May 10, 2024, 02:52:41 PM

Author Topic: England v West Indies, 1st Test, Lord's  (Read 4320 times)

England v West Indies, 1st Test, Lord's
« on: May 16, 2007, 07:24:40 PM »
England v West Indies, 1st Test, Lord's

What's gone before matters no more

Andrew Miller at Lord's

May 16, 2007

'Since assembling at Lord's 48 hours ago, the team has been abuzz with buzzwords, with talk of "vibrancy", "energy" and all manner of similarly isotonic utterances' © Getty Images

Two new coaches, two new captains, an entirely new environment and a change of format to boot. If ever two teams wished to draw a line under the inadequacies of their recent performances, then the first Test of the English season, which gets underway with bewildering haste on Thursday, provides the perfect opportunity. England and West Indies endured lamentable World Cup campaigns, but all that is now set to be forgotten. The balmy conditions of Bridgetown seem more than just a world away from the green-tinged gloom of St John's Wood.

It's springtime in England, which is entirely the appropriate season for Peter Moores, England's new head coach, to lay out his battleplans and begin the long-drawn process of renewal that a jaded squad so desperately needs after a winter of multiple nadirs. Since assembling at Lord's 48 hours ago, the team has been abuzz with buzzwords, with talk of "vibrancy", "energy" and all manner of similarly isotonic utterances. The message is clear. What's gone before matters no more.

"History starts from the day I took over, so let's give everyone a chance," said Moores, whose appointment has released his charges from all manner of Duncan Fletcher-era legacies. "We start with a clean slate - it's the only fair way." Though it is too soon to judge the impact or value of his new regime, Andrew Strauss, England's stand-in captain, already believes he can feel a difference within the dressing-room. "He's very hands-on and likes to get his hands grubby," said Strauss. "That rubs off on the players and over time that will come out on the pitch."

England would prefer not to have to wait too long for the results to start coming, however. West Indies are - not to put too fine a point on it - a team that are ripe for the picking. "We always go into series as underdogs because of the way we've been playing for the last couple of years," said their candid captain, Ramnaresh Sarwan. They have not beaten England in a Test match since the last hurrahs of Ambrose and Walsh at Edgbaston in 2000, which also happened to be their most recent overseas victory against any side other than Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. With Brian Lara now looking on from the sidelines, their prospects in alien conditions are bleaker still.

"It would be wrong of us to totally discount them, but one of our mantras is no-one should beat us at home," added Strauss. "There's no reason, if we play the sort of cricket that we can, that we should get beaten by West Indies. In our home conditions, we aim to be the best side in the world." For all the traumas of their 5-0 mauling against Australia, England's home record is indeed impressive, with 16 wins and just two losses in their last 22 Tests, dating back to that memorable victory over South Africa at The Oval in 2003.

If, weather permitting, England are unable to improve on those stats over the coming five days, then it really will be time for a root-and-branch reform of the team - especially against a side that has had just 48 overs of preparation since arriving in the country. "We knew what could happen with just one game for preparation," said Sarwan, after watching the rain sheet down in Taunton last week, "but we are determined to stay mentally strong."

But, for the time being, Moores is dead-set against a complete clean-out of England's cupboard. Michael Vaughan, who hasn't played a Test since the tour of Pakistan in December 2005, has been appointed as leader for the series, a situation that Strauss claims he is entirely comfortable with - even if he required a prompter when the word "relationship" somehow got snagged in his throat.

"It's not as if I'm not experienced - I've done it in these circumstances before," added Strauss, who was infamously appointed as the "stand-in's stand-in" when Andrew Flintoff went lame against Pakistan last summer. "[Michael]'s a very experienced captain and he's got the ability to see things that other people might not, so I'm certainly not going to be stubborn enough to say: 'I'm not going to listen to you Vaughany'."

'One of our mantras is no-one should beat us at home' © Getty Images

It could, however, be a significantly changed team that takes the field for England on Thursday, especially if Flintoff, whose ankle was still causing him discomfort during practice, is forced to sit out his fifth consecutive home Test. With overcast, seaming conditions predicted, England are likely to back a four-bowler strategy and bring Owais Shah into the middle-order, while Monty Panesar - England's cause celebre of the winter - could quite legitimately be made the fall-guy unless Moores feels the need to make a statement in his first game in charge. "There's going to be moisture, and it'll swing if it's overcast," said Strauss. "It's an option, although as a general rule it's good to have a spinner in your side. It gives you variety."

Tomorrow's toss ought to be a no-brainer if England win. They will surely bowl first and unleash the pace pairing of Steve Harmison and Matthew Hoggard, who - for contrasting reasons - have been out of action since the end of the Ashes campaign. Both have used the break well and have been in fine form for their counties, with Harmison especially menacing, having scalped 24 wickets in just three County Championship matches. He claims to have put his desperate tour of Australia and subsequent retirement from one-day cricket behind him, and he of all people epitomises the fresh start that Moores is hoping to usher in this month.

"Harmy is in a good place at the moment," said Moores, who has had a one-on-one with each of his new charges since taking the reins at the beginning of May, in a bid to "create an environment where people enjoy playing" - something that couldn't have been further from Harmison's gameplan during that sullen Ashes experience. "We've sat and talked, and he's more than warranted his selection. Enjoyment comes from winning and doing well as a sportsman, and on that side, he's bowled well in county cricket. He's knows his bowling and knows his game, and he has a lot to give to the team."

Harmison also knows how to stick it up the West Indians. He has taken 40 wickets in eight Tests against them, a haul that included his incredible 7 for 12 at Sabina Park in April 2004 and which led to him ascending - albeit briefly - to the top of the world bowling rankings. But Strauss, knowing full well how fragile his team-mate's confidence can be, wasn't about to hark back to those former glories. "What I expect from Steve Harmison is he bowls like he has this summer, "he said. "Clearly been doing the right things, with good pace and good control, and he looks happy with the way he's bowling."

West Indies have some pace prospects of their own. Fidel Edwards, another man who has been lying low during the World Cup, was singled out by Sarwan for his pace and vigour, while the swing specialist Corey Collymore can expect to thrive in the conditions, given the opportunity. "We've got no big superstars, it's just a matter of playing basic cricket and getting it right," added Sarwan, who cited the glamour-free uber-professional New Zealanders as the inspiration for his team's new era. Maybe that 11.30 curfew is having some effect after all.

Either way, it is hard to imagine how England - with or without Flintoff - can fail to get back on track this week. Although both teams are in a process of rebuilding, the vibe being emitted from the West Indian camp is one of discontent and ever-so-mild dissent, as epitomised by Chris Gayle's grumblings about his early bedtime. Their opponents, on the other hand, seem rather more determined to prove they are still worthy of their world Test ranking of No. 2, the only accolade they managed to retain this winter. "It's important we learn the lessons and challenge ourselves to improve," said Strauss. "This is the start of that process. If the guys aren't excited and motivated in this Test match, they never will be."

England (probable) 1 Andrew Strauss (capt), 2 Alastair Cook, 3 Ian Bell, 4 Kevin Pietersen, 5 Paul Collingwood, 6 Owais Shah, 7 Matt Prior (wk), 8 Liam Plunkett, 9 Steve Harmison, 10 Matthew Hoggard, 11 James Anderson.

West Indies (probable) 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Daren Ganga, 3 Devon Smith, 4 Ramnaresh Sarwan (capt), 5 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 6 Runako Morton, 7 Dwayne Bravo, 8 Dinesh Ramdin (wk), 9 Daren Powell, 10 Corey Collymore, 11 Jerome Taylor.

Andrew Miller is UK editor of Cricinfo

It's scheduled to start on Thursday at 10... I know England is quite a bit ahead of us... so what time should I assume it's comming on tonight and hey... are the local channels even bringing it... there has been no hipe for it down here...

Re: England v West Indies, 1st Test, Lord's
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2007, 08:09:49 PM »
4 am in the morning breddah, im goin 2 sleep early to wake up and see de game b4 i go 2 work..

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 10:13:07 PM »
I stayin up.

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 10:27:49 PM »
Me...I eh in de mood to listen to no predictions but I rather England bat first.  Dat way de match go run longer.  Go Windies...no better time than the present to pick yuhself up.

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2007, 07:10:20 AM »
Me...I eh in de mood to listen to no predictions but I rather England bat first. Dat way de match go run longer. Go Windies...no better time than the present to pick yuhself up.

i want to see how dey deal with panesar batting 2nd, the pitch will be much more ready for spin..

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2007, 07:12:36 AM »
they way they bowling it th looking liek they could take 10 wickets let alone 20. so pansear mignthen have to bowl.

england go hadda throw away they wickets. them fellas playign real lethagic. steups

BTW ANY LINKS????;D ;D
« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 07:21:04 AM by PH »
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2007, 06:18:39 AM »

280 for 4.

Looking like a 400+ 1st innings for England.

2 to 1 again

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2007, 07:33:23 AM »
i want england to rest some level licks on dis squad...so the powers that be realize it is not lara's fault that we always losing..the problem is much deeper than that....i supporting England.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2007, 10:47:27 AM »
Looks like we getting we ass seriously buss.....515/5, looks like they go make 700 and then put we ass in to suffer.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2007, 12:07:30 PM »

good lords

any records break yet?

« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2007, 01:01:54 PM »
without spin you cant win... how they expect to bowl out the team and get 20 wickets? when there main wicket takers are not on the team, especially lawson and collins not even there also..schupsssssss not to mention, kelly and emrit..

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2007, 07:33:22 PM »
Taylor starting to look amateurish.  I feel he not fit and all dis international cricket he playing wearing him down.  Bravo is a stock bowler.  He really eh go bowl down nobody with any kind of consistency at dis time.  He needs to work on his game more.  To have him in tandem with Collymore is a piece of madness.  Two stock bowlers in tandem at de same time in de middle of an innings?  Yuh supposed to have a stock bowler keeping down the scoring at one end while yuh strike bowler tearing away at the other end for the most part.  One stock bowler on your team is decent.  We doh have 4 strike bowlers like long time.  Of course at de beginning of an innings, yuh want two strike bowlers at either end before the batsmen settle.  Based on the evidence and form, de only strike bowler we have is Powell.  Dat is not a winning formula.  I would really like to see Lawson get another chance and I'm hoping dat Fidel would become more consistent after his opening spell 5-7 over burst.  I really cyah see Kelly, Emrit or Collins doing anything exceptionally better than what Taylor, Collymore and Bravo doing.  Collymore does usually bowl good length and line and get a few edges here and there but hardly any wickets.  His control is international standard...but he does not have the strike rate to go with it.  He is ah stock bowler.  Let we not load up on these please.  Is ah selection predicament as far as the talent level of the quick men go.  Really and truly...not much difference between dem bowlers on we selection radar.  If we lacking strike bowlers, why de selectors only choosing stock bowlers and de captains exacerbating de problem by using them in an improper fashion?  Duncyness is ah bitch yuh know.  Pick more strike bowlers.  Ah rather go down swinging than watching paint dry.  When last ah West Indian bowler lick down anybody?  No wonder nobody fraid we.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 07:49:05 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2007, 04:57:09 AM »
Waste Indies batting 39 for 1 in their 1st innings. Gayle out b Plunkett.

Who the fook is Plunkett ?

Waste Indies making superstars out of ordinary cricketers , this side no better than a good English village side.

« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2007, 08:21:40 AM »
West Indies 189/5. Panesar has West Indies in a shambles. It looks like the spinner is proving to play a decisive role in this match. Can someone refresh my memory? Maybe I'm a little slow. Why did the West Indies selectiors opt not include at least one spinner in the the West Indies touring party again?

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2007, 10:09:38 AM »
 Well Bravo made his half century and fell right after these guys have to learn to carry on. Anyway I seeing some fight n the team and that is good, the whole team chipping in it does not have one player yet to not get into double figures. Good fight back from what was a daunting task being in the field 2 days and seeing 500 odd on the board is not easy but we fought back well. WELL DONE GUYS!!!

Offline sinned

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2007, 10:45:14 AM »
West Indies 189/5. Panesar has West Indies in a shambles. It looks like the spinner is proving to play a decisive role in this match. Can someone refresh my memory? Maybe I'm a little slow. Why did the West Indies selectiors opt not include at least one spinner in the the West Indies touring party again?
remember chris gayle is a world class spinner - the best in the region

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2007, 10:52:00 AM »
remember chris gayle is a world class spinner - the best in the region

Thats right. I forgot. Thanks for reminding me.  ;D

Offline Remie

« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2007, 01:47:23 PM »
I gotta give credit where credit is due and say Bravo and Ramdin batted superbly to send the win further away from England's hands. Chanders also did very well, but i especially like the way Bravo came in and took the initiative away from England. Its a nice change to see us not collapsing when we reach 5 wickets down.

The real test for our batting post Lara will be when we face teams like Sri Lanka, Australia and India who have mystery spinners whos doosras are hard to pick but for now i am happy to enjoy what i have seen today- some real fight as well as quality in the batting. I hope it can continue for the rest of the series.

The bowling looked really bad. However Taylor and Collymore i feel wil get better the more they bowl as they have been short of real overs in the middle. Powell looked good at the start but i still dont like the fact he has a tendency to bowl a short wide one every over to relieve the pressure. Although most of our bowlers do that not just Powell.

Mohammed not being in the team let alone the squad was ridiculous and goes without saying. Hopefully whoever does select the team will see what has happened on days 1 and 2 and also in the last 10 years of test cricket and for the sake of West Indies cricket pick the man. England on the whole will not be able to pick his googly- only Pietersen will but the rest will be clueless as they have proved on numerous occasions agianst wrist spin. Anytime you are playing England, South Africa, New Zealand and possibly Australia you should always play a wrist spinner because they find them hard to pick. We have one that has killed the domestic scene. What more can he do?

« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2007, 06:11:50 PM »
I gotta give credit where credit is due and say Bravo and Ramdin batted superbly to send the win further away from England's hands. Chanders also did very well, but i especially like the way Bravo came in and took the initiative away from England. Its a nice change to see us not collapsing when we reach 5 wickets down.

The real test for our batting post Lara will be when we face teams like Sri Lanka, Australia and India who have mystery spinners whos doosras are hard to pick but for now i am happy to enjoy what i have seen today- some real fight as well as quality in the batting. I hope it can continue for the rest of the series.

The bowling looked really bad. However Taylor and Collymore i feel wil get better the more they bowl as they have been short of real overs in the middle. Powell looked good at the start but i still dont like the fact he has a tendency to bowl a short wide one every over to relieve the pressure. Although most of our bowlers do that not just Powell.

Mohammed not being in the team let alone the squad was ridiculous and goes without saying. Hopefully whoever does select the team will see what has happened on days 1 and 2 and also in the last 10 years of test cricket and for the sake of West Indies cricket pick the man. England on the whole will not be able to pick his googly- only Pietersen will but the rest will be clueless as they have proved on numerous occasions agianst wrist spin. Anytime you are playing England, South Africa, New Zealand and possibly Australia you should always play a wrist spinner because they find them hard to pick. We have one that has killed the domestic scene. What more can he do?

nice points remie. didn't get a chance to watch - according to the online commentary the bowling on both sides has been sh*t. in particular collingwood taking wickets? steups. and harmison doing his tino best impersonation. and ramdin in the 2nd last over. damn, i cuss loud at that one. still, given the mountain to climb and the lack of any meaningful warmup, i agree completely the batting is due credit.

it's disheartening to go through some of the threads about the selector committee from 1 year ago and to see the only notable change was carew stepping down. butts and greenidge need a rest.

« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2007, 07:29:02 PM »

chanders batting well also, he taking his time and playing, i ent blame de man, im glad hes doin it in tests and not odis... I wonder if anyone notice that 3 out of the 4 top scorers have been trini..

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2007, 08:06:41 PM »
Back foot players and men who doh leave de crease have to worry bout Doosras.  I don't think any Aussies bowling doosras.  The doosra is not bothering anybody right now at least the top batsmen.  Is not like Murali have two slips and a silly mid off when he bowling.  I doh know if dis doosra thing go last.  Bishen Bedi say is bio-mechanically impossible to bowl dat ball consistently without chucking.  Funny dat Murali and de Turbinator done get call for pelting before.  De ICC almost legalize chucking anyway.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #21 on: May 20, 2007, 12:27:12 AM »

Yes TI I recognize that 3 out of the 4 top scores were all made by Trinidadians all the TRINI BOYS CHIP IN TODAY WELL DONE TO GANGA - 49. BRAVO - 56 and RAMDIN - 60.

Offline Remie

« Reply #22 on: May 20, 2007, 03:49:10 AM »
Its true that anybody who bowls the doosra chucks it, but that it because finger spinners bowl the doosra and it is said to be impossible to bowl the one that goes the other way from finger spin without chucking it. I remember about 5 years ago when i was beginning to understand the game fully Michael Holding told me that any finger spinner that gets the ball to go the other way chucks it, and it turns out it was no lie.

On the other hand wrist spinners that bowl the googly do not chuck it when they get the ball to turn the other way because wrist spinners are able bowl the googly legitimately. These are the guys like Warne, MacGill, Hogg, Kaneria and yes ... Dave Mohammed. We have one and we not using him even with our weak bowling attack!

Obviously Mohammed is not in the same league as Warne etc, but i can see similarities between Mohammed and Hogg. Hogg started off with just the raw talent to spin the ball both ways but lacked some control and its only really in the last few years he has come of age now he has been given the chance and the backing of selectors and team mates. It would be nice to see Mohammed given some backing and support over a long period rather than being brushed aside after one match spells just because he doesnt take 5 wickets in the one off match he gets.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2007, 05:13:16 AM by Remie »

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #23 on: May 20, 2007, 05:41:27 AM »
WI 1st innings 437 all out

i'm about 6 miles from Lords and the weather is bright and sunny, perfect batting conditions. However tomorrow the forecast predicts plenty of showers so the draw looks a nailed on result

current bookies odds are

1/3 The Draw
3/1 England
25/1 West Indies
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #24 on: May 20, 2007, 08:06:52 AM »
Its true that anybody who bowls the doosra chucks it, but that it because finger spinners bowl the doosra and it is said to be impossible to bowl the one that goes the other way from finger spin without chucking it. I remember about 5 years ago when i was beginning to understand the game fully Michael Holding told me that any finger spinner that gets the ball to go the other way chucks it, and it turns out it was no lie.

On the other hand wrist spinners that bowl the googly do not chuck it when they get the ball to turn the other way because wrist spinners are able bowl the googly legitimately. These are the guys like Warne, MacGill, Hogg, Kaneria and yes ... Dave Mohammed. We have one and we not using him even with our weak bowling attack!

Obviously Mohammed is not in the same league as Warne etc, but i can see similarities between Mohammed and Hogg. Hogg started off with just the raw talent to spin the ball both ways but lacked some control and its only really in the last few years he has come of age now he has been given the chance and the backing of selectors and team mates. It would be nice to see Mohammed given some backing and support over a long period rather than being brushed aside after one match spells just because he doesnt take 5 wickets in the one off match he gets.

very good points, i also observed the same for the doorsa over the years but murali is double jointed, which enables him to bowl the doorsa easier than others, believe it or not, jaggernauth has an excellent doorsa and is spinning the ball both ways, hes slowly catching up to mohammed, it will be interesting to see both of dem play at de same time and have 3 pacers lead de attack.. simple reason being we need 20 wickets to win a match, go with the best 5 specialist batsmen..

R.Hinds
Ganga
Sarwan
Chanders
Bravo
Ramdin
Mohammed
Jaggernauth
Powell
Lawson
Collins

this would be an experiment worth trying... it puts pressure on the 5 batsmen to score and play well, circumspect batting would be the result, which is what we need in alot of instances in test cricket...

God is de BOSS....

Offline santacruz

• This year is the Dutch year!
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2007, 08:07:04 AM »
if allyuh fellas wha hear some audio, just go to http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/ and click on 'live TMS' under 'highlights and features on the big story'.
Fatima old boy graduate in '95 from Form 5, '97 from Form 6, lived in Santa Cruz.

« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2007, 12:00:51 PM »
Good post about the Doosra Remie.

« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2007, 12:08:43 PM »
Allyuh doh worry about rain.  If dey handle Panesar in the second innings and we apply ourselves, dey could win the match especially if Harmison still bowling waywardly.  Dat umpire Rauf go be a problem though.

« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2007, 01:06:23 PM »

well said remie...but if u think about it i guess its common sense.try turning any kinda ball with yuh fingers de other way nah and then try it with yuh wrist its much eaiser with the latter.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge