May 14, 2024, 12:36:47 AM

Author Topic: Beckham arrives in Trinidad amid kidnap fears  (Read 3051 times)

Beckham arrives in Trinidad amid kidnap fears
« on: September 27, 2010, 10:01:06 AM »
From ANI

London, Sep 26: To help swing the 2018 World Cup bid in England's favour, midfielder David Beckham arrived in Trinidad and Tobago amid a huge security operation over fears that he could be a kidnap target.

The former England skipper, who arrived in the Caribbean on Sunday morning, was greeted with a huge police presence, with scores of plain-clothes bodyguards to protect him.

Trinidad is a world famous tourism hotspot as well as the world's kidnap and murder capital, The Daily Star reports.

A senior police officer said: "We will be taking no risks with our dignitaries. Security is at its highest."

This year alone there have been a staggering 354 murders, among a population of around 1.1million.

Beckham, 35, arrived in Trinidad by private jet. He then watched the women's U17 World Cup final alongside Fifa president Sepp Blatter and will today launch a football festival for youngsters on the islands.

Copyright Asian News International/DailyIndia.com
http://www.dailyindia.com/show/399154.php

Re: Beckham arrives in Trinidad amid kidnap fears
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 10:18:28 AM »
From ANI

London, Sep 26: To help swing the 2018 World Cup bid in England's favour, midfielder David Beckham arrived in Trinidad and Tobago amid a huge security operation over fears that he could be a kidnap target.

The former England skipper, who arrived in the Caribbean on Sunday morning, was greeted with a huge police presence, with scores of plain-clothes bodyguards to protect him.

Trinidad is a world famous tourism hotspot as well as the world's kidnap and murder capital, The Daily Star reports.

A senior police officer said: "We will be taking no risks with our dignitaries. Security is at its highest."

This year alone there have been a staggering 354 murders, among a population of around 1.1million.

Beckham, 35, arrived in Trinidad by private jet. He then watched the women's U17 World Cup final alongside Fifa president Sepp Blatter and will today launch a football festival for youngsters on the islands.

This article have some inaccuracies

Nobody eh lookin to kidnap David Beckham

And den it sayin we is a world famous tourism hotspot

And on top a dat, dey sayin we is de murder and kidnap capital of the world

Maybe Columbia, South Africa & Mexico dem not in de world

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 10:19:24 AM »
From ANI

Is the PP who sent that press release to they home base.

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 10:38:31 AM »
From ANI

I noticed dat !..Kidnap & Murder capital of the world ?  :D

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 11:12:14 AM »
elan!!!
Hear this,the PP base is right there in Trinidad  and while you are on the point of "base" wher did you feel PNM base wudda be,I'll answer that for you...Laventille.I personally would rather have my base somewhere less daunting than Laventille.Listen carefully now,Beckham would not be kidnapped because he is white,if you have any sense you would know he is the wrong colour and race,yuh unnastan.You should try and avoid politics in your conversation,its bad for your health.

« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 11:19:14 AM »
oh oh .

« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 11:24:21 AM »
Elan like dem aint know you is "PNM til ah dead" so you could not help it but make dat comment in this thread  :D

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2010, 11:37:38 AM »
It would be interesting to know of the 354 murders in T&T, what percentage of that is gang/drug related.
I suspect they might be mixing up T&T with Jamaica (Jamaica is a world tourist hotspot, and Jamaica has one of the higgest murder rate in the world). I would say maybe 80% of all murders committed in Jamaica are as a result of reprisals or gang/drug related. In any case, T&Ts 345 murders from a 1.1 million population 2iould put it right behind Jamaica as the second highest murder rate in the English speaking Caribbean.

« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2010, 11:40:10 AM »
reggae fan T&T population is about 1.3 million...

yeh i cant help but make that correction  ;D

« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2010, 11:42:31 AM »
From the TrinidadExpress

BENDING IT LIKE BECKHAM: England and LA Galaxy football star David Beckham goes through a drill with children at his self-titled academy at the Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence in Macoya yesterday. —Photo: KRISHNA MAHARAJ

« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2010, 11:52:35 AM »
d children go kidnap him lol. That article like is d blast or bomb who write it. Total bullshit

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2010, 11:53:25 AM »

1.1/1.3, still a small population

« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2010, 11:55:36 AM »

I never said it was not a small population. Is this is your way of saying my stats were wrong and thanks for correcting me ?

:D

« Reply #13 on: September 27, 2010, 12:39:13 PM »

assholitis in action

« Reply #14 on: September 27, 2010, 01:01:36 PM »
Alyuh doh feel shame lol.. fess up.. we hold the record.. manage it!

Besides.. BECKS BETTER WATCH OUT DEM OMAN MIGHT... JUS MIGHT KIDNAP EM LOL

Meh cuz say she want ah white child from becks lol

« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2010, 01:08:06 PM »

Paula Gopee-Scoon might bear hug him to death.

« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2010, 01:16:58 PM »
assholitis in action

...thanks for the demonstration.

« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2010, 01:22:00 PM »
This article was almost completely lifted from the Daily Star in the UK. The only less reputable source than the Daily Star is goal.com.

Nothing to see here.  :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2010, 02:15:47 PM »

« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2010, 04:17:10 PM »
Beckham get a hard jam from the youth in dat pic.

« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2010, 04:19:01 PM »

« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2010, 04:24:00 PM »
Elan like dem aint know you is "PNM til ah dead" so you could not help it but make dat comment in this thread  :D

Waving meh balizer!!!

« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2010, 04:58:17 PM »

Waving meh balizer!!!

Ahem, if you are going to labelled a sycophant you might as well get it right.  It's balisier..... ;D

« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2010, 04:59:32 PM »

Waving meh balizer!!!

Ahem, if you are going to labelled a sycophant you might as well get it right.  It's balisier..... ;D
;)

« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2010, 07:51:01 PM »
I think when these numbers are being quoted it is from a proportionate perspective and with our 1.1 / 1.3 mil we might just be the murder capital and kidnap capital of the world. again proportionately speaking.

« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2010, 08:10:32 PM »
Murder capital or not, we have far too many murders.  If we have one kidnapping, it is one too many! So let's stop the arguing and do all we can to make sure our children get an education, play sports and be useful to society.

« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2010, 10:13:40 PM »
"Murder capital or not, we have far too many murders.  If we have one kidnapping, it is one too many! So let's stop the arguing and do all we can to make sure our children get an education, play sports and be useful to society."

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: