May 03, 2024, 03:20:09 PM

Author Topic: Message to the team  (Read 2531 times)

Message to the team
« on: July 12, 2005, 10:12:42 PM »
We can accept losing. We don't like it, but it's part of life, you win some you lose some. What we cannot (and refuse to) accept is lack of commitment, purpose, energy and effort. We fans, many of whom travelled from different states and islands, came to support you (the team) and our country in our quest for success. Rightly or wrongly, we had heightened expectations due to the improvements that we saw in the last couple of games. What we didn't expect was a team that appeared to be disinterested in playing the game. We didn't expect a team that did not show the will to win. We didn't expect a team that took to its task in a nonchalant manner. We didn't expect a team who went out with a whimper. Three games were played and the performances grew progressively worse. At the end of the day, it does not matter who is present on the pitch, but it does matter that the people out there perform to the best of their ability. Overall, the team did not do that. You talked the talk, but you did not walk the talk, and this leaves us disappointed. We are named the "Warriors", but you did not display a warrior spirit. If you gave it your all and lost, at least we could say we put up a fight, but sadly, the body language that was on show (for all games) was not a testament to that. Lastly, we fans thought that it was disrepectful that you did not acknowledge us after the Colombia game. You simply bowed your heads and walked into the tunnel. We can understand your shame, but we beat drums, we knocked iron, we blew whistles, we blew horns and we shouted slogans enthusiastically for 90 minutes. You did not reciprocate on the pitch. We think we deserve better.

We hope that you will regroup and recharge your batteries for the upcoming battles.

Onward Warriors!!!

Re: Message to the team
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 11:43:36 PM »
GREAT POST TALLEST! 

I honestly feel you should forward it to the Daily Newspapers and to the TTFF.

Respeck.

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 11:51:10 PM »
Lastly, we fans thought that it was disrepectful that you did not acknowledge us after the Colombia game. You simply bowed your heads and walked into the tunnel. We can understand your shame, but we beat drums...

That was in poor taste. I thought that was the least we deserved having to endure that tata. They could not face us!

Offline ahlikeit

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2005, 01:41:47 AM »
Tallman,
           From the first Game vs Hundurus, where, we the fans came was out numbered and endured Stern throwing away from the six yard box. To the 2nd game where the turnout was better (weekend) more support to the team, Stern was still himself, Glen salvage some pride for us. Tuesdays game was the worse display of Fan apprieciation, all the other teams acknowledged it's supporters Win, Lose or Draw..... The hardest blow is no one pointing fingers to Stern John, who was playing shit, falling with every touch, not hustling the ball in the front and still had it in him to be directing plays. I remember when Bertille sub Nakhid in a game when he was the captain and was not performing on the field...at the Stadiun in Port of Spain. Leo need to bench Stern, that brand of football Stern playing is shit. He's not moving off the ball, he's re-inventing Dwights old forward tactics that was not working for us. The best team in the world would have eventually lost under those circumstances.... look back at the games... everytime our defence tried moving the ball from left to right to switch the play, they always had to switch back because the Goat was not moving off the ball creating space up front. On a good note...... Dennis Lawrence, Andrews ,Glen, Jack and (#3) for that hard tackle in the dying minutes of Columbia's game represented and was worthy. The others need to improve their standard at a national level.

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2005, 06:32:56 AM »
Some of us in Trinidad didnt get the game live because of technical difficulties at the satellite feed, so we listened on the radio.  I agree totally with Tallest.

You were football fans first, remember what that was like.  If we had the opportunity to do it on the field, we would have the heart to provide a good account, rather than being lackadaisical and disenchanted.  Playing for Trinidad is a privilege, and you are worthy of being there.  Lets put this all in the proper perspective and move on.  If you dont feel like giving 150% or have PMS, don't play.  Someone with the heart and soul will take your place.

« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2005, 06:47:06 AM »
Great post tallman!! You just said my utmost fellings and I could not have put any different. It's what I'v have been saying yesterday in a number of posts. We lacking bad in commitment. AAh cyar say it no more .

Ah think u could send that article to ttff and the tnt media back home and let dem fellas know how we feel out here in this place. We need more passion from them, more appreciation. Let dem know we supporting dem all the way not jus if de win. Later ppl.

« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2005, 07:24:30 AM »
Oh gosh man, Steups..  I cya say nothing right now but Ah sure as hell agree with Tallman...

All meh lil daughter new school computer money get touch-up this weekend and to no avail.

Warrior for life but as de man dem say Yesterday, that amount of shit "could make a Politician Cringe"!!   

« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2005, 07:32:39 AM »
Excellent post Tallest!

It seems that somewhere in our education system the word "commitment" got lost and never gets mentioned nor taught!

Teachers..please mention the word commitment to the kids nah!
define it.. use it in a sentence..give examples..

« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2005, 07:50:56 AM »
Disappointing to hear that they failed to acknowledge the support. I would hate to think that the fellas didn't give all they had. Maybe there is an explanation. Aye Stern gih we a inside scoop dey nuh :(!

Offline raj

« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2005, 08:04:26 AM »
Great post Tallman .. right to the heart of the matter.

« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2005, 08:13:29 AM »
Tallest,
Your article resonates well with me. Very thoughtful and insightful reflections.

« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2005, 08:15:24 AM »
good message tallman if them fellas did not truly try they best no excuse for that

good luck warriors stay strong work hard always give 100%.

« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2005, 10:15:46 AM »
Tallman send dat to de papers boy.Excellent post !

« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2005, 10:36:45 AM »
Even befoe the game began, only Lawerence and two other players eacknowledged the fans.

T&t players dissed us badly.

And Stern played real shit!

« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2005, 10:52:15 AM »
So if ALL our players were not fully committed to leaving everything on the field to make their fans and country proud that they did their best then why were they there, to bring shame to their fans and country!?

Fans support should be acknowledged before during and after games as a matter of course!!

Then they want to turn around and beg for fan support?!!!

The capatin of this team should make an appology on behalf of the fans for ignoring their supporters! Win, lose or draw fan supported must always be acknoledeged by the team!!
THis is a golden rule they need to Learn immediately!!  >:(