Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 09:44:25 PM

Title: Lucky Connection.
Post by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 09:44:25 PM
I attended the game and i must say this was one of the most one sided games I've seen for a long while.  Chivas totally dominated the game and should have won comfortably. The level of their passing game was a sight to behold. So much so that for much of the second half even though Connection were only one goal down, they seemed resigned to accept defeat to a better side. They chased shadows for most of the game and seemed clueless about making a few consecutive passes much less threaten the Chivas goal. Trinidad football is just not ready for that high level of football. Pacheco, Toussaint and most of the Connection teamed looked dam shitty. I also attended their game against the Hatian club in which these players looked liked great prospects. It just shows the gulf between the level of football.

That said, it's goals that win matches and Connection's best player Earl Jean got one and Seabra also. Seabra, even though much too slow still has better touches than most of the other Connection players. Connection was very very lucky and can only hope that lightning strikes twice in Mexico. There is simply nothing to compare - it's boys against men.

Don't let the result fool you, our football has a long long way to go. It looked worst than the T&T vs C.R. game ( ten men or not).
Title: Re: Lucky Connection
Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2007, 09:50:49 PM
Goals win matches.  ;D ;D ;D (You can't deny that)

What Trinidad football has grown. We have a country where players have plied their trade all over the world. We made it to the World Cup and damn held our own, now Connection did that. So what!
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 13, 2007, 09:50:55 PM
 Whats your point buddy?....They still win...Yuh could play Brazil brand and doh score goals and will lose every game...I could remember when teams used to say Boring Boring Chelsea...but they used to win...Goals win matches buddy...Mexico have 6 World Cup players and play a team with drastically less resources than Chivas and win :rotfl: On any grounds is a win...Goals win Matches
Post by: stepray on February 13, 2007, 09:51:07 PM
You obviously did not see the same game I saw. And when did Connection play a haitian team. You obviously were intoxicated. get your facts right.
well I glad a shitty side beat a class side, at the end of the day it is Connection 2 Chivas 1.
This team showed character to come from one down with ten men to beat a class side like Chivas. Well if this shit I prefer to be shitty every day.
You are the shitty one.
Post by: dreamer on February 13, 2007, 09:51:27 PM
I attended the game and i must say this was one of the most one sided games I've seen for a long while.  Chivas totally dominated the game and should have won comfortably. The level of their passing game was a sight to behold. So much so that for much of the second half even though Connection were only one goal down, they seemed resigned to accept defeat to a better side. They chased shadows for most of the game and seemed clueless about making a few consecutive passes much less threaten the Chivas goal. Trinidad football is just not ready for that high level of football. Pacheco, Toussaint and most of the Connection teamed looked dam shitty. I also attended their game against the Hatian club in which these players looked liked great prospects. It just shows the gulf between the level of football.

That said, it's goals that win matches and Connection's best player Earl Jean got one and Seabra also. Seabra, even though much too slow still has better touches than most of the other Connection players. Connection was very very lucky and can only hope that lightning strikes twice in Mexico. There is simply nothing to compare - it's boys against men.

Don't let the result fool you, our football has a long long way to go. It looked worst than the T&T vs C.R. game ( ten men or not).

Sorry to hear that. We will all be analyzing in a few minutes
Post by: Warlord on February 13, 2007, 09:55:08 PM

I will wait to see video footage before forming an opinion. Sometimes you need that extra bit of luck and maybe Connection got it tonite, but I don't think they're half as bad as you seem to think. Did you ever stop to think that maybe they had an off night? Who knows what their capabilities are. For them to beat Chivas should say something about the grit and determination of the players after having the GK sent off.
Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2007, 09:57:46 PM
Whats your point buddy?....They still win...Yuh could play Brazil brand and doh score goals and will lose every game...I could remember when teams used to say Boring Boring Chelsea...but they used to win...Goals win matches buddy...Mexico have 6 World Cup players and play a team with drastically less resources than Chivas and win :rotfl: On any grounds is a win...Goals win Matches

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 10:03:07 PM
Fellas i just call a spade a spade. I love the warriors and trinidad. I attend most of their games. However sometimes it's not the scoreline that matters. When Charles was T&T coach I saw Trinidad play the best brand of football since the strike squad. You could have seen that the team was developing along the right line, playing attractive positive football; great passing game. However the results weren't coming as yet so he was fired. i don't consider results too much when looking at development. Congrats to Connection on a win but it was very very lucky. Hope the best for them in Mexico, would love to see trini side advance but that from my perspective seems very very very difficult.
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 13, 2007, 10:06:23 PM
 Trini Warrior you rel stupid boy...I think everyone will agree with me...W-Conection win the game but had a man down....And wait not only that! they come from a goal down and show character to win...You fighting that?! Trini warrior is a rel jackass boy... The Better team WIN on the day buddy
Post by: breezers on February 13, 2007, 10:09:18 PM
As de sayin goes...."it's better tuh be lucky dan good"

Congratz W...very good victory against ah Big Big team..so we all know dat was de easier of the two legs....so hopefully W could spend ah few days in Mexicco before de return leg tuh adjust tuh de atmospere and lewweh try to get ah good result.....
Post by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 10:09:36 PM
Most of the players did not show grit and determination. I saw on their faces absolutely no confidence and a look of resignation. Much of the crowd where i was sitting (not me) were ridiculing the players inept display. I really do hope this was an off night. Jean, Seabra, the Brazilian left back and the small islander in the defence were the only ones that seemed willing to fight. Fellas these fellas for most of the game could not make three passes in a row.
Post by: trinbago on February 13, 2007, 10:15:37 PM
Most of the players did not show grit and determination. I saw on their faces absolutely no confidence and a look of resignation. Much of the crowd where i was sitting (not me) were ridiculing the players inept display. I really do hope this was an off night. Jean, Seabra, the Brazilian left back and the small islander in the defence were the only ones that seemed willing to fight. Fellas these fellas for most of the game could not make three passes in a row.

One question for you .....would u rather we had string more passes together and loss the game......IF yuh answer is YES something wrong with yuh...

Post by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 10:17:24 PM
All who talking didn't see the game but want to call  people stupid. Connection deserves congratulations on a victory but when you are looking at where Trinidad club football is, based on what i saw we way behind. I never agreed with Wim, I argued what about Toussaint and Pacheco, we have class acts, is just that Wim not looking. However, after tonights game, I must say that currently these guys are not ready and have real work to do.
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 13, 2007, 10:21:31 PM
Trinidad's W Connection upsets Mexico's Chivas
The Associated PressPublished: February 13, 2007

MARABELLA, Trinidad: Late goals from Jose Luis Seabra and Earl Jean gave 10-man W Connection a surprising 2-1 win over Mexico's Chivas in a CONCACAF Champions Cup first-leg quarterfinal on Tuesday.

Caribbean champion Connection was expected to struggle against the 11-time Mexican champ. After 19 minutes it seemed doomed when Trinidad and Tobago international goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams saved a shot from striker Sergio Santana outside the area, earning him an automatic red card.

But Chivas didn't score until the 60th when Mexico international Omar Bravo headed in a left cross at Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

Connection skipper Jean replied with a looping header in the 78th to equalize, then the inexperienced Trinidadian side stunned Chivas eight minutes later when Seabra was found in space on the left edge of the box and he thumped an unstoppable low drive past Chivas keeper Ernesto Michel.

Connection will take its advantage into the return leg at Jalisco Stadium in Guadalajara on Feb. 28.

Today in Sports
 Soccer: Scouting for talent around the globe Doping chief rebuked in Lance Armstrong case At 37, a Swede's long wait ends
Post by: Trini-Warrior on February 13, 2007, 10:24:54 PM
I will end by saying yes a win is a win in a tournament like this. i real happy for the result. But if you are looking long term or development, i am sad because Connection given another ten chances against Chivas  cannot repeat the result. I am a Trini to the bone and who have a problem with what i say GO SUCK YUHSELF. Real people does talk football and eh Know football or kick a lime in dey life!!!
Post by: stepray on February 13, 2007, 10:27:26 PM
hello Connection, played a side with 6 experienced  national Mexico team players and Connection players for the most part were a young team. The keeper Beckles (Trini) is 20 years old. Hector (Trini) 21 years, Pacheco (Trini) 21, Dwight Scott (Trini)  21, Drayton (Trini) 20, Thomas (Ice) (Trini) 24 , Toussaint (Trini) 24, Viveros (Colombian) 17, William Oliveira (Brazilian) 22. The older players were Seabra & Goulart (Brazilians), Jean & Joseph (St. Lucians).
So pray tell me why not just applaud the guys, instead of calling them shitty. Typical Trini, just criticising. I wonder if this shitty side had been beaten 5 - 0 by this class side. Would you have said that they were unlucky. I wonder, wonder, wonder.
CONNECTION CONTINUE TO PLAY SHITTY & WIN ALL THE TIME.
I saw Chivas Coach after the game & he was devastated, try telling him that a shitty side beat him with ten men from a goal down. He would have told you you are the shithound.
yOU SAY THE GUYS didn't play with grit & determination, what more did you want.
Post by: Feliziano on February 13, 2007, 10:29:47 PM
I will end by saying yes a win is a win in a tournament like this. i real happy for the result. But if you are looking long term or development, i am sad because Connection given another ten chances against Chivas cannot repeat the result.
i have to agree with most of your intitial post..and the above post cleared it up for the others to understand better hopefully
allyuh fellas shouldnt knock trini-warrior for givign his view
its the same thing i was saying during Digicel Cup..just cause Glasgow end up top scorer or the team make the final, that doesnt make them good.
some people like to see a result at all costs.
Luck is run out at the most inopportune time..remember that people
Post by: stepray on February 13, 2007, 10:31:39 PM
I wonder if you ever kick a lime in your life. I was front row & I was proud , Connection represented T & T well & I am proud of them.
LET"S GO CONNECTION & PROVE THESE DOUBTING THOMASES WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: palos on February 13, 2007, 10:32:38 PM
All who talking didn't see the game but want to call  people stupid. Connection deserves congratulations on a victory but when you are looking at where Trinidad club football is, based on what i saw we way behind. I never agreed with Wim, I argued what about Toussaint and Pacheco, we have class acts, is just that Wim not looking. However, after tonights game, I must say that currently these guys are not ready and have real work to do.

Boss, yuh timin off.

Side win, most people doh care HOW dey play, as long as dey win.  

DE RESULT IS ALL DAT MATTERS,  Daz what most people suscribe to.

It doh matter if they likely to get 6 in de return leg if dey play de same way.  Most people doh see beyond dat.  Doh look at performance.

Wait.....yuh mean it have a return leg?  In Mexico?

Too bad dis wasn't a one leg qualification knockout at home like de games dey play to get to dis stage.

I feel yuh heart in de right place and yuh jes callin it as yuh see it but yuh timin (right after dey win) and choice of words lil suspeck.

Ah tink yuh play down de FACT dat W Connection play wit 10 men fuh 75 minutes and still went on to beat one of de best club teams in CONCACAF.  Dat in itself is something to be proud of, I doubt many other Caribbean club teams have accomplished something similar, and something yuh cyah take away from dem no matter how outplayed they were.

Respeck still because I see where yuh comin from.  :beermug:
Post by: dreamer on February 13, 2007, 10:49:12 PM

Boss, yuh timin off.

Side win, most people doh care HOW dey play, as long as dey win.  

DE RESULT IS ALL DAT MATTERS,  Daz what most people suscribe to.

It doh matter if they likely to get 6 in de return leg if dey play de same way.  Most people doh see beyond dat.  Doh look at performance.

Wait.....yuh mean it have a return leg?  In Mexico?

Too bad dis wasn't a one leg qualification knockout at home like de games dey play to get to dis stage.

I feel yuh heart in de right place and yuh jes callin it as yuh see it but yuh timin (right after dey win) and choice of words lil suspeck.

Ah tink yuh play down de FACT dat W Connection play wit 10 men fuh 75 minutes and still went on to beat one of de best club teams in CONCACAF.  Dat in itself is something to be proud of, I doubt many other Caribbean club teams have accomplished something similar, and something yuh cyah take away from dem no matter how outplayed they were.

Respeck still because I see where yuh comin from.  :beermug:

Classy piece ah philosophy dey by palos and well crafted and balanced statement too. Well said.
Title: Re: Trinidad's W Connection upsets Mexico's Chivas.
Post by: kounty on February 13, 2007, 10:56:10 PM
doh study dem men too much trini warrior, I see what yuh saying...and you give a good description of what you see (I too was real impressed when I really sit down and watch top mexican flowing football...beautiful), but as the yanks saying now and Connection coach say - goals win matches and yuh cyah call a side shitty who win.  That in itself is a skill that few master and must be commended.
good luck to the W in te return leg!
Post by: dwolfman on February 13, 2007, 11:11:44 PM
Too bad I wasn't there. Agreed at palos.
Post by: Socafan on February 13, 2007, 11:12:06 PM
doh study dem men too much trini warrior, I see what yuh saying...and you give a good description of what you see (I too was real impressed when I really sit down and watch top mexican flowing football...beautiful), but as the yanks saying now and Connection coach say - goals win matches and yuh cyah call a side shitty who win.  That in itself is a skill that few master and must be commended.
good luck to the W in te return leg!

Ah tired tell allyuh, we (us particularly) does always match up good against Mexico and any Mexican team. Yuh know why?... dah beautifull flowing football with plenty touches that allyuh like to admire is a game that we master a long time ago. It's called SMALL GOAL. Dem perfect de art on a big field and we does play it fuh de hell ah it in every road in Trini. Thats why on any given day, ah Trini team could give a Mexican team a run fuh dey money. PLUS, dem doh have instinctive dribblers like we have(or at least used to anyways) to make dat brand ah ball really work. Their game is devoid of instinct. If Connection lose on the return it will be because of fitness. Thats all.
Post by: Jefferz on February 13, 2007, 11:31:43 PM

his point is that they very likely will not get away with it in the second leg... yes it was ah win... but de man is informin us of what is de real case... and i appriciate it... I will brace for ah heavy loss in mexico and hope for the best...
Post by: trinbago on February 13, 2007, 11:41:09 PM
Trini-Warrior...to yuh point......fine!.. in your opinion we play shitty...but in the same vein u say we should get better cause we not ready for this level of football ??
We cyah get better by simply playin local clubs... we have to play big clubs wtih a high std of football...like Chivas !...corrreck !!...and now we get a chance to possibly move on to the next round and at the same time make sure that Chivas bring their A-game when they go home as they have something to prove....Doesn't all that make for more experince for our local club to raise the std of football to the level yuh talkin bout  !
Post by: Preacher on February 14, 2007, 12:01:14 AM

Luck is run out at the most inopportune time..remember that people

Hey boy i agree with you.  But remember Luck is when Opportunity meets Preparation.  even though W must luck weak it seems like they did the right things when needed.  Because I know Chivas ent given out free goals.  Remember when we used to play all over side.  Hit man beats and thing?  And then the next side score a basic header from a basic cross and we lose.  The presha on Chivas now.

God the see the board still on fire been gone a while.
Post by: Mose on February 14, 2007, 12:34:03 AM
I attended the game and i must say this was one of the most one sided games I've seen for a long while. Chivas totally dominated the game and should have won comfortably. The level of their passing game was a sight to behold. So much so that for much of the second half even though Connection were only one goal down, they seemed resigned to accept defeat to a better side. They chased shadows for most of the game and seemed clueless about making a few consecutive passes much less threaten the Chivas goal. Trinidad football is just not ready for that high level of football. Pacheco, Toussaint and most of the Connection teamed looked dam shitty. I also attended their game against the Hatian club in which these players looked liked great prospects. It just shows the gulf between the level of football.

Thanks fuh de assessment. Much appreciated!!
Post by: fishs on February 14, 2007, 03:42:49 AM
Trini Warrior I fuh one appreciate you taking the time to make yuh post and express your impressions of what you saw.

Strictly speaking a win is a win and I guess what you were trying to say is that don't be surprised if WC get plenty goals when they play the return game.
I guess you were just real upset with the poor level of football you saw when compared  to the Mexicans.

Remember when I think was Jabloteh or Joe Public  beat  DC or some other MLS team here and end up getting 6 on the return leg ?
Sounds like we could be heading for a similar result.
Post by: stepray on February 14, 2007, 04:32:26 AM
O doubting Thomases. I see the same thing happening. remember everyone had given up on the Soca Warriors, then all of asudden, everyone on board.
Plenty of us were expecting to get plenty cut arse in Germany from Sweden, England & paraguay. But wha happen.
Everybody then forget that and all of a sudden the Warriors were boss & we were all happy.
Here now we already saying Connection go get plenty licks in Mexico. O gawd man.
I feel wha happen to all you is that you all were expecting Chivas to walk all over Connection, & since that ent happen all you vex.
Do you think if Connection was the class team & Chivas the underdogs & the same thing had happened that Chivas country men would be berating them, & calling them shitty & saying is luck and that they go get licks on the return leg.
No way they would be hailing their team & looking forward to the next leg & giving the guys hope.
Trinis just cah give jack his jacket!!!!!!!!!!!. (No pun intended)
Post by: Trini on February 14, 2007, 05:08:39 AM
waay, wha really wrong with some of allyuh dread?

A man who went the game come and post his personal opinion about the game, and allyuh want to crucify him.

That time of the month again?

Maybe the timing was a little off according to palos, but each and every single one of us who know football, know deep down that Chivas must have made connection look very ordinary for periods in the game.

Why Trinis badmind so? Everything a man say is fight down. But what yuh expect when even during our WC campaign, men was at war still.

If we win, is war, if we lose, is more war.

Seems like the only time we dont war so much is when we draw or we just not playing.

The man post up top pays a lot of respect to Chivas, and no disrespect to Connection. So whats the problem? Maybe he could have been diplomatic and concentrated more on Connections gallant fight back in the end, playing with 10 men and all....but say what.

Are we too insecure to admit that we playing against a team that is a class above us?

As Beenie said, in football, 2+2 very rarely equals 4, and this game showed that too, based on reports. Just like the US - Mex game the odda day.

To put it in context, Chivas is the top Mexican team. These top Mexican teams hold their own and beat the best from South America, I even read somewhere that this Chivas team put a 4-0 beating on Boca Jnrs a couple years ago. And these south american teams are on par with the Chelseas, man U's and Real Madrids of Europe. So playing against this calibre of opposition is in itself a very humbling experience. The team has 6 Mex national players for God's sake! You would expect them to run rings every now and then around a caribbean upstart. Like allyuh does forget when T&T national team playing Mexico, how they does have us running in circles too...

In that same context, we hadda real REAL rate Connection for the victory. I for one was real fed up of T&T teams in the past trying to play attractive football and always losing. Now it seems since last 2005 we are growing up and not as niave.
You might say we look amateurish and get run over, but i am sure it was all in our approach and game plan for the opposition. Big up to Connection, although them is not really my first choice club team in T&T, they reppin T&T now, and to play with 10 men for so long and beat that kinda opposition gives me even more respect for them.

The result itself isnt much of a surprise, we have beaten Mexican teams in the past or drawn with them (defence force - pachuca, and Connection a couple years ago 3-3, forgot who)....The real test is at the end of the month for the return game....
Title: Re: Lucky Connection.
Post by: Feliziano on February 14, 2007, 05:49:32 AM
i see more sensible people joined the thread and call it for what its worth  ;)
i do think Trini-warrior's heart was in the right place
Post by: stepray on February 14, 2007, 05:59:50 AM
I have no problem with someone expressing their views, but I don't think it right to call a team shitty, and that the game was totally one sided & like is Chivas score against themselves  even after that team beat a world class team, coming from behind with 10 men.
Man be more classy than that, he could have said the same thing diffrently, but then again he must be eh have no tact.
Do you honestly think that he would have called Chivas shitty if it had been the other way around.
that is our problem, we quick to big up others, but our own we fight down, not giving them any encouragement. Crabs in a abarrel mentality.
The man like he real upset that Connection upset Chivas.
I wonder why?
Post by: slates on February 14, 2007, 07:08:54 AM
I didn see de game. I was hoping Connection win, but all last night, I was thinking dat it wasn't likely and dat when I read de forum this morning, de news wouldna be good.

But yuh know what? I dam proud of Connection, even if they looked bad at times. Because dey coulda dam well look bad and lose. But dey didn't. Dey won, against de odds.

- Dey beat ah big, big side in Chivas
- Dey did it playing short for most of de game
- Dey did it coming from behind

All of that could be considered atypical for T&T teams. So dey overcame de odds.

Where is de big surprise dat Chivas, or Mexico could on any day, outplay Connection or T&T. But on dat night, last night, dey get dey ass waxed.

BIG UP CONNECTION!!!!!!
Post by: Trini on February 14, 2007, 07:18:22 AM
I have no problem with someone expressing their views, but I don't think it right to call a team shitty, and that the game was totally one sided & like is Chivas score against themselves  even after that team beat a world class team, coming from behind with 10 men.
Man be more classy than that, he could have said the same thing diffrently, but then again he must be eh have no tact.
Do you honestly think that he would have called Chivas shitty if it had been the other way around.
that is our problem, we quick to big up others, but our own we fight down, not giving them any encouragement. Crabs in a abarrel mentality.
The man like he real upset that Connection upset Chivas.
I wonder why?

Stepray,

lemme take u to task....

1) Where in the man post he call connection shitty?

2) Why is it WRONG to say that THE GAME WAS TOTALLY ONE SIDED? Will you lie just to be patriotic?

Point is, sometime u hadda read more carefully, sometimes twice before yuh post a reply.

The man post was very single themed I agree, but he was honest and respectful in it.

Admitting your team is not up to standard versus another team is not always an insult.

All a we supporting the same thing, just some of us view things differently..
Post by: Girl Warrior on February 14, 2007, 07:53:23 AM
People... take the damn blindfold off allyuh eyes na, please.... all well and good we win, yes, but at the same time dem men was walking on the pitch, they were passing badly, Mexico making an easy 10 passes and we can only make 3. Nothing special in the midfield, Goulart look like he need a worm out. The stopper look poor. Toussaint wasn't up to his best at all. I cyah understand why allyuh go appreciate us going out on an international ground looking sickly and lacking technical soundness to get a win.  Na boy. I does feel better when i pass my exams by working hard and studyin rather than guessing and getting the questions right.
Post by: dreamer on February 14, 2007, 07:55:55 AM
Trini, are you blind. He referred to most of the connection team as "dam shitty". Is the disrespect of your own. Language is a hell of a thing. It can be used like weapon to demoralize, humiliate and hurt. If different words were used to create the impression of constructive criticism instead of destructive cfriticism then there would be no problem
Post by: Tongue on February 14, 2007, 08:09:28 AM
Maybe the timing was bad.....I glad dat dey win....but de man was there and gave his opinions of what he saw. Until we see the game we jes have tuh go wit what de man and Girl Warrior say. Too many times man does try tuh analyse and re-analysing for de sake of torkin louder than de next man.
Post by: pardners on February 14, 2007, 08:13:49 AM
Sometimes I does wonder about men in this forum and their convenient objectivity.
For the past month all we hearing is about the level of play from the national teams and PFL teams.
Most men admitting that the level is a notch or two below top internationals teams.

The NT coach make a statement that the PFL level is low and men take him to task for that, at the same time admitting that we know it low, but we had to keep it in context in terms of resources and culture, politics and whatnot....but is still not okay for the coach to tell it to us the way he did.  Apparently now in this forum we could only accept criticism if it not harsh and worded kindly.  Sometimes you can't only take the words at face value, you have to look at the deeper meaning too.

Now one ah we own forumites expressed his view having seen the game and men again take him to task for it.

Is it that we can't take negative criticism even when we know it to be the truth ?

The main point the man trying to make is that there was a clear distinction between the level of play from both sides.  Yes, fortunately WConnection won the game, but the performance was below par for whatever reason.

So if we are to accept that goals win matches, and be naive about the quality of play during the game, then is best we forget about team building, grooming players, improving the PFL and NT, and all the talk we talking for the past month.  Hell, we might as well stop training...all we have to do is show up for the game and let Lady Luck take over...mix that with some prayers to the Almighty (it cyah hurt) and we all set for 2010.
Post by: christiano on February 14, 2007, 08:19:45 AM
Fellas i just call a spade a spade. I love the warriors and trinidad. I attend most of their games. However sometimes it's not the scoreline that matters. When Charles was T&T coach I saw Trinidad play the best brand of football since the strike squad. You could have seen that the team was developing along the right line, playing attractive positive football; great passing game. However the results weren't coming as yet so he was fired. i don't consider results too much when looking at development. Congrats to Connection on a win but it was very very lucky. Hope the best for them in Mexico, would love to see trini side advance but that from my perspective seems very very very difficult.

Bossman. Dont stress yourself out. Men here are too emotional sometimes. You are right in your assessment of the game. Whoever feel luck can win games at an international level in real trouble.

Last night W -Conecction was outclassed by a quicker , fitter more technical team that had the crowd silent for 70 minutes.
We were left to admire the play of the mexicans. They did not score  the goals and they created countless opportunities and had our team in total dissarray for most of the game. At one time it was like an exhibition game.

W showed grit and determination to come back with 10 men. Compliments to them .

but the truth is we played away team football at home.

For the doubters here who saw the game, what do you predict will happen in the second leg based on what you saw yesterday ??????  
Post by: Touches on February 14, 2007, 08:21:00 AM
Trini Warrior doe study dem

I was dey too and I agree with you 100%

Let me give you a piece of advice, doe argue nuttin with dem, doe respond and get yuh pressure up because it is not worth the effort to argue with someone who ent see nuttin.

Never more was a gulf in class so wide and apparent, but that is not an issue.

Connection Win

Lewwe sing, dance and be merry, wine and jam.

W-Connection beat Chivas 2-1 and dat is all that matters.

Post by: dreamer on February 14, 2007, 08:24:19 AM
All Trini Warrior had to say is that Chivas is in a class way way over Connection and expect Connection to lose badly in Mexico and everybody go be happy that they hear a simple honest opinion.
Post by: Tongue on February 14, 2007, 08:30:57 AM
and the difference is wha?.....Sharing Licks or getting ah Cutarse same difference....ENT!
Post by: freakazoid on February 14, 2007, 08:35:48 AM
I didn see de game. I was hoping Connection win, but all last night, I was thinking dat it wasn't likely and dat when I read de forum this morning, de news wouldna be good.

But yuh know what? I dam proud of Connection, even if they looked bad at times. Because dey coulda dam well look bad and lose. But dey didn't. Dey won, against de odds.

All of that could be considered atypical for T&T teams. So dey overcame de odds.

WELL SAID

Where is de big surprise dat Chivas, or Mexico could on any day, outplay Connection or T&T. But on dat night, last night, dey get dey ass waxed.

BIG UP CONNECTION!!!!!!
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 08:42:30 AM
Wha the jail is this boy? OK Girl-warrior and trini-warrior and touches and company...If Connection did try to play like Chivas and get f_cking wash 5-nil...then what would have been the argument...Whether it is luck, good skill, determination etc Football is 90 minutes and is about scoring goals...If allyuh cyah get that then I don't know what allyuh want...If allyuh coulda come and say "Boy, Hector rel rip, or Toussaint rel rip, or Goulart shred in that game...but W still get licks, would that have been good ?"...It would have been perfect if W Connection play well and win...It would have been good if I were a f-cking millionaire also but guess what in the real world (not fairyland) things don't be perfect...It would have been nice if Cornell Glen had scored against Sweden with that shot...It was a well executed shot but I personally would have been glad if he totally got it wrong and it deflect(look rel ugly) and went in the goal...But that is just me....Go T&T
Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 08:47:42 AM
Wha the jail is this boy? OK Girl-warrior and trini-warrior and touches and company...If Connection did try to play like Chivas and get f_cking wash 5-nil...then what would have been the argument...Whether it is luck, good skill, determination etc Football is 90 minutes and is about scoring goals...If allyuh cyah get that then I don't know what allyuh want...If allyuh coulda come and say "Boy, Hector rel rip, or Toussaint rel rip, or Goulart shred in that game...but W still get licks, would that have been good ?"...It would have been perfect if W Connection play well and win...It would have been good if I were a f-cking millionaire also but guess what in the real world (not fairyland) things don't be perfect...It would have been nice if Cornell Glen had scored against Sweden with that shot...It was a well executed shot but I personally would have been glad if he totally got it wrong and it deflect(look rel ugly) and went in the goal...But that is just me....Go T&T
allyuh mad oui...goals win matches  i argree but we win end ah story. but i perfer to lose doing the right thing, cause in the end luck cyah trump consisteincy.
 i wah connection learn n try to reaise the level of thier game at least try allyuh jus concern about the win, that cyah help them in de long run if thye keep playing shit. as far as the match reports concerned it seems like (as usual) the players cyah do de basics properly where that will carry we in the end how far.

say what allyuh want if they had gotten 5-0 but played well i woulda perfer that. trinis to short sighted.
Post by: Socafan on February 14, 2007, 08:51:56 AM

BIG UP CONNECTION!!!!!!

Wha' yu' sayin' Slates :)

Exactly...BIG UP CONNECTION!!!!!
Post by: Girl Warrior on February 14, 2007, 08:59:00 AM

Yuh missing the point Ponnoxx... nobody here vex that they win yuh know, i think we all happy them boys get them two goals in, but the football is not a short term thing. This wasn't the be all and end all of W Connection. I cyah see how allyuh raising allyuh hopes for what was played on that pitch last night.They still have to play in Mexico and they will have games where they in an international spotlight again. The harsh reality is that they need to improve. It eh have no maths in understanding that. Connection was moving so slow last night that if they had on a orange kit they would have made perfect cones for the Mexicans to run around
Post by: dcs on February 14, 2007, 09:10:06 AM

WHy allyuh expecting them to play good/constructive football with 10 men against Chivas?
Sometimes u just have to dig down and scrap it out.

I don't doubt the reviews but it says something about the team to pull off what they did despite how scrappy it was.  We'll see what happens in the return and hopefully this time they play with 11 men for the whole match.
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 09:28:51 AM
 you know what...we don't deserve anything as a Nation we too lucky...It is allyuh who don't understand professional football, allyuh don't understand that results count in the professional realm...I backing them fellas 110 % to reach the next stage...Let a crowd come out again and money make by the ticket gates so them brave youthmen who decide to pursue a professional career with very little returns could and they represented T&T last night and were victorious ......I wish W could get them kinda victories all the time...I would love that!!!! Short term...Connection developing youth players long time...Mexicans come from a higher standard league...SO even after this experience W will know what standard they have to be at...As for now they could win all games like that....I supporting that!!!
Post by: Girl Warrior on February 14, 2007, 09:49:58 AM
Ponnoxx I supporting them too, but I want better for them. I want them to shine and play with confidence and not settle for mediocrity or below. W Connection will remain my favourite PFL team. I will be in the stadium to support them in the Courts Pro Bowl, the Toyota Cup, the First Citizens Cup, the Lucozade Big Six and any other tournament they compete in locally.
Ponnoxx I understand everything that you're saying but i don't particularly agree with it, thats how it goes sometimes.
Cheers
Post by: Trini_fan on February 14, 2007, 10:01:05 AM
allyuh mad oui...goals win matches  i argree but we win end ah story. but i perfer to lose doing the right thing, cause in the end luck cyah trump consisteincy.
 i wah connection learn n try to reaise the level of thier game at least try allyuh jus concern about the win, that cyah help them in de long run if thye keep playing shit. as far as the match reports concerned it seems like (as usual) the players cyah do de basics properly where that will carry we in the end how far.

say what allyuh want if they had gotten 5-0 but played well i woulda perfer that. trinis to short sighted.

:applause: :applause:
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 10:05:34 AM
Girl Warrior I hear what allyuh saying too but the bigger picture is whether it is luck...I think we deserve a break...The will know what is to be done in the next round and that is what experience is about...Men like Toussaint who didn't play well would HAVE to step up and you know what?! That is experience because from now on he might say to himself I have to bring my A-game against these foreign teams...Hector Start that game!!! he is in his early 20's and have tremendous potential...But you know what ...They don't have to worry about the last game that played because they win that!!! They will come into the next round knowing full well that Chivas going to try to beat them and they will play towards stopping that...So when I hear people saying it was an ugly victory(and they didn't deserve it) in a way that saying more bad than good coming out of this I feel kinda bad because is my fellow Nationals talking...not jamaicans or bajans...Trinibagonians !!! And that is victory for the Caribbean and all....

Anyhow
Cheers
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 10:06:47 AM
 Well polished hoe...you have to be rel stupid if you would have rather us lose and play better...Guess who would run a football club into the ground? Not me
Post by: maxg on February 14, 2007, 10:10:03 AM
you know what...we don't deserve anything as a Nation we too lucky...It is allyuh who don't understand professional football, allyuh don't understand that results count in the professional realm...I backing them fellas 110 % to reach the next stage...Let a crowd come out again and money make by the ticket gates so them brave youthmen who decide to pursue a professional career with very little returns could and they represented T&T last night and were victorious ......I wish W could get them kinda victories all the time...I would love that!!!! Short term...Connection developing youth players long time...Mexicans come from a higher standard league...SO even after this experience W will know what standard they have to be at...As for now they could win all games like that....I supporting that!!!

then don't comment/question why ppl not coming out to watch, and how can the league improve....'we go just take win by radio ' and celebrate ah win is ah win...why bother pay good money to see them, we dun know how dey go play, and hell dey might win.....
Some ppl gettin tie up with football, international and professional football....it is 3 different game.....Congrats to Connection on the win, buh it cyah stop there...They win so everything must be ok and good.....not necessarily...The goal shold be to be able to string passes,trap etc..and win..No? Or is it to win...or just string passes...
All I get from the observers is our players have to be able to play better football as well as win....buh if yuh jus rather dem win...then yuh care bout winning- nuthen wrong with that - but yuh doh care bout wheter is football or not
Post by: Peong on February 14, 2007, 10:11:50 AM
Playing a BIG opponent, young team, ten men for 79 mins, from a goal down to win.

What allyuh want, blood?
Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 10:14:20 AM

then don't comment/question why ppl not coming out to watch, and how can the league improve....'we go just take win by radio ' and celebrate ah win is ah win...why bother pay good money to see them, we dun know how dey go play, and hell dey might win.....
Some ppl gettin tie up with football, international and professional football....it is 3 different game.....Congrats to Connection on the win, buh it cyah stop there...They win so everything must be ok and good.....not necessarily...The goal shold be to be able to string passes,trap etc..and win..No? Or is it to win...or just string passes...
All I get from the observers is our players have to be able to play better football as well as win....buh if yuh jus rather dem win...then yuh care bout winning- nuthen wrong with that - but yuh doh care bout wheter is football or not
take care u get called "real stupid" because yuh have more foresight. same thign plaguing trini as a whole. everything is for today yeah we win..woo hooo.
then when they eh do shit for ah next 4 -5 yrs..they go jus bad talk them steups. yes.
Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 10:16:55 AM
Well polished hoe...you have to be rel stupid if you would have rather us lose and play better...Guess who would run a football club into the ground? Not me
man woman or chile who ever u may be. good , smart coaches dont mind doing the right thing and losing a couple of matches for long term benefit man dais just common sense. wenger do it, fergie do it etc. how u may ask? by buying and playing younger players during thier team rebuilding process. so instead of buying older players who done experinced wender gets young layers and grooms them into the system for longer term benefit. even though last yr they get real licks for doing so.

i done oui.
Post by: maxg on February 14, 2007, 10:25:30 AM

take care u get called "real stupid" because yuh have more foresight. same thign plaguing trini as a whole. everything is for today yeah we win..woo hooo.
then when they eh do shit for ah next 4 -5 yrs..they go jus bad talk them steups. yes.

how dis for ah orf-track

From wikipedia

"The Encyclopedia of Stupidity by Matthijs van Boxsel is based on the author's contention that "stupidity is in fact the foundation of our civilization" and his idea that no one is intelligent enough to realise how stupid they are. This is not as stupid as it sounds if one includes in the definition of stupidity "unwitting self-destruction, the ability to act against one's best wishes". A saying attributed to Albert Einstein is "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." Stupidity may be more accurately viewed not the opposite of intelligence but as a kind of flawed or absence of intelligence, the darkness that makes the light of true intelligence visible. Contrasted with ignorance, which is the lack of knowledge, not the lack of intelligence.

A popular aphorism goes, " The stupider something seems, the more important it probably is. "

"
Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 10:27:17 AM

how dis for ah orf-track

From wikipedia

"The Encyclopedia of Stupidity by Matthijs van Boxsel is based on the author's contention that "stupidity is in fact the foundation of our civilization" and his idea that no one is intelligent enough to realise how stupid they are. This is not as stupid as it sounds if one includes in the definition of stupidity "unwitting self-destruction, the ability to act against one's best wishes". A saying attributed to Albert Einstein is "Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former." Stupidity may be more accurately viewed not the opposite of intelligence but as a kind of flawed or absence of intelligence, the darkness that makes the light of true intelligence visible. Contrasted with ignorance, which is the lack of knowledge, not the lack of intelligence.

A popular aphorism goes, " The stupider something seems, the more important it probably is. "

"
:rotfl: :rotfl: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: vb on February 14, 2007, 10:28:24 AM
Playing a BIG opponent, young team, ten men for 79 mins, from a goal down to win.

What allyuh want, blood?

Peong,

that is it in a nutshell.

Under those circumstances, it's no surprise that we were outplayed.

We must bear in mind that WC were missing about five of their better players. Then to compound it, they had to play 60 odd minutes with 10 , men. Against one of the best teams on the CONTINENT.

The odds were always against them.

I didn't see the game, but from the reports were playing a team in a different class, played with heart, didn't give up - and with some luck, managed to win.

Well when the other team is better, luck plays a big part in it.

We sure as hell had some luck when TT played Sweden.

Good luck to WC when they play in Mexcio. Obviously, they will need it.

Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 10:30:58 AM
man woman or chile who ever u may be. good , smart coaches dont mind doing the right thing and losing a couple of matches for long term benefit man dais just common sense. wenger do it, fergie do it etc. how u may ask? by buying and playing younger players during thier team rebuilding process. so instead of buying older players who done experinced wender gets young layers and grooms them into the system for longer term benefit. even though last yr they get real licks for doing so.

i done oui.
Arsenal playing the best looking brand under Wenger with young players....But who winning the league? Long run you say...So in the long run you prefer they learn to lose...Man U is a winning team...Chelsea who run by a coach who love good results...Still when Arsenal get a team they cyah knock on is rel defensive football you does see from them...Learn to win first I say !!! Connection and PFL  needed that victory more than Chivas (partlly because of what that jackass national coach say about the league) so doh talk shit about who deserve it...PFL and clubs involved invest what many of us would never venture to,,,They f-cking deserve it qui!!! Mexico played better football against USA the other day and who win....and you know what people will say now...Mexico can't beat USA because why the results showin them that...DOh talk shit about being consistent...They will raise their level in the next round and that is how you does become consistent...when you play at a high level all the time an by getting ugly victories W exposing themselves to a higher level...thus opening the way for consistency to come....OK
Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 10:39:55 AM

i done oui.
Arsenal playing the best looking brand under Wenger with young players....But who winning the league? Long run you say...So in the long run you prefer they learn to lose...Man U is a winning team...Chelsea who run by a coach who love good results...Still when Arsenal get a team they cyah knock on is rel defensive football you does see from them...Learn to win first I say !!! Connection and PFL  needed that victory more than Chivas (partlly because of what that jackass national coach say about the league) so doh talk shit about who deserve it...PFL and clubs involved invest what many of us would never venture to,,,They f-cking deserve it qui!!! Mexico played better football against USA the other day and who win....and you know what people will say now...Mexico can't beat USA because why the results showin them that...DOh talk shit about being consistent...They will raise their level in the next round and that is how you does become consistent...when you play at a high level all the time an by getting ugly victories W exposing themselves to a higher level...thus opening the way for consistency to come....OK
how u agressive so. relax.
aresenal and manu have been consistently at the top of the preimiership a while now. even when aresenal play shit last yr what position did thye finish. chelsea now come into the fray. i acknowledge that chelsea is win and not look pretty but they consisteint no??? and they players coudl do the basics no??

mexico and usa have been consistenly at th etop of concacaf for how long now so if mexico getting toruble ot beat america what yuh pt..those two teams are at the top of the region? and they can do the basics well and they seldom often look ugly doing it.

yes cut ass well benefit them. but only if they play well. which thye eh seem to be doing. cause if they play shit agian and get exposed and get licks what will be yuh cry then. luck couldnt never trump consistency is sport fella. u said your piece i said mines. bless up!!
Post by: Socafan on February 14, 2007, 10:55:50 AM

i done oui.
Arsenal playing the best looking brand under Wenger with young players....But who winning the league? Long run you say...So in the long run you prefer they learn to lose...Man U is a winning team...Chelsea who run by a coach who love good results...Still when Arsenal get a team they cyah knock on is rel defensive football you does see from them...Learn to win first I say !!! Connection and PFL  needed that victory more than Chivas (partlly because of what that jackass national coach say about the league) so doh talk shit about who deserve it...PFL and clubs involved invest what many of us would never venture to,,,They f-cking deserve it qui!!! Mexico played better football against USA the other day and who win....and you know what people will say now...Mexico can't beat USA because why the results showin them that...DOh talk shit about being consistent...They will raise their level in the next round and that is how you does become consistent...when you play at a high level all the time an by getting ugly victories W exposing themselves to a higher level...thus opening the way for consistency to come....OK
how u agressive so. relax.
aresenal and manu have been consistently at the top of the preimiership a while now. even when aresenal play shit last yr what position did thye finish. chelsea now come into the fray. i acknowledge that chelsea is win and not look pretty but they consisteint no??? and they players coudl do the basics no??

mexico and usa have been consistenly at th etop of concacaf for how long now so if mexico getting toruble ot beat america what yuh pt..those two teams are at the top of the region? and they can do the basics well and they seldom often look ugly doing it.

yes cut ass well benefit them. but only if they play well. which thye eh seem to be doing. cause if they play shit agian and get exposed and get licks what will be yuh cry then. luck couldnt never trump consistency is sport fella. u said your piece i said mines. bless up!!
For all wha' you sayin dey it seems to me that Connection is being consistently lucky. We'll see in Mexico.
Post by: Deeks on February 14, 2007, 11:03:02 AM
Good Morning Guys,
                              First of all. Congrats to WC. You show  determination dispite being outplayed. There is no shame in that. You played to your abilities. To Trini-Warrior, I understand your sentiments. You just like Wim. You tell it like you see it. The only problem with that know  is that you were not diplomatic enough.  You WC might get 6 in Guadaljara, but say wha!!. The Chivas supposed to do that at home. I know it fustrating whenever we play a latin side, and see how they string 10 passes without we touching the ball. But How often we play these guys. If we were to play them 10 times again, they may win all 10, but I but you will will adjust and start paying like them.
                    In 1974, TT youth play Mex with Hugo Sanchez in Ottawa. Mexico had 85% of the game. We had about 15%.  PRESSURE!!!!. We had about 3 chances the entire game. We almost won. Score 0-0. The only point Mex. drop in the tournament. Trini Warrior. You need to bring your own team to the PFL.

Congrats WC
Post by: D.H.W on February 14, 2007, 11:18:17 AM
a win is a win yes  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: rippin on February 14, 2007, 12:05:19 PM
We were really happy when Trinidad drew with Sweden. All of a sudden we had delusions of Grandeurit lifted our game against Enland. To all the men who say they prefer we play good and loss than play mess and win I say madness. Against England if John had scored would you all say we deserved that win. Crouch threw away a couple and for most of the game we played limited attacking football. Men wanted us to advance to second round even if we get a cut a$$ or blow out in the next round. This world cup experience built confidence. Men expecting us to beat all of Concacaf because we went to the WC. men cyah understand how we get 4 for Cost Rica who used to put a couple well on the Warriors.

If our WC experience could do such great things for us imagine what this game has done for the confidence of a young Connection side.
Imagine how much easier it is for the coach to inspire them in this second game. It kinda hard to go and do a job when you expecting to get fired but when you expecting a promotion you does work miracles.

Good luck to Connection in the second round. If you all get one chance and that is the chance that win the game I happy because winning is a habit. Men always sayingthe problem with Trinidad fotball is mental. Well this win should help that a little.
Post by: injunchile on February 14, 2007, 12:27:56 PM
Well i left a good Trinity Old Boys lime in Woodbrook,drove for an hour and collected Touchesfor the game.Let me make it clear that I am a Trini Fanatic and a football Jumbie since  thedays of Malvern in front of the grand stand. My town friends all said I was wasting time to go to the game,against local advise i ended up sitting with some connection fanatics. Well they were cussing and shouting boring and heckling a rasta in a yellow boots who just was out of it. Trini Warrior said it best, i agree one hundred percent with his post. it was backs and forwards, it seems as though  Connectionwas pl
aying for a draw.In terms of quality of football if that is one of our top teams, the pro league has a long way to go. I can now understand Wim statement re the local players- this Mexican team exposed our limitations big time. I was happy for the win I shouted till I was horse, but in terms of quality of football,it did not make the heart glad.
Remember the good is often the enemy of the best
Post by: elan on February 14, 2007, 12:34:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORZPCZnZGgg

I really glad WC win eh, but meh heart heavy with the reports about how they play. Also I am dreading the return in Mexico, not just on the field, but off it if we win.
Post by: ribbit on February 14, 2007, 01:05:44 PM
Well i left a good Trinity Old Boys lime in Woodbrook,drove for an hour and collected Touchesfor the game.Let me make it clear that I am a Trini Fanatic and a football Jumbie since  thedays of Malvern in front of the grand stand. My town friends all said I was wasting time to go to the game,against local advise i ended up sitting with some connection fanatics. Well they were cussing and shouting boring and heckling a rasta in a yellow boots who just was out of it. Trini Warrior said it best, i agree one hundred percent with his post. it was backs and forwards, it seems as though  Connectionwas playing for a draw.In terms of quality of football if that is one of our top teams, the pro league has a long way to go. I can now understand Wim statement re the local players- this Mexican team exposed our limitations big time. I was happy for the win I shouted till I was horse, but in terms of quality of football,it did not make the heart glad.
Remember the good is often the enemy of the best

what then is the appropriate plan when a team goes down early to 10 men and it is still scoreless? ???
Post by: injunchile on February 14, 2007, 01:19:46 PM
Very good Question Ribbit- That is precisely the problem- There was no plan. One would have thought that they would have looked for the counterafter having the Mexicans playing in your half and with all the time in the world. When they did get the ball no was willing to run to goal or take on the defenders, who incidentally were playing very high up. It was the lack of urgency-

they were playing too slow that had us all shouting BORING.
On two occasions they showed some urgency and attack and they scored.
Post by: Filho on February 14, 2007, 01:45:48 PM
I am not sure what Ponnoxx and co. getting so worked up about, especially when you consider the person they are insulting actually went to the game, paid money, gave support and was therefore an integral part of the team's victory......unless you think fan support has no value on a team's performance. Anyhow...does a win automatically mean that everyone must now shut up and not discuss what shortcomings could possibly hurt us in the 2nd leg? And why is it that those who actually went to the game have the same view.

And all the talk about ugly football wins games is being over-simplified to suit a poorly disguised agenda. It is one thing to play 'ugly' or defensive football..it is quite another to just look poor and be completely dominated in possession and goalscoring opportunities. Then again, we must keep in mind the team was down to 10 men for most of the game, so they were hardly likely to really look impressive against a top Mexican team. As far as I see...we are all proud they pulled off a win against the odds. Goals win matches and we got the goals. It may have been very fortunate but that's how it goes sometimes and it may as well go so for us. But let's not get overly sensitive and personal with analysis that puts the team's performance in a less than flattering light. Any fan knows you can play poorly and still wim...but that is the exception, not the rule
Post by: saga pinto on February 14, 2007, 02:36:30 PM

I am not sure what Ponnoxx and co. getting so worked up about, especially when you consider the person they are insulting actually went to the game, paid money, gave support and was therefore an integral part of the team's victory......unless you think fan support has no value on a team's performance. Anyhow...does a win automatically mean that everyone must now shut up and not discuss what shortcomings could possibly hurt us in the 2nd leg? And why is it that those who actually went to the game have the same view.

And all the talk about ugly football wins games is being over-simplified to suit a poorly disguised agenda. It is one thing to play 'ugly' or defensive football..it is quite another to just look poor and be completely dominated in possession and goalscoring opportunities. Then again, we must keep in mind the team was down to 10 men for most of the game, so they were hardly likely to really look impressive against a top Mexican team. As far as I see...we are all proud they pulled off a win against the odds. Goals win matches and we got the goals. It may have been very fortunate but that's how it goes sometimes and it may as well go so for us. But let's not get overly sensitive and personal with analysis that puts the team's performance in a less than flattering light. Any fan knows you can play poorly and still wim...but that is the exception, not the rule

Good Point filho,all fans see the game differently and that's just one perspective,we could argue from now until we blue in the face but a win is a win,now the question we should be asking ourselves is, can they duplicate there win in mexico,I don't no for the rest of people on this site but I think they can do it,my reason is simple,they have played them and took there best under stressful circumstances an won so not to be over confident going into the retun leg but now able to measure there opponents and take there chances when they become available.

I've  always said if you approach a game negatively,negative things will happen,If you approach it positively,positive things will happen,eg: you have a game of this magnitude where the stakes are high and all you're hearing from your fellow players is "there's no way we could win" or even our adoring fans saying something similar like "they beat the best in south america who's w connection to them." If you hear that song long enough,you begin to believe it.

If you're mentally strong and believe in yourself,everything works out eventually........            
Post by: dwn on February 14, 2007, 02:54:17 PM
Ah tired tell allyuh, we (us particularly) does always match up good against Mexico and any Mexican team. Yuh know why?... dah beautifull flowing football with plenty touches that allyuh like to admire is a game that we master a long time ago. It's called SMALL GOAL. Dem perfect de art on a big field and we does play it fuh de hell ah it in every road in Trini. Thats why on any given day, ah Trini team could give a Mexican team a run fuh dey money. PLUS, dem doh have instinctive dribblers like we have(or at least used to anyways) to make dat brand ah ball really work. Their game is devoid of instinct. If Connection lose on the return it will be because of fitness. Thats all.

small goal yes  :D

but seriously, thats a joke right  :-\ ???  :-[

their game is devoid of instinct ??? how u's come to a conclusion like that?
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 14, 2007, 03:03:48 PM
I am not sure what Ponnoxx and co. getting so worked up about,

1) Is a south based club
2) i think he have a relation at the club
Post by: College on February 14, 2007, 03:30:32 PM
Ah join the ole talk late but ah have to add meh 2 cents. I didn't see the game but someone who did, called me and from what he told me I have to agee with Trini Warrior and Touches. W was lucky and seemed out of their depth, ah think we all can agree with that.

I dont think Wis a shit side but when man cyah trap and string a few passes together on the day and manage to steal a win ..good for them, and says alot about thir spirit and  pride.

Ah sure plenty of allyuh could remember playing with yuh lil club side, playing all over the next team, hitting post, throwing away sitter on the goal line and the next team get one chance and buss yuh net and after the game yuh say, 'ah cyah believe we lost to dat shyte side'

All I can say  is.... it is what it is, and best of luck to W in Mexico..ah hope they travel with they own food and water.
Post by: vb on February 14, 2007, 04:21:15 PM
I am looking at the game now and what no one has mentioned is that WC were holding their own until the ejection.

They got the best chance in front of an open goal and SOME HOW threw away. They also got some ok crosses into the box.

I have noticed that as soon as they were  a man down they all fell back DEEP into their own half, ALLOWING the Mexicans to live in the WC half of the field.

The face of the game changed the moment WC fell to ten men.

Post by: Organic on February 14, 2007, 04:40:58 PM
I am looking at the game now and what no one has mentioned is that WC were holding their own until the ejection.

They got the best chance in front of an open goal and SOME HOW threw away. They also got some ok crosses into the box.

I have noticed that as soon as they were  a man down they all fell back DEEP into their own half, ALLOWING the Mexicans to live in the WC half of the field.

The face of the game changed the moment WC fell to ten men.

if u read touches match report he said that.
Post by: vb on February 14, 2007, 04:47:59 PM
I did read Touches match report.

My point was, WC wasn't doing that badly until the ejection.

Post by: Ponnoxx on February 14, 2007, 06:57:02 PM
 Connection did well in my book(at least in the 1st half)...They keep Chivas at bay...Touches ...you did not assess this well at all...It wasn't looked at in terms of football...Play within your strengths...Goals win games...Number of Passes don't win games...etc ...COnnection did well all first half
Post by: Socafan on February 14, 2007, 07:00:28 PM
Connection did well in my book(at least in the 1st half)...They keep Chivas at bay...Touches ...you did not assess this well at all...It wasn't looked at in terms of football...Play within your strengths...Goals win games...Number of Passes don't win games...etc ...COnnection did well all first half
Ditto
Post by: Trini-Warrior on March 01, 2007, 04:30:00 AM
Whey all them men who only just stop short of telling meh how meh mudder make meh?? Leh meh hear all yuh now?
Post by: Brownsugar on March 01, 2007, 05:07:25 AM
Whey all them men who only just stop short of telling meh how meh mudder make meh?? Leh meh hear all yuh now?

Not only you....Touches get ah good share too.....it happen just as all yuh call it.....well, well, well.....
Post by: g on March 01, 2007, 05:18:13 AM

Blessed are those who have seen and believe, but blessed are those who have not seen and still believe
Post by: pardners on March 01, 2007, 06:26:20 AM

Blessed are those who have seen and believe, but blessed are those who have not seen and still believe

Allyuh sssshhhhhhhhhhhhh !!!
It have men who go vex with allyuh.  They go say allyuh wanted the team to lose to prove a point. ;)