then after a string of negative results, the coach has to account for his tactics, team selection, etc.

In TT, critics usually have it the other way around - blame the coach first, players later.
Post by: Big Magician on October 13, 2008, 07:20:44 PM
Palos...ah feel Latas unbeaten on Guatemalan soil... I think he only play twice there...89 and now... might be wrong..allyuh could check... oh and if so..we kept a clean sheet twice...liability mama
Post by: arrow on October 13, 2008, 09:52:12 PM
Palos...ah feel Latas unbeaten on Guatemalan soil... I think he only play twice there...89 and now... might be wrong..allyuh could check... oh and if so..we kept a clean sheet twice...liability mama

what's his record against the US?  :'(
Post by: Jah Gol on October 13, 2008, 10:21:10 PM
KND2 I wonder if you were paying attention to this Maturana man at all. Did you see our games this year ? That man is clueless. And I'll say it again , he is among the worst to ever coach T&T. The improvement in performance in the past few games is a direct result of better players who are now actually getting selected. I was in the stadium to see them put 9 past the Dominican Republic. For all intents and purposes Latapy and Yorke do more coaching than Maturana. The loss against Bermuda was unforgivable and the manner of the loss was demonstrative of Maturana's ineptitude. He switched to 3 at back for the first time with Lawrence, yes, Dennis Lawrence being the speediest defender.  Men getting played out of position. Poor or no subs like against the USA. He brought on Wolfe for Carlos on the RM against Guatemala and then Kerry Baptiste after we had already scored a goal with about 7 minutes to go.   Man, gimme a chance eh, I'm almost offended by this thread.   

He is an ass for listening to Corneal and dem for so long too ! O deh blooding new players ,steups. . Wim look plenty better than he with a much weaker side. I taking Bertille any day of the week over this quack , and I mean no disrespect to Mr. St Clair. 
Post by: fishs on October 13, 2008, 11:18:34 PM
KND2 I wonder if you were paying attention to this Maturana man at all. Did you see our games this year ? That man is clueless. And I'll say it again , he is among the worst to ever coach T&T. The improvement in performance in the past few games is a direct result of better players who are now actually getting selected. I was in the stadium to see them put 9 past the Dominican Republic. For all intents and purposes Latapy and Yorke do more coaching than Maturana. The loss against Bermuda was unforgivable and the manner of the loss was demonstrative of Maturana's ineptitude. He switched to 3 at back for the first time with Lawrence, yes, Dennis Lawrence being the speediest defender.  Men getting played out of position. Poor or no subs like against the USA. He brought on Wolfe for Carlos on the RM against Guatemala and then Kerry Baptiste after we had already scored a goal with about 7 minutes to go.   Man, gimme a chance eh, I'm almost offended by this thread.   

He is an ass for listening to Corneal and dem for so long too ! O deh blooding new players ,steups. . Wim look plenty better than he with a much weaker side. I taking Bertille any day of the week over this quack , and I mean no disrespect to Mr. St Clair. 

Sorry but this is nonsense.
Post by: just cool on October 14, 2008, 04:05:49 AM

fishes , i would've agreed with you as of 2 weeks ago, but in this case i have to side with jah gol. this man doh have ah clue!

he have players like roberts on the bench ,for two vital games, in addition he ignored this kid and stern john for lesser talent.

he ignored this kid(roberts) and played fellas like wolf and leon who can't find the back of the net like this youth and stern. like in the USA game when glenn shot @ TIM HOWARD who spilled the ball and wolf got the rebound , he knew he was offside and instead of giving carlos the shot , he took it him self knowing he was in an off side position.

imagine he played stephen david ah struggling local PFL player istead of an experienced eridivise player who buss ajax and feynord net. CORNEAL AND MATURANA IS SOBOTAGING WE CAMPAIGN! they playing fellas who they like ! not guys with ablioty to win games.
Post by: Jah Gol on October 14, 2008, 04:45:42 AM

fishes , i would've agreed with you as of 2 weeks ago, but in this case i have to side with jah gol. this man doh have ah clue!

he have players like roberts on the bench ,for two vital games, in addition he ignored this kid and stern john for lesser talent.

he ignored this kid(roberts) and played fellas like wolf and leon who can't find the back of the net like this youth and stern. like in the USA game when glenn shot @ TIM HOWARD who spilled the ball and wolf got the rebound , he knew he was offside and instead of giving carlos the shot , he took it him self knowing he was in an off side position.

imagine he played stephen david ah struggling local PFL player istead of an experienced eridivise player who buss ajax and feynord net. CORNEAL AND MATURANA IS SOBOTAGING WE CAMPAIGN! they playing fellas who they like ! not guys with ablioty to win games.
This kind of thing is so hurtful I can't describe it.
Post by: fishs on October 14, 2008, 12:38:10 PM

JC when I was younger playing and analysing football as best as my youhtfull body and mind could assimilate this would have been my reaction.
But as I've said before this coach has to my mind done a lot more good for TT than bad. Before this campaign some players would have never got a look in on the team.
People blasting the Corneals for team selection and I'm sure there is no material evidence  that they pick the team, too much emotion and high expectations of a team that qualify to a WC through a half spot against an inexperienced asian team.
We play Cuba in Cuba and beat them , was this expected ? Maybe.
We play US in the US and lorse, was this expected.? Hell no not after we win an away game. (stupid thinking that )
We play Guatemala at home and draw, was this expected? Yes after the dotish display against the US. But we draw.
We play Guatemala in Guatemala and draw , was this expected. Undecided. But we could have won and that would have been an acheivement that even Beenie did not get.

So the point is as armchair critics are we really evealuating everything this coach has done or are we just fighting down smallboy talk in this forum ?
Post by: Controversial on October 14, 2008, 12:57:13 PM

david is a good player but not better than roberts, the corneals are sabotaging the campaign, get it right, maturana is being used as a scapegoat
Post by: NUFF on October 14, 2008, 01:25:30 PM
Valuable point .... hmmnnn  
How did we stand compared to Guatemala before the game ? ...and after the game ..well lets see..
We were three goals behind and equal on points with guatemala still having to play the USA and cuba.
We are now three goals behind and equal on points with Guatemala still having to play Cuba and the USA.
The only way I see us ahead is bacause of the jack factor ...you know that guy who some claim made some kinda deal in 1989 when a draw was all we needed but the USA as next host really wanted to qualify for Italy 1990...
the same guy who some say made some kinda deal when mexico was already in and could have allowed a loss to T&T so we could stay in with a chase last WC ....you know the same guy who was seen in Mexico before and after the game ( meh mexican friend still teasing me bout dat as he says that he was sure that a deal was made) ..
Well the USA is already in for the next round and have decided to drop 9 players for the game against us ...yes i backing de jack factor to get us through ..somehow !
Oh and by the way ...I see every body write off Cuba ...they for me hold another key !

Yuh saying we didn't earn our qualification to de last world cup on de field?  Mexico has only beaten us once in Trinidad in world cup qualifying.  You sound like one ah dem outsiders who always trying to discredit what our players accomplish on de field by saying that Jack have ah hand in it.  Ah tired of hearing that unsubstantiated bullshit.
Post by: weary1969 on October 14, 2008, 09:10:42 PM
Jah boi doh waste yuh time
Post by: Midknight on October 15, 2008, 05:29:21 AM
But as I've said before this coach has to my mind done a lot more good for TT than bad. Before this campaign some players would have never got a look in on the team.
That has strictly nothing to do with Maturana. Thank Uncle Jack and the chipmunk for that. Before Maturana reach look at plenty men who "wouldn't ah get a look" who end up on the team :

Toussaint, Aguilera, Power, Pacheco, Nigel Daniel, Dwayne Jack, , Nickolson Thomas, Cupid, David, Noel, Christon Baptiste, Carter, Telesford, Hislop, Glenton Wolfe, Tinto, Wiltshire, Beenito, Leon, Bailey, Clarence, Noriega, Silas Spann plus more experienced ones like McFarlane, Glasgow, Jemmott, Fitzpatrick, Keyeno Thomas etc.

All these men play under Wim. The only guys Maturana + co can truly consider to have launched are hyland, daniel and akile edwards, and Wim had call hyland up before Fenwick decide to play the ass.
At the end of the day, 99% of them men have no place around the team, when we dealing with the business end of qualifying, and most of them have very little room or prospect of development given their ages.

A deep cesspool is still a cesspool.

People blasting the Corneals for team selection and I'm sure there is no material evidence  that they pick the team, too much emotion and high expectations of a team that qualify to a WC through a half spot against an inexperienced asian team.
I will agree with you on the corneal's but you wrong on the rest. It's too much high expectations of a "new look" team that almost didn't have one single member that qualified or participated in qualifying.

We play Cuba in Cuba and beat them , was this expected ? Maybe.
We play US in the US and lorse, was this expected.? Hell no not after we win an away game. (stupid thinking that )
We play Guatemala at home and draw, was this expected? Yes after the dotish display against the US. But we draw.
We play Guatemala in Guatemala and draw , was this expected. Undecided. But we could have won and that would have been an acheivement that even Beenie did not get.
We played guatemala at home BEFORE the USA. If we had won that game as we should have, the USA loss would have been anecdotic. Beenie did not GET the chance to to earn that achievement (win over Guatemala in guatemala. BSC was still the coach when we went there. And as you stated, we "could have won" but we didn't. Beenie "could have had us beat Sweden if Cornell had hit the underside of the post' Beenie "could have had us draw England" if Crouch wasn't a stink goat" Beenie "could have had us play Paraguay" for a draw if we had four points going into that last match Beenie "could" have unleashed Latas for all the world to admire his creativity.

But he didn't. Maturana shouldn't get any credit for almost either.

So the point is as armchair critics are we really evealuating everything this coach has done or are we just fighting down smallboy talk in this forum ?
Stop asking answers.

Post by: Tallman on October 15, 2008, 06:11:00 AM
All these men play under Wim. The only guys Maturana + co can truly consider to have launched are hyland, daniel and akile edwards, and Wim had call hyland up before Fenwick decide to play the ass.
Daniel was also called up by Wim, but did not play.
Post by: Midknight on October 15, 2008, 07:28:03 AM

I wasn't 100% sure...was he with Jabloteh back then?
Post by: Tallman on October 15, 2008, 07:38:16 AM

I wasn't 100% sure...was he with Jabloteh back then?
Is Keon Daniel ah talking bout, not Nigel Daniel.