General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: boss on April 11, 2011, 03:45:07 PM

Title: Allyson Hennessy
Post by: boss on April 11, 2011, 03:45:07 PM
Apparently she's in a coma? Anyone have any details?  :(
Title: Hennessy 'stable' after falling ill
Post by: Tallman on April 11, 2011, 03:51:48 PM
Hennessy 'stable' after falling ill
By Aabida Allaham (T&T Express)

VETERAN television presenter Allyson Hennessy has been hospitalised after falling seriously ill.

Hennessy, who hosted the programme Community Dateline for several years, was said to have fallen into a coma and was rushed to the St Clair Medical Centre for treatment last Friday.

Relatives of the television personality have declined to say what is the cause of her illness, but insist she is stable.

Sister Sheelagh Besson yesterday told the Express doctors have informed them that Hennessey has stabilised and "they are hopeful that she would be responsive soon".

"We don't think her medical condition is important. What is important is that people know that she is stable and that they should keep her in their prayers," she said.

Hennessey, who is also known for her colourful Carnival commentary, owns the Veni Mangé West Indian restaurant with her sister, Rosemary Hezekiah, and was married to radio personality Emmett Hennessy.
Title: Re: Allyson Hennessy
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 12, 2011, 12:17:34 AM
C news released some highlights about her situation on Sunday.
A very nice person. Get well soon sister/brother
Post by: TriniCana on April 12, 2011, 04:20:35 AM

Huh? Davy confused?
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 12, 2011, 12:11:53 PM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?
Post by: futbolfan on April 12, 2011, 01:48:00 PM

Huh? Davy confused?

Cana doe study it, iz Davy write it....
Post by: TriniCana on April 12, 2011, 03:03:22 PM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?

<stares> wait Davy..okay uhmm just explain to me why you wrote sister/brother please?
We agree on everything else written...except sister/brother part  :-\

****futbolfan lemme take it ein ah little bit. thanks though.
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 13, 2011, 01:36:36 AM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?

<stares> wait Davy..okay uhmm just explain to me why you wrote sister/brother please?

Trini girl ! what planet yuh on?
Post by: TriniCana on April 13, 2011, 03:43:27 AM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?

Apparently not the same planet you on. Which I'm guessing is a good thing.
Aright I'll take ya post with a duss of epsons salts and go meh way. ::)
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 13, 2011, 10:44:46 AM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?

Go right ahead but make sure to spray the area and refresh the air before you open the door also I hope there are vents in that room as well?
Post by: lefty on April 13, 2011, 10:50:19 AM

Huh? Davy confused?
Really? How?

Go right ahead but make sure to spray the area and refresh the air before you open the door also I hope there are vents in that room as well?

brilliant come back ::)
Post by: TriniCana on April 13, 2011, 03:12:18 PM
Anyway, so davyjenny1 you plan on answering the question or you just feeling to see yourself type?
If you forgot the question, here it is again: 'just explain to me why you wrote sister/brother please?'
Post by: Blue on April 17, 2011, 04:43:46 PM
Anyway, so davyjenny1 you plan on answering the question or you just feeling to see yourself type?
If you forgot the question, here it is again: 'just explain to me why you wrote sister/brother please?'

u really need him to lower the tone wid an 'explanation'? when last you learnt something useful from davyjenny?  ::)
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 17, 2011, 11:09:28 PM

u really need him to lower the tone wid an 'explanation'? when last you learnt something useful from davyjenny?  ::)

I GOT IT FROM YUH MODDER !  YUH LIL BASTARD  PUNK !

You have written so much shit on here that doh make sense at all. Like FLEX ram something very large up your arse telling you it doh matter just keep postin. Yuh must be ah lick bottom african
Post by: Brownsugar on April 18, 2011, 06:07:34 AM

You have written so much shit on here that doh make sense at all. Like FLEX ram something very large up your arse telling you it doh matter just keep postin. Yuh must be ah lick bottom african

Whoa!!... :o :o  ??? :-\
Post by: lefty on April 18, 2011, 06:30:06 AM

Whoa!!... :o :o  ??? :-\

don't mind him, he hit every branch on the stupid tree when d stork drop him all dem years ago
Post by: elan on April 18, 2011, 07:57:04 AM

Huh? Davy confused?

People use to say back in the day that she happy and her husband was happy to, and they marry each other out of convience, that was the rumor and what I guess that's what Davy was hinting at
Post by: Socafan on April 18, 2011, 08:44:35 AM
LOL...I eh go lie...this sequence of postings and retorts real crack me up boy.....

Allyuh have me here skylarking 10:00 Monday morning. This place is the besssss....
Post by: Jumbie on April 18, 2011, 01:37:49 PM
man come her to buss mark but holding water in he mouth. Then resorting to act like ah compounded ass. All the lady wanted to know, was what yuh mean.. yuh gone orf disrespecting people and yuh self.

Post by: TriniCana on April 18, 2011, 03:07:41 PM

Huh? Davy confused?

People use to say back in the day that she happy and her husband was happy to, and they marry each other out of convience, that was the rumor and what I guess that's what Davy was hinting at

Oh okay, thanks! I'm guessing you meant she and Emmett are bisexual?

davyjenny1 your last response wasn't for me right?
Post by: Trinimassive on April 18, 2011, 04:28:10 PM
Ah riddle ah riddle ah rhee

Dias how dis thread sounding. 

Nothing straight (no pun intended) up. Yuh ha to read into stuff except ah guess fuh the most important thing...she ok
Post by: Quags on April 18, 2011, 04:47:18 PM
To stop the annual davy jenny awards ,he turned into a gun slinger . Shame cause the awards are now bigger than him . And there is no other name for it . You know how many  ppl gaffs are left alone going un nominated .
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 18, 2011, 11:59:33 PM
man come her to buss mark but holding water in he mouth. Then resorting to act like ah compounded ass. All the lady wanted to know, was what yuh mean.. yuh gone orf disrespecting people and yuh self.

What yuh think? folks coming at me hard and I eh go do nothing. Well hear nah!  this page is full of Libyan rebels and I am Muammar Gaddafi  :duel: :busshead: :whip: :flamethrower:
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 19, 2011, 12:00:55 AM

Huh? Davy confused?

Oh okay, thanks! I'm guessing you meant she and Emmett are bisexual?

davyjenny1 your last response wasn't for me right?

No
Post by: fari on April 19, 2011, 06:14:28 PM
i see on FB they requesting O+ blood for the lady
Post by: TriniCana on April 19, 2011, 06:54:19 PM
i see on FB they requesting O+ blood for the lady
I'm surprised that they still asking for blood though. I heard the line was long at the blood bank during lunch hour.  :-\

I really hope she pull through yes....
Post by: TriniCana on May 07, 2011, 09:55:29 PM
R.I.P
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 09:58:41 PM
R.I.P

Oh damn...

Sorry to hear.
Post by: boss on May 08, 2011, 03:13:42 AM
This is so sad...RIP  :(
Post by: Brownsugar on May 08, 2011, 07:02:53 AM
R.I.P

Oh damn...

Sorry to hear.

Yeah boy.... :(
Post by: zuluwarrior on May 08, 2011, 07:20:35 AM
I thought she was doing well say wah life goes on RIP.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on May 08, 2011, 11:07:04 AM
RIP Allyson...
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2011, 11:25:28 AM
RIP Ms Allyson!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 08, 2011, 01:05:52 PM
Ah General Gone. RIP
Post by: Dutty on May 08, 2011, 03:36:12 PM
Local tv icons leavin.....r.i.p
Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2011, 03:53:35 PM
RIP Allyson a true icon.
Post by: Tallman on May 08, 2011, 03:55:20 PM
My only personal encounter with her was when ah went tuh Veni Mange ah few years ago. Very classy lady.
Title: Allyson Hennessy passes on
Post by: Tallman on May 08, 2011, 03:57:27 PM
Allyson Hennessy passes on
ctntworld.com

Veteran talk show host, Allyson Hennessy, has died.

Ms Hennessy, who was ailing since April, passed away on Saturday 7th May at the St Clair Medical Centre. She was in the Intensive Care Unit at the Centre for the past several weeks.

She was synonymous with State owned Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) during its early years, having interviewed many people from all walks of live including the late Prime Minister, Dr Eric Williams, pop superstar, Michael Jackson, and many others.

At TTT, she hosted the popular mid-morning programme Community Dateline for several years with other presenters including Wendell Constantine, Judy Alcantara, Lisa Wickham and Judy Chong Dennison, until 2005 when the station closed. She later hosted a talk show on NCC Channel 4, and in 2010, “The Box” on Gayelle the Channel.

In 2009, she was honoured by the Trinidad and Tobago Publishers and Broadcasters Association for her contribution to television in Trinidad and Tobago.

In acknowledging her passing, State-owned Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) said it is profoundly saddened by the death of Ms Hennessy.

A statement from interim CEO, Ken Ali, reads:

"Ms. Hennessy has passed away at a time when CNMG was actively discussing meaningful ways of honouring her vast contribution to Trinidad and Tobago via the State media sector. Indeed, a Committee to make recommendations met as late as Friday morning. The Committee will continue its deliberations, with a view to proposing purposeful means by which CNMG can pay enduring tribute to one of the most respected and admired practitioners in the local electronic media. CNMG fondly remembers Ms. Hennessy for her abiding love of her country, her abundant native spirit, affection for local culture and her overall zest for life. She showcased those attributes for a generation on CNMG’s prior State-owned media enterprise and at a time when a young Trinidad and Tobago nation was finding ways to express its identity, values and aspirations. While Trinidad and Tobago is considerably poorer with the passing of Ms. Hennessy, CNMG is committed to preserving and fostering her tremendous legacy and to endearing it to future generations.Her death – especially taking place mere weeks after the passing of gifted newspaper journalist Keith Smith – has left the media with an irreplaceable absence."
Title: Re: Allyson Hennessy passes on
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 08, 2011, 05:52:56 PM

"Ms. Hennessy has passed away at a time when CNMG was actively discussing meaningful ways of honouring her vast contribution to Trinidad and Tobago via the State media sector. Indeed, a Committee to make recommendations met as late as Friday morning. The Committee will continue its deliberations, with a view to proposing purposeful means by which CNMG can pay enduring tribute to one of the most respected and admired practitioners in the local electronic media. CNMG fondly remembers Ms. Hennessy for her abiding love of her country, her abundant native spirit, affection for local culture and her overall zest for life. She showcased those attributes for a generation on CNMG’s prior State-owned media enterprise and at a time when a young Trinidad and Tobago nation was finding ways to express its identity, values and aspirations. While Trinidad and Tobago is considerably poorer with the passing of Ms. Hennessy, CNMG is committed to preserving and fostering her tremendous legacy and to endearing it to future generations.Her death – especially taking place mere weeks after the passing of gifted newspaper journalist Keith Smith – has left the media with an irreplaceable absence."

They always a day late and a dollar short
Post by: fari on May 09, 2011, 05:49:47 AM
RIP Ms Hennessy.   
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 09, 2011, 12:01:55 PM
RIP mrs. hennessy...growing up ah had a real crush on this bouncin beauty oui....ah neva miss ah dateline........ah use to hate goin to school.
Post by: big dawg on May 09, 2011, 05:30:06 PM
One of my funniest memories of her was a time on Dateline when she was interviewing Carlitos Colon, Victor Jovika, Invader # 1 and some other Caribbean wrestlers...

She was just doing a cultural presentation about the wrestling event that was taking place in Trinidad. Clearly she didn't get the memo that the wresting drama is a scripted thing.. so the wrestlers sitdown to be interviewed and not too long after, a Jerry Springer type argument break out on the set...

Mrs Hennessy had to play referee to calm everybody down, eventually going to a commercial break.... she handled the situation diligently...

RIP.. True T and T Icon..
Post by: TriniCana on May 10, 2011, 04:05:09 AM
Allyson Hennessy funeral will take place at 10.30 am Friday at St Finbar’s RC Church, Morne Coco Road, Diego Martin.

From what I understand, the wake will be in front of Veni!
Post by: vb on May 10, 2011, 06:03:50 AM
LOL...I eh go lie...this sequence of postings and retorts real crack me up boy.....

Allyuh have me here skylarking 10:00 Monday morning. This place is the besssss....

Is not just you yes  :rotfl:

DJ, I and all was wondering what the hell you talking about. It really dat hard just to explain yuhself.

Just when I getting over you, you does come up with a next one.

On the flip side of the coin, DJ might be understandably sensitive in view of the pong he get on this site.

Now yuh have ppl theorizing the woman gay just becz you couldn't expand.

Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2011, 07:55:42 AM
Allyson Hennessy funeral will take place at 10.30 am Friday at St Finbar’s RC Church, Morne Coco Road, Diego Martin.

Figure it woulda b Fri after Valley on Thu. D priest in St. Finbar's real busy.
Post by: Dutty on May 10, 2011, 08:33:34 AM

I'm guessing that some of the atendees knew both of them...imagine having to go to funerals two days in a row
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 10, 2011, 09:06:08 AM

I'm guessing that some of the atendees knew both of them...imagine having to go to funerals two days in a row
nutten rong with that,once it eh your own.lol.
Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2011, 10:28:40 AM

nutten rong with that,once it eh your own.lol.

Post by: Socapro on May 10, 2011, 11:54:44 AM
Condolences to a T&T media icon!

She will be greatly missed especially at the Savannah doing her commentary for Carnival! :-(
Post by: TriniCana on May 10, 2011, 06:33:37 PM
A series of events takes place this week leading up to the funeral of broadcaster Allyson Hennessy, who passed away last Saturday at age 63.
This evening, family, friends and fans of Hennessy will gather at the Carib Rugby Club, Emperor Valley Zoo Road in Port of Spain.  The gathering will move to her Restaurant, Veni Mange on Ariapita Avenue, tomorrow.

The National Carnival Band Association has also issued a statement expressing their gratitude to her contribution to the carnival art form over the years. They said that Mrs. Hennessy had been involved in the mas fraternity for a number of years as both a masquerader and a bandleader, enjoying every aspect of mas from jourvert morning, then despers Monday evening then onto minshall mas on carnival Tuesday.
The NCBA also said that most of the outstanding bandleaders of the present era owe an eternal debt of gratitude to Allyson for the recognition and exposure she provided for them.

Allyson Hennessy’s funeral is expected to take place at the St Finbar's RC Church in Diego Martin at 10.30 a.m. on Friday.
Title: Re: Allyson Hennessy passes on
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2011, 06:58:07 PM

They always a day late and a dollar short

So doh wait until ah old and ah cyar see
Tuh say yuh have ah Trinity Cross fuh meh

Doh wait until ah old and ready tuh go
Tuh give meh ah ugly statue like Sparrow

http://www.youtube.com/v/kv_mavxBrfk

Post by: Bakes on May 10, 2011, 08:42:27 PM
So she died of sepsis... aka blood poisoning.  Curious.
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 14, 2011, 04:02:59 AM

Is not just you yes  :rotfl:

DJ, I and all was wondering what the hell you talking about. It really dat hard just to explain yuhself.

Just when I getting over you, you does come up with a next one.

On the flip side of the coin, DJ might be understandably sensitive in view of the pong he get on this site.

Now yuh have ppl theorizing the woman gay just becz you couldn't expand.

I & all ketchin meh arse to figure out wha yuh writin too
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 14, 2011, 06:57:17 AM
RIP Allyson, grow up watching community dateline.  sesame street was the only show I watched more.
Post by: vb on May 15, 2011, 01:51:32 PM
RIP Allyson, grow up watching community dateline.  sesame street was the only show I watched more.

Very professionl and assured during live broadcasts.

Post by: Tallman on May 15, 2011, 06:59:51 PM
Allyson Hennessy's Send-Off in pictures
http://www.triniview.com/gallery/main.php?g2_itemId=549704
Post by: soccerman on May 16, 2011, 11:21:06 AM
It was good to see all the local celebs came out to pay tribute for all she as done, esp to promote them as well.  Even Sancho and Stern showed support (pg 20) not to mention we boy Super Blue
Post by: Tallman on May 16, 2011, 12:00:54 PM
It was good to see all the local celebs came out to pay tribute for all she as done, esp to promote them as well.  Even Sancho and Stern showed support (pg 20) not to mention we boy Super Blue

(http://www.triniview.com/gallery/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=550049&g2_serialNumber=1)
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on May 16, 2011, 01:39:17 PM
wow...was this a state funeral?
Wishn there were names attached some of these faces were tantalizingly familiar.
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2011, 02:23:15 PM
wow...was this a state funeral?
Wishn there were names attached some of these faces were tantalizingly familiar.

I would hope not.

Ah recognize Auntie Hazel, Neil Giuseppi, Minshall... her sister June... somebody who look like Beryl McBurnie... Giselle Laronde-West, Anil, some fella wid ah smart tie, Rowley... and Emmet of course.  Ah feel it fuh he boy, dat man is de picture of grief.

... ah also notice ah couple 'happy' looking fellas and one or two M.I.L.F's, but I ent know who dey is.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on May 17, 2011, 06:33:31 AM
I knew it wasn't but it had many of the trappings of a state funeral...
ah, yes Auntie Hazel. I knew I knew the face but could not pull the name out of the cobwebs.
very bitter sweet to see my old parish hall again...
 :(
Post by: Brownsugar on May 17, 2011, 06:15:46 PM
Auntie Hazel looking good still man....and yes Mr. Hennessy, ah tear or two came to mih eyes when I saw him in a few of the photos....*sigh* wha we goh do eh, this thing called life.....
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 08:25:28 AM
Auntie Hazel looking good still man....and yes Mr. Hennessy, ah tear or two came to mih eyes when I saw him in a few of the photos....*sigh* wha we goh do eh, this thing called life.....

Black doh crack  ;)  She looked very good.
Post by: Tallman on May 18, 2011, 10:56:34 AM

Ah sensing some tustyness in dat comment  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 11:06:36 AM
Ah sensing some tustyness in dat comment  :devil:

Yuh never know, if ah had anodder 20-25 years on mih head ah mighta tackle... plus I sure she pension nice  ;D
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2011, 11:56:20 AM

Wid de amount o' foundation she have on her face, she coulda be green, it wouldn'a crack... lol...

Doh study me, big up 12 & under!!! (the talent show that is)...
Post by: Dutty on May 25, 2011, 01:28:16 PM
someting bout de malta carib tent in de lady funeral kinda bodderin mih

either way,de true leader of the country does sit in front and  he right hand man on de right...everybody else in de back of the bus
(http://www.triniview.com/gallery/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=549983&g2_serialNumber=1)