May 17, 2024, 11:06:31 AM

Author Topic: Wolfe off on Friday to join Silverbacks.  (Read 2755 times)

Wolfe off on Friday to join Silverbacks.
« on: July 19, 2007, 06:18:44 AM »
Wolfe off on Friday to join Silverbacks.

Trinidad and Tobago striker Anthony Wolfe is hopeful of getting his name back among the main news of football here again as he sets off to join American A League team Atlanta Silverbacks.
Wolfe, who signed a three-year deal recently through a hook up with agent Ricky Hill, leaves on Friday and has already been told that he could make his debut on Saturday against Portland Timbers.
Just a year or more ago, Wolfe was part of the World Cup spotlight as one of the home-based pros on T&T roster for the World Cup. But even after hitting the net a few times on his return to the T&T Pro League, Wolfe found it hard to impress much since joining North East Stars from CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.
“I’m really glad for this opportunity now because it is something I have been waiting on for a while,” the 23-year-old Wolfe told TTFF Media on Tuesday. The deal didn’t happen right after the trials but then they renegotiated and I was happy with the offer. Now it’s down to me to go there and deliver for the club.”
“I hope I can settle in quickly. I have been there before so I know the runnings. I was injured and was carrying a few knocks before and that had me struggling but now I want to make up for it. I hope I can start banging in the goals again,” Wolfe added. Also carded to head off to the A League this week to join Charleston Battery is W Connection striker Andre Toussaint. The little forward had to wait until some visa issues were handled. Connection chairman David John Williams added: "It's an oppotutnity to showcase himself in front of a television audience as Charleston is one of the bigger A-League teams. Hopefully he can settle in and do well for himself and maybe move on to bigger things from there."

Re: Wolfe off on Friday to join Silverbacks.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2007, 08:27:17 AM »
if they playing him regularly maybe i will go check out a game.

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2007, 01:13:18 PM »
Lemme know if yuh going down me and Fordie could meet yuh there and hang out we does go to the womanes games not the mens games ....better quality we think.

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2007, 03:03:23 PM »
What took so longgggggggggg?

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2007, 03:32:12 PM »
ah could make dah lime too fellas

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2007, 03:44:25 PM »
Sound like a plan......

« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2007, 07:49:41 AM »
remaining home games.

portland is 1st in the league but i don't think wolfe will play tomorrow.

maybe vs. charleston? toussaint might be playing for charleston by then.

115            Sat    Jul 21   7:55 pm    Portland Timbers    at    Atlanta Silverbacks    Silverbacks Stadium
132            Sat    Aug 4   7:55 pm    Charleston Battery    at    Atlanta Silverbacks    Silverbacks Stadium
140            Fri    Aug 10   8:00 pm    Puerto Rico Islanders    at    Atlanta Silverbacks    Silverbacks Stadium
171            Sat    Sep 1   7:55 pm    Puerto Rico Islanders    at    Atlanta Silverbacks    Silverbacks Stadium

« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2007, 06:42:15 PM »
Is toussaint in Charleston yet ?

« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2007, 05:27:41 AM »
I haven't heard anything about toussaint.

« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2007, 06:50:49 AM »
I SEE WOLFE IN THE GAME ON TUESDAY IN THE STANDS

a man say when he reach out he recognize the money too small and he go hada get he own place to stay and what not so he was on the forst plane back to trini

heard it here first

« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2007, 03:34:52 PM »
I SEE WOLFE IN THE GAME ON TUESDAY IN THE STANDS

a man say when he reach out he recognize the money too small and he go hada get he own place to stay and what not so he was on the forst plane back to trini

heard it here first
Well I see he play fuh de Silverbacks on Saturday against de Puerto Rico Islanders, and he scored his first goal.

Anthony Wolfe gave the ‘Backs a cushion to their lead in the 78th minute. Scott Buete freed Wolfe with a through ball; Wolfe beat his defender in a foot race and calmly placed the ball into the far side netting.

« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2007, 03:11:56 PM »
Somebody see he twin because he cyah b at 2 places at d same time