May 17, 2024, 07:38:47 PM

Author Topic: Favourite footballers of all time  (Read 7324 times)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Favourite footballers of all time
« on: July 21, 2006, 05:00:14 AM »
Let's get back to fun topics. Who are your favourite footballers of all time? Did it depend on skill, goals scored, beauty of play? What made you chose them? Was it a childhood idol, who stood out in your mind for some hero worship, long before you even knew what "offside" meant?

Here are mine, in no particular order:

Lothar Mathias (West Germany)

Michele Platini (France)

Roberto Baggio (Italy)

Pele (Brazil)

Valderama (Columbia)

Ruud Gullit (Holland)

Thierry Henry (France)

Zinedane Zidane (France)

Francesco Totti (Italy)

Ronadhino (Brazil)

Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Re: Favourite footballers of all time
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 05:16:55 AM »
Geroge Best: smoking, drinking, Liming and still ripping up men left right and centre ....he was meant to be a Trini

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2006, 05:40:23 AM »
I wasn't old enough to see Maradona in his prime so my list will look like this :

1)Ronaldinho

2)Zidane

3)Rivaldo

4)Ronaldo

5)Rui Costa

6)Schmeichel (I feel this is the wrong spelling)

7)Romario

8)Guardiola

9)Marcelinho Carioca

10)Mc Callister

11) Zambrotta (In my opinion 1 of the most underrated players in the world

12) Thierry Henry

13) Gheorgie Hagi

14) Augustine Jay Jay Ococha

15) Larsson (In his prime he was the definition of a finisher.)

« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 08:15:55 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2006, 06:05:44 AM »
yeah but who's responsible for the war in the middle east???

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2006, 06:28:18 AM »
Hmmmmmm nice topic. These are the peeps I backed when they played.

1) Platini
2) Van Basten
3) Zizou
4) Franco Baresi/ Robero Donadoni
5)Gazza
6) Latapy / Yorkie
7) Lorthar
8)didn't back Maradona in his hay day, but he is class with a football
9) Paolo Rossi
10) Walter Zenga
11) Davor Suker
12) Hristo Stoickov
13) Rud Gullit

eh It have plenty so I go cut it off there.....I know have other I forget, when u old like road it easyto fuhget  ;D

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2006, 07:18:42 AM »
Geroge Best: smoking, drinking, Liming and still ripping up men left right and centre ....he was meant to be a Trini

Ent? But yuh forget one ting.....woman! Yep, definitely was a trini in a previous life. :devil:
« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 07:34:34 AM by redtrinigirl »

gives Love.

Offline Remie

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2006, 07:26:55 AM »
Some of my criteria is

1. Players that know precisely where the ball going after it left them foot.
2. Players that know precisely what weight to play a through ball.
3. Players that could dribble fast, with the ball always looking like it stick to them foot.
4. Overall a player that looks like he has time when the ball is at his feet no matter how many man try to tackle him.

Zidane
Maradona
Ronaldinho
Carrick (My tip for the future)

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2006, 07:27:20 AM »
yeah I was trying to be politically correct
but he real sex on and off the field

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2006, 07:27:55 AM »
1. R. Baggio
2. Romario
3. Ronaldinho
4. Zidane
5. Latapy
6. Stoichkov
7. Hagi
8. Okocha
9. Rivaldo
10. Figo

Honorable mention....

- Casillas
- Zola
- Ronaldo (pre knee injury)
- Donadoni
- Vialli
- Gullit
- Valderamma
- Yorke

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2006, 07:38:13 AM »
CAREHHHH..CAREHHH..CARECA TIRA LA BOMBA...TIRA LA BOMBA

What Napoli fans used to sing...roughly translated into 'Careca...res' a bomb on them'
When everyone was loving up Maradona, I used to watch Napoli for the Brazilian...

Watch this video compilation..the first 4 goals are Careca...the 3rd goal was Napoli vs. Inter...sweet. And check the lil' 'samba' in the celebration..for Brazil fans from back in the day. Also includes cool clips of Leonardo, Juninho Paulista and Rai

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzaJm5k-xgs&search=careca

And Careca's goal v France in 1986...just a beautiful knock all round

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMLGaFczI4g&search=careca

« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 07:42:37 AM by Filho »

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2006, 07:44:11 AM »
Yeh u gotta mention George Best..I always love Ian Wright lol even tho he aint one of the best he jus one of my personal favourites. In my " era " the player i idolise probably would be Thierry henry. Wayne rooney when hes just playing football and nothing else so i suppose when hes at his best if u no wot i mean..evn tho i no u will all criticise me.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2006, 07:56:59 AM »
Figo & Ronaldo

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2006, 08:01:26 AM »
Zizou
Zico

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2006, 08:07:59 AM »
R10
L10 aka the Magician
R9
ARNOLD DWARIKAH!

« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2006, 08:08:23 AM »
sinc ei eh see much golies..and my self use to ..well try ah thing in de post..i will venture some names...
earl carter...yes jus cause he tirni btu spiderman was a boss
peter shilton
chilavert...got to love ha keeper who could  score boss free kicks
zubizerreta
and yes buffon is a bss
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2006, 08:13:19 AM »
The three B's and one P

Best
Banks (here is a goalie for you Organic)
Beckenbauer

Pele

An my all time favourite when I was a Form 1 and 2 at CIC cheering on the Saints and our Goalie was

Trevor Lieber (spelling?)

Any body know him and where he now?  he should be pushing 50-someting now.

Offline Remie

« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2006, 08:14:04 AM »
Schmeichel was the boss at saving one on ones.

« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2006, 08:15:57 AM »

Remie ...welcome

« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2006, 08:20:32 AM »
The three B's and one P

Best
Beckenbauer

Pele

An my all time favourite when I was a Form 1 and 2 at CIC cheering on the Saints and our Goalie was

He is a big time lurker here. You just gave him a shout out dey ;D

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2006, 08:30:43 AM »
The three B's and one P

Best
Beckenbauer

Pele

He is a big time lurker here. You just gave him a shout out dey ;D

Think he lives in toronto now...if is de same guy I thinkin about

Offline Remie

« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2006, 08:32:24 AM »

Remie ...welcome

Thanks, i been reading this board for 10 months now- this board is real kicks yes. So i now decide to join.

« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2006, 08:33:14 AM »
Lewwe make this more interesting... Post your all time favorite team...

Mine is....

Â                 Casillas
Thuram    Koeman  Baresi    Maldini

Figo        Gullit   Zidane   Ronaldinho
 Â             Baggio
 Â                    Romario

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2006, 08:33:47 AM »
Becuz as ah lil fella, ah used to go whever he school team play to see him do his ting and work his magic, my favorite player of all time is:

Ian (Moose) Clauzel.

On de tubes, they are:

Careca
Romario
Socrates
Ronaldo
Dennis Bergkamps
Glenn Hoddle

And as ah "Saints" man, I have to mention:

Dexter Skeene
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2006, 08:45:15 AM »

Remie ...welcome

Thanks, i been reading this board for 10 months now- this board is real kicks yes. So i now decide to join.

in London England or London Ontario?

« Reply #24 on: July 21, 2006, 08:47:33 AM »
Pecan:

Check yuh message!

Offline Remie

« Reply #25 on: July 21, 2006, 08:48:34 AM »
 Â                  Schmeichel

Cannavaro   Gallas
Cafu                                        Zambrotta

Keane   Viera

Zidane              Maradona

Cantona
                   Batistuta

« Reply #26 on: July 21, 2006, 08:54:54 AM »
My favorites in no particular order:

Platini
Maradona
Zidane
Jean Marie Pfaff
Dunga
Ian Rush
Baresi
Peter Shilton
John Barnes
Stoichkov

Ah adding the Dutch trio:  Gullit, Van Basten, and Rijkard.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 09:43:35 AM by Tenorsaw »

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #27 on: July 21, 2006, 09:06:06 AM »
                  Schmeichel

Cannavaro   Gallas
Cafu                                        Zambrotta

Keane   Viera

Zidane              Maradona

Cantona
                   Batistuta

Dat is ah boss side yuh call dey, beats for days!

gives Love.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #28 on: July 21, 2006, 11:25:23 AM »
Goal keepers: Zoff

Defenders:
Claudio Gentile
Marcel Desailly