Sports => Football => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on March 12, 2009, 02:44:51 PM

Title: Manchester United V Liverpool.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 12, 2009, 02:44:51 PM
United favorites for Liverpool showdownAssociated Press

LONDON (AP) - Under normal circumstances, any team fresh from a 4-0 win over Real Madrid would be considered the favorite for its next match, but third-place Liverpool goes into Saturday's Premier League showdown at Manchester United seven points behind the leaders.

Barclays Premier League
Wed., Mar. 11
Fulham 1-2 Blackburn Recap
Sat., Mar. 14
Man United vs. Liverpool   
Arsenal vs. Blackburn   
Everton vs. Stoke City   
M'borough vs. Portsmouth   
Sunderland vs. Wigan   
Bolton vs. Fulham   
Hull City vs. Newcastle   
Sun., Mar. 15
Chelsea vs. Man City   
Aston Villa vs. Tottenham   
Mon., Mar. 16
West Ham vs. West Brom   
*Airs on FSC or Watch on demand
VIDEO: Highlights of every game. 
     Premier League Fantasy Challenge

Liverpool prepared for one of the most eagerly awaited fixtures of the season with an overpowering display against Madrid in the Champions League at Anfield on Tuesday, but their spluttering domestic form and an over-reliance on striker Fernando Torres and midfielder Steven Gerrard means United starts as the clear favorite.

United's prosaic progress to the quarterfinals of the Champions League with a 2-0 win over Inter Milan on Wednesday may work against Liverpool. Manager Alex Ferguson was incensed by the way senior players like Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes squandered possession against the Italians, and Liverpool can expect a reaction at Old Trafford.

"It was really reckless football and it allowed Inter Milan to get a grip of the game," Ferguson said. "From the middle of the first half to the end of the first half they (Inter) were the better team."

Nemanja Vidic, scorer of United's first goal, admitted the performance had been flawed.

"We're at home in front of our crowd and I hope we are going to be much better than we were against Inter," Vidic said. "We will definitely try to improve, to erase the mistakes we made and play better against Liverpool."

Vidic's partner in central defense, Rio Ferdinand, said he had been impressed by Liverpool's win over Madrid and feels that even if United wins Saturday it would be premature to write off the team's challenge.

"They've had a good week, getting a great result against Real Madrid," Ferdinand said. "People say, 'If you win this game, you win the league,' but it just continues until it's mathematically over and one team wins it, and hopefully that will be us.

"If we win, it will obviously make it hard for them but I couldn't care what happens to Liverpool as long as we beat them. If we do that and that leads to people thinking they're out of it, then so be it."

Liverpool has taken four points from its last three league games, but the team should at least provide United with a stiffer test than it did in the corresponding fixture last season, when the Reds slipped to a 3-0 loss after Javier Mascherano was sent off.

Torres and Gerrard have scored 17 league goals between them this season, while the rest of the squad has combined for just 25.

Both should be fit, although Torres needed a painkilling injection to play against Madrid.

Premier League on FSC
 Sat., Mar. 14, 11 a.m. (LIVE) -
   Everton vs. Stoke City
 Sat., Mar. 14, 5:30 p.m. -
   Hull City vs. Newcastle United
 Sat., Mar. 14, 7:30 p.m. -
   Bolton vs. Fulham
 Sun., Mar. 15, 12 p.m. (LIVE) -
   Aston Villa vs. Tottenham
 All times ET, subject to change. Full Schedule >
"I feel good," the Spaniard said. "My ankle felt a little painful in the second half against Real, but that doesn't matter for a match like this.

"We will work hard on the injury and train hard and I think I will be 100 percent for Saturday. It is a massive game that I hope to win because that will give us more chances in the league. We know it's very important to win there, if not they will be many points ahead."

Chelsea, second ahead of Liverpool on goal difference, hosts Manchester City on Sunday, looking for a fourth consecutive league win under temporary manager Guus Hiddink. Striker Didier Drogba's form has revived under Hiddink, but the key to the rest of their season could be Ghana midfielder Michael Essien, who marked his return to the starting lineup from injury with a goal in the Blues' 2-2 Champions League draw at Juventus on Tuesday.

City striker Robinho, openly courted by Chelsea last summer, should be fit for the game at Stamford Bridge provided he emerges unscathed from Thursday's UEFA cup match with Aalborg.

Aston Villa faces Tottenham Sunday looking to halt a slump in form that threatens its hold on fourth place - and with it the final Champions League qualification spot.

Villa has gone six games, in all competitions, without a win, but manager Martin O'Neill said his side is rejuvenated after a short break in the United Arab Emirates.

"We have trained and enjoyed some sun," he said. "The players now feel refreshed. It was vital to regroup, get ourselves together again and now we want to go out and win some games."

Fifth-place Arsenal is three points behind Villa and hosts Blackburn on Saturday, less than 72 hours after its victory on penalties over AS Roma.

The Gunners will recall Andrei Arshavin, who was ineligible for the Roma match.

Blackburn's confidence was boosted when it climbed out of the relegation zone with a 2-1 win at Fulham on Wednesday.

"It's a huge relief from a mental point of view," manager Sam Allardyce said. "Continuing to see yourselves in the bottom three doesn't help, even though you tell the players 'You can't look at the papers, stay away from them."'

There are two games between teams struggling to avoid relegation. Middlesbrough, in 19th place, hosts Portsmouth, which is one place and two points above in the table. Newcastle, which is above Portsmouth on goal difference, travels to Hull, four points ahead.

Newcastle captain Michael Owen will play some part in the game after two months out with ankle ligament damage.

In Saturday's other games, Everton hosts Stoke, Fulham travels to Bolton and Sunderland hosts Wigan.
Title: Re: Manchester United V Liverpool.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 12, 2009, 02:46:17 PM
we lookin to extend de lead by 10 points now. ;D
Post by: D.H.W on March 12, 2009, 02:47:49 PM
 :bringiton:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 12, 2009, 04:29:57 PM
Big game

This is where Liverpool's "title challenge" will end

VDS

O'Shea
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Ronaldo
Carrick
Anderson
Park

Rooney
Tevez

3-0 ...thank you very much
(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/n655754672_1918362_2661.jpg)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on March 13, 2009, 03:42:04 AM
Wood...................10 clear on top..................Glory Glory Man United :devil: :devil:
Post by: sammy on March 13, 2009, 06:44:52 AM
 :thumbsup: :wavetowel:
Post by: WestCoast on March 13, 2009, 07:13:16 AM
hello, excuse me waiter
drinks for all ;D

ManU go buss dem (hope swan dive boy ent playin  :devil: )
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 07:33:45 AM
was lookin tru de tv guide,eh see nutten,it showin?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on March 13, 2009, 07:55:20 AM
Should be on saturday?
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 13, 2009, 07:56:00 AM
Allyuh goe ahead and gallery.....doe frighten

Laws of physics say...what goes up must come ......? DOWN

Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 07:57:55 AM
Allyuh goe ahead and gallery.....doe frighten

Laws of physics say...what goes up must come ......? DOWN

that only applies to an erection or ah ball.not manchester united.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 13, 2009, 08:00:34 AM
that only applies to an erection or ah ball.not manchester united.

Nice comeback.... ;D
Post by: giggsy11 on March 13, 2009, 08:03:46 AM
Should be on saturday?

8:45am on Setanta, Saturday morning!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 13, 2009, 08:15:28 AM
(http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o122/nigbcn/xaviiniesta1.jpg)

that being said

ManU have this one in the bag.

A good as Liverpool was against Real (it pains me to say), ManU have them beaten mentally.
Post by: jimmel14 on March 13, 2009, 10:30:49 AM
anybody know if this game coming on Direct TV
OLE MAN U...
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 07:08:35 PM
Benitez Aiming For 100th Liverpool League Win Against Manchester United

Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez could record the 100th league victory of his time as manager at the club, if his team can overcome the formidable obstacle of Manchester United tomorrow lunchtime at Old Trafford.

However, the Spaniard was unconcerned about the widely documented statistics earlier, whilst speaking to The Liverpool Echo, and instead urged observers to focus on the collective achievements of the club, rather than any of his personal milestones.

"I was not aware of this statistic but it does prove that the club is going in the right direction," he said. "You cannot sustain a statistic like this unless you have good players so it is a great credit to the squad.

"If we win at Old Trafford it would be good for the statistics but the statistic which matters most is the points that you have in the league table and we want more than we have right now – this is the most important thing for us. We know that we can win against any team if we play to our capabilities so this is what we must try to do.

"We had a very good result in the Champions League on Tuesday night and now we must take the belief from our performance against Real Madrid into this match with Manchester United."

Tomorrow will be Benitez's 181st league match in charge of Liverpool, and should he reach a ton of victories against United then he will be the third fastest Anfield manager to reach such a total, his record only being bettered by Kenny Dalglish and Bob Paisley.

Alex Ferguson took 231 matches to reach a hundred victories at the beginning of his lengthy tenure at Old Trafford, in comparison.

However, Benitez clearly feels such statistics are a little spurious in the context of such a vital fixture, especially as defeat really would signal the end of Liverpool's fragile title hopes.

"If we win then we can still think about the title; if you cannot do that it will be almost impossible to win the title. But we feel we are still in a fantastic position, much better than last season," he concluded.

Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 08:13:01 PM
fat man will have to wait another week fuh that.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 14, 2009, 06:04:52 AM
I picked the actual XI  ;D

Official Utd Squad:

VDS

O'Shea
Ferdinand
Vidic
Evra

Ronaldo
Carrick
Anderson
Park

Tevez
Rooney

Subs:

Foster
Evans
Fletcher
Giggs
Scholes
Nani
Berbatov

Scousers:

Riena, Arbeloa, Carragher, Skrtl, Aurelio, Masc, Lucas, Kuyt, Gerrard, Riera, Torres

Post by: boss on March 14, 2009, 06:11:36 AM
If there was ever a time for Lucas to prove that he isn't utter sh*t (because that's what he HAS been this season), this is it.  :beermug:

Riera and Kuyt need to have the match of their lives...
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 06:35:42 AM
Fellas, any live internet link for this one?  Please
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 06:38:51 AM
Fellas, any live internet link for this one?  Please

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=32775&part=sports

:sleepy:
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 07:15:19 AM
1 NIL MAN UTD , RONALDO

(http://www.ymessengerblog.com/images/emoticon_shh.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 07:19:16 AM
FACK  :(
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 07:24:25 AM
Torres loving playing against Vidic and Ferdinand..best center forward in Europe...if even, only half fit
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 07:40:21 AM
ah jez reach
HT :o
ok come out firing on all cylindrs in the second half Shrek
Post by: dinho on March 14, 2009, 07:42:04 AM
any working sopcast links available?
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 07:42:26 AM
Good half....definitely the two best teams in the EPL ;)
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 07:43:34 AM

try this:  atdhe.net
Post by: dinho on March 14, 2009, 07:45:41 AM

try this:  atdhe.net

you have a link or channel number for that?

myp2p saying the sopcast channel offline.
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 07:46:17 AM
nothing here working for you?
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 07:47:59 AM

doh study he like he going blind  :devil:
Post by: lickslikefire on March 14, 2009, 07:51:22 AM
tvu player working well....chelsea tv 40409
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 07:52:48 AM

nah, he jez a little BLUE today? ;D
Post by: dinho on March 14, 2009, 07:53:20 AM

nah i leave my laptop in de city so i trying sopcast on this dinosaur i have here..

could be this old version i running here, cause i eh getting thru..

come torres.. like yuhself on this side so Chelsea could come thru the back door. :devil:
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 08:00:45 AM

nah i leave my laptop in de city so i trying sopcast on this dinosaur i have here..

could be this old version i running here, cause i eh getting thru..

come torres.. like yuhself on this side so Chelsea could come thru the back door. :devil:
try this then
http://www.atdhe.net/live-tv-4964.html

en français seulement ;D
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 08:01:41 AM
WTF I SEEING THERE dais 2-1 liverpool eh? 
Post by: Bitter on March 14, 2009, 08:03:21 AM
What de hell Liverpool doing?
Allyuh cyah sit back. Play!
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 08:03:32 AM
WTF I SEEING THERE dais 2-1 liverpool eh? 
givin dem a false sense of security....shrek go buss dem jez now ;D

even if day win is 4 points short
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/live/tables/premiership.html
Post by: freakazoid on March 14, 2009, 08:13:07 AM
buss deh arse liverpool :devil: :devil:
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 08:19:55 AM
Benitez really intend to sit back on this lead so early?  He cyar eb for real.
Post by: Bitter on March 14, 2009, 08:26:00 AM
Vidic gone!

10 man Utd
Post by: Bitter on March 14, 2009, 08:26:40 AM
Oh Dear! What can the matter be?
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 08:28:17 AM
facking cudders month man fork that fack  :o :( :-\ :-X sigh
Post by: freakazoid on March 14, 2009, 08:30:10 AM
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Organic on March 14, 2009, 08:30:51 AM
facking cudders month man fork that fack  :o :( :-\ :-X sigh
doh dig no hurras boss allyuh go still win the league .........maybe..........lol
oh small mag .....oh dragon ah muss pas through to hail allyuh out.
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 08:31:00 AM
BURIAL.....
Post by: freakazoid on March 14, 2009, 08:32:34 AM
3 from the back aint that ah bytch
Post by: JDB on March 14, 2009, 08:36:35 AM
United defedlnding is horrible today.

Credit to Liverpool but United put themselves in a bad position where they have to be chasing a Liverpool lead
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 08:40:34 AM
where de kcuf dat TRUCK come out from :devil:
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2009, 08:40:57 AM
...and look VDS juss get lob, lol

4-1 Dossena 89'
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 14, 2009, 08:41:25 AM
United defedlnding is horrible today.

Credit to Liverpool but United put themselves in a bad position where they have to be chasing a Liverpool lead

Yeah, but realistically speaking, the real (unassailable) lead being chased is the 7-point one that manu owns.  >:(
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 08:42:40 AM
Y N W A
Post by: boss on March 14, 2009, 08:43:29 AM
I'm pleased  :)
Post by: Daft Trini on March 14, 2009, 08:43:42 AM
I'm telling myself this is just a bad dream... I'm gonna wake up soon!
Post by: RedDevils on March 14, 2009, 08:43:48 AM
This defence today play good facking shit and was at fault for all the goals.......Fergie will rip them a new asshole this week. 4 goals at home is total shit.
Post by: sammy on March 14, 2009, 08:44:35 AM
didnt see 1st half.

Nice 2nd half goals from liverpool though. - but allyuh still eh winning jack. Allyuh cud cut out the headline tomorrow and put it in the trophy case  :devil:

Things just didnt come off for us today.
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2009, 08:44:49 AM
Seems like the fat Spanish waiter served up a gem today... hideous 3rd jerseys and all.
Post by: jimmel14 on March 14, 2009, 08:45:31 AM
This defence today play good facking shit and was at fault for all the goals.......Fergie will rip them a new asshole this week. 4 goals at home is total shit.

dey pull da double on we.. we we gettin all da trophies..
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 08:45:47 AM
didnt see 1st half.

Nice 2nd half goals from liverpool though. - but allyuh still eh winning jack. Allyuh cud cut out the headline tomorrow and put it in the trophy case  :devil:

Things just didnt come off for us today.
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 14, 2009, 08:47:18 AM
One more showdown before season's end:  Champions' League.
Post by: RedDevils on March 14, 2009, 08:48:33 AM

dey pull da double on we.. we we gettin all da trophies..

like sammy say, they could cut out tomorrows headline and put it in there trophy case cause thats as close as they gonna get...........its nice having a game in hand still lol.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 14, 2009, 08:49:53 AM
no big deal today was liverpool's day.we still winnin de league,plus we have ah game in hand.that's de way de cookie crumbles.
Post by: RedDevils on March 14, 2009, 08:51:16 AM
guess we needed that lost to get us back down to earth and fighting hard again....and to get embarass at home like that will only fuel us on.
Post by: giggsy11 on March 14, 2009, 08:51:47 AM
Well done Liverstool, we played shit/beat our selves and you capitalized. Only Park played well today. Hopefully this loss will bring United back to earth. You kinda saw this coming, in the game against Inter, man was playing cockey and sloppy football, like they were starting to believe the press clippings. Enjoy today Liverstool fans!
  Say wah, I going and eat some Royal Castle-life is good!
Post by: elan on March 14, 2009, 08:56:11 AM
Look at that "He does beat meh cause he love meh."

If was Bolton or one of them you would have never had a bad day, excuses now. When alyuh beat down Chelsea we take we cut arse. NOw hear alyuh is al kinda excuses.

Is ah gnikcaf lesson in learning to shut the hell up, this morning.

I glad when they cheat and put 4 minutes added on time the 4th goal was scored, now they will think twice about adding on invisible minutes at that field.

No songs to walking in a winter wonderland this morning.  :devil:
Post by: Feliziano on March 14, 2009, 09:03:35 AM

If was Bolton or one of them you would have never had a bad day, excuses now. When alyuh beat down Chelsea we take we cut arse. NOw hear alyuh is al kinda excuses.

Is ah gnikcaf lesson in learning to shut the hell up, this morning.

I glad when they cheat and put 4 minutes added on time the 4th goal was scored, now they will think twice about adding on invisible minutes at that field.

No songs to walking in a winter wonderland this morning.  :devil:
leave dem nah..they just had a bad day  :devil:
as they say they have a big lead at the top..therefore losing to an archrival is no big thing  ::)
let we see next couple weeks when Arsenal and Villa rest it on them
Post by: kaliman2006 on March 14, 2009, 09:06:21 AM
For ALL the man utd. people only bumping dey gums....

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 14, 2009, 09:07:36 AM
We beat ourselves today

but credit to liverpool for taking their chances....

Fergie should buss everyone head with a boot today..including himself ...that side was too unbalanced
Post by: elan on March 14, 2009, 09:42:19 AM
Anyone of alyuh care to explain how "alyuh beat yuhself?"

I know when you lose 1-0, 2-1 you can say you beat yourself.......but 4-1.
Post by: acb on March 14, 2009, 09:44:43 AM
ahhhhhahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaahaaaahahahahahahahaha

GLORY GLORY BOO HOO!!!!

Happy St. Patricks Weekend.

Drink Yourself Silly!!!

Who The F**K is Man United?

hahahahahahaaaaaaaaa
Post by: lickslikefire on March 14, 2009, 10:32:11 AM
guess we needed that lost to get us back down to earth and fighting hard again....and to get embarass at home like that will only fuel us on.

some ah all yuh is talk real shit....no real man united fan will ever say, they needed to lose to liverpool.....

yuh know yuh right...all yuh 'needed' to lose to liverpool and colleck 4 goal in yuh backyard to spur all yuh to the title...
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2009, 10:40:44 AM
We beat ourselves today

Fergie should buss everyone head with a boot today..including himself ...that side was too unbalanced

How... allyuh was playing in grey jerseys?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on March 14, 2009, 10:52:03 AM
WTF ::) ??? :o >:(

Anyway title is ours in the end............Glory Glory Man United :devil: :beermug: :rotfl:
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 14, 2009, 10:58:44 AM
We were clinical and disciplined today....

As Jack Warner would say..this performance by Liverpool speaks volumes

Post by: Jahyouth on March 14, 2009, 11:02:08 AM
was licks in de police van for Man Utd.  lol
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 11:20:41 AM
sigh
Post by: JDB on March 14, 2009, 11:35:07 AM
Yeah today was Liverpool's day no doubt but that is two bad performances in a row. I expect that it is a blip and we will see normal service resume next week.

As for the title race Liverpool will beat up they chest until they loss or draw to a shit side in the next match.
Post by: dinho on March 14, 2009, 11:38:36 AM
amidst all this..

look for Chelsea with their renewed resilience and drive to press hard for the title until the end of the season.

man u can't afford any more slip ups and liverpool will finish 3rd.
Post by: sammy on March 14, 2009, 11:41:28 AM

U find we got played of the park or played to our normally high standards?
Post by: Peong on March 14, 2009, 11:58:04 AM
Wood...................10 clear on top..................Glory Glory Man United :devil: :devil:

Yuh call it, real wood pass in OT today.
Man U is shit!
Post by: samo on March 14, 2009, 12:36:55 PM

Yuh call it, real wood pass in OT today.
Man U is shit!

ManUre lived up to their name today... Haha... Go Chelsea
Post by: GunnerStunner on March 14, 2009, 12:43:14 PM
its still manu's the throw away they have 10 games left everyone else has 9

of thier 10 its only arsenal and villa that migth cause problems, even if they draw those two its still on the other sides to win all thier last 9 games
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 14, 2009, 12:45:11 PM
ahhhhhahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaahaaaahahahahahahahaha

GLORY GLORY BOO HOO!!!!

Happy St. Patricks Weekend.

Drink Yourself Silly!!!

Who The F**K is Man United?

hahahahahahaaaaaaaaa

:devil: :devil: :devil:
hear dem excuses now nah.  :devil:
Post by: Filho on March 14, 2009, 02:54:38 PM
Looks like both teams carried their Champion's League form into this game. ManU looked shakey against Inter last week while Liverpool looked the part. I expect Liverpool and Chelsea to finish strong. Also expect Everton and Arsenal to finish stronger than Villa. But ManU still comfortably in the driver's seat as far as the league goes....not so certain about Villa and 4th place...
Post by: LondonTrini LFC on March 14, 2009, 03:01:10 PM
We beat ourselves today

shit side...
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 03:16:32 PM
GLORY GLORY WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: UTD FOREVER
Post by: giggsy11 on March 14, 2009, 03:29:07 PM
GLORY GLORY WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: UTD FOREVER

People desperate eh boy?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: All of a sudden man gettin hope! steups........ Dey will still be hopin after the season over!
Post by: elan on March 14, 2009, 03:32:00 PM

U find we got played of the park or played to our normally high standards?

That's the problem what's Man United standard? The score was 4-1. You had everyone on the field, Rooney, tevez, Berbatov, Ronaldo, etc and you all still could not get in the game.

Y'all problem was Liverpool used your strategy vs you and it worked.  ;)
Post by: Deeks on March 14, 2009, 03:37:35 PM
U fans, this defeat may indeed be a good thing for United. I just shows that on a given day with two sides being equal the results you want may not come your way. I rather Liverpool beat us than say a bottom of the table team. 'Pool was the better team today. It is just a fact. They brought us back to earth today. Accept it boo fans and stop crying like babies. Let's move on to the next game.
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2009, 04:23:27 PM

People desperate eh boy?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: All of a sudden man gettin hope! steups........ Dey will still be hopin after the season over!

for real  ;D but we still have a game in hand so let them dream  :devil:
Post by: Cantona007 on March 14, 2009, 04:36:14 PM
U fans, this defeat may indeed be a good thing for United. I just shows that on a given day with two sides being equal the results you want may not come your way. I rather Liverpool beat us than say a bottom of the table team. 'Pool was the better team today. It is just a fact. They brought us back to earth today. Accept it boo fans and stop crying like babies. Let's move on to the next game.

Worst day possible... there is never a time when a loss against Liverpool is anything but devastating. Liverpool...sigh...

Anyway after Fergie chews a few men a new one, it make for a more focused run-in. What was he thinking leaving Anderson on for so long?
Post by: acb on March 14, 2009, 10:15:20 PM
I wonder how much Fergie selling that snake oil for? Regardless of price, it have a good market for that here.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/mar/14/premier-league-manchester-united-liverpool (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/mar/14/premier-league-manchester-united-liverpool)

'United were better' claims Ferguson after Liverpool hammering

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/3/14/1237051159421/Man-Utd-v-Liverpool-Unite-001.jpg)

The Liverpool manager has heard it many times before but this time the chant of "Rafa's cracking up" must have been music to his ears.

It came from the Liverpool supporters, not the Stretford End, its irony marking a first win at Old Trafford under Benítez and another four goals to complete a momentous week. Real Madrid may have been poor at Anfield on Tuesday but these were the champions of Europe, on their own turf, chasing a club record 12th successive league win. Apart from a few minutes in the first half, when Manchester United led through a penalty and their fans briefly had the opportunity to remind Benítez of his alleged resemblance to a fat Spanish waiter, this was a surprisingly one-sided encounter and only one manager looked as though he was enjoying his work.

It was the other one, neatly enough, who sounded as though he might be cracking up. "I thought we were the better team," Sir Alex Ferguson said, making a bid for the wackiest statement of the season. "But the score doesn't reflect that."

The table still does, though United's lead is down to four points and their goal difference cut to five. With a game in hand over Liverpool this may not amount to a turning point, yet results of this magnitude can boost the confidence of winners and eat away at the losers' self-belief. "We are in a better position now, that's all you can say," Benítez said. "If we are going to win the title we are going to need three points from every game and United to drop some more. So it might not happen, but at least we have more confidence."

He can say that again. Confidence oozed through Liverpool from the start, flowing directly from Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres. The pair were conspicuously head and shoulders above every­one else on the pitch, closely involved in the important goals, and it was tempting to sympathise with Benítez when he bemoaned the fact that this was only the ninth league game of the season they have started together. Perhaps United are not quite as outstanding as everyone has been saying, and Liverpool might be pushing them much closer but for injuries.

With due respect to Ferguson, that was the way it looked here. Nemanja Vidic has been touted as a contender for player of the season but reacted to Torres in the manner of Superman exposed to green kryptonite. The defender was comprehensively beaten for the first Liverpool goal, when he made the mistake of allowing Martin Skrtel's long clearance to bounce and completely underestimated Torres's pace and determination. He almost gave away a penalty on the same player minutes later and completed a miserable afternoon by seeing red for a professional foul on ­Gerrard 15 minutes from time.

Everything looked fairly straightforward for United when they were awarded a penalty after 22 minutes, exactly the sort of thing Benítez might note in his next dossier, though while Park Ji-sung was not exactly carrying the ball goalwards there was no doubt Pepe Reina made ­contact to bring him down. Cristiano Ronaldo stuck away the spot-kick to give United the lead, then promptly returned to ineffective obscurity along with Carlos Tevez and Anderson. Wayne Rooney spent most of the first half gesticulating furiously at his colleagues, though in reality he was not much better. Though always hungry for the ball he rarely used it well and, with the experience of Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Dimitar Berbatov all kept in reserve until the 72nd minute, United found themselves outfought in midfield.

For all that Liverpool's equaliser came out of nothing, Torres taking advantage of momentary United indecision as only he can, significantly he turned provider just before the interval when his measured pass for Gerrard tempted Patrice Evra to take the player instead of the ball and concede a rare home penalty. Gerrard scored it and planted a kiss on a cameraman's lens by way of celebration, clearly not expecting his afternoon to get even better.

All Liverpool needed do was hang on to their lead. The closest United came to scoring in the second half was through a couple of Reina handling mistakes. Yet the home side were so ragged in midfield and nervous in defence they virtually invited their opponents to push for more, and once Vidic had been dismissed for hauling down Gerrard they needed no further asking. Ferguson had just sent on all his three substitutes together but watched powerlessly with them as Fábio Aurélio scored direct from the free-kick. Before Andrea Dossena wrapped things up in the final minute by chipping Edwin van der Sar straight from a Reina clearance, Gerrard missed the easiest chance of the afternoon when he skied into the Stretford End.

It could easily have been five or even six, and if the comprehensiveness of the rout escaped Ferguson, the home fans who left the stadium barely half full by the end seemed to have got the message loud and clear. Those that remained attempted to taunt Liverpool with chants that they would finish the season empty-handed, though that can no longer be taken for granted. While the league remains a big ask, Liverpool will feed off this famous win should the sides' paths cross again in Europe.

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/3/14/1237051168325/Man-Utd-v-Liverpool-Neman-008.jpg)

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/3/14/1237051170895/Man-Utd-v-Liverpool-Sir-A-010.jpg)

Who's cracking up now?
Take your metamucil old man.
Post by: elan on March 14, 2009, 11:19:32 PM
That last goal VDS was absolutely shocking.
Post by: Bakes on March 14, 2009, 11:21:03 PM

Last TWO goals...

Somebody check Van Der Sar's boots for cement.

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=54051790
Post by: acb on March 14, 2009, 11:24:11 PM

the only thing I could think of as I watch that about 3 million times today was in keeping with the constant "waiter" theme was: you got served.

hahahahaaaaaahahaha.

yuh coulda swear Liverpool was playing some sh!t side like Sunderland  ;D ... but not even Sunderland hold 4 - at home to boot!! hahahahaaaa
Post by: elan on March 14, 2009, 11:29:59 PM
On the last goal, he see the ball gonna beat the defense and will bounce where he can't get it and remain rooted in no mans' land. Same thing for Torres goal.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 15, 2009, 12:48:16 AM
Did anyone have a close look at the Gerrard Penalty.  seems to me as he in the motion of taking it....Tevez was waving he hands to Van Der Saar to tell him what direction to dive.  But Gerrard scored anyway.....
Post by: acb on March 15, 2009, 07:08:11 AM
Did anyone have a close look at the Gerrard Penalty.  seems to me as he in the motion of taking it....Tevez was waving he hands to Van Der Saar to tell him what direction to dive.  But Gerrard scored anyway.....

yeah, but Tevez tell him to dive in the wrong direction anyway.
Lately, Man U tactics for penalties and trying to circumvent the rules becoming obvious.

First it was Foster using an iPod to watch video of Tottenham players kicking penalties.
Now is Tevez lining up behind the kicker to signal to the keeper what direction to go.

Didn't matter though. Goal in dey asshole!!! hahahaaaaaa
Post by: WestCoast on March 15, 2009, 07:58:39 AM
yuh coulda swear Liverpool was playing some sh!t side like Sunderland  ;D ... but not even Sunderland hold 4 - at home to boot!! hahahahaaaa
aye
jez cause Sunderland is 14th doh make dem ah shit side eh :devil:
Post by: acb on March 15, 2009, 08:03:41 AM
aye

14th and 3 points out of relegation. lol.
Post by: WestCoast on March 15, 2009, 08:09:28 AM
aye

14th and 3 points out of relegation. lol.
yeah that basement crowded
5 pts seperate 5 teams out of the relegation zone
Post by: giggsy11 on March 15, 2009, 08:21:52 AM

To me it look like he was trying to help him center him self in the goal. VDS almost saved it anyway.
Post by: acb on March 15, 2009, 09:11:11 AM

To me it look like he was trying to help him center him self in the goal. VDS almost saved it anyway.

Like Reina almost save CRonaldo penalty ... without the "aid" of someone to tell him where center was.

Maybe what VDS needed was someone to tell him where the goal line was, cuz he get a yellow card for not being able to stay on it.
Post by: sammy on March 15, 2009, 09:16:44 AM

Like Reina almost save CRonaldo penalty ... without the "aid" of someone to tell him where center was.

Maybe what VDS needed was someone to tell him where the goal line was, cuz he get a yellow card for not being able to stay on it.

maybe u should study bout chec and the embarrasing 1mph penalty he collect.

Post by: acb on March 15, 2009, 09:30:29 AM

maybe u should study bout chec and the embarrasing 1mph penalty he collect.

at least Cech move.
What was that on goals #3 and #4 from VDS?

arthritis?
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 16, 2009, 10:41:42 AM

"Almost" only counts in Horseshoes and Hand Grenades!
Post by: elan on March 16, 2009, 10:49:23 AM

If my players had to help my GK center heself for a PK, then I won't call him a goalkeeper.

-The ball alone will tell you where the center of the goal is. At most soccer field the PK spot is 12 yard from the goal line in the MIDDLE of the goal
-The GK is normally positioned on the goal line and therefore just need to look to the left or to the right to know if he is central.
- Top goalkeepers are taught that they can get their bearing of where their goal is and what part of the goal they are positioned in by looking at different marking on the field
Post by: Pointman on March 16, 2009, 11:40:27 AM

Worst day possible... there is never a time when a loss against Liverpool is anything but devastating. Liverpool...sigh...

Anyway after Fergie chews a few men a new one, it make for a more focused run-in. What was he thinking leaving Anderson on for so long?

My sentiments exactly...ah cyar think of a worse team to lose too...sigh. >:(
Post by: palos on March 16, 2009, 12:23:44 PM

Jus preparation for more of the same to come on April 5th and May 16th.. 8)
Post by: Pointman on March 16, 2009, 12:39:52 PM

Jus preparation for more of the same to come on April 5th and May 16th.. 8)

We shall see. I'll remind you of this posting when the time comes ;) :beermug: