Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 14, 2023, 01:17:06 AM

Title: 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread
Post by: Flex on June 14, 2023, 01:17:06 AM
Eve, players contented by Gold Cup qualification, ready to compete.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Feelings of contentment and achievement have consumed coach Angus Eve, his players, and his staff, following the announcement that the T&T Football Association's (TTFA) protest to FIFA against the Nicaraguan Football Federation's team use of an ineligible player Richard Rodriguez in the Concacaf Nations League, was upheld.

The disciplinary committee of football's world governing body, FIFA, issued a release on Monday night signed by general secretary Philippe Moggio, acknowledging its decision to sanction the Nicaraguan Football Federation and award T&T the top spot in Group C of League 'B'.

The release stated: "Today, the Concacaf Disciplinary Committee sanctioned the Federación Nicaragüense de Fútbol (FENIFUT) for severe violation of the applicable FIFA/Concacaf regulations by fielding an ineligible player in multiple matches of Concacaf competitions. Because of this serious violation, the Concacaf Disciplinary Committee decided to exclude the Nicaragua national team from competing in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup and has also relegated it to League B of the 2023/24 CNL."

The release continued: "As a consequence of the decision of the Concacaf Disciplinary Committee, the Concacaf Council has made the following determinations regarding the impact of this decision on the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup and the 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League. The T&T National team, which was the team with the best second (overall) place finish of all League B teams in the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Group Stage, replaces the Nicaragua National Team in position A3 of Group A of the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. Additionally, the Antigua & Barbuda National Team, which was the team with the highest points (overall) in League B of the 2022/23 CNL to not have qualified for the 2023 Gold Cup Prelims qualifies to position A of Prelims Matchup #1 against Guadeloupe."

The T&T team lost to the Nicaraguans in June last year 2-1 in its opening match of the Nations League and then drew with them 1-1 in a key match on March 27, which awarded Nicaragua the top spot in the group.

According to Eve, who will name his 23-player squad Wednesday to contest for honours in the Gold Cup starting on Friday, said, "When we started the Nations League, the objective was to qualify for the Gold Cup proper and also to qualify for the 'A' Division of the nations league which would have given us automatic qualification for the Gold Cup and also give us the opportunity to qualify for the CONMEBOL Cup and put us in a better position in the World Cup qualifying."

He added: "It was a bit deflating when we drew that match in Tobago, and then to get the news now that we didn't do anything wrong. Credit to the FIFA normalisation committee, because Robert Hadad called us when we were having dinner and it was a good moment for everybody who put out so much energy with respect to having our country be on one of the top stages in football.

"It's a feeling of contentment and it just goes to show that when you do the right things and you go through the process, the right things will happen for you."

The T&T players were eagerly expected to take the field on Friday (June 16) in a Gold Cup qualifying clash with Guadeloupe. Instead, they will play their opening match on June 25. The Soca Warriors defeated Guatemala 1-0 in their friendly international match in Pennsylvania, USA on Sunday night.

Eve, a former national standout, said the prize for hard work is more hard work and for a second time, called on corporate T&T to join in this project which is designed for a country and not only his staff and the normalisation committee.

He said, "Now, we have to refocus our energies as the prize for hard work is more hard work because now we're in a group which is a very hard group, but that's where we want to be, that's where we were aspiring to be, so we just want to take this opportunity now to represent our country in the right way. Because this shows that once you do things in the right way, and do it with integrity and pride, and trust the process, this is where you can be.

"I said before corporate Trinidad has to come on board, we need help, it can't be just the national team staff and the FIFA normalisation committee alone. This is a project for a country, and now where we were only to play two days here, now our first game is on the 25th, and we're on the 12th, so that's 13 days away. We have to pay the hotel for 30-something-odd people, organise practice fields, there are also a lot of logistics to be done, a lot of behind-the-scenes stuff. The hotel rooms are not cheap, so we have to actually since Concacaf sent the letter, have to put contingency plans in place," Eve explained.

WATCH  Day 2 in Ft Lauderdale - Gold Cup Training Camp (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qcFpIJAAhM)

WATCH Eve's Reactions to T&T's Gold Cup '23 Inclusion (https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=GS7TdkwswQI)

RELATED NEWS

Eve relishes Gold Cup test, appeals for corporate help.
T&T Newsday Reports.

HEAD Coach of the Trinidad and Tobago men's football team Angus Eve has expressed his delight and relief to have earned automatic qualification to this year’s Concacaf Gold Cup in the US.

T&T's advancement comes at the expense of Nicaragua, who were disqualified after a Concacaf investigation into the eligibility of one of the team’s players, Richard Rodriguez

Concacaf announced Nicaragua's Gold Cup expulsion on Monday, adding that they were also demoted to League B of the Concacaf Nations League.

Born in Uruguay, Rodriguez was not deemed to be a naturalised citizen by FIFA, yet the midfielder made 19 appearances for Nicaragua, which included several matches in the Concacaf Nations League.

He made a substitute appearance against T&T on June 3, 2022, a match that Nicaragua won 2-1 at home. The FIFA Normalisation Committee, which currently administers the TT Football Association (TTFA), discovered Nicaragua’s foul play and appealed to the region’s governing body.

Concacaf's Disciplinary Committee made the decision to axe the Central Americans "for severe violation to the applicable FIFA/Concacaf regulations by fielding an ineligible player in multiple matches of Concacaf competitions.”

T&T are now placed in Group A of the Gold Cup alongside Jamaica, USA, and one of Curaçao/St Kitts & Nevis/French Guiana/St Maarten who are to be determined by the prelims.

Antigua and Barbuda – the team with the highest points in League B of the 2022/23 Nations League not to advance – will now face Guadeloupe in Gold Cup qualification on Friday.

The Soca Warriors' promotion to League A of the Nations League keeps alive the opportunity to qualify for the 2024 Copa America, to be hosted by the US.

Eve expressed his joy in making it over the line. He said, “I don’t really have (much) words. When we started the Nations League, the objective was to qualify for the Gold Cup proper and also to qualify for League A (of the Nations League), which would have given us automatic qualification for the Gold Cup, the opportunity to qualify for the Conmebol (Copa) and be in a better position for World Cup qualifiers.

“It was a bit deflating when we drew the (last Nations League) match in Tobago. But to get the news that we didn’t do anything wrong… credit to the normalisation committee.”

He said Normalisation Committee chairman Robert Hadad informed the team while they were having dinner in Florida.

"It’s a feeling of contentment and this goes to show that, when you do the right things, the right things will happen for you.”

Noting the difficult challenge facing USA and Jamaica, Eve said the hard work that was put in by the team was rewarded with more hard work. He added that T&T relished the opportunity.

He also pleaded for the top local businesses to assist the team in their international ventures. “Corporate Trinidad has to come on board. We need help. It can’t just be the national team staff and the normalisation committee. This is a project for a country.”

He noted the logistical conundrum caused by the Concacaf disciplinary decision.

“We were only set to play two days here (in Fort Lauderdale), now our first game is on the 25th, which is 13 days away. So we have to pay hotel accommodation for 30-odd people, organise practice fields and there’s a lot of logistics to be done behind the scenes. Hotel rooms are not cheap. So we now have to put a contingency plan in place.

“We (also) don’t know if some of the clubs will want back their players back in the short term. (Nevertheless), the general feeling is one of great content and achievement for attaining something like this for our country.”

T&T will open their Gold Cup campaign on June 25 against the preliminary round winner – Curaçao, St Kitts & Nevis, French Guiana or St Maarten – at 3:30pm TT time. That would then be followed by a Caribbean derby against Jamaica on June 28 and the Warriors’ group stage run will be concluded against the US on July 2.

Nicaragua to appeal Gold Cup expulsion.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE Nicaraguan Football Federation (Fenifut) intends to appeal a decision by the Concacaf disciplinary committee to strip the Central Americans of their place in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup and demote them to Concacaf League B.

Nicaragua were punished by the regional governing body for fielding an ineligible player, Uruguayan-born Richard Rodriguez, for eight matches, including a League B clash with Trinidad and Tobago on June 3, 2022 in Nicaragua. Rodriguez entered the match in the 86th minute as a substitute. The match ended 2-1 to the hosts and helped secure Nicaragua's top spot in the group, automatic qualification to the Gold Cup and promotion to League A.

However, Rodriguez's participation was deemed illegitimate as Concacaf stipulates players must reside in a country for at least five years before they can be deemed a naturalised citizen. Rodriguez has not satisfied Concacaf's requirement, which the organisation considered a "severe violation," in a statement on Monday night.

Rodriguez began playing in Nicaragua in 2018-2019 for Real Estelí FC, but his service there has been interrupted with stints in the Paraguayan league for Deportivo Santani (2019) and most recently in Costa Rica for Municipal Liberia (2022).

Nevertheless, the Nicaraguan federation insists it has done nothing wrong. According to a statement published by La Prensa newspaper on Monday, it said, "In recent days, Fenifut received a communication from Concacaf regarding the possible improper alignment of a Nicaraguan player. From that moment on, despite the fact that the time was very short for Fenifut to present its position on the case, the necessary evidence was sent to demonstrate that in said scenario none of the articles established have been violated. Concacaf FIFA Disciplinary Codes and Regulations."

The federation added, "Fenifut is immediately presenting the corresponding appeal, so we call on Concacaf so that, as established in the regulations, its committee of appeal meets immediately for the due review of the case."

Title: Re: 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread
Post by: kounty on June 14, 2023, 09:23:14 AM
The Brokes FA Boi! (TBFA). lol. Was wondering bout that. hopefully they ent end up on the street like ...was that the women some years ago? smh. TBFA could pull dey hand and organize a couple fundraising cheap friendlies across the country man -- Miami self (since people was done preppin to pay and see T&T play there. no non-gimmic businessmen on the committe? who know which opposition to bring to miami on short notice to raise a few bucks? Haiti?); If not NY, Houston/Dallas, LA, Toronto club teams? -- even phrase it as a fundraiser for the team as they get an unexpected last minute bill. Eve cyah just be calling for people to shell out their hard earned money all the time, sometimes you have to deliver..and sometimes you have to be creative, and  nuanced and meet people halfway, and sometimes you have to have a product.
Hope it work out between beggin Concacf and T&T businesses for a bligh.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 14, 2023, 10:34:30 AM
So when will angus name the final squad ?
Post by: Cocorite on June 14, 2023, 01:34:15 PM
Does he still have to name it now since the next game is later in the month?
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2023, 01:53:08 PM
Per tournament rules, the final roster will be submitted no later than June 14. A player may be replaced on the roster up to 24 hours prior a team’s first match of the group phase, as well as 24 hours after the completion of its group stage competition, in the case of injury. The replacement player must come from the 60-man preliminary rosters.
https://www.ussoccer.com/stories/2023/06/callaghan-names-23-player-roster-for-2023-concacaf-gold-cup#:~:text=Per%20tournament%20rules%2C%20the%20final,in%20the%20case%20of%20injury.
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on June 14, 2023, 02:00:22 PM
Base on the Players in Florida this is the 23 man squad

Goalkeepers
N. Frenderup
M. Phillip
D. Smith

Defenders
A Jones
S Gomez
A David
S Bateau
K Moses
L Archer
T Hodge

Midfielders
N Hackshaw
D Phillips
A Rampersad
Ajani Fortune
Molik Khan
K Molino
J Jones
R Gill
K Auvray
R Telfer
Forwards
L Garcia
M Shaw
K Corbin
Post by: Cocorite on June 14, 2023, 02:23:40 PM
No Reon Moore?????
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on June 14, 2023, 02:32:27 PM
No Moore wasn't even picked for the Friendly
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 14, 2023, 07:14:55 PM
N Hackshaw  and L Archer    still around  ???
Post by: trini_stallion on June 14, 2023, 08:18:26 PM
I was thinking the same thing…Moore is potent!!!
Post by: Toussaint on June 15, 2023, 10:59:15 AM
Possible Trinidad vs Haiti, 20–Jun
Post by: kounty on June 15, 2023, 11:02:53 AM
Glad to hear Toussaint! (I see they only put a few on St Kitts/nevis the otherday). btw, where the Haiti fans sitting for the Honduras vs Haiti match at BOA Stadium on July 2nd? You guys organized like that?
Post by: Flex on June 16, 2023, 01:42:16 AM
Overseas players dominate Eve's Gold Cup squad.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

SOCA Warriors coach Angus Eve has named mostly foreign-based players in his 23-squad for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup which kicks off in the US and Canada on June 24. He said it was not an easy decision to pick the squad as many players who performed creditably recently were left out.

Only six local-based players have been chosen in the squad including goalkeepers Marvin Philip (AC Port of Spain) and Denzil Smith (W Connection), defender Alvin Jones (Club Sando), midfielders Joevin Jones (Police FC) and Real Gill (Club Sando), and striker Kadeem Corbin (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers).

T&T will play in Group A alongside regional powerhouse US, Jamaica and a team from the Gold Cup qualifying tournament.

Eve said it was a difficult task narrowing the squad down to 23 players.

"I really want to pay homage to the guys who got us here. People like Reon Moore, Justin Garcia, Josiah Trimmingham. These guys have been good for us," Eve told TT Football Association media.

He also named midfielders Duane Muckette, John Paul Rochford and Nathaniel James as players who were unlucky to miss out on a place. James is the leading goal scorer in the TT Premier Football League.

"I just want to say that they are part of the team, but unfortunately you can only pick 23 players at this point in time...Looking at the squad that we have here we just thought that this group was the best group for us to go forward with at this point in time."

Striker Moore, despite not scoring as regularly as he would have liked for Defence Force in the TT Premier Football League, has performed in recent times when called upon. Moore's goal gave T&T a surprise 1-0 win over Jamaica in an international friendly in March. He scored three goals in T&T's last Gold Cup campaign – two in the qualifying tournament.

Muckette and Rochford are both midfielders for AC Port of Spain in the TTPFL and have been instrumental in their team being on the brink of the title. Their AC Port of Spain team-mate Michel Poon Angeron, who plays as a holding midfielder, has featured for the national team consistently over the past year and also did not make the cut.

Some of the defensive midfielders given the nod ahead of Angeron are Neveal Hackshaw, Andre Rampersad and Daniel Phillips. T&T can dominate physically with that trio as they are all strongly built players.

Other notable absences are wing back Keston Julien and midfielder Jomal Williams.

Levi Garcia is expected to be one of the shining players on the T&T squad with his experience playing in Greece with AEK Athens. Goal-keeper Nicklas Frenderup, defenders Aubrey David and Sheldon Bateau, midfielders Joevin and Neveal Hackshaw and strikers Kevin Molino and Ryan Telfer are some of the familiar faces selected.

Youngsters Kaile Auvray, who has impressed since making his debut earlier this year, along with former T&T Under-20 captain Molik Khan and Real Gill will try to impress in the early stages of their senior careers. Canada-based striker Malcolm Shaw, 27, is the only uncapped player in the team.

T&T Gold Cup squad

Goalkeepers:

Denzil Smith (W Connection), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim IL—Norway), Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (Club Sando), Shannon Gomez (San Antonio FC—USA), Joevin Jones (Police FC), Triston Hodge (Hartford Athletic—USA), Kareem Moses (FF Jaro—Finland), Leland Archer (Charleston Battery—USA), Sheldon Bateau (SK Beveren—Belgium), Aubrey David (SD Aucas—Ecuador);

Midfielders:

Molik Khan (Minnesota United 2—USA), Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers—Canada), Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots SC—USA), Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United—USA), Daniel Phillips (St Johnstone—Scotland);

Forwards:

Kaïlé Auvray (Sporting KC Academy—USA), Levi Garcia (AEK Athens FC—Greece), Kadeem Corbin (TLH Rangers), Real Gill (Club Sando), Ryan Telfer (Miami FC—USA), Kevin Molino (Columbus Crew—USA), Malcolm Shaw (Atletico Ottawa—Canada).

Post by: Peong on June 16, 2023, 10:02:23 AM
What formation Eve have them playing? We travelling light in on midfielders.
I guess with Shaw's inclusion there is no room for Jomal but why not include Keston Julien?  Man just had a great experience playing the best clubs, surely he could put in a shift.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 16, 2023, 11:05:30 AM
Julien is injured
Post by: kounty on June 16, 2023, 12:04:10 PM
eve playing one on top on the counterattack hoping for a 1-0 win. All the fwds are actually false 9's. If opposing team score 1st, like nicaragua, crapaud smoke we pipe...or maybe we could scrape a draw. Done say he ent no Pep.
having said all that, the tackles in the middle have been better than in previous years; and they are trying to play it out of the back better... but is levels -- towards the end of the guatemala game you could see is level "hoof".
Good luck team!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 16, 2023, 12:26:47 PM
Kounty if the levels he suppose to be trying to strengthen the team  ...
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 17, 2023, 09:13:51 AM
My analysis of the preliminaries

Guadeloupe handed Antigua and Barbuda 5 goals. Final score 5 - 0.

ST Kitts and Nevis 1 Curacao 1. ST Kitts and Nevis beat Curacao on penalties 3 - 2. ST Kitts has a BOSS goal keeper. He kept them in the game and saved 2 penalties in the shoot out.

To put things into context, Antigua was in league B,  ST Kitts league C. So a league B team lost to another league B team. And a league C team beat a league A team. Seems like anything can happen. We'll see what happens today.

Majority of Curacao's players play in top flight in Netherlands and other countries. They didn't have any Curacaoan players playing. Their team was a strict import from Europe.

After watching Curacao play ST Kitts, I will say they are not as powerful as we expect them to be. They got the talent, but they have trouble playing a tough Caribbean team that hits hard.

Way to go ST Kitts and Nevis
Post by: kounty on June 17, 2023, 08:58:24 PM
not sure how long the free link will last but look Fox Sports Guyana vs Grenada (https://www.foxsports.com/soccer/gold-cup-guyana-vs-grenada-jun-17-2023-game-boxscore-118997)
Post by: frico on June 18, 2023, 05:41:36 AM
Very soon all those Caribbean countries will have mostly overseas born players,i expect the Yardboyz will soon be playing 11 overseas players.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 18, 2023, 08:45:12 AM
@Frico

Overall, the quality of football in the Caribbean has improved. We are seeing the results of having competitive games through the establishment of the Nations League. The Nations League tournaments has given teams much needed opportunity to play consistently.

As for the overseas, I think it may work for some, but not for all. The Dutch 'C' team (aka Curacao) was knocked out by a hard playing St Kitts and Nevis team. Puerto Rico did the same thing to the Dutch 'B' team (aka Suriname). Suriname fielded 11 players born in Netherlands that all play in top flights in the Netherlands and other countries in Europe. Puerto Rico had college boys and about 3 unattached players who don't even play semi pro.

This Gold cup has started out excellent. 3 penalty shoot outs. Two upsets. Two minnows slaying giants of the region.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 18, 2023, 09:21:21 AM
 PR keeper had a big game its one of those games. when  the  much  better team cannot score . 
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 18, 2023, 11:11:22 AM
PR well deserved that.

Overall the Dutch B and C teams don't look that mighty in my opinion. I thought they would be more dominant. But they both lost to League C teams. Yes by penalties. But with the talent they have, it should not have come to penalties.

This is how to beat the 'Dutch' born :

- play them in a hot humid climate
- don't give them the opportunity to organize themselves on the field
- play physical (the refs in concacaf allow a lot of things to slide, vs the refs in Europe)
L
Post by: Tallman on June 19, 2023, 04:48:29 PM
Kevin Molino: Soca Warriors must stay disciplined
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

SEASONED campaigner Kevin Molino said the Soca Warriors must stay disciplined during the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup as the competition will be stiff in the tournament kicking off on June 24 in US and Canada.

T&T will play in Group A alongside regional powerhouse US, Jamaica and a team from the Gold Cup qualifying tournament.

Molino only recently returned to the field after picking up an injury with his Major League Soccer Club Columbus Crew.

“First and foremost I am more than happy to join the guys,” Molino told T&T Football Association media. “A lot of new guys (on the team) and I am just looking forward to the upcoming games.”

He is ready to compete again. “I just had a little scrape in my meniscus. It took longer than I expected (to heal), but now I am here, happy to join the guys and looking forward to this tournament.”

Molino said the players now have more time to train together as they no longer have to compete in the Gold Cup qualification tournament.

Asked what T&T must do to succeed, he said, “We just have to stay disciplined. In this Concacaf (tournament) these teams coming with strong teams. We have to be up for the challenge. We need to fight for the red, white and black and we need the people back home to support us and we are going to give it our best shot.”

The Gold Cup is a chance for T&T players to be seen, Molino said.

“It is massive. It is matches for us individually and collectively. Players that playing in Trinidad it is an opportunity for them to showcase their talent who have been limited to exposure. I am just happy for them to have that opportunity, myself and all the other players have that opportunity to show that we can compete at this level.”
Post by: Peong on June 20, 2023, 10:32:48 AM
Ah done tell meh over-40 team of Americans and 1 Jamaican the we topping the group. Doh make meh look bad
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2023, 05:39:25 PM
Any feedback on the Haiti scrimmage? 
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 20, 2023, 05:45:54 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/HcT68hg_QHE
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 20, 2023, 05:56:17 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/GiKmUBQbvEE
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2023, 07:32:06 PM
 :cheers:
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 21, 2023, 07:45:36 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/p2ZNwDs8FgA&t=1s
Post by: Tallman on June 21, 2023, 08:05:17 AM
Coach Eve contented
T&T Express

A good result.

That is how Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s football team head coach Angus Eve described his team’s 0-0 draw against Haiti in their final 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup warm-up match at District Park, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, yesterday.

Commenting on the draw, Eve said he got what he wanted from the match and will be focussing his attention on set pieces as they gear up for their opening match of the Gold Cup on Sunday.

“This Haitian team is very well coached and you can see they are well organised. They have players playing in the top leagues all over the world and I thought the exercise was an even match and the draw was a good result. We had some good chances and they also had a number of half-chances but, all in all, it was a good exercise,” Eve assessed.

As far as the fitness of his players, Eve said they came out of the game without any major injuries and that the players acquitted themselves well in the difficult conditions.

“We came out of this match without any major injuries. Daniel Phillip got a little dead-leg but we should be able to solve that problem come game time,” said Eve, adding, “Everybody had to play.”

He continued: “We gave the group that started first a little bit more time. Both groups acquitted themselves well. The second-half group, it was a little bit difficult. It was very hot and humid so they needed about five or six minutes to get into the rhythm of the game but when they settled down, you could see the formation and the work that we have been doing,” the T&T coach noted.

Going forward, Eve said they will be working on set-pieces and how they are going to deal with free-kicks and corners.

“After this exercise, we are mainly going to concentrate on our free-kicks and corners and how we defend against free-kicks and corners. After tonight we will know the opposition that we will play in the first match. We know the other teams that are in the group and we want to go out there and put our best foot forward for the country like we have been doing,” he concluded.

T&T will play in Group A and will open their campaign on Sunday at 3.30 p.m. against either St Kitts-Nevis or French Guiana.

The second round Gold Cup qualification match between St Kitts-Nevis and French Guiana was scheduled to be played last night with the winner joining T&T, Jamaica and USA in Group A.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 21, 2023, 09:40:36 AM
St Kitts!!!

I watched the game last night. ST Kitts football has improved tremendously. They took scalps from Curacao and French Guyana. Their goalie is a beast between the pipes. Good coach as well. I hope Eve was watching the game. Hats off to St Kitts and Nevis for making their first ever Gold Cup.
Post by: Flex on June 21, 2023, 12:55:39 PM
Warriors, Haiti goalless in final Gold Cup warm-up.

T&T's Soca Warriors played to a goalless draw with Haiti in a practice match at their training base in Boca Raton, Florida, USA, on Tuesday (June 20).

It is their final 11-a-side exercise before the team gets ready for its first match of the Concacaf Gold Cup on Sunday (June 25) in Fort Lauderdale. They will face the winner of the, St Kitts and Nevis and French Guiana match, which was scheduled to be played last night at 9 pm at the DRV PNK Stadium.

National coach Angus Eve said he was satisfied with the match against the Haitians, one of Concacaf's rising teams which was among the early qualifiers for the tournament, along with Canada, Costa Rica, and Honduras.

"This Haitian team is very well coached, you can see they are very well organised. They have players playing in the top leagues all over the world, but I think the exercise was an even one. A draw was a good result because we had some good chances also, but all in all, it was a good exercise."

Eve, whose 23-man team for the tournament, features a blend of experienced and young players, sees the return of midfielder Kevin Molino who had been out for a long time due to injury. The players all had the opportunity to bid for starting roles on Sunday as Eve said it's a policy in his practice matches for everyone to play.

To facilitate this, his team played in two groups.

Eve said he will now channel his focus on set pieces.

"We came out of this match without any major injuries. Daniel Phillips got a dead leg, but we should be able to solve that problem come game time. Right now, we're going to be concentrating on our freekicks, our corners, and how we defend against freekicks and corners, especially as we will know the opponent we will play in the first match by tonight.

"We know all the other teams in the group, so we want to go out there and put our best foot forward in the group and continue to represent our country as we have been doing," Eve said.

After Sunday's opening match, the second T&T game will be against their regional rival Jamaica on June 28, before they complete the group phase against the might of the USA on July 2 at the Bank of America Stadium.

Eve and his men will be hoping to improve their last performance in the Gold Cup, where they drew with Mexico 0-0 and Guatemala 1-1 before losing to El Salvador 2-0 in the group phase in 2019.

The Soca Warriors will play St Kitts/Nevis in their opening Group A match of the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup tournament on Sunday at the DRV PNK Stadium in Ft Lauderdale, US, at 3.30 pm. T&T will play Jamaica on June 28 at 7.30 pm followed by US on July 2 at 7 pm.

Post by: Flex on June 21, 2023, 01:03:57 PM
“I’m pragmatic”; Eve explains Gold Cup picks and why T&T have progressed under him.
Wired868.com.

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team head coach Angus Eve empathized with some of his regular players, who did not make his final 23-man Gold Cup team.

However, he believes he has the “best group” for the job at hand—as the Soca Warriors look to cross swords with regional rivals Jamaica and hosts and defending Gold Cup champions, the United States.

“I want to pay homage to the guys who got us here: people like Reon Moore, Justin Garcia, [Josiah] Trimmingham, Duane Muckette, John-Paul Rochford,” Eve told the TTFA Media. “These guys have been very good for us. I just want to say that they are a part of the team but unfortunately you can only pick 23 players at this point of time.

“Nathaniel James is also doing very well. But looking at the squad that we have here, we just thought that this group was the best group we had to go forward with at this point in time.”

Eve noted too that the likes of Defence Force central defender Justin Garcia and Club Sando stopper Josiah Trimmingham have been steady whenever they got the chance. The two defenders who were on the field when Trinidad and Tobago managed clean sheets against Jamaica (twice) and Guatemala this year.

But he believes the Warriors’ defensive strength is more down to the team’s structure than any individual. And he expects to remain solid in their absences.

“Defensively we have been very good as a team, no matter what we put on the park,” said Eve. “Yes, I’m pragmatic. Yes, that’s my style. I’m not Pep Guardiola but the style is working. We’ve played six games for the season and we only received one goal so far. So the team was picked with that in mind.

“We have a nice balance of youth—some nice young players who have played under-20 and now graduating—with some good senior players and some in-between players who we think [will] augur well in the future.”

The average age of Eve’s Gold Cup team is 27.

Eve noted that 22-year-old Atletico Ottawa defender Luke Singh, who represented Trinidad and Tobago at youth level before flirting with the Canada Senior Team, accepted a call to represent the Warriors at the Gold Cup, only to be hobbled by a calf injury.

Apart from Singh, left back Keston Julien and playmaker Judah Garcia also missed the Gold Cup due to injury. However, Eve said he is happy with the balance of his current squad.

A busy winger-cum-central midfielder and Trinidad and Tobago’s most capped player, Eve said experience showed him that the strength of the group takes precedence over the individual and he is delighted with the camaraderie within his current squad.

“One of the first things I tried to bring to the group is the passion for Trinidad and Tobago football,” said Eve. “If anybody remembers me as a player, I always give 110 percent every single game—and that’s how I believe the game should be played.

“The game is very athletic today, so we need to have those sort of players and midfielders. [And] the spirit has been fantastic [in the team].”

Eve reiterated his pride in the team’s qualification for the 2023 Gold Cup and promotion to the Concacaf Nations League A, although both came about due to disciplinary action against Nicaragua for their illegal use of a naturalized player.

Trinidad and Tobago finished ahead of St Vincent and the Grenadines and The Bahamas to finish second in Group C of the 2022-23 Nations League B. As such, Eve said the Warriors earned it.

“It was no easy feat [to qualify],” he said, while suggesting that the Warriors have progressed under his tenure. “It was not like we qualified simply because of Nicaragua. We came second overall, so we deserved to be here.

“We didn’t do anything wrong. There is no shame in what we did.

“[…] We have qualified for back to back Gold Cups now, and this time we qualified directly…”

Eve confirmed that the Warriors will remain in camp for two weeks in Miami, after discussions with the Fifa-appointed Normalisation Committee.

“It is a lot of money they are spending,” said Eve, who said the Normalisation Committee has consistently supported him as head coach. “[…] We need to go out on the park and repay that faith they’ve shown in us.”

Eve acknowledged that he rubbed Trinidad and Tobago football fans the wrong way in the past with his “realistic” appraisal about the Warriors’ ability to compete. And he insisted that he has “no fear” in their Group A opponents, despite the gulf in rankings between the respective nations.

“Jamaica [are] stacked with a lot of [England] Premiership players and players playing in very good leagues from all over the world,” said Eve. “[…] The truth is we don’t have Premier League players any more [like] we used to back in the day. We don’t have players playing in the top leagues all over the world anymore—we used to.

“But the guys we have, I have 100 percent faith in them […] and the team structure we have created. We have a good solid staff with people complementing each other, and it augurs well because it passes down to the players.”

He promised the Warriors will be ready when they open their 2023 Gold Cup campaign on 25 June against one of the teams from the qualifying rounds—with Curaçao the favourites for that berth.

“We just have to go out there and be prepared and be focused on the job at hand,” said Eve.

Trinidad and Tobago players (Tabulated as club; age; caps/ goals scored)

Goalkeepers:

Denzil Smith (W Connection; 23; 1/0), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim IL—Norway; 30; 10/0), Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain; 38; 91/0);

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (Club Sando; 28; 43/2), Shannon Gomez (San Antonio FC—USA; 26; 8/0), Triston Hodge (Hartford Athletic—USA; 28; 25/0), Kareem Moses (FF Jaro—Finland; 33; 16/0), Leland Archer (Charleston Battery—USA; 27; 3/0), Sheldon Bateau (SK Beveren—Belgium; 32; 50/4), Aubrey David (SD Aucas—Ecuador; 32; 72/1);

Midfielders:

Molik Khan (Minnesota United 2—USA; 19; 4/0), Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers—Canada; 28; 2/0), Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots SC—USA; 27; 32/2), Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United—USA; 20; 4/0), Joevin Jones (Police FC; 31; 82/12), Daniel Phillips (St Johnstone—Scotland; 22; 7/0);

Attackers:

Kaïlé Auvray (Sporting KC Academy—USA; 19; 5/0), Levi Garcia (AEK Athens FC—Greece; 25; 38/8), Kadeem Corbin (TLH Rangers; 27; 3/0), Real Gill (Club Sando; 20; 0/0), Ryan Telfer (Miami FC—USA; 29; 21/8), Kevin Molino (Columbus Crew—USA; 32; 56/22), Malcolm Shaw (Atletico Ottawa—Canada; 27; 0/0).

Editor’s Note:

Real Gill’s appearance and goal against Saint Martin are not recorded since that match was designated as a training scrimmage, while he was subbed as a substitute against Guatemala and so did not get a cap there either.

Post by: frico on June 21, 2023, 01:47:06 PM
gawd on pitch,I suspect as you say,having 11 overseas born players doesn't work for every team,the best example being Curasao and Surinam,I know Jamaica too have come unstuck sometimes with almost a full overseas born players.I can also point out that we should have qualified for the 74 WC but I won't say much bout that,remember they,TT was all home grown.In 89 we again should have qualified but the Ref didn't give the 2 penalties he should have given,again all our players were home grown.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 22, 2023, 12:26:27 PM
Yea. I go throw this into the mix, the foreign born might not be as passionate as the home grown. The home grown grow up wishing to represent their nation. Foreign born grow up wishing to represent their nation (Netherlands) before the nation of their parents or Grandparents.

The homegrown realize this is all they have when they're playing. But the foreign born know they gonna jump in a plane an go back to Netherlands where life is easy as a professional footballer.
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2023, 12:39:21 PM
Ex- Soca Warrior Anton Wolfe: Give Eve a chance

FORMER Soca Warriors player Anton Wolfe said T&T head coach Angus Eve needs to be given a chance in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup as everyone will have their opinion on who should have been selected on the squad.

The Soca Warriors will play St Kitts/Nevis in their opening Group A match of the Gold Cup on Sunday at the DRV PNK Stadium in Ft Lauderdale, US, at 3.30 pm.

After the match against St Kitts/Nevis, T&T will play Jamaica on June 28 at 7.30 pm followed by the US on July 2 at 7 pm.

The Gold Cup will be hosted by US and Canada from Saturday to July 16.

Eve said it was a tough task to leave out players from the 23-man squad. After the squad was named he said players like Reon Moore, Josiah Trimmingham, John Paul Rochford, Nathaniel James, Duane Muckette and Justin Garcia were some of the players who were unlucky to be overlooked.

Only six local-based players have been chosen in the squad including goalkeepers Marvin Philip (AC Port of Spain) and Denzil Smith (W Connection), defender Alvin Jones (Club Sando), midfielders Joevin Jones (Police FC) and Real Gill (Club Sando), and striker Kadeem Corbin (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers).

In an interview with T&T Football Association media after the squad was named, Eve said, “I just want to say that they are part of the team, but unfortunately you can only pick 23 players at this point in time...Looking at the squad that we have here we just thought that this group was the best group for us to go forward with at this point in time.” Wolfe told Newsday, “If you ask me if I agree with the coach’s selection I may say no, but I respect it,” he said.

Wolfe would have liked to see more local players get the chance but said Eve must be supported.

“Yes, I think a little more local-based (players) should have been on the team, but that is the coach’s decision. Maybe he is seeing something in the foreign players that the local players may be lacking, I don’t know. As (former T&T coach) Leo Beenhakker always say it have 1.3 million coaches in T&T and once your favourite player is not selected you will kick up against the selection.”

Wolfe said often times local players don’t ask their coaches questions to improve their game.

Wolfe, a member of the 2006 World Cup squad coached by Beenhakker, said, “I think it is time we just relax, give Angus Eve his opportunity. Whatever team he pick we will support them. If the team do bad is his selection, if the team do good is his selection. Everything is up to him at the end of the day. The local guys just have to stay strong, keep working and wait for the opportunity to come again and grasp it.”

T&T are ranked 104th in the FIFA rankings. The Soca Warriors will be underdogs against both Jamaica and the US as they are ranked 63rd and 13th respectively. St Kitts/Nevis are the lowest-ranked team in Group A at 139th in the world.

Wolfe said T&T can qualify for the next round.

“I always believe in a tournament all teams have a chance to come out of the group because football is played on the day.

“It is how much you really want it...I think T&T have a fair chance of coming out the group. It is all about the guys who he (Eve) selected on that day to go and to play. They have to want something for themselves.”

At the last Gold Cup in 2021, T&T did not advance out of the group phase. T&T were drawn in a tough group alongside Mexico, Guatemala and El Salvador.

T&T ended third in the group with draws against Mexico and Guatemala and a loss to El Salvador.
Post by: maxg on June 22, 2023, 02:30:24 PM
GoP, in many cases the foreign born are under pressure to over-perform as 1. They are aware of the preferences of the local football community, and aware of that stressful environment where they must prove themselves, sometimes not a healthy state of mind to perform at their best. 2. Many foreign are even more committed to represent due to their parents painting a - in some cases, exaggerated - utopian painting of the country they (parents) grew up in. No matter who is selected, there will always be, some measure of disapproval, omissions and what if. Such is football.

Add: no Intl coach will willfully choose a team he thinks he will lose with, we could only hope he get it right and allows us to celebrate. He knows if wrong is level cuss those who didn’t have to make or ignorant of the position where these decisions are to be made would be raining on his poor soul, especially from TT supporters.

Add: just seeing that Luke Singh to replace the injured Daniel Phillips don’t make sense to me doh.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 22, 2023, 11:28:33 PM
GoP, in many cases the foreign born are under pressure to over-perform as 1. They are aware of the preferences of the local football community, and aware of that stressful environment where they must prove themselves, sometimes not a healthy state of mind to perform at their best. 2. Many foreign are even more committed to represent due to their parents painting a - in some cases, exaggerated - utopian painting of the country they (parents) grew up in. No matter who is selected, there will always be, some measure of disapproval, omissions and what if. Such is football.

Add: no Intl coach will willfully choose a team he thinks he will lose with, we could only hope he get it right and allows us to celebrate. He knows if wrong is level cuss those who didn’t have to make or ignorant of the position where these decisions are to be made would be raining on his poor soul, especially from TT supporters.

Add: just seeing that Luke Singh to replace the injured Daniel Phillips don’t make sense to me doh.

Not necessarily utopian. Society and reality have transformed significantly across generations. A parent speaking about his or her experiences becomes dated merely because the quality of life and conditions on the ground have changed. Retention of traditions is also less prominent in young societies ... so the picture painted may not even be idealized or exaggerated: the social bargain and expectations and accountability on the ground are just DIFFERENT.

As far as the Singh replacement: it seems not to make sense to several persons ... bear in mind though that the head coach is not a risk taker and is inclined to place a premium on defending qualities +.

My read is that he favors players who can help a team on both sides of the ball.

A real blow regarding Daniel Phillips doh, he hasn't had an opportunity to deliver with consistency at NT level --- albeit, that's something he shares with his replacement.
Post by: madness on June 23, 2023, 12:22:32 AM
If Trinidad and Tobago lose against St Kitts :banginghead: Eve is gone. OR if TnT doesn't play good football and they look unstable on the pitch, Eve is gone.
Post by: kounty on June 23, 2023, 08:34:39 AM
I think if we end up comfortably ahead of St Kitts / Nevis and Luke Singh gets capped it would be a good long term move for our squad [22 yr old, signed by an MLS team till 2025 -- who on our team can boast higher level/upside?], especially since Canada has shown interest.
I commend Eve for that, as that was one the criticisms against him in the past. He has convinced me (with the visa rules talk and everything), that he is (now) open to foreign born players, which may encourage others to come out of the woodworks.
SKN not looking bad (in attack at least) and I think is a fair test of our level. I hoping for a 2-0.
Again, usually I criticize Eve for hedging, but Jamaica brought a pretty solid squad (1 local in squad of 25?). Players from clubs (at a level) few to none of our players are playing at [haven't checked playing times at said clubs]. .. And USA used to poison us with 1 Pulisic in midfield, now it look like that threat level can come from 5. He have his work cut out for him so I expect an extremely defensive formation.
All of that to say, I don't think not progressing will seal Eve's fate...and of late he has the team playing, expecting to go to-to-toe, so I looking fwd.
Post by: Flex on June 23, 2023, 12:19:05 PM
Singh replaces injured Phillips for Gold Cup.

Luke Singh, a Toronto FC defender in the Canadian Premier League, was called in as a replacement for St Johnstone midfielder Daniel Phillips, who was injured during a T&T practice match with Haiti on Tuesday afternoon.

The injury was initially thought to be a dead leg by coach Angus Eve, but a release from the T&T Football Association (TTFA) on Thursday confirmed it was a grade one quadricep injury which has forced him out for a period of two to three weeks.

Phillips played a critical role in the Warriors and Haitians match, which played to a goalless draw, mere days before they opened their CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign. However, it will require all hands on deck come Sunday when the Warriors face St Kitts and Nevis in the opening match at the DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, USA at 3.30 pm.

After that, two other matches against regional rival Jamaica and the host nation and defending champion USA on June 28 and July 2, respectively, will complete Group 'A' with only the top two teams advancing.

Singh is currently on loan with Atletico Ottawa from Toronto FC. He returned from injuries to play in a 1-0 victory over Vancouver FC on June 17.

According to the TTFA release, however, the rest of the squad remains intact and had its first training session at the DRV PNK Stadium training pitch yesterday afternoon.

Meanwhile, defender Shannon Gomez of the San Antonio FC/USA said their focus is the game in front of them, which is the St Kitts and Nevis match, that they need to get a result from. The mood in the camp he said is an upbeat one.

"Every player is optimistic, upbeat, and ready to give their best. Each and every player in this camp wants to put their best foot forward for T&T," he said.

The match Sunday he said will be about two familiar teams in a hostile battle, both looking to make history for their respective countries.

"It will be a dog fight. We need to get maximum points from the match and that's the task at hand. St Kitts and Nevis is riding on a high right now by getting into the Gold Cup.

"The best thing is to put that flame out right away by scoring goals, defending, attacking, doing everything that they can do to get maximum points for T&T."

Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2023, 01:03:48 PM
This injury doesn't sit well ... would like to know more.
Post by: Cocorite on June 23, 2023, 01:55:47 PM
How might we be able to see the game on Sunday? Is Concacaf going to continue to stream them online? Any other YouTube links anticipated? Thanks.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 23, 2023, 02:02:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/mr-_t7-natY
Post by: Flex on June 24, 2023, 12:23:47 AM
Eve calls for total commitment against St Kitts & Nevis.

Dedicates Gold Cup to Clyde Leon

National coach Angus Eve has called for total commitment from his players tomorrow when they take on St Kitts and Nevis “Sugar Boyz” in their opening match in Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States.

He said their Gold Cup tournament will be dedicated to former national midfielder Clyde Leon who died in 2021 from a suspected heart attack. Eve at a training session at the DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale yesterday said Leon was a dedicated player whose life impacted a number of others.

Leon earned 48 caps for his country as a senior after making his international debut against Guyana in an international friendly on March 2, 2004. Now, Eve wants his (Leon’s) most glaring attribute, one of commitment, to be exhibited, as he believes his team has what it takes to come out of the group.

Apart from St Kitts and Nevis, the Soca Warriors will also face regional rival Jamaica on Wednesday at Citypark and then the USA in their final group match on July 2 at the Bank of America Stadium.

Eve said so far he is impressed with the level of commitment shown so far.

“This team (St Kitts and Nevis) has won the group that we were in for the World Cup where we played, so in effect, they knocked us out of the World Cup, so we have been building or rebuilding the house as I would say.

“So we’re asking the ‘fellas’ for the commitment, and these guys have really shown their commitment so far. I am extremely happy with the attitude in the camp, so going out there, we want to be committed to everything that we do. We want to represent our country right. We actually want to come out of this group, and we believe that we can from a tactical standpoint and from the individual players that we have on the squad. And we believe we have a good chance to do so,” Eve explained.

Due to the humidity of conditions there, the Soca Warriors worked out for a short time yesterday, sharp-tuning on the offensive part of their game.

“We’ve been working on the offensive side of the game, how we want to attack the game from free kicks and corners offensively, and how the team defends, and how we break down what they are doing in defence. So that was the day-to-day,” Eve noted.

Eve’s men have earned little success over their Jamaican counterparts in recent times. In March, they defeated the Reggae Boyz 1-0 in the first of two international friendly matches in Kingston, before the team played to a goalless draw in the other three days later.

Meanwhile, newcomers Luke Singh, the Atletico Ottawa defender, and Malcolm Shaw have said they are eager to play for the team and contribute positively to the result of the team.

“It’s always an honour to play for your country. I’m excited and just can’t wait to get started. My first training was good,” Singh said.

Shaw, the Atletico Ottawa striker, on the other hand, said: “It’s a special moment for me. It’s my first time being in an international environment, so obviously, I am coming here to make an impact and help the team. We came here to win so we want to contribute in different ways.”

RELATED NEWS

Angus Eve: 'Good chance' to reach Gold Cup KO stage.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

SOCA Warriors head coach Angus Eve likes his team’s chances at the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup as he believes they have the ability to advance past the group stage.

The Soca Warriors will play St Kitts/Nevis in their opening Group A match of the Gold Cup on Sunday at the DRV PNK Stadium in Ft Lauderdale, US, at 3.30 pm.

TT will face Jamaica on Wednesday at 7.30 pm, followed by the US on July 2 at 7 pm.

The Gold Cup will be hosted by US and Canada from Saturday to July 16.

Eve, speaking to TT Football Association media, said, “These guys have really shown their commitment. Extremely happy with the attitude in the camp and going out there we want to be committed in everything that we do. We want to represent our country right and we actually want to come out of this group. We believe we can. From a tactical standpoint and the individuals that we have on the squad, we believe that we have a good chance to do so.”

The US, despite fielding a second-string team, are expected to be a handful for TT, as the Americans are 13th in the FIFA world rankings.

There are nine players 22 years old or younger in the 23-man US squad as many of their top players just competed in the Concacaf Nations League final and are being rested.

The majority of the players on the Jamaica team, ranked 63rd in the world, are foreign-based, including the likes of Aston Villa’s Leon Bailey and West Ham's Michail Antonio.

TT are ranked 104th and St Kitts/Nevis are the lowest-ranked team in Group A at 139th in the world.

Eve said TT have been studying their opponents. “The approach obviously is to look at the tapes of the opposition. We know how they try to play; some teams try to tweak some stuff but coaches have that tendency, even if they change the personnel on the park, they play similar to how their philosophy is.”

Eve, said TT are dedicating their performances to former national footballer Clyde Leon who died two years ago at age 37.

“Give everything, give everything that you have for your country,” Eve said. “We are dedicating this to Clyde Leon. We watched a film on Clyde Leon the other day that we showed and the commitment that he had (was admirable). He has impacted a number of the guys here because he would have played with them, coached some of the (junior) elite players like Molik Khan who came through that programme…It was very heartfelt when we looked at how short his career was.”

Post by: injunchile on June 24, 2023, 08:01:39 AM
Fox Sports 1 showing the game as well as Univision/TUDN.-3.30pm
Post by: Peong on June 24, 2023, 10:33:21 AM
Losing Phillips is a blow, he's a competent midfielder that we haven't gotten the best out of as yet. Scottish football is fast-paced and scrappy. We coulda used his experience.
No disrespect to the player but how fit is Hackshaw looking? He seems to struggle with conditioning at times.
Usually somebody steps up and gives us a nice surprise performance. I lookin forward to something similar this rounds.
Good luck to the boys.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2023, 01:36:15 PM
True Peong
Post by: Bitter on June 24, 2023, 08:37:23 PM
Steups.
Post by: Sam on June 24, 2023, 08:49:52 PM
Duane Muckette shoulda replace Phillips. Neveal Hackshaw is unfit, fat and slow, he go get pell, watch and see.

We have no midfield ball winner.

Post by: Flex on June 24, 2023, 10:17:43 PM
Surprise Khaleem Hyland wasn't considered.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 24, 2023, 10:23:48 PM
Verdict on the US-Jamaica match?
Post by: ffisback on June 24, 2023, 10:48:36 PM
Angus Eve go do the same thing he did last time draw all the games and then him and Shawn will release a video saying he is a successful coach because they did not loose any games.
Post by: Peong on June 24, 2023, 10:51:11 PM
Usa get away, that penalty was not placed and the follow up was atrocious. Jam playing decent ball. Usa gonna regret not picking a strong squad.
A draw is good, less points share out tonight.
We better hit the ground running
Post by: ABTrini on June 25, 2023, 08:09:23 AM
Here We Go… Again
Strike a pose with the team
Front page headlines making the scene
new kits and thing
man ready to shout and sing
We still celebrating 2006
despite legendary licks
Frozen in time
yet we bussing ah lime
hoping fuh the best
despite all the teams unrest
But now we cruising on Gold Cup dream

Ohh
Here we go again
Life's a dream
'Cause it's never what it seems
But we would  rather try and fail with tears
Than never show at all
So here we go again
 We are SocaWarriors
and we go fight
Post by: Cocorite on June 25, 2023, 09:15:14 AM
Yeah Seeker,
Well deserved draw in the end!
Hard to say which team was superior.
I thought Jamaica looked more in control. Should have won that match.
But still neither side are so far ahead of us that we can't play a tactical match and cause lots of trouble with our front line and defense.
Jamaica frontline are solid but lacking sharpness. Don't know how Bailey throw-way that penalty & follow-up.
Hoping T&T's extra time in Phila solidified chemistry, gameplan execution, and discipline.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 11:19:13 AM
Good gam .. e Jamaica could have  won it . Antonio is a beast  Grays first game he  just needs to settle in.  Time for angus to show if he has what it takes
Post by: ffisback on June 25, 2023, 12:23:42 PM
This is a even group all the teams are physical and athletic its not a good sign for JA when you can't beat a U S A B team.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 01:41:43 PM
our game delay?
Post by: Thomo on June 25, 2023, 01:44:32 PM
Links anyone??
Post by: Cocorite on June 25, 2023, 01:53:17 PM
This is Concacaf stream. Should work
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0RevmVknP6Y
Post by: frico on June 25, 2023, 02:02:58 PM
Match delayed tu rass!!!  :bs:
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2023, 02:07:51 PM
Buffstreams
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 02:27:04 PM
you can see levi is a next level   
Post by: lucky4life on June 25, 2023, 02:33:37 PM
Ok well we'll see if Trinidad can beat USA B team when you all play them
Post by: E-man on June 25, 2023, 02:45:49 PM
That’s one!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 02:50:02 PM
I think we can get more out of levi on the wing
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 02:58:11 PM
Ok well we'll see if Trinidad can beat USA B team when you all play them

That is a fair comment.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:01:40 PM
This is a even group all the teams are physical and athletic its not a good sign for JA when you can't beat a U S A B team.

Would your view be different had Bailey spanked home the rebound or follow-up?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:11:39 PM
Links anyone??

https://streamgoto.lc/bx_15
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 03:16:46 PM
what is going on there
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:17:04 PM
A change of playing rhythm at this point would be helpful.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 25, 2023, 03:18:38 PM
So asylumseeker what are your thoughts on  USA vs JA  game last night(are you worried) and how would we fair ?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:25:17 PM
BOOM! Recognition of space into which to attack and individual enterprise. 2-0. Thing to applaud. :applause: Well done, Fortune!
Post by: E-man on June 25, 2023, 03:31:08 PM
OG 3-0!!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:33:12 PM
OG 3-0!!

Ah will happily take that. Something from nothing is profit. Opportunistic and profitable. Clean sheet time.
Post by: frico on June 25, 2023, 03:58:52 PM
I'm breathing normal again no tablets required. ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 03:59:24 PM
So asylumseeker what are your thoughts on  USA vs JA  game last night(are you worried) and how would we fair?

Glad we didn't open against them. Not worried. Why? Because since our first matchday versus Nicaragua (last year) I've adopted a different mental posture regarding the technical leadership of the NT. We limped to GC 2023 and there's the view (as you have understandably stated) that it's "time for Angus to show if he has what it takes". I think the real question at heart is whether he has evolved in approach and learned during the course of the gig. Some learning has taken place. What that translates to is unclear.

I like an aspect of what I am seeing today (where the ball is circulated internally), but that appreciation is tempered by the reality of who the opponent is.
Post by: g on June 25, 2023, 04:07:26 PM
Somehow i feel we got St Kitts best effort today. Jamaica and USA will rout them. We got the result we needed, an extra goal would have been nice in case it came down to a goal difference scenario but we in control of our own destiny. I felt as well as Jamaica looked yesterday, they lacked composure in the final third of the game, invited pressure which resulted in the USA equalizer but more so it was a function of their personnel on the field. I think we have more players genuinely adept at playing through midfield.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 04:14:10 PM
Ah surmising St. Louis will be sort of a home game for Jamaica.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 04:16:36 PM
I'm breathing normal again no tablets required. ;D

If you have an oxygen tank, probably not wise to put it up for sale.
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2023, 04:19:32 PM
The spark from the subs was nice. They also benefitted from a dryer field, the conditions definitely affected the way our starting attack played.
First 2 goals were quality. And we still have Aubrey David in reserve.
Well done fellas.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 25, 2023, 04:21:25 PM
We're giving up too much space before the 18yard box. Plus too much easy corners and free kicks. They can't afford to do this vs JA and USA.

Other than that, Eve gets a B to B+. Ok tactics against ST Kitts. Wednesday will be his true test though. I expecting JA to come out attacking and trying to control the game early.

The team gets a B+. Some plays were questionable. But I like that Auvray and Fortune are willing to hold the ball and attack. We need that.

Whatever happened to Hyland?

Daniel Phillips is actually a top defensive midfield. Would have liked to see him line up against the four English players playing for JA.

Auvray, Gill and Fortune are the future.

Happy with the result. This is the confidence we need.
Post by: Cocorite on June 25, 2023, 04:51:07 PM

Auvray, Gill and Fortune are the future.

And Natty James
Post by: g on June 25, 2023, 05:12:27 PM
Auvray is the real deal, but i'd like him to be a bit more decisive in that attacking third, conditions were terrible in the first half and that waterlogged pitch can take the energy out your legs easily go he gets a bligh today.
Post by: ffisback on June 25, 2023, 05:32:14 PM
It looks like SKN ran out of gas playing the same group of players for the past 10 days have finally caught up with them and it does not look like they have the dept in the squad to make up for it Luckly for TT the height of the occasion got the best of them.

The people in JA was saying that they are going to win the GC and they are a top team in the Concacaf, with the players they have they should be able to beat a USA B team they let that game slip away they not ready yet.

TT should be able to deal with the paste of the game that JA plays but not the speed of game that USA plays its easy to deal with another physical and athletic team but the USA has technical players like #9 who touches and movement will cut up TT defense like butter.
Post by: kounty on June 25, 2023, 05:49:08 PM
i don't think hyland has been with a club for the past year. at 34years old is time to move on, though his role for T&T has been clear, and we need a couple of replacements.
jam looked potent in offense: #12 Demarai Gray (Everton), #18 Michail Antonio (West Ham) & #10 Bobby Reid (Fulham), all with good minutes in the premiership...I think their coach is relatively new to the team, so after a few games to iron things out -- I think Jam down should really be thinking about lifting this cup. [needless to say kareem moses and dem boys will have their work cut out for them]. But as seen in the US equalizer, Jamaica defense might be weakness to exploit.
I'm also encouraged (for T&T, by) how Haiti is squaring evenly with Qatar and we just squared with them. Could be the year the caribbean moves far. Kick US out of the tournament is a sure way for those boys to get attention [US lose money on half empty stadiums] for further contracts.
Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2023, 06:40:53 PM
Mexico out for blood.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2023, 07:37:45 PM
Mexico out for blood.

Honduras with the bloodied nose.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 25, 2023, 08:26:43 PM
Haiti!!! Always exciting to watch. Good come back win. They are lucky Qatar did not get the two penalties. Group B look like the most competitive.
Post by: lucky4life on June 26, 2023, 06:19:20 AM
Leon Bailey is one of the WORSE player on the field EVERYTIME he played for us, he can't pass the ball
He doesn't square the ball into the 18 yard box whenever he beat his man on the wing He does keeps on dribbling until he loss the ball
When he get the ball in the middle of the field he just dribble and spinning around like a gig and loss the ball he doesn't know how to take
Penalty everytime he take penalty for Jamaica he mess up why we always make him take the penalty kicks??? Shit Aston villa doesn't make Bailey take NO
PENALTY, Leon Bailey is OVER RATED and OVER HYPE, if it was up to me Leon Bailey would be
The WATER BOY for the team or PEELING ORANGES,I wouldn't even want him on the BENCH
Post by: Peong on June 26, 2023, 08:22:56 AM
Lately T&T has been slow in the defensive midfield department, we susceptible to quick interchanges, we don't follow the off the ball runners, our back is turned, we naive to tricky plays. We gonna need to improve vs Jamaica and the US.
If he not in the preferred defensive line I think Aubrey David could perform in defensive mid position.
He smart and physical.

Bailey right foot could use some practice.
Post by: Toussaint on June 26, 2023, 11:18:12 AM
Quote:” Haiti!!! Always exciting to watch. Good come back win. They are lucky Qatar did not get the two penalties. Group B look like the most competitive.”

Probably because we always have a goalkeeper problem. Btw, this Trini team seem like the beginning of a renaissance. I didn’t watch the TT vs Haiti friendly but the reports among us suggest this TT team is very good.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 26, 2023, 12:08:55 PM
I don't think it's because of the goal keeper. I like that
they keep playing like it's a final. Right until the end. This TT team needs to take a page from that.

Hopefully that remains true. The team is playing better. But still not playing with that "umph" that Haiti and Jamaica plays with. We get that going on, we got something special coming.

I hope your team makes it out the group. The Haiti and Honduras game should be a cracker. Honduras need a win. Meilleurs voeux les Grenadiers

Post by: lefty on June 26, 2023, 03:44:56 PM
good show by d team.......d pass for d first goal was d highlight of d performance for me, haven't seen a player for us show that kinda vision in a good while
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2023, 06:18:30 PM
Martinique have saran wrap over this goal.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2023, 07:43:44 PM
Fajardo in de mood!
Post by: Tallman on June 26, 2023, 07:48:41 PM
'Composed' Warriors thump St Kitts to top Gold Cup group
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday)

Trinidad and Tobago surged to the top of Group A in the Concacaf Gold Cup on Sunday, after beating St Kitts and Nevis 3-0 in their opening game at the DRV PNK Stadium, Ft Lauderdale, USA.

T&T had to wait an additional 30 minutes to get their campaign started as kick-off was delayed owing to bad weather.

Coach Angus Eve showed three points was his sole intent with captain Kevin Molino, AEK Athens star Levi Garcia, tricky winger Kaile Auvray and Ryan Telfer in his starting lineup.

But despite dominating possession, the Soca Warriors struggled to create quality chances on a waterlogged pitch.

Eve hailed T&T's "composed" performance amid difficult pitch conditions. He said he was urging his players to play quicker to counter their rivals defensive line.

Against the run of play, in the 15th minute, St Kitts almost went ahead after a quick free kick caught T&T napping at the back. Fortunately, goalie Nicklas Frenderup was alert at his near post to make a low save off a shot by right winger Omari Sterling-James.

A few minutes later, Garcia tried to get on the end of a through pass by Molino and was stopped, but the ball fell kindly to Telfer who took too long to shoot and the danger was snuffed out.

A one-two between Molino and Telfer near the St Kitts penalty area resulted in a free kick in the 27th as Molino was fouled. Garcia tried his luck from distance but his effort flashed well wide.

With halftime looming, it took a moment of brilliance in the 42nd minute to break the deadlock. A perfectly weighted long pass by midfielder Neveal Hackshaw found right-back Alvin Jones ghosting into the box, and reminiscent of a goal he scored last month for Club Sando, he needed just two touches – one with his chest – to bulge the net for a 1-0 lead.

St Kitts came out the more inspired team after the interval and had T&T pegged in their own half for sustained periods. T&T coach Angus Eve responded in the 59th with a double substitution, removing Molino and Telfer, in favour of Atlanta United attacker Ajani Fortune and Atletico Ottawa’s striker Malcolm Shaw.

The move paid immediate dividends as a dancing Fortune made it 2-0 six minutes later with his maiden international goal – and one to remember.

The 20 year old showed a bit of happy feet to skip past two defenders on top of the box before unleashing a curling shot past Julani Archibald in the St Kitts goal. With a broad smile on his face he celebrated the milestone by dancing with his teammates.

Shaw, making his international debut, thought he had his first goal as well soon after, but his celebrations were curtailed as Honduran referee Said Martinez spotted his nudge on Lois Maynard before heading an Auvray cross into the net.

There was no reprieve for St Kitts in the 73rd as T&T, led by Garcia, continued to terrorise their defence. The speedy AEK Athens player eluded his defender with a stepover before blasting a low drive across goal that hit defender Jameel Ible and went into the net.

Real Gill, 20, made his Gold Cup debut in the 79th, a replacement for Garcia, and showed flashes off his immense potential.

Fortune could have added to his tally in injury time, but his curling shot was pushed wide by Archibald for a corner.

Eve is on record saying T&T has a “good chance” of qualifying past the Gold Cup group stage, and this result is a step in the right direction, after USA and Jamaica drew their opening game 1-1 on Saturday.

With three points already in the bag, T&T will begin preparations for sterner tests against Jamaica on Wednesday and USA on July 2.

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 12.Kareem Moses, 18.Triston Hodge; 17.Andre Rampersad (6.Luke Singh 77), 15.Neveal Hackshaw; 7.Ryan Telfer (19.Malcolm Shaw 68), 10.Kevin Molino (captain) (8.Ajani Fortune 68), 20.Kaïlé Auvray (3.Joevin Jones 83); 11.Levi Garcia (13.Real Gill 80).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Denzil Smith (GK), 2.Aubrey David, 5.Leland Archer, 9.Kadeem Corbin, 14.Shannon Gomez, 23.Molik Khan.

Coach: Angus Eve

Saint Kitts and Nevis (4-2-3-1): 18.Julani Archibald (GK) (captain); 2.Malique Roberts, 4.Andre Burley, 5.Jameel Ible, 6.Lois Maynard; 8.Yohannes Mitchum (17.Rowan Liburd), 14.Raheem Somersall (15.Mervin Lewis 72); 21.Omari Sterling-James (11.Tyquan Terrell 62), 19.Romaine Sawyers, 7.Tiquanny Williams (22.Ronaldo Belgrove 72), 16.Keithroy Freeman (10.Jacob Hazel 62).

Unused substitutes: 1.Jamal Jeffers (GK), 23.Xander Parke (GK), 9.Carlos Bertie, 12.Dijhorn Simmonds, 13.Ezrick Nicholls, 20.Raheem Hanley.

Coach: Austin Huggins

Referee: Said Martinez (Honduras)
Post by: Tallman on June 26, 2023, 07:57:35 PM
Alvin Jones: Trinidad and Tobago hungry to “re-establish themselves”
Concacaf.com

There was almost a wince on the face of Trinidad and Tobago Head Coach Angus Eve when he realized that Sunday’s 3-0 victory over Saint Kitts and Nevis in Group A was the country’s first Concacaf Gold Cup group stage win since the 2015 edition.

Eights years later, Eve and the Soca Warriors are dead set on making sure that the 2023 Gold Cup will be the moment in which Trinidad and Tobago “re-establish themselves” on the big stage in the region.

They certainly looked the part on Sunday, led by DF Alvin Jones, who scored right before halftime to give Trinidad and Tobago a 1-0 lead in the match at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Speaking with Concacaf.com after the match, Jones echoed his coach’s sentiment on the 2000 semifinalists and 2013 and 2015 quarterfinalists restoring their place among the top dogs in the Caribbean and in the Concacaf region.

“Trinidad and Tobago have been off the map for quite a while. One of the things the coach brought when he got the job was that he wanted us to be a force to conquer the Concacaf region and the CFU region. As you can see, we've been doing some great work and it's showing off,” said Jones.

Jones typically does not score a lot of goals for Trinidad and Tobago. His tally on Sunday, which was a sensational volley after bringing a pass down with his chest, was his fourth as a member of the Senior Men’s National Team and his first in eight Gold Cup matches.

However, his recent domestic form this season with Club Sando in Trinidad and Tobago had Jones feeling very confident going into this Gold Cup.

“I've been playing back home, and I have seven goals in 10 games. I'm in a pretty good scoring form and I just try to lead that up into the competition and I got a goal today,” said Jones.

It has to be said though, his goals with Trinidad and Tobago are nothing short of spectacular. In a memorable 2-1 win over the United States on the final matchday of the final round of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying for Russia 2018, Jones scored a cracking goal from 35 yards out for the winning score.

The goal versus the U.S. remains his favorite, but it certainly does not take away the importance of Sunday’s strike.

“The USA one is a history one, but today, it's a great goal. It’s going to build the team and give the team confidence. We have to keep going and get more. I think my goal was a very important goal to grow the confidence in the team for us to go and get more goals,” said Jones.

As always, representing his country is of the utmost importance to Jones and scoring for his country in such a prestigious tournament like the Gold Cup is a feeling that is almost indescribable.

“Representing my country is everything. I'm going to put my body on the line, I put my life on the line for my country, so every time I step on that field, I give my all, I make up my mind to walk off having left everything behind. It's an honor and pride in representing my country,” concluded Jones.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2023, 08:22:20 PM
Ah doh see Luis Fernando Suárez keeping this gig.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 26, 2023, 08:52:13 PM
Concacaf has improved. The Nations League has benefited almost every team.

Regarding the T&T vs JA game, Jamaica will grow in confidence if they hold on to the ball and score. BUT, if they don't score early, the pressure for them to score will throw them off their game. Right now they are expected to win. This is where the expectation can be crippling. Especially when it's a game against their arch rivals.

This game should be in New York, South Florida or even Toronto. Not St Louis. Mexico and Honduras always get the Texas games that are always sold out. Concacaf is missing out on a huge opportunity to do the same for a Trinidad vs Jamaica game.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 27, 2023, 09:35:14 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/TEX7SVSbA5k
Post by: Deeks on June 27, 2023, 09:52:16 AM
GoP I agree with You. 
Post by: Flex on June 28, 2023, 01:11:55 AM
Soca Warriors look to clinch quarterfinal spot.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

...meet Reggae Boyz in Missouri

T&T Soca Warriors will be aiming to be the first team to seal a spot in the quarterfinals of this year’s 16-team Concacaf Gold Cup when they clash with Caribbean rival, Jamaica in their second Group A match at City Park Stadium, Saint Louis, Missouri, USA from 7.30 pm Wednesday night.

Two hours later, defending champions and host USA entertains St Kitts and Nevis at the same venue.

Winners of their opener against another Caribbean nation, St Kitts and Nevis 3-0 on Sunday to stretch their unbeaten run in 2013 to seven matches, the Angus Eve-coached Soca Warriors will start the match as leaders of their four-team pool with three points, two ahead of the Jamaicans, and defending champion and host USA, who battled to a 1-1 draw in the tournament opener on Saturday at Soldier Field, Chicago.

T&T will also go into the match, the first meeting between both countries in the tournament history, unbeaten against the Reggae Boyz in their last two matches, having secured a 1-0 win back on March 11, and a 0-0 draw three days later, in two friendly matches played in Jamaica earlier this year.

That renewed a series that hasn’t been played often in recent years, with the last meeting in an official match coming nearly a decade ago when Jamaica beat T&T in a shootout after a scoreless draw in the 2014 Caribbean Cup final in Kingston.

Speaking at the pre-match press conference, T&T coach said he has studied the Jamaicans and as part of the preparation for the match as the intensity in training was really good and his players are looking forward to the encounter.

“We want to win the game. We came into the tournament with the mindset that we want to go onto the second phase of this tournament, which is coming out of the group.

“So the strategy that we have in mind would be about trying to win the game."

The 51-year-old T&T coach noted that win for T&T to book a second-round spot, saying, “It will be huge for us to qualify out of this group because it’s no secret the problems we had in our football being normalised by FIFA and all that kind of stuff."

He added, “Now we are getting our football back on track and we had a league for the first time in three years which was a huge success, and there are players in this squad who came out of that league and we continue to build.

“We have qualified for back-to-back Gold Cups, so I think we are back on the right track and this is another step in the right direction, but the end game for us is to qualify for the World Cup in 2026 in our region, and we want to put our best foot forward and try to be there in the end.”

For 11-Gold Cup participants T&T, coach Eve is expected to have his full squad to choose from as they look to build on the win over the Sugar Boyz, the biggest in tournament history with strikes from Alvin Jones, USA-born Ajani Fortune, and an own-goal from Jameel Ible.

The Reggae Boyz coached by Iceland’s Heimir Hallgrimsson have qualified to the Gold Cup 13-times, however, they are currently on an 11-match winless run with their last win coming against Suriname by a 3-1 margin on June 7 last year in the Concacaf Nations League.

Asked his thoughts on the Jamaican team which features a host of English-based players, compared to one he faced a few months back, Eve said, “They had about nine foreign-based players, but only about five of them are in these team along with players like Michail Antonio, Demarai Gray and to our credit we had a mostly locally-based team, so we didn’t have the guys that we now have also, warned Eve."

After tonight’s matches, Jamaica closes group play against St Kitts and Nevis, while T&T will square off with the USA on Sunday (July 2).

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers:

Denzil Smith (W Connection), Nicklas Frenderup (Ranheim IL/Norway), Marvin Phillip (AC Port of Spain).

Defenders:

Alvin Jones (Club Sando), Shannon Gomez (San Antonio FC/USA), Joevin Jones (Police FC), Triston Hodge (Hartford Athletic/USA), Kareem Moses (FF Jaro/Finland), Leland Archer (Charleston Battery/USA), Sheldon Bateau (SK Beveren/Belgium), Aubrey David (SD Aucas/Ecuador);

Midfielders:

Molik Khan (Minnesota United/USA), Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers/Canada), Neveal Hackshaw (Oakland Roots SC/USA), Ajani Fortune (Atlanta United/USA), Luke Singh (Atletico Ottawa/Canada), Kaïlé Auvray (Sporting KC Academy/USA), Real Gill (Club Sando), Ryan Telfer (Miami FC/USA), Kevin Molino (Columbus Crew/USA),

Forwards:

Levi Garcia (AEK Athens FC/Greece), Kadeem Corbin (La Horquetta Rangers), Malcolm Shaw (Atletico Ottawa/Canada).

Jamaica Squad:

Goalkeepers:

Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Jamali Waite (Pittsburgh Riverhounds), Coniah Boyce-Clarke (Reading)

Defenders:

Amari’i Bell (Luton Town), Ethan Pinnock (Brentford), Di’shon Bernard, Adrian Mariappa (Salford City), Dexter Lembikisa (Wolves), Damion Lowe (Philadelphia Union), Javain Brown (Vancouver Whitecaps), Kemar Lawrence (Minnesota United)

Midfielders:

Kevon Lambert (Phoenix Rising, (Jonathan Russell (Barnsley), Joel Latibeaudiere (Swansea), Bobby Reid (Fulham), Daniel Johnson (Preston North End), Kaheem Parris (Dynamo Kyiv)

Forwards:

Michail Antonio (West Ham), Shamar Nicholson (Spartak Moscow), Leon Bailey (Aston Villa), Cory Burke (New York Red Bulls), Dujuan Richards (Phoenix Academy), Demarai Gray (Everton)

RELATED NEWS

Eve eyes victory over Reggae Boyz in Gold Cup.
By Stephon Nicholas (T&T Newsday).

Soca Warriors coach Angus Eve is eyeing three points against the Reggae Boyz in Wednesday's "Caribbean derby" in Group A of the Concacaf Gold Cup, at City Park, St Louis, Missouri. Kick-off is at 7.30pm.

A victory for T&T, after their opening 3-0 win vs St Kitts, will be enough for Eve's men to qualify for the quarter-finals, with one match to play. Prior to the tournament, Eve said T&T had a "good chance" of reaching the knock-out stage.

However, Jamaica will be desperate to get their first win of the tournament, after drawing with USA 1-1 in the Gold Cup opener.

At Tuesday's media conference, Eve said the "intensity and preparations have been really good," and he is looking forward to the match. He said all players are fit and available.

"We wanna win the game. We came in the tournament with the mindset that we wanna go to the second phase, which is coming out the group," he said.

Eve dismissed any relevance of the two friendlies against the Reggae Boyz in Jamaica earlier this year, which saw T&T win 1-0 and draw the second fixture 0-0.

The former national skipper said the composition of the Jamaica Gold Cup team is quite different from the friendlies, with both teams previously fielding primarily local-based players.

"The likes of Michail Antonio (West Ham), Demarai Gray (Everton), Bobby Reid (Fulham), (Ethan) Pinnock (Brentford), they wouldn't have been in that (Jamaica) squad at that time."

Eve said T&T is hoping to get its football back on track, after internal troubles with the TT Football Association falling under control of the FIFA normalisation committee and the lack of a domestic professional league for three years during the pandemic.

"We continue to build. We've qualified for two back-to-back Gold Cups proper. We're back on the right track; this is another step in the right direction. The end game is to qualify for World Cup 2026. It's in our region (US, Canada and Mexico) and we want to put our best foot forward and be there again."

France-born T&T midfielder Kaile Auvray, 19, who has enjoyed a bright start since making his debut this year said he is happy to be part of the T&T squad and learning from the veterans.

"It means a lot. It's truly a privilege to be here at such a young age and to be able to learn from certain veterans like Kevin Molino, Joevin Jones, to be able to acquire that experience."

Post by: pull stones on June 28, 2023, 02:50:56 PM
Hope you guys listened to lasana who was so on point with his assessment. this team did not perform well enough to be overly optimistic and from where I stand will have to come way better just to get past jamaica, never mind the usa which is a running overly transitional team who controls and dominates the midfield.

I’m just going to watch this game with very little expectation, but if we’re to take anything from this game we would have to put in a first class shift where our attackers must perform flawlessly, unlike that piss poor showing that molino, levi and telfer brought against st kitts nevis.

To add to that the young kid from france needs to stop over dribbling and must make his crosses count, so far I’ve seen nothing but Carlos edwards crosses, nothing pin point on the heads and feet of our attacking players, just wasted possession every time he goes on one of his fruitless runs down the flank.

Any who, I wish the lads success, but I’m not overly optimistic in the least.

Post by: kounty on June 28, 2023, 03:44:34 PM
Game day fellaz! vibez it up!!! :challenge: :applause: :applause: :duel: :duel: :salute: :wavetowel: :whip: :party:
Caribbean teams performing. Best of luck!! WE behind you all!

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 05:42:13 PM
What kind of line up is this?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2023, 05:57:08 PM
Game over.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 05:57:25 PM
we have to be careful
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 05:59:21 PM
what kind ah set play is that ?
Post by: jojosxm on June 28, 2023, 06:01:16 PM
cheuuups
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 06:04:55 PM
we fit for 8
Post by: Bitter on June 28, 2023, 06:09:04 PM
Licks like fire  :flamethrower:
Post by: 1-868 on June 28, 2023, 06:11:03 PM
Eve is facing up :cursing:
Post by: jojosxm on June 28, 2023, 06:12:47 PM
As my friend from Dominica would say, "they doh ready"...........................
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 06:15:06 PM
Poor levi
Post by: 1-868 on June 28, 2023, 06:21:21 PM
Somebody tell Eve, that Patrick Vieira looking for a wok  :pissedoff:
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2023, 06:26:44 PM
Maybe iz jes me, but if I am down by 3 goals within 30 minutes, my thought process concludes there's more to be gained by attempting to get to level terms through positive use of the ball during 60+ minutes ... rather than trying to condense that assignment into 45+ minutes.  There's more than one way of resisting the assault other than assisting the opponent's clock.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 28, 2023, 06:29:42 PM
Talk about bull…wayyyy…
Post by: Toussaint on June 28, 2023, 06:29:58 PM
I was expecting a big clash between two big Caribbean sides. Trinidad didn’t show up in the first half. I want to see a more competitive second half.
Post by: Bitter on June 28, 2023, 06:33:30 PM
Somebody tell Eve, that Patrick Vieira looking for a wok  :pissedoff:

What Vieira do you?
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 06:34:17 PM
1 868 I am thinking the same thing ...Patrick may be a good coach for us .
Post by: MEP on June 28, 2023, 06:37:40 PM
Eve get more exposed than an ostrich bottom
Post by: Trinidogg on June 28, 2023, 06:42:18 PM
TTFF could afford Vieira??? Real talk them fellas look lost out there 3 open net goals. Jamaica has all the space in the world to do what ever they like. Second half must put up a fight.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2023, 06:43:05 PM

Well, Sunday! Tell him reach.   :)
Post by: Bitter on June 28, 2023, 06:45:37 PM
The comeback is on!
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 06:52:09 PM
Angus  play levi on wing shaw as a center forward  .he took out shaw awrrrrrrrrrrr
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2023, 06:54:33 PM
Maybe Corbin gets a sniff tonight.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2023, 07:00:11 PM
Ah would ah send JJ a jet ski if that pass had threaded to Alvin.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 07:09:51 PM
Some of our player look like laborers you can just tell the difference in quality when compared to those Jamaican players
Post by: trini_stallion on June 28, 2023, 07:30:57 PM
Eve got it totally wrong tonight.
Post by: 1-868 on June 28, 2023, 07:33:06 PM
This match was lost at the time when Eve handed out the starting lineup :banginghead:
Post by: 1-868 on June 28, 2023, 07:34:08 PM
Total F&ckery
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 07:37:40 PM
We look most threatening when levi is on the wing
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 28, 2023, 07:42:49 PM
  trini_stallion how many times  eve got it right? 
Post by: trini_stallion on June 28, 2023, 08:05:51 PM
True…i don’t understand how in a must win game to advance, Molino, & JJ, warming bench…Gomez was just running around aimlessly…and Molik Khan came in to ball watch…

Very disappointing
Post by: kounty on June 28, 2023, 08:06:19 PM
Thank you Levi! good fight to the end! Thanks team! Thanks for the 2nd half fight in particular. I hope Eve takes the lessons from this into the next game. Can't coward your way to victory. Let's go for it!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 28, 2023, 08:09:08 PM
Hope Angus is man enough to own up to have gotten it wrong, dead wrong in parts of the game especially the first half
Post by: lefty on June 28, 2023, 08:54:21 PM
Let me guess we lost because Eve decided to be a pussy... um ah mean be pragmatic
Post by: pull stones on June 28, 2023, 09:30:04 PM
haha, i told you guys not to expect too much. anyhow you all may not agree with me but it was all the left back and the goal keepers fault, on the first goal the man ran out of his line just to give the attacker an easier chance.

and this is what bugs me about our keepers, they tend to panic very easily, had he held his line both with baily and grey and trust his defenders to fix the problem then those soft goals would not have scored.

as for the attack, angus got it way wrong, but he fixed the problem in the 2dn half and had us playing some good ball, its just that we lacked quality in the final third. BTW molino is just a fraction of his old self and angus was right for not starting him, as for levi garcia, that man frustrates me so.

he gets in a scoring position and freezes up. jovin, hackshaw and hodges has a great game, but i have to say that we would never live this loss down, not from jamaica, theyre not 4 goals better than us, usa maybe.... but not jamaica. if we had better attackers we could have beaten them.

and i stand by my observation, those goals were all goal keeper jitters. frenderup dissappointed my sore. real amateur goal keeping at best.
Post by: soccerman on June 28, 2023, 10:42:31 PM
Levi, our best player need the ball at his feet more. I think he should be wide where he'll be more dangerous going to goal. Playing on top with your back to goal can be a lonely place when you're not getting the right service. USA will play him the same way as JA did at center forward where he'll be marked tightly and will be on the ground most times the ball comes his way.
Maybe fitness is the issue but JJ and Molino has a certain level of confidence and poise on the ball that many other lack at the moment. Their maturity stood out in the 2nd half. We need to see more of that from the others.
It was disappointing to see us give up 3 goals that early in the game to our rival. We gave up too much space to our opponents and they took advantage of it.
Our backs are against the wall now, we have to win on Sunday and with the right attitude, discipline and mindset we can do it.
I don't like to blame the coach when I don't know what's going on in the camp but we need to get the right unit out there putting players in positions to play to their strengths.
Post by: pull stones on June 29, 2023, 12:15:05 AM
Levi, our best player need the ball at his feet more. I think he should be wide where he'll be more dangerous going to goal. Playing on top with your back to goal can be a lonely place when you're not getting the right service. USA will play him the same way as JA did at center forward where he'll be marked tightly and will be on the ground most times the ball comes his way.
Maybe fitness is the issue but JJ and Molino has a certain level of confidence and poise on the ball that many other lack at the moment. Their maturity stood out in the 2nd half. We need to see more of that from the others.
It was disappointing to see us give up 3 goals that early in the game to our rival. We gave up too much space to our opponents and they took advantage of it.
Our backs are against the wall now, we have to win on Sunday and with the right attitude, discipline and mindset we can do it.
I don't like to blame the coach when I don't know what's going on in the camp but we need to get the right unit out there putting players in positions to play to their strengths.
all those goals were due to ball watching, and on the first three we were hit with counter attacks that caught our defense out of shape, out of position and flat footed. on the first goal four players were tackling one attacker with the ball while leaving the other two attackers unmarked, on the second goal Bailey beat the off side trap on a very high line, what was angus thinking? he left the GK no time to react, on the third goal ball watching again came into the equation leaving a dangerous epl player free and unmarked.

BTW the referee was also culpable for two of the goals which all came after obvious fouls, the first foul was committed on Shaw when he was pushed off the ball to the ground, play should have been stopped, the second was when ajani was hacked down but the ref allowed it to continue. Very poor officiating cost us the game.

I continue to say that concacaf has the worst referees in the whole of fifa, just ask Qatar’s coach, and it  gets worst with each passing year. No shame. and another thing, the goalie is a panicker, you can’t win games with presumptuous goal keeping, your custodians must be very sharp, skilled and confident like turner and navas, boy do we need a keeper with the caliber of those two top notch guys.
Post by: Flex on June 29, 2023, 01:11:59 AM
Reggae Boyz whip Soca Warriors 4-1.

Two goals from Demarai Ramelle Gray on only his second appearance for Jamaica's Reggae Boyz Wednesday night confined the T&T Soca Warriors to their first defeat in Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, 4-1 at the City Park in Missouri, USA.

The result means the Soca Warriors will have to beat the host and defending champions United States when the teams meet on Sunday (July 2) at the Bank of American Stadium.

USA, fielding a second-rated team for the tournament, was scheduled to meet St Kitts and Nevis in the other group match last night.

Coach Angus Eve's men struggled to cope with the physical strength and pace of their regional rival from as early as the second minute of play when Bobby Reid raced into the T&T's goal area from a cheeky back-heel by Michail Antonio that put him on a one-on-one with Nicklas Frenderup in the T&T goal but from a semi-acute angel, Reid fired his shot into the side nettings.

Later though, they would not be denied the opening goal in the 14th minute. Antonio, holding off his marker with the ball in the centre of the T&T defence, then released to Leon Bailey, who quickly picked out Gray free on the left side to take aim and lash the ball past Frenderup into the vacant far-post for a 1-0 lead.

The Warriors, still trying to find its way in the encounter, went further behind in the 17th minute, as their defence failed to pick up Bailey from a long lifted ball over the top of the defence which put Bailey on a one-on-one with Frenderup.

With the goal at his mercy, Bailey drilled his left footer hard and low past Frenderup into the bottom left corner for a 2-0 advantage.

T&T, who defeated the Jamaicans in an international friendly match early this year, failed to replicate the attacking prowess in the first half of play. That, coupled with a shaky defence, led to the Jamaican's third goal in the 30th minute.

This time, Antonio overrode a battling challenge by Kareem Moses in the T&T goal area and released to the unmarked Gray to get his second goal of the night with a simple tap in for a 3-0 lead. The match, dubbed the Caribbean "Classico", had gone all in favour of the Reggae Boyz in the first half and when the teams returned to the field in the second session, it looked like a different T&T team.

Coach Eve, needing to get a result from the match, brought in Kaile Auvray, who peppered the Nicaraguan defence in the CONCACAF Nations League in Tobago in March as well as Joevin Jones and Tristan Hodge.

It proved to have worked for the Warriors when Garcia, on the right side of the Jamaican defence, beat his marker for pace to the byline before centring for Andre Rampersad to back-heel the ball into the Jamaican goal for a 3-1 scoreline.

The goal gave the Warriors hope and for the first time, Eve's men attempted to keep the ball and create rare troubles for the Reggae Boyz. However, the men in red, white and black, in spite of their obvious desire to attack, would have only the heavens to thank as a couple of defensive blunders gave the Jamaicans at least two opportunities to seal the win.

In the first in the 64th minute, Shamar Nicholson was put through with a one-on-one with Frenderup, but his attempt at the far post was somehow pushed wide by the T&T custodian.

A minute later, Damion Lowe with a searching run down the right side, centred for the unmarked Bailey, who hit the ball wide of the open target.

However, the T&T defence could do nothing when Dujuan Richards exploited the space given by the local defenders, and his powerful grounder took a deflection off Moses before flying past Frenderup for a 4-1 victory.

The result put the Jamaicans in the top position in the group with four points, and they would feel confident of progressing to the next of the competition with the next match being against S Kitts and Nevis.

The Warriors, on the other hand, will have to reproduce the performance that earned them a 2-1 win over the US in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva in 2017.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (5-4-1): 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 2.Aubrey David (18.Triston Hodge 46), 12.Kareem Moses, 14.Shannon Gomez (23.Molik Khan 75); 19.Malcolm Shaw (20.Kaïlé Auvray 46), 17.Andre Rampersad (10.Kevin Molino 63), 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 8.Ajani Fortune (3.Joevin Jones 46); 11.Levi Garcia (captain).

Substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Denzil Smith (GK), 5.Leland Archer, 6.Luke Singh, 7.Ryan Telfer, 9.Kadeem Corbin, 13.Real Gill.

Jamaica (4-3-3): 1.Andre Blake (GK) (captain); 21.Javain Brown (8.Daniel Johnson 61), 6.Di’shon Bernard, 17.Damion Lowe, 20.Kemar Lawrence (2.Dexter Lembikisa 46); 3.Kevon Lambert, 15.Joel Latibeaudiere, 10.Bobby Reid (11.Shamar Nicholson 61); 7.Leon Bailey (14.Dujuan Richards 81), 18.Michail Antonio (9.Cory Burke 75), 12.Demarai Gray.

Unused substitutes: 13.Coniah Boyce-Clarke (GK), 23.Jahmali Waite (GK), 4.Amari’i Bell, 16.Kaheem Parris, 19.Adrian Mariappa, 22.Jonathan Russell.

Coach: Heimir Hallgrimsson

Referee: Fernando Guerra (Mexico)

Group A Results

Jamaica 4 (Demarai Gray 14, 30, Leon Bailey 18, Dujuan Richards 90+2), Trinidad and Tobago 1 (Andre Rampersad 49)

United States 6 (Djorde Mihailovic 12, 79, Bryan Reynolds 14, Jesus Ferreira 16, 25, 50), Saint Kitts and Nevis 0

Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2023, 01:33:10 AM
Watch all de seed wheh you ah sow
cyah plant corn an' ah peas yuh waan fi ...

Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 04:12:12 AM
Pull stones don't dismiss the goals  boy jamaica tranasition from defense to attack was so good and  fast     .I have never seen a jamaican team like this.   How many chances did we create btw Jamaica  they could have hammered us.!!!   that forced a save from their goalie ? This jamaican  team led USA could have won  also were leading mexico in azteca who has to come from behind to tie.

btw everyone was fully fit in the press conference the days before the match  . go to 1:23  But  then molino and auvray  etc had knocks that why the did not start  ...   ::) ::) AS A FAN  I AM FED UP
https://www.youtube.com/v/iX3C18TDcxk
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 06:25:43 AM
 Jamaica coach view
https://www.youtube.com/v/RrEJLYoWnzQ

Angus eve big name players scare us   ::)
https://www.youtube.com/v/yjXVZjIdQJU
Post by: kounty on June 29, 2023, 08:39:39 AM
I'm sort of discouraged that Eve didn't acknowledge / delve enough into the fact that (and no reporters made him address that) even in the 2nd half, we were deficient  -- if the whole game were played that way, most likely we would have come out a 3-1 down or something like that.  [in-game adjustments have to be better].

(Oh: "Big name players frighten the players").

I  hope he does realize what it is and fixes. I like that he didn't hedge this time early on and said on the record the goal is to get to the quarter final stage. That now means beating the US. 
As the Shaw interview suggested, everybody comfortable, practiced and know what to do when they play the ball on the ground [and Auvray, Jones, Molino (used to be Poon and Muckette as well) -- 2 out of 3 at least] could hold the ball with a midfielder or two on their backs, yet still make a good pass (Messi being the paradigm for this). No half-hearted park the bus BS, can't get the ball out of the back - so hoof the ball - long ball crap. Don't play the US like that please, cuz I sure it will be 4 again.
Post by: Peong on June 29, 2023, 09:03:38 AM
Jamaica took their foot off the pedal after the third goal, we didn't deserve anything from this game, misplaced balls at the back losing possession in our half trying to play out the back. On the first goal fortune had an easy pass back to the wing back, instead he want to try to turn on his marker. That is boneheaded football. The 2nd goal our defender I think was Bateau is keeping Bailey onside and he is the man raising his hand hoping for a whistle. Jamaica playing with 4 sharp attackers, Gray, Bailey, Reid and Antonio and we were woefully indisciplined.
Even in the 2nd half we passing out the back to men in the middle who well marked sometimes by 2 opponents. I saw the same attempted ball from the back to Levi's feet get cut out by his marker 3 times. After the first time it is Levi's fault for not moving to the ball. Yes he did better every time he was wide.
I was surprised that Telfer did not play in this game.
I watched this game with a Jamaican friend so it was even more annoying when he raving about Dujuan whisper scoring the 4th bullshit deflected goal
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 10:44:16 AM

“Names seemed to have scared us!” Eve bemoans “soft goals” as T&T thumped 4-1 by Jamaica
Lasana Liburd Wednesday 28 June 2023

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team were second best in a Caribbean derby at the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup tonight, as they fell 4-1 to Jamaica in Group A action at CityPark in Missouri.

The Soca Warriors could have advanced to the knockout stage for the first time in eight years with a win tonight, but it was always going to be a tough task against a star-studded Jamaican team. And, in the end, it was a comfortable and comprehensive result for the “Reggae Boyz”.

https://wired868.com/2023/06/28/names-seemed-to-have-scared-us-eve-bemoans-soft-goals-as-tt-thumped-4-1-by-jamaica/
Post by: pull stones on June 29, 2023, 12:21:47 PM
when i watch football i see it from a coaches prospective and i know most of you do too, but as a small time wanna be coach, don't you guys get annoyed when things that are so obvious, gets cloudy to the management as well as the coaching staff?

in all honesty how could we continue on with players whom we know are habitual strugglers in the game that has never risen their level of play and understanding of the game? you making passes to a player that is heavily marked only to lose possession, as peong reiterated this is bone headed football. in real big games this almost never happens, which brings me to sheldon bateau, when are we going to thank this man for his services and move on?

for almost 12 years now i'm watching this central defender make all sorts of errant mistakes which almost cost us every single time he plays, on that first goal he miss kicked the ball in the box causing antonio to make the pass to gray, aubrey the same thing, these guys play football with zero intelligence and skill level, and at the international level you cannot afford to miskick and misread plays in your defensive third.

on the second goal no one was watching bailey, a guy with incredible speed on and off the ball, and yet again bateau played him on side, and for sure that keeper had no right to rush out, i always say that great GKs when they rush off their line as the last order of defense they always get piece of the ball or disrupt the rhythm of the attacker, it's very rare that you see a great GK rush off his line to get beaten by an attacking player so easily without making him work hard for his goal, let alone twice in a game.

i think that we have some good nifty little players, but we need a solid back line, and the only one that i would keep thus far is tristan hodges.....and maybe.....just maybe alvin jones whom in my opinion is a very basic players to say the least, but bateau , moses and david should not be an option in serious tournament games going forward, these guys come apart way too easily and it's been years of the same ole same ole. don't our coaches get fed up of this nonsense?

Post by: Preacher on June 29, 2023, 12:27:27 PM
I felt for Eve there. He over calculated. I've done it. The changes should have been quick. 2-0. after 30 minutes. Changes. You can't leave Molino and Jovin on the bench.
Post by: pull stones on June 29, 2023, 12:37:48 PM
another thing i wanted to highlight, don't these concacaf referees frustrate you? i was so annoyed when shaw was bundled over by the jamaican defender, literally pushed down off the ball only for the play to continue which resulted in the first goal?

and on the third goal the same was apparent when fortune was kick down, and yes the player got the ball, but he also got the player,  and again no call which resulted in another goal.

this type of piss poor officiating never happens in euefa or comebol, like the qatari coach exclaimed, this is very poor officiating, they were robbed two goals...which were obvious penalties, yet these referees are allowed to officiate in big games despite their constant ineptitude, especially that bow legged jamaican referee, he tries hard...i give him that, but you can clearly see that he makes tons of terrible decisions that cost deserving teams points. jamaica beat us yes, but they got lots of help from bateau and the referee.
Post by: Preacher on June 29, 2023, 12:53:03 PM
Pull stones. I agree 100%. If the players being manhandled were US, he would have been blowing that whistle. I have never seen a rougher game. And TT were so physically outmatched.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 01:44:30 PM
Pull stones I agree I wonder how Moses i was never impressed with him .. The main quesion is who are we going to replace them with? Luke singh not ready as yet  are we scounting for players ? who  is in the pipeline
Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2023, 03:06:41 PM
Pull stones. I agree 100%. If the players being manhandled were US, he would have been blowing that whistle. I have never seen a rougher game. And TT were so physically outmatched.

Didn't seem like a rivalry to me. We didn't even target certain players for rough housing.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2023, 03:10:06 PM
I felt for Eve there. He over calculated. I've done it. The changes should have been quick. 2-0. after 30 minutes. Changes. You can't leave Molino and Jovin on the bench.

I am empathetic, but he hadda hold a tap or two as well. Ah not even invested in explaining why. Yuh could see the pain on his face. He wasn't expecting that dismantling.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2023, 03:15:42 PM

Preach.
Post by: Peong on June 29, 2023, 03:26:46 PM
Hackshaw lack of conditioning was on full display. From about 65 mins he was done, and even before that he was using his energy sparingly.
I gonna rewatch this game tomorrow, I thought the challenge for the first goal was not a foul at the time. Did not notice a foul for the 3rd goal. To tell the truth I felt we played too soft, not ready for contact and falling over when it came.
Post by: pull stones on June 29, 2023, 04:04:36 PM
Hackshaw lack of conditioning was on full display. From about 65 mins he was done, and even before that he was using his energy sparingly.
I gonna rewatch this game tomorrow, I thought the challenge for the first goal was not a foul at the time. Did not notice a foul for the 3rd goal. To tell the truth I felt we played too soft, not ready for contact and falling over when it came.
TBH i am quite fond of hackshaw and i'll tell you why, the man has a footballing brain in his head, something 95% of our players both past and present lack, and had it not been for him and triston hodges that defense would struggle to even get out their own half of the field.

the problem is that our midfielders are over worked, and that's because our attackers have a hard time holding on to possession, did you know that last night we only had two shots on goal, and our turn over rate from offense to defense were at a staggering rate?

last night you could have seen that andre ramperad couldn't go another minute, that defense over worked that man and ever so  often he had to be on both attacking and defensive mode because levi and auvery would turn over possession without even a shot on goal then the jamaicans would be quick on the counter attack leaving the defense in disarray.

alvin jones also need to take some of that blame because he was caught out of position on many occasions leaving hackshaw and rampersad to pick up the pieces, on that first goal he was way down field while grey and bailey were free as a bird to link up.

our performance last night was one the the worst defensive displays that i've ever seen from the TT national team, for sure. trust me jamaica ain't that good, and i wait to see how they fear when they come up against real organized teams like costa rice and panama.

Post by: pull stones on June 29, 2023, 04:21:26 PM
Pull stones I agree I wonder how Moses i was never impressed with him .. The main quesion is who are we going to replace them with? Luke singh not ready as yet  are we scounting for players ? who  is in the pipeline
I got to be honest here mate, nothing ever hurt me in football as that beating last night at the hands of an okay team. i wouldn't have mind if it was a top notch team, but to lose in that soft manner to another caribbean team who if they were clinical enough, could have routed us quite easily. believe me it was extremely tough to bare. i don't know if angus is really the man for this job, seem like he could only beat teams in nation B and C.

we need top shelf academies and an equally top shelf league if we are to ever progress from these kind of F class performances.....but i know that no one is even listening , let alone paying attention.
Post by: lucky4life on June 29, 2023, 04:52:47 PM
At the hands of a OK team😅🤣😂 don't be little the Jamaican team, did you really watch the game Trinidad only manage 3 shot on goal!!! With 1 on target Jamaican have 12 shots on goal, with 7 on target Trinidad could've got about 8 Last night if it's was not for bad scoring of gold Bailey miss 2 clear chances Reid miss one and gray miss one also, our so- call team draw against USA a game that we should've WIN!!! Well since we're a ok team that draw with USA let see how Trinidad do against them, Trinidad is lucky that the Jamaican strikers in not clinical in front of goal, it  would've been a  embarrassing nigh for you all
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 07:39:28 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/6tsCpElyO4
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 29, 2023, 07:54:26 PM
Sancho Rants The powers that be does not want to bring in ....  :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
https://www.youtube.com/v/_6tsCpElyO4
Post by: Preacher on June 29, 2023, 09:05:01 PM

I am empathetic, but he hadda hold a tap or two as well. Ah not even invested in explaining why. Yuh could see the pain on his face. He wasn't expecting that dismantling.

;D  True.

Post by: Flex on June 30, 2023, 01:24:45 AM
Eve takes blame for nervous Soca Warriors.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

Soca Warriors coach Angus Eve says he is to blame for T&T’s 4-1 loss to Jamaica in their second Group A match of the Concacaf Gold Cup at City Park Stadium in Saint Louis, Missouri, USA, on Wednesday night.

The Jamaicans sealed their first win in 12 matches and the first in three matches against T&T, who suffered a first defeat in eight matches.

The Reggae Boyz got a pair of goals from England-based winger Demarai Gray in the 14th and 30th minutes on his 27th birthday while another English-based player Leon Bailey was also on target in the 18th for a 3-0 lead at the half-time whistle.

Canada-based midfielder Andre Rampersad pulled a goal back for T&T in the 49th with a clever back-heel from a right-sided Levi Garcia centre but two minutes into added-on time, Jamaica got a fourth goal via a shot from 17-year-old Dujuan Richards, Chelsea FC's new player, which deflected off T&T defender Kareem Moses and wrong-footed goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup to move to four points from two matches, the same as USA who trashed St Kitts and Nevis, 6-0, in the second match on Wednesday night in Missouri.

Commenting after the loss, Eve first defended his decision to make the four changes to his team to the one that started the 3-0 victory over St Kitts and Nevis, saying it was needed due to injuries.

He explained, “Triston (Hodge) had a tight hamstring, Kevin Molino is just coming back into football, and he complained he was really tired and I didn’t think he could start, and Auvray (Kaile) had some little knocks and bruises so we rotated the three changes.

“We were trying to keep the game a little tight in the first half, so we could probably go and get these players on in the second half, to express ourselves a little bit more.

"From the time the score became 3-0, I formulated a plan for the rest of the game but unfortunately, we seemed to be a little bit nervous tonight (Wednesday), and I think names probably scared us, and we really made some bad mistakes, but all in all I take full blame for the result because I’m the coach of the team.”

Looking ahead to the must-win match versus the USA at Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, on Sunday (July 2) from 7 pm, the 51-year-old Eve said, “We have to pick the guys up. The dressing room is very dejected as this is the first match we have lost in about nine matches for the season, and we don’t normally concede goals but I thought that in the second half when we went back on, I thought we were really in the game and created a lot of chances."

Asked what he can take from the loss forward to the match against the Americans, Eve said, “I thought the second half, we were more positive as it seemed like we settled down better.”

The T&T coach also alluded to the gap in class between both teams and the players at the respective coaches disposal saying, "Credit to Jamaica and the type of players that they have in the team. We don’t have that type of quality and it’s always going to be a struggle for us.

“But when you give away soft goals as I thought we give away a lot of soft goals very early, we had to dig ourselves out of a hole and credit to them for the way they started as we started really slow, and as I said I take full blame for it as I tried to keep the game as tight as possible, but we just didn’t defend well,” stated Eve.

The Reggae Boyz and St Kitts and Nevis also meet on Sunday from 7 pm at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California

WATCH Rampersad: We suffered but we must get up and push on (https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=4FXbvJ6DPyQ)

WATCH Levi: We need to Rise Above (https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=Gp5SZRCWWhs&t=15s)

WATCH Angus Eve at the Post Match Press Conference - Gold Cup 2023 TT vs Jamaica  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjXVZjIdQJU)

WATCH Jamaica 4-1 Trinidad Post Match Press Conference  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrEJLYoWnzQ)

Post by: pull stones on June 30, 2023, 01:51:50 AM
At the hands of a OK team😅🤣😂 don't be little the Jamaican team, did you really watch the game Trinidad only manage 3 shot on goal!!! With 1 on target Jamaican have 12 shots on goal, with 7 on target Trinidad could've got about 8 Last night if it's was not for bad scoring of gold Bailey miss 2 clear chances Reid miss one and gray miss one also, our so- call team draw against USA a game that we should've WIN!!! Well since we're a ok team that draw with USA let see how Trinidad do against them, Trinidad is lucky that the Jamaican strikers in not clinical in front of goal, it  would've been a  embarrassing nigh for you all
hold on to your hat mate, no one is saying that TT are world beaters or even a formidable opponent, in fact as it stands we've been running on fumes the last 10 years or more, but it still doesn't change the fact that jamaica is just an okay team, and the proof is that this is your first win since last year, so don't get ahead of yourself.

football is on the day, and even big teams suffer humiliating loses to teams they normally would beat, case and point brazil vs germany 2014 at home in brazil, germany scored 7 goals routing the world champions, and they could have scored more.

i'm not saying that we are a better team....not at all, i'm not that naive. if my opinion counts for anything i would say that TT is in total shambles all the way around. our defense is rubbish, especially in central defense and our attackers are aging, so no, ATM jamaica is a much better team than us, and whenever we're not in a competition i personally route for other caribbean teams, especially jamaica.

so hold on to your hat mate, when you beat a full strength usa, mexican or canadian team, then i would shower praises on your precious jamaica, but for now you'll have to wait until then.
Post by: reggae-fan on June 30, 2023, 09:59:40 AM
Jamaica is in a rebuilding process, new coach, new ideas, and with that we are also seeing more EPL caliber players with fading hopes of playing for England now showing interest. Jamaica is one of the few, if not only CONCACAF nations that can field a squad comprising entirely EPL players if it desires, but that comes with its own set of issues that our third world level Administration might not be equipped to deal with.

Yes, the new coach has not had success since taking over, but when you look at the caliber teams he's played since taking over - World champions Argentina, Africa champions Morocco, Cameroon, Qatar, Mexico etc.  you will quickly realize that the games up to this point were tough ones and played with experimental squads.

The coach has not selected a single player from the domestic league, a strong indication that he does not have much confidence in the leauge.
The lone local based selection is from the Manning Cup - Schoolboy football. Let that sink in.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2023, 11:30:45 AM
I'm sort of discouraged that Eve didn't acknowledge / delve enough into the fact that (and no reporters made him address that) even in the 2nd half, we were deficient  -- if the whole game were played that way, most likely we would have come out a 3-1 down or something like that.  [in-game adjustments have to be better].

(Oh: "Big name players frighten the players").

I  hope he does realize what it is and fixes. I like that he didn't hedge this time early on and said on the record the goal is to get to the quarter final stage. That now means beating the US. 
As the Shaw interview suggested, everybody comfortable, practiced and know what to do when they play the ball on the ground [and Auvray, Jones, Molino (used to be Poon and Muckette as well) -- 2 out of 3 at least] could hold the ball with a midfielder or two on their backs, yet still make a good pass (Messi being the paradigm for this). No half-hearted park the bus BS, can't get the ball out of the back - so hoof the ball - long ball crap. Don't play the US like that please, cuz I sure it will be 4 again.

Post-match media interactions with T&T NT coaches are generally "dolly house and almshouse".
Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2023, 11:34:24 AM

Well, Sunday! Tell him reach.   :)

Looks like Sunday he will be in Strasbourg or en route. He good for a lime in Baden-Baden or Stuttgart.
Post by: ABTrini on June 30, 2023, 11:45:01 AM
Here We Go… Again
Strike a pose with the team
Front page headlines making the scene
new kits and thing
man ready to shout and sing
We still celebrating 2006
despite legendary licks
Frozen in time
yet we bussing ah lime
hoping fuh the best
despite all the teams unrest
But now we cruising on Gold Cup dream

Ohh
Here we go again
Life's a dream
'Cause it's never what it seems
But we would  rather try and fail with tears
Than never show at all
So here we go again
 We are SocaWarriors
and we go fight

What do people really expect?  By FIFA ranking we should handle St Kitts  likewise Jamaica should handle we and the USA should  have a feast.

The operative word is should  not withstanding that in sports  some results are unpredictable-  Could we still have an upset? for sure but  what ought to occur?

In my opinion we still have a legacy of wanting to play ' pretty ball'  we like 'beatiing'  and frankly we are TOO SOFT- Jamaica has always played with a physicality which we seem to lack. These are the intangibles.

Coaching- still not convinced that this head coach is  knowledgeable and a tactician for the international game.

One more intangible- the power of belief - rising against the odds and performing  above expectations comes from within each player. Until we could develop this mental toughness we would forever be mired in an illusionary dream.

Post by: Sam on June 30, 2023, 12:39:01 PM
Kareem Moses is pure tata....

Joevin done, he cah make.

Rampersad is a boss.

Malcolm Shaw is a boss.

Auvray is a boss.

Ajani Fortune is a boss.

Gomez is a boss.

Hackshaw is solid just lack speed.

Love Hodge but he lil to wild.

Want to see Luke Singh, Ryan Telfer, Kadeem Corbin and Real Gill play vs USA.

We go beat USA if Eve stop foocking experimenting.

-----Frenderup
Alvin--Bateau--David--Hodge
--Hackshaw--Rampersad
-------Levi---Gomez
----Shaw---Telfer

Post by: maxg on June 30, 2023, 02:01:00 PM
Auvray for Gomez, Gomez for Rampersad ( if he’s injured).
Post by: Cocorite on June 30, 2023, 02:19:58 PM
Eve took responsibility for the loss. But you don’t get the feeling that he really accept that he:

1) Crippled the team by putting the fear of the “big names” in his players. He himself lacked belief that T&T could stand toe-to-toe with that Jamaican team. And when your leader lacks that belief, you can’t mask it. It will come out in your speech. “They have Antonio so & so and we have who we have.” Something like that he said to them.

2) Put out too many inexperienced players to start a game against a team admittedly stronger that your own. Madness. Bringing them on to run at them in the latter stages of the game & to give your older, more experienced legs a rest would have made more sense.

When we learn to believe in ourselves, we will stop playing into the hands of beatable opponents. Period!

Pull Stones, I appreciate your observations and analysis.

I also saw Hackshaw reading the game and putting in a good shift.

Lots of misunderstanding in the backline. I thought we had our defense in order. I was disappointed.
Post by: kounty on June 30, 2023, 04:58:12 PM
lovin the vibez and inputs

(ent have much to shuffle but i say to start)

-----Frenderup
 ---Singh[Moses]--Bateau---David-
Alvin --                         Joevin [Molino]
            Hackshaw--
           Rampersad [Hodge]--Auvray [Fortune]
-------Levi- Telfer [Gill/Shaw]

...hard game to debut for Singh, so maybe not...but hopefully Moses have the game of his life.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 01, 2023, 06:34:27 AM
Eve took responsibility for the loss. But you don’t get the feeling that he really accept that he:

1) Crippled the team by putting the fear of the “big names” in his players. He himself lacked belief that T&T could stand toe-to-toe with that Jamaican team. And when your leader lacks that belief, you can’t mask it. It will come out in your speech. “They have Antonio so & so and we have who we have.” Something like that he said to them.

2) Put out too many inexperienced players to start a game against a team admittedly stronger that your own. Madness. Bringing them on to run at them in the latter stages of the game & to give your older, more experienced legs a rest would have made more sense.

When we learn to believe in ourselves, we will stop playing into the hands of beatable opponents. Period!

Pull Stones, I appreciate your observations and analysis.

I also saw Hackshaw reading the game and putting in a good shift.

Lots of misunderstanding in the backline. I thought we had our defense in order. I was disappointed.

The delivery of "I accept responsibility" registered as you described.

AE's flirtation with reality TV isn't delivering the flattery Mirror, Mirror on the Wall would, but is insightful as to the qualities of his communication and more.

This rounds @pull stones has been exceptionally lucid and tempered in subjectivity/anger. Ah registering 90%+ concurrence with his observations and find statistically insignificant dissonance.

As far as the experience/inexperience balance, I think the same players could have achieved more with a different tactical orientation from the onset.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2023, 08:47:31 AM
Stop fighting down a black coach! Eve attacks “critics” before T&T/ USA clash

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team head coach Angus Eve waded into his perceived critics—and, in particular, a former football administrator, the parent of a national player and a 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup player—in the build-up to Sunday’s decisive group match against the United States

http://wired868.com/2023/07/01/stop-fighting-down-a-black-coach-eve-attacks-critics-before-tt-usa-clash/
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2023, 08:50:07 AM
Nothing to lose: Soca Warriors take on USA for spot in Gold Cup 2nd round
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THE PRESSURE is off Trinidad and Tobago and rather, on an expectant United States home team for today’s 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup clash at the Bank of America stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina, from 7 p.m.

T&T’s Soca Warriors go into their final Group A preliminary match with three points, one behind Jamaica and the USA, having won 3-0 over St Kitts and Nevis in their opening match. They are therefore still in with a chance of going to the knockout phase, provided they defeat the Americans.

With the USA ranked #11 in the world and the Jamaicans #64, a full 37 places ahead of his team, Eve reasoned that pre-tournament odds suggested that his Soca Warriors—not even ranked among the top 100 teams in the world - would have exited at the group stage. However, Eve said that the belief in his team is that they can defy the odds and move forward.

“Nobody expected us to get out of the group, nobody,” argued Eve at yesterday’s pre-match press conference.

“Anything that we do is a bonus,” he stated. ”We still in it going into the last game and I think that of itself is progress.”

Eve is banking on a faster start and a braver performance from his team than last time out, during a sobering 4-1 defeat to a Jamaica team stuffed with England-born and overseas-based footballers, five of whom play in the English Premier League.

Eve said the good thing about sport is having a second chance to do better and he is focused on today’s meeting with the USA, having learnt lessons from their dismal first-half showing against Jamaica three days earlier. Eve said the greatest improvement he hopes to see in the Soca Warriors is in self-belief. “To start with the belief that we didn’t start with against Jamaica” stated Eve. “For 30 minutes we looked shell-shocked. But I thought that after, in the second half of the game. I thought we settled in really nicely and we started to show ourselves.

“Our second half in both matches were excellent second halves,” Eve concluded. “In the Jamaica game, we created a lot of chances without taking the opportunities, and in the St Kitts game that is where we really took over the game.”

The United States have rested their Europe-based players for this tournament and have fielded a team made up mainly of United States-based Major League Soccer (MLS) players. The USA go into the match following a 1-1 draw with Jamaica and a 6-0 win over St Kitts and Nevis.

Despite having not yet played at this version of the tournament, veteran T&T goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was very confident.

“It’s not going to be an easy game. It’s going to be tough. But I think once we play to our full potential, we will get bast the USA and go on to the second round,” Phillip stated.

Likewise, Eve felt that the match would be very competitive, but possibly also winnable. He dispelled any notion that the USA are very much weakened, having not played all of their best players in the tournament.

“This is going to be a difficult game,” Eve said.

“I don’t think the USA put out a team to lose. This team is very competitive. All of the players are playing in good teams in the MLS. The goalkeeper is playing in Europe. So, it not an easy team as some people may make it sound like.

“There is a reason America is probably one (or) two in CONCACAF, because they have depth. They can lose some players and still perform at this level,” the T&T coach concluded.
Post by: ABTrini on July 02, 2023, 10:21:14 AM
 Let me take a look at  how our coach instills confidence by what  is quoted from his statement:

Likewise, Eve felt that the match would be very competitive, but possibly also winnable. He dispelled any notion that the USA are very much weakened, having not played all of their best players in the tournament.

“This is going to be a difficult game,” Eve said.  So it is winnable but difficult what does this mean? would it be difficult to win?

“I don’t think the USA put out a team to lose. Sop did we put out a team to win or to lose? This team is very competitive. All of the players are playing in good teams in the MLS. The goalkeeper is playing in Europe. So, it not an easy team as some people may make it sound like.  What does this mean? by comparison our players are not on par?

“There is a reason America is probably one (or) two in CONCACAF, because they have depth. They can lose some players and still perform at this level,” the T&T coach concluded.
  So while we may not have depth, we are not able to perform at this level? This coach always seem to  be making excues prior to a challenge.

Why not approach this game as a challenge where we could ris to another level " The tide rises all ships' Find some inspiration for the team to consider possibilities if we bring a game like no other? find a way to put it all out on the filed? consider the greatest upset in your life and what that may look like? look at possibilities rather than all the credit to the opposition. Respect each opposition but look within your self  to find  the  possible.

There is no time like now to consider  TnT teams  of the past who took down giants among minnows. If you keep thinking small, you will get small results. Think beyond and let your dream scare you.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2023, 04:42:45 PM
Prepare for takeoff and landing: hope this match endures longer than Piarco to Crown Point.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2023, 05:33:01 PM
Hodge cyah drive into the space ahead of him? Absolute nonsense.
Post by: Preacher on July 02, 2023, 06:00:29 PM
Basic stuff like running into space. like only the US know how to play off the shoulder. Schuuups
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2023, 06:03:45 PM
On to the Copa America qualifiers . we need  coaching shake up ...
Post by: soccerman on July 02, 2023, 06:04:53 PM
Defensively we're in shambles...
Post by: Cocorite on July 02, 2023, 06:06:06 PM
Shaw had the perfect opportunity to square one back for an advancing teammate. He decided to try and beat his man. Steupes.
Are these guys for real?

Levi trying his best out there.

Alvin Jones is more of a forward or Defensive mid at best.
Post by: Cocorite on July 02, 2023, 06:06:50 PM
Eve is a Big Coward. Wrong man at the helm. And I was one who was glad he got a chance in the interim.
Post by: lil damo on July 02, 2023, 06:12:38 PM
This team is slow and unathletic. An ageing J Jones and even slower than before Molino not helping.
Post by: Cocorite on July 02, 2023, 06:15:48 PM
Target practice
Post by: lil damo on July 02, 2023, 06:24:01 PM
Shaw as a central striker doesn’t offer enough. We still need a proper striker as Shaw is not the answer. On a positive note, Alvin Jones was excellent except for the penalty.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2023, 06:32:34 PM
Shaw had the perfect opportunity to square one back for an advancing teammate. He decided to try and beat his man. Steupes.
Are these guys for real?

Levi trying his best out there.

Alvin Jones is more of a forward or Defensive mid at best.

He still has things to learn.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2023, 06:35:13 PM
Yeah this is Shaw's  first time at this level .. However i expected more

Let us be fair doh. It shouldn't be his first time at this level.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2023, 06:41:23 PM
Let us be fair doh. It shouldn't be his first time at this level.

Yup you are right
Post by: lil damo on July 02, 2023, 06:47:40 PM
Real-Gill is an absolute keeper. We’ve seen a couple new players show themselves as key pieces going forward. He is one and Auvray, Rampersad and Fortune need to be selected automatically going forward. 
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2023, 06:57:39 PM
Gomez is good also lil damo . Real gill , James, kahim Thomas  need to leave the country . Justin Araujo-Wilson need a look also.
Post by: 1-868 on July 02, 2023, 07:01:14 PM
Time for Eve to ride out.. thanks for your service
Post by: lil damo on July 02, 2023, 07:13:17 PM
Yes Gomez stood out as well.

Some of our youngsters need to go out to leagues in Denmark, Switzerland, Sweden, Ukraine, Norway, Austria, Serbia, Finland etc. Some of those leagues are noted for developing young players and the level of football is better than what we have. Our young players will benefit from moving early. Why don’t we see more movement into those types of leagues is my question.
Post by: 1-868 on July 02, 2023, 07:30:23 PM
F#ck football and cricket.. time for me to start following pickleball  :cursing:
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 02, 2023, 08:12:50 PM
As much as I have respect for the coach, I don't feel he's the right man for the job. His tactics are missing something.

Seems like his approach is of the era of choosing the best players vs choosing the right players. Choosing the right players means choosing the ones whos strengths and attributes can be exploited by the coach in order to build a solid unit. This is where coaching is now. He should've figured this out now.

Should the TTFA take the chance to go into the next set of games with him?

My ranking of the last 4 coaches:

1. Hart
2. Lawrence
3. Eve
4. Fenwick

Finally, the defense is in shambles. They are 2nd to the ball too often. Too many easy giveaways. They need that defensive midfield player that they can trust and do hard work. This is where Khaleem Hyland was an asset. I do believe if Daniel Phillips was there, he would have plugged that hole and the results would have been different.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2023, 09:07:11 PM
As much as I have respect for the coach, I don't feel he's the right man for the job. His tactics are missing something.

Seems like his approach is of the era of choosing the best players vs choosing the right players. Choosing the right players means choosing the ones whos strengths and attributes can be exploited by the coach in order to build a solid unit. This is where coaching is now. He should've figured this out now.

Should the TTFA take the chance to go into the next set of games with him?

My ranking of the last 4 coaches:

1. Hart
2. Lawrence
3. Eve
4. Fenwick

Finally, the defense is in shambles. They are 2nd to the ball too often. Too many easy giveaways. They need that defensive midfield player that they can trust and do hard work. This is where Khaleem Hyland was an asset. I do believe if Daniel Phillips was there, he would have plugged that hole and the results would have been different.

The last 4 coaches without Saintfiet? Call a 5 ranking nah. Yuh slaughtering AE despite his superior results to Lawrence. Yuh wicked! ;D

Daniel Phillips was not single-handedly righting this ship.
Post by: pull stones on July 03, 2023, 03:24:29 AM
Shaw as a central striker doesn’t offer enough. We still need a proper striker as Shaw is not the answer. On a positive note, Alvin Jones was excellent except for the penalty.
what game did you watch mate? 4 of the 6 goals came from alvin jones' side of the field, the man is a nightmare. in every game that man gets caught out of position resulting in a goal, in fact that whole back line need changing with the exception of hodges, which reminds me, he did not have a good game but out played alvin jones by leaps and bound, i think you meant to say hodges and types jones instead.
Post by: pull stones on July 03, 2023, 04:42:53 AM
Yes Gomez stood out as well.

Some of our youngsters need to go out to leagues in Denmark, Switzerland, Sweden, Ukraine, Norway, Austria, Serbia, Finland etc. Some of those leagues are noted for developing young players and the level of football is better than what we have. Our young players will benefit from moving early. Why don’t we see more movement into those types of leagues is my question.
why not fix our own league so we don't have to depend on these europeans to develop our players? it don't make sense having a ministry of sport while our sports men and women hardly gets to reap the benefits of the hundreds of millions in sport allocations annually, it's better if they scrap the sport ministry altogether and use the money to fix roads and ageing infrastructure if we are to be doing so.

these donkeys that they have in trinidad who crave publicity and positions of power, they are the people who are responsible for football's demise, because they keep voting their tired brainless friends into the seat of administrative power, and they have to shoulder the most blame for football's deplorable condition.

all these zonal bosses who can't see beyond their own selfish needs enabling people like jack warner and DJW to get rich off football and has done absolutely nothing to advance the sport, you are the reason why these lads go on TV and look bad, making them a laughing stock for people all over the world to see. hope you're proud of your legacy. take a bow.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2023, 05:50:26 AM
Pullstone you ranting crazy . how could players moving abroad early  be a bad thing ?
Post by: injunchile on July 03, 2023, 06:49:59 AM
They Had two weeks in Florida , so no excuse. They looked Bad against Jamaica, offered some hope in the second half. They they could not get it right against a USA B team. Remember the Peter Principle .We are still talking about Local / Foreign Coaches. My Friends it is not where the money coming from , it is Where the Money going to? I am amazed at the lack of Basics from our Defenders.
Post by: reggae-fan on July 03, 2023, 07:09:59 AM
None of the Caribbean nations have the fan base and infrastructure to adequately develop players through its domestic leagues.
We simply cannot compete with Liga MX, MLS etc.  Any international coach you hire will tell you that the infrastructure and culture just does not exist in the Caribbean to consistently compete with clubs in Europe especially.
Post by: ABTrini on July 03, 2023, 09:37:19 AM
Let me take a look at  how our coach instills confidence by what  is quoted from his statement:

“This is going to be a difficult game,” Eve said.  So it is winnable but difficult what does this mean? would it be difficult to win?

“I don’t think the USA put out a team to lose. Sop did we put out a team to win or to lose? This team is very competitive. All of the players are playing in good teams in the MLS. The goalkeeper is playing in Europe. So, it not an easy team as some people may make it sound like.  What does this mean? by comparison our players are not on par?

So while we may not have depth, we are not able to perform at this level? This coach always seem to  be making excues prior to a challenge.

Why not approach this game as a challenge where we could ris to another level " The tide rises all ships' Find some inspiration for the team to consider possibilities if we bring a game like no other? find a way to put it all out on the filed? consider the greatest upset in your life and what that may look like? look at possibilities rather than all the credit to the opposition. Respect each opposition but look within your self  to find  the  possible.

There is no time like now to consider  TnT teams  of the past who took down giants among minnows. If you keep thinking small, you will get small results. Think beyond and let your dream scare you.

Who doh hear does feel- and some people head harden- dey doh listen dey doh take advice and they does bluff dey way.

Post 2006 I stop getting hopes up fuh this team until I see  a bonafide coach- players with the right mindset, physical prowess and a level of fitness suited for a  player.

I tune into that game last night and with the exception of Levi Garcia up front  man eh tacking or running after ball- hands on hip and playing with no sense of urgency. Imagine at this level a man making a back pass to a goalie and kicking it  like a 5 year old!!!!!!!

Eve running around like a wild man shouting at players- when he collect 4 he run on the bench hiding now look at big time coach on display!!!
 Real tata
 We have raw talent-  but why some have the philosophy that ta the national level we simply have to roll that out and get results. As a coach you have to distinguish between coaching and training. Doh fuh get yuh teaching- tactics - the game- skill development- Players always growing as players. If yuh cyar do dat den get out the heat!!!

at the end of the day , my primary teacher would say mangoes is mangoes-  yuh take a bunch from an estate full of mango trees line dem up against some from a solitary tree-  is still mangoes. Yuh take 11 players put dem on the field is  man on man - fur get all the old talk about  depth and all that excuse-  play the dam game right- bring yuh best level of fitness chase the ball defend attack basic

To imagine I was going to travel to take in this game-  I glad I simply went to the latrine and see enough ...........

If yuh cyar handle JAMACIA well-- papa go take ah flying  ......
I done
Post by: maxg on July 03, 2023, 11:07:53 AM
“at the end of the day , my primary teacher would say mangoes is mangoes-  yuh take a bunch from an estate full of mango trees line dem up against some from a solitary tree-  is still mangoes”

:D  ;D :devil:
Your primary school teacher will have been wrong today. Go get the current curriculum.

Modern day: Estates and Farms are businesses and utilizes science in the development of produce. Producers develop,nuture,graft, invest in nutrients- natural and chemical , pesticides, soils etc..

The most resilient solitary mango tree can rarely produce enough mangoes to build income for a community, although to the individual who can freeload off this solitary tree, would find those mangoes just as sweet and sustainable to his/her family. Unless that individual invest in some measures of science and land acquisition to a certain scale, he better have another means of sustaining their families, otherwise it ain’t worth reaching the Grocery or market. A lil unmanned roadside stall might work in a proper well behaved community, but it will take many years to reap any substantial benefit. In the wrong community, yuh might just get your little produce stolen, and best not to lose yuh life over it.
Best just feed yours and giveaway the rest, your livelihood can’t depend solely on that.
 :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on July 03, 2023, 12:30:57 PM
Some words of Wisdom from Maxg
Post by: Deeks on July 03, 2023, 12:41:53 PM
I have nothing to say. I did not see the game. I just know we eh ready yet.  I was celebrating my Grandson's 5th birthday. That was significant for me. I came to TT as 5 yr old with my Mom from St. Lucia. We were seeking a better life in the land of milk and honey, rum and coca cola. It turned out good for us. Blessings To all.

If allyuh want to figure out why this gov't don't care about football, read today's Guardian.

Football coach(Nevick Denoon) take issue with HDC development in Morvant
Post by: soccerman on July 03, 2023, 02:17:26 PM
I didn't watch the game a 2nd time although they showed lt over late last night but I couldn't stomach going through that again. My honest opinion is the talent is there. I had US friends even texting me during the game saying how good Levi is, first time they really took note of him. Out of possession is where we have the most work to do and not surprising because that's the most challenging part of coaching and it's not an area you can spend two weeks on. In fact it should really be continuously taught from the grassroots level up. Seems like concentration in this department is lacking as we're giving up space too easily, can't be conceding 4 and 6 back to back. We looked like school boys at times.
I truly hope we can assess this area and adjust accordingly. If Eve stays on I hope he can bring an expert in off the ball organization and tactics, the head coach doesn't have to be a specialist in every area.
I like the talent pool and I believe with some structure we can be formidable.
Post by: Controversial on July 03, 2023, 03:03:59 PM
Eve was never ready, he's a puppet
Hart was the only coach outside of beenhakker who had our team playing well recently. Maturana had a nice style but didn't get the results
Collecting 4 from yard is an instant firing, we should never get to that. Eve should not be a national coach on any level..
Pull stones had one of the best comments, why are we still depending on Europeans to develop our players

Dependency syndrome with TT.
With Hart coaching in the gold cup we were on par or better Than the US and Mexico.
Now we are getting 4 from yard

NC still sabotaging tt football
😂
Post by: ABTrini on July 03, 2023, 03:12:50 PM
 I know sooner or later someone go blame the government as if the idiots in opposition go do any better,
Post by: frico on July 03, 2023, 03:32:50 PM
Why blame the government or even the opposition,the government have their job to try and cut the crime situation and robberies with home invasions,no time for our shameless footballers.Not even minnows get beaten 6-0 nowadays.SHAME,SHAME,SHAME. :cursing:
Post by: Tallman on July 03, 2023, 08:25:08 PM
Soca Warriors exit Gold Cup after crushing 6-0 loss to US

A FIRST half hat-trick by Jesus Ferreira helped lead the US to a crushing 6-0 victory over the Soca Warriors in the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup at the Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina on Sunday night.

The defeat for TT meant they will exit the tournament at the group stage after ending Group A third with three points – one win and two losses.

Prior to the loss against the US, TT defeated St Kitts/Nevis 3-0 and then lost 4-1 to Jamaica. US won the group with seven points, finishing ahead of Jamaica on goal difference. Both teams advanced to the quarter-finals.

Ferreira’s goals came in the 14th minute, 38th and 45th +3 as TT were up against it as they failed to match the speed of the US.

The US controlled the match from the opening whistle, but TT’s defence did prevent them from creating quality chances on Marvin Phillip’s goal in the opening ten minutes.

Against the run of play, TT had a half chance to take the lead.

Dorde Mihailovic lost possession to TT striker Levi Garcia who ran up the right flank and picked out Joevin Jones but his volley sailed over the crossbar.

TT had a few minutes of solid possession before the US struck first.

Cristian Roldan found wing-back DeJuan Jones who crossed the ball to Ferreira.

Ferreira’s control was not perfect, but he had enough time to volley home from eight yards out to give the US a 14th-minute lead.

It was non-stop pressure from the US as the Americans continued to keep the TT defence busy.

TT’s chances on goal did not come often, but most times Garcia was at the heart of the attacks.

In the 28th minute, Garcia collected the ball just inside the US half of the field and ran 40 yards with the ball but his low shot was easily dealt with by US goal-keeper Matt Turner.

In the 38th minute, the US went up 2-0.

After a goal-mouth scramble, Ferreira fired a shot at goal and in attempting to clear the ball TT defender Sheldon Bateau could only hit it into his own net.

The US had time to add a third before half-time as Ferreira converted a penalty in first-half stoppage time after right-wing back Alvin Jones committed a foul.

TT coach Angus Eve made three changes at half-time bringing on Shannon Gomez, Real Gill and Andre Rampersad for Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Luke Singh.

The second half was similar to the first half as the US dominated the match.

Garcia seemed to be TT’s only hope of getting on the score sheet as multiple attacks began with the AEK Athens player.

In the 62nd minute, substitute Gomez came inches away from pulling a goal back for TT as his left-footed bullet from 20 yards struck the inside of the post that left Turner with no chance.

In the 65th minute, the US made it 4-0.

Kadeem Corbin, who just came on as a substitute, attempted to make a back pass to Phillip but it was not struck firmly enough.

Cade Cowell intercepted the pass and dribbled around Phillip and a back-tracking Gomez before firing home into an open net.

The US were relentless as the second-string team tried to impress coach BJ Callaghan.

They continued to find the net adding a fifth goal in the 79th minute through Gianluca Busio.

Substitute Julian Gressel squared the ball to Busio, who controlled the ball around the penalty spot before calmly slotting home.

Another substitute Brandon Vasquez rounded off the scoring in stoppage time to complete the romp.

Trinidad and Tobago (4-4-1-1): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 16.Alvin Jones, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 5.Leland Archer, 18.Triston Hodge (9.Kadeem Corbin 64); 11.Levi Garcia, 6.Luke Singh (17.Andre Rampersad 46), 15.Neveal Hackshaw, 3.Joevin Jones (14.Shannon Gomez 46); 10.Kevin Molino (captain) (13.Real Gill 46); 19.Malcolm Shaw (20.Kaïlé Auvray 69).

Unused substitutes: 21.Nicklas Frenderup (GK), 22.Denzil Smith (GK), 2.Aubrey David, 7.Ryan Telfer, 8.Ajani Fortune, 12.Kareem Moses, 23.Molik Khan.

USA (4-1-2-3): 1.Matthew Turner (captain) (GK); 5.Bryan Reynolds (2.Deandre Yedlin 76), 12.Miles Robinson (4.Matt Miazga 46), 20.Jalen Neal, 15.Dejuan Jones; 6.Gianluca Busio, 8.James Sands, 14.Djordje Mihailovic (19.Brandon Vazquez 69); 17.Alejandro Zendejas (11.Cade Cowell 60), 9.Jesus Ferreira, 10.Christian Roldan (22.Julian Gressel 60).

Unused substitutes: 18.Sean Johnson (GK), 23.Gabriel Slonina (GK), 3.Aaron Long, 7.Alan Sonora, 13.Jordan Morris, 21.John Tolkin.

Coach: BJ Callaghan

Referee: Mario Escobar (Guatemala)
Post by: pull stones on July 04, 2023, 01:42:09 AM
i just read an article in the papers where it states that steven hart is set to make a comeback as the senior mens coach, and if so then that is great news. i guess controversial must be cumming in his pants as i type.
Post by: Tallman on July 04, 2023, 06:59:55 AM
Eve defends 6-man change vs USA: Players need 'exposure'
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday)

SOCA Warriors head coach Angus Eve defended his decision to make six changes to TT’s starting line-up against USA in Sunday’s final Concacaf Gold Cup Group A match, which saw the Americans clobber the Caribbean team 6-0.

USA’s resounding victory launched them into the Gold Cup quarter-finals, while TT’s loss eliminated all hopes of advancing.

This time, Eve started skipper and striker Kevin Molino, goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, midfielder Joevin Jones and defenders Luke Singh, Triston Hodge and Leland Archer – a huge change from last Wednesday’s match against Jamaica, which they also lost 4-1.

Young forward Real Gill and defender Kadeem Corbin also got substituted on in the second half, but also did not feature at the Jamaica match.

Eve said he chose such a crucial time to integrate these players into the starting line-up, for exposure.

“We brought 23 players (here) who start for their clubs. This is a process we’re going through: a rebuilding stage. If we don’t play the players…long time ago, when I was playing, we had Caribbean Cups and stuff like that, where we could expose players in competitions at a good level, and then bring them into Concacaf.

“Every single time there’s a window (FIFA), there’s a competition, so there’s no real room for us to give the players exposure. So I felt the guys should play and everybody should have an opportunity to show themselves in a competition format going forward.”

Eve said he did not start the match with his particular style of play, and wanted to try a different approach against the in-form US team. Despite few glimmers of hope in front of the US goal, his tactics in each half proved futile.

“We put on the more ‘ball-handlers.’ I went against my philosophies in how I like to play a bit by allowing the more skillful and ball-handler players to play in the first half and try to control the game by possession and play on the counter – and a couple of times we got it,” he added.

Asked if there was any real solution to helping TT players get more exposure on bigger stages, he said domestic clubs have a part to play.

Eve also reiterated that TT does not have the privilege that other nations do to source and sign players with grandparental heritage to play. Legally, TT can only register foreign-based players with direct parental relations.

“We need to have our players exposed at the highest level and consistently playing football. A national team coach’s job can’t get the players fit when they come here. They have to come from by the clubs with that fitness, and you put them into a formation that you would get them to play. A lot of the times you would see we’re lacking fitness.

“You have to remember, our league wasn’t played for about three years. It’s the first time we’ve had a league in a while. So all of those things put together.”

Eve added that Jamaica has “bridged the gap” since they can “bring in a lot of players who have grandparents and parents playing in the English league,” which allows them to “cut short that part of development by bringing in these types of players which we don’t have the laws back in our country to do it.”

Although disappointed, Eve was undeterred.

“We are progressing, small baby steps.”

Additionally, Molino said the loss was “difficult,” but wants the group of players to stick together and keep moving forward.

“I hold my hand up high and I should give more. The most important thing is, we have another opportunity as a footballer to go again. It’s a work in progress and we need to keep going.

“This group has been together for a little while, and we just need to keep focused, look in the mirror, go back to the drawing board and look forward to whatever games are coming up. But when we go to our clubs, we have to put in the work that is necessary to compete at this level.”

Molino said the team’s exit was a hard one to take, but called on his teammates to continue fighting.

“We gave everything necessary to play this game on our behalf, but sometimes it’s concentration and a little more quality. I think lack of...playing together for a quite a long time – but we need to keep going and fighting to get back to where we were at Concacaf and in the Caribbean. We just need to keep going.

“We don’t need to be pointing fingers at anybody. We need to get up, pick up everybody and look forward to the games. This is a job we chose to have. People are going to criticise, but we need to keep firm and focus on the tasks at hand. This group needs to stay closer.”
Post by: reggae-fan on July 04, 2023, 12:20:23 PM
Not true Mr. Eve.  Jamaican citizenship by decent requires at least one parent to be a Jamaican citizen. 

Citizenship by Descent

Jamaican Citizenship by Descent refers to:

Anyone born outside of Jamaica to parents (mother or father or both) who are citizens of Jamaica at the time of birth

Proof of Citizenship:

Certificate of citizenship issued by the Passport, Immigration & Citizenship Agency of the Ministry of National Security in Jamaica.

Post by: gawd on pitch on July 04, 2023, 01:46:15 PM
Eve may have it wrong with the citizenship thing. Often when this topic comes up, most tend to group citizenship from the country, and FIFA guidelines to play for a country together.

Each country has their own process to get citizenship. This might be different than what FIFA allows. In this case, to play for a country, all the player needs is a grandparent, under FIFA guidelines.

To get the passport from the country, I believe a grandparent will qualify. BUT, I wouldn't be surprised that in Trinidad and Tobago, they may require the parent of the player to get their passport before the player gets theirs. I think this is what Eve might be talking about.
Post by: ffisback on July 04, 2023, 07:13:51 PM
Eve may have it wrong with the citizenship thing. Often when this topic comes up, most tend to group citizenship from the country, and FIFA guidelines to play for a country together.

Each country has their own process to get citizenship. This might be different than what FIFA allows. In this case, to play for a country, all the player needs is a grandparent, under FIFA guidelines.

To get the passport from the country, I believe a grandparent will qualify. BUT, I wouldn't be surprised that in Trinidad and Tobago, they may require the parent of the player to get their passport before the player gets theirs. I think this is what Eve might be talking about.
Under TT law a grandparent could only file for a child under the age of 18 there is no way around it this was a problem back in the 90's till now there are players who played for Jamaica and Grenada with grandparents who was above 18 already people have to loby the government to get this rule change.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 04, 2023, 07:26:08 PM
Got it. But would the work around be - the parent(s) getting their passport first, then the player. I heard something like this.
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2023, 10:27:23 AM
Brian Williams: Changing coach no solution to football problems
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

"Gone are the days when changing a coach is a solution to football issues."

Former national defender who was a standout with the now infamous 'Strike Squad' of 1989, Brian Williams, attempted to break down the issues that led to the failure of the Soca Warriors at the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Following a 3-0 victory over St Kitts and Nevis in Group A of the Gold Cup on June 25, T&T, coached by Angus Eve surrendered the other two matches against Jamaica 4-1 on the June 28, and then against the United States 6-0 on Sunday to send them packing out of the regional tournament.

The consequence of this has been calls for Eve to step down as coach, and bring in another coach. Former coach Stephen Hart, as it is being rumoured and suggested as Eve's replacement.

Williams, who like many, has spent his entire life in the sport, tried to explain the formula for success in sports and particularly football. He said it starts with having the right infrastructure and the right administration.

He said he wanted to stay away from the perceived "bacchanal" of giving such comments, but it would only continue a recurring situation that stagnates progress.

"I was totally moved with the selection of the team from the St Kitts and Nevis game, and then players' personal responsibility is what I looked at. I watched the whole drive by the players, the basic intelligence and basic understanding to do well and to play hard for the national team and I did not see that. I am not getting enough of that and that is an individual responsibility as a player," Williams explained.

In a most candid response, Williams added: "So the players we have presently, do we say that they are not good enough for international participation at this point in time? It could be so but I cannot really answer you to say get rid of Angus and bring in Stephen Hart, because that will be the consensus. 'Let us change the coach because he failed'. Did he fail? Really and truly? Okay, but statistics might show you otherwise.

"If the national team did not perform well, obviously it is the responsibility of the coach and that is what Angus has to deal with, and that is what we as spectators also have to look at because we are looking for results.

"If we get bad results then we get down to the nitty-gritty and find out what caused those bad results, what caused the players to perform so poorly, and then the coach will have to answer that with his staff because they are responsible for motivating the players."

The rasta-haired-style rugged former right-back, in his heydays, exhibited undying commitment that made him a preferred choice for coaches in the defence.

His playing days locally never hampered his passion to wear the red, white, and black for in T&T, but despite the successes of the Strike Squad in 1989, coming within a point of qualification to the 1990 World Cup in Italy, even then, there was not the administrative perfection to ensure the proper preparation of teams.

Williams said: "We might bring in Stephen Hart tomorrow and after two or three games, we might be saying it's better we kept Angus. It might be so because we don't have the divine rights to see these things, but certain infrastructure and sustainability, a properly run League, ensuring that the players are being compensated or paid a decent salary above the minimum wage, and a man could have a hope that he can really give his all to it because to play international football, it is a full-time job."

Williams has been paying close attention to the developments of regional teams that accounted for their success. As such, he concluded that maybe minus a couple of players, Eve did select the best pool of players to wear the red, white, and black.

"Putting things into perspective, all those challenges that Angus faced. Yes he will have to take responsibility for the team performances and so on, but if you look at the national team presently, I would say I think Angus has one of the best pool of players to represent the country. So from a positive standpoint, I don't think the selection of the team was bad because when you look at Jamaica, their League was functional and operating, but when the team was selected they did not have a player from the domestic league on the team."

He continued, "I listened also to Guadeloupe, where they say only one player who was playing locally was on the team, and it goes on and on with most of the teams. We look at the Jamaican Premier League and we say it is of a really good standard, so how come when it was time to play in the Nations League the coach didn't even select one player from there?"

Williams, who was solid defender pointed out, "And that was a big issue in Jamaica because they find that he should have at least selected one player who was playing locally."

Last evening, the T&T Football Association (TTFA) sent out a press statement advising that it has made no decision regarding the composition of the national senior men’s team’s technical staff.

It said: "Reports on the appointment of a new coach are purely speculative and without foundation.

"The TTFA is currently undertaking a comprehensive review of the team’s performance and its recent results. The head coach, Angus Eve, is an integral part of the discussions, as his feedback is a critical part of the process.

"Future plans will be determined following the review, and the TTFA will make an official statement at the appropriate time."
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2023, 10:43:00 AM
Ex-players: Soca Warriors 'strides behind Concacaf big guns'

FORMER Strike Squad captain Clayton Morris knew it would have been an uphill task for the Soca Warriors at the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup, but said the performances proved that we have a long way to go to compete against powerhouses in the region like Mexico and US.

T&T did not qualify for the quarter-finals of the tournament after finishing third in Group A. The Soca Warriors kicked off the Gold Cup with a 3-0 victory over St Kitts/Nevis giving some fans hope that T&T had a chance to qualify for the knock-out phase.

However against stronger opposition, T&T were brought back down to earth with a 4-1 defeat against Jamaica followed by a 6-0 loss to the US.

Morris said, “I was always reserved with my enthusiasm in seeing us progressing to the second round, (the) mere reason because of my experience both as a player and now a coach. Success is a process and you don’t expect things to change overnight.”

He said the T&T players lack speed.

“When Panama played Costa Rica and I also saw Guadeloupe against Canada and I saw the intensity those teams were playing at, it really had me concerned…if we could match that,” Morris said.

“I am not surprised what came out of this tournament because again what you put in is what will come out…it is clear we are strides behind. They could say what they want about we have players playing here and we have players playing there. Those players representing us I don’t think is the best we could put forward.”

Only six local-based players were on the 23-man Gold Cup T&T squad.

Morris said with so many foreign-based players the team will lack cohesion.

“Football is a team sport and you definitely have to have chemistry.”

The former Strike Squad captain is uncertain if the players understand the privilege to represent your country.

Reflecting on the Strike Squad period, Morris said, “You don’t want to blow your own trumpet, but you could have seen passion in the guys who represented T&T and that is 34 years ago. You are not getting that now, you are not seeing that with the players (and) even in the local leagues you are not getting that passion…we have to go back to the drawing board…I am saying it again, we are strides behind the Concacaf big guns, we are behind them. The coach’s goal was to get us back up there, but I don’t think we are close to that.”

T&T head coach Angus Eve has said repeatedly that he wants to see the national team show their class in the region again.

Morris, who said T&T’s starting formation at the Gold Cup at times was too negative playing with five defenders, said changing the coach will not fix the issues in local football as the players must look in the mirror and administrative issues have hampered progress.

The T&T Football Association is not fully functional as local football is being run by the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee.

“We are still under a normalisation committee that means we are not settled as a football association yet,” former Strike Squad defender Brian Williams said.

Apart from the TTFA, during the covid19 pandemic local footballers only got limited playing time. The TT Premier Football League kicked off in March allowing players to play regularly.

The former defender, who was hurt by the Gold Cup performance, said the local league must be more competitive and players from around the region should be brought in to lift the standard. “What took place there have to be very embarrassing because those types of performances and those goals that were conceded looked very amateurish and not to the level that we expect.”

Williams also questioned if the players understand what it means to play for T&T.

“We don’t seem to have that drive and that national pride in representing T&T in a meaningful way…before you could talk about national pride there needs to be self pride. If I am playing a football game I want to perform well.”

Williams suggested having workshops to let players know what it means to wear the national colours.

Rumours have been circulating that former T&T coach Stephen Hart may be appointed again to lead the Soca Warriors. Williams did not point fingers at Eve for the team’s performance.

“Even if you bring Stephen Hart and get rid of Eve…and we don’t have the players in a better frame of mind and get our players to compete internationally Stephen Hart will suffer the same problem.”
Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2023, 11:17:52 AM
Bigger issues: Coach Eve not the major problem

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s footballers’ poor performance at the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup is more a symptom of the overall decline of football in T&T and less about national coach Angus Eve.

This is the view of both Brent Sancho and Clayton Morris, two former players who have represented Trinidad and Tobago successfully and at the highest level.

“The formulation of a technical committee should be the first port of call,” stated Sancho, the former UK-based footballer, ex-sport minister and 2006 FIFA World Cup defender.

“The problem is bigger than who coaches the country. It’s a decay,” Sancho emphasised. “I also think we are dealing with a pool of players that have exhausted their lifespan.”

Morris captained the T&T Strike Squad which missed out on a 1990 FIFA World Cup spot by a point, when losing its final match 1-0 to the United States. Under his captaincy, T&T matched the best teams in the confederation, drawing matches against the USA and Costa Rica, as well as beating El Salvador and Guatemala in the 1989 CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

“The problem is not the coach. You can bring Jesus Christ to coach the team and there will not be change,” sarcastically stated Morris, who felt the greatest changes must come in the area of administration.

“How long has the Normalisation Committee (NC) been in place and all the sub-committees, like a technical committee, are inactive,” lamented Morris.

“I can’t see the Normalisation Committee taking the responsibility to deal with the technical aspect of our football,” he said, adding: “I think that is what we need to put in place.”

T&T had an opening 3-0 win over Gold Cup debutants St Kitts-Nevis, prior to suffering humiliating defeats to Jamaica (4-1) and the USA (6-0).

“Anybody within the twin-island republic who was expecting different results was naïve,” Sancho declared. ”The decay of Trinidad and Tobago football has been evident for many, many years.

“Obviously the results were unsatisfactory, but I think the horse bolted the stable long time ago,” continued Sancho. “The issue is not so much who is the coach, because we have been through three coaches over the last couple of years, and the performances have been the same.”

And Morris never believed T&T would emerge from Group A, given that he did not think the national team had either the quality or preparation time.

“I was always reserved about us going in there and matching those teams,” he said. “The one team I was sure we would beat is SKN, and they were the whipping boys of the group.”

Morris confessed to seeing only highlights of the first two matches, prior to the Soca Warriors’ heavy defeat to the USA. However, he always felt it unlikely that the Soca Warriors could have matched either Jamaica or the Americans, given what he felt was inadequate preparation.

“I had the opportunity Tuesday night to watch four of the teams in the other group,” he noted, adding: ”When I saw the intensity of the games involving those four teams, I thought that if we are not playing at that level of intensity, I can’t see us going past our group.”

And Sancho was also of the view that the Soca Warriors’ level of play and on-the-field commitment was inferior to the top teams.

“We are just not at a level of a USA or a Jamaica; The problem is that we don’t have players at that level,” Sancho contends. “Jamaica’s front three play in the (English) Premiership and our front three are no where close to that level. Even our defenders are not at that level.”

Morris is also not pleased with the level of commitment of some of the players who now represent T&T.

“I don’t think we have that patriotism with these guys...that they don’t know what it is to represent T&T. I think that is lacking.”

Morris felt youth development was key to instilling in national footballers the total passion and patriotism typical of the Reggae Boyz.

“We can’t wait till they reach big man and when they are representing us,” argued Morris. “They don’t really understand what it is to represent Trinidad and Tobago...and that is clear.”
Post by: Peong on July 05, 2023, 09:43:55 PM
Guadeloupe and Martinique lookin better than us. Yuh feel we could draw with Canada or put 4 past Costa Rica? We getting left behind.
Post by: reggae-fan on July 06, 2023, 11:02:26 AM
Guadeloupe, Martinique, Curaçao benefits from FIFA laws that allow them to use former French and Dutch internationals that have not played for France/Netherlands in the past 5 years. They also can draw from players anywhere in the French / Dutch leagues with ties to the islands.  From that perspective, these French/Dutch Caribbean teams have the potential to field teams that can conceivably win the Gold Cup.

Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2023, 12:24:51 PM
reggae-fan has a point.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2023, 12:40:55 PM
Regardless, it still equates or translates to "getting left behind".
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2023, 02:40:43 PM
Regardless, it still equates or translates to "getting left behind".

Regardless, the answer is still developing homegrown talent. We don't have the "luxury" of having high caliber overseas born players to chose from. They are far and few in between. If there  are( Zamora, Sancho) to name two that come to mind, they will hedge their bet with England first. I don't know if the parents in the TT community in England encourage their children to aspire to be footballers or(cricketers, rugby players).  If so, they are very few or none. That is why we have to develop homegrown talent,  or try and ship out the talented few that are homegrown, quickly out of TT.
Post by: chelsealife on July 06, 2023, 04:33:03 PM
We need to play youth internationals. Rio Cardines with Palace and Tino Quamina with Arsenal already agreed to represent us at youth level. Encourage these youths to play for us. Make them feel involved. Kieran Ngwenya from Aberdeen, a left back is eligible as well, just 20 years old. Rory McKenzie, not a youth but eligible as well he can get a shot. We loading up with USL players so have they looked at Michael de Shields? Surely they have seen him by watching all our USL players
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2023, 05:01:18 PM
Ok, cool, chelseaforlife
Post by: Tiresais on July 07, 2023, 03:08:18 AM
Coaching is the answer. Nations that focus on "elite" training go nowhere, whilst countries that have a wide and deep base of good quality coaches at all levels do well. Iceland is the stereotypical example here, but it's what has been true in Spain for years.

Trinidad has benefitted from the competitiveness of the SSFL in this regards, as it has improved the quality of coaching in schools, which targets a wide base. It still results in "elite" mentality though, and it's hard to see where the TTFA would get money to fund a wider coaching badge push.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 07, 2023, 03:36:05 AM
chelsealife you forgot Lakyle Samuel  :devil: :devil:
Post by: Deeks on July 07, 2023, 06:00:25 AM
Don't remember Lakyle Samuel
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 07, 2023, 03:01:16 PM
J Lloyd Samuel's son
Post by: Deeks on July 07, 2023, 09:27:36 PM
J Lloyd Samuel's son

That would fitting if he was to commit to the RWB
Post by: chelsealife on July 07, 2023, 09:41:03 PM
Trini_2026

I actually did. But being a starter at youth level for England I doubt he'll commit to us. Unless its to honor the memory of his father
Post by: ABTrini on July 09, 2023, 03:04:27 PM
Bigger issues: Coach Eve not the major problem

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s footballers’ poor performance at the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup is more a symptom of the overall decline of football in T&T and less about national coach Angus Eve.

This is the view of both Brent Sancho and Clayton Morris, two former players who have represented Trinidad and Tobago successfully and at the highest level.

“The formulation of a technical committee should be the first port of call,” stated Sancho, the former UK-based footballer, ex-sport minister and 2006 FIFA World Cup defender.

“The problem is bigger than who coaches the country. It’s a decay,” Sancho emphasised. “I also think we are dealing with a pool of players that have exhausted their lifespan.”

Morris captained the T&T Strike Squad which missed out on a 1990 FIFA World Cup spot by a point, when losing its final match 1-0 to the United States. Under his captaincy, T&T matched the best teams in the confederation, drawing matches against the USA and Costa Rica, as well as beating El Salvador and Guatemala in the 1989 CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers.

“The problem is not the coach. You can bring Jesus Christ to coach the team and there will not be change,” sarcastically stated Morris, who felt the greatest changes must come in the area of administration.

“How long has the Normalisation Committee (NC) been in place and all the sub-committees, like a technical committee, are inactive,” lamented Morris.

“I can’t see the Normalisation Committee taking the responsibility to deal with the technical aspect of our football,” he said, adding: “I think that is what we need to put in place.”

T&T had an opening 3-0 win over Gold Cup debutants St Kitts-Nevis, prior to suffering humiliating defeats to Jamaica (4-1) and the USA (6-0).

“Anybody within the twin-island republic who was expecting different results was naïve,” Sancho declared. ”The decay of Trinidad and Tobago football has been evident for many, many years.

“Obviously the results were unsatisfactory, but I think the horse bolted the stable long time ago,” continued Sancho. “The issue is not so much who is the coach, because we have been through three coaches over the last couple of years, and the performances have been the same.”

And Morris never believed T&T would emerge from Group A, given that he did not think the national team had either the quality or preparation time.

“I was always reserved about us going in there and matching those teams,” he said. “The one team I was sure we would beat is SKN, and they were the whipping boys of the group.”

Morris confessed to seeing only highlights of the first two matches, prior to the Soca Warriors’ heavy defeat to the USA. However, he always felt it unlikely that the Soca Warriors could have matched either Jamaica or the Americans, given what he felt was inadequate preparation.

“I had the opportunity Tuesday night to watch four of the teams in the other group,” he noted, adding: ”When I saw the intensity of the games involving those four teams, I thought that if we are not playing at that level of intensity, I can’t see us going past our group.”

And Sancho was also of the view that the Soca Warriors’ level of play and on-the-field commitment was inferior to the top teams.
   And what de  firetruck you did when you were sports minister when you ran club when you seeking administration post to run football to change the condition of for]=tbalkl inTnT ?[/size]

“We are just not at a level of a USA or a Jamaica; The problem is that we don’t have players at that level,” Sancho contends. “Jamaica’s front three play in the (English) Premiership and our front three are no where close to that level. Even our defenders are not at that level.”

Morris is also not pleased with the level of commitment of some of the players who now represent T&T.

“I don’t think we have that patriotism with these guys...that they don’t know what it is to represent T&T. I think that is lacking.”

Morris felt youth development was key to instilling in national footballers the total passion and patriotism typical of the Reggae Boyz.

“We can’t wait till they reach big man and when they are representing us,” argued Morris. “They don’t really understand what it is to represent Trinidad and Tobago...and that is clear.”

Administration doh  go on the filed and play ball- MORRIS what have you done to change the state of football?

All man looking fuh food and  players like getting hung up like sacrificial lambs
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2023, 03:48:03 PM
Guatemala vs jamaica end to end action. ..  this Guatemalan team is well organized
Post by: ABTrini on July 09, 2023, 04:29:45 PM
Guatemala vs jamaica end to end action. ..  this Guatemalan team is well organized

WHO CARES?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 09, 2023, 04:31:20 PM
i do we have to face them in a few months
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 09, 2023, 05:10:19 PM
We can't go into them games without proper organization in the back. I watch Guatemala fight Jamaica to the end. I really believe that it is the inexperience of Eve that has our defense looking like paper tigers.

Hart will be back. The TTFA is working out the stuff to bring him back. Don't be surprised if is both Hart and Latapy working together.
Post by: kounty on July 09, 2023, 05:32:08 PM
forgot who I heard recently describe ours as sibling rivalry w/ Jam Down, but i'm glad they made it. I'm watching the tournament in spanish, and they fear them. Will be glad for them if they make it to the final and especially if they lift the cup. That will only open up respect for our players across the caribbean.
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2023, 08:40:07 PM
Papayo, the US in some trouble now...
Post by: soccerman on July 09, 2023, 08:45:40 PM
Did Canada's goalkeeper represent us at the youth level?
Post by: Bitter on July 16, 2023, 06:26:45 PM
This Panama brand is high risk and entertaining.
I've enjoyed watching them play whole tournament
Post by: asylumseeker on July 17, 2023, 04:51:08 AM
This Panama brand is high risk and entertaining.
I've enjoyed watching them play whole tournament

Definitely produced a better outcome than supposedly low risk, a lack of enterprise and painful viewing. Anyhow, enough about pragmatism.

Was less fond of the PAN product during the group stage, but I've appreciated what they blossomed into during the "win or go home" phase. Better yet, players got to express their strengths and I would expect 2 to 3 of them to attract moves informed by that.

Christiansen is a good coach, but I still feel he committed malpractice last night. I am struggling with coaches whose attacking areas pedigree, as players, defy their choices in approach when on the touchline.

Actually think the risk-taking was modulated in the 2H but the match-up upon Gimenez's introduction was like not reading the headline of a newspaper.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 18, 2023, 04:44:06 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/VZuq6DJt7G8
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 18, 2023, 05:07:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/813HBOc3aB8
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2023, 03:13:12 AM

And so it came to pass: The NT coach of Costa Rica was dismissed yesterday following his presentation of a post-tournament report at a meeting and a subsequent 6-5 vote of the body with authority of decision. Notably, transparency was a feature of the day as the manner in which each decision-maker voted was made public.

The sole person retained from the coaching staff is former Costa Rica international, Douglas Sequeira --- who has seemingly been on a decade-long apprenticeship as an eventual NT coach.
Post by: ffisback on July 21, 2023, 08:43:17 AM

And so it came to pass: The NT coach of Costa Rica was dismissed yesterday following his presentation of a post-tournament report at a meeting and a subsequent 6-5 vote of the body with authority of decision. Notably, transparency was a feature of the day as the manner in which each decision-maker voted was made public.

The sole person retained from the coaching staff is former Costa Rica international, Douglas Sequeira --- who has seemingly been on a decade-long apprenticeship as an eventual NT coach.
If TT was serious they would try to hire him as there next coach.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 21, 2023, 10:06:13 AM
Spent force. LFS should recharge his batteries and ideas elsewhere, perhaps in club football.
Post by: ffisback on July 21, 2023, 06:26:23 PM
LFS is a much better coach than S Heart or R Latapy ever would be.