Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on October 09, 2006, 08:55:20 PM

Title: Warner snubs Warriors.
Post by: FireBrand on October 09, 2006, 08:55:20 PM
Warner snubs Warriors: T&TFF withhold match fees.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The crumbling relationship between the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) and the "Soca Warriors" seemed to deteriorate further yesterday when FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner refused to speak to the national players.
Warner, who returned to Trinidad on Sunday evening, has not met the squad or the Germany 2006 World Cup players and, according to one Warrior, said that he has no intention of doing so.
"Warner said (via a telephone call with captain Dwight Yorke) that he was not going to see us and we could meet (general secretary Richard) Groden instead," said one player, who preferred to remain anonymous. "But we don't want to see Groden. It is Jack we made the deal with, so it is he we want to meet."
Last Friday, the World Cup players announced their intention to retire from national duty from Thursday because of an alleged breach of contract by the T&TFF.
Their frustration increased on Sunday when the T&TFF failed to pay their match fees for the weekend friendly against St Vincent at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
The Warriors won 5-0 thanks to a Stern John double and a goal apiece from Chris Birchall, Kerry Baptiste and Yorke.
The player claimed the squad was already upset that the T&TFF cut match fees by approximately 75 per cent without consulting the Players' Association. The players were told about the new fee-US$250-just before the squad met in camp at the Crowne Plaza hotel. They are also entitled to a US$1,000 win bonus.
Normally, the T&TFF pays match fees as soon as the squad returns to the team hotel or, at the latest, on the following morning. But, up to last night, the players were still empty handed.
T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes confirmed last night that match fees had not been paid.
"The players are real frustrated," said the anonymous Warrior. "It is not a happy camp. They (the T&TFF) are asking us to be professional but they are not being professional."
Warner has not made a public statement about the rift and continued to hold his tongue yesterday despite being a key figure in the standoff.
The FIFA vice-president agreed to give the Warriors half of the revenue accrued by the T&TFF in the 2006 World Cup campaign last November before the final Play Off qualifiers against Bahrain.
The national footballers went on to earn an unprecedented World Cup place with a 2-1 goal aggregate win over the Asian outfit. In the process, Trinidad and Tobago became the smallest country ever to qualify for a senior FIFA World Cup.
Last week, though, the T&TFF declared the players were due just $141,102 or $5,644.08 per squad member.
Groden, and not Warner, broke the news to the Warriors. The players cried foul play and, three days later, announced their intention to retire from international football.
"As it stands, we made a decision to hand in our resignation and that is what we are going to do (after Wednesday's game)," said the player.
Yorke, who scored a curling free kick on Saturday, might have already played his last game for Trinidad and Tobago. The Sunderland player left Piarco International Airport yesterday evening to rejoin his England Championship Division employers.
Title: Re: Warner snubs Warriors
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on October 09, 2006, 08:57:28 PM
looooorse it jus gets worse and worse....i really pray this ting go be sorted out sooner rather than later yes...it downright embarassing for we country
Post by: dreamer on October 09, 2006, 09:01:39 PM
Excellent penetrating article by Liburd again. Warrior journalist probably risking his life too. Jack is a very sick man who seems to be mentally unstable
Post by: Patterson on October 09, 2006, 09:05:22 PM
A match fee of US$250 that has to be a joke ??? ???
Post by: Rastaman on October 09, 2006, 09:06:30 PM
How the hell they go cut the match fees by 75%.....that is madness
Post by: WestCoast on October 09, 2006, 09:07:57 PM
where is Jennings and the international press when you really need their help?
Post by: Peong on October 09, 2006, 09:12:21 PM
Our TTFF has no shame.
Post by: dreamer on October 09, 2006, 09:25:04 PM
Things getting very crucial now. I strongly recommend all guest visitors to the website, to gather the courage, register right now (it just takes seconds), give youself a nice sobriquet and start putting pen to paper. Your views matter. It looks difficult from the outside but it's no sweat.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 09, 2006, 09:33:57 PM
Half of the WC revenue well how much was the actual WC revenue ?... jack warner part with millions of $$$ that would be the day .... Lasana already screw up Warner's  plans with his "ticket or leave it campaign" . Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want
Post by: g on October 09, 2006, 09:36:14 PM
Disgusting, distasteful, depressing, degrading, downright shameful.
Post by: dreamer on October 09, 2006, 09:40:04 PM
Jackula has to be cornered until he collapses from dodging, running, paranoia, hiding and looking over his shoulder. He is not used to a concentrated blitz of investigatipon. Fellas doh give up. He showing signs of cracking already.
Post by: WestCoast on October 09, 2006, 09:40:29 PM
Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want
this would be GREAT

Jackula has to be cornered until he collapses from dodging, running, paranoia, hiding and looking over his shoulder. He is not used to a concentrated blitz of investigatipon. Fellas doh give up. He showing signs of cracking already.
anybody have Andrew Jennings email?  ;)

here is a link to some articles by Andrew Jennings
http://www.playthegame.org/search.aspx?word=andrew%20jennings
Post by: dreamer on October 09, 2006, 09:45:24 PM
Excellent idea Howler. Lasana Liburd is a source plus the book "Foul" by Jennings should have an email link. Liburd's email was given earlier. Jennings would be delighted to hound Jack down for free with new ammunition.
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 09, 2006, 09:58:03 PM
Jack cyar make dem kinda promises and not kee them.  I doubt the players go lie just so.  $250 as an appearance fee.  That is ludicrous.
Post by: Tongue on October 09, 2006, 09:59:14 PM

basically yuh describing ah manicou....so once dah torchlight in Austin eyes all fall dong.
Title: Re: Warner snubs Warriors.
Post by: Socapro on October 10, 2006, 04:06:32 AM
The player claimed the squad was already upset that the T&TFF cut match fees by approximately 75 per cent without consulting the Players' Association. The players were told about the new fee-US$250-just before the squad met in camp at the Crowne Plaza hotel. They are also entitled to a US$1,000 win bonus.
Normally, the T&TFF pays match fees as soon as the squad returns to the team hotel or, at the latest, on the following morning. But, up to last night, the players were still empty handed.
T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes confirmed last night that match fees had not been paid.
"The players are real frustrated," said the anonymous Warrior. "It is not a happy camp. They (the T&TFF) are asking us to be professional but they are not being professional."

It seems that there's a ploy by the TTFF to break the spirit of our players by drastically & unethically cutting their match fees as punishment for them demanding that they the TTFF (or to be more accurate JW) do the honorable thing!

I believe the TTFF is trying to frustrate the players so that they don't play to their full potential against Panama.
A possible bad performance againt Panama will give the TTFF an excuse to say that the players who have threatened to retire are disloyal and unprofessional and not as good as they make themselves out to be and can be easily replaced by loyal local players who are too broke or scared to stand-up to them (the TTFF)!

And someone once tried to convince me that slavery was over?!

Well not as far as the TTFF is concerned!

Hence they don't like men like Nakhid who speak out against the bobol and chased him away but we need men like him to come back and take over the running of the TTFF!

Despite all the off field frustrations our current band of Soca Warriors with World Cup experience under their belt still need to go out there and put on a great performance against Panama to back up their argument that they are valuable to our efforts to qualify again in 2010.

This is crunch time and will be a defining moment for the future of our football! Hopefully we can clean-up the runnings of the TTFF for once and for all and get things on track for 2010 qualification!

All Soca Warrior supporters need to stand up and be counted right now!

We should all be behind our players 100%!!

If yuh agree with me then raise yuh hand!  :afro:
Post by: Brownsugar on October 10, 2006, 05:08:58 AM
Jack Warner is ah even bigger arse dan ah thought......he and de TTFF want to spite de players simply because dey asking questions about something that is obviously not right somewhere with the figures given....

Oh Lord put ah hand!!!.....ah hope de boys doh break and continue to stand up to Jack and he puppets....

Man ah damn vex!!! >:( >:( >:(
Post by: truetrini on October 10, 2006, 05:32:09 AM
Half of the WC revenue well how much was the actual WC revenue ?... jack warner part with millions of $$$ that would be the day .... Lasana already screw up Warner's  plans with his "ticket or leave it campaign" . Well this latest incident could bring about the change that we all want

hush yuh arse.   Hush yuh stink arse...ent yuh was saying dat Lasana hounding Jack fuh no good reason....now?  ent jes de odder day yuh was real defending Warner, you and a host of odder shit hounds who does post shit all de time?

steups...or steeps....or whatever sound allyuh lips does make when allyuh KISSING WARNER arse!

Me eh calling no more names, allyuh is big hard bach bullers and allyuh know allyuh name.

Is jes ah business, is jes de man making some change, ah glad is ah trini and some some white man..etc.

Win is ah  white man and he go rape allyuh too!  Maybe not as it pertains to the players on the playing field, but as it pertains to football administration and how he deals with football minds in T&T!

He is another one with he fast ass mouth bad mouthing de very same players he supposed to be coaching and developing.

Ent de TTFF make Nig bold state,ents that he take over all aspects of de football team except for goal keeper training.

Allyuh still with allyuh f**king colonial mentality yes.

STeUPS!
Post by: Jah Gol on October 10, 2006, 05:39:29 AM
Warner is a liar and thief. He cannot be trusted and must not be allowed to jeporpise our WC2010 campaign.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 10, 2006, 08:26:39 AM

hush yuh arse.   Hush yuh stink arse...ent yuh was saying dat Lasana hounding Jack fuh no good reason....now?  ent jes de odder day yuh was real defending Warner, you and a host of odder shit hounds who does post shit all de time?

steups...or steeps....or whatever sound allyuh lips does make when allyuh KISSING WARNER arse!

Me eh calling no more names, allyuh is big hard bach bullers and allyuh know allyuh name.

Is jes ah business, is jes de man making some change, ah glad is ah trini and some some white man..etc.

Win is ah  white man and he go rape allyuh too!  Maybe not as it pertains to the players on the playing field, but as it pertains to football administration and how he deals with football minds in T&T!

He is another one with he fast ass mouth bad mouthing de very same players he supposed to be coaching and developing.

Ent de TTFF make Nig bold state,ents that he take over all aspects of de football team except for goal keeper training.

STeUPS!

Wim already say how he will develop players so that talk done.... .... so how is that wim fault yuh blaming wim fuh that they give him d wuk ........... And i done with you on this warner talk ...
Post by: truetrini on October 10, 2006, 08:31:29 AM
yuh done with me on de warner talk becasue yuh know yuh was wrong, be ah man and admit it.  lol

As for Wim, I know he get ah wuk, he need to do it and shut tuh f**k up with de bad mouting ah de players and people who bury dey navel string in T&T like Lincoln Phillips.
Post by: Coop's on October 10, 2006, 08:51:25 AM

STeUPS!
       Aye Breds i'm with you on this all the way,i can't believe what i'm reading from some of these guys,the same people that bash Jennings,Lasana and Nakhid,sometimes i think if we don't know what's going on lets don't just jump to conclusions.What i like about these guys they are just letting us know what's going on behind the scenes,what's affecting our Football.
        People pursue,say and do things for different reasons,some might be personal but if we look carefully when statements are being made by certain people, you must give some thought to it,some of us think with our hearts and not the mind and it's getting us no where,we just have to call a spade a spade but when anyone does that in/about TT Football they are usually vindicated.
         I see someone ask where is Jennings when we need him,since when we need Jennings don't forget he came and our FIFA representative kicked him out,even Lasana was almost baned from the WC,nobody wrote any letter in support of any of them.Someone ask if we get rid of the present administration who we going to put,here are some names to consider,Sammy Llewelyn,Gally Cummings,David Nakhid,Jan Steadman,Lincoln Phillips,Pro League Exe Com.,Lasana should take the place of Shawn Fuentes.    
Post by: dreamer on October 10, 2006, 09:13:42 AM
Hey Coop's. I like your comments. What I'm interested in is how is the change of personnel in the TTFF to be implemented?  How daunting a task is it still, if they realize that a whole new movement is ready to back them. Are they willing or are we just romanticizing their names? The Lasana to replace Shaun is interesting. Shaun Fuentes has been a loyal soldier and collaborator with the information aspect of the football campaign. He has been trying to avoid the politics but has no choice but to kiss Jack's behind as that's the hand that feeds him. He is one who might have to receive some collateral damage. Poor fellah, but that's life.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 10, 2006, 09:20:37 AM
Correction to yah post coop

I see someone ask where is Jennings when we need him,since when we need Jennings don't forget he came and our FIFA representative kicked him out,even Lasana was almost baned from the WC,nobody wrote any letter in support of any of them.Someone ask if we get rid of the present administration who we going to put,here are some names to consider,Sammy Llewelyn,Gally Cummings,David Nakhid,Jan Steadman,Lincoln Phillips,Pro League Exe Com.,Lasana should take the place of Shawn Fuentes.    

Post by: jamaica2099 on October 10, 2006, 09:32:47 AM
It seems Jack faith and trust all along was in the dollars. I seems he is saying: "I got what I want from T&T in the World Cup. Now to hell with the bunch of you."
What's the motto on the US dollar again?  :devil: 
Post by: Dutty on October 10, 2006, 09:35:02 AM
It seems Jack faith and trust all along was in the dollars. I seems he is saying: "I got what I want from T&T in the World Cup. Now to hell with the bunch of you."

I think it says

"In god we trust, in Jamaica we buss"
Post by: Midknight on October 10, 2006, 10:42:21 AM

STeUPS!
       Aye Breds i'm with you on this all the way,i can't believe what i'm reading from some of these guys,the same people that bash Jennings,Lasana and Nakhid,sometimes i think if we don't know what's going on lets don't just jump to conclusions.What i like about these guys they are just letting us know what's going on behind the scenes,what's affecting our Football.
        People pursue,say and do things for different reasons,some might be personal but if we look carefully when statements are being made by certain people, you must give some thought to it,some of us think with our hearts and not the mind and it's getting us no where,we just have to call a spade a spade but when anyone does that in/about TT Football they are usually vindicated.

If you put lasana in shaun position don't expect him to act any differently. You really think that if Sammy Llewellyn David and Jan doing nonsense Lasana would call them out when is them paying his salary? Shaun does his job very well; his role has never been to get involved in the politics. If you want to get rid of him for "collaborating with the evil regime" you might as well fire all the referees and the current players that didn't protest as well... ::)

Don't turn the "revolution" into a "witch hunt"...

As for Gally Cummings, with all due respect to him and to you, that man need a serious purge to get rid of all that bitterness before he accept any position of authority in TNT football...
Post by: weary1969 on October 10, 2006, 11:23:36 AM
Jack and dem could spoil vomit. You take big man fro England and pay them $250 US. They cyah even carry back they mother or gyul back with them with that money. It plain sickening.
Post by: dreamer on October 10, 2006, 11:40:58 AM
Good post again Midknight. Your points sink in good dey
Post by: Coop's on October 10, 2006, 12:03:11 PM
Midnight is just that i like to hear both sides of a storey and with Shaun you only get one.

I already said don't be mad at Gally for the way he feels about T&T Football,the guy is just paranoid,is like a Boxer who have been taking blows for years and never win a championship,he still feels he deserves or Football owes him something,tell me a job outside of Football that he has ever done.

When ever situations like these arise i does only hope at the end of the day it's for the betterment of our Football.   
Post by: Brownsugar on October 10, 2006, 12:26:14 PM

I think it says

"In god we trust, in Jamaica we buss"

Aye Dutty yuh have mih rolling......again!!!
Post by: redtrinigirl on October 10, 2006, 01:08:43 PM
For those who want it, this is Andrew Jennings' email address:

andrewsuper@btconnect.com
Post by: marcus on October 10, 2006, 01:17:56 PM

I feel Jack's intention is to bow out of all of this, and let the TTFA crumble without him at the forefront.... I fugure in his mind it doh matter what he do! He will always get shyt talk... so he stepping back and let fire bun everybody, that is how I see it

but he should at least see to it that the players get paid what is due from the World cup competition...

Post by: spideybuff on October 10, 2006, 01:34:09 PM
Jack goign to make them wait til last minute then ride back in and pay them and make it look like he using his own money to pay the players like some hero, while the government eh doing anything. Steups...
Post by: Socapro on October 10, 2006, 01:50:39 PM
Jack goign to make them wait til last minute then ride back in and pay them and make it look like he using his own money to pay the players like some hero, while the government eh doing anything. Steups...

This is a TTFF issue, has nothing to do with the government!

The government has already honoured its World Cup promises and well done to them for that!

And Jackula made promises on behalf of the TTFF which is yet to be honoured. Plain & simple, the TTFF or Jack which is one and the same need to honour their promises to the players and stop taking big man for fool!  >:(
Post by: supporter on October 10, 2006, 02:08:57 PM
oh gawd i havent even gotten caught up on these ttff/players rift stories and they just keep piling up on me. This relationship deteriorating fast fast. I used to like Warner solely cuz i thought he pumped in alot of money but ever since simpauls I now see the light. The one thing he had going for him was that he contributed alot of money, but when you realise what he takes back and the disorginized ttff then you come to your senses.

But im dreading catching up on these stories cuz only the players and fans lose.
Post by: dreamer on October 10, 2006, 02:15:12 PM
Supporter yuh better catch yuhself quick quick. The fans will gain! yes there is a possibility that we could lose a team for a while but that is the sacrifice that we must make. Jackula is hoping that fans predominantly share your sentiment so that we would not have the courage to fight for long term gains over short term pimp benefits
Post by: WestCoast on October 10, 2006, 02:34:50 PM
I think dat TnT football and the fans will win big time as the leeching of the money that is rightfully meant for TnT Football will not happen. Just try an put ya head arong dis.....think how good TnT football would be if the scimming (example: paying $1 for TV rights and that perosn pockets the profits...who does that money really belong to?) would STOP
and to think of the other situations that he was BOLD faced to admit too and be caught at.  then iagine the money he scimmed and he did NOT get caught at because he buddies in FIFA turn a blind eye.
Post by: supporter on October 10, 2006, 02:51:57 PM
dreamer, ah not saying the fans shouldnt stick up to Jackula, and in fact maybe this is the last straw and we can turn the corner with him once and for all. But our beloved players are disrespected and the fans must feel that way too, especially the ones contributing vanishing tax dollars that were intended for the team! And this happenin when our players come home for two games where the fans should be celebrating and not in the middle of this f**kery.
Post by: che on October 10, 2006, 05:04:02 PM
Jackula and Cramps must GO! >:(
Post by: Trini on October 11, 2006, 08:41:48 AM
Allyuh watch how this whole situation is viewed by all parties involved.

1) WARRIORS - Boy, wha ever happen to all that $$ that Jack did promise we last year from the campaign, tv rights etc etc. The man say whatever the TTFF get, we will get half, whether is $10 if we had lost to Guatemala in Sept 2006 and the campaign was over, or the millions of $$ if we had somehow made it to Germany. I could really do with that $$ yes, I want to buy a new yacht yes, a promise is a promise. Look at all we do for we country.

2) Jack Warner - Boy wha really wrong with them players???? For the last 10 years I paying them match fee out of my pocket, paying for flight for the whole team, hotel, etc etc. I pump in real millions of my own $$ and look how them on my back for some more money. See how black people is, steups!

3) TTFF - Well we not really involved here, cause that is between Jack and the Warriors...We could try a negotiation thing, but in truth, we are really toothless dogs here, jack have all the rank. Also, why did the players make it sound like is the TTFF they have gripe with in that press conference last week before the St Vincent game? They coulda come clean and say the gripe was with Warner from minute one. No wonder we was 'mortified'.

4) Government - Allyuh clean up allyuh blasted act nah! And seeing that it look like the deal was cut between Warner and the players, is now we supporting the players. We will give it a spin of 'tarnising national reputation' just to get some blows in on the UNC exec....

5) Supporters - Lord have mercy, here we go again. We support the fellas anyday. the Govt, the TTFF and Warner all wrong, to hell with them, we luv we Warriors! Also, if them fellas really retire, we as good as dead for the 2010 campaig.

Jennings - AHA! Some new smoke to investigate!

Liburd - I am a reporter, my duty is to neutrally investigate and provide the facts. You could be spranger smith on the junction or FIFA VP, i aint care, people deserve to know the truth! (i am also setting a new standard for reporting in T&T, and I am the patriarch! My name is now well known in world football circles. Watch my career take off now,the gazetto del sporto in milan will have to come good to get me now to report on italian soccer).

JFF - Gosh, I though we was in a bad state seeing that our team playing so much shit these days and they calling for Burrel to return...This kinda taking some attention away from us..If we could only beat canada, we moving back on track.

Mexican FF - Well it look like Jack in some doo doo, let we go down and show some support personally. As usual, he will ride through this storm like he has always done, and he will rate we big time, rememebr we want to host the WC just now eh......

St Vincent - Gosh, like we come in here to steal the show and now this crap stealing our thunder. The players might be distracted, we bound to beat them...

Panama - We dont really care, all we want to do is finally get a result over T&T.

Dookeran - We need transparency.

Panday - No comment.
Post by: Dutty on October 11, 2006, 08:45:54 AM
Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice one Trini  ;D :applause:

but yuh fuhget Liburd.............and de fellah dat does run de rum shop in princes town