May 08, 2024, 12:02:47 AM

Author Topic: Where are we?  (Read 1207 times)

Offline PortValeChris

Where are we?
« on: June 01, 2006, 02:02:39 PM »
A man and his wife are driving through the Welsh countryside when they came across a roadsign: ‘Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.’ After the husband attempts to say it, his wife starts laughing – and quickly, the pronunciation soon becomes an argument. So much so, in fact, that they’re still debating as they pull into a restaurant in town. As they're settling their bill, the wife can’t help questioning the cashier. ‘Excuse me, but would you mind settling an argument between my husband and me?’ she asks. ‘Could you pronounce the name of where we are? Only please do it very slowly.’ The cashier rolls her eyes, and leans forward. ‘Liiiiiiiittttlllllleeeee Chhhheeefffff,’ she says.

Can any trinis say that word?  £10 for any one who can  ;D
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 02:22:36 PM by PortValeChris »
PortValeChris  AKA The Former TVV from onevalefan. 

Port Vale  We want ah goal!!

To market, to market, with my uncle Jim
Somebody threw a tomato at him
Now, Tomatoes don't hurt with their soft juicy skin
But this one it knackered, 'cause it come in a tin

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
Re: Where are we?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 05:38:00 PM »
u make up dat word jed!!!

a sure u an all cyah pronounce it ;D

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2006, 11:48:21 PM »
 A welsh school teacher friend of mine taught me how to say it,  it took her three days.  Click on the link below.  ;)

http://llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.com/index_files/roadsign.gif
PortValeChris  AKA The Former TVV from onevalefan. 

Port Vale  We want ah goal!!

To market, to market, with my uncle Jim
Somebody threw a tomato at him
Now, Tomatoes don't hurt with their soft juicy skin
But this one it knackered, 'cause it come in a tin

Offline cowman

• doubles slight pepper extra kuchela
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2006, 03:43:13 AM »
the joke real stale buh da is a real place in wales i think there is a train station there as well i sorry for the people living dey when dey have to write the address.

and for anybody trying to pronunce it the double L is pronunced sorta like a cl
for example llewelyn is clewelyn

Offline jose

« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2006, 02:52:12 PM »
too much work yes