Sports => Football => Topic started by: Cartman on January 28, 2007, 12:13:38 PM

Title: Stern John at Sunderland
Post by: Cartman on January 28, 2007, 12:13:38 PM
Hi guys, how you all doing?

There are rumours flying around today that Sunderland are in talks with Stern John, have you heard anything in your part of the world.

I don't really know much about him, how good is he?
Title: Re: Stern John
Post by: JayTheWrecker on January 28, 2007, 12:22:46 PM
he's joint 6th along with Gerd Muller in the list of all-time international highest goal scorers  ;)

# Country Name International goals (Appearances)
1 Iran Ali Daei* 109 (149)
2 Hungary Ferenc Puskás 84 (89)
3 Brazil Pelé 77 (92)
4 Kuwait Bashar Abdullah 74 (132)
5 Egypt Hossam Hassan* 69 (170)
6 West Germany Gerd Müller 68 (62)
 Trinidad & Tobago Stern John* 68 (100)
Post by: Cartman on January 28, 2007, 12:24:26 PM
he's joint 6th along with Gerd Muller in the list of all-time international highest goal scorers  ;)

3 Brazil Pelé 77 (92)

Bloody hell, how old is he?
Post by: JayTheWrecker on January 28, 2007, 12:26:32 PM

3 Brazil Pelé 77 (92)

Bloody hell, how old is he?

30 or 31 i think
Title: 3 top Warriors at Sunderland!
Post by: FireBrand on January 28, 2007, 12:46:57 PM
Yes forumites it's true, Stern's deal with Sunderland was finalized today. He signed a 2 yr contract and is getting a better deal than the one he got with Coventry. I am sure more details about his contract will follow shortly.

All de best Bravo!
Title: Re: 3 top Warriors at Suderland!
Post by: Kingk on January 28, 2007, 12:54:16 PM
Congrats 2 stern :beermug: now all we need is me mum to go there & we good  8)
Post by: JayTheWrecker on January 28, 2007, 12:58:36 PM
not that i don't believe it, but source please?
Post by: saga pinto on January 28, 2007, 12:59:10 PM
WoW That's great news,I could imagine how birchie feeling,he needs to get out also..........and soon.
Post by: FireBrand on January 28, 2007, 01:02:17 PM

Bravo himself ;D
Post by: saga pinto on January 28, 2007, 01:03:38 PM

Bravo himself ;D

That's good talk or yuh joking?
Post by: Peong on January 28, 2007, 01:04:25 PM
Confirmation please.
Post by: FireBrand on January 28, 2007, 01:10:06 PM
All yuh would have to trust me on this until the media gets hold of it. I eh into games and as a director on the WN BOD I will not post fictitious statements.
Post by: g on January 28, 2007, 01:13:30 PM
Nah man allyuh d FireBrand always have d inside scoop long time now. I will trust what he saying till an official release comes out.

Well done stern
Post by: samo on January 28, 2007, 01:18:54 PM
Good news for T&T and Suderland if this is true... Also what is the rule regarding three players away on National duty??? I believe they can get an automatic rescheduling of the match....
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 28, 2007, 01:19:54 PM
jones will probably try to go there also, along with birchall..real good news :beermug:
Post by: TdotTrini on January 28, 2007, 01:22:44 PM
jones will probably try to go there also, along with birchall..real good news :beermug:

Not sure whats the benifit of Jones going there when Southhampton is already in position for posible promotion.

Please explain.
Post by: boss on January 28, 2007, 01:30:01 PM
Other than Wrexham, have we had 3 trinis at an English club before?

Big up Stern!  :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 28, 2007, 01:30:18 PM

boss is if keane want them
Post by: samo on January 28, 2007, 01:33:50 PM
bbc.co.uk
Cannot find anything as yet, but ah see this ting here about Glen...

Stoke are weighing up an approach for Trinidad & Tobago hot-shot Cornell Glen after the striker's departure from LA Galaxy. (The People)

Middlesbrough have joined the chase for Celtic's Shaun Maloney. (Sunday Mirror)

Southampton's David Prutton will complete his £250,000 move back to Nottingham Forest. (Various)

Jlloyd Samuel's miserable spell at Aston Villa is about to come to an end - with Bolton favourites to land the left-back. (The People)
Post by: Themanfriday on January 28, 2007, 01:38:44 PM
THE YEAR OF THE WARRIORS

All dem men getting pick up

NICE fuh real
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 28, 2007, 01:45:40 PM

Not sure whats the benifit of Jones going there when Southhampton is already in position for posible promotion.

Please explain.

well its about chemistry also, jones has a chemistry with these guys, also they will support him and eachother..plus jones is young, keane will want jones to take over when stern leaves, but jones can also make his name with southhampton... :beermug:
Post by: Peong on January 28, 2007, 01:46:56 PM
Bolton fed up of Gardener if that Jlloyd rumour is true.
Post by: TdotTrini on January 28, 2007, 01:50:51 PM
I see what you're saying but with all them Warriors on the same team, wouldn't it be harder depending on the league/team policy for them to be released for international duty.
Post by: trini supporter on January 28, 2007, 01:57:52 PM
If is true this will be good news in deed good luck to stern :beermug: and ah hope things works out fot cornell :beermug:
Post by: black chinee on January 28, 2007, 02:17:00 PM
aye dat is real good news boi...... Stern and Dwight Captained trini in the past.... will he have 3 trini captains at one club? ;) ;) ;)
Post by: dcs on January 28, 2007, 02:29:50 PM
Dwight been playing midfield there?
Post by: Quags on January 28, 2007, 02:49:31 PM
Thanks Firebrand ,quite the insider scoop there  :beermug: ,cartman mention the rumour earlier ,am surprised it happened so fast , big up stern john !! This should be great for there promotion chances .
Post by: Jefferz on January 28, 2007, 02:58:01 PM

Please explain.

well its about chemistry also, jones has a chemistry with these guys, also they will support him and eachother..plus jones is young, keane will want jones to take over when stern leaves, but jones can also make his name with southhampton... :beermug:
haha... I mean I know I should be used to this but... TI... how is it you seem to know... that Keane will want Kenwyne Jones to take over from Stern over the million other striking prospects... how is it that you can just make these far fetched statements with ah straight face... and besides that...

im sorry... i must disagree... Jones has always seemed to be an immense talent and yet I find usually his biggest downfall is that he doesn't seem to have a consistent chemistry with the rest of the team... frequently I find him struggling to sync into a team rhythm
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 28, 2007, 03:04:54 PM

Please explain.

haha... I mean I know I should be used to this but... TI... how is it you seem to know... that Keane will want Kenwyne Jones to take over from Stern over the million other striking prospects... how is it that you can just make these far fetched statements with ah straight face... and besides that...

im sorry... i must disagree... Jones has always seemed to be an immense talent and yet I find usually his biggest downfall is that he doesn't seem to have a consistent chemistry with the rest of the team... frequently I find him struggling to sync into a team rhythm

im juss assuming really, bc keane is favoring our players and has put trust in dem thru dwight and ferguson talking well of dem, of course he has other options he may want to exercise and totally 4get about jones, that is also a strong possibility but the way it is panning out, keane seems to favour our players and their drive to reach the epl...
Post by: Jefferz on January 28, 2007, 03:06:49 PM

Please explain.

im juss assuming really, bc keane is favoring our players and has put trust in dem thru dwight and ferguson talking well of dem, of course he has other options he may want to exercise and totally 4get about jones, that is also a strong possibility but the way it is panning out, keane seems to favour our players and their drive to reach the epl...

hmph... I can see your point... but the possibility of a fourth trini at the Stadium of Light is very slim.
Post by: Grande on January 28, 2007, 03:33:40 PM
Still awaiting confirmation but if Stern staying in the Championship, might as well go to Sunderland or a team on the up and up.

I hope fuh de sake of Birchall that Coventry improves as well
Post by: WestCoast on January 28, 2007, 04:35:02 PM
I hope this is correct.
I have not found any reference to this any where on www.safc.com or the BBC Football site
Addendum: the news is here now  http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/6222283.stm
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 28, 2007, 04:38:09 PM
Dwight hear  wah , jus geh som more warriors on dah team.
Title: Re: Stern John at Sunderland
Post by: rippin on January 28, 2007, 04:48:58 PM
If true I am happy for Stern  with the contract but this cannot bode well for T&T. Keane done try convince Yorke to retire from international football. He hinting to Carlos agent about the same thing and now he going and tie up Stern. Probably I seeing it in the wrong light. Three potential starters to leave at the same time for international duty.
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 28, 2007, 04:55:44 PM
If true I am happy for Stern with the contract but this cannot bode well for T&T. Keane done try convince Yorke to retire from international football. He hinting to Carlos agent about the same thing and now he going and tie up Stern. Probably I seeing it in the wrong light. Three potential starters to leave at the same time for international duty.

yuh know ah did not  think bout it like dat  , yuh know wat dwight dont bother .
Post by: Bourbon on January 28, 2007, 05:20:27 PM
Well.....dat take me by suprise. If true...all the best....but.....I woulda expect some official news report or something so. I kinda apprehensive about the fact that 3 trini's playing for one club....that would be a issue for national duty. Hope he make the most of it. If it true....better dey change de name from sunderland to socaland!
Post by: SUPA on January 28, 2007, 05:36:43 PM
If true I am happy for Stern  with the contract but this cannot bode well for T&T. Keane done try convince Yorke to retire from international football. He hinting to Carlos agent about the same thing and now he going and tie up Stern. Probably I seeing it in the wrong light. Three potential starters to leave at the same time for international duty.

Ah was looking at dis as ah real big up fuh T&T, in dat ah man of Keane status, really approve the standard of ball de T&T players give on de pitch, cuz dat will be de 3rd player there. Of course, Yorke did put in his words wid Carlos and Stern coming tuh Sunderland, but it will always be Keane's decision, tuh say yes or no. However, on de other hand, we have tuh be careful, cuz of de same thing you stated in your post. We will just have tuh keep ah watchful eye on dis, and see how things move along. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: fitzinho on January 28, 2007, 05:54:02 PM
Im taking this news with a grain of salt because there are no reports of it anywhere, not even the transfer rumor sites. I have seen speculation that Birmingham wanted Stern though...guess well have t wait and see :-\
Post by: 1-868 on January 28, 2007, 05:54:39 PM
We have to remember that the TTFF talking fu*kry about using a local and college base squard for the next WC.. The boys have to take care of their busine$$ first.

Maybe they are truely considering forgetting international football

Anyhow, It tne news is True.. bravo Bravo !!!
Post by: Strip on January 28, 2007, 05:55:58 PM
Im taking this news with a grain of salt because there are no reports of it anywhere, not even the transfer rumor sites. I have seen speculation that Birmingham wanted Stern though...guess well have t wait and see :-\

This is FF posting here... I find a link on the Times

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,277-2572011,00.html

Post by: Brej on January 28, 2007, 06:15:38 PM
hm... is da de best we have found?
is this is really true.... ma boy have sum serious inside links
Post by: Filho on January 28, 2007, 06:56:05 PM
Well when Wim lef' de wuk, Roy Keane is a natural replacement. By the time he done, he will already be familiar with half the national team
Post by: trinbago on January 28, 2007, 07:57:16 PM

This is FF posting here... I find a link on the Times

Stern John, the Trinidad & Tobago forward, is expected to complete a £250,000 move from Coventry City to Sunderland today.
Post by: lickslikefire on January 28, 2007, 08:01:51 PM
 :applause: :applause: firebrand have links, so i sure this is true.....

I happy for stern and ting, but ah hope he get some playing time....anthony stokes is pure fyah....
Post by: weary1969 on January 28, 2007, 09:01:30 PM
As Tuches say A for apple, B for Bat C for your self. Stern sign to sue so he might not get pick. Dwight on his way out so is on the Captin in waiting that go have to be released.

It go be interesting the vibes between the signee and the non signees.

Post by: dcs on January 28, 2007, 11:13:37 PM

Waiting to see how Stern style on the pitch match with Keane.  I feel he might have to fight real hard to get minutes....not a  bad thing at all.
He coming in as competition or as a starter....waiting on more info.
Post by: Cartman on January 29, 2007, 03:53:22 AM
I heard from someone yesterday that Stern John was in Sunderland talking to Keane, nothing official yet
Post by: Cartman on January 29, 2007, 04:39:14 AM
It's official now guys, we are signing all your players

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11585
Post by: WestCoast on January 29, 2007, 04:42:54 AM
It's official now guys, we are signing all your players
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11585
onwards to the EPL  ;)
Good One Bravo
Post by: G Force on January 29, 2007, 05:01:29 AM
www.safc.com

Sunderland are set to sign Stern John from Coventry City.

The striker, 30, was in the North-East this morning having a medical and if all goes to plan he could be in Roy Keane's squad for tomorrow's game against Crystal Palace.

Sunderland have agreed an undisclosed fee for the former Nottingham Forest and Birmingham striker who has scored six goals for Coventry this season.

The Trinidad and Tobago international is out of contract with the Sky Blues this summer.

Keane said: "We've agreed a fee over the weekend with Coventry in terms of bringing Stern in and we're looking to finalise that.

"He's a powerful lad and sometimes we've lacked an aerial threat, especially since Browny [Chris Brown] left. We hope Stern will play a part in help us get promotion."

John joined Coventry in September 2004 for £200,000 from Birmingham and has scored 29 goals in 88 appearances, including one against Sunderland on the opening day of this season.

If the deal goes through, John will become the third T&T international on Sunderland's book, following Dwight Yorke and Carlos Edwards to Wearside.
Post by: Rodney on January 29, 2007, 05:17:13 AM
Well, well, well....like Yorke trying he hand at football agent or what!

Best of luck to Stern and ah hope he does the business for the Sunderland fans.

Ah guess that may make Sunderland join an ELITE group of Teams that have played with 3 T&T players in the starting eleven. Wrexham, Gillingham and now possibly Sunderland. Hope you guys have better fortunes  :angel:
Post by: redtrinigirl on January 29, 2007, 05:23:15 AM
This is coming as a complete shock. A couple days I gone, and now this.....hhmmmmm

Not meaning to be the sour puss of the party, but why sign a 30+ striker, who hasn't been scoring lately, with a history of questionable work ethic? I'm all for national pride and all, but I also don't want to be put in a position where I have to defend the poor or disappointing performances of my countrymen.

I admit it... I am not a Stern fan. He is not too consistent. Maybe at international level for T&T he's the best thing to come along since slice bread, but club wise...I dunno.

I truly hope he works hard and shines. Cause if he doesn't, with someone as blunt and vocal as Keane as Manager, he will put the reputation of T&T footballers back by years.
Post by: Cartman on January 29, 2007, 05:46:40 AM
I have read on a Coventry board that they think he is a lazy player, Keane will not allow this. With all due respect to Coventry and Birmingham, playing at the Stadium of light in front of 40,000 passionate mackems will inspire anyone to do well, especially with Keane barking at you from the touchline  :rotfl:

He will not have experienced anything like this at his previous clubs, Sunderland are a club that get under your skin, ask Niall Quinn. He likes the club so much he bought it  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on January 29, 2007, 05:54:04 AM
I have read on a Coventry board that they think he is a lazy player, Keane will not allow this. With all due respect to Coventry and Birmingham, playing at the Stadium of light in front of 40,000 passionate mackems will inspire anyone to do well, especially with Keane barking at you from the touchline  :rotfl:
He will not have experienced anything like this at his previous clubs, Sunderland are a club that get under your skin, ask Niall Quinn. He likes the club so much he bought it  ;D
well it could be the thing he needs to start scoring like he does when he plays for TnT.
Post by: spideybuff on January 29, 2007, 06:14:05 AM
PLUs...they all playing in the RED, WHITE and BLACK all the time !! If that doh motivate Stern to rediscover his tough now, nothing will !!

Carlos sending in crosses, Yorke looking to set him up and Stokes pace will give him space like when he playing with Glen. Stern better score.

Now that Stern there, I figure is Yorke who convince Keane on Anthony Stokes for sure, after Latas recommend him...no wonder Keane say Yorke contribution is more off the field than on it. Like he will be chief scout next year before he get a coaching role in the next 4 years.
Post by: fivers on January 29, 2007, 06:17:49 AM
I real happy for Stern but, I am worried about the fact that we have three players playing for one club. When international duty comes along it will be hard for Roy to let go 3 of his top players for international duty all at once. We shall see how this will go down.
Post by: spideybuff on January 29, 2007, 06:22:40 AM
I real happy for Stern but, I am worried about the fact that we have three players playing for one club. When international duty comes along it will be hard for Roy to let go 3 of his top players for international duty all at once. We shall see how this will go down.

I doh feel it wil be a big scene. The Gold Cup is in off season now (finally). Dwight eh playing no friendlies and Stern should stay as well cause we have an abundance of strikers and he always loses his club place when he makes a trip to Trinidad. So is only really Carlos who hadda be making numerous trips.

And I think Yorke have some pull with Keane when push come to shove...the only questions is which way Yorke will be pulling and shoving. Especially with this nonsense with Jack and the contracts AGAIN !
Post by: Bourbon on January 29, 2007, 06:39:53 AM
Well....It official....

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11588

All de best stern........and make de most of it. Doh make keano cuss yuh.
Post by: boss on January 29, 2007, 07:08:23 AM
Yup, and it's breaking news on the Sky Sports News ticker...I wonder if there will be a news conference..
Post by: Themanfriday on January 29, 2007, 07:15:30 AM
for that amount of money I doubt it
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 29, 2007, 07:16:56 AM
BIG BIG BIG BIG MOVE FOR BRAVO....

UNLEASH THE BEAST ON THE CHAMPIONSHIP AND THEN NEXT YEAR ON THE EPL!

WELL DONE GOD 14 :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on January 29, 2007, 07:21:02 AM
Now i have to get the sunderland kit!!

Congrats to Stern John on getting 2 and a half year contract.

Sunderland for automatic promotion!!

Post by: grskywalker on January 29, 2007, 08:14:59 AM
I see what you're saying but with all them Warriors on the same team, wouldn't it be harder depending on the league/team policy for them to be released for international duty.

I was wondering the same thing, Keane may not like the fact that they may all have to play for TNT or get call up, provided the ttff ain't muck up their future appearances
Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 29, 2007, 08:19:52 AM

I was wondering the same thing, Keane may not like the fact that may all have to play or get call up, provided the ttff ain't muck up their fiture appearances

Looks like the EPL go be good next season :angel: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on January 29, 2007, 08:21:54 AM
But ent Yorke not coming back after the Gold Cup anyway. I don't think it will be too much of an issue to release 2 players for games sanctioned by FIFA.
Post by: Brej on January 29, 2007, 08:28:06 AM
hmm i hope he does well... but he isn't really having the best of seasons and i wonder why keane would take such a gamble on him
Post by: Deeks on January 29, 2007, 08:48:27 AM
Good Luck Stern!!!!
Post by: Grande on January 29, 2007, 09:17:56 AM
"and here is Dwight Yorke, threading a sublime pass through to Carlos Edwards. Edwards tears down the right, sends his marker one way and then another on his backside....Carlos Edwards gets into space, sends the cross in...can he find Stern John? GOALL!! What a finish by the new signing!"

Wouldn't mind hearing this on a Saturday morning...that go make meh day

Good luck Stern doh throw away  :beermug:
Post by: Peong on January 29, 2007, 09:26:54 AM
Well....It official....

All de best stern........and make de most of it. Doh make keano cuss yuh.

Bourbon post de text nah.

Sunderland have completed the signing of striker Stern John from Coventry.

The 30-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international has signed a two-and-a-half-year deal with the Black Cats.

John, who passed a medical and agreed personal terms this morning, becomes the sixth signing made by Roy Keane this month.

He follows Marton Fulop, Carlos Edwards, Anthony Stokes, Jonny Evans Danny Simpson as arrivals since the transfer window opened.

Stern John factfile:
Height: 6' 1"
Weight: 180lbs
Born: October 30, 1976, Trinidad
Past clubs: Malta Carib Alcons, New Orleans Riverboat Gamblers, Columbus Crew, Nottingham Forest, Birmingham City, Coventry City, Derby County (loan).
Post by: che on January 29, 2007, 09:30:52 AM
Sunderlad TTFC  :cheers:
Post by: grskywalker on January 29, 2007, 09:31:11 AM
hmm i hope he does well... but he isn't really having the best of seasons and i wonder why keane would take such a gamble on him

Well think about this, if Stern did not come home for our 2 friendlies he would not have gotten injured and would have been regularly starting for Cventry and scoring. Remember he was on a roll just prior to that appearance.
Post by: Big Magician on January 29, 2007, 09:37:04 AM
keanooo     keanooo    there is only one keanooo        but there are 3 trinis at sunderland

good luck stern....ah taking bets stern will be a sucess at sunderland.....anybody any price...

give latas a run nah keano
Post by: Themanfriday on January 29, 2007, 09:37:54 AM
keanooo     keanooo    there is only one keanooo        but there are 3 trinis at sunderland

good luck stern....ah taking bets stern will be a sucess at sunderland.....anybody any price...

give latas a run nah keano

Now yuh pushing it
Post by: Andre on January 29, 2007, 10:38:56 AM
perhaps the rest of the trini posse could brng out the best of john. sunderland need a bonafide goal scorer.

Sunderland Top Scorers This Season
                   LG    FA    LC   EU   OTH   TOT
    Connolly   7   0   0   0   0   7
    Elliott   5   0   0   0   0   5
    Murphy   5   0   0   0   0   5
    Leadbitter   4   0   0   0   0   4
    Hysen   3   0   0   0   0   3
    Brown   3   0   0   0   0   3
    Wallace   3   0   0   0   0   3
    Yorke   2   0   0   0   0   2
    Whitehd   2   0   0   0   0   2
    Stead   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Miller           1   0   0   0   0   1
    Varga   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Kavanagh   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Collins   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Edwards   1   0   0   0   0   1

John leave Coventry as their top goal scorer of the season for whatever that worth.

Coventry Top Scorers This Season
              LG   FA   LC   EU   OTH   TOT
    John          5   1   0   0   0   6
    Adebola   3   0   1   0   0   4
    McKenzie   3   1   0   0   0   4
    Cameron   2   1   0   0   0   3
    Kyle          2   0   0   0   0   2
    Ward          2   0   0   0   0   2
    Doyle   2   0   0   0   0   2
    Birchall   2   0   0   0   0   2
    Virgo    1   0   0   0   0   1
    Thornton   1   0   0   0   0   1
    McSheffrey   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Hughes   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Mifsud   1   0   0   0   0   1
    Andrews   1   0   0   0   0   1

The Coca-Cola Football League Championship Top Scorers    
Team   TOT
Earnshaw   Norwich   17
Rasiak   Southampton   17
Chopra   Cardiff   16
Iwelumo   Colchester   15
Kamara   West Brom   14
Cureton   Colchester   13
McSheffrey   Birmingham   13
Vine   Birmingham   12
Howard   Derby   11
Lee   Ipswich   11
Gray   Burnley   10
Hayles   Plymouth   10
Nugent   Preston   10
Phillips   West Brom   10
Bendtner   Birmingham   8
Post by: WestCoast on January 29, 2007, 10:42:10 AM
perhaps the rest of the Trini posse could brng out the best of John.
what a great time dem fans in Sunlun would have if that comes to fruition, eh!!!
when our man startback to buss de onion bag like he really could ;)
Post by: jaden on January 29, 2007, 11:31:18 AM
confirmation of stern's move is on skysports.com, he sign a 2 1/2 year deal
Post by: FireBrand on January 29, 2007, 11:37:37 AM
Remember you got it first on socawarriors.net!  ;) ;D
Post by: dreamer on January 29, 2007, 11:47:25 AM
Well done fellas. BBC big story too. Real happy for Sternturninho as he will finally be getting some quality service   :beermug:. He looked quite frustrated at Coventry and was creating more passes than he was receiving. His talent was being wasted there. I will be backing him all de way.

Sunderland complete John signing 
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/6309469.stm

Keane hopes John will add strength to his attacking line-up
Sunderland boss Roy Keane has completed the signing of Coventry striker Stern John on a two-and-a-half-year deal.
The Black Cats agreed terms with their Championship rivals over the weekend for John and Keane has moved quickly to conclude a deal for the 30-year-old.

The Trinidad and Tobago frontman had a medical on Wearside on Monday and becomes Keane's sixth January recruit.

"We have agreed a deal for Stern John," said Keane. "We wanted somebody up front with a physical presence."

John scored 29 goals in 74 starts for Coventry but fell out of favour at the Ricoh Arena this season.

He spent two months on loan at Derby between September and November, although he failed to score in seven appearances, but will now join countrymen Carlos Edwards and Dwight Yorke at the Stadium of Light.

Post by: Mr Fix-it on January 29, 2007, 11:51:20 AM
Ah wonder who else go endup at Sunderland TTFC? :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: grimm01 on January 29, 2007, 12:11:33 PM
Congrats to Stern.
Ah hope having Keane barking behind him will have him on his toes. Ah would really hate to see the man go there and shit down himself especially with ah chance play EPL ball.
Post by: christiano on January 29, 2007, 12:13:25 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/6309469.stm

Found this on BBC.
Post by: dreamer on January 29, 2007, 12:15:51 PM
Just posted this 3 posts above. Pay attention now Christiano. It won't hurt though to post it again.
Post by: Mose on January 29, 2007, 12:53:31 PM
Hmmm... Somebody better teach dem Sunderland fans to sing "T&T! We want a goal!!"
;D :beermug:
Post by: takenoprisoners on January 29, 2007, 01:01:25 PM
Congrats to Stern!  Keane has made a bold move here by giving Stern the opportunity to enhance his legacy, helping the team in a  successful Premiership run,  and getting 2 1/2 years in the Prem has to be one of his wildest dreams.
Who woulda thunk it!
Good luck to them all.
Post by: WestCoast on January 29, 2007, 01:05:01 PM
Hmmm... Somebody better teach dem Sunderland fans to sing "T&T! We want a goal!!"
Mose, ya ready?

Sunderland,      BAM BAM      We Want Ah Goal!!!
Title: John joins Sunderland
Post by: FireBrand on January 29, 2007, 01:08:59 PM
John joins Sunderland.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago striker Stern John became the third "Soca Warrior" to join Sunderland when he signed a two and a half year deal with the English Championship club on Monday.
John agreed to leave Coventry City and join international teammates Dwight Yorke and Carlos Edwards, especially after interest from ex-club Birmingham City fell through.
John, who passed a medical and agreed personal terms this morning, becomes the sixth signing made by Roy Keane this month.
He follows Marton Fulop, Carlos Edwards, Anthony Stokes, Jonny Evans Danny Simpson as arrivals since the transfer window opened.
"It's a good deal and I'm happy to be joining the club. It's a club with a lot of ambitions and we will be going all out to get into the Premiership. That says a lot," John told TTFF Media on signing the deal on Monday morning.
Sunderland boss Roy Keane added: We have agreed a deal for Stern John. We wanted somebody up front with a physical presence."
John scored 29 goals in 74 starts for Coventry but fell out of favour at the Ricoh Arena this season.

Post by: dreamer on January 29, 2007, 01:12:04 PM
2 and a half years is a juicy long run in truth, with a good chance of it being in the Premiership soon. These are the things that excite Stern John. Playing for the sake of playing (as it began to be at Coventry) just doesn't cut it for him. Yuh see how life is? Just when yuh think that yuh in real shit street, something like this happens in yuh life. Wow!

Sunderland will never regret this move! The promotion will be based on the rock of support by these 3. Those T&T boys moving smart these days.
Post by: Quinderland on January 29, 2007, 01:28:12 PM
Mose, ya ready?

You got any links to you guys singing this on Youtube? then ill post these on Readytogo.
W're always looking for new tunes, something nice and simple (like this) is usually best  ;D
Post by: WestCoast on January 29, 2007, 01:45:19 PM
Mose, ya ready?
You got any links to you guys singing this on Youtube? then ill post these on Readytogo.
W're always looking for new tunes, something nice and simple (like this) is usually best  ;D
could only find what was sung for the National team in Germany..(but no crowd singing and featuring our own Tallman ;)  )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UsNAG04cKA
Post by: triniairman on January 29, 2007, 03:28:59 PM
Mose, ya ready?
could only find what was sung for the National team in Germany..(but no crowd singing and featuring our own Tallman ;)  )
We celebrate for ah draw yes, that little video clip with we song raise meh pores and have meh excited home ;D well except for the part when avery get the red card for ah good tackle.
Post by: SAFCMark on January 29, 2007, 03:49:48 PM
so when you guys coming over to the Stadium of Light to take in a game?

Could add to the party atmosphere watching us get promoted...

...fingers crossed...
Post by: Cartman on January 29, 2007, 03:55:20 PM

...fingers crossed...

I will be there tomorrow night mate  ;)
Post by: buzzcock on January 29, 2007, 03:56:25 PM
 There yer gan !

Post by: SAFCMark on January 29, 2007, 04:02:15 PM
if anyone has got SAFC World they could perhaps download the interview with Keane about Stern John which I believe is on and stick it on here. Mods on here seem a bit less stricter on here about copyrighted material than the hitlers over on the SMB
Post by: dreamer on January 29, 2007, 05:01:26 PM
Aye Sunderland posse, feast yer eyes on the goals of the deadliest 2-footed striker that will ever grace the Stadium of Light.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14305.0
Post by: Jefferz on January 29, 2007, 05:40:57 PM
Aye Sunderland posse, feast yer eyes on the goals of the deadliest 2-footed striker that will ever grace the Stadium of Light.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14305.0

he has a point... Stern has the ability to score from well out the box... he's had some legendary bullets from well outside the 18 in which the keeper didnt have much time to even get his feet off the ground while the ball was already cannoning into the back of the net... he did it to Honduras and Mexico... and he has the ability to score in tight spaces... he had a beauty against Panama that seemed near impossible to put away.
Post by: dreamer on January 29, 2007, 05:53:39 PM
And if yuh want a desperate goal from Stern-turn-inho with say just 3 seconds to go, you can count on Stern doing his thing and delivering for you

Stern scoring for Columbus Crew in his MLS days: courtesy Grande man, Flex and the SW.net posse mods

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiUsV4CvmeQ
Post by: pioneertrini on January 29, 2007, 06:11:14 PM
And if yuh want a desperate goal from Stern-turn-inho with say just 3 seconds to go, you can count on Stern doing his thing and delivering for you

Stern scoring for Columbus Crew in his MLS days: courtesy Grande man, Flex and the SW.net posse mods

Di man ball laser beam yes. nice goal.
Post by: triniairman on January 29, 2007, 06:32:55 PM
Anybody have a link for Sunderland games streams and such, i would love to see our guys play together for Sunderland.
PAGING E-MAN   PAGING E-MAN
Post by: trinidad badboy on January 30, 2007, 09:53:20 PM

cant wait to see the 3 trinis in action.. anyone have access to the stern john video on the sunderland website????

bless
Post by: Themanfriday on January 30, 2007, 11:27:57 PM
John did not play. You need to read the thread properly it was like the third post stating so.
Post by: davidephraim on January 31, 2007, 12:38:55 AM

Di man ball laser beam yes. nice goal.

Pioneer, ah like de pic in yuh Avatar. Big up Mickey..
Post by: kounty on January 31, 2007, 01:24:32 AM
Mose, ya ready?
We celebrate for ah draw yes, that little video clip with we song raise meh pores and have meh excited home ;D well except for the part when avery get the red card for ah good tackle.
saddis..you ent really understand what happen dey nah.  daiz sancho who we used to play ketch with lunchtime, and carlos from down the street and dem kinda men, on the biggest stage in the world.  I dunno what you used to dream about when you was little, but I used to dream about playing in the world cup.   i dunno if you understand how improbable it was for us to get there....and not only dat we draw....last time I check sweden still rank 14....even we mighty neighbours mexico close to 30 in rank.  yes horse I was wellin up with pride when I watch that video, we stand tall against a big giant in front of the whole world...and I bet you if we make it again next time commentators go be cautious and ent go be talking no 5 and 6 goal trash...and daiz b/c of them men.  damn right celebrate the draw!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on January 31, 2007, 06:26:02 AM

...fingers crossed...

We will have to send the Lavantille Rythmn Section for all yuh too.....den de party really start!!... ;D
Post by: Makm on January 31, 2007, 06:48:22 AM

...fingers crossed...

We will have to send the Lavantille Rythmn Section for all yuh too.....den de party really start!!... ;D

Definitely! The atmosphere at the game needs livening up sometimes.

Post by: Cartman on February 02, 2007, 12:25:29 AM
Come on Stern John, I have heard he is on the bench tomorrow against Coventry, I am sure he will get on somewtime during the game as Keane tends to use all of his subs.

I am really looking forward to seeing him in a red and white shirt. If he give 100% effort the fans will love him.

Prediction

2nd half - John comes on for Anthony Stokes with 15 minutes left, Yorkie wins the ball in midfield as he always does and finds Carlos on wing, Carlos races to the byeline and whips in a beautiful cross. John chests the ball down 20 yards out a burries it in the top corner

Sunderland win 1 - 0  8)
Post by: Themanfriday on February 02, 2007, 01:40:05 AM
Come on Stern John, I have heard he is on the bench tomorrow against Coventry, I am sure he will get on somewtime during the game as Keane tends to use all of his subs.

I am really looking forward to seeing him in a red and white shirt. If he give 100% effort the fans will love him.

Prediction

2nd half - John comes on for Anthony Stokes with 15 minutes left, Yorkie wins the ball in midfield as he always does and finds Carlos on wing, Carlos races to the byeline and whips in a beautiful cross. John chests the ball down 20 yards out a burries it in the top corner

Sunderland win 1 - 0  8)

Nice commentry but I think it would be off a reflection since Stern is more of a scavenger that cleans up s*it