Sports => Football => Topic started by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:40:10 AM

Title: U20 WC: Spain v Czech Republic
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:40:10 AM
Second Quarterfinal. From Edmonton.
7:30PM ESPN U, Galavision

Comeback kids lock horns
http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches/round=249410/match=58889/preview.html#comeback+kids+lock+horns

Both Spain and the Czech Republic had to rally from two goals down, against Brazil and Japan respectively, to reach the last eight and their never-say-die spirit will be put to the test again when they meet each other in the quarter-finals at the Commonwealth Stadium.

The game
Spain v Czech Republic, Edmonton, 14 July, 17.45 (local time)

The stakes
The final four is the preferred destination for both teams but while one of them will be staying in Edmonton for the semi-finals against either Austria or USA on 18 July, one side will be heading back to Europe.

The players
Jakub Mares is suspended for the Czech Republic after coming on as a second half substitute in the penalty shoot-out win against Japan in the Round of 16. They also have three players carrying injuries in Tomas Oklestek (shoulder), Lukas Kuban (leg muscle) and Ondrej Kudela (thigh), of which Oklestek is the most doubtful to feature. Spain coach Gines Melendez says a few of his squad have knocks but he does have any major fitness concerns and should have everyone available for selection.

The past
The two sides met at U-20 level in a friendly in March this year, which Spain won 3-1 on home soil. They also drew 1-1 in a qualifier for the FIFA World Youth Championship 2003. At senior level, Spain met the former Czechoslovakia at the 1962 FIFA World Cup™ and the Czechs won their only contest in a FIFA final competition 1-0.

The words
"It will be a very, very tough game against the Czech Republic. It might even be harder than the one we had against Brazil. The morale is high because we have been playing very well and if we win we are on our way to the semi-finals. We are a very united team." Gines Melendez, Spain coach

"To be in the last eight is a little bit of a dream come true but we are more than dreaming now. We would like to stay in Canada for as long as possible, hopefully going as far as the final. I don't care if we win in 90 minutes, extra-time or on penalties again... we just want to win." Miroslav Soukoup, Czech Republic coach

"It was very important to me to score against Brazil and I'm looking forward to playing against the Czech Republic. There are no easy games in a World Cup and every team does their best, so we will probably see a lot of matches won by the minimum difference." Alberto Bueno, Spain forward

"We are happy to have made it as far as the quarter-finals but we are not satisfied at leaving it there. I don't know what we can expect in the future but there is still room for improvement and I hope we can do that as the tournament progresses." Jan Simunek, Czech Republic captain
Title: ESP vs CZE Under-20 Quater finals
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 05:50:01 PM
Going on right now. 0-0 after 5 mins
Title: Re: ESP vs CZE Under-20 Quater finals
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 05:58:25 PM
allyuh treating my thread bad http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=29245.0

:D
Title: Re: U20 WC: Spain v Czech Republic
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 05:59:45 PM
Go Czech ;)

ahrite Bitter, ya ketch meh  ;D
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 06:00:48 PM
They's ah real fierce game, allyuh would like it.
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 06:01:16 PM
allyuh treating my thread bad http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=29245.0

:D

lol Sorry, ah didn't see.
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 06:17:25 PM
You better czech yuhself...

ok, that was poor, kinda like this game.
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 06:35:21 PM
You better czech yuhself...

ok, that was poor, kinda like this game.

I find it started off good. The Czechs were real pressing.
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 06:58:29 PM
Spain kicking the ball hard hard like they vex with it.
Plenty running.
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 07:05:18 PM
My old coach used to say let the ball do the work, but that was long time thing I guess.

I find the Czech defense should figure out by now that Capel either only have a left foot, or he under instructions to cross from that angle. De man doing 360 and plenty dribbling to get a cross over. By the time he done, the defense done set up in the area.
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 07:32:09 PM
wap nin to spain?
day ent want to score or wha?
Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2007, 07:40:37 PM
wap nin to spain?

i here wondering the same thing. dem men running whole second half and doh have nuttin to show for it. extra time now, ah hope dey doh end up like de senior team...
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 07:50:59 PM
wap nin to spain?

i here wondering the same thing. dem men running whole second half and doh have nuttin to show for it. extra time now, ah hope dey doh end up like de senior team...

Yuh jus know Czech go poison them in a penalty shootout.
Post by: Observer on July 14, 2007, 07:52:44 PM
This is why I could never like teams like CR. Dem playing for penalty kicks since the opening whistle.
Watch they go score off a set play or something
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 07:54:22 PM
wap nin to spain?
Yuh jus know Czech go poison them in a penalty shootout.
GGGGOOOOAAAAALLLLL :o :o
very lucky bounce for Czech ;)
really did not expect Czech to score eh ;)
and Japan was very unlucky....Czech get two penalties?  :o
Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2007, 07:55:17 PM
so said so done. CR goal off a corner. the Spain goalie need a lickin for the way he come out for that ball.
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 08:04:04 PM
Game on
Spain Scored
all tied up again
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:04:18 PM
Spain finally get the lucky bounce.

1-1

And back to Czech poisoning them in the penalty shootout  :D
Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2007, 08:06:02 PM
Spain finally get the lucky bounce.

1-1

And back to Czech poisoning them in the penalty shootout  :D

but in all seriousness, how many times Spain hit the post tonight? even on the goal, the first youth man hit the post before his partner get the rebound.
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:08:51 PM
I feel some of these spanish is Trinis in disguise eh. They want to dribble they way into the goal.
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 08:09:15 PM
Game on
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 08:09:50 PM
I feel some of these spanish is Trinis in disguise eh. They want to dribble they way into the goal.

but in all seriousness, how many times Spain hit the post tonight? even on the goal, the first youth man hit the post before his partner get the rebound.
FIFA playbyplay says two and one crossbar
http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches/round=249410/match=58889/playbyplay.html
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:12:33 PM
http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches/round=249410/match=58889/playbyplay.html

Wow, somebody who do they own research on the net. You sure you in the right forum?  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 08:15:07 PM

Wow, somebody who do they own research on the net. You sure you in the right forum?  ;D
what else ya want me to do? :rotfl: :rotfl:
watching a game, posting on de forum and researching tings...
I was already on FIFA PlaybyPlay  ;)
    ;D ;D
Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2007, 08:22:12 PM
dem Czechs hitting dem penalties hard.

and look Spain miss!
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:23:15 PM
Hit the bar!
Poison!

Them Czech penalties deadly so far. They should go to England and give lessons.
Post by: Bitter on July 14, 2007, 08:25:27 PM
Pique walk out frighten, Goalie save it!!!

Poison on the penalty shootout.

Czech Republic go through!!!
Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2007, 08:25:58 PM
Spain loss and they have nobody but themselves to blame.

I want to know what kinda football blight the nation of Spain have???  lawd. it must be something the Incas & Aztecs put on them as revenge for pillaging the new world.
Post by: Toppa on July 14, 2007, 08:26:26 PM
Czech keeper did a really good job.
Post by: WestCoast on July 14, 2007, 08:26:45 PM
 :o :o :thinking: :thinking:

spain LORSE dat game
Post by: Organic on July 14, 2007, 08:28:11 PM
game was boring until..de extra time.
just remember is spain allyuh...dem and holland does always break man heart. dey does always...cope out in crunch time..
good offence wins games, good defence wins tournaments. see dat twice today.
all chechs penalties..were very good. thye play to thier strengths..well done.