May 14, 2024, 08:31:52 AM

Author Topic: Racism in football Thread.  (Read 209614 times)

Re: Games should be halted amid racist chants - UEFA
« Reply #630 on: April 21, 2009, 01:49:15 PM »
... its just regional bigotry. same like how south trinidad is $h!t compared to north trinidad ...

nice analogy.
I wonder if people prior to the lighthouse consider themselves bigots.

No wonder than all we southies consider ourselves mentally superior and better cultured as opposed to our unforunate northern counterparts.
see wha ah talkin bout
here we go :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
in a few years from now who knows HOW intense this sentiment will be and what it will lead to ;)
 :rotfl: :beermug: :beermug:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #631 on: April 21, 2009, 01:53:38 PM »
... its just regional bigotry. same like how south trinidad is $h!t compared to north trinidad ...

nice analogy.

No wonder than all we southies consider ourselves mentally superior and better cultured as opposed to our unforunate northern counterparts.
see wha ah talkin bout
here we go :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
in a few years from now who knows HOW intense this sentiment will be and what it will lead to ;)
 :rotfl: :beermug: :beermug:

lol. We will keep the oil in the south.
Allyuh keep Movietown, Zen and 51.

let we see who will win.

« Reply #632 on: April 21, 2009, 02:01:36 PM »
ya sure allya doh want Zen :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #633 on: April 21, 2009, 02:05:07 PM »
we go arkse Johnny to open back up The Club before we take Zen.

« Reply #634 on: April 21, 2009, 02:15:39 PM »
i think there's a difference...the north/south thing in Italy is not racism, its just regional bigotry. same like how south trinidad is $h!t compared to north trinidad ;) it is not really to do with how tanned they are.

In the italian cities I've visited, the (real) black italians (the few that exist) occupy the lowest rung in italian society...in Italy you see no middle class black people...they all seem to be african street vendors and are generally ignored. Its a very weird experience.

This is incorrect... it isn't 'racism' since they all belong to the same race, but make no mistake about it it is colorism borne from the fact that people from southern Italy (particularly the Sicilians) tend to be darker-skinned in comparison to those from the northern part of the boot.  This could be attributed to the meditteranean climate, but from a historical perspective one only needs to look at the proximity to Africa across the Mediterranean to realize that much as the Moors mixed with the people of the southern Iberian peninsula (Portugal and Spain), they likely also mixed with the Sicilians as well... in fact Sicilians are often thought of as Italy's (blacks)... not using the actual term.

« Reply #635 on: April 21, 2009, 02:17:44 PM »

nice analogy.

I do  ;D

« Reply #636 on: April 21, 2009, 02:22:31 PM »
i think there's a difference...the north/south thing in Italy is not racism, its just regional bigotry. same like how south trinidad is $h!t compared to north trinidad ;) it is not really to do with how tanned they are.

In the italian cities I've visited, the (real) black italians (the few that exist) occupy the lowest rung in italian society...in Italy you see no middle class black people...they all seem to be african street vendors and are generally ignored. Its a very weird experience.

This is incorrect... it isn't 'racism' since they all belong to the same race, but make no mistake about it it is colorism borne from the fact that people from southern Italy (particularly the Sicilians) tend to be darker-skinned in comparison to those from the northern part of the boot.  This could be attributed to the meditteranean climate, but from a historical perspective one only needs to look at the proximity to Africa across the Mediterranean to realize that much as the Moors mixed with the people of the southern Iberian peninsula (Portugal and Spain), they likely also mixed with the Sicilians as well... in fact Sicilians are often thought of as Italy's (blacks)... not using the actual term.

Its not incorrect...they are discriminated against primarily because they are considered to be poor and crass...skin colour is less of a factor (no need for a historical lesson on why southern italians are more tanned than northern italians). In Britain, Scots are "discriminated" against because they are paler and have ginger hair. It might not be PC, but it isnt anywhere near as offensive as real racism.

« Reply #637 on: April 21, 2009, 02:25:35 PM »
In Britain, Scots are "discriminated" against because they are paler and have ginger hair. It might not be PC, but it isnt anywhere near as offensive as real racism.
dais because de Scots TOO damn CHEAP Thrifty  :devil:
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 02:29:27 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #638 on: April 21, 2009, 02:29:31 PM »
ah waiting for ahmadinejad to throw he 2 cents.

« Reply #639 on: April 21, 2009, 02:49:20 PM »
ah waiting for ahmadinejad to throw he 2 cents.

Ain't no talk of jews in this thread... so he probably won't be concerned

Black marks for Seedorf and Mourinho in fight to end racism
« Reply #640 on: April 27, 2009, 04:57:21 AM »
Black marks for Clarence Seedorf and Jose Mourinho in fight to end racism

Viewed from afar, it’s all so simple. Nine days ago, when Juventus hosted Inter Milan, a sizeable portion of the home crowd – audible to any television viewer – began abusing Mario Balotelli, the visiting team’s striker, calling him a “s****y n****r”. Given that Balotelli is black, it was a clear case of racist abuse, correct?

So why did Clarence Seedorf, one of Serie A’s most high-profile black footballers, and José Mourinho, Balotelli’s coach, reject that it was racist? Welcome to a story about black and white that seems filled with shades of grey.

(continue)

Re: Black marks for Seedorf and Mourinho in fight to end racism
« Reply #641 on: April 27, 2009, 06:11:47 AM »
hmm interesting

"Absurd? Maybe, but not to Seedorf. “You have to stop calling this racism, because it isn’t racist,” he said. “It’s the same kind of abuse that other, nonblack players get when fans sing about their mothers. The fact is that certain players stand out because of their behaviour on the pitch. Balotelli needs to understand that if he continues to behave this way he will continue to elicit similar reactions everywhere he goes.”

Mourinho’s reaction also raised eyebrows, not least because many expect the “Special One” always to defend his players and get any edge he can. “The abuse was childish and ignorant but it wasn’t racist,” he said. “It’s not as if they were abusing him because Balotelli is of African descent. They were abusing him because he’s an opponent, and a very talented one at that, one whose skill had just led to a Juve player getting sent off.”

Neither Seedorf’s nor Mourinho’s words will help in the battle to eradicate racist abuse. But they are right in making a distinction between racism and racist abuse. You can call somebody the n-word all day long and not be racist – that is, not be prejudiced towards those of a different race. And, by the same token, you can sit on your hands and say nothing but then find excuses not to employ a qualified black applicant or discourage your sister from dating a man of African descent "

Offline Swima

« Reply #642 on: April 27, 2009, 06:21:41 AM »

You can call somebody the n-word all day long and not be racist – that is, not be prejudiced towards those of a different race. And, by the same token, you can sit on your hands and say nothing but then find excuses not to employ a qualified black applicant or discourage your sister from dating a man of African descent "[/i]

Extremely potent statement. Real food for thought.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #643 on: April 27, 2009, 06:39:11 AM »

You can call somebody the n-word all day long and not be racist – that is, not be prejudiced towards those of a different race. And, by the same token, you can sit on your hands and say nothing but then find excuses not to employ a qualified black applicant or discourage your sister from dating a man of African descent "[/i]

Cosign

« Reply #644 on: April 27, 2009, 10:06:59 AM »
From the comments section following the article:

Seedorf and Mourinho, have a limited understanding of racism!!!

« Reply #645 on: April 27, 2009, 10:14:38 AM »
I wonder if Mourinho woulda have the same sentiments if he was black and the victim of such abuse ?

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #646 on: April 27, 2009, 10:50:59 AM »
 Pigment of we imagination?   :thinking:
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #647 on: April 27, 2009, 11:20:18 AM »

The second piece is just noise.  It's a tactic meant to cloud the point.  Reminds me of common tactic referred to as rationalization after the fact but I don't want to digress- Point is- other manifestations of racism are irrelevant to the one under scrutiny....

...and while it is possible to be a non-racist and call someone the N-word....out of anger, spite, or as a fear/distraction tactic whilst not actually harbouring any racial prejudice against the person, the fact remains that calling someone the N-word is a racist act regardless of whether or not the perpetrator is in fact a racist person.  And that is where the confusion in the whole Balotelli debate lies...because no one wants to look at themselves and admit to being racist, so as soon as the label is drawn, people are quick to rationalize their act and explain the ulterior motive for their behavior in order abscond themselves from the label.....

but the thing is, in this case the label is not important..... with regard to Balotelli the concern isn't (or shouldn't be) identifying racist people in the stadium...but rather perpetrators of racist acts.....and in this case the way the message was communicated, displayed and perhaps ultimately received by the intended target significantly outweighs the "stated" intention behind it...

If the Ultras were really not racist, and they figure that their message may have been "misunderstood" they should just apologize....

Mourinho is trying to be a diplomat, and Seedorf is a politician... or vice versa  ;D
« Last Edit: April 27, 2009, 11:49:05 AM by kicker »

« Reply #648 on: April 27, 2009, 11:41:20 AM »

The second piece is just noise.  It's a tactic meant to cloud the point.  Reminds me of common tactic referred to as rationalization after the fact but I don't want to digress- Point is- other manifestations of racism are irrelevant to the one under scrutiny....

...and while it is possible to be a non-racist and call someone the N-word....out of anger, spite, or as a fear/distraction tactic whilst not actually harbouring any racial prejudice against the person, the fact remains that calling someone the N-word is a racist act regardless of whether or not the perpetrator is in fact a racist person.  And that is where the confusion in the whole Balotelli debate lies...because no one wants to look at themselves and admit to being racist, so as soon as the label is drawn, people are quick to rationalize their act and explain the ulterior motive for their behavior in order abscond themselves from the label.....

but the thing is, in this case the label is not important..... with regard to Balotelli the concern isn't (or shouldn't be) identifying racist people in the stadium...but rather perpetrators of racist acts.....and in this case the way the message was communicated, displayed and perhaps ultimately received by the intended target significantly outweighs the "stated" intention behind it...

If the Ultras were really not racist, and they figure that their message may have been "misunderstood" they should just apologize....

Mourinho is trying to be a diplomat, and Seedorf is a politician.

:applause:

« Reply #649 on: April 27, 2009, 12:52:05 PM »

Mourinho is trying to be a diplomat, and Seedorf is a politician... or vice versa  ;D

Excellently put Kicker...however, I'll venture to say that calling anyone of any race by a derogatory term in any way other than that both parties understand that it is being done in jest is both racist and a racist act.

Emotion tends to reveal the true nature of a man and his thoughts. Thats just how it is.

« Reply #650 on: April 27, 2009, 01:27:46 PM »
But they are right in making a distinction between racism and racist abuse. You can call somebody the n-word all day long and not be racist – that is, not be prejudiced towards those of a different race.

Lol@ this^^ bullshit.

I won't even bother dignify it with analysis.

« Reply #651 on: April 27, 2009, 02:05:34 PM »
Ok u can cuss a black man bout he modder but call him a monkey a crime has been committed. In both cases not acceptable behavior. D fact dat black peeps call black peeps d n word show how their lack of history. No way d n word is a term of luv and respect no matter who say it.

« Reply #652 on: April 27, 2009, 02:57:58 PM »
Ok u can cuss a black man bout he modder but call him a monkey a crime has been committed. In both cases not acceptable behavior. D fact dat black peeps call black peeps d n word show how their lack of history. No way d n word is a term of luv and respect no matter who say it.

dais is whole nother issue yuh raise dey weary....but as ah man living foreign for ah 'minute', i realize dat even blacks who 'know' their history does still use it too.....me? in my lil reality, i find it have to much other thing to worry bout in this life than to worry bout if a black man/woman choose to call each other the 'n' word.
now if somebody else use it (and me eh talking bout de wiggers and wannabes) then is bacahnal ;)

unless something was lost in translation clarence and jose is (are) two big imps!

« Reply #653 on: April 27, 2009, 04:03:37 PM »
seedorf and mourinho yes yes lets down play this, no no lets equate it to talking about a player's mom. yeah yeah. give racism a red card? NO lets give the other guy a yellow for simulation.

« Reply #654 on: April 27, 2009, 04:22:20 PM »
seedorf and mourinho yes yes lets down play this, no no lets equate it to talking about a player's mom. yeah yeah. give racism a red card? NO lets give the other guy a yellow for simulation.

Something wrong cyah b square. Some peeps eh care bout bein called a monkey but if u cuss dey mudder dey might just pull a Zidane. 

« Reply #655 on: April 27, 2009, 04:56:18 PM »
The fact is that certain players stand out because of their behaviour on the pitch. Balotelli needs to understand that if he continues to behave this way he will continue to elicit similar reactions everywhere he goes.

What did Balotelli do wrong here ? If anything he should have put it through his legs.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fxJIl9F1Po4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fxJIl9F1Po4</a>

Because he embarrass a defender .Steups . All that is football. That is the reason why I started watching football in the first place. It might be a different culture but you can't tell me a player showing skill is an insult to the fans. Tiago look bad and get send off to boot. Fans get vex and start calling the youth shitty nigger and that is not racist ? Steups .Seedorf loss points in my book.   

Double click on the video and see how racist some of  the comments are.

« Reply #656 on: April 27, 2009, 06:25:22 PM »
The fact is that certain players stand out because of their behaviour on the pitch. Balotelli needs to understand that if he continues to behave this way he will continue to elicit similar reactions everywhere he goes.

What did Balotelli do wrong here ? If anything he should have put it through his legs.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fxJIl9F1Po4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fxJIl9F1Po4</a>

Because he embarrass a defender .Steups . All that is football. That is the reason why I started watching football in the first place. It might be a different culture but you can't tell me a player showing skill is an insult to the fans. Tiago look bad and get send off to boot. Fans get vex and start calling the youth shitty nigger and that is not racist ? Steups .Seedorf loss points in my book.   

Double click on the video and see how racist some of  the comments are.

Jah Gol For your edification...Pt 1 Pt 2

As for this race article, I just read the article with amazement...you can't escape racism, it is part of life.

« Reply #657 on: April 27, 2009, 07:09:08 PM »
Touches post de same ting i was thinking bout. And...as a man who was on both sides of de divide several times...both the reciepent and the distributor of toolum......my ting is....yuh cyar take de beat....den doh play. When i realise men on pappy show ting....i goin in hard for de ball...you cyar be embarassing me jus so. I hadda maintain some kinda respect. You cannot tell me a man deserve racial abuse because he try to hit a man a beat. Dis folly bout showboating is madness..it have a thin line between showboating and shows of skill...and people does be vex when dey on de wrong side of it.  A man make yuh look dotish..jam him hard.....yuh let blood rush to yuh head and rake him up...take yuh card like a man. Yuh come with beat like is a nike video.....no scene...if i showing yuh me eh able with dat disrespect..no scene same way. Dat madness seedorf talking bout if he continue to behave this way he go get wha he looking for is a pack of ass. So if i sweating and a man hit me some stepover and I hit him a kick and say..."look coolie doh bring dat shit here..."..is no scene? Pack of assness. So where de chant bout "There is no such thing as a Black Italian" come out? And wha underlining my disgust is de fact that he want to play for italy so bad. Steups.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #658 on: April 27, 2009, 08:25:30 PM »
See the line..there is no such thing as a Black Italian.

This is the chant of those who cannot or who choose not to differentiate between Race and Nationality.

« Reply #659 on: April 27, 2009, 08:28:30 PM »
Maybe is Trini culture influencing my view on this. I could tell yuh if any T&T defender collect a beat like that in the HCS I not getting no horrors from that. I for one could appreciate good play from either side, in defence and attack. There is no rule against showboating if some want to call it that either. Team and players  by no means other than their own footballing prowess should deter opponents from doing that. Juventus fans are dead wrong. Your player is the beatee but yuh want to hate the beater,