May 19, 2024, 12:06:26 AM

Author Topic: Birchall vs. Jamerson  (Read 4655 times)

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
Birchall vs. Jamerson
« on: November 20, 2005, 01:57:45 PM »
If you is a goalie and the two men that goin an leggo bullet up in the splau is:

1. Chris Birchall
2. Kerry Jamerson

which one you think you have a better chance of stopping?

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
Re: Birchall vs. Jamerson
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 02:04:01 PM »
This is a no contest, Kerry Jamerson's name is written in T&Ts folklore. If you are a 'sweater' anywhere in Trini, i am sure you have at one moment or the other asked a man to set you up for a Kerry Jamerson.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 02:07:13 PM »
that is what I was thinking.

It didn't matter where you sweat - you always wanted somebody to set you for a Jamerson.

I just wondering if people looking to get set for dem Birchall lasers.

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2005, 02:13:18 PM »
that is what I was thinking.

It didn't matter where you sweat - you always wanted somebody to set you for a Jamerson.

I just wondering if people looking to get set for dem Birchall lasers.

de younger generation who eh know bout "de Kerry" go be talking bout "blasting it like birchall"

But to we de strike squad children it will always be "a kerry" and if ah man beatsing too much ..."wham he feel he is Latapy"....and if ah man throw way is... "ALibeeeey!!!"

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2005, 02:31:55 PM »
good talk..it all depend on de generation

but for real...i doh tink I ever see Birchall laser off target yet. He does get to leggo at least one every game and I never see it fly wide or over de top..is either a defender get in de way...de keeper save it...or GOAL

but Kerry shot...and de celebration after will always be the defining goal for people my age

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 03:07:22 PM »
jus d odder day i was sweatin an ask a man 2 lay it back for d birchy

i only use d term cuz my fadder use to always say lay it bk for d kerry but i never see  him play nor any of his goals soooo...............

birchy for me

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 03:27:35 PM »
lay it back fuh ah birchie ;D

Offline naparima

• <Insert Interesting Comment Here>
    • Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 05:45:31 PM »
is the Kerry!!
set me up for the Kerry... just like the bullet in Guatemala!!
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

Re: Birchall vs. Jamerson.......Jamerson all the way but birchie could hit it
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2005, 05:51:56 PM »
I cyar lie birchie could hit it but after jamerson hit that bomb against el salvador   
I sorry butIi have to say kerry jamerson all the way birchie bullet was rising and the power came more from good timing of his connection but jamerson hit thaT ONE FROM THE GROUND AMD IT MUST BE RISE A FOOT AND STAY THERE...SADDIST IT WAS A NUCLEAR WEAPON UNLEASHED.....BOOOOMMMJMMMM.....I see two other men for TT apart from birhie hit it with venom a man name paul elliot allen and a fella name chinapoo....on the school boy level bavk in the day it had a man from naps used to hit the ball like it do him something  a man named marc aqui.

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 06:04:04 PM »
jus d odder day i was sweatin an ask a man 2 lay it back for d birchy

i only use d term cuz my fadder use to always say lay it bk for d kerry but i never see  him play nor any of his goals soooo...............

birchy for me

Like you still hesitating shotta, it was Kerry, still is Kerry and will always be Kerry.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline ndookie

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2005, 06:11:10 PM »
upload one ah dem goals nah , i too young an i was dead when he must be score that  :-X
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2005, 09:40:15 PM »

I see two other men for TT apart from birhie hit it with venom a man name paul elliot allen and a fella name chinapoo....on the school boy level bavk in the day it had a man from naps used to hit the ball like it do him something  a man named marc aqui.

that man bring out Elliot Allen yes
WOW
But Kerry was ah boss ent Kicker
when we sweating in Fatima grounds long time ah ass did always have to bawl "SET MEH FOR THE KERRY"
and ah man go run and kick the ball with all he might and kick real shit

and when yuh do everything right and throw away infront the goal yuh is ah Philbert Jones

« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2005, 09:51:51 PM »
WHEEEEEY.

Men here doe know about the Kerry!!!!

Imagine men here never experience the Strike Squad era.

In a way this post real showing the generation gaps on the forum.

But small ting, alyuh youngsters doe frighten. kerry was we big foot man long time and Paul Elliot Allen was the next one who could hit like Horse.

Big up the hero of your generation Birchall and I sure he go score a few more by the time WC come around.

Also Birchall kicking is more proper technique and execution.......Kerry was raw power. But Kerry bullets was some low drive. Birchall is a "V" specialist.........at the end of the day is Same goal score

Offline trinibug

« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2005, 10:05:13 PM »
I recall the one against guatemala, b/c that was when men was beginning to feel the fever and so instead of my normal spot in the uncovered stands listening to Nuts Landing and Steppers, I end up under the scoreboard with one setta waggonists and they get me vex, and we needed to win and them coastin and making style and serious game playing, so I walk all the way over to the other side of the stadium behind the other goal and then Jamerson unleash the bullet of the century, the scud, the silkworm missile. I swear to this day, that ball curl up. the keeper dive and the ball rise and go in the net above him, but still maybe 4 ft off the ground. It was rediculous.

And before that, men only cussing in the stands, who want to go and hit which player a bull pistle, when the goal score, it was pandemonium. I get bathe with beer. All kinda sweet woman hug me up, man giving each other pong and saying they knew it all the time. It was great.

The Birchie bullet might never rank that high for me b/c I wasn't actually there. But that goal see some nice bullet eh, Stern leggo vs Mexico, Birchie, Kerry Jamerson.. whereas the other side is where Philbert put down a Philbert. (to this day, a thow away from the 6yd box is a Philbert) and  where Alibey throw way so much, and where "the sun was in my eye".
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 10:16:37 PM by trinibug »
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2005, 10:07:46 PM »
these day when yuh throw way in sweat yuh "Sterning"

« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2005, 10:16:52 PM »
...and do forget Latas

men does underestimate Latas luggaz  cause we like to focus on he dribbling and passing... but Latas technique is correct and right

Ask Mexico when we beat dem 1-0 in 2001. dat was almost ah exact replica ah de Kerry

« Reply #16 on: November 20, 2005, 10:25:08 PM »
...and do forget Latas

men does underestimate Latas luggaz  cause we like to focus on he dribbling and passing... but Latas technique is correct and right

Ask Mexico when we beat dem 1-0 in 2001. dat was almost ah exact replica ah de Kerry

that one when he sting the bar in the last game
that was really a luggaz in truth

Offline ballfever

• Dream d'dream, live d'game!
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2005, 10:46:49 PM »
paul elliott allen...now dah iz nostalgia!!! birchall iz a jus'com by strike squad standardz, buh he name mus' figure when it come to d'bullet....de TT football dicshunary spellin' for bullet though, iz J-A-M-E-R-S-O-N!
if yuh check mih heart in mih chest, mix up wit d'red blood, it have a black & white stripe somewhere in dey!.....long b4 foot ball,durin' world cup and after..T&T FOREVER! WE COUNTRY, WE SPIRIT,WE VIBES! WARRIOR NATION!

« Reply #18 on: November 21, 2005, 12:34:35 AM »
Ron La
Russel Tesheira
Spanner
Chinnas
Elliot
KERRYYYYYYY
ME MOM

« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2005, 07:50:28 AM »
Wha kinda question is that?
Jamerson score one decent bullet for T&T in he life.
The second one vs Guatemala, well lets just say the keeper could have done better, maybe badly blinded. That shot went about 1 foot to his right, and he didnt even react.
We was very lucky.
A top keeper woulda trap that with he right foot.

Birchall goal in the gold cup and the one vs Bahrain was world class, no chance whatsoever for the keepers.

Dont let Jamerson goal because of its significance and memory cloud the question of better quality...

Birchall all the way.

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2005, 08:00:37 AM »
I can't choose between Jamerson and Birchall...I believe Birchall goal against Bahrain was de best out of all ah dem but I bias towards to jamerson and de strike squad era.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2005, 08:03:47 AM »

A top keeper woulda trap that with he right foot.

NAH!!!!
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

you jess didn't say that ....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Girl Warrior

« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2005, 08:04:43 AM »
Fuh now I would go with Jamerson, when I see more of Birchall that might change. Kerry could definitely kick!
The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2005, 09:25:17 AM »
...and do forget Latas

Birchall bullet was harder dan latas strike against mexico man

« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2005, 10:18:09 AM »
That Latas bullet vs Mexico was better than Jemerson second goal vs Guatemala.

Lets look at it like this...
In Nov 19, Jemerson get set up on the top of the box for a textbook trademark bullet. I remember he scuff the shot and it trickle to Meola. We badly needed that.
On nov 12, down 0-1 to Bahrain, Birchall took a deflection pass and out of nutten, nearly buss the net in the V's, when we needed it most.

based on coming through in clutch time, I would say Birchall is better.
In terms of playing your role as a ball winner and technique in passing etc etc, now that may be more open to discussion...
I also cant remember jamerson taking corners and lots of crosses from the wing. He was the Edgar Davids of the 80's...

« Reply #25 on: November 21, 2005, 10:51:51 AM »
BIRCHALL BULLET WAS BETTER!! yuh know why..cause if it wasnt for that bullet we wouldnt be going to germany 06!!!

Offline naparima

• <Insert Interesting Comment Here>
    • Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #26 on: November 21, 2005, 11:25:42 AM »
anyone!!
and ANYONE who say Birchie better than the KJ... just grew up in a different ERA. end of story... cause Birchie is the PREZ... i am the first one to say that... but to say his bullet better than Kerry... allyuh just showing allyuh youth... and my gosh does a 27 yr old now feel old now.

And the man who use P.E. Allen... that is nostalgia fuh real... but sorry dread he wasnt that good.
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2005, 01:19:12 PM »
Also Birchall kicking is more proper technique and execution.......Kerry was raw power. But Kerry bullets was some low drive. Birchall is a "V" specialist.........at the end of the day is Same goal score

I agree wit yuh dey touches, birchall have one of the soundest shooting techniques i have ever seen, the ball headed to the "V" everytime but never goes overbar. I really find he should be taking free kicks from about 30 yards or so, at least he will be hitting the target.

based on coming through in clutch time, I would say Birchall is better.
In terms of playing your role as a ball winner and technique in passing etc etc, now that may be more open to discussion...
I also cant remember jamerson taking corners and lots of crosses from the wing. He was the Edgar Davids of the 80's...

Clutch? i was only 7 in 89 and i remember dem goals home and away vs guatemala, especially the one in the stadium, dat one was in injury time, people does only remember d last match, if we didn't win dat game we wouldn't even have had a chance vs the US, i still remember Ashford Jackman "OH MY GOODNESS, JAMERSON WITH THE THUNDERBOLT!!!!!!!!!!! A TERRIFIC STRIKE FROM KERRY JAMERSON!!!!!!!!!"

« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2005, 04:08:47 PM »
I was behind Latas when he hit dat goal vs. Mex in 2001.

That was unbelievalble placement.

The keeper had the left post covered....Latas face the post at about 40 degrees to the Keeper's left...splice it beautifully... and it went around the keeper...I couldn't believe it scored.

And this was a top notch GK from the 1998 WC.

And once I don't have to face Chinas I happy... :)

« Reply #29 on: November 21, 2005, 04:21:16 PM »
Oh ye Young ones. Ask anyone about Chalkie Hamelsmith and Clive Burnett.
Ask about Gomaldo from QRC in a Intercol Final.

Ask about Bobby Banfield on PSA ground.

Talk to your fathers. Good memories.