May 20, 2024, 04:58:53 PM

Author Topic: Hasely Crawford surface ‘disgraceful’  (Read 10739 times)

Hasely Crawford surface ‘disgraceful’
« on: October 26, 2008, 06:26:10 AM »
By: Peter O’Connor (Newsday).

Last Saturday, in a letter published in Newsday, Mr Wazir Mohammed called the playing surface at the Hasely Crawford Stadium “disgraceful”.

In an “open letter to the Minister of Sport,” Mr. Mohammed stated that he could not believe that a World Cup qualifying match could have been played on that surface. Trust me, Mr Mohammed, your eyes were not playing tricks upon you, as you wondered. The playing surface at Hasely Crawford is horrendous — to use your own word. And I can attest that Jack Warner and Ollie Camps are indeed ashamed about this (I cannot speak for the Minister), but they can do nothing about it.

And what is more disturbing, Mr Mohammed, is that the playing surface will continue to deteriorate and no amount of rolling or grading will stop this deterioration. We may soon have to play our World Cup Qualifiers at Lumsden Recreational Ground in Gasparillo, which, in comparison, will look more and more like Wembley.

Earlier this year, when officials of the England Football Association visited Trinidad to inspect our facilities prior to their coming here for our Centennial Match, they said that the playing surface at Hasely Crawford was unacceptable. There were other defects, including the state of the team dressing rooms, where the suspended ceilings were falling apart, and damaging the light fittings.

The ceilings had been damaged by water soaking through the concrete floors above. The water came from melting ice stored on the concrete floor by vendors operating concession booths.

I was part of the TTFF Team which presented the list of defects to the Stadium Management, for transmission to the Minister of Sport.

It should be noted that all of the defects listed had been brought to the Ministry’s attention over the past few years, and all were matters of simple maintenance rather than capital expenditure requirements.

The Ministry agreed to do the maintenance works because England had requested it, another example of us fixing things “for the tourists” when we never fixed them for our own footballers. But, still, let us be thankful, that some work was done, even if locals did not qualify for the improvements on our own.

The dressing rooms were all upgraded, with new air conditioning, electrics, ceilings and new paint, and they looked so good! But the recommendation to seal the concrete floors above was ignored. As a result, by the time the Centennial Match was over, there was water dripping through the brand new ceilings into the dressing rooms and players’ corridors.

Talk about shame! Why melting ice should drip through structural concrete floors topped with polished granolithic is another subject altogether.

But it was the condition of the field which upset Mr Mohammed, and indeed the English FA when they saw it.

The field at Hasely Crawford is planted with an imported grass, which does not produce its own seeds.

Therefore, if any portion is damaged, or dies, it has to be dug out and “sods” of similar grass — which is planted at the North end of the stadium — must be used to replace the damaged section. The imported grass really is very “thin”, and when you walk on the field, you can see the soil below.

Because the grass cover is so thin, wind blown seeds of a very stiff, “clumpy” grass settle on the field and take root.

The more you cut this grass — common name “fowl-foot” grass — the thicker the clumps become. Because this grass seeds itself copiously, every time the field is mowed, fowl-foot grass is literally planted across the field.

So, the more you mow, the worse you make the playing surface, and the more you spread this invasive grass.

The problem therefore feeds on itself, and the field gets worse every time it is mowed. We, the TTFF, called in advice from Terra Firma and from UWI, and suggested that CEPEP crews be brought in to sit and weed out all of the fowl-foot grass.

However, we were advised that the fowl foot grass was so spread that if it was all removed, there would be huge bare patches on the field.

Instead, only the stiffest clumps were removed, some poison was placed on others, and the areas affected were cut very short and watered copiously, providing a temporary acceptable pitch for the England game.

But that was in May. Since then, with the rainy season, and the mowers spreading fowl foot grass seeds, the field has deteriorated to the extent described by Mr Mohammed.

Can anything be done to bring the playing surface back to an acceptable standard? Of course! But that will have to wait for another column, and cannot be completed in time for our next Qualifier, in November.

Offline Anbrat

Re: Hasely Crawford surface ‘disgraceful’
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2008, 07:24:51 AM »
What else is new? It is well known that lack of maintenance is the order of the day in T&T and the government sets the example by being the biggest culprit!

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2008, 07:32:47 AM »
Yuh kidding me! Lumsden Recreational Ground as good as Wembley  :o . Gasparillo.... soon to be the Mecca of T&T football.

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2008, 07:37:55 AM »
We quick to dis Jamaica but right now their ground lookin' 10 times better than ours.....what a shame.

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2008, 08:10:50 AM »
is time that SM call and speak to the manager again
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2008, 08:35:30 AM »
Let TTFF build their own Stadium, what the hell. The Minister cannot ask the TTFF anything, but must bow to their every wish. To hell with that. Why the TTFF don't invest in themselves, finally after 100 years of football?

All they do is want, want, want, and have shown no signs of doing anything positive to become self-sustaining. Why should the government keep putting up with the TTFF? Who's shame? I am not, surely. The TTFF do not even have a training facility for national players to go to in the interim of International football.

Peter O Connor need to get off it. Useless.

« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2008, 08:40:20 AM »
I don't know .... but does the English FA own Wembley?

Offline Yardie08

« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2008, 10:39:26 AM »
I don't know .... but does the English FA own Wembley?

Wembley Stadium is a stadium in Wembley, located in the London Borough of Brent in London, England. It is owned by The Football Association (FA) via its subsidiary Wembley National Stadium Limited.... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wembley_Stadium

Offline Gazza

« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2008, 11:06:29 AM »
Dwight Yorke Stadium has the best surface. Well maintained.

« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2008, 11:24:11 AM »
Interesting .... we/ the TTFF should follow suit.
TTFF needs to start running itself as the private entity it makes itself out to be.
While government and FIFA grants would be a main source of revenue, TTFF needs to become a for profit entity, rather than a for the taking entity.
While the government already owns the other stadia throughout the country, maybe the TTFF could embark on a lease to purchase program with the TTFF. If they were to take a page out of U.S. sports management - none of those franchises run at a loss. It's critical to the way their leagues are run and managed, and the success they have.
What franchises have been doing is building smaller facilities. Not only does this control costs, but it also limits supply. With demand for any team performing well on the rise - and limited demand - the team is able to command a premium for tickets. In TT ... Football is seen as a social event more than a sporting event. Raise the price, or as some other wise people have suggested - sell seasoned tickets. One, it helps with the cashflow; Two, later down the road, it reduces supply further, hence you have tickets being sold at ridiculous prices that are NOT scalped tickets. Right now standing room tickets to see the Phillies in the WS start at USD $900. How's that for revenue from ticket sales?!!
Moving on, so now you have more revenue from a solid product on the field. You take that revenue and re-invest in player development to ensure the quality on the field does not depreciate. At some point, they can refi the stadium of choice and add more seats, improve/ add facilities, etc. I have never been to the C.O.E., but from what Ive heard - it seems to be a good enough facility for the NT to train in the meanwhile. More seats, quality product, decent facilities ..... no reason why you shouldn't be able to turn a profit and buy whatever you want/ need ... and we haven't even started talking about the marketability of the team. One suggestion on that ... if the TT Government wants to become the sponsor of the national team, or maybe one of the Government's companies/ subsidiaries (TIDCO, Petrotrin, TSTT, NFM, bMobile) .... then they can pay a fee to have that sponsors name emblazoned on the travel suits/ training outfits, track suits, etc.

« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2008, 12:22:03 PM »
Guy's have you see kennington oval in Barbados compare to Jean Pierre complex or HCS...

« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2008, 01:55:27 PM »
So every week now we have 2 hear he complain bout someting d govt eh doin. What about what d TTFF eh doin

« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2008, 02:33:57 PM »
By: Peter O’Connor (Newsday).

Last Saturday, in a letter published in Newsday, Mr Wazir Mohammed called the playing surface at the Hasely Crawford Stadium “disgraceful”.

In an “open letter to the Minister of Sport,” Mr. Mohammed stated that he could not believe that a World Cup qualifying match could have been played on that surface. Trust me, Mr Mohammed, your eyes were not playing tricks upon you, as you wondered. The playing surface at Hasely Crawford is horrendous — to use your own word. And I can attest that Jack Warner and Ollie Camps are indeed ashamed about this (I cannot speak for the Minister), but they can do nothing about it.

And what is more disturbing, Mr Mohammed, is that the playing surface will continue to deteriorate and no amount of rolling or grading will stop this deterioration. We may soon have to play our World Cup Qualifiers at Lumsden Recreational Ground in Gasparillo, which, in comparison, will look more and more like Wembley.
Earlier this year, when officials of the England Football Association visited Trinidad to inspect our facilities prior to their coming here for our Centennial Match, they said that the playing surface at Hasely Crawford was unacceptable. There were other defects, including the state of the team dressing rooms, where the suspended ceilings were falling apart, and damaging the light fittings.

The ceilings had been damaged by water soaking through the concrete floors above. The water came from melting ice stored on the concrete floor by vendors operating concession booths.

I was part of the TTFF Team which presented the list of defects to the Stadium Management, for transmission to the Minister of Sport.

It should be noted that all of the defects listed had been brought to the Ministry’s attention over the past few years, and all were matters of simple maintenance rather than capital expenditure requirements.

The Ministry agreed to do the maintenance works because England had requested it, another example of us fixing things “for the tourists” when we never fixed them for our own footballers. But, still, let us be thankful, that some work was done, even if locals did not qualify for the improvements on our own.

The dressing rooms were all upgraded, with new air conditioning, electrics, ceilings and new paint, and they looked so good! But the recommendation to seal the concrete floors above was ignored. As a result, by the time the Centennial Match was over, there was water dripping through the brand new ceilings into the dressing rooms and players’ corridors.

Talk about shame! Why melting ice should drip through structural concrete floors topped with polished granolithic is another subject altogether.

But it was the condition of the field which upset Mr Mohammed, and indeed the English FA when they saw it.

The field at Hasely Crawford is planted with an imported grass, which does not produce its own seeds.

Therefore, if any portion is damaged, or dies, it has to be dug out and “sods” of similar grass — which is planted at the North end of the stadium — must be used to replace the damaged section. The imported grass really is very “thin”, and when you walk on the field, you can see the soil below.

Because the grass cover is so thin, wind blown seeds of a very stiff, “clumpy” grass settle on the field and take root.

The more you cut this grass — common name “fowl-foot” grass — the thicker the clumps become. Because this grass seeds itself copiously, every time the field is mowed, fowl-foot grass is literally planted across the field.

So, the more you mow, the worse you make the playing surface, and the more you spread this invasive grass.

The problem therefore feeds on itself, and the field gets worse every time it is mowed. We, the TTFF, called in advice from Terra Firma and from UWI, and suggested that CEPEP crews be brought in to sit and weed out all of the fowl-foot grass.

However, we were advised that the fowl foot grass was so spread that if it was all removed, there would be huge bare patches on the field.

Instead, only the stiffest clumps were removed, some poison was placed on others, and the areas affected were cut very short and watered copiously, providing a temporary acceptable pitch for the England game.

But that was in May. Since then, with the rainy season, and the mowers spreading fowl foot grass seeds, the field has deteriorated to the extent described by Mr Mohammed.

Can anything be done to bring the playing surface back to an acceptable standard? Of course! But that will have to wait for another column, and cannot be completed in time for our next Qualifier, in November.
Where real ballers learn the game!!!!

« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2008, 06:12:35 PM »
Ah just curious as to why we cah use we own grass and maintain the field? ???

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2008, 08:51:48 PM »
Ah just curious as to why we cah use we own grass and maintain the field? ???

Good question! Perhaps it is a standard universal requirement or maybe that type of grass is low maintenance, given that it does not produce its own seeds, and does not require frequent cuttings. If the latter, then they did not cater for the downside of the contamination of the other wind blown seeds.

Offline NJsTriniGunna

« Reply #15 on: October 26, 2008, 11:24:18 PM »
Does it resemble the pittsburgh steeler's field after that blizzard against Jacksonville?

« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2008, 12:58:48 AM »
Let TTFF build their own Stadium, what the hell. The Minister cannot ask the TTFF anything, but must bow to their every wish. To hell with that. Why the TTFF don't invest in themselves, finally after 100 years of football?

All they do is want, want, want, and have shown no signs of doing anything positive to become self-sustaining. Why should the government keep putting up with the TTFF? Who's shame? I am not, surely. The TTFF do not even have a training facility for national players to go to in the interim of International football.

TTFF have the bess ground in TT. Yuh never see the artificial turf at Marvin Lee or wha ?

So why they build a football stadium if they cyar maintain it with the billions.
Yuh talking shyte as usual

« Reply #17 on: October 27, 2008, 03:19:42 AM »
If is the Govt. job to fix the HC stadium then they should bloody well do it.

« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2008, 04:24:29 AM »
never inderstand why they cant use grass like found on other pitches ?
I dont know what St mary's grounds is like now but that used to be a great pitch and that was getting used almost every week.

« Reply #19 on: October 27, 2008, 10:22:54 AM »

TTFF have the bess ground in TT. Yuh never see the artificial turf at Marvin Lee or wha ?

So why they build a football stadium if they cyar maintain it with the billions.
Yuh talking shyte as usual

You really have fish brains.
The government have any team? Yes they should fix, but is the TTFF who have a more vested interest in the HCS than anyone one else. All the Pro teams use the various facilities and look at the state they in. Everyone just want to put they hand out. Shows how much you know, the HCS is not a FOOTBALL stadium alone.

You so adamant to defend the TTFF why they did not build their own Stadium? Instead the idiots and them build a artificial field so JOE PUBLIC could use it. Give me a break. ou would not mention all the money the TTFF get from the government as recently published. Why they did not tell the ministry to keep that money fix the stadium and they (the TTFF) will handle the coaching fees?

You forget how JW fight to not have to pay anything to use the HCS. How could the TTFF pay $3500 TT to use such a facility and expect it to be top class? I must fix up my car for my father-in-law to drive whenever he want because I marry his daughter? He not buying tires, oil, gas, insurance nothing and I should just dres back and smile. Go so with that chupid logic eh.

Offline salsero

« Reply #20 on: October 27, 2008, 10:24:36 AM »
Hard to understand why a country has the highest income per capita in the caribbean, whose Prime Minister is building a 200 Million dollar mansion and so on and so on, and this third class facility as the national stadium. There are countries much poorer than T&T and have much better facilities. T&T want to be among the concacaf elite,  but if athletes and athleticism are treated this way, how could they compete with countries that take  their athletes more seriously.That stadium is a microcosm of the state of Football in T&T.Lots of potential but lack of support, I guess this could be said of many things this great nation possess, (Eg. Steel Pan, your great carnaval),Lack of support.

« Reply #21 on: October 27, 2008, 11:42:21 AM »
Why people always quick to blame gov't for everything so...and ah doh care which gov't it is.  The fact is that certain people put in charge to do certain jobs, when the job doh get done, is them to blame, not the entire gov't.  When people doh do their jobs, let the gov't only try to fire them...PSA and every other union fighting to save man wuk, when they damn well know man farting around on the wuk.

All the talk about maintenance, I sure most of allyuh who talking don't even maintain allyuh own house with great enthusiasm...is a set ah moss on de side..grass higher than de house, and is only Xmas it does get a facelift where people have to pass.

Allyuh know what it entails to do maintenance work on a pitch.  Yuh does have to shut down activities for a substantial amount of time to let the thing come good.  So all the league games and school ball will have to find other venues.

And the next thing is everytime somebody talk about some kinda menial wuk in this country, the first name they does call is...CEPEP...let CEPEP sit down and pull out the weed from the ground....let CEPEP clean people drain so it wouldn't flood, and cause dengue.  STEUPSSS !!!

« Reply #22 on: October 27, 2008, 12:22:10 PM »
We like to think we big in Trinidad but we still have ah "small island" mentality,the Govt. is no help they are the most ineffectual of all the major agencies in the little "banana republic" we call Trinidad.Just look at de crime figures and if anybody want to tell me its not Govt. fault den tell whose fault it is.I still love TT but if ah doh feel safe walking on our main streets den I doh care to take part in our little successes in meh island.I go enjoy it in England where ah cyah get killed by a bulet or be kidnapped for what ah got and ah got plenty to looze so me aint taking no chance.

Offline damiangoal

« Reply #23 on: October 27, 2008, 12:34:03 PM »
I would like to know if football is the only sport played in HC. Mr JW may not be squeaky clean, but the man is making sure that the team has every thing that they need. The people who are bad mouthing Mr JW should start to financially contribute to the team or insist that Gov't contribute to the teams'(all levels) success. >:(

« Reply #24 on: October 27, 2008, 01:06:04 PM »

Get some monie and pay thee man and them right here to start thee wuk.

Thee wuk done and everybody go be happy with something like this right. ;)

« Reply #25 on: October 27, 2008, 01:13:27 PM »
We like to think we big in Trinidad but we still have ah "small island" mentality,the Govt. is no help they are the most ineffectual of all the major agencies in the little "banana republic" we call Trinidad.Just look at de crime figures and if anybody want to tell me its not Govt. fault den tell whose fault it is.I still love TT but if ah doh feel safe walking on our main streets den I doh care to take part in our little successes in meh island.I go enjoy it in England where ah cyah get killed by a bulet or be kidnapped for what ah got and ah got plenty to looze so me aint taking no chance.

where u living, what the streets made of? just wondering?

« Reply #26 on: October 27, 2008, 02:14:44 PM »
musbe daffodill roads and lollipop lanes in that party a england :-[  ???

« Reply #27 on: October 27, 2008, 03:35:44 PM »
never inderstand why they cant use grass like found on other pitches ?
I dont know what St mary's grounds is like now but that used to be a great pitch and that was getting used almost every week.

Except that when a good rain fall on St Mary's grounds, an intercol match was like mud wrestling without the T&A...

« Reply #28 on: October 27, 2008, 03:42:14 PM »
Let the TTFF build their own stadium.

« Reply #29 on: October 27, 2008, 04:17:30 PM »
I'm trying to understand what some people trying to say,if it have no Football in those stadiums all of them is white elephants,Hunt and his ministry fighting JW for the use of the stadiums now people blaming Football for the state it in,is not only HCS in that state all of them is the same thing.This situation with our stadiums is an account of what happens when politics involved,the ministry will not take care of those fields as long as JW/TTFF using them,that's my view,i can't see why from the time there are issues with these stadiums the first thing mentioned is Football when everybody uses them for Rugby,Athletics,Small Goal,Fete match, Fete, Carnival etc every show takes place there but Football is the main cause.

From since my time and even before there have always been talk of why the TTFF don't get their own grounds,i hope people understand the TT means Trinidad & Tobago so when we say get your own who we really talking about,it sad when we still have to be going through that today,the thing is people not even going to Football what we building more stadiums for,if we build more stadiums the cost of Football going to increase,all those facilities need repairs and they are not finish being paid for.