May 06, 2024, 05:42:10 PM

Author Topic: Grenada star scores on debut; but Caledonia humiliated by Toluca  (Read 3818 times)

Offline SWF Reporter

Grenada star scores on debut; but Caledonia humiliated by Toluca
« on: September 18, 2013, 11:48:52 PM »
Take five: Mexico’s Toluca humiliates Caledonia
By Lasana liburd (Wired868)

Caledonia AIA has one game left in its 2013 CONCACAF Champions League campaign and one feels the “Eastern Stallions” might prefer doing something more fun if given the choice; like maybe going to the dentist.

It could not be more painful than facing the sort of spanking that Caledonia received in Port of Spain last night as  the Morvant/Laventille-based team was routed 5-1 by visiting Mexico club, Toluca.

Long before the final whistle, Caledonia players were walking around with drooping shoulders waiting for the final whistle. The Toluca squad had stopped celebrating after its second goal and the tourists could not look more relaxed if they had their feet up at Maracas Bay.

It was, to be blunt, a poor advertisement for the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League and the Caribbean’s game.

Even before Toluca’s opener, Caledonia’s professionalism had already been called into question.

Grenada international striker Kithson “Bully” Bain made his Caledonia debut last night in a number 10 shirt. However, the team list suggested that Bain should have been wearing the number 18.

Such errors are not infrequent at Pro League level; but this was not the Pro League. CONCACAF officials spotted the error and Bain was ordered to leave the pitch and sat for about four minutes on the running track until a club representative had found him the right kit.

Arguably, it was a fitting analogy for Caledonia’s readiness for its CONCACAF test last night.

Defensively, Caledonia was not compact enough and failed to press in numbers while, at the opposite end, the Stallions seemed to owe much of their attacking thrust to individualistic surges and were unable to maintain sustained pressure on the visitors.

Toluca, patient and methodical, picked off its naïve opponent without ever leaving first gear. Side to side, the visitors passed the ball breezily while their attackers searched for gaps. Then, they struck with menace.

Toluca’s opening item was a case in point. There were three offensive players within 10 yards of each other to attack a deep, right side cross. Caledonia goalkeeper Shemel Louison, another Grenada international, pushed Daniel Gonzales’ header against the upright but Edy Brambilla was first to the rebound and his pass was prodded over the goal line by forward Raul Nava.

Toluca doubled its advantage in the 27th minute as Caledonia defender Nuru Muhammad inadvertently deflected a Carlos Esquivel cross past his own goalkeeper and Brambila was almost too embarrassed to celebrate the third goal in the 40th minute after Louison spilled the ball.

Bain came closest to scoring for the host team when he stabbed just wide in the 32nd minute after a flick from Jamal Gay. And, seconds into the second half, the “Spice Islander” did add some flavour to the contest as he knocked in from close range after a build-up that involved Nathan Lewis and Gay.

There was a roar of hope from the 200-odd supporters and Bain later had a fair penalty shout in the second half too. But, in truth, the game was long buried.

Nava got a second in the 66th minute after another Louison fumble before veteran midfielder Sinha—or Zinha, as he was known in his native Brazil—completed the score summary with Toluca’s fifth in the 71st minute.

The result means that Caledonia has won two, drawn one and lost seven of its last 10 competitive matches, which dates back to the club’s Lucozade Sport Goal Shield semi-final loss to DIRECTV W Connection in April. During that period, the Stallions have scored 10 goals while conceding 26.

On Saturday night, Caledonia takes on Central FC at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. Who knows what effect another loss can have on coach Jamaal Shabazz’s men.

Caledonia will then complete its Champions League assignments next Wednesday away to Guatemalan team CSD Comunicaciones, which whipped the Stallions 3-0 in Port of Spain last month.

At this rate, the Caledonia players might feel more comfortable trying to avoid borderline conflicts in Morvant/Laventille than doing battle on the football field.

(Teams)

Caledonia AIA (4-4-2): 1.Shemel Louison (GK); 2.Aubrey David, 5.Akeem Thomas, 3.Nuru Muhammad, 20.Noel Williams (17.Akim Armstrong 61); 27.Nathan Lewis (25.Keron Bethelmy 71), 21.Densill Theobald, 7.Stephan David (captain), 6.Marcus Ambrose; 18.Kithson Bain, 23.Jamal Gay (9.Keyon Edwards 66).

Unused substitutes: 33.Glenroy Samuel (GK), 11.Abdallah Phillips, 12.Kareem Joseph, 22.Miguel Romeo.

Coach: Jamaal Shabazz

Toluca (3-4-1-2): 1.Alfredo Talavera (GK); 13.Hector Acosta, 20.Miguel Almazan, 3.Fausto Pinto; 11.Carlos Esquivel (16.Oscar Rojas 70), 15.Antonio Rojas (5.Wilson Tiago 74), 18.Xavier Baez, 26.Erbin Trejo; 19.Edy Brambila (10.Sinha); 29.Raul Nava, 25.Daniel Gonzales.

Unused substitutes: 22.Cesar Lozano (GK), 4.Paulo Da Silva, 9.Juan Carlos Cacho, 23.Edgar Benitez.

Coach: Jose Cardozo

CONCACAF Champions League

(Wed Sep 18)

Caledonia 1 (Kithson Bain 46), Toluca 5 (Raul Nava 17, 66, Nuru Muhammad 27 OG, Edy Brambila 40, Sinha 71) at Hasely Crawford Stadium

(Thu Sep 19)

DIRECTV W Connection vs Arabe Unido, 8 pm, Hasely Crawford Stadium

« Last Edit: September 24, 2013, 03:18:14 AM by Flex »

Re: Grenada star scores on debut; but Caledonia humiliated by Toluca
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2013, 01:53:28 AM »
I have to say that Shabazz has done a lot of damage to his reputation as a coach over the past few months.

I'm not suggesting he was ever T&T's version of the 'Special One' but he had some decent results at this level in the past and did well with Guyana.

The way things went with the MNT and what I've seen of Caledonia so far this term, the way he prepares teams must be put into question. Was he just lucky in the past and is now being found out, has he lost some of his enthusiasim for the game or is the evolution of the game passing him by.

« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2013, 03:52:05 AM »
I have to say that Shabazz has done a lot of damage to his reputation as a coach over the past few months.

I'm not suggesting he was ever T&T's version of the 'Special One' but he had some decent results at this level in the past and did well with Guyana.

The way things went with the MNT and what I've seen of Caledonia so far this term, the way he prepares teams must be put into question. Was he just lucky in the past and is now being found out, has he lost some of his enthusiasim for the game or is the evolution of the game passing him by.

Nahhh he is just ah self absorbent shit hong...

« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2013, 03:57:14 AM »
The problem is, Shabazz have shares in Guyana 11 Caledonia and will never be fired.

So they doomed. It doesn't matter the score or what happens to Cali, Jamaal there to stay and nobody question it, how can that be good for the club.

What horrible football.

Probably the worst coach in T&T, goes to show you that qualifications on paper is worth nothing.

Thank God T&T got rid of this fool.

Wait, allyuh go here de same ole excuses.

« Last Edit: September 19, 2013, 04:02:52 AM by Sam »

« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2013, 04:37:39 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/VhfJlZFa_8A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/VhfJlZFa_8A</a>

« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2013, 05:12:52 AM »
Like Lasana need glasses or wha ? I see Bain in a number 18 shirt.

« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2013, 05:59:13 AM »
pretty poor goalkeeping on nearly all dem goals.

« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2013, 06:21:17 AM »
Hard luck Cali.

« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2013, 07:38:17 AM »
Aye Skeene, this is the bag of dog s@it you want people to pay to see in the league you call a pro league? There is nothing professional about that performance. In fact, Toluca brought a professional cutass with them to Trinidad and rest it on Shabazz and Caledonia. 3 easy points. It's like taking candy from a baby.

Shabazz, Fevrier, and Bateau, owe people an apology for not properly preparing their teams for competition. Shabazz will tell you that last night's result does not reflect the true performance of his team. That they are as good as any other team in the CCL tournament and the players have to raise the level of their game. Really?. Listen, as a coach, that is your job. If you cannot understand that, then your stomach in conjunction with your big ass water head is cutting off the oxygen that your brain needs to function properly. No really, you should be shot with sh@t. Your coaching skills is lacking, your team is inferior and unprofessional. You, Caledonia and W Connection, should just forfeit the remaining games and save people the trouble of watching this nonsense.

Caledonia, W Connection, and St. Anns Rangers should all be sanctioned for disrespecting the game, the fans, their sponsors, and the league with that elementary school coaching and football. I would rather watch real football on tv than to pay to watch this bullish@t.

« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2013, 08:01:11 AM »
when they was winning people was calling them god

now they having a bad year they calling them dog

just need to hold some strain and rebuild.

« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2013, 08:51:29 AM »
KND2, wake up nah....

How can they be building with de same team and players over 10 years now.

Give Toluca coach de same AIA players and in 2 months he will have them playing better more organise football.

Shabazz is a Caribbean coach outside of de region he knows nothing.

Look Cali active in de CCL league and they collect 4 from Point in Point Fortin FIRST game of de season.

Shabazz only signing Caribbean players instead of trying to promote some of AIA youths.

You see how them players shoulders drop soon as Toluca score, they have no fight in them.

You only as good as your coach.

Even Derek King and Hutson Charles look more happy now, under Shabazz they looked confused.

« Last Edit: September 19, 2013, 05:39:43 PM by Sam »

« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2013, 10:03:08 AM »
Shabazz this and Shabazz that..we always looking for somewhere to dump a load on...and 9 times out of 10 is we own backyard. Cool it with the Shabazz nah. Barcelona drop 4 on Ajax...everybody know Messi most likely to score, he score 3...does that mean the coach didn't prepare, or Ajax is toots, or the players have no heart ? Or they should drop out the league.. boy...fair weather supporters yes...
Shabazz holdiing the posy now..next man saying he paying no money to see no shit football in Pro league, he rather watch on TV...but if ever, they happen to win, wether by fluke or design and go somewhere...sure everybody dey, waving the flag, and telling the whole world Trini is borse.. ::)
Come on Mr. Shabazz, work it out. Some of us behind all of you still, through thick and thin, regardless of our dis-agreements.

Offline jason23

« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2013, 12:14:47 PM »
Shabazz this and Shabazz that..we always looking for somewhere to dump a load on...and 9 times out of 10 is we own backyard. Cool it with the Shabazz nah. Barcelona drop 4 on Ajax...everybody know Messi most likely to score, he score 3...does that mean the coach didn't prepare, or Ajax is toots, or the players have no heart ? Or they should drop out the league.. boy...fair weather supporters yes...
Shabazz holdiing the posy now..next man saying he paying no money to see no shit football in Pro league, he rather watch on TV...but if ever, they happen to win, wether by fluke or design and go somewhere...sure everybody dey, waving the flag, and telling the whole world Trini is borse.. ::)
Come on Mr. Shabazz, work it out. Some of us behind all of you still, through thick and thin, regardless of our dis-agreements.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2013, 12:38:40 PM »
It's obvious that our best clubs are not matching up to the other top clubs in Concacaf.  So that shows that the problem with our football is systemic:  we do not have proper facilities in place for what is considered a pro league, the mentality of the players is that this is a hustle, and so they fail to put in the additional commitment required to get up to the required level (nutrition, rest and recovery, strength training, etc), and our coaching stock is not up to par.  Until the clubs structure themselves in a true professional sense - administratively and in a more holistic way, we will continue to get this sort of beating from Concacaf's best.

« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2013, 12:57:07 PM »

Whatever your personal views on Shabazz be he a crap coach or people just hating on him; my point still stands, these past 12 months have not been good for his reputation as a coach.

We know the usual routine, in professional football 9 times out of 10 is the coach that gets the blame for poor results and performance.

Why should it be any different for Mr Shabazz?

« Reply #15 on: September 19, 2013, 02:06:15 PM »
Toluca beats Caledonia 5-1 piñata style.
ttproleague.com.

Forward Raul Nava scored on either side of the break as Deportivo Toluca proved too hot for Caledonia AIA in a 5-1 rout over the Trinidad and Tobago club on Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in their Group 6 Concacaf Champions League second leg match.

The win improved the Mexicans position at the top of the group with 9 points and a game in hand, ahead of Guatemala's CSD Comunicaciones (3 points and two games in hand), while Caledonia sits at the bottom without a point after three matches.

And while Toluca Head Coach Jose Saturnino Cardozo is confident of qualifying into the quarter-final round and already looks to that round, Caledonia Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz says it’s a learning experience for the T&T club.

“After suffering defeats in our first two (CCL) matches, then concede two early goals (tonight), I think the guys got deflated,” said the Caledonia coach during the post-match media session.

“I think it was more mental than it was physical or tactical. We've got to learn to play under a lot more pressure. We've got to go back to the drawing board and take from this Concacaf tournament what we could for our future progress and development."

Nava, who scored one in Toluca's 3-1 first leg win over the Morvant/Laventille club on August 6 at the Nemesio Diez, Mexico, opened the scoring on Wednesday for a 1-0 advantage by the 17th minute.

The 23 year old former Mexico U23 forward had the simple task of tucking in a right side cross after the Caledonia defense failed to tidy and initial effort.

Caledonia fell asleep in the 28th minute against a low Carlos Esquivel cross which slipped past everyone and into goalkeeper Shemel Louison's far netting for a 2-0 Toluca cushion.

A minute later Esquivel provided a decent ball into the area but Edy Brambila was inches off target.

Even left-back Erbin Trejo got into the action in the 35th minute hitting inches wide of the upper corner after picking up a pass by Xavier Baez.

Then in the 40th minute Brambila made it 3-0 for Toluca slamming into an exposed net after Lousion made a block-out against Baez.

Caledonia had a couple first half opportunities but new signing Kithson Bain failed to find the back of the net in the 10th minute after a quick run down the right and into the area hitting a miscued effort, and in the 32nd minute under challenge he poked wide of the upright from inside the six yard area from a Jamal Gay flicked-on pass.

And just as teammates Nathan Lewis, in the 16th minute, Densill Theobald, in the 38th minute, and Aubrey David, in the 45th minute, Bain had an ambitious crack at goal from distance in the 31st minute—all comfortable takes for Toluca goalie Alfredo Talavara.

Bain finally pegged one back seconds into the second half, reducing the Caledonia deficit 1-3.

The 31 year-old speedy former Tranmere Rovers player had the simple task of guiding in a loose ball from the six yard area after teammate Gay fumbled a low cross into the area by Caledonia's liveliest player on the night, Lewis.

But ten minutes later Toluca introduced Antonio Matias and the midfielder finished off where his teammates left out.

The pint-sized player forced Louison into a diving save in the 60th minute, and six minutes later set up Nava's second item.

Nava, who slid in short of opening the scoring in as early as the 12th minute, had the simple task of turning in Matias’ neat low pass into the six yard area for a 4-1 score. Matias then made it 5-1 in the 72nd minute by fitting a low strike from above the area, out of Louison's reach and into the net.

Caledonia debutant and goalscorer, Bain, who Shabazz believes will “light up the local TT Pro League”, looked short of match fitness in the second period and despite his late efforts, only earned himself a yellow card for diving in the 76th minute.

“We would take the positives out of this game that there were times we were able to get behind them, and even get the ball in the back of the net,” continued Shabazz.

“But the margin for error at Concacaf level is so slim, and the lack of experience in playing at this level of the game is showing …and we are paying dearly for errors made. It’s a lack of concentration at times, but all in all, it’s something we can learn from. We’ve got to stay positive and take the fact that while we have been scored upon …we have created chances to score. And I think all is not gloom and doom for us.

“I thought we gave them room to play and they had enough time to pick players out. We didn’t close down too well. And playing at home I thought we gave up more space than we did when we played them in Mexico City.”

Caledonia will return to domestic Digicel Pro League action against home team Central FC from 7pm on Saturday at the Ato Boldon, then travel to Guatemala to tackle Comunicaciones on Wednesday 25 September for its final group match.

Comunicaciones, which defeated Caledonia 3-0 in the first leg and lost to Toluca 2-1, will later meet the Mexicans on Wednesday 23 October to close off Group 6.

“(We) played very well and more or less controlled the game,” said Toluca coach Jose Saturnino Cardozo through a translator following his team’s comfortable victory. “Sometimes it seemed a bit dangerous but (we) had the speed and everything for the game and did a good job. I was a very well thought out plan and intelligent team. I am happy with the work that (we) have done.

“The team performed in the manner in which it should have. Even thought it wasn’t the starting team, the team that played was still a team that had the capacity and the ability to do what they needed to do. We had all confidence that they were able to perform and execute what they needed to do.”

« Reply #16 on: September 19, 2013, 02:54:29 PM »

Whatever your personal views on Shabazz be he a crap coach or people just hating on him; my point still stands, these past 12 months have not been good for his reputation as a coach.

We know the usual routine, in professional football 9 times out of 10 is the coach that gets the blame for poor results and performance.

Why should it be any different for Mr Shabazz?
Because as Expert TT supporters and football analyst, we should be able to recognize that although the Arena of play is the same, the Gladiators most definitely are not. There is no way in this decade, one should realistically expect our Pro teams to be yet on par with mexican Pro teams.
 For one thing, most every club in the mexican league, have a few players with National or International experience. It is the strongest league in the Region. They train with, and compete against each other day in day out. Most of the National team is selected from their league, they can be rich if they perform, not just eat ah food, even if a healthy one.
  Who does Cali have with National experience or exceptional ability to possibly get selected for our National team ? Forget if they try to make Mexico team.. They have Bleeder & Jamal Gay. Do they get to compete and train with some of the best players in the region on a daily basis, no. Most of our possibly regional best players are on foreign teams or school.
 So why compete ? So these local guys & coaches can experience what it's like to compete at higher levels and learn from it, and hopefully down the road, both players, coaches and adminstrators, will be able to find a way to reduce the gap between the difference in the local games, difficult as that may be.
That is why I can't fault any coach developing his charges in a Big arena. If we had lost 5-1 to •Ball Dogs FC out of Grenada, I would be 1st to run his arse outta Morvant..No offence,worm

« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2013, 03:19:33 PM »
Shabazz is a rank shit hound coach. Never supported him or caledonia. Let him try his coaching skill in intercol. Watch him shit himself there too! Guyana, that was a fluke!!!

« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2013, 03:23:57 PM »
Shabazz is a rank shit hound coach. Never supported him or caledonia. Let him try his coaching skill in intercol. Watch him shit himself there too! Guyana, that was a fluke!!!
maybe so, doesn't take away the fact, Cali get a beat down, and he is the coach. So crying shame, won't change nothing. I suggest you go out and hire who you want coaching Cali, and then run a campaign to get them hired. But since you don't support Cali, then it doesn't really matter if he is a good coach or not, does it.

« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2013, 03:54:53 PM »
I know some of you still judging Shabazz from the 1990 incident. I can't blame allyuh or change your mind. I still pissed off by the incident, and was livid to Abu and them get Police permission to march on the aniversary of of their coup. It should have been the aniversary of the firing squad. But the SPINELESS crocus bag(not silk) legal heads bungled an amnesty with the ALLYUH PRIVY COUNCIL. So get over it

Now Shabazz has to take most of the blame. I don't think he is shying away from that. The players as individuals have to take some blame also. These guys don't work on the port or Lever Bros, Carib, Neal-Massey, PTSC. They don't have to leave work and hustle up in the savannah and train. These guys are pros. They should take it up themselves to do the intangibles that they not getting from their clubs. I mentioned personal upliftment. I remember , one off season I went to Appolon gym to strenghten up. I was fed of Coops and DF beating up on me and my team Essex. They still beat use to beat us. But it was a tooth and nail battle. I did not fraid Kellman Alexander, Prince, Spooner, Ron La, etc.  We were amateurs. Them guys are pros. Unless they getting short changed by Shabazz.

But maybe Shabazz need to go in a different direction. Maybe he needs some assistance or something. Is he the owner of AIA, or is it a community team run by a group??? Somebody has to make a decision on what direction to go from here.

« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2013, 07:31:38 AM »
I know some of you still judging Shabazz from the 1990 incident. I can't blame allyuh or change your mind. I still pissed off by the incident, and was livid to Abu and them get Police permission to march on the aniversary of of their coup. It should have been the aniversary of the firing squad. But the SPINELESS crocus bag(not silk) legal heads bungled an amnesty with the ALLYUH PRIVY COUNCIL. So get over it

Now Shabazz has to take most of the blame. I don't think he is shying away from that. The players as individuals have to take some blame also. These guys don't work on the port or Lever Bros, Carib, Neal-Massey, PTSC. They don't have to leave work and hustle up in the savannah and train. These guys are pros. They should take it up themselves to do the intangibles that they not getting from their clubs. I mentioned personal upliftment. I remember , one off season I went to Appolon gym to strenghten up. I was fed of Coops and DF beating up on me and my team Essex. They still beat use to beat us. But it was a tooth and nail battle. I did not fraid Kellman Alexander, Prince, Spooner, Ron La, etc.  We were amateurs. Them guys are pros. Unless they getting short changed by Shabazz.

But maybe Shabazz need to go in a different direction. Maybe he needs some assistance or something. Is he the owner of AIA, or is it a community team run by a group??? Somebody has to make a decision on what direction to go from here.

Pros only because they getting paid.  Shabazz himself alluded to this when he said the lifestyles of the players is not conducive to longterm development and success.  These fellas just want to eat ah food.  They don't work on fitness outside of training, they don't eat properly, they don't rest properly.  For them, it's about eating ah food and not having to do a 9-to-5.  Colelge players in the U.S. have a much more disciplined approach to the game that our so-called local pros. I could tell you that from experience.

« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2013, 08:34:49 AM »
totally agree Tenorsaw. At the risk of strayin off topic of the cut-ass. What is in place after football, for the Local Pro League player..i.e. this is the majority of players. i.e. they did not get a National team callup, or get a foreign contract etc...what do they do, when they are to replaced, wether due to age or ability..Do they just get drop, no contract.. What plans for them..how they getting ah food then..

« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2013, 08:41:01 AM »
totally agree Tenorsaw. At the risk of strayin off topic of the cut-ass. What is in place after football, for the Local Pro League player..i.e. this is the majority of players. i.e. they did not get a National team callup, or get a foreign contract etc...what do they do, when they are to replaced, wether due to age or ability..Do they just get drop, no contract.. What plans for them..how they getting ah food then..

... move to Point Fortin Civic Centre :devil:

(or link FS early o'clock ;) ... in all seriousness doh,  de man has been seriously resourceful since arriving on de twin rocks.