May 09, 2024, 06:53:34 PM

Author Topic: Sky Blues secure T&T's Chris Birchall.  (Read 27458 times)

Offline ZURITRESS

Sky Blues secure T&T's Chris Birchall.
« on: August 04, 2006, 01:45:12 PM »
Birchall goes to Coventry.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

While some of his teammates were heading off to Japan for next week’s friendly, midfielder Chris Birchall was completing a new move to English Championship club Coventry City.
Birchall signed the new deal on Friday afternoon and becomes the third T&T World Cup player to sign with a new club after Shaka Hislop and Kelvin Jack. Birchall agreed to a three-year deal with City in a Division one higher than his ex club Port Vale.
“It’s a massive move for me,” Birchall told TTFF Media on Friday. “I only just signed a couple hours ago and first up I want to thank everyone back in Trinidad and Tobago who have believed in me and supported me since I started playing for the country. Everyone who has been there with me through the entire journey from the players to the coaching staff and  Mr Warner and the rest at the Federation. It was a big decision to take up the offer from Trinidad because I didn’t know what to expect but I came through it.
“Playing for T&T has made me a better player and a better person and I’m just really looking forward to playing for the country for many years again.”
He added that he had his sighs set on moving  a step up after the World Cup.
“Going back to Port Vale which is a club I will always admire was on the cards but I also felt that after what I thought was a half decent performance at the World Cup for me that maybe I could head to the Championship Division. Coventry made the offer and I’m really pleased to be going there because they have a decent history and the club has good ambitions. Going there to join Stern is a also a plus because he’s made me feel welcomed from day one and it’s always great to have someone like him in your club. I can’t wait to be teaming up with him now and the rest of the set up at Coventry, “Birchall added.
And local midfielder Josh Johnson was on the same BWIA flight the T&T team on Friday but on a different mission as he obtained his work permit on Thursday and heading off to begin a two-year deal with English club Wrexham.
He will now join national team defender Dennis Lawrence at the League Two club. Johnson signed the deal last month but was unable to start playing without the work permit but the efforts of agent Mike Berry worked out well for the former Under 20 player who last appeared for the T&T Senior team in 2002.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 04:59:12 PM by Flex »

Re: birchall signs with coventry city
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2006, 01:46:35 PM »
the first chip has fallen who's next

post ah article or someting nah to back up yuh statement....

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2006, 01:46:47 PM »
source please...details...thanks.

Offline ZURITRESS

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2006, 01:49:50 PM »
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 04:46:02 PM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2006, 01:52:54 PM »
Fuh real he just sign with Coventry .....CONFIRMED !!!!

« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2006, 01:53:09 PM »
Coventry City have snapped up Chris Birchall from League One side Port Vale.

The Trinidad & Tobago international has signed a three-year contract with The Sky Blues after impressing at the World Cup.

Birchall was among Trinidad's best players during the country's finals debut in Germany and caught the eye of several clubs.

Ipswich Town expressed an interest in the 22-year-old, but Coventry have stepped in to conclude a deal.

The Sky Blues are delighted to bring in the attack-minded midfielder, who could make his debut against Sunderland on Sunday.

"Everyone at the club is delighted that we have been able to get Chris here," said Coventry managing director Paul Fletcher.

"He is a player who fits into our plans perfectly and is consistent with our aim of lowering the overall age of the squad as the manager builds a team to take us forward.

"As he showed at the World Cup, Chris is a player who can mix it with the best and we are all looking forward to seeing him in a City shirt this season."

Birchall came through the ranks at Vale Park and scored nine goals in 91 appearances for the club.

Ms que un club.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2006, 01:56:20 PM »
 Big up to me mum! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 02:10:26 PM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2006, 01:57:00 PM »
wow, stern and birchall on coventry squad. a study in contrasts ...  ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2006, 01:58:33 PM »
the sky blues sound very glad to have got him, seems like he going straight into the starting line up 2 ;D

« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2006, 01:59:29 PM »
we need some more signings and all will be irie.

« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2006, 02:00:39 PM »
Very nice ........ Hope the Vale fans not to disappointed.

« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2006, 02:01:09 PM »
With all de "eyeing" going around for our warriors dis is real good news!!!!!  Congrats Chris!

If anyone has birchallgirl's number, give her ah call nah....ah hear she on suicide watch  ;D
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 02:07:16 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2006, 02:01:49 PM »
Good to have 2 internationals on the same club team...build some chemistry

« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2006, 02:03:09 PM »
shhhhhhh

If everybody would just stop what dey doin for ah second...just stop....and listen

Yuh hear dat faint whistle like sound in the distance?

Dais birchallsgirl screamin hysterically outside de portvale stadium

« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2006, 02:07:04 PM »
does that mean Stern would have even better service now, and buss up the net more for coventry...let's hope so and they transfer that chemistry to the Soca Warriors...congrats Chris and show them what you got.

« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2006, 02:08:25 PM »
Good Luck to Birchy. He will tear up the Championship with Stern. Hopefully stern sorted things out with his manager. Go on Birchy!

« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2006, 02:10:04 PM »
Good Luck to Birchy. He will tear up the Championship with Stern. Hopefully stern sorted things out with his manager. Go on Birchy!

What was there to sort out ?

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #17 on: August 04, 2006, 02:10:31 PM »
shhhhhhh

If everybody would just stop what dey doin for ah second...just stop....and listen

finally....d ball has started rolling...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2006, 02:11:05 PM »
Congrats and good luck to Birchall... All de best to Port Vale as well....

What I want to know is where dey sign him to play... Do they have ah mind to play in de centre? .... or out wide where he played for Vale??

« Reply #19 on: August 04, 2006, 02:11:46 PM »
berris, stern got loaned out from them and was benched a while as far as i recall.

but Birchall will light up that league with stern. coventry for promotion

still no word as to how much our friends from vale got in return? it sucks that comes a day before vale's opener, and they had a damn good squad lined up.now they will be scrambling.their site's down.
 and coventry come out of nowhere with this bid,too
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 02:13:52 PM by supporter »

« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2006, 02:12:11 PM »
Congrats to Chris "me mum" I hope he does well and he & Stern  could take Coventry to the Prem next season...

« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2006, 02:13:23 PM »
Big Up Birchall.

« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2006, 02:18:32 PM »
Good luck to Birchie..lets just hpe there is no hard feelings if/when he and half slab have to get released for international games.

« Reply #23 on: August 04, 2006, 02:19:01 PM »
berris, stern got loaned out from them and was benched a while as far as i recall.

last year he was on loan to Derby for 3mths but he came back to Coventry,scored some good goals  and started most of the games,not on de bench.But he has no beef with Mickey Adams.......at least not as yet.

« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2006, 02:20:27 PM »

last year he was on loan to Derby for 3mths but he came back to Coventry,scored some good goals  and started most of the games,not on de bench.But he has no beef with Mickey Adams.......at least not as yet.

yeah why yuh think he went on loan? he was starting sporadically

« Reply #25 on: August 04, 2006, 02:20:30 PM »
shhhhhhh

Dutty yu too wicked :devil: :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: August 04, 2006, 02:21:41 PM »
Nother reason to watch EPFL this year  ;D

« Reply #27 on: August 04, 2006, 02:22:12 PM »
Whole season...

Me Mum threads fights off two midfielders and threads one through for Half Slab who bangs it in on the turn...

Half Slab screens off his defender, holds up the ball and pushes it back out for an advancing me mum who blasts a long range laser.

Andre Samuel, I taking a borrow

Ah love it!

« Reply #28 on: August 04, 2006, 02:26:29 PM »
yeah why yuh think he went on loan? he was starting sporadically
Supporter a big Stern fan like berris must know he stuff.Stern come back from Coventry and score 7 or 9 goals or something like that. His end of season was pretty decent
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 02:46:56 PM by Midknight »

« Reply #29 on: August 04, 2006, 02:28:35 PM »
he did come back and do well, midknight.

according to coventry sites, they paid 300k for birchy. Not bad but i feel port vale coulda easily got 400-500 k for him if they had a bit more patience and shopped him around more. stern might have helped with the deal?

coventry fans seemed pleased with the signing and remember his good showings from the world cup.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 02:30:06 PM by supporter »